Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Gallaudet University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/07/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    I'm excited to go to Gallaudet, but not looking forward to the humidity!

  • 06/03/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 2 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Friendships, memories, and awareness spurns a fondness like no other!

    Tips for prospective students

    Gallaudet University is a wonderful campus to use sign language...for a hearing person to be in a silent world where no one uses their voices like hearing people do, this is an awesome experience for those gaining more through usage of sign language. For the Deaf, this is a wonderful place to be, our own kind, our own language all over campus! Gallaudet University has grown since 1977 when I was last there! Amazing changes...this time ONLINE distance learning is available. I'm grabbing the bull by the horns with this awesome opportunity! p.s. I am Deaf!

  • 07/19/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for deaf students who want a top notch education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early to get scholarships that are offered.

    Bang for the buck

    For what is offered, the school is a great deal for what is given to help every student succeed.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is beautiful and small and is set up to help every student succeed.

    Will learn a lot

    The way the classes are set up, you won't miss anything that is said/signed in class.

  • 02/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it is amazing!

    Greek Life

    we have several greek orgz.

    Clubs and Activities

    tons of choices!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    freshmans/transfers students (first year student at gallaudet university) (between jan-march) shave their hair off!!! it is amazing! you don't have to do it if you chose to not. (march-april) rat funeral, black outfits! can't laugh! walk around campus. =) 2nd year, plant a tree and put a slab. 3rd year, class jersey! 4th year, senior trip!

    What to do for fun

    join clubs! i strongly encourage you to go off-campus, as such as georgetown! there is lot of museums, attractions, restaurants, and many more!

    Food and Dining

    well, we have pretty good food at cafe and we do have awesome food at marketplace and rathskellar. =) there is a room for improvement though.

    Dorm Life

    peet hall is the least favorite dormitory. clerc hall is the most favorite dormitory. we are building new dormitory- with kitchens! only one thing that sucks, rules! =)

    Academic Rigor

    professors are amazing- wonderful tutor centers. lot more!

    Tips for prospective students

    number one tip: manage your time well! this university have lot of activities available to public and lot of people that love to socialize. number two tip: show lot of respect for your professors- they are the ones who decide your grades. tip number three: be yourself!

    In three sentences

    it is a wonderful university for bilingual students, especially deaf, hard of hearing, and coda students. gallaudet university students shows lot of respect for others, new signers, non-signers, or fluent signers. it is a paradise.

  • 10/26/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Expensive University but really rewarding to attend the university to learn my Deaf Culture.

    Am enjoying being here

    Living on campus and being away from home is quite challenging experience, but I learn from the unique experience. Meeting new friends can be such rewarding because they are like family to me. I like being on campus because having a lot of friend support while being away from home.

    Am learning a lot

    I have been enjoying my semester at Gallaudet, I have learned a lot in certain class such as ASL. In my high school I never learned my own first language how it has been functioned and what the ASL structures are. I am glad that I took the class it is quite interesting.

  • 07/11/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I'm not sure how will I pay for all of this, but somehow get loads of scholarship and loans to help me out in this. So, high recognition and well experience like volunteer will get me somewhere somehow. ;D

    Will enjoy being here

    I know I will have a feeling that I will love this place! Deaf community is just the answers I need to be in!

    Will learn a lot

    I have learned so much about Gallaudet from the history and to what they have to give us for the opportunity. It's definitely something worth looking forward to attend!

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The students at the university is having issues with the campus police due to their lack of communication skills and slow respond time. However, there is a student court for student conduct available to individually assign consequences in accord for the severity of crime. Other than that, the university is somewhat lenient on alcohol and drug use since they provide three-strike systems before expulsion.

    Greek Life

    They are very highly competitive and dedicated to the community service. Entering the Greek life is difficult, but not highly difficult, as they select students based on their personality and involvement in community and school activities. However, Greeks are usually the lives of the parties they are in!

    Clubs and Activities

    Taking the city bus in front of the university entrance, a group of students can take a 5-minute ride to U Street Corridor, which is famous for nightlife complete with clubs, bars, and nearby fast food restaurants.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are three unique traditions that are solely Gallaudet's: Bald Day, Rat Funeral, and Class Flag. The freshmen will have a chance to go wild with their hair style and colors before going bald at the start of second semester (this is completely optional!). At the end of the freshman year, the students will dress up in black and pair up in a long line in a slow funeral march to the burial ground for their class stuffed rats (real rats were used but banned in 80's). This will be completed in junior year, where a tree and a stone slab with names of the rats and the class year is planted/placed at the gravesite. The class flag is designed and made during the freshman year, where the students must guard it diligently (since it is highly valued and prone to being stolen) until the senior trip when it is burned and a good copy placed at the Alumni Hall alongside with all previous class year' flag copies.

    What to do for fun

    There are always mini-bash at night restaurant/bar on campus every Friday with different themes complete with music and lights. There are many activities in DC that anyone can attend, and for the most of time, they are free or good priced. There are always big dorm parties and house parties on every weekend regardless of weather or time of year.

    Food and Dining

    On a less bright side, the university don't have good food and dining options on campus. However, they aim to have most food in cafeteria organically grown in nearby farms and from university's miniature farm. On a brighter side, the university is in the center of Washington, D.C., and many food options can be found off-campus.

    Dorm Life

    An excellent place to socialize and meet many people that a student may not have met in the classes or in between. Dorm life is famous for dorm parties every night, since Gallaudet University is a strong party university with a good academic standing. The life in dorms is always exciting and new every night.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at the university have strong expectations and belief in the students. The strongest rigor of the academics at the university is a student's ability to express ideas in two languages: English and American Sign Language with such skill. The best part of the academics is the personal relationship between professor and student due to small number of students in a classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not doubt your ability to be involved in various activities based on your language or communication skills, we are always looking for people like you. We, the students at Gallaudet University, appreciate the diverseness in the activities a lot and we enjoy it.

    In three sentences

    A very accessible campus with everything conducted in American Sign Language and any other communicative devices. It has a strong student and dorm life everyday at any hour and at any place. It is a place for students to find their own identities and their voices in a stimulating and exciting environment

  • 04/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Gallaudet University is in Washington DC. There is so much stuff to do there, there is alot of shopping and sightseeing. You can visit the mouments, musems and parks.

    Dorm Life

    I never experienced the dorm life. I will be starting in the Fall of 2012.

    In three sentences

    Gallaudet University is a University for deaf or hard of hearing students. Gallaudet University is an amazing college for deaf or hard of hearing people. It is a university that helps college students shine and become successful in their future careers and in their lives.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Gated campus. Constant patrolling by security. However, when leaving campus, make sure to travel in twos, especially at night. The surrounding area can be a bit dangerous at times.

    Great for these types of students

    Deaf, Hard of Hearing and students already established in ASL

    What to do for fun

    DC and the surrounding areas offer an unlimited number of opportunities. The area is rich with history, art, nature and events.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent location. Near DC's metro and bus lines.

    Tips for prospective students

    Become familiar with the DC metro system. Make sure to have a basis in American Sign Language before applying.

    In three sentences

    An excellent school for Deaf, Hard of Hearing or students already familiar with ASL. You will be given a well-rounded education and become familiar with more than just your major. Staff and faculty are very helpful and friendly.

  • 10/27/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 10 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    I went on my college visit in September and I felt at home. Everyone made sure I was involved and I met some fantastic people! I definitely recommend going!!

  • 05/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the security are 24/7 and are everywhere.

    Greek Life

    I am more of a Liberal. From what I see, the sorority sisters are close no matter what form or race they come in, they accept all and love all.

    Clubs and Activities

    They provide sports, bash, events for international students, to show their support they also have gay and lesbians clubs that gets together and show their pride.

    Great for these types of students

    Deaf, Hard of Hearing, Interpreters majors, who are eager to learn.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year, they have this tradition called Bald day for freshman only. They shave their head (boys and girls) to follow the tradition, they also have Rat funeral which is a tradition for freshmen as well, to honor their class and bury a fake rat to represent.

    Bang for the buck

    I am 24 years old and I always have hated school, I would call myself a jock, but after I entered Gallaudet I can say I never have been this eager to learn more .I have strong ADD so I can not pay attention to interpreters at all times so with the teachers signing and my motivation to learn just kicked in and got my attention.

    What to do for fun

    There are immaterial sports for everyone to play without needing commitment, there are organizations (I am working on setting up a running organization since my school do not have any sports organization), bash, events, plays, and poetry.

    Food and Dining

    We have cookers and it may take a long line to get the food we want, but they are there everyday making sure we enjoy our meals.

    Dorm Life

    I can not be the judge since I live off-campus, but from what I see dorm life made the interaction easy for those who are new faces.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers there signs, and they provided interpreters for those students who are there to learn. The teachers ensures that we understand the materials and expect the best from us.

    Tips for prospective students

    Gallaudet is a great school if you ever felt left behind with the communication, and being a freshman is probably the most important year of college years since it is when your GPA starts and it's hard to get good GPA if you didn't take your freshman year seriously.

    In three sentences

    Gallaudet has give me the opportunity to prove myself as an deaf individual, not only to my family, to the society as well. Not only opportunities poured in, the communication at Gallaudet has made it accessible for the deaf students. I can say I fell in love with Gallaudet and am proud to call myself deaf.

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    room for improvement.

    Great for these types of students

    deaf students and students from a mainstream school

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    unusual tradition is gallaudet freshmen bald day, all the freshmens shave their hair

    What to do for fun

    go off campus, see museums most are free in washington dc

    Dorm Life

    we need more new dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    could always use room for improvements

    Tips for prospective students

    stay on top of school work! and time management

    In three sentences

    could improve their gsr programs

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Gated.

    Great for these types of students

    Deaf and Hard of Hearing - great atmosphere very accepting.

    What to do for fun

    It's DC - there are tons of places to go explore. The college is good about activities too. Loving DC

    Food and Dining

    Loving this food. All homecooked daily. Great experience.

    Dorm Life

    Good - for Dorm Life

    Academic Rigor

    Tough but manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Jumpstart if you need to it will rock your world.

    In three sentences

    I am in the Jumpstart Program and this is awesome. All the staff and professors want to see the students succeed. I absolutely love it here.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not very safe for everyone, so the students should be aware what they are doing in the campus. I received many alerts from Police Department about robbery, vandalism and some crimes.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many activities for fun and many events!

    Bang for the buck

    The university is very expensive, it will be worse without any financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    The university is great for fun, the students make many events and do many activities, so it's not easy to get bored, the students are sociable.

    Food and Dining

    The student have food in cafeteria like a buffet restaurant, but most of the foods are junk, unhealthy. Students should be aware what they are eating, there are many options, unhealthy and healthy foods either everyday.

    Dorm Life

    The students have little to no privacy in the dorms. They stuck under many Gallaudet dorm rules. Students who plans to live on campus should take care of their room and not leave the dorm dirty, otherwise they will be fined.

    Academic Rigor

    The university is great for learning sign language and deaf culture, but the English in this university is easy, not like other universities, I usually see the students a little weak in English language.

    Tips for prospective students

    For someone who wants to learn sign language, the university will help a lot to students to motivate and learn sign language. Students who are considering in Gallaudet or going to this school should motivate and be socializing with everyone so the students will see how much improved in sign language in no time.

    In three sentences

    I started to study ELI (English Language Institute) program in Gallaudet University. The university is amazing for someone who wants to learn sign language, the language not for just deaf people, also for everyone. I became a little fluent in sign language for just 3 months because I accustomed to communicate with that.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many things to do for fun, because Gallaudet University is in Washington, DC, a city of unlimited possibilities � free possibilities at that. You can go to the Smithsonian museums, see the famous memorials and monuments, and go shopping in Maryland and go eat in Virginia all in one day.

    Food and Dining

    It's okay.... After a few years, I'm really sick of the cafeteria food, but I've heard other people say it's good, better than some universities. It's local food, after all.

    Dorm Life

    Don't even get me started on this. I don't think any college has a good dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    It's weak. Most students come from schools for the deaf, so their education level isn't high to begin with. Gallaudet doesn't have much to work upon. But if you're in the right major and know how to challenge yourself and work hard, the teachers are more than willing to encourage you. This, in my opinion, builds more character and really helps you for the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    I really have no tips. Learn as you go along is all I can say. Trust your instincts. Don't do what you don't want to do. Just don't.

    In three sentences

    Gallaudet University is the world's only university for the deaf, and that gives it a lot of benefits that no other college can hold. It's entirely accessible for deaf people; all the cafeteria workers, post office workers, faculty, everyone on campus signs. It's isolated, away from the city, giving it an idyllic quality of its own world, yet you can escape to return to reality anytime, then come back to your own world when you choose (unless you have class! Then you should come back!). And it is in an amazing city, with so many things to do, and they're mostly for free.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safey!

    Greek Life

    GREAT!

    Clubs and Activities

    great

    Great for these types of students

    nice!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    play something!!!

    Bang for the buck

    good work all days

    What to do for fun

    many sports!!!!!!!

    Food and Dining

    GREAT!!!

    Dorm Life

    ENJOY!!!!

    Academic Rigor

    GREAT!!!!!!!!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    GOOD!!!!!!

    In three sentences

    I love here! Many friends here!! I love deaf people!

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Thumbs up to the Department of Public Safety!

    Greek Life

    Was part of a sorority but I decided that it was not for me.

    Clubs and Activities

    Green Gallaudet, Student Body Government, and some sports

    Great for these types of students

    Fraternities and sororities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bald day- freshmen tradition in the middle of the year, every year. Been there, done that.

    Bang for the buck

    I am 21 and my love for Spongebob Squarepants are the same ever since when I was little.

    What to do for fun

    Explore around in DC, hiking, intramural sports, photography, sightseeing, and so much!

    Food and Dining

    It is always improving and the complaints are always being followed up to fit the needs of every student on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Just like I am at home with many people in the same place and we can make as much noises as we want because it is a deaf university and nobody complains compared to being at home with hearing people.

    Academic Rigor

    Alcohol and drugs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Nothing is never too late. Take your time being in college. Your college years are really short so grab while it lasts!

    In three sentences

    Being a student at Gallaudet University with 100% access to ASL is the best feeling! Gallaudet is my home and being around the people I know and declaring a major that fits me the best. I can't ask for more.

  • 12/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go off campus and take a tour, I mean it is Washington DC!

    In three sentences

    Gallaudet University is a perfect school to find our identity. Since the curriculum has helped us to become motivated and ready to learn. Gallaudet is the best place I have ever been to.

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    19 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Wonderful, safe, and friendly place in Gallaudet University.

    Greek Life

    8 different Greek Organizations. Four of them are sororities and four of them are fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Best freshman traditions is balding head and rat's funeral. You will find it out why when you enter Gallaudet.

    What to do for fun

    Too many stuffs to do for fun in campus. You could find it on the internet. www.gallaudet.edu

    Food and Dining

    In cafeteria, the foods is complete suck and unhealthy. In Market Place - it is much better than cafe but expensive to pay for meals.

    Dorm Life

    Wonderful experience to live in dorms and meet many interesting people who live in dorm too. Great place for parties, meet friends, and social.

    Tips for prospective students

    - go for it. just jump and grab the opportunities that Gallaudet offer.

    In three sentences

    Gallaudet University is wonderful university for all deaf and hearing students. Gallaudet University does provide the diversity cultural and bilinguals languages. It is very deaf friendly environment.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    We go to Georgetown Shopping center, Pentagon City Mall, There are a lot of history museums there, Spy museums, They have the Lincoln Memorial and the White house not far from the University.

    Food and Dining

    The dining services need to improve on their food. They serve the same food daily, but once every blue moon they surprise us with different specialities. I love the pasta table. It is so crowded there. the line is long at times.

    Dorm Life

    Gallaudet University has seven dorms, they all have wonderful dorm parties, friends and social life. I think that's the peak of Gallaudet University.

    Academic Rigor

    Their Undergraduate programs are on a scale of 5 on a 10 scale meaning its intermediate. I believe if they revised their Undergraduate curriculum, then it will be at the standing of academic excellence.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students that are planning on being interpreters or majoring in deaf studies are strongly recommended to going here. Its a great graduate program for American Sign Language and Deaf studies.

    In three sentences

    Gallaudet University is the only bilingual University in the world accepting both deaf and hearing students majoring in deaf studies. Their culture is very strong and aromatic here. I personally think this is a learning environment for me. I enjoy it in some ways.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    All kind sof clubs and activities. Look on gallaudet.edu to find more.

    Great for these types of students

    Deaf, Hard of Hearing, Disabled, Hearing. All people are accepted here :)

    What to do for fun

    Washington DC is a very large city, and there is so much to do. Pretty much anything you want to do for an activity is here.

    Dorm Life

    95% deaf and hard of hearing students and 4% hearing students. If you want to learn more about the deaf community and improve you ASL this is the place to learn.

    Academic Rigor

    Undergrad, Grad, Online

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you check out the college before attending. Make sure you can afford everything also.

    In three sentences

    Gallaudet is an awesome college, where you can be successful, and achieve your goal. It doesn't matter if you are old, young, disabled, not disabled, deaf, hearing, hard of hearing, and more you can still attend this college. If you have big dreams and don't know what college to go to, Gallaudet can help.

  • 03/06/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    22 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    For freshman, they had to dye their hair with crazy colors and at end of the year they would have to shave their entire head off! That goes for ladies too! I'm fine since I'm muslim, I can get away with it!

    Food and Dining

    They have cafteria you can eat everyday. Also there's resturants nearvy.

    Dorm Life

    I heard it's mix with male and felames by floors but it offers wonderful rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    They offer a lot of classes. Whatever from business manager to artistic, Gallaudet offers that. Be you!

  • 04/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I dont know if there is safety when i get to know the place then i will tell about it.

    What to do for fun

    NONE

    Food and Dining

    I never tried...but when i go there i will rate this

    Dorm Life

    From are ok for now. A bit old but I can live with for now.

    Academic Rigor

    NOTE

    Tips for prospective students

    None

    In three sentences

    I just started here so I will give Gallaudet university a three because I actually don't know much about this place.

  • 05/13/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    24 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Best time of my life...

    Great for these types of students

    Deaf ones.

    What to do for fun

    Take walk in roads of DC.

    Tips for prospective students

    Expect the culture shock itself. Embrace the DC...

    In three sentences

    This place is very deaf friendly. Well progressing academic after protest. Rapidly gain more attention for more students.

  • 06/01/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's fenced in so it's pretty safe

    Great for these types of students

    Deaf ones.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Definitely bald day! Everyone dyes their hair and then shaves it.

    What to do for fun

    D.C. has a lot of places to go to! It's beautiful.

    Food and Dining

    The food sucks after eating it for a while, its best to buy from local markets.

  • 12/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Gallaudet has many clubs, events and activities that take place on campus. Sports are very popular as well as the theatre department.

    Food and Dining

    Typical college dining. However, since Gallaudet is in DC there are many places off campus to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Im not sure since I have never lived on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It can be challenging at times but nothing out of the ordinary.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always have confidence in yourself whether your signing ability is fluent or not.

    In three sentences

    Gallaudet University one of the world leaders in bringing education and career development to deaf and hard of hearing students. It is a dynamic university and focuses on striving for excellence on researching topics realted to deaf people such as history, culture, and language within the deaf community. This University brings awareness to what deaf culture is all about.

  • 02/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    good!

    Greek Life

    very interesting..

    Clubs and Activities

    too many to name

    Great for these types of students

    People who are interested in ASL and people who loves to party.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    THE BALD DAY. the freshmen traditionally dye the crazy colors until February, they will shave their heads together.

    Bang for the buck

    no comment

    What to do for fun

    there are so much to explore in D.C.

    Food and Dining

    EH. EH. EH

    Dorm Life

    AWESOME! PARTY ALL THE TIMES!

    Academic Rigor

    Challenge me at right level.

    Tips for prospective students

    The professor, students, and everyone guaranteed will sing in American Sign Language

    In three sentences

    Gallaudet University is the place for people who are interested in American Sign Language especially when you are profound deaf, its the place for you.

  • 02/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Adult Degree Program - Online Courses.

    What to do for fun

    Campus Activities serves as a resource center to provide student, faculty, staff and visitors with a wide range of services to meet the needs of the community.

    Food and Dining

    Students will be eating in the Hanson Plaza Dining Hall.

    Dorm Life

    All first-year and second-year undergraduate students are required to reside on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    High expectations for all students. Academically treat all students as if they are college bound.

    Tips for prospective students

    Recognize the environment. Adjust to the changes in the academic requirements. Create your solid friend group. Time management. The dreaded exam week.

    In three sentences

    Gallaudet University, the world's only university with programs and services specifically designed to accommodate deaf and hard of hearing students, was established in 1864 by an Act of Congress, and its charter was signed by President Abraham Lincoln. Gallaudet University, federally chartered in 1864, is a bilingual, diverse, multicultural institution of higher education that ensures the intellectual and professional advancement of deaf and hard of hearing individuals through American Sign Language and English. Gallaudet University is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.