Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Gateway Community College - Connecticut Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Many people with children and demanding jobs might find it much easier to start their college education at Gateway Community College than if they decided to go straight to a four-year university. Gateway Community College is also great for people who want to go for a simple Associate's Degree in the field of their choice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even if it's only a community college, don't mess around in your Junior year. Remember -- whatever college you'll be transferring to after your 2 years at Gateway will still be viewing your high-school transcript, and colleges consider both the Junior and Senior years of high school to be your most important years. Second, remember to speak with a guidance counselor when you're accepted to Gateway. When transferring to another college after you've spent time here at Gateway, you need to know which credits will transfer, and which ones won't. You don't want to have spent all your time here to learn that only a few of your hard-earned credits will transfer to your new college. Last, make sure you get involved in a few clubs here at the school. Making friends in college can be difficult, and having people who will always have your back will make you feel a lot better than trying to go about your college education SOLO.

    Bang for the buck

    Every 4 year college starts out with the basics during the first 2 years of your education -- Math, English, (and depending on your major) History and Science. By choosing to start out at a community college, and then transferring to a 4 year university, you're making a real money-saving decision in the long run! And here's the real kicker: many students come to Gateway with their tuition completely paid for!

    Am enjoying being here

    There's plenty to do here at the school -- with over 20 different clubs and groups that meet every week after class (I, myself, am involved in the GWCC Gaming Club!!! It's the best, by the way.) and so there's no end to the events that go on here at Gateway. There are tons of events funded by the Office of College Life -- with everything from video game tournaments to student get-togethers, field trips and music events, you're sure to find people who have the same interests as you, and hey, what could be better than having more friends?

    Am learning a lot

    I'm learning PLENTY!!! Believe me. (It's all good!) Even though it's just a community college, don't expect things to be so easy. The professors here really *work* their students, and for good reason too -- they want to see their students SUCCEED. But don't be alarmed!!! Many professors are willing to walk that extra mile to make sure their students get the hang of all of their material learned in class. They stay after school, come in on weekends, and communicate through email to help students with any problems concerning homework, essays, and presentations.

  • 02/02/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Gateway is wonderful for the student who strives to do better, and wants to succeed in the career of their choice.

    Will enjoy being here

    After not being in school for over 20 some-what years I was a little worried I was too late and too old. But my teacher and fellow students made the experience fun, knowledgeable, and learn eager. So, I am looking forward to attending once again because I know Gateway will fill me with all the knowledge, tools and experience I will need to success.

    Will learn a lot

    I attended a beginners computer class. I learned all the basics of a computer, and finally was no longer SCARED of this piece of technology.

  • 12/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are non-traditional who want to start with an Associate Degree

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the time to fill out the financial aid forms. Also enjoy all the free talks they offer.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many activities and groups you can join at Gateway. The office of college life is always running programs such as trips to Six Flags New England and to see other popular areas in the Northeast. Prices are great to on average a trip runs from 10 to 20 dollars and school picnics on the lawn are free to attend and mingle with other students and faculty.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeterias have excellent food and are reasonably priced. They offer meals throughout most of the day and are quick to serve you after ordering the meals. The menu is large and very open to each students likely. I especially like the bacon, egg, & cheese sandwiches they serve during breakfast!

    Dorm Life

    At Gateway there is no on campus housing, every student has to commute.

    Academic Rigor

    Their academic course are tough and competitive although faculty is very involved and want to help students succeed. Many of the professors teach at nearby large colleges and universities and have the same expectations from us as they do their other classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend entering their general studies program if you are still undecided on a major. They were very helpful designing a course schedule that would offer the most exposure to different fields. There is a strong number of students that are attending Gateway for their nursing program and they are very welcoming and involved.

    In three sentences

    Gateway Community College is a supportive environment and has been helpful while planning my academic goals. They have strong and very active groups and honor societies. Gateway is currently building a new state of the art campus that looks beautiful and is very technologically advanced.

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 22

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Gateway it's a nice community college. I would give it a 7 out of 10. Professor are great very nice and school is very helpful.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security guards and cameras at both campuses plus many more planned for the new one they are building.

    Great for these types of students

    students who are working and need a wide offering of class times to pick from so that school does not interfere with other responsibilities.

    Bang for the buck

    this school is very affordable and the financial aid department will help you in any way that they can. you can get a good education at a very reasonable price.

    What to do for fun

    honestly, i'm not sure. there seem to be a lot of activities going on all the time but i work full time in addition to going to school so i haven't attended any.

    Food and Dining

    the food on campus is pretty good but the cafeterias a the current campuses are small.

    Academic Rigor

    the abilities of a good deal of the student has slowed down the curriculum in several of the courses that i ave taken so far. despite this, the professors still try to give a quality education to the students who are looking for one and are more the willing to spend extra time with you tho achieve that goal.

    Tips for prospective students

    parking can be a nightmare depending not he time and day of the class so show up early.

    In three sentences

    gateway community college offers a decent learning environment with knowledgable professors. some of the courses are dumbed down a little due to the type of students that the college attracts, but there are still opportunities provided to get a quality education if the student is willing to put in the extra effort.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is only one place to dine in the school at the moment however there are many other places within walking distance that are not too expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    This school offers a wide variety of classes: remedial programs, ESL, Professional Studies as well as general courses.

    In three sentences

    Excellent school in which the majority of the professors work in the field they are teaching so they can provide you with great examples and insight lending itself to a great education.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Yes.

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa.

    Great for these types of students

    Great school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    unknown.

    Bang for the buck

    Very reasonable.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown city life.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Time management is a must.

    In three sentences

    Gateway is a great college. I find it to be very convenient and the availability to work around personal schedules makes it a reality for people to get educated. I am happy with my choice of school.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    yes there are a lot of security on campus. Police and everything are there to protect the students

    Great for these types of students

    I think any and everyone can attend

    Bang for the buck

    I think you get what you pay for. Its a community college so its low costing but its still hard in these time of days to pay for college. Also I think the bookstore is a rip off but that is another story.

    What to do for fun

    You can join clubs. Sometimes there are get togethers at the school, parties and also guest speakers.

    Food and Dining

    The food is fine. Reasonable prices

    Dorm Life

    Gateway is a community college so there is no dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I think some of the challenges about the school is the area it's in. The school is in an area where the city was on the FBI's top 10 most dangerous cities in america and I hear people all the time complaining. Also some of the difficult things were in the old building there were a lot of students and the building was small so it could get kind of hectic. Overall i think the learning is excellent. As long as you do your work and do what you are suppose to do and don't let little things distracted you, you will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even though its hard, I would advise you to pick a major that you know that you will go all the way through with. You don't want to end up in a situation like me where you picked a major just to get out of school because I got discouraged and I decided to go back to fulfill my dream in nursing and now I'm in a situation where I have to apply to outside resources for money to pay for school because they have taking my fin aid away because I have reached maximum credits. I would advise students to go through with your dreams and not let anything get in your way and live up to your fill potential.

    In three sentences

    Overall I think Gateway is a great school to attend. The teachers that I have had, they've done a lot to help me learn the subject matter. Only thing I would change about the school is the financial aid policy's.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent!

    Bang for the buck

    Awesome!

    What to do for fun

    Lots of students' activities in campus.

    Food and Dining

    Not too bad for a school cafeteria.

    Academic Rigor

    Way to go.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research, plan, usage of resources to succeed.

    In three sentences

    An excellent college to start an education. Good way to reinvent yourself. Great foundation to enhance, broaden your horizon.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. Security is great in parking garages and buildings, with emergency call boxes and lots of security available.

    Clubs and Activities

    None at present

    Great for these types of students

    Gateway is great for all ages - easy access and is safe.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I like that all classes and offices are in 2 buildings.

    Bang for the buck

    I am going to Gateway for 10% of the cost of a private university and I am being taught by the same teachers.

    What to do for fun

    I have not gotten to the fun part yet, but might want to play basketball.

    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten at school, but it looks very clean.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply

    Academic Rigor

    My instructors are good and they are there to help me be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your electives done at a community college for a small cost in comparison to the big universities.

    In three sentences

    I give Gateway a high rating. It is a brand new school.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    lots

    Greek Life

    lots

    Clubs and Activities

    lots

    Great for these types of students

    wanting to go back to work

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    near Yale college

    Bang for the buck

    free compers

    What to do for fun

    art is great

    Food and Dining

    great food and reaturts

    Dorm Life

    live off the cavas

    Academic Rigor

    great

    Tips for prospective students

    free bus passes and the food is great

    In three sentences

    great school the school is brand new and its great

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    13 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Oh, campus safety is way better which help student feel safe.

    What to do for fun

    Well, I think just going to school, getting an better education and learning is fun enough in my opinion.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is much better now than it was before.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms available because it is a community college. Plus the campus is located downtown New Haven, CT which make it much more easier to commute back and forth.

    Academic Rigor

    Gateway pushes their students to go above and beyond by encouraging students to challenge their abilities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students will be to make sure you study, be on time for class, ask questions and ask for help when in need. Also keep your grades at a above average GPA so that way you do not mess up your financial aid because the last thing you want to do is pay out of pocket.

    In three sentences

    Gateway is a great school because it allows you to further your education at the speed you desire. Not only dose Gateway allow to choose your own pace, but they are always willing to provide additional help to guide you in a direction that is suitable for you. Gateway is a excellent school for anyone looking forward to continuing their education.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security at all enterences and photo ID's necessary to enter building and parking garage.

    Food and Dining

    New cafeteria is very nice

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you sit down with an academic advisor to plan your classes and plan for your time at Gateway. Requirments change often making it difficult for students to keep up with the necessary qualifications for certain degrees.

    In three sentences

    Gateway's new campus really stimulates the students and makes them proud of their school. The staff is very helpful, even when they don't have all of the answers they will lead you in the right direction. While in some situations they can be dismissive, for the number of students they deal with daily they try their best.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The school is WAY cheaper then other schools and you get a great education. It's just up to the student to put their part.

    What to do for fun

    Go hopping with friends between class breaks or go out to eat at local restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafe is okay a tad bit expensive.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately Gateway doesn't offer dorm :(

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what you want to major in, depends on how good the school is for you and what you want to be in life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just because the school is a community college, it doesn't mean that it is not a good school. The school is great.

    In three sentences

    The school is great i love the new building and all the features that come with it. Also, the teachers are very helpful and willing to help you when you are in need and ask for help.

  • 03/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always campus security and police around as long as there are students in the facility.

    Clubs and Activities

    the PTK always have exciting events and conventions available to attend and opportunity to learn about students and grow with the advisors.

    Great for these types of students

    great for student trying to save a buck because they are not getting enough federal aid.

    What to do for fun

    joined the PTK chapter at the school

    Food and Dining

    very nice new cafeteria excellent food there and always busy. Also have good pricing for students.

    Academic Rigor

    This is definitely not the 13th grade it is real college, and an opportunity to learn and grow.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take as many classes here as you can before transferring to a 4 year college.

    In three sentences

    I love the new school it is an excellent environment for teaching. The teachers are very helpful. The guidance office is always available to students.

  • 04/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A complete security staff with 6 New Haven Police Officers and 2 Connecticut State Troopers provide a feeling of security in the building. There are a lot of blue emergency call boxes located throughout the school itself and in the parking garages. Nobody is allowed in without an ID and there are security stations at every entrance and exit of the building.

    What to do for fun

    New Haven is a city bustling with life around the college and offers a lot of opportunities for fun. Inside the college, there are a lot of activities to appeal to a wide variety of interests. The major problem was the times these activities met, did not work well with a working schedule.

    Food and Dining

    New Haven has a plethora of restaurants all within walking distance of the school. Most are geared towards college students and therefore offer good food for a college budget. I personally have not eaten at the School's cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    A commuter college. No Dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very easy and designed so that everyone can pass as long as you show up and do your work. There really is not a lot of challenge unless you make it into the higher up science classes, which are usually taken for Nursing students.

    In three sentences

    The campus is very nice. The administration of the building is very poorly handled and information is not made widely available. The academics lack rigor and some of the professors lack interest in their subjects.

  • 04/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I like to get involved in the community

    In three sentences

    I've attended three community colleges and I must say Gateway is one of the few thats highly organize. I like the student to teacher relationship that they have to offer. Lastly, the new campus is absolutely beautiful!!

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately its a community college and doesn't have dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Be part of your college as much as possible. Don't be lazy be motivated on having a better future.

    In three sentences

    Its a great college! It offers many courses and is a new recently remodeled building! They also have many activities and groups to be part of. There faculty is very friendly and helpful! I was not accepted to the university i wanted to go to but after going to gateway i realized this college is great and how i am able to afford my tuition.

  • 10/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The college always has activities to do and many field trips if you choose to go.

    Food and Dining

    good except the prices are a little high

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    great

    Tips for prospective students

    The professors are there for you, if you do the work and study hard you will have nothing to worry about.

    In three sentences

    Gateway Community College is always clean and easy to navigate around. The professors are helpful as long as you put in the work. Everyone is so friendly and there are many activities to do.

  • 11/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Recent high school graduates, older students, mid-career change returning students, and retirees and veterans.

    Bang for the buck

    $155 per credit for in-state tuition is an incredible value. It is much less expensive than people think!

    What to do for fun

    Shopping, movies, and restaurants are within hundreds of feet from the front door. There is something for everyone in the downtown area of New Haven.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent food in the cafeteria, as we have a culinary arts program, and the food served is made by students practicing their craft.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here, but there are thousands of apartments to rent within blocks of the school.

    Academic Rigor

    Much more intensive and in-depth than most think a community college would offer. The school is full of great professors, caring advisors, and knowledgeable staff.

    Tips for prospective students

    Communicate with your advisors and professors. Attend each and every class. Take notes, show up on time, and give it your all.

    In three sentences

    Gateway is well-situated in the heart of New Haven, Connecticut. It is a brand new school, rebuilt in 2012 at its new location. It is amazing to attend as an older student, I have been given so much support and guidance from the faculty and staff.

  • 02/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everyone is required to wear an ID that is shown upon entering the parking garage, and the building from regular entrances and even the door from the parking garage to the building. There are cameras everywhere and SOS alarms you can press to call guards, and photo visitor badges are given to visitors (your license number is taken down to get one.)

    Greek Life

    Not much to speak of, but we do have an alumni association that raises money for the school

    Clubs and Activities

    The activities are pretty great sometimes! There's field trips offered throughout the year to things like plays, amusement parks, etc. Last year there was a trip for a seal watch that my friends and I went on. It was extremely educational and we got a nice two hour boat ride out of it. There was also a trip to Salem, MA, the Broadway play Wicked, and Six Flags New England.

    Great for these types of students

    Commuters that either have children or work full time jobs, and need the flexibility of night classes, distance learning, work-training programs. We even have special centers for military students, or a medical clinic.

    What to do for fun

    We have a basketball team and there are tons of free or cheap trips all around the state.

    Food and Dining

    You can get coffees from the machine, and there's a cafeteria. I haven't tried a ton of the food, but of what I have had, it's alright! The cheeseburgers are actually pretty good, and kids bring trays of fries into class all the time.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are not available, which is typical for a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are just as good as a class at a private institution. In fact, most of the professors work at different universities like Southern or Quinnipiac.

    In three sentences

    Gateway Community College is a great place for busy people that might otherwise not have an easy time attending college. It's full of opportunities and people that are understanding, intelligent, and really want to help you succeed. The institution itself is beautifully modern, the diversity of available curriculum is impressive, and the staff is great.