Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Frederick Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/07/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students who don't want to pay alot for college, students who want to be in school in a fun environment, students who are ready to be treated with more independence and as an adult, and students who want great support and help from teachers!

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Low-Stress Course Load

    Tips for prospective students

    Highly Satisfied Students

    In three sentences

    Affordable Valuable Education Knowledgeable Professors

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    FCC is great for students who have not yet decided what they would like to major in. You can complete a general studies program which allows you to take all different classes until you decide what is best for you!

    Bang for the buck

    FCC is a great way to start your college career. I am saving thousands of dollars by getting my core classes out of the way here!

    Am enjoying being here

    There is so much to do on campus, and so many clubs that allow students to get involved. I am having a lot of fun!

    Am learning a lot

    I feel very happy with my classes this semester. I have learned so much material already and the semester is only half over!

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    FCC has a very low crime rate, and they take security seriously. The security guard office is right next to the cafeteria. There is cameras in every hallway, and each classroom has a phone to reach the security office if needed right away.

    Bang for the buck

    As it's a community college it's better to go here and get some courses out of the way in your degree field for a cheaper price then attending a 4-year college first which would be more expensive. However, they have been the price of tuition the past two years.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do on campus other than sit and talk to friends in the cafeteria or outdoors, or read in the library. However, they do have music and plays in the Art Center/Theater; however, those are often after school hours or on weekends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good. They also do special days for free food or if there is a holiday they will do food based on that holiday. However, the food is overly priced that's why it lost a star.

    Dorm Life

    This a community college there is no dorms or living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    There is no real punishment from the teachers for not showing up to class or not doing the work. However you are punishing yourself because you are not gaining the knowledge and you mostly likely will not receive a good grade in the course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask professors for further help or get tutoring for class if needed. Some professors are amazing; know how to teach the course and are fair graders. However, some teachers at FCC have clearly not received a teaching degree and only have a degree in the field they're teaching, because they lack teaching and grading skills. If you have a teacher like this do not get discouraged seek further help from the teacher or through tutoring if this doesn't help then drop the class before the required drop date and take the class another term with a different professor.

    In three sentences

    A community college for local recent high school graduates, adults continuing their education, and those who need to take a step back from a 4-year college. It's a friendly environment with a low crime rate, and a cheap alternative to a 4-year school. Lastly, teachers are mainly helpful, and classes are only 30 students at most.

  • 11/22/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who still want a college education without dorm life, fraternities, and football games. Students who have other things to do while attending school, like working or taking care of family. And most of all, students who are self-motivated and simply want to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    The faculty at FCC assumes you know how to handle your time on your own; they're not going to be watching over your shoulder to make sure you're doing your homework. They expect you to put forth a hundred percent of the effort, and if you don't, they're not going to stop you. It's up to you to pass or fail, so dedication and time-management skills are imperative.

    Bang for the buck

    I planned to only go to FCC for a year and then transfer, but when I realized how much money I'd be saving, I considered staying there for two years. This is the best education I've ever recieved and I can afford the payments on my own minimum wage salary; it's one of the best deals I've ever gotten.

    Am enjoying being here

    FCC has great facilities, for starters, and the students definitely take advantage of them. For the first time ever, I want to hang out at school and I enjoy my time there. The atmosphere is relaxed and everyone wants to be there; when I go into a study room, there are actually people studying rather than fooling around.

    Am learning a lot

    When I started going to FCC, I was admittedly somewhat bummed out to be attending a community college rather than a four year university. My friends referred to it as the 'slacker school,' but upon going there, I realized the opposite was true. The teaching style at FCC is efficient and thorough, and the extensive expertise of the faculty encourages abstract thinking in subject areas rather than memorization of facts and statistics. I've definitely learned more at FCC this semester than I learned in two semesters of high school.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i always feel safe and secure on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    i don't have much time for any extra activities since i work part-time almost every day.

    Great for these types of students

    students from all walks of life can attend fcc and feel that they belong. there's always a welcoming atmosphere there.

    Bang for the buck

    extremely affordable for me and my parents, as well.

    What to do for fun

    concerts

    Food and Dining

    sometimes they offer free food for students.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms there.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are upbeat and very competitive.

    Tips for prospective students

    always try your best, visit the tutoring center and speak to your advisor on a regular basis.

    In three sentences

    fcc is a very affordable and diversified college. there's a wide variety of courses offered to fit everyone's career path. i feel very comfortable attending fcc.

  • 02/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the security at fcc is very good. they are very concerned with the safety and well-being of the staff and students. they make regular rounds on the campus to ensure that everything is secure and safe.

    Great for these types of students

    fcc is great for devoted, hardworking students, especially those entering the science, engineering, or math-related fields.

    Bang for the buck

    the tution costs are very reasonable and considering all the services and activites offered to the students, the price for the college is a great deal.

    What to do for fun

    the campus features a basketball gym, workout room, and a game room/lounge with computers big screen tvs, and pool tables.

    Food and Dining

    fcc has a cafeteria and a coffee shop. the cafeteria features a grill section, a sandwhich/sub shop, and a salad bar, all of which are very good. the coffee shop has fresh brewed coffee and pastries and also makes excellent frappuccinos!

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms on the campus of fcc.

    Academic Rigor

    the math and science classes at fcc are very rigorous, which is helpful because they provide better preparation for a 4-year university. the general education and liberal arts classes tend to be a little less challenging, but can also require hard work and diligence at times.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are willing to learn, you will learn a great deal from the professors.

    In three sentences

    frederick community college (fcc) is a great school! the professors are friendly and helpful and want to see all students succeed. fcc has a small student population and because of this there is a strong sense of community.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good they have guards that constantly drive around campus.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a wide verity of clubs for you to join.

    Great for these types of students

    People looking to start college and save a little bit of money at the same time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    You do get the bang for your buck here.

    What to do for fun

    They have some fun activities to do here when the weather is nice and they have pool tables. Also they have a couple of TVs that you can bring in your gaming system to play with friends and computers to play on.

    Food and Dining

    They have a grill which give free food away for lunches a good bit. The food that they give you is actually very good and isn't to expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I am taking anatomy which is a 100 level course here but the teachers have said that it is more like a 200 level course. But most of the other classes i have taken isn't that hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should go here if you struggled in high school with grades. I went here so that I could get a feel for college before i went to a 4 year college.

    In three sentences

    It is a good school. You will feel really welcome and everybody here is very nice. The teachers are some of the best teachers I have ever had.

  • 04/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never once felt threatened or insecure on campus.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are not that many clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Ones who enjoy small class sizes with very hands on, informative teachers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No unusual traditions but the campus is right next to a military research facility.

    Bang for the buck

    For the price of community college there are many dedicated professors willing to lend a hand at any time.

    What to do for fun

    relax in the Cougar Grille or play frisbee by the library.

    Food and Dining

    The Cougar Grille is the place to be. Pretty solid food for the price.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are not that challenging but the professors are excellent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't Hesitate.

    In three sentences

    If you want a quality education for a practical price Frederick Community College is the place to be. The professors are genuinely invested in each students academic success. The learning environment is superb.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Park in the light if you have night classes, is does get sketchy sometimes.

    Clubs and Activities

    Our Baseball and basketball teams are both really good for being community colleges

    What to do for fun

    There are always lots of events going on, sometimes youll just walk into school and something will be going on.

    Food and Dining

    The cougar grill is where everyone hangs out. The breakfast is really good.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study study study! do it every night reviewing everything you learned thus far, it makes things so much easier when test time comes.

    In three sentences

    Very Interesting People

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    First two year students and adults going back to school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The parking is terrible.

    Bang for the buck

    Very good.

    Food and Dining

    Cougar Grill is good but some what expensive.

    Dorm Life

    Doesnt not apply.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend perspective students to go to Frederick Community College based on the fact that it is so small and individualized. If a student does not know their major, going to FCC may be able to narrow down their choices and help them transfer. If you do not want a small, personal education, FCC might not be the right school for you.

    In three sentences

    Frederick Community College is an excellent school for first two years of college and adults who want to return to school. FCC is very welcoming and the professors will help you out whenever you need guidance. Overall, I would recommend FCC to students who do not know their majors or the first two years of general studies.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    nothing ever happens

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    ehh not too many

    Great for these types of students

    ones who like to be alone

    Bang for the buck

    the teachers are super great and the classes really do transfer

    What to do for fun

    there is nothing around her its boring

    Food and Dining

    its good just super expensive

    Dorm Life

    there is none

    Academic Rigor

    most classes are super easy just alot of busy work

    Tips for prospective students

    its great if you dont know what you want to do yet or just to save money but dont stop after fcc

    In three sentences

    its really nothing to worry about. i thought it would be alot harder than it was. in fact most of the time im bored

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Be prepared, and know where the fire exits are, when you get your classes. Always be alert and aware of your surroundings, because anything can happen.

    Greek Life

    I love Gyros...

    Clubs and Activities

    Chess club, tinker with the piano, cook, go to sporting events. 8

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    What is unusual to me is my age and the adapting I have to do with this younger generation. I starting to understand them.

    Bang for the buck

    I am a disabled person who has to change careers and find what I enjoy doing. I love to multi-task and talk with people. I enjoy singing in my church choir, cooking, and hanging out with my family. 8

    What to do for fun

    I like to play family board games and do family outings. Spend quality time with people from church doing outreach.

    Food and Dining

    A great social tool to have fellowship with new friends, co=workers, and family. A warm and romantic gesture towards your spouse. 7

    Dorm Life

    Having respect for my peers. Develop a positive atmosphere in which I live in . And always display love towards all Gods' creatures.6

    Academic Rigor

    To stay focus on the task at hand, get what needs to be done now in a timely manner. Stay one step ahead of the game; so pressure won't creep up and dismantle your hard work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be intimidated or overwhelmed with the many changes and challenges that is taking place. Get the education that you desire and accomplish those goal while you are still young. Work hard now then play.

    In three sentences

    A school that thrives on excellence for their students. Well organized with their accommodations for disabled students and staff. The school stays up to date with the latest equipment, books, and all other needed materials.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Cheap! But the books are expensive your better to rent.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out on the lawn its a beautiful place to lay out on a blanket with some friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok the wraps are excellent but the grille is often serving burned burgers and really gross looking pizza.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms. Its a community college

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the classes, some are easy some require more work and different teachers have different views.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask students what teachers they have had you'll get your best professors from other students reviews. Also, aim for Phi Theta Kappa.

    In three sentences

    The professors are great but make sure you ask around there are some that are really crazy. The lawn is beautiful and always full of fun people but the best people don't hang around campus. The food is ok.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Amazing you can go into the security office or talk to an officer.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons pretty much one for everything and if not you can make one

    Great for these types of students

    Well everyone! There is something for everyone who goes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    After class everyone goes to the game room and plays games.

    Bang for the buck

    Affordable classes and great teachers. Lots of work study groups and places you can go to get the help you need no matter what class.

    What to do for fun

    Well there is a gym, weight room, game room, entertainment room, computer room and library you can use everyday.

    Food and Dining

    AMAZING! They have so many selections or food and food shops all throughout the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Well only one wqay to put it work hard and it will show.

    Tips for prospective students

    It helps and saves time if you have all your paperwork gathered together and you researched everything you want and write down any questions you have.

    In three sentences

    They are a kind, caring and patient school. They have clean and always updating facilities.The education is great.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a small town with little crime anywhere......but that doesn't mean it's OK to run around outside waving your wallet in the air shouting out it's contents. Use caution and discretion because it's not Playhouse Disney out there after all.

    Greek Life

    No spreken. I'm not in a sorority and i don't follow up on fraternity stuff.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not even gonna go there. It's too many. I'd have to copy and paste directly from the site and even then a new club/activity might be created in the mean time.

    Great for these types of students

    Well if you are in a club then you've got down some things that would be great for you but don't stick to what you're used to. EXPLORE and DISCOVER the new-to-you things.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    PRIDE PROM!!! If you aren't alerted not then be prepared for my favorite and most anticipated event of the year. Pride prom every May where you can be FREE to be, dress, act, and dance how you want without judgement and the admission is approximately 1/4 that of other schools proms.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition for in-state is CHEAP and you get your money's worth at the school grille and at the vending machines.

    What to do for fun

    Tons. But you'll have to hunt sometimes because it won't always be out in the open or right under your nose.

    Food and Dining

    It's good better than high school food but the school grille closes earlier than some would like.

    Dorm Life

    I'm a moocher. (I'm living at home with my mom)

    Academic Rigor

    I can't really rate the academics because you get to choose the order of your classes so it's whatever difficulty you make it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to just jump in and find a club you're interested in because FCC students are extremely friendly. Before you know it you'll be a regular in the group and welcoming a new freshman like the one you were.

    In three sentences

    It has everything you could need short of a place to live and wonderful parents to do your laundry for you if you are a student staying on campus.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Very good for people who need to save money. The campus is very relax and a bit energetic at the same time.

    Food and Dining

    I don't know about the food there but they have these mini games that give away like free ice cream. There aren't any super close places to eat right outside campus unless you drive somewhere else to eat that's not close but not far either.

    Dorm Life

    None.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm not sure yet but I'm guessing if you don't slack off you'll be fine. They do have this honor progam thing though and they seem to care a lot about academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you've been to a typical community college before you can expect the same here but with a mix of frederick folk. Mostly good students, some bad students but nothing to be worried about it comes with many schools especially community colleges. But don't let that make you think the school itself is bad, the atmosphere is nice and most people are friendly. Like you get the impression that they don't make up the school because the place is friendly enough. Staff seems good.

    In three sentences

    A small decently diverse school that is very convenient in location for me. Basically you go here because it's a community college and you want to save money, nothing extraordinary and of course teachers will like you if you show some promise. Like many other community colleges, there seems to be some students that aren't quite serious but it seems like a school that you can fit in quite easily because of the nice adults and behaved students looking for social fun.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Frederick Community College Campus is secure and safe. As a small town school the campus is small size and very manageable to navigate. At night the school is very well lit and there are many emergency contact boxes around campus for immediate help in the event of an emergency.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life at Frederick Community College.

    Clubs and Activities

    As the President of multiple clubs at Frederick Community College, the administration is very open to helping groups of student pursue activities they find in common. The challenging part to the club and activities life at the school is other student engagement as most students are working professionals and have a schedule that doesn't afford them the time to pursue extracurricular activities outside of their normal academic schedule.

    Great for these types of students

    Frederick Community College is great for those deciding whether or not to pursue a college career, those who have chosen to pursue further learning and skills development throughout life, as well as those students who have decided to use the community college atmosphere as a stepping stone to a four year degree at another institution.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no unusual traditions at Frederick Community College.

    Bang for the buck

    Frederick Community College is second to none for the overall value when it comes to getting one's first two years of college paid for. This college is VERY AFFORDABLE and VERY INDEPENDENT STUDENT FRIENDLY.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining facilities at Frederick Community College are brand new and very welcoming. The quality of food, however, is pricey and typical of most school food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no living facilities on the Frederick Community College campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The Frederick Community College academic curriculum is a blend of enjoyable yet challenging programs that vary upon the goals of the student. As a community college, Frederick Community College possess one of Maryland's best nursing programs as well as hosts a slew of other degrees that challenge a student's mind to reach its full potential.

    Tips for prospective students

    Incoming students should stay active and involved in their admission and financial aid registration. Frederick Community College is a very busy school and as such the financial aid office can be overwhelmed with applications. Staying on top of your administrative needs at the college will prove to make the student's career at FCC that much smoother.

    In three sentences

    Frederick Community College is a great institution for new college students in the Frederick, Maryland area. This school has a great blend of small classes and an active student life that helps students get used to the rigors of the college course load without overwhelming them. Frederick Community College is a great starting point for those looking to pursue a higher education with its easy to navigate admissions and financial aid and small class room feel.

  • 11/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Try to check out the clubs on campus, its a community college so there isnt much happening other than that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school at a great price. Form a good bond with the professors and it will help for sure, they are extremely knowledgeable. Try not to eat on campus because food is terrible and pricey.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school when it comes to just the academics. The professors are extremely helpful and enthusiastic about their class and will go out of their way to help students out. It makes the studying process much more interactive. The only downside is the extra curricular activities which are almost non-existent but I've recently seen a lot of effort being put into that as well.

  • 11/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    20 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Spend time with your family as much as you can because Nursing school will probably only give you a little breather.

    Food and Dining

    I have not yet experienced.

    Dorm Life

    I will not be staying in the dormitories.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't know yet. I have been accepted to the nursing program, and I start in January. I am pretty certain it will be a 5 in academic rigor though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to the advisors!

    In three sentences

    The advisors are very helpful. The advisors are very informative. PeopleSoft is easy to use.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is good.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    It's very intense.

    In three sentences

    It's clean. It's loud. And it's relatively focused.

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I am unaware if there are any issues.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots

    Great for these types of students

    All

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am unaware of any unusual traditions

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent ROI

    What to do for fun

    Sports, Theatre, Art- great local scene

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria- Local eateries minutes away.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    I have nothing to compare it to. What you put in you will get out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Community College - be sure this is where you want to start.

    In three sentences

    Affordable, Accessible, Accommodating classes to any schedule

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe campus

    Clubs and Activities

    met lots of new friends through campus clubs.

    What to do for fun

    concerts, shows, campus clubs/activities and field trips

    Food and Dining

    pretty good food

    Academic Rigor

    good professors and challenging work, but the work is not too hard

    Tips for prospective students

    always do your best. As long as you show up to class as often as you can and do your homework it is not hard to pass. studying is very important too.

    In three sentences

    FCC has awesome professors. The campus is beautiful. Also, the food is really good.

  • 04/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria that's available for students has it's good and it's bad. I can say that the food is always fresh and decent. The price can be debatable.

    Dorm Life

    There are actually no dorms at the school.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the courses and teachers really depends on the rigor of the academics. Everything depends on the students effort that is put forth and how they go about in the classroom.

    In three sentences

    FCC is a fantastic school to start and think about what to do next with future schools. The curriculum is limited to certain areas, but the availability to feel out possible majors and interests is excellent and very rewarding.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always around and it feels comfortable to walk to your car even after night classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They always have something fun happening in the Cougar Grille and celebrate holidays in style with all sorts of fun activities available.

    Food and Dining

    The Cougar Grille is a little tiny and people sit there whether they are eating or not but if you do get the chance to sit down and eat a meal it is comfortable and the food is good. Get the pizza!!!!

    Dorm Life

    There are no on campus dorms at this facility.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use your resources that are available to you. Use the counseling office and find out who your advisor is and talk to them on a regular basis.

    In three sentences

    FCC has a great selection of classes to choose from. They help you figure out what you want to do with your life and set you on a complete track to obtain a degree.

  • 07/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    never had any feeling of being threatened or harassed

    Clubs and Activities

    Join chess club and engineering clubs we desperately need some

    Great for these types of students

    who don't know what they want to get into or want to safe lots of money before going into a 4 year college

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Pie Day was a very sweet day where people hand out pies to all people as for celebrations we have many different events that highly resemble the variety of ethnic groups the school encounters

    Bang for the buck

    you will meet many great people there keep you eyes open and make good connections because isn't that how we strife for success?

    What to do for fun

    Join Clubs and other athletics

    Food and Dining

    acceptable and fresh in the mornings very good food , price of the food can be cheaper but i guess that's for the gas money you would pay for to go outside of school

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The professors /teachers push you but not over the board

    Tips for prospective students

    take the prerequisites and look into classes you need that transfer to the college or degree you want, if you don't know what you want there are always people to talk to that will help you find the right choices and can lead you into careers that might be highly hired for and also with a good income .

    In three sentences

    A great College to start your career pursuit , it allows you to save money and it teaches you time management. Frederick community college has great staff and always willing to help you find the best pathway to success. I suggest anyone who lives locally to attend this 2 year college first before transferring to another school.

  • 08/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have classes that ended at 9 PM and I've never notice any strangeness or felt unsafe. Security is good about driving by frequently.

    Great for these types of students

    I've notice all kinds of students of all age ranges, social, culture, and challenges.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a child day care on campus! FCC has a lovely nature trail.

    Bang for the buck

    Yeah, Big Bang for your buck! With college tuitions where they are, FCC is affordable!!!!

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities on campus for everyone. I'm into anime so love love to spend time with people who love anime. I've made a lot of good friends!!!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is good. They had healthy options but they weren't big sellers therefore they no longer serve it. But I'm sure if enough students ask it'll be sold again! Downtown Frederick is close and there's really great dinning!!!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, it's just a 2 year college. But there are flats to rent in the area or down town Frederick area.

    Academic Rigor

    As in any institute, you need to give it your all. The instructors provide The academics and resources available for you to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    FCC has a friendly and safe campus. This is an affordable college that can start you off in the right direction.

    In three sentences

    FCC is a great place to help you get started on your career. The staff Is helpful in making sure you're heading in the right future career plans. They make sure you're getting the required credits to further yourself.

  • 09/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Frederick Community College has a wonderfully dedicated security team that is always on call. Safety equipment and emergency telephones are located in every classroom on campus, and blue light safety phones are dispersed around campus. All parking lots are lit, and doors are locked and monitored during mornings and nights.

    Greek Life

    There are very few fraternities or sororities available to join at Frederick Community College, but there are a few honors and academic based fraternities, such as Phi Theta Kappa, that offer workshops, trainings, and scholarship opportunities to members.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs that meet both on and off-campus. Clubs can range from interests in sports and music, to politics and philosophy. There are also specific clubs for students of all ages, races, genders, and sexual orientations. Clubs are very active on campus, often recruiting new members and providing fun activities and events for fellow students.

    Great for these types of students

    Frederick Community College is great for any type of student! The students are diverse, and come from every different kind of background. There is a place for everyone, and everyone is accepted and welcomed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    FCC always seems to have free food! It is common to walk onto campus for class and to smell someone grilling, and to see a tent packed with free hamburgers and hot dogs. There are also special food days on campus, such as apple strudel day, when delicious snacks are available for free as long as they last.

    Bang for the buck

    Frederick Community College is the best way to get a real, personal college experience without having to spend thousands of dollars. By attending FCC, students can get a degree, complete certifications, and complete prerequisite courses for transferring to a four-year university, all from the comfort of their home town.

    What to do for fun

    Frederick Community College has one of the liveliest campuses full of friendly, outgoing students. It is by no means rare to find students playing frisbee on the plaza, or playing in instrumental groups to entertain peers. There is also an incredible lounge which is packed with TVs, gaming systems, and pool tables. The Center for Student Engagement offers free popcorn daily, and always has opportunities available for students, such as free tickets to local events, and bus trips to Washington, DC. Also, FCC has dozens of student and faculty-run clubs and organizations that each hold meetings, activities, and events.

    Food and Dining

    Frederick Community College has a fantastic cafeteria, the Cougar Grille, that is packed with wonderful food options, and an even more wonderful staff. The Grille offers meals and a la carte selections, including a pizza bar, stir-fry station, and fresh sushi. And the staff who work to keep the food fresh and in stock are friendly and happy to personalize any order. The only downside? The food in the Grille can be a bit pricy. Fortunately, there are other dining options on campus, including Smooth Joe's Cafe, which offers hot drinks and sandwiches, and vending machines dispersed around campus.

    Dorm Life

    As a community college, Frederick Community College does not have dorms. All students are required to commute to and from campus each day.

    Academic Rigor

    Frederick Community College has classes for students at all academic levels. Developmental classes can assist students who need a little extra help with some of their weaker subjects, while honors classes offer more challenging course work with a smaller class size.

    Tips for prospective students

    Realize that just because this is a community college and not a four-year university, it is still very different from high school. Expect to be challenged to think critically and to use every available resource to get the most out of your learning experience. At the same time, be prepared for a campus full of friendly, lively people. With dozens of clubs, sports, and activities, there is a place for every student to connect with peers on a personal level.

    In three sentences

    Frederick Community College is a fantastic transition from high school to college. It offers a wide range of majors and certifications, and is only minutes away from home. Students and faculty members alike are proud and passionate about the opportunities available at this school.

  • 10/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Study and work hard but also get involved in club it makes your time at FCC very interesting

    In three sentences

    Frederick Community college taught me hot to get involved and become a leader in the school. Teachers care about the learning experience and that we will pass the classes. The school helps you get involved with thing many things going on in the community.

  • 10/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    FCC has a text alert system for everything. If school is closed for any reason i.e. weather, or another emergency. If you take night classes, you can request to have a security guard escort you to your car. There are emergency buttons located in all the parking lots. I feel very safe at FCC.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not a very wide range of clubs now, but FCC is always open to new ideas fr clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are maybe not quite sure what they want to do yet. Or just for students who aren't ready to make a commitment to a four year school.

    Bang for the buck

    The teachers are excellent, the campus is beautiful, and the class selection is extremely abundant.

    What to do for fun

    The Center for Student Engagement always has free tickets for nearby plays and musicals. They are always up to date on the latest activities at FCC and in the Frederick area.

    Food and Dining

    The Cougar Grille is so good you won't even know you're eating cafeteria food. They have everything from sushi, soup and salad, pizza, paninis, and coffee.

    Dorm Life

    FCC does not offer on campus living

    Academic Rigor

    While FCC is a community college, they still offer an Honors program with a wide variety of classes to choose from.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't load yourself up with gen-eds your first semester. Explore your interests!!! If you already have a career goal, take a class that pertains to it. I took an Intro. to Social Work class my very first semester, and now I know that it is really what I want to do. Take advantage of FCCs activities. They always have something happening on campus.

    In three sentences

    FCC is full of resources, and wonderful teachers. They always have something going on, from fun events in the cafeteria to college visits. FCC has an absolutely beautiful campus.

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    31 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Such a great price!

    What to do for fun

    There are so many activities going on, you just have to keep your eyes open before you miss it.

    Food and Dining

    Loved the food here! They recently built a new building with an awesome cafeteria. If you go here, go check it out! You will be pleasantly surprised

    Dorm Life

    This is a live off campus. there are no dorms, how ever there is plenty of places to rent.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a good school, teachers helped you yet you were always challenged; in a good way. You wont be unhappy with the work load.

    Tips for prospective students

    Review that no one has changed your degree program, it happened to me several times and no one knew why, how or who did it.

    In three sentences

    This is a great campus for students just out of High School. The parking isn't great and the advisers can be a pain when signing up for new semesters. The cafeteria is amazing for a community college.

  • 02/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Easy to work part time and pay cash for your classes.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of campus clubs available.

    Food and Dining

    There is no on campus dining.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a good way to get used to college life. There is a moderate amount of coursework and it will help you get ready for a University experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't forget to look for the Frederick Community Foundation scholarships online, you can get free money to attend and it's renewable.

    In three sentences

    This college is great if you want to save money on your first 2 years of a 4 year degree. There are tons of classes available and they have a lot of certificate programs where you can graduate with a certificate and go right to work. The campus is very nice and the professors are very helpful and want to make sure every student succeeds.

  • 05/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are several talks from people in the industry who come to visit campus. There are music performances and plays. There are also art events to attend.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay, nothing special, but not bad either. The cafeteria is a nice place to hang out at. Overall, it's good.

    Dorm Life

    This is non applicable because this is a community college which doesn't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor varies with class. Some classes were difficult while others were very easy. There isn't a predictable level of difficulty for a class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be organized. It's important to ensure the classes taken transfer to other schools. Unfortunately not all of my classes transferred.

    In three sentences

    Frederick Community College is a great school and very cost effective. Even though it's a community college, there is a high caliber regarding education quality. I enjoyed my two years here.

  • 06/29/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    34 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    FCC is well lit, has new facilities, and security personnel is present at all times. I've never felt unsafe on campus. Additionally, being a commuter college, nobody is on campus overnight.

    Clubs and Activities

    Again, the clubs and activities at FCC far surpassed my expectations. Yes, it is a commuter school and community college but it prepares students for four year schools in terms of life on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    As a sign language student, FCC was perfect for me. Frederick is home of the Maryland School for the Deaf and a mere 50 miles from Gallaudet University, a world-renowned school for Deaf-related studies. Because of this, Frederick embodies a vibrant Deaf community and FCC reflects this. All of my ASL Studies teachers were Deaf and were excited about sharing their language and culture.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Worst kept secret: if you are a student at FCC you can get two tickets for every performance at the Maryland Ensemble Theatre in downtown Frederick. This is an awesome venue with awesome performances and you're missing out if you don't take advantage of this deal.

    Bang for the buck

    Five stars! I really couldn't be happier with my experience at FCC.

    What to do for fun

    Participate in clubs, stop by a Student Government Association meeting, and keep an eye on the bulletin boards and the NewsBLAST in your student e-mail for events. There really is a fun, energized pulse on campus if you take the time to plug into it.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria and coffee shop on campus and they work in a pinch. But as a commuter campus, nobody is enrolling at FCC for their quality of dining.

    Dorm Life

    FCC is a commuter campus. However, the energy on campus often feels like that of a college with dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    As with all my past collegiate experience; the best answer is it varies. Some classes seemed easier than high school and some classes seemed beyond the demands of a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Stop by the Student Engagement Office and ask about the school's organizations and clubs. These groups offer a great way to network, learn, and get the most out of your tuition.

    In three sentences

    FCC is extremely well-organized for a community college and features a surprising amount of student engagement. Like most two year schools, it is best designed to prepare students to complete their core classes before transferring to a four year school. However, FCC is much more than a stepping stone and I would happily recommend this school to anyone!