Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

GateWay Community College - Arizona Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are serious about their education

    Bang for the buck

    Gateway is great if you're serious about your education. There are a lot of colleges that people go to and blow off work, a lot of the students here are just looking to go back and get an education.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask for help and you'll get it!

    In three sentences

    I love Gateway! Everyone is friendly and helpful. The campus is nice and easy to find your way around.

  • 09/21/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    yes I love to be at school meeting new people

    Will learn a lot

    I want to learn more about x-ray tech.

  • 08/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Serious, driven, working

    Tips for prospective students

    Use all the resources the campus has to offer. Get there early, for better parking.

    In three sentences

    This is the best community college I have ever attended. The teachers are amazing and full of enthusiasm, which is refreshing. Also, the campus is extremely clean and I have always found a parking spot.

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Overall, it's a safe college. I have heard of people's bicycles getting stolen, but that's about it. Bicycles getting stolen in college is pretty common, so I don't think that's too serious. Generally, the college is safe.

    Greek Life

    There are some clubs, but there are not a lot. There are very few people in clubs. GateWay would really benefit from better clubs. However, the clubs at GateWay really do a lot of volunteering.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am involved in two clubs, and they are bad. They lack organization. Some of them do not have any specific days or times for meetings. It's almost the end of the semester, and some clubs still do not have officers. There is also very few people in clubs. Clubs really need some work. However, the people involved are nice, you can get improve your skills in the clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    This college can be good for any type of student. Yet, it is especially good for people who live near the light rail. The light rail can save a lot transportation money.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There isn't such thing as unusual traditions. Yet, they do have a good location since the light rail and airport are near. That is really an advantage.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a really cheap college. Courses are really cheap. Also, the light rail, and the airport are close, so that is also an advantage.

    What to do for fun

    Take advantage of events clubs or school makes. The college really does not have much events for fun, so take advantage of those events. Events should increase, because there are very few events for fun.

    Food and Dining

    They do have a cafeteria. They sell from cookies, sandwiches, coffee, water, and many other things. The food from here is great.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. Having no dorms is really a disadvantage. GateWay would benefit a lot if they would get some.

    Academic Rigor

    Be dedicated since it is college. Honestly, class difficulty depends on subject and professor. College can be difficult, so study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be dedicated and friendly. Get involved in clubs and volunteer. Stay focused in courses, and meet new people.

    In three sentences

    It is a good school. There are good things like cheap courses, the light rail, and the airport.

  • 12/14/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I know most high school seniors want to go to a four year first but going to GateWay will help you get use to college life slowly. Sometimes going to a four year is over welling for freshmen and this is a great transition to get use to the next step of education. GateWay is very helpful in making sure you get all the classes you need to transfer to a for year and gives you all the information you need. Make sure you ask any questions you have, there is always someone with an answer.

    Bang for the buck

    GateWay offers the same classes as ASU and other universities do. Which means you can get the same information for hundreds less and in a smaller class. The parking passes are free so you don't have to pay 900 dollars for one like you do at ASU. The campus is small so you wont get lost and have time to get from class to class. And also might have some of the same people in many classes so you can make study groups. You don't have to pay for tutors or if you need to print off papers. GateWay ends up paying for itself with everything you can get.

    Am enjoying being here

    Since I'm a athlete at GateWay most of us like to hang out in the Student-Life Center because its right by our coaches offices. There is a big screen with a bunch of coaches for your comfort. Plus there are games you can play like Ping pong. The students and athletes like to compete in the Ping pong tournament. There are also many different clubs that you can join and they hold fundraisers and give out free food during school hours. There are many different ethnicities here so you can learn a lot for other students from different countries.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a student athlete at GateWayCC and I'm working on getting my nursing degree. The small classes help you get to know your professor and create a bond with them. Most of the Professors have a web site that has study guides and questions if you need extra help. There are tutors on campus that are free and there all the time or by appointment. Everyone there is extremely helpful to make sure your experience is a good one.

  • 04/25/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    if you want to go into any type of program here that this school provides this is the school for you. there is medium classes size. good amount of time with the teachers.

    Bang for the buck

    yes you are getting for money worth in this school

    Will enjoy being here

    yes i now i will enjoy my time here. but i wish there was more minorities at this school.

    Will learn a lot

    gateway community college establishes a comforting and good environment for learning.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good

    Great for these types of students

    Obtiaiing new certification or updating old certifications.

    Dorm Life

    None Available

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for financial aid early some classes have waiting lists.

    In three sentences

    Gateway Community College Offers a very good certificate program in welding recognised throughout the industry. Classes are offered at Maricopa Skill Center which has a long standing reputation for producing highly skilled welders with AWS certifications consistently. Offers affordable technical education.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They seem to be on top of things, especially parking.

    Greek Life

    Nonexistent from what I can tell.

    Great for these types of students

    Healthcare or Science majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing unusual.

    Bang for the buck

    I definitely feel like I am getting my moneys worth from Gateway.

    What to do for fun

    Mountain bike, train for a marathon/Iron Man. Anything active, I love being outside, even if it is 120 in the Arizona summer.

    Food and Dining

    Have not eaten the food. I am trying to save money where ever I can.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms or living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Everyone seems to like Gateway, but do agree it is hard. Most of the students are expecting to move onto medical school, so I am getting used to everyone being extremely intelligent and serious.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and read, it will all pay off.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are much harder than I anticipated, but I am actually learning what is being taught. Most teachers from other colleges don't seem to be as serious or knowledgeable, but my teachers at GW are great. I would recommend someone to go to this school if they are serious about learning information involving science and healthcare.

  • 04/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Outstanding safety on this campus. Plenty of safety officers around at all times and very friendly and engaging with the students. I feel safe here.

    Bang for the buck

    Gateway is a decent campus with great people and plenty of great programs of study to choose from. In fact, some of the programs are only offered at this campus in the Phoenix area. Reasonable tuition and payment plan available.

    What to do for fun

    Join one of the many groups ranging all across the board - creative writing, ethnic groups, dance, volunteering, etc. There is something for everyone to get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    Average cafeteria, prices kind of high. Great staff working there, though, and it is kept neat and clean.

    Dorm Life

    This campus is not live in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come to Gateway expecting anything fancy. It's a decent school, but it is older and the campus is in a state of change right now. However, it is a solid college with great programs and good people.

    In three sentences

    Gateway is a very diverse and friendly campus. It is a happy place with students who genuinely want to learn and better their lives. The instructors are first class; they want students to succeed. There are always on-campus groups and events that everyone can participate in.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I do not live in that area, so not sure what is around it.

    Food and Dining

    I have eaten in the cafeteria several times and always had good food.

    Dorm Life

    I do not think they have dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Read the book

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy this school. I drive about 30 miles each way to attend this college. I think it is great.

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the movies, dinner/drinks with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria isn't very big and offers the same things over and over.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    All my classes are challenging but well worth the work. Be sure to study with groups, really helps!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to commit yourself and time to your eductaion

    In three sentences

    Great school! My progran instructors are all amazing. They push you to your fullest achievement because they truly care.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Nice, big cafeteria with a mini cafe and a Papa John's Pizza Express.

    Academic Rigor

    Know your stuff, not all teachers will hold your hand.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great place to start your secondary education!

    In three sentences

    This is a great community college! The campus is always clean and there is a new building about to open. It is also very convenient to have the light rail stop, which saves on gas!

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    All around the campus, there are securities looking up for the safety of the campus and its students and faculty

    What to do for fun

    there is a room called Student Life, were students can go hang their with comfortable sofas with a TV, computers, and also different games. Also the Campus offers different activities and events through the school year.

    Food and Dining

    Food service is good they have different varieties of food like pizza, sandwiches, and a grill were they prepared different foods for you on the spot.

    Dorm Life

    Gateway Community College does not offer Dorm Life, but am pretty sure it would be nice

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all the resources that Gateway Community College offers to its students. If you are unsure of what classes to take visit the advisers they will help. if your struggling with the class visit a tutor and you will get help.

    In three sentences

    I really like Gateway Community College, because its close to my house, classes are small, teachers are excellent, and the campus is peaceful and secured.

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had any problems and I usually take classes in the evening. When I walk out of class at night I always see security guards patrolling the area. That makes me feel safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have not joined any but I have heard from people that I have met that they do enjoy the clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    I believe Gateway is great for all types of students. I have met people from other countries and different backgrounds.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I really enjoy going to class during the week. I have no unusual places that I can think of.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe this college is very affordable per credit and the classes are great. Like in all schools the textbooks are a bit expensive for me.

    What to do for fun

    Unfortunately I am a wife and mother of two so my extra time I spend in family events. I do not have to the opportunity to go to the college, but I do see events going on when I go to class.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is great, there are ready to eat food as well as a la carte.

    Dorm Life

    I live locally, so I have no dorm experience.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor depends on what classes and how many you take on each semester. I am looking in the CEP program that a student has the opportunity to complete an AAS and BSN at the same time. The Gateway team has taken the time to make sure that students are not overwhelmed with classes from college and university so that it can be completed.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best tip that I can give a prospective student is to follow all steps offered by the advising team. The second tip is to make sure that you have enough time to study for the classes your going to take so that you do not have to repeat any classes.

    In three sentences

    Gateway Community College has been a great learning experience. The instructors and advising team are very helpful in guiding you for your success. The Gateway Community College team are very involved in helping students complete their career goals as efficient as possible.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    pretty average

    Academic Rigor

    Not easy, not deathly hard either.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your teachers. They are your best assets.

    In three sentences

    I would recommend this school. The teachers in my program seem to have an interest in keeping me in the program and helping me graduate. When i have struggled, all I have to do is ask for help. Not to say that its easy, but they will guide you when you need it.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is on-campus security twenty-four seven.

    What to do for fun

    There are many sports including baseball, soccer, and basketball that are always fun to be involved in. There are also rooms now that you can kind of rent for free for a little where you and your friends can go and just study or even relax from a hard day.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is very good but also kind of costly. Let's just say in most cases, you get what you pay for.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be shy or scared to ask questions and definitely get involved with the school. Don't just go for your classes and leave. Communicate with your professors and they will work with you.

    In three sentences

    In my opinion, Gateway is an awesome school. The professors are great and work with you as long as you keep them in contact. The students are also very mature and really easy to talk to.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    My college plan alot of field trip to many places.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can't attend the campus everyday the online classes are also helpful.

    In three sentences

    I like the college because I find the staff very helpful. The college is near my apartment which make it easy to attend. I find that this college works hand in hand with industry to help you understand what it take to land a good job.

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I live off campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't so great. It's pricey for college students.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on-campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Take your classwork serious.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do admission early.

    In three sentences

    The admission process was easy. The staff was eager to help. The troubleshooting process was easily fixed.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    On campus there is a Geckos lounge with big screen TVs and game tables to relax at before or after class. It really takes the edge off of a hard day. Helps Students to relax.

    Food and Dining

    Food here is great. There are so many options to chose from and multiple locations to grab a bite to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately Gateway is not a dorm based campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Gateway and the Instructors here make sure you know the power of a degree. They offer a College Success class for incoming fresh mans so that you learn and navigate through college learning the skill you need for your career and if you are undecided this class pushes you in the right direction.

    Tips for prospective students

    The one thing I will share for prospective students is to actually use all resources given to you. Tour the campus and get familiar with student centers. Join a club and get excited about being there.

    In three sentences

    Gateway Community College is one of the most helpful community colleges in AZ. There is always someone around to help assist and guide to make going to school here easy and effective. This is my first year and the instructors are great.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always passing around securities guys by either walking or in security cars, so it is a safe place.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs such as Male Empowerment Network, PTK, Indian Tribal club, International Global Students Club, and Student Life, among others.

    What to do for fun

    There are sports you can get involved such as soccer, baseball, and softball. Also, there are may extracurricular activities you can get involve.

    Food and Dining

    As every place the food is expensive, but the cafeteria has a good variety of foods like pizza, different types of sandwiches, hot dogs, and whole menu for breakfast and lunch time.

    Dorm Life

    As a community college, there is not a dorm life experience, but it is a good experience anyways without living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    In this community college you can find most of the class you can take in an university. The difference is that it is cheaper than a university.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend is apply for PTK and do your best to maintain your membership over there. Also, you can participate in the Honors Program and if you take 15 honors credits, you can graduate with honors.

    In three sentences

    It is one of the best community colleges I have gone to. There are many major opportunities. There is always fun if you look for it.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent and very friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have not participated in any personally, but my fellow students speak very highly of the clubs they participate in. Baseball, softball, and soccer games are always a lot of fun to attend.

    Great for these types of students

    Parents and older students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are none that I can think of.

    Bang for the buck

    GateWay Community College is the best school I have ever had the privilege of attending!

    What to do for fun

    Learn. Take advantage of all the freebies!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is clean, the prices are reasonable, and the staff are helpful and friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    Very positive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research and be thorough. Keep really good records, stay positive, and never be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    In my opinion, GateWay Community College is one of the greatest community colleges in Arizona! The instructors that I have had the pleasure to work with are helpful and go out of their way to help you succeed. The staff and students are friendly and the environment of the school is very positive and exciting!

  • 01/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security roams the grounds/parking lot and there are cameras in certain areas.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Nurses Association is a good opportunity to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for those who need flexibility with schedules and those interested in healthcare field including nursing.

    Bang for the buck

    All in all, a great place to complete the nursing program.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Nurses Association provides volunteer opportunities to members.

    Food and Dining

    A fair cafe and a coffee shop. Could add more variety and extended hours.

    Academic Rigor

    The nursing program is challenging at times, but that is a good thing because the success of GateWay's nursing graduates on the state exam is high.

    Tips for prospective students

    This a a great Maricopa College to attend to complete the nursing program.

    In three sentences

    The evening nursing program option is great. It makes it possible for those of us who work full-time day jobs to complete the program. The campus has a nice appearance and the staff is helpful.

  • 03/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very helpful!

    Clubs and Activities

    nice variety

    Great for these types of students

    everybody, literally!

    Bang for the buck

    normal prices I would say, but much cheaper that state university.

    Food and Dining

    like any other college/cafeteria

    Tips for prospective students

    check online, before going to campus, many things do not require you to actually go on campus.

    In three sentences

    Great school, especially for students who are re-entering college. Great course selection, teachers and staff. My second time at this school!

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Some of the few activities i do for fun are play soccer, visit the movie theater and having family time.

    Tips for prospective students

    The tips that I would give to a prospective student is to a new student is to understand the responsibilities of college.

    In three sentences

    I rate GateWay Community College to have one of the most productive college majors in Arizona.In fact, i'm attending GateWay Community College because it has the best surgical technologist program in Arizona. Those are the reason why I rate GateWay to have the best college major in Arizona.

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    seems like a safe place to raise an education

    Greek Life

    no idea

    Great for these types of students

    students who are focused and headed in the direction they want to go in

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I only go to class here, don't spend much other time on campus

    Bang for the buck

    Being a community college, rates are somewhat low and this school holds real value when you take into account the expertise of the instructors

    What to do for fun

    it's Phoenix, stay in the air conditioning

    Food and Dining

    for a community college, Gateway has a very nice cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    classes can be tough, but the instructors are very willing to work extra hard to assure everyone is on the same page

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to study and apply yourselves. Some programs are within the school are in direct contact with principals in your field of study.

    In three sentences

    A good school for water resource technologies. Most of the instructors work in their related fields.

  • 05/27/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I do not live there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students who are going their do not think it is ugly. Try your best. Teachers and programs can help.

    In three sentences

    Gateway community college is awesome. It is really nice and have good services. They help you and guide you good. Also, it was really good programs.

  • 06/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out and get to know other students.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is awesome and we have awesome cooks.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Spectacular!!

    Tips for prospective students

    This is an awesome school, if you have any problems do not be afraid to ask any staff for help because they are more then willing to help with anything!

    In three sentences

    I would have to rate Gateway at it's highest at a 10, because it is an awesome school and the teacher are pretty cool. Most of all the staff I have meet since my first day have been very helpful and polite. I would absolutely recommend this school to everyone who is just starting college.

  • 07/01/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    28 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are serious about learning.

    In three sentences

    Gateway was an awesome campus, mainly because the facilities are up-to-date. The professors are usually willing to help you succeed. I also enjoyed the campus' layout.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    best location best health career labs ever

    In three sentences

    ITs been A+ college ever for me.

  • 08/11/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not much danger that can come to you here unless you take off after school and head deeper into the heart of phoenix.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not much that I know of besides baseball and basketball. Also though, I work afterwards so not much I know about sports.

    Great for these types of students

    Motivated, hardworking, intelligent students who need to foundation to begin their education.

    Bang for the buck

    Absolutely! For as low as the tuition is a semester Gateway is fantastic!

    What to do for fun

    Not much its kind of in the middle of no where, but at least the light rail can take you to downtown Tempe on mill avenue. Definitely where the nightlife is to go shopping, party and chill at a bar.

    Food and Dining

    snacks everywhere! but no place to really chomp on a lunch. The snack bars and vending machines is more likely just to get you through the day.

    Academic Rigor

    This will be the first year since middle school that I took remedial classes. Although it isn't as challenging as honors like I am used to, I am just happy that the professors do not go at a snail's pace.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely get your and registration finished early! My friend did it late and she said it was crazy hectic in there!

    In three sentences

    Great atmosphere! The staff is extremely nice and helpful the campus is cozy and the classroom sizes are very convenient! Also, the tuition is super affordable.

  • 11/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Has a wonderful safety record!!! No violent incidents, check out their amazing record on their website.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa is open and welcoming!

    Clubs and Activities

    Gateway Community College has a very involved Student Nursing Association. The campus also provides several other amazing clubs for non-nursing students!

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for any student, but especially wonderful for nursing students!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'm a newer student at Gateway, so I'm not sure about specific unusual traditions, but they're always having various events and celebrations with free attendance and swag!

    Bang for the buck

    I can not say enough about the nursing program! Gateway Community College's Nursing Program has a new state of the art building complete with computerize simulation labs, and highly qualified instructors that provide meaningful instructional experiences.

    What to do for fun

    There are several academic clubs to provide not only academic support but socialization as well. There are many cozy places to hang out, both indoors and outside.

    Food and Dining

    There is an on site cafeteria, as well as caf���© for easy access to snacks as well as full meals. There are also several nearby food options off campus, The college often hosts events with free food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, however, there is off site housing nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    As a nursing student, I can assure you that you will engage in a high quality, rigorous coursework that ensures that you are prepared for clinical, the NCLEX, as well as job placement after graduation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus, and meet with an advisor to get you on the right path!

    In three sentences

    I highly recommend Gateway Community College in Phoenix, Arizona to anyone searching for a quality education. They offer a wide variety of programs, with quality instructors, and small class sizes. GWCC is affordably priced, and provides a safe campus to help you reach your educational goals.

  • 03/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Reading, movies, hiking, water skiing.

    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten at the school.

    Dorm Life

    I am not living on campus

    Academic Rigor

    The professors expect you to do your work and do it to the best of your ability.

    In three sentences

    I have taken my pre-requisites here and other Maricopa Community Colleges. I am currently accepted into the 2014 Surgical Technology program. I find that GateWay and all Maricopa Community Colleges to be excellent schools. The professors are great and you can tell they love what they do.

  • 03/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I love to go hike the mountains around my area, I do mud runs, go swimming and I enjoy just about any outdoor activities there are. On my spare time and as part of being active around my campus I also enjoy volunteering with different organizations around my commnity to help with just about anything, but my favorite are the opportunities were children are involved. for example just a feww weeks ago I was involved in a project were we built a playground for the children of a community apartment complex.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe has a variety of food selections, pizza (from Papa Johns), salads, deli and some gourmet cuisine. They have several vending machines with soda, juices and water. There is a Starbucks cafe in the main building open to everyone.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here

    Academic Rigor

    The rules and standards are general for everyone here but the stricness of the curriculum (syllabus) depends on the professors. So far evry professor I have had has been very beneficial and helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Always ask questions- even the most insignificant question can take you far. 2. Take advantage of the mentoring programs like TRIO, the LINC Peer Mentoring program and free turtoring. 3. Research, research, research! 4. Talk to an Advisor and Administration for any enrollment concerns. 5. Visit the Career and Learning Centers for help in your academics and a touch up on your resume. 6. Always stay on top of your game by keeping an agenda to write down deadlines. for example Financial Aid and scholarships due dates. 7. Talk to your instructor when ever needed, they are really there to help you! 8. Be proactive, responsible and caring about your education, its your future! 9. Don't procrastinate! 10. Have fun! and remember that there is a light at the end of this journey. :)

    In three sentences

    I rate Gateway Community College as a A+ school. Not only is the staff and student body concerned with our education but also our complacency and our well-being. Everyone here is always ready to help and offer our comunity a feeling of comfort with a warm smile.