Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Gaston College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    To All Students Going to Gaston College God Bless.

    Tips for prospective students

    To have faith in God. All things are possible with God!! You're never to old to go back to school.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost is good and you can make monthly payments. The college will work with you, regarding grants,financial aid and loans if it applies to your studies.

    Am enjoying being here

    I do enjoy my time here, sometimes I feel like I live here. (smile) I have gotten to know security, other workers because I see them daily., and everyone has a friendly attitude.

    Am learning a lot

    Yes I am learning a lot, the instructors are wonderful, they take the time to explain things to you if you ask.

  • 08/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police here are great. They are always riding around the buildings and making sure everything is how it should be.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do on campus as far as for fun but that is because this isn't a stay on campus type place. Most if not all the students who attend here live elsewhere as in their parents house, their own house, etc. It is still a great place to be though.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not exactly sure if we even have dorms since its a low key community college.

    In three sentences

    They have amazing instructors. They have friendly staff members. They always go above and beyond what is expected to help any student that needs help with any certain thing.

  • 12/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All people who want to get a higher education in the Gastonia-Lincolnton Area.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, and work hard.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is very low. I have been able to stay out of debt, and most people should be able to stay out of debt at Gaston.

    Am enjoying being here

    Online Classes allow you to study from the comfort of your home, or you can go to classes on campus, and with three campuses that is not a problem finding a campus near you.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a bunch of new things hear at Gaston. Although there are some basic things that I already knew.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The computer labs in the science building is never as packed or as loud as the ones on the main campus.

    What to do for fun

    The mall and movie theater isn't far from the campus.

    Food and Dining

    I've never eaten on campus, but the options around the campus are many and some places even offer a discount to students. There are vending machines in most of the buildings on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your advisers and be open and honest about your situation. Most of the time if a problem arises they are able to help you if they are aware.

    In three sentences

    If you are in a program, the experience can be fantastic. Currently I am enrolled in a program and it feels like an exclusive club. The instructors are excellent and will help me with anything, including helping me find a career after graduation.

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    excellent with an a+ rating

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    our nursing program is one of the most competitive in the area

    Tips for prospective students

    get there early at the beginning of the semester cause parking will be hard to find close to class

    In three sentences

    the college has an excellent nursing program. the facilities are new and uptodate. the tuition is very reasonable.

  • 02/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    gaston college often has events sponsored by various organizations held on campus that are very informative and fun to participate in. sometimes, you can hear live music, as people who sit outside or in the breezeway will play guitar. also, there's always a game of magic or dungeons and dragons going on in the breezeway.

    Food and Dining

    gaston college has a cafeteria that will knock your socks off. the staff is very kind, and myriad of foods they have to offer are all amazing. even if you don't like the cafeteria, you can go off-campus, and there are at least six restaurants within a five-minute drive.

    Dorm Life

    gaston is a two-year school and has no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are usually simple, but it doesn't keep you from learning. i have had little to no homework while there, but i've learned more that way because i worry less and pay attention more. even entry-level survey classes are interesting and packed with lots of information.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply early, because registration is earlier here than most colleges. take lots of different types of classes, especially if you don't know what to major in. most importantly, don't forget to have fun along the way.

    In three sentences

    gaston college is an amazing school. the classes are simplistic, but you'd be shocked at how much you learn. the people are great: the teachers, the custodial staff, and even other students are always happy to help you.

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is a library, places to hang-out and there are computer and on-campus wifi.

    Food and Dining

    the food is good on campus but it is a little pricey, but there i fast food within walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    sadly there is are no dorms for the dallas campus.

    Academic Rigor

    they see all students equally and have good expectations for all students and if they see students struggle then they help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    remember deadlines are important, keep up with your work and do not be afraid to ask a teacher for help even in an online class.

    In three sentences

    this school is a good start for low price classes and good teachers. they are limited on the curriculum and there is not much lee-way for other classes. the staff is nice but the pricing of the food and books is a little much.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    you get a lot of helpful education and real world experience for a relatively inexpensive school.

    What to do for fun

    get together with classmates and discuss work as well and other things that interest you.

    Food and Dining

    the food is pretty good and made to order.

    Dorm Life

    there isn't any student housing availble.

    Tips for prospective students

    take advantage of all of the help that is available. the people are very helpful.

    In three sentences

    gaston college is a great place for students. there is a collection of very helpful staff members. the tuition is very reasonable for in-state students.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is low and even if you have problem paying for it there are payment plans available that will assist you in order to lessen the burden of the cost of tuition.

    Food and Dining

    I only ate at the cafeteria sometimes, but when I did the food was moderately priced and delicious. I have heard other students comment that their chili hot dog is superb but I never did try it.

    Dorm Life

    One Star since there is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many great teachers and professors who are passionate about their job and teach the material superbly. Like at any college or university come courses are harder than others, but it's the way you manage your time that will effect how well your success will be in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Though there is little extracurricular activities available at Gaston College do your best to join a club since there aren't many opportunities to meet other students. This should go without saying, but come arrive early to campus because finding a parking spot can be a nightmare when you have ten minuets before classes start.

    In three sentences

    Though the school doesn't look like much, it's definitely a place where you can grow as a student and as an individual. Since the classes are smaller there is room for more individualized one-on-one communication from teachers, and professors. Most of them have their best interest in the student, and are flexible enough to work along side you no matter the situation you find yourself in.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school has numerous clubs and activities constantly going on, and if you dont see a club you fit into then you can go to the Dean for approval on a new club.

    Food and Dining

    The college has one cafeteria on one campus that is average.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms are available through Gaston College, but hopefully in the future some will be implemented.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes were easy-going and some were extremely tough, depends on your strong points and study skills.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you know anyone who is or has attended Gaston College ask them for advice on certain classes and instructors.

    In three sentences

    Gaston College is a small school but with multiple campus locations, all with small classroom settings and great resources. The advisors and faculty are super helpful and answered all of my questions.

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is pretty good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Let an advisor guide your through which classes you need to take.

    In three sentences

    Gaston College is a great school to get your college education. They have a broad range of majors. They have an awesome Nursing program!

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every where I go campus safety is near.

    Bang for the buck

    Ever since I began my education at Gaston I have increased my communication skills developed leadership skills, I have been the vice presedent of the student govenment and the chair of many commitees.

    What to do for fun

    Gaston College has a Student Government which provides students with fun campus activities such kareoke, springfest, create your own t-shrits, photo key chain and bringing motivational speakers to campus

    Food and Dining

    Gaston College has a cafe that meets students needs with fun music, tv and food at affordable coast.

    Dorm Life

    This school is a community college and does not offer campus dorms. Gaston College has different programs to support students with housing needs.

    Academic Rigor

    All teachers are hard and the work load is even harder, but every person at Gaston College is there to provide support and help. Tutors are always available as well as the teachers who teach the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should always have fun and study hard. You want to hit the books but that doesn't mean loose sight of the college actives and the night life your city has to offer. Friends may distract you but you should learn how to manage friends family and school.

    In three sentences

    Gaston College is a school that promotes excellence. This school provides students with a high quality education. Gaston College has skilled many students such as myself with Leadership skillls, communication and volunteer skills.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Resource officers are available all over campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is around 1,000 dollars a semester and you pretty much get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    The mall is near the Dallas campus so often times it's fun to go there.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at the Dallas campus is incredible and serves food students want to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Gaston College is a community college with no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    There are really no academic challenges at Gaston College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are aware of where your classes are prior to the first day of school.

    In three sentences

    Gaston college gets four out of five stars. It's a good school that offers opportunities. The faculty and staff make the college fun.

  • 09/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of restaurants to choose from in the area.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what classes you take, some classes are harder than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start the registration process as soon as possible in case you run into problems.

    In three sentences

    The instructors are very helpful and want you to succeed. The registration process is pretty easy and the campus is small enough to find your way around easily.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is a great alternative to start here when undecided about a major or just not having the funds to attend a major university.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the gym.

    Food and Dining

    The food is prepared nicely and tastes excellent!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The work can be challenging but it is worth listening in class and focusing on the lectures. If focused the work should not be an overwhelming task.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus on school work and don't stress over being the perfect student. Just do your work and focus on your goals.

    In three sentences

    Gaston is an excellent school to start a future if still undecided or unsure about attending a major university. The teachers are overwhelmingly helpful and the services are pretty much always available. Also the student work program is great to help out the current students with paying for school.

  • 11/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There seem to be quite a few campus police, I'd call it a safe place.

    Great for these types of students

    Any and all

    Bang for the buck

    Overall seems to provide a pretty good bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    Gaston College has a fairly large campus. So a lot of people just walk around campus to meet with friends. They also have a very nice lounge area.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe actually has really good food. The service is very good and also quick. I am always pleased when I eat at Gaston College.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorm rooms at Gaston College.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers and professors all seem to know what they are doing. I'm very pleased with the amount I have learned in just one semester at Gaston.

    In three sentences

    Gaston College seems to be a very nice college. The college campus is also very large. I enjoy all of my teachers and professors so far, and believe I'm getting a very good start on my college education.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is great at Gaston!

    Greek Life

    While it sounds like it, Phi Beta Lambda and Gamma Beta Phi (Honors Club) are not traditional Greek life at Gaston College. Greek life is not really a part of Gaston, probably because it is a commuter campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Gaston has a host of clubs. My personal favourite is Phi Beta Lambda (PBL), the collegiate level of FLBA (Future Business Leaders of America). http://gcpbl.org

    Great for these types of students

    Gaston College is great for students just getting into college life. It is also convenient for working, part-time and online students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Gaston College has a kicking stone. Read the inscription on the stone. Look for it between the Beam (Administration) and CET (Technology) buildings near the parking lot. Keep your eyes low to find it; after all, how many of us kick at eye-level!

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely affordable.

    What to do for fun

    Gaston College has extra-curricular activities, but very little activity after 6pm.

    Food and Dining

    With only a cafe, Gaston College has very limited choices. Being a commuter campus is one reason; there is not much all-day traffic. Extra snacks are available through the Bookstore and vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dormitories at Gaston. It is a commuter campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Gaston College is a two-year college that covers most of the basics. It is not as rigorous as the second half of a four-year college.

    Tips for prospective students

    With any college, give feedback to your instructors and administrators. Your input will help strengthen communication and the overall learning experience. You will find that effective communications at this level will benefit you in the long run. Good luck!

    In three sentences

    This two-year college is convenient and affordable. The faculty and staff are making great strides in improving the virtual classroom with improved Blackboard applications. I recommend this college for seated, hybrid and online classes.

  • 06/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Who just want to go to class and go home or to work, you don't have to get involved or have to become friends with roommates or anyone, you can mind your own business and come and go for your classes.

    What to do for fun

    It is near Charlotte

    Dorm Life

    No dorms!

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay it while you are going through!! You can if you spend your spending money on college! They have a great payment plan!

    In three sentences

    This school offers great classes with such a great price, I paid off my first semester easily with a part time job! The teachers come from a university that changes 10 times more! The classes are pretty great and the teachers i've had are super caring!

  • 08/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Gaston College is an outstanding supportive College. It has excellent staff and teachers who are dedicated to their academic abilities to help students learn. They offer incredible opportunities for students and provide enough information to help them reach success.

  • 10/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All nationalities, ethnic groups, anybody.

    Bang for the buck

    Its not expensive to attend.

    What to do for fun

    Attend events on cmapus.

    Food and Dining

    Food is awesome

    Academic Rigor

    Awesome

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend Gaston college!

    In three sentences

    Academically professional Provide students with enough of resources. Best Community college.

  • 11/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Gaston College has performers and guest speakers every so week where students can go and enjoy theater, and listen to the speakers experiences. Many times ice cream event are held to bring students together and talk about academic related issues.

    Food and Dining

    The Lincoln Campus has vending machines and a coffee maker in the lounge. The Dallas Campus offers a cafeteria where one can seat have a cup of coffee or a complete meal.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms in Gaston College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Future students planning to attend Gaston College should complete the FAFSA and apply for financial aid as weill as scholaships. There is plenty of help out there that many students are not aware of. Money should not be a barrier to attend college. Also, talk to counselors about classes, different career paths. A very important thing to do while attending college is to get to know professors.

    In three sentences

    Gaston College, a community college has three campuses in three different cities in the state of North Carolina to accommodate student's transportation needs. Gaston College offers certificates and associate degrees in technical, nursing, engineering and business courses. Gaston College offers opportunities for life to strengthen and enrich students both professionally and academically for success in life.

  • 02/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are always keeping it all safe. They are always there when needed.

    Clubs and Activities

    Has many many great clubs and activities for students.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for new college students so they can learn how it all works. Prepares students wonderfully for universities.

    What to do for fun

    They have many on campus festivals that are free and most of the time they are treated as extra credit in most classes.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is clean and has really good food that is reasonable in price.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    They could offer more classes over summer semester for the students that are trying to get a degree as fast as possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are taking classes you really need and not just classes the administration has recommended. Be sure to look school books up online they tend to be cheaper than on campus.

    In three sentences

    Gaston College's teachers create a wonderful learning atmosphere. The buildings and rooms are labeled clearly to prevent confusion to new students. The administration is some what help full but they tend to have to ask around for answers.

  • 03/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Gaston College has a lot of programs and clubs to enroll in. Most are for free or may have a small fee to pay but all can be very beneficial and will look very well on your transcript as well as resume.

    Food and Dining

    Gaston College does have a cafe on campus. They serve very good and delicious food and sometimes have special events that will bring foreign foods for students to try.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Gaston College.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe that students should go beyond expectations. Do not just do whats expected of you but try to go further than that. When teachers see you excelling in your academics and doing more than what is expected of you, this can take you a long way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students who plan on attending Gaston College should know that this is a community college. Typically students who attend community colleges come to class and leave directly afterwards. They never take the time to explore the campus or its many clubs and opportunities that are available to them. My advice is to use your campus resources and find out what is available to you.

    In three sentences

    I believe Gaston College is a great community college. Since being here I've enjoyed the teachers as well as the students who attend here. I've made straight A's since attending this school and believe my teachers have prepared me well in the classes I've taken so far.