Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Garrett College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never heard of someone getting hurt on campus.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately there is no Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    The college has girls cross country, volleyball, basketball and softball. Boys sports include: cross country, basketball and baseball. They are many clubs and you may start your own if you have enough members.

    Great for these types of students

    Garrett College has all types of students from different cultures and backgrounds. I would say it is a great school for students who would like to start off at a small school.

    Bang for the buck

    I receive free tuition because they offer a Garrett County scholarship. Everything is free for me since I graduated from one of the two high schools in Garrett County.

    What to do for fun

    The location for the college is incredible. Students are in walking distance from Deep Creek Lake and Wisp Ski Resort.

    Food and Dining

    There are many places to dine in the area.

    Dorm Life

    I have never been in the dorms before but I hear they are nice. They are in walking distance of the college and have a path with lights to the college. They recently built a new dorm building.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at Garrett College aren't too strict.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to make friends hang out in the college cafeteria and go to social events.

    In three sentences

    Garrett is a great school to attend if you do not want to start off at a big school. Professors will work with you to meet your needs.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is very safe for the most part.

    Greek Life

    there no greek life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    if your not in to the little bit of sport here then there nothing for you to do really and it get really boring.

    Great for these types of students

    for students that can drive. for if u like the snow and rain. if you are really in to studying.

    What to do for fun

    the school will have dance every now and then. only the people that live in the dorm really go. if you can get up there is the Wis ski resort. there clubs like a hour away. there is walmart. off campus party.

    Food and Dining

    the food taste good in the being but you will get sick of cause you don't have that many choose if u eat in the cafe.

    Dorm Life

    if you stay in the dorm you cant do very much cause they fine way to give u fine and most the ra start out very press when it come to quite hours. if you stay in the dorm keep to your self somewhat the school dorm are very small.

    Academic Rigor

    there are a few good teacher in the school if you talk to the right people you will get how to set you schedule's up for the best ones.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you come to this school think you leave in two year your going have to do summer or winter classes cause this school will get you that way there rates are so low for a two year school.

    In three sentences

    Garrett is a good school if you know how to be involved but keep to your self some what.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Surrounded by Deep Creek Lake and WISP Sky resort

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is comperable to other colleges

    What to do for fun

    Play ball. McHenry offeres many many summer and winter activities and sports. It's in the mountains.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good too

    Dorm Life

    My dorm is great and modern. There are 2 and 4 bedroom, 2 bath apartments

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are pretty rigorous however prepares you for the real world

    Tips for prospective students

    Statistics show students who attend Community Colleges have greater success and graduation rates when they transfer to universities than students who start out at large and mega universities.

    In three sentences

    Attending Garrett has been a great experience. It's a small campus. It provides an oportunity to get to know everyone including instructors and staff.

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe there. There have been college incidents in the past, but precautions were immediately established to prevent future recurrences.

    Greek Life

    What is Greek Life?

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Life, Student Government, Theatre Group, Phi Theta Kappa... there are more student groups than I even know about. Most of the activities by these groups are either for the benefit/entertainment of the other students or the community.

    Great for these types of students

    We actually have a lot of international students despite being only a small college in a small county in the Appalachians. Also, in-county students get complimentary tuition, so that is a huge bonus!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None come to mind immediately

    Bang for the buck

    This college used to be known as the cheapest for the best this side of the Mississippi. I still would probably give it that ranking :)

    What to do for fun

    There are multiple student programs. Also, the college is probably about 2 miles from a lake and a ski resort. There is a roller coaster on the mountain. Tons of hiking trails. There is a brand new gym and pool on campus. There are golf courses nearby. There is a white water rafting center on the mountain. There's lots more, too!

    Food and Dining

    I have not experienced this but I've heard from other students that it is superior cafeteria food :)

    Academic Rigor

    If you apply yourself, the course work for the particular classes (at least the ones I've taken) are applicable to your field of interest and help you to thoroughly understand your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fill out the form for the foundation scholarships. Also, don't hesitate to communicate with your teachers. They are there to help you and very willing to do so.

    In three sentences

    The teachers I have had are extremely personable and helpful. The college has many scholarship opportunities. The faculty is committed to making your experience pleasant and successful!

  • 03/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Garrett has activities on campus and throws a party every month. Off campus there are ski resorts and a movie theater that a shuttle will take you to.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan to learn then Garrett is the school for you. Garrett is not a party school, so it is very easy to study. It is also not a big sports school.

    In three sentences

    I give Garrett college a 3 out four in rating. I have really learned a lot since I have started attending Garrett. This is a good learning environment and is easy to stay focus.

  • 08/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Garrett is great for students who love the outdoors, there is a wonderful program for outdoorsman ship.

    Bang for the buck

    Garrett has the wonderful program for local students to get two free years of tuition, its a hard opportunity to pass up.

    What to do for fun

    Garrett County has many options for hobbies and such. Skiing is a wonderful pass time, as well as hitting up the local state parks for a nice hike in the beautiful country.

    Food and Dining

    The food is adequate.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorm, I am a commuter. However I have been to the dorms and they are in very nice condition.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are wonderful, however it is not a very challenging level of academics. Great college for those who need to brush up on basic math and English skills.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attendance is a must, always go to class and be attentive. become part of in class discussions and always complete your homework.

    In three sentences

    Garrett College is a great option for locals from Garrett county due to the scholarship option, however those pursing careers in professional fields would benefit more in attending a higher accredited university. I recommend Garrett college for those who are undecided on their major to get prerequisites out of the way.

  • 11/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is like a normal cafeteria. Nothing too special. We don't have a Starbucks or Chick-Fi-La. But on thursdays a local church comes with homemade foods for the students that are free.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know much about the dorm life. I am a commuter.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging. The professors don't take academics as a joke. You are there to learn and know what you are learning. That is why the professors have office hours and the library is open throughout the week, along with the math and writing center.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a place that has small class sizes, this is definitely the college for you. It is in a rural area and the winters are very cold. The library has a math and writing center for students that need that extra step. The professors are there to help you and accomplish your goals.

    In three sentences

    Garrett College is very small, but a well rounded college. There are people there from all over the world. The professors are there to help every student so they can accomplish their goals.

  • 02/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    With being in the mountains, there are many things to do outdoors within 15 minutes of the college. Skiing/snowboarding, kayaking/rafting, wake boarding/water skiing, fishing, hiking, cross country skiing, biking These are just a few of the many fun activities in the area.

    Food and Dining

    The food is provided by a local restaurant. It's pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    I lived off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Most courses are difficult. Having smaller class sizes allow teachers to be tougher and assign more or harder projects. Be prepared to study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a wide range of classes. There are many topics that may not be appealing, but the teachers are excellent and will get you interested in those different topics.

    In three sentences

    Garrett is a great school for those who want a good education in a small environment. The small class sizes allow students and teachers to have more one on one time to improve learning capability. Everyone becomes like a large family.