Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Fulton-Montgomery Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/18/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    FMCC is great for students who want to save money. It's also good for students who are not positive with a a major. It's better to spend less money at a community college to figure out what you want to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college is a great place to start off. If your not ready to go away from home or just want to save some money FMCC is a great place to go. If your looking for big parties and excitement you might not find it here. Another good thing about FMCC is that it's a SUNY school so if you want to transfer to another SUNY school your credits should be a guarantee.

    Bang for the buck

    The main reason why i'm attending FM is because of the reasonable tuition. I have to pay for everything myself and for me this school was the best choice. I live about 15 minutes away so I don't have to waste money on housing or food.

    Am enjoying being here

    The college is a little bland, there isn't hardly any excitement. I pretty much just go here to get the two years out of the way.

    Am learning a lot

    FMCC doesn't get a lot of credit for being a community college but there are good teachers. I'm taking general courses because I plan on transferring and i've learned so many things. For example Mr. Kover, the American history teacher, has so much character and teaches things that you wouldn't think that you would ever know. His class can be challenging, but rewarding.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is constantly on watch, ensuring the safety of the students whether it's from people speeding in the parking lot or people smoking in non-smoking areas.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs and activities to do. From community outreach to fencing they all involve great people.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking for a starting block to set themselves on a career path.

    What to do for fun

    The raiders cove a non-alcoholic area for students to relax and socialize should be ready in the fall.

    Food and Dining

    Well prepared, and the enviroment is clean.

    Dorm Life

    Comfortable rooms with plenty of space.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is challenging yet rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Feel free to ask your teachers for help, they post their office hours because they want people to come for help.

    In three sentences

    A great start to education for a career. The faculty are always ready to help and will know you on a personal level. They will get you ready for your future.

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    anyone who loves diversity.

    Bang for the buck

    for the cost of the college, it is a great deal for the amount of education you can complete at fm.

    What to do for fun

    there are many clubs and activities, but not too many sports.

    Food and Dining

    the food is so-so and the dining hall if very plain and simple.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are old and fire alarms are always going off. the walk to the campus is also relatively far.

    Academic Rigor

    some courses are harder than others. if you study and put in the time and effort, you're guaranteed a good grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you're looking to save money, and get two years of college out of the way, fm is the way to go!

    In three sentences

    the campus is very easy to navigate about. the classes are a relatively moderate size. the professors are excellent.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    i´m a baseball player of the fmcc baseball team

    What to do for fun

    play baseball and study to be a good student.

    Tips for prospective students

    come to fmcc if you love your future.

    In three sentences

    i love this campus. my professor is the best help a lot. my roommates now his my family here.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a public safety office located on campus and each security officer pulls his own weight. You constantly see the campus police car driving around the parking lot. Unfortunately it does mean you wont get away with parking in the faculty parking lot to save on walking distance. Also there are phones located all around campus that are used in case of emergencies only. The grid that they are set up on shows exactly where the phone is being used from and makes it easy for assistance to arrive

    Clubs and Activities

    FMCC loves to see more and more clubs sports and other activities. Almost everyday you walk through the lounge you see another table set up in support of something going on in the community, or students who were just having a club meeting leaving the classroom you're currently entering to attend class.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who have a strict budget, but still want to get a great education should definitely consider attending courses at FMCC. Even if you plan to transfer this college could be a life saver.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't very many unusual traditions. A lot of the traditions that you hear about around this campus come from the science departments who put together things like The Human Periodic Table

    Bang for the buck

    It is roughly $6,000 for a full time student's tuition. Although it sounds like a lot of money it doesn't come anywhere near some of the bigger colleges costing upwards of $50,000. However, many of the credits you earn at this school can easily be transferred to one of these bigger colleges saving you tens of thousands of dollars.

    What to do for fun

    Across from the admissions building there is the cafeteria, and the basement to the cafeteria. The basement is full of fun activities like video gaming systems and pool tables and a lounge area. If you're looking to get off campus the city of Johnstown is less then 5 minutes away and there are restaurants, a movie theater, and opportunities to go shopping.

    Food and Dining

    Not only is the food moderately cheap but it always tastes good. This cafeteria is very clean and takes time to makes the students happy. The people who run the cafeteria also try to encourage the students to put together meals that will save them as much money as possible with still getting enough to eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very green and a very short walk from the classrooms. Since the college is just outside the city of Johnstown there are many opportunities to maintain an outside life as well as an educational life.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses in the college have a huge range from being very difficult to very easy. It is easy to fall behind, but the course are definitely still doable.

    Tips for prospective students

    The college put together labs for students to go see free tutors for a reason, and teachers have mandatory office hours specifically for students to visit them with questions. If you decide to go here it is very helpful to take full advantage of these opportunities.

    In three sentences

    Many opportunities can be found within this college. The teachers are easy to communicate with, and very approachable. It is easy to go far in this type of college.

  • 01/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great

    What to do for fun

    Sports Lounge, Gym, Workout

    Food and Dining

    Better than High School Lunch

    Academic Rigor

    Radiology

    Tips for prospective students

    Have fun, be yourself, get your work done.!

    In three sentences

    Great Staff that helps students the best way possible, there are many resources to help students succeed, and alot of clubs and activities.

  • 06/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The gaming club was alot of fun.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs, Clubs, Clubs.. Join one.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good.

    Dorm Life

    I lived at home so I don't really know.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not really that hard if you pay attention and don't goof off.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in a club, it will help you acclimate better, and it is fun.

    In three sentences

    I would highly recommend attending FMCC. I had a great experience here. I am transferring to University of New Haven and my mother is now currently attending here as well.

  • 01/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a relatively safe campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I love the various extracurricular activities associated with this campus, such as fencing, which allow me to meet new individuals and make new friends.

    What to do for fun

    I participate in several extracurricular activities, and spend time with my friends, to pass the time.

    Food and Dining

    The food located at this establishment is average at best, however, this educational institution does boast a wide variety.

    Dorm Life

    I have seen the college dorm rooms and I am not impressed.

    Academic Rigor

    This college possesses a moderate level of scholastic difficulty, which allows students to maintain their social lives and find a variety of jobs, both on and off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to be invested in your studies and remember to maintain your social standing at all times, while minding the various extracurricular programs that this fine educational establishment offers.

    In three sentences

    Fulton-Montgomey Community College is a well established educational institution with a distinctive variety of extracurricular activities and educational programs. Furthermore, this educational institution also provides it students with a heightened degree of intellectual prowess, due to it possessing a variety of college courses and educational classes. Overall, this college is one that most individuals would be happy to attend.

  • 10/02/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    9 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    great for international students!

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and fun things!

    Tips for prospective students

    contact mrs arlene spencer who is the best consular i ever talked with. she gives perfect advises.

    In three sentences

    Fulton montgomery college is one of the best first step for international students. its offering great transfer prgrams.