Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Friends University - Kansas Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/13/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who needs that extra attention. Whoever is easy to get along with out going and friendly, not afraid of making new friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go visit the college and sit in a class or even talk to your professor. I will assure you after that visit you will be hooked.

    Bang for the buck

    It may seem expensive but they give out a lot of scholarships. Bang for the buck doesn't even began to explain it. once you set your feet on the campus, in the dorms, in the class, you will know your money was spent well.

    Will enjoy being here

    Everyone is friendly there. It is easy to get along with the students and faculty there. I'm not a student yet but there are a lot of people i just met that when i attend for visits they know me by name.

    Will learn a lot

    The class sizes are very small so you get a lot of one on one time with the professors. They have plenty open offices hours for you to visit if you need help.

  • 06/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    those not afford of exploring a spirtual life...

    Tips for prospective students

    like any other school you are looking at make sure you ask questions, and paln ahead. college is a big step and a very important one, so make sure you pick a school that fits your needs.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a private christain based college, so you get what you pay for. i think its well worth it

    Am enjoying being here

    The staff here truly wants you to succeed!!!!!

    Am learning a lot

    Words cant explain how much i have learned here. This is a wonderful learning institution.

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i have not noticed any security when we are released at 10:00 at night. i know they are there, but i would like to see then there. this would make me feel safer walking to my car.

    Greek Life

    not familiar with this aspect of friends u

    Clubs and Activities

    not familiar with this aspect of friends u

    Great for these types of students

    perfect for adults who are trying to further their education, while still trying to work and provide for their families.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is a beautiful clock tower in the center of campus. i am excited to say all my classes are held in that particular building, which made the initial location easy to find.

    Bang for the buck

    adult studies, i feel you get more for your money. however the school is a little on the pricey side. but i knew that going in and i feel that this school had the better deal for me. ujltimately i chose how i want to learn and this school is the best for it.

    What to do for fun

    there is plenty to do in wichita with the theatres and outdoor activities. i'm not familiar with the on campus activities as of yet. but again, i have seen plenty of emails to know they are an active community.

    Food and Dining

    i hear it is good, however i have not tried them.

    Dorm Life

    i do not live in the dorms at friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    try and get all pre-reqs out of the way before beginning the adult program, this will make your time in the program less streeful and therefore more enjoyable.

    In three sentences

    they are the most loyal and helpful people i have dealt with at any school. they have been encouraging and engaging. i have recommended them time and again and i will continue to do so.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The area in which the campus is located is very residential and with 24 hour campus security roaming campus, there is never any need to feel scared. Also Friends University is a dry campus so there are fewer student accidents.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life at Friends University.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many opportunities to get involved at Friends. Whether it be joining one of the many Student Government Associations or one of the 30 clubs and organizations or in the well reputable sports programs, getting involved is very easy to do and I learned that anyone can join at anytime because the University loves to help get students involved.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Once a school year there is a walkout based on our athletic teams. If any of them win a national conference then the school will petition the president to cancel classes for a day and hold free activities and lunch for the student body to celebrate the win. Students are alerted of this tradition by being awaken to the sounds of pots and pans being banged in every residence hall and building on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    There is FREE tutoring, free wifi, free cable and free printing. Everything essential for academic success. And the school is constantly putting on activities for the students!

    What to do for fun

    The university is very good about holding events to keep students entertained yet, outside of that there really isn't much to do in the city. But honestly the campus is small enough that you get to know people well enough to have small gatherings all the time.

    Food and Dining

    Compared to other colleges that I have visited the food at Friends is good. Once a semester the dining company will hold steak night and they go all out for that. There are set dining hours and there is also a snack bar that serves to keep students hunger satisfied at all times.

    Dorm Life

    The residence life staff works very hard to ensure that community is built. RA's hold events once a month to encourage residence bonding and also students can hang out in the lobby where there is always something to do whether it be play games or watch television together.

    Academic Rigor

    Small class sizes are a major advantage that Friends has because there are less than 1000 undergraduates enrolled total. Also there is free tutoring all subjects which is also very helpful. Friends wants people to succeed even though there are high standards.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is free coffee on the main building and library. And when you are in the main building always take the middle staircases because they are less steep.

    In three sentences

    Friends University is unique in that it is a small university founded by Quakers and known for its Zoo Science and Ballet degree programs. The campus is beautiful and there is always something to do on campus because it values building community between students and faculty. At Friends University we are more than friends, we are family.

  • 05/06/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    Does your college have classes to be a history major?

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    i dont eat there, but eating places are near by.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you get with your advisor and have them help you through the ropes.

    In three sentences

    graduate advisor is real cool and gets work done fast. the christian ministry department is really nice. friends is a collage but not to large.

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go to games

    Food and Dining

    i am on a budget so there is not much of a social life

    Dorm Life

    Its different than when you grow up in a home environment but all in all you get used to it and really get to have new family because of all the people you meet

    Academic Rigor

    I am attending Friends on a basketball scholarship and I am wanting to go for a major in Sports Therapy

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Friends and learn a new way of life and meet people who are truly here to help

    In three sentences

    Friends University has become home away home and it has built up my expectation of becoming an adult with benefits to allow me to do things for myself in the future

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of ways to get active on Campus for each major. Zoology Club, Friends Actives and Campus Events(FACE) any of the Student Government organizations, band, choir, ballad, or any of the other groups

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tree lighting ceremony around Christmas is a huge event with singing, story telling and the lighting of a huge tree located in the center of campus

    Bang for the buck

    You do have to pay a litter higher then some other colleges however with the small class sizes, one on one attention, teachers, and friendly students it is well worth it

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of events on Campus from earth day, week of welcome with scavenger hunt, movies on the lawn or just go around town to movies, dancing, or just hanging with friends

    Food and Dining

    All you can eat at the main dining hall or if you choose to go to Freddy's where you can grab and go to eat if need be. Incoming Freshman/ 1st years are required to have a meal plan but afterwords it is not required.

    Dorm Life

    A dry campus without any alcohol or drugs permitted and several different choices to live both on and off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging however there is support from the Free Tutors located on campus or off through e-mail, and a direct line with teachers who have plenty of open hours to contact and ask them questions or talk about concerns

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to keep on top of things including talking to your advisers.

    In three sentences

    A small campus located near a big city. You can find Friends at Friends University. Teachers are there for you

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've always felt very safe on campus and if I didn't, I know Campus Security is just a phone call away.

    Clubs and Activities

    I never got involved in any because I wasn't really aware of how to get involved. They weren't very good at welcoming people into their clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Religious and studious.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every time one of our sports teams wins a Division Championship, we petition the president of Friends University for a WalkOut (a day with no classes). Student Governments comes up with a day (usually a Wednesday after the championship has been won) where they run through the halls of all the dorms and classrooms with pots and pans, banging on the walls at 8:00 am. At 9:00 am, as many students as are able to walk up to the president's office, make a lot of noise, and petition him for a WalkOut. If not very many students show up, he can say no. Since it's tradition, I don't think that would ever happen. Once the WalkOut has been approved, the students gather on the front lawn and play games and eat together. The school even sets it up where we get free bowling at The Alley and $1 movies at the Palace. It's a great tradition.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a pretty expensive school but the education really is worth it. Although sometimes I feel like my tuition money is going towards watering plants and keeping the landscaping beautiful.

    What to do for fun

    The landscaping is really nice to it's fun to go play frisbee or read a book on the lawn in front of the Davis Administration Building. There's also a gym to work out and play basketball in. In Casado Campus Center, there are lots of televisions and awesome furniture to hang out with friends and watch shows or games.

    Food and Dining

    I'm not a big fan of the food there. The breakfast is usually pretty good but I'd steer clear of lunch and dinner. But there are always sandwiches and cereal, which is really nice when you aren't interested in the meal being served.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms in Green Hall are immaculate. They are co-ed dorms and the lobbies are open 24/7 so you can interact with the opposite gender whenever you'd like. I really wish they had more activities for all of us living there to get to know each other better.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are a breeze whereas others are very rigorous. Be careful of certain professors, some don't believe in giving out A's and that's a shame because then some really hard work is for nothing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you are able to handle being pushed into believing in God. You a required to take classes that basically preach the Bible. Also, be sure that you are comfortable with a really small school. And make sure to use Reading Day to study!

    In three sentences

    It's a nice school with a healthy learning environment. The faculty is truly spectacular. With it being such a small school, I felt as if I'm missing out on a lot of the college experience.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Fantastic! Always present.

    Greek Life

    Doesn't pertain to me.

    Clubs and Activities

    Doesn't pertain to me.

    Great for these types of students

    All types and ages.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Doesn't pertain to me.

    What to do for fun

    Old Town

    Dorm Life

    Doesn't pertain to me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come check it out! Ask anything and they will find it out for you!

    In three sentences

    It's a place I'm so comfortable, I can call it home! The campus is amazing and so is the administration. I have tried others, this is the BEST!

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is visible at all times, especially at night.

    Great for these types of students

    Traditional, right out of high school. It is an ideal institution for non-traditional students to attend night classes, and transferring credit hours is reasonable. However, tuition is high, and financial aid is based on number of credit hours accrued over an entire college career.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are small so the personal attention level is very high which is a plus. The staff has an 'open door' policy so access to professors is never a problem. The cost however is high and the school is very selective about who can enter their programs.

    What to do for fun

    Football games, art shows, music/theater performances.

    Food and Dining

    I actually have no food and dining experience because I'm an adult, non-traditional student at Friends.

    Dorm Life

    I actually have no dorm life experience because I'm an adult, non-traditional student at Friends.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Friends provide a challenging, yet rewarding learning experience. More rigorous than any of the other three college institutions I've attended over the past 20 years.

    Tips for prospective students

    Secure financial aid early. Bring your A-game to your courses. Build a rapport with your professors and they will lead you to great places. Anything worth doing doesn't come without challenges.

    In three sentences

    Friends University is a great school, but the tuition rates are quite high. The professors are first-rate, in the top of their field. The courses I've taken are challenging, yet rewarding.

  • 09/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Though Friends is a private university, the pay is high, but the education received is well worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    Campus offers many student organizations that have many events students can attend. There are even some free events to places where you would have to pay!

    Food and Dining

    Casado has great food amenities for students to relax in between classes and down time.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, but I hear dorm life is great!

    Academic Rigor

    Friends offers a variety of degrees and if they don't have what you want, they are always working with you to get you to where you need to be so that you can get the degree you seek.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to really know what you would like to major in. Switching between majors and even colleges can be a bit of a speed up in your education career. If you don't know what you want to major in, make sure to take all your general studies courses to give you an idea of what field you may want to go in to.

    In three sentences

    This private school offers great care to the students to assure they are receiving the education they desire. Friendly faculty and staff are always looking for options for students to save money. I definitely regret not picking Friends before other universities.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of different clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, fine arts

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Old clock tower is an icon on campus

    Bang for the buck

    Well worth the $$$.

    What to do for fun

    Athletics events, student activities on campus, dances, block parties, community volunteer activities

    Food and Dining

    Lots of choices

    Dorm Life

    The best freshman dorms I have seen.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging excellent instructors eager to help

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and be sure to do a campus visit.

    In three sentences

    I love it here. Small town feel in a big city. Very friendly staff and students.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a small campus with a lot of one on one attention would fit in perfectly here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The banana bandits is always a fun activity to partake in. This is a group of people who gather on Thursday nights and buy bananas from Walmart. Friday morning when walking around campus, there are random bananas dispersed all of the university. Its a fun tradition that always keeps me guessing on Friday mornings.

    What to do for fun

    Hanging out with friends and playing games is always an option. Attending the weekly corner stone meetings is always fun. Many activities that are sponsored by the school such as ice skating, bowling, roller skating and so much more are always a good option when looking for something to do,

    Food and Dining

    Great food in the dining hall. I am a vegetarian and there are always many different choices for me to have. great food that has a lot of variety.

    Dorm Life

    Best dorms I have ever seen by far. They are more like small apartments than dorms, they even have kitchens and living rooms. I love living in the dorms here at Friends.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors expect a lot out of every student here at Friends. Although, they won't leave you hanging if you need some extra help,. The on-campus, free tutoring services are wonderful and they are willing to hepl with any class that is offered here,

    Tips for prospective students

    Start saving money now because it is a fairly expensive place to attend. Although, you definitely gets your moneys worth if you take advantage of the many activities they have to offer. Get involved in all that you can!

    In three sentences

    Friends University can be a wonderful place to be. There are so many wonderful, helpful professors and it is a beautiful campus. If you are fortunate to just visit the campus, I am sure you would love the school.

  • 03/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Throughout the year there are different types of activities, concerts, and projects. Those you can join, participate, and become a part of a great student community.

    Food and Dining

    Love the food but I bring my own lunch; however, when I get a chance to eat there it is great.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus but my friends say that it is great.

    Academic Rigor

    All courses are excellent. They provide unique way of teaching that allow the student to use their critical think skills and truly learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for Friends University contact admissions and find a counselor or adviser there and they will be able to guide you the rest of the way. All staff members are so willing to help you every step of the way.

    In three sentences

    Friends University one of the best schools I have attended. They are there to provide a helping hand throughout the enrollment process; furthermore, they are there throughout your stay. They have demonstrated commitment to the students and their success.

  • 03/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of options from zoo science to Spanish to theatre to music education to English to...

    What to do for fun

    Extra-curricular activities! (I can't stress it enough.) :-) Intramurals, sports events, concerts, theatre productions, the list goes on...

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria, Jazzman's (coffee, cookies, etc.), and Sandella's (sandwiches, more restaurant style) in Casado have nice healthy options as well as yummy food. :-)

    Dorm Life

    I live off-campus with my family because the dorms are expensive. My dorm friends say that the accommodations are good overall. Don't know much more than that.

    Academic Rigor

    This isn't Oxford-level academics, but the professors definitely expect you to put the same effort into learning that they put into teaching. Work hard, and you will succeed. (Cliche, but true.) They want to help all Friends' students succeed and become active, thoughtful members of their communities, from business to baseball.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take on too much too soon. Once a class starts, read your syllabus :-) and push yourself to follow the professors' standards for the whole semester. Extra-curricular activities (especially Fine Arts or sports) are great way to plug-in to the Friends community!

    In three sentences

    I love the Fine Arts events, the cultural events, the numerous on-campus job opportunities, and the beautiful campus. The professors are for the most part personal and caring, and the student to teacher ratio is typically 15:1. Since Friends is small, I can be involved in a lot of different things: piano and vocal performance, choirs, campus events, theatre, leadership positions... Hey, I'm even considering joining the track team next year!

  • 04/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Decent. I had some money stolen out of my wallet that was in the ballet locker rooms once, but I have a lock now.

    Greek Life

    There is none.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who want a friendly and challenging environment.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely learning a lot at a reasonable price for college.

    What to do for fun

    On campus there are plenty of events (concert, ballets, plays, falcon king, talent shows, bingo, intramurals, etc.). There are plenty of things to do in the city as well if you have money.

    Food and Dining

    Casado becomes really boring after a while, but Jazzman's/Sandella's is always delicious.. if only it were open on the weekend...

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are really nice, and the people are friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    Prepare to be challenged, especially if your double majoring and are a ballet major.

    In three sentences

    Welcoming, beautiful, and academically rigorous.

  • 04/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security patrols 24/7 and will escort you during the night if you feel unsafe.

    Bang for the buck

    Really Expensive

    What to do for fun

    Get involved in the Student Government.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of options for everyone including vegetarians.

    Dorm Life

    Amazing they make everyone feel welcome from day 1.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make for sure to study.

    In three sentences

    A wonderful college that cares a lot about there students. And even more about there grass.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    musical, athletic and religious.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When a sports team wins conference we are awarded as a school a walk out. All classes are cancelled and often there is a free lunch, movies and bowling.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive, but many scholarship opportunities are available for extra help. Its fun and a minimal stress environment (tell me what class work is not stressful)

    What to do for fun

    Wichita itself has many things to do for fun, like the mall, resturants, cinemas, down town cafes and more. But you do not need to travel far as there is always some sort of event happening on campus, like carnivals, earth day celebrations and more.

    Food and Dining

    Its a little better than most cafeteria food, but there is always variety.

    Dorm Life

    Not quiet sure as I live off campus. Though when I visit, there is always something going on. People are friendly and I do not hear of too many problems.

    Academic Rigor

    Cheating is not tolerated, in any shape or form. Professors encourage out of class time to encourage students to do their best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll as quick as you can as classes tend to fill up quick. This is a great school for Zoo Science, psychology, PE teachers and many more.

    In three sentences

    It is a beautiful campus, with small class rooms. Classes are simple and easy to get an A if you put the hard work in. The school spirit is like no other, and makes me feel home.

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been multiple break-ins for cars and such.

    Greek Life

    Non-existent.

    Clubs and Activities

    Other than student government and a few extra-curricular clubs, Friends social programs are lacking.

    Great for these types of students

    Ballerina's, we have a phenomenal program. Zoo science, ours in one of the best in the country. Academic, if you push yourself, Friends has all the resources you need to be successful.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Rose Window plaza is the large mosaic brick patio in front of our administrative building. It was created to match the stained glass window at the top. We usually use it for large gatherings.

    Bang for the buck

    Only if you make the most of it.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of community theaters and parks, so go see a show, have a picnic, or just go for a bike ride. Downtown there are lots of fun shops and little diners that are fun to window shop or experience. There are also a couple of museums. My favorite activity is the 5K's that are constantly going on.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria requires some knowledge and experience to navigate, because some of the food is AwEsOmE, and some of the food is NASTY.

    Dorm Life

    The community leaders do a great job of creating a community here. While there aren't a whole lot of activities, the activities that do happen have a long time frame, so you can fit in a visit at any time. The residential life leaders are very helpful and friendly, and they are great about seeking out the answers you need and communicating.

    Academic Rigor

    If you apply yourself, you can get an incredible education here. But, the accountability sucks... so if you slack off you aren't going to learn much.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get as many scholarships as you can from outside sources, because Friends has a very low scholarship cap. Try to get at least a thousand dollars.

    In three sentences

    Friends is full of friendly people, and great programs. The atmosphere is academic, but laid back. Self-motivation is Key.

  • 01/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not in the best neighbourhood, but not unsafe either.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of club, tons of activities, tons of events! Best of all, most of the events include giveaways for things like iPads, TVs, and tablets.

    Great for these types of students

    Some of the programs require a lot of studying, but there is also a large partying scene in the sports programs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the Spring, students go squirrel fishing with fishing lines and peanuts. The goal? Try and keep the squirrel holding on to the peanut for as long as you can.

    Bang for the buck

    If you're here for the specialized programs, Zoo Science and Ballet, then great! But if you aren't, then there are probably cheaper places you could go. In fact, there definitely are.

    What to do for fun

    There are some great coffee shops around the area, notably the Donut Whole, which makes specialized and themed donuts. There are movie theatres, bowling alleys, and lots of local clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Food is not worth the meal plan cost, and any students with special dietary needs (vegetarian, vegan, gluten intolerant, etc.) will be wasting their money and time in the cafeteria. Unfortunately, a meal plan is required for students living on-campus.

    Dorm Life

    Very community-based with tons of activities, but NOT worth the price. You can move off campus, save money, and still be a part of the community.

    Academic Rigor

    Core classes aren't all that tough, but the core classes (especially science ones) can get very difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into off-campus housing as soon as possible. You could save as much as 500 dollars a month by moving off-campus.

    In three sentences

    With small class sizes, it's easy to get to know your professors. The campus has a great sense of community and everyone here is friendly. However, the on-campus housing prices are kind of ridiculous.