Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Franklin Pierce University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/30/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are smart, small town people who like tight close knit schools/communities. Not for partiers or those who love the big city feel. Everyone seems to be accepting of you just as you are, so if you don't own a pair of UGG boots do not fear.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is in NH so remember your winter jacket and boots. The food is excellent but the campus is so small that you probably won't be getting a ton of exercise from walking so make sure you hit their state of the art gym/sports complex to burn off that freshman 15 :-P

    Bang for the buck

    FP isn't cheap, but it isn't a trillion dollars either. The dorms are average, getting better as you get older (the seniors live in town houses with 3 bathroom, 6 house mates, their own washer and drier, etc). The classes are small and the facilities are gorgeous (especially the comm. building).

    Will enjoy being here

    Franklin Pierce is a GORGEOUS campus. It is very very very tiny so if you are from a big city and love that lifestyle this isn't the place for you. It is in the middle of no where and the closest big city is Keene, NH which isn't really even a city. If you are someone who really enjoys being involved in student activities, FP has a lot of those so you will be able to always stay busy and have fun that way, but if you are looking for a club scene, chances are you won't find one. On the brighter side, FP does do a lot of trips into Boston and Providence, etc. it just means a little extra money to pay since you are so far from them.

    Will learn a lot

    From my meeting with some of the professors and sitting in on some classes I feel that the teachers will push you to learn. This school may not be Harvard but that may mean that the teachers care a little more about how smart you are, not just how many zeros are on their paycheck.

  • 06/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Franklin Pierce University of Rindge, NH is great for everyone! We have people of all backgrounds that go to Pierce, but once you are here your past doesn't matter because we all make friends and become one well oiled unit! This may sound cheesy but i am being very serious...we are all so similar once we warm up to one another! Everyone is so sweet, you wont be judged for anything! I say this so much, and its that It's so amazing how well everyone gets along in such a small school and it must be because in the end we are all so similar! But its great also for the outdoor lover, and for people like me who enjoy the everyday barefooted stroll around campus! I LOVE FRANKLIN PIERCE UNIVERSITY...THE END! :D

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say that if you are a prospective student give us a chance! There may be more trees than buildings around but don't let that scare you away! Apply, visit, and spend the night to see what you will look forward to...I am a tour guide and if you get a great person who loves the school like i do then you wont want to say no to the school! Check it out and you wont be sorry!

    Bang for the buck

    Like any place in the world there are the good with the bad. The only bad is that it is super expensive and i do struggle with the cost but i know it will be worth it in the end! All together though it would be nice to spread the money out more evenly. The campus is so beautiful so it is well worth it to walk outside and get fresh air along with a glorious sight! And the dorms progressively get better...i will be living in a 4 person apartment in the fall and i cannot wait! And then senior year...oh man a house which will be amazing! I love that housing is guaranteed all 4 years!

    Am enjoying being here

    If I could add more thn 5 stars i would! At first i had seconds thought about goint to Franklin Pierce but after giving it a chance i fell in love all over again! What i live by here on campus is that you have to find your path, your niche and you will love being here more than anything in the world! It may be a small school but that's what makes it wonderful; you get to have close relationships with other students, faculty, staff and even local people! I love Frankie P so much!

    Am learning a lot

    The reason for the 3 stars is because i still have so much to learn at Pierce, and i plan on it! There are so many great opportunities to learn not only behind a desk, but out in the world for a real hands on experience!

  • 07/20/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for outdoorsy people, or people like me that just want to get away from it all and start fresh. It's a small campus so people that have been going through small schools for their education may feel more at-home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your mind open. At first I hated the school, I still kind of dislike that I'm out of the city, but I joined Wellness Housing so I hope that everything kind of works out.. Nature, wellness..There's gotta be some connection. Think about staying occupied, not about how much you're stuck out in the boonies.

    Bang for the buck

    With the right scholarships and financial aid, my tuition has been brought down over $30,000. All I'm paying for now is room and board. There is a great Presidential Scholarship worth $60,000 and you just need a minimum SAT score of 1650 to apply for it. It helps out big time.

    Will enjoy being here

    The environment of the school is wonderful, its such a peaceful place and I've even visited in the winter. Sure it is freezing but the sight of the snow on the trees is beautiful. PLUS They even set up a snowboarding ramp on the front lawn, and they may open up their private ski hill again.

    Will learn a lot

    There are so many programs to choose from and you can coordinate majors and minors to fit your needs. They've also made a new integrated major where you can design your own. I'm doing a dual major and dual minor, and I can also take some classes in the summer to graduate on time.

  • 11/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for outdoorsy kids, we are in a beautiful mountain area with a lot of opportunity.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a lot of sweaters, buy rain boots and snow gear! Above all else buy a good pair of hiking boots.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is great about handing out scholarship aid so no one actually pays the ticket price.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love this school and being here it is one of the best experiences in my life so far.

    Am learning a lot

    Some classes can be challenging but as long as you apply yourself you will get through them. However you also have classes that are alot of fun especially the ones in your major.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many things to do for fun right on campus. FPU is located right next to pearly pond and the school provides kayaks, paddle boats, etc. Mt. Monadnock is also right on campus and a lot of students enjoy hiking it. There are many clubs and sports on campus and there are many ways to get involved.

    Food and Dining

    When you are eating from the same place every day, you tend to get sick of the food. This is exactly how it is at FPU. The food is good and there is a variety, but you do get tired of eating cafeteria food every day. The dining hall at FPU is expanding and is very nice.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is so much fun! One of the best parts of college is living on your own and meeting new people. Once you meet new people and become more comfortable with your surroundings, everything else falls into place. The dorms are clean and livable. There are 24 courtesy hours and quite hours at night so that you can get your work done and study.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at FPU are challenging, but not impossible. Everything you do requires hard work and dedication. Some classes are easier than others, but there is always help available if you are struggling in a class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even thought FPU is a private university, it can be affordable. The school gives out many scholarships based on academics, so work hard! Also, look for private scholarships. The more active you are in school, the better experience you are going to have.

    In three sentences

    Franklin Pierce University is a great school with a beautiful campus. There is a very friendly environment and the faculty and staff are extremely welcoming. It is a small private university with a lot of one-on-one attention.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a problem of vandalism and misuse of campus property/grounds, as well as occasional belligerence due to the partying. Other than that, there isn't much that can happen because the location is so isolated.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and PAC (Pierce Activities Council) have a big presence on campus, and do a lot to find ways for students to be involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Interested in: self discovery/figuring out what you want to do, sports, mass communication, adventure recreation, partying, less focus on academics. Keep in mind that this review is from the perspective of a Fine Arts and Education student. Someone in a different major(s) and with different interests will surely have a different opinion.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive, but they do give a lot of merit-based financial aid to those who deserve it.

    What to do for fun

    The mindset here is that the best way to make friends is to go out drinking on the weekends. Besides that, there is plenty of adventure recreation (hiking, kayaking, rock climbing, camping, etc) and some cool cultural spots in the surrounding towns.

    Food and Dining

    The only food available without driving anywhere is the cafeteria and the Raven's Nest (or Pub), both of which are Sodexho. There is not a lot of variety or healthy options.

    Dorm Life

    Loud and crowded, especially Freshman and Sophomore years before you get apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    Many professors really are good at what they do and love teaching it. Education is what you make of it, and there are plenty of ways for students to rise academically. That being said, the college is not particularly selective and the professors, however willing to challenge good students, are overall too easy in their grading because academic dedication is such a rarity.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please consider what you want out of college before you apply here. If you are looking for these qualities: a) small size, b) very rural setting and lots of snow, c) sports, d) social scene interested in academic mediocrity and escapism, this might be a good fit. Having a car is almost essential for any activities (like dining or entertainment) off campus. Also consider that the college spends a considerable amount of energy catering to prospective and new students, while little effort is put into upkeep of facilities or retaining current students.

    In three sentences

    This is a small college on a beautiful rural campus with skilled and dedicated professors. However, the party/drinking atmosphere of student life and widespread disinterest in academic excellence is not commendable. Another negative is the school's advertisement as a liberal arts college when there is a clear preference towards sports and business majors.

  • 11/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are quite a few clubs on campus that are geared towards any students interest. I am on Dance Team and in Gamers Club, but there is also Cheer, Archaeology Club, Criminal Justice Club, Anime Club, GSA, etc.

    What to do for fun

    They have a lot of activities, performances, guest speakers, and other fun activities put on by clubs on campus and the college. There is plenty to do so long as you pay attention to what is happening.

    Food and Dining

    Average, it's not like a home cooked meal from home, but it is food and it isn't terrible.

    Dorm Life

    As a freshmen you don't have great dorms (they're very small), but every year your dorm gets bigger. Overall living in a dorm is fun! It's like living in a mini apartment with another person and learning how to buy your own things and live on your own.

    Academic Rigor

    They expect a lot from their students here, and having good grades is required for a lot of other activities you can do on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to apply for scholarships and have a plan for payment because it is a more expensive school. Also, don't be afraid to talk to people when you go to open houses or step days!

    In three sentences

    This may not be the best school in the country, but it is a fantastic school. Small class sizes, you can get to know your professors better, gorgeous campus, and you can even self design majors!

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus saftey is great, there very relaxed. they're also very understanding and if you talk to them they'll revoke your tickets.

    Greek Life

    no sororitys, it's basically matched up by which sports team your on.

    Clubs and Activities

    they have clubs and activities for basically anything you can be interested in. most of them are based on your majors ie: psychology club and education club

    Great for these types of students

    easy going and relaxed. it is in the middle of nature and nowhere. you need to be able to survive without your daily starbucks and not be so reliant on going to town because its a half hour away. if your a sports kid you'll fit in perfectly.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there's the bubble, which is an inflated dome and inside is the gym. there's a pond on campus where you can swim or kayak. there's also a mountain only 6 miles away that you should experience climbing.

    Bang for the buck

    this college gives out a insane amount of money in scholarships. i will be graduating with the same amount in debt that others will be paying per year at their college's. you get a great personal education for a better price.

    What to do for fun

    you have to work harder to make your fun. having movie nights is helpful. definitely bring your car, it's in the middle of nowhere. on the weekends go hangout at the seniors housing.

    Food and Dining

    food and dining is the bad experience of this college. the food makes you sick and there's not too much of a variety.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is great. two of the freshman dorms are connected so you can easily see all of your friends. there kept pretty neat and the bathrooms are cleaned daily.

    Academic Rigor

    college classes are much harder than high school but the professors are willing to help you in anyway possible. make sure to take advantage of the tutors!

    Tips for prospective students

    don't transfer. it takes a while to get accustomed to being away on your own in college. you have to try a little harder to create your fun here but it's worth it!

    In three sentences

    it has beautiful scenery. the class sizes are small. the professors are amazing and willing to do whatever they can to help you succeed.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    no beer drinking games are allowed on campus, just remember that, and they will enforce that. they are nice passive c.s just follow their rules.

    Greek Life

    there is no greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs and acitivites to choose from. so just join one that you want.

    Great for these types of students

    slackers, athletes, and over achievers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the bubble

    Bang for the buck

    tuition is cheap after the school gives you scholarships. i only pay around 5 thousand a semester that is without outside scholarships. just do well at fpu and you will get more scholarship money.

    What to do for fun

    there are parties, clubs, tournaments, and others. i suggest you tour the campus twice before you choose to come here. you must train yourself to this lifestyle. it is not the same as: harvard or a uconn this is a private school. it is not party and frats.

    Food and Dining

    the food is on average 3 out of 5, it depends on the day and what is being served. there are days where you want to puke, but at nights starting at 6 is the pub, serves fast and delicious food, i suggest you look before you go to the cafe. just your stomach if you can not handle the food.

    Dorm Life

    it can get boring at times, but if you surround yourself around people life goes by quickly with fun times. there are parties every weekend on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are not that inflexible, everyone is here to make life easy for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    just get up in the morning and go to class. the classes are only fifty minutes, just go it makes life so much easier. grades are reflected by attendance, so if you miss class twice you will loose at least 25 percent of your grade. also, do your homework before you go to party, makes your life simple and stress free.

    In three sentences

    franklin pierce is a great liberal arts school, it is in a great small country town, making it quiet to concentrate on work. the professors and doctors are dedicating their time to their students, making one on one sessions to get the most bang for your education dollars. there are wide ranges of majors and minors and a small student body, with all the classrooms near by.

  • 03/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get involved in clubs and/or sports.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent. You can survive on it without too much worry about food poisoning.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are annoying to live in. The halls are always loud and always messy.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is not very challenging in its academics. For the most part the classes themselves are fairly easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    They will tell you that you do not need to know what you are going to major in. That is a lie. You should have a good idea before you come.

    In three sentences

    Franklin Pierce is overall a good school. It has some faults and many students wind up not being very happy with them. However, it is a good school to go to.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 22

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I would rate Franklin Pierce University on a scale of one to ten, a ten. The campus is perfect, I was able to work one on one with some faculty members and they were very kind and helpful.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great campus safety.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the Pit, the Cafe.

    Bang for the buck

    The background is the lovely Mountains.

    What to do for fun

    Cheerleading. Mountain climbing, swimming. canoeing, bike riding. basketball, hiking, firefighting, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good.

    Dorm Life

    Choose your roommate wisely.

    Academic Rigor

    Keep your grades up.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your looking for a small College atomsphere and you love the great outdoors. If you have a car great, if not there is transportation.

    In three sentences

    It's a Great School. The scenery is beautiful. It's away from the hurried life of the city.

  • 11/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    outsourced to a less than satisfactory group

    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    self motivated

    What to do for fun

    Canoeing and kayaking on the lake, countless sports and activities for interested students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for the rural area surrounding Franklin Pierce. Get involved on campus to avoid boredom.

    In three sentences

    Franklin Pierce is a small school in a rural setting where students have the potential to work closely with professors and administrators to accomplish their unique career and education goals.

  • 01/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They're okay.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Great clubs and activities to get involved!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for people who love nature and outdoors. You cannot dislike snow!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a thing you clap on and it makes a funny noise. Ask your tour guide about it.

    Bang for the buck

    It's too expensive for what you get.

    What to do for fun

    Frankie P Fridays, hang out with friends etc.

    Food and Dining

    It's awful.

    Dorm Life

    Although freshman dorms aren't that great, each year it gets better. By senior year, you get to live with 5 other great friends in a town house.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major of course, FPU isn't the most challenging school. But classes like Calculus, Organic Chemistry and Sociology get to be tough.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour in the fall or spring. On a day that isn't raining or snowing. Check out the trees and the mountain and see how it'll be.

    In three sentences

    Franklin Pierce is a great school for people who aren't big city lovers. The views are amazing, and so are the people. You'll have a lot of fun here.

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When ever I am on campus I always feel safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several different type of clubs to join. There are ones for people who like to play video games, working with blown glass. There are also clubs that are geared towards your degree such as education, criminal justice, phycology, and many more

    What to do for fun

    There are many different activities that happen on and off campus. Every Friday there is an activity to participate in, students are able to attend concert for little money. There are also movie nights, contests and many more.

    Food and Dining

    I love the food! There are different choices every day!

    Dorm Life

    I am answering this by what I hear about other student's experience. I can not answer this due to being a commuter.

    Academic Rigor

    I have had the best experiences in learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always show the professors your best work.

    In three sentences

    Franklin Pierce University welcomes students with open arms and makes you feel at home. The professors and staff are always willing to help. Professors understand that I am a mother of three, and when needed they welcome my children into the classroom.

  • 09/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus.

    Greek Life

    none!

    Great for these types of students

    Partiers, social people.

    What to do for fun

    Extracurriculars, gym, chill with friends, study....

    Food and Dining

    You're stomach has to get used to the food here, it's been improving but still....it's college food.

    Dorm Life

    Loud, friendly and very typical college.

    Academic Rigor

    Look up the stats! We're known for being a party school and there is a high transfer rate because depending on your major, you might not get the education you want.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do the overnight on campus to see what students are really like, the tour guides are only hired if they give off the 'right' impression.

    In three sentences

    A beautiful friendly campus. Athletic school that is developing and evolving. Is a good school for business and criminal justice.

  • 09/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This is actually pretty cool, I was told if you stand on the Franklin Pierce Emblem in the center of campus and clap you hands your claps sound like sqeaks. So I went to try it and it actually worked. This place is magic.

    What to do for fun

    I'll be honest the town of Rindge is a Ghost Town, but on Campus things can be fun. The lake view Condos next to the pond get fun on the weekends if you like to party. They usually have other actives set up from clubs like movies or Kickball Tournaments and Ultimate Frisbee. It's not the greatest with keeping you having a great time but its still manages to keep you satisfied most of your free time.

    Food and Dining

    The one cafeteria we have is pretty good. Minus the breakfast of scrambled eggs and bacon every morning I like everything else. You have a lot of choices. Salad bar, bread counter, wrap station, pizza, healthy and not so healthy. You can easily avoid the freshmen 15 if you choose wisely. As for out of the cafe there's not so much to do in town in regards to eating. Theres a taco bell and a dunkin donuts, a diner, and a few pizza places but that's really it. If you really want food you can drive 10 minutes to Mcdonalds or 30 minutes too keene where theres Five Guys and Applebees and a lot of places. I like not having to many places cause I spend to much money that way.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are descent for freshmen, not to small or really big but ok. We have 90 channels of DirectTV. The best part for me though is the free laundry service. The showers are the only thing I dislike, they can be kinda gross in some parts of the dorms. Overall the dorms are average and I don't hate them.

    Academic Rigor

    The Professors are great so far. My math professor is pretty average he doesn't really try to connect with the students but he still is an overall good teacher. They mostly all teach well. I haven't had a lot of work yet but my syllabus tells me I will, but that's why we have a great library.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you choose to come I'd say keep an open mind. This college has tons of stuff to do if you sign up, kayaking, mountain climbing, skiing, rugby, dance teams... they are jam packed with clubs and activities. Just be ready for change and don't stay in your dorm room because this place is just too much fun to be inside all day on a saturday.

    In three sentences

    Franklin Pierce is spacious campus with a beautiful view of pearly pond. The food is pretty good if you choose the right things and the staff are mostly friendly. One of my favorite things about this place is the fact that freshmen can park on campus, and that there's not to many people.

  • 02/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sleep

    Food and Dining

    Beyond disgusted and disappointed.

    Dorm Life

    Not as I expected.

    Academic Rigor

    Choose a major that focuses on you before picking your school. FPU isn't great coming to when you're undecided.

    Tips for prospective students

    -come open minded.

    In three sentences

    If you are a student that is looking for a small school with easy access to the rest of campus other than your dorm, FPU is great for you. If you are looking for an easy one on one time with your professor this is the best place to be. There are many positives about this school that make it so diverse from the others such as UMASS or UCONN not just the size.

  • 03/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are several clubs and volunteering opportunities on campus. Whatever you're interested, whether it be gaming, sports and rec, medical, criminal justice, education, or writing, Franklin Pierce has something for you. Many campus events take place, like Big Screen Movie night, Up All Night fundraiser, and the spring concert happen each year. You can even host your own radio show and take classes in glassblowing!

    Food and Dining

    We have Sodexo dining on campus. They offer many kinds of foods aside from the traditional pizza, salad and other college staples. The dining hall has been newly renovated and the quality in food has continued to increase. Buffalo chicken caesar salad wednesday's are a huge hit!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms get better as your time at Franklin Pierce University progresses. You start in a standard freshman dormitory, with only 2 a room on average. As a sophmore, you move up to suites, where you may choose a double or single. Juniors live in towers, where there are two bathrooms and two bedrooms that house 4 people. There is a full kitchen as well! Senior housing is townhouses that are located close to the beautiful Pearly Pond. These house 6 people and have all of what the junior dorms have, but have an extra room and the building all to theirselves. There are many parties on the weekend, but substance-free housing is available. There is also a sustainable housing option, where students can practice an eco-friendly lifestyle.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes vary in difficulty depending on what major you're interested in. Biology and science majors are the most rigorous. Business and Mass Communication majors are generally not too academically rigorous. Tutoring is offered in over 30 classes and there are academic counselors and peer tutors available to help students be academically successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to major in fine arts, computer information technology, mathematics, or graphics communication, FPU is not for you. Also, there is a heavy atheletic presence on the field. If you are an athlete, this is the school for you! Plus, it's small enough so that every professor knows your name. As with any school, there is a partying culture on campus, but wellness housing is offered.

    In three sentences

    Franklin Pierce University is a great place for student athletes. Currently, the business division and health sciences are the most funded and most popular majors. It has provided me with many great opportunities and resources to be successful after graduation.

  • 05/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always there though it often takes them a while to respond

    What to do for fun

    CLUBS CLUBS CLUBS! Being in a small area there is little to do off campus however, there is always something to do during the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    Food is over-greasy and can easily make someone sick

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are wonderful for all grade levels

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are simple however near impossible to get into

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply as soon as possible A lot of financial aid is offered Professors are wonderful and willing to help

    In three sentences

    A school where an education matters however, I can prove this to be untrue do the sudden drop of six majors and the inability for students, mainly freshman and sophmores, to get into the required classes for their majors. The campus is beautiful and the professors are wonderful. The school listens to needs and wants of students when it comes to the campus itself however, not the academic way.

  • 08/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life at FPU

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different clubs are offered here and you are also able to create your own club

    What to do for fun

    Since FPU is pretty much in the middle of nowhere a lot of the activities happen on campus. During the the beginning of the first semester and towards the end of the semester you can swim in the pond, kayak, or paddle board. They also have many intramural sports and other events during the year that you can participate in during the year.

    Food and Dining

    Typical college food.I have hear that our school has better food than some others, but it's nothing special. There is also a separate place where students can get food called the Raven's Nest, also referred to by students as The Pub, where you can use your semester dining points to purchase food or you can use cash or a card.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are the she as they would be at any other school however they do not have elevators. Two of the freshman dorms are connected to each other so you do not have to travel outside to see your friends unless they live in the other freshman dorm (Granite). One of the perks of going here is FREE LAUNDRY!

    Academic Rigor

    Although my coursework is not as rigourous as a pre-med major I have had plenty of classes especially second semester where I was challenged by the coursework. To all the student athletes who plan to attend FPU, take all of your easier classes during the season. That way when you miss class for a game/meet you will not fall as far behind as you might if you took harder classes. I learned the hard way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to as many scholarships as you can so that you do to find yourself on financial hold. If you are looking for a school in an urban setting then Franklin Pierce University is not the school for you. It is located in rural Rindge, NH.

    In three sentences

    As much as Franklin Pierce University is talked down, it is actually a very good school to attend. I love it here and have made so many friends and connections with the faculty, they make me feel at home. My only concern is how expensive it is to attend school here.

  • 10/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't really had any encounters with Campus Safety but I do see them driving around a lot. I have also heard some people say they do an excellent job where others say not so much.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities to join and if you don't see something that sticks out to you, you can create your own club. I am currently part of the Medical Club which is trying to go to Peru this year and the Alternative Spring Break program which is when during spring break you go to other places such as an Indian Reservation to do community service.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who need a more one on one experience academically and who find it easier to make friends in smaller social settings.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are Frankie P. Fridays in the Campus center as well as Pearly Pond.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a beautiful and small campus with awesome teaching staff but the dorms are super small, at least for Freshman living and the food is not very good at all.

    What to do for fun

    There is the mountain so you can always go hiking or the Pearly Pond. At Pearly Pond there are canoes, kayaks, and sail boats you can rent. They try to arrange campus activities frequently and as well there are Frankie P. Fridays down at the Campus Center.

    Food and Dining

    Franklin Pierce has a contract with Sodexo Catering so there are no food places on campus which would be helpful as the school is very secluded. As well Sodexo does have options but the food all in all isn't that great. There is an ice cream bar so that is a positive.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are extremely small. I live in a double and I know of friends who go to other schools that live in doubles and have much larger rooms. As you go up through your years here you do get better housing options though.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes do challenge you to a point but not to an unfeasible point. The professors are also always willing to help you achieve success so if you're having trouble definitely visit them during their office hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    Having a car would make transportation easier to other places but there is a shuttle to Walmart and Market Basket. Really reach out into the community and join clubs and athletics, it's the easiest way to make friends.

    In three sentences

    Franklin Pierce is a very small and secluded school. The teachers are nice and the classroom size has a good ratio. Lectures have about 70 students, labs have 14, and normal classes have about 20.