Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Gadsden State Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You can't beat the tuition, but you still get what you paid for. It's not a very challenging school.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's not very challenging, but the student are really cool and the staff is really friendly.

    Am learning a lot

    I had a very challenging high school career, so unfortunately I don't feel that I'm learning much here. So far all the professor are very easy graders. But I have learn a ton about how college works and what to do to get the most out of it.

  • 05/06/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Did enjoy being here

    The school was close to home and many of my friends attended class with me. A good transition from high school to college.

    Did learn a lot

    Most of the classes I took were fairly challenging and I feel that I learned a good bit. There were a couple where the professor literally read straight out of the textbook, but you can have a good overall experience if you research the teachers first.

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go off campus for fun. there is always plenty of things to around town.

    Food and Dining

    students get meal tickets if they would like one to get 15 meals a week.

    Dorm Life

    i personally do not know much about the dorms. i assume they are pretty decent to live in.

    In three sentences

    gadsden state community college is a very clean place. it has great teachers that are there when ever you need them and willing to help. gadsden state is a really great college it has plenty of options.

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    no dorms on the ayers campus where i plan to attend, but dorms are available on the main campus in gadsden.

    Academic Rigor

    helpful instructors and interesting classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure it is the right place for you. everyone is different.

    In three sentences

    gadsden state has a small campus that is close to my home. they have knowledgeable and helpful teachers. they can help me achieve my career goals.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    me and my friends would meet up in the area called the breeze. its a little place to go and hang out, discuss class, and various events.

    Food and Dining

    the food is nice and inexpensive.

    Dorm Life

    i didn't live on the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are a bit challenging but it helps you prepare.

    Tips for prospective students

    go to gadsden state and get your degree and then transfer off. gadsden state will help you with all of it effort to get you to sucess

    In three sentences

    gadsden state was very organized. the school is very nice and clean. the school helped become a better student and get ready for my transfer off to a bigger college.

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Gadsden state is a great campus for older students who are returning back to college.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are having problems contact student services.They help with tutoring and even supplies.

    In three sentences

    Gadsden state is a wonderful college.The tuition is very reasonable and the faculty are awesome.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Secure day and night

    Greek Life

    Something to do for all afe groups.

    Great for these types of students

    Single parents and Senior Citizens.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Three campuses McClellan, Ayers, Wallace Drive.

    In three sentences

    It has a great deal of support. Ayers Campus has a Student Support Center. McClellsn Center has a Learing Center that tutors Math and English. The have techical and non-techmical degrees.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's pretty safe.

    Greek Life

    Very subtle. Almost non-existent

    Great for these types of students

    Reclusive, Studious.

    What to do for fun

    Join the SGA, other clubs like Circle K. Go to the gym to watch the basketball players play. Go for programs in Gadsden like Riverfest, and first Friday.

    Food and Dining

    Fair, if you are willing to try different foods.

    Dorm Life

    Dead! Room inspection once every week. There isn't much to it. Too many rules.

    Academic Rigor

    Pretty easy if you apply yourself to it

    Tips for prospective students

    Be accustomed to small places, have a car to move around, be focused!

    In three sentences

    Small, Peaceful, Study

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security on patrol 24/7

    Bang for the buck

    Low tuition prices. You can get all your core classes here then transfer to a four year university

    Food and Dining

    Have not eaten it cafeteria much but foods was always good with a wide selection of items

    Dorm Life

    I lived off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers challenge you and push you to be better.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college is expanding every day, with campuses in three surrounding counties. If you have doubts about this college because of academic progress, dont have them. It is a great college to get all your core classes

    In three sentences

    Gadsden State Community College is an excellent college for the working parent or working adult. Teachers are happy to work with you and the teachers there are wonderful. The only draw backs to Gadsden State community college, it is only a two year school. They have plenty of courses, unfortunetly only a few of those can be taken at night.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is very unorganized.

    Food and Dining

    I am not for sure about this; have not ate here yet.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home while attending college here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have everything in order.

    In three sentences

    I just enrolled at Gadsden State a few days ago and it was kind of difficult. I also went back to talk to an advisor and there was only one available. No one knew anything about the first generation scholarship/grant.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will get a ticket if you ark in the wrong area. PERIOD! the watch you walk away from your car and run over there until you realize that you parked in a EMPLOYEE ONLY ZONE.

    Greek Life

    Havent experienced it

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't experienced the fun part of school because i am so focused on my major.

    Great for these types of students

    yes!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school to me is right in a very ruff-looking neighborhood

    What to do for fun

    I love to listen to music, i actually use music as a study habit. I basically rap the information back to myself.

    Food and Dining

    Gadsden state have many campuses and the one with many of my classes only have EXPENSIVE vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    I never experienced the dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    Very Fair, Very Fair,

    Tips for prospective students

    Make your you check the schools background before you apply. Always come to school organized and ready, also with agood additude. You might get more helpful information than an individual who is complaining.

    In three sentences

    This school has a very good reputation. It is an accredited school that has never been on probation. The teachers actually teach their students other than the books teaching the students.

  • 09/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Try going to the movie theater, if you go they give students a discount. Another form of entertainment you will see throughout the semester year are plays, musicals, and concerts, they also provide a discount to students (sometimes students can even be free). The best thing of all at Gadsden State Community College is G-Day. Talking about it does it no justice, but imagine food, games, music, dancing, and all students coming together to celebrate being a student at the campus.

    Food and Dining

    There are not cafeterias or restaurants at the campus where I am (Ayers and McClellan area). There are however fast food and dining places found throughout the city. You will see typical fast food chains like McDonald's, Burger King, etc.

    Dorm Life

    I am not in the city where dorms are, so I cannot say much about how dorm life is. I do know that if you are planning to attend the campus at Ayers or McClellan do not expect dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Certain classes are challenging more so than others. It mostly depends on the teacher and their syllabus.You have to take responsibility for keeping up with deadlines, and this actually really stressed since most class assignments are posted on your student account.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus on your studies because no one is going to make it easy on you especially from certain teachers. Try doing scholarships, it will help with tuition and books. Take opportunities in doing programs, it will give you a chance to network and have a bit more fun.

    In three sentences

    The teachers here really seem to enjoy their occupation. When it comes to lectures, I always become interested. The college has three different locations especially around my city that makes it all the more convenient.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24/7 PATROL.

    Great for these types of students

    All.

    Bang for the buck

    Great teaching at a great price.

    What to do for fun

    Alot of things around town and on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Love the food and tea! Salads are great too.

    Academic Rigor

    Very good. Have a good attitude and learn alot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay strong, don't give up and get an advisor.

    In three sentences

    The instructors here are great. The food and sweet tea is great also. The staff is friendly and welcoming.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a great theatre on campus where there are several plays every year.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is excellent.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    You must apply for financial aid ahead of time.

    In three sentences

    Gadsden State is a very good school. The learning resources are excellent here. The staff is always available to help when needed.

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't give up!

    In three sentences

    Gadsden State is a very friendly college. Everyone is there to help you. You will never meet a stranger.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Best in the state tuition prices.

    What to do for fun

    Going to Walmart.

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    Education in these parts is sparse, but very obtainable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to have all of your paperwork and finances lined up as early as possible. The Banner system, or computer system they work with, is very touchy and is not very reliable. Otherwise, just have fun.

    In three sentences

    This is an incredible way to go to college. Tuition is very cheap, the cheapest in the state of Alabama, and you get very good bang for your buck here. Everyone working here is extremely nice.

  • 03/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always students posting flyers about parties contests or upcoming shows at the theatre

    Food and Dining

    my campus does not offer meals..but i know some do..havent ate there though...

    Dorm Life

    lived at home...

    Academic Rigor

    study study study for those tests! and always read the books!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Fill out ANY financial aid EARLYYYYY!!!!

    In three sentences

    I love my nursing instructors! I love the small classes! Parking is ehh...

  • 04/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The classroom work is just as hard a major colleges, the exception is they will spend extra time to aid in the successful completion

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider this school because of the professors. They are always willing to work with students.

    In three sentences

    Gadsden State is a student friendly campus. Gadsden State always goes out of the way to help students regardless of age. They give many the opportunity to complete programs for all students.

  • 05/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always someone patrolling the parking lots and it is located in a safe locale.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus offers a gym to be used by all students. We also have international day, career day, G Day and many other activities.

    Bang for the buck

    Optimal classroom experience with phenomenal staff and worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    The college offers many programs, clubs and sports.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for new students, enroll, register and mingle with some fun students and staff.

    In three sentences

    The teachers I have had are very experienced, loyal and helpful. I love Gadsden State, the location is ideal. Gadsden State has a wide variety of ages when it comes to students, everyone in welcome.

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    We have dances, games, several activities. There is never a dull month at Gadsden State.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. My personal favorite is a wrap with fries.

    Dorm Life

    I Did not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    One word to describe it Awesome. It is so well planned that you feel comfortable.

    Tips for prospective students

    For future students, do not be shy when you are struggling in a class. There are several different ways to get help in order to succeed but you first have to reach out for help.

    In three sentences

    Gadsden State Community College is a place full of opportunities. They take pride in their students education. If I had a chance to start all over again Gadsden State would be where I begin.

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Gadsden State does not have many places to go on campus. The only places that are near include the mall and a few museums. Gadsden State is a laid- back environment and does not have much excitement.

    Food and Dining

    Gadsden State's cafeteria is decent, but its not your 5-star meal. The cafeteria has a deli and a grill area. Gadsden State's cafeteria lacks quality and variety.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is basic, not the best building. It has old infrastructure and needs to be remodeled because of its old age. Otherwise, its cheaper than most dormitories.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, Gadsden State has some consistency in ways of understanding. Even though, some teachers are better than others, it all depends on the student. Gadsden State offers assistance in most areas including tutoring for students that need some extra help.

    In three sentences

    Gadsden State Community College is about an 8.0 of of 10 academically. Gadsden State needs more athletic involvement. Lastly, Gadsden State is an overall decent experience.

  • 10/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The college is located next to many restaurants and stores, so there's plenty to do around town.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, but from what I've heard, they are pretty nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to ask other students about teachers!! Don't just go into a class blind-eyed!!

    In three sentences

    GSCC is a great starting point. It's easy for recent high school graduates to ease into college life. Also very accommodating for dual-enrolled students.

  • 10/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe because of the area, however security is impossible to get ahold of. However the local police are very quick and responsive to the area as well.

    Greek Life

    Not a clue.

    Clubs and Activities

    It depends on what you're interested in. For me the International Club is like no other. Next month we're going to Washington DC for four days! After that who knows where?

    Great for these types of students

    Any student would enjoy the campus/faculity/location.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The only unusual thing I can think of is G-night, which follows g-day and it's pretty much an unscheduled, not broadcasted event where we all get together, search the campus for ghosts, and generally just have fun.

    Bang for the buck

    As far as tuition/cost to attend goes this school is unmatched in my opinion. I'll give an example: I am in-state and for everything including tuition, books, and supplies, I spent 2,000 dollars. That is it. The classes are hard but prepared in a way that you don't feel swamped, the campus is clean and pretty, and the people are friendly.

    What to do for fun

    In the Gadsden area there are a lot of options, movies, football games, shopping, skating in an old-fashion style rink. It isn't a large city but an hour and a half from Birmingham and three hours from Atlanta, it's a good place to feel like the hub without all the drawbacks.

    Food and Dining

    The only real food option on campus is the cafeteria and it has very strict hours. It is also quite pricey. The french fries are amazing though.

    Dorm Life

    I can't say anything here, I do not live in one.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are small but tough, teachers are pushing the students to learn a lot and most do not grade on the curve system that most people are use to. At first it might feel like high school but that quickly disappears after the first exam. Studying and making sure to use blackboard and the email is highly recommended if you want to pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stock up on the essentials because the book store is a little overpriced on most goods, they sometimes have good deals but they are rare. Another choice idea is to learn the trolly bus route, very handy if you are running low on gas and want to head downtown for some fun. The biggest thing is to get use to the campus, it's very squished together so a lot of the time you'll feel as if you don't need to know where the buildings are; however, it sincerely helps to know!

    In three sentences

    The college is well put together and easy to walk to all the different buildings. I currently am at the Wallace campus. It is an older facility so keep that in mind, tiny bathrooms and older classroom styles. The best advice I can give is that it's a great place for two year and transfers, lots of helpful counselors and professors.

  • 11/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are a small town kind of person and do not want to be overwhelmed by the huge auditorium classrooms, Gadsden State is the college for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Gadsden State is only a 20 minute drive from my house, so I do not have to worry about living on campus or using much gas. They are also very much worth what you pay. The tuition is much cheaper than Universities. It is much easier going to school knowing it is affordable and you are not in debt.

    What to do for fun

    Gadsden State has many chances to have fun on campus. Several organizations host many different things such as Halloween dances and G-Day. These are very fun events that help relieve the college stress of studying and work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Gadsden State, like any other college is not hard if you are prepared. You must be organized, go to class, and study in order to do good. Although, studying may take up a lot of a student's time, college is fun and full of great experiences with new friends.

    In three sentences

    Gadsden State is a very friendly campus. The teachers, staff, and students at Gadsden State are all so helpful. Gadsden State Community College is a wonderful place to get an education.

  • 12/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Its what you make of it there is not many social attractions, but with the right friends fun is always obtainable.

    Food and Dining

    Go to Jefferson's and Kobe they are very good and do not forget to stop by flip side for some finals go juice.

    Dorm Life

    I can not really give any information I have always live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on you, if you can handle it harder avenues are available, but also their is a path less obstructive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Eat at the cafeteria only like five bucks and its really good. There is a gym on campus and you have access take advantage. Be nice and try to make a new friend everyday

    In three sentences

    Gadsden State isn't a college it is a community. The people are nice and the teachers actually care about you. The admissions office may have the nicest administrative people I have ever seen.

  • 01/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Every Tuesday afternoon, students will gather and play soccer for a couple of hours. It is a fantastic way to relieve stress from the daily routines of school. There are also basketball and volleyball games that students attend, giving themselves another opportunity to increase their social networks around campus.

    Food and Dining

    Scholarships can be used to pay for meals. Even if a student does not have a scholarship, he or she still pays for about half the price of most restaurants in the area for the same amount of food. In addition, the cafeteria is home to many lectures by speakers talking about different aspects of college life. This usually takes place around lunch time. Students can go to these lectures and get credit for certain classes if that is permitted by their professor. Regardless, it makes for a more colorful college dining experience.

    Dorm Life

    Gadsden State is one of the few college in the country that does not charge a special fee to foreign exchange students. This, many international students from various countries come and and work alongside local and national pupils. This makes for an interesting college life and career.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the classes. Some classes like Chemistry may involve more work than a History course, but that simply means that more time and energy should be put into that subject. Any class at Gadsden State can be mastered as long as the student does everything that needs to be done in order to be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to people who have attended Gadsden State and get their opinion on the college. Also, talk to professors and make sure you have a goal that you can work with to accomplish what you need to at the college. Ask for their advice. Make sure you ask students for the best professors to take as well.

    In three sentences

    Gadsden State is a great way to improve your education in a small, friendly environment. The college gives each student an excellent opportunity to gain all the material he or she needs to know in order to be successful at a four year university. It also allows for two year students to obtain a degree and immediately find employment.

  • 01/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In my two years at Gadsden State I have never seen anything harming nor uncomfortable. It is a very safe and respectable community.

    Greek Life

    Gadsden State does not have on campus sororities nor fraternities. However, they have groups like phi theta kappa which is a group of academic achievers with access to exclusive scholarships, professional development, and many benefits.

    Clubs and Activities

    Like most colleges there is always something to get into. You could join a club of interest, chorus, or even drama. We have random activities throughout the year like kickball, flag football, or just hanging out in the quad.

    Great for these types of students

    Gadsden State is great for first time students. It is a great ice breaker for the shy. It is small enough to feel comfortable, but big enough to meet someone you can make a bond with.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Gadsden State has a day where the campus comes together and makes stands and promotes clubs, groups, sports, band, food, etc. This day is called G-day.

    Bang for the buck

    Gadsden State is far from expensive. I chose Gadsden State because they have a nice campus, intelligent staffing, and affordable classes. The classes are not only affordable, but also informative.

    What to do for fun

    Gadsden State has many opportunities for fun. Whether it be a club function, sporting event, or even school wide kick ball game.

    Food and Dining

    Gadsden State has a pretty decent cafeteria. The pricing is affordable, and the amount is more than enough. They have also have a wide variety of food, and the quality is quite delicious.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms, but I have toured them. Many of the students I have made friends with live in the dorms and enjoy the life. I have visited the dorms many times, many amenities are included and they are cozy.

    Academic Rigor

    Coming from high school to college is going to be different. It is not going to be a breeze by like you may have done in high school. The school has challenging aspect and requires thought process, however, with the correct study methods class will be much less complex.

    Tips for prospective students

    Upcoming freshmen should scout the school, get familiar with the surroundings and buildings. Also, talk to the advisers and see what clubs, sports, and/or campus activities that are available.

    In three sentences

    Gadsden State is a great starter college for recently graduated high school students. The school is like a miniature university, and gives you a great close to home college experience. Gadsden State definitely opened me up to how things work, and their staff does a great job.

  • 03/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Several activities are held across campus.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria has cheap prices.

    Dorm Life

    Live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are understanding to your situation, and will work to get you to excel.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention, Show up for class and do your work.

    In three sentences

    Gadsden State has good teachers immersed in the fields they are teaching. They are supportive and committed to your understanding. If you apply yourself, you will be successful.

  • 05/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Really good, I haven't been disappointed yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the help the that is offered at Gadsden State, such as the S.T.A.R.S. transfer system, so you can choose what career path you want to pursue and to what university you want to attend if you plan on transferring.

    In three sentences

    Gadsden State Community College is a wonderful college to attend because of its friendly staff, good campuses (not too big or small), and the academic/technical classes in general, as most are taught by instructors who are passionate about what they teach and are more than willing to assist you. Tuition at Gadsden State is affordable, providing the greatest educational value for the money, and you can complete up to two years towards a bachelor's degree if you plan on transferring to a university. Gadsden State offers a diverse selection of programs of study, such as Computer Science, Electronic/Electrical Engineering, Nursing, and many more, making it a great and convenient college to attend.