Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Gateway Community and Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hang out in the break room and talk to the other students.

    Tips for prospective students

    its a great school and as much as universitys and small classes to get started.

    In three sentences

    Gateway is a great school to start out in and it has great teachers and the teachers know you by name.

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is good for any type of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Give it your best and dont give up. You pay for college, make it worth!

    Bang for the buck

    Great prices for the classes I need.

    Am enjoying being here

    I feel like I belong.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers here are amazing and very kind. They take their time with every student,they want them to succeed.

  • 01/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there has been incidents, as im sure there are at all schools but the school has improved on security since i have been there.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    i think there is like 4 clubs for the entire school.

    Great for these types of students

    this school is great for students who cant afford a university, have children, or students whose program of choice is offered at the school.

    Bang for the buck

    the school itself for people who cannot afford or do not want to be at a big university is fantastic. the teachers really are great and will go out of there way to make sure you understand and pass the class.

    What to do for fun

    they try to have some activitys but sometimes they will be at the campus you have no classes on so it makes it difficult.

    Food and Dining

    there are vending machines and microwaves but that is all.

    Dorm Life

    the school doesnt have dorms and there is almost no since of belonging simply because there arfe no social aspects except inside of class.

    Academic Rigor

    it depends mostly on the courses you take but its college its not going to be the easiest thing ever.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to seek help from advisors from gateway as well as the school u plan to transfer to so you know which classes are for you.

    In three sentences

    its a very good school for getting you accustomed to the college feel. if they have the program you are looking for going all the way through it is great, however it can sometimes be tricky if u plan to transfer. .

  • 02/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    good.

    Clubs and Activities

    spanish club, ptk honor society

    Great for these types of students

    all types of students

    Bang for the buck

    it is worth the money. much cheaper than the big universities. start here and then transfer to 4 year university. it will save you money.

    What to do for fun

    there is always different clubs to join and activities going on. stay involved.

    Tips for prospective students

    do not procrasinate. schedule your classes early and apply for all the scholarships you can early. the biggest tip that i can give someone is be early.

    In three sentences

    it is very student oriented. classes are small and student centered. great place to start out.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    gateway has really beefed up security lately after a couple of crimes were commited. now you often see a security officer or two at every gateway location.

    Greek Life

    there is no greek life at gateway.

    Clubs and Activities

    none that i have ever seen.

    Great for these types of students

    students who don't have a lot of money that want to get their foot in the door, get an associate's degree, or take some cheap prerequisites for university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there may be some hot dog grilling and cheap pizza every now and then.

    Bang for the buck

    gateway does give you your moneys worth because it is very cheap but i feel that you pay for what you get in regards to instructors, organization, and staff.

    What to do for fun

    there is really nothing to do for fun except study and socialize.

    Food and Dining

    edgewood now has a small, very nice coffee shop/cafe with breakfast food, lunch food, and beverages. i hear that the covington campus has a small cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    gateway does not have or offer dorms or housing.

    Academic Rigor

    the prerequisite courses aren't that hard if you study and participate like you're supposed to. courses in a program are fairly rigorous because of the small class sizes.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you're in high school, definitely get great grades because they control the amount of money you can recieve at this school.

    In three sentences

    gateway is small. gateway creates a comfortable learning environment. there are a lot of politics in the programs and classrooms at gateway.

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the school is continueously getting better with security.

    Clubs and Activities

    gateway does have many clubs and groups that i have not been able to take advantage of yet.

    Great for these types of students

    gateway is a great place for a average person to go back to school. i work a full time job putting in more than 45 hours a week have two kids and take 12 credit hours. i have a 3.75 gpa. if i can do it anyone can.

    Bang for the buck

    gateway is a great way to get bang for your buck because the classes for the transfer program are almost $300 cheaper that at nku for the same classes.

    What to do for fun

    gateway has many different activities throughout the semesters which i have not been able to take advantage of yet.

    Food and Dining

    currently only the covington campus has a full cafeteria, all of the schools do have a cafe type setting for snacks and have microwaves to heat up anything you might need to be warmed up.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms for this college but they do have 5 campuses throughout northern kentucky for everyones convenience.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are what you make of them. your instructors are there for you if you have questions and they will work with you if sometihng happens. they understand that not all aspects of life can be controlled.

    Tips for prospective students

    getting enrolled is the first step to going to college. taking a year off from high school is not something that is food for you in the sense that once you start working full time it is very hard to cut hours there to start school again.

    In three sentences

    this is a great stepping stone for those who wish to get a ba in their field of study. if you are not currently sure of what you want to do then by getting stared with your general education classes is a good way of spending time and money for your future. you do have a lot fo resources available for anything you might need for any schooll issue.

  • 03/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have full time security guards to insure the safety of staff and students.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for traditional and non traditional students. They offer technical certifications for ones that just want that route.

    Bang for the buck

    This is THE MOST economical in our area.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is a great place to start your education.

    In three sentences

    It is a great college for the price. The teachers are encouraging and want you to succeed. They have numerous programs to offer including, certifications, associates degree and transfer programs

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the library. Get a free haircut with youre student i.d. use one of the many student computers located throughout campus.

    Food and Dining

    You can go to the cafeteria. It is located at the Covington campus on Amsterdam road. There are vending machines at all locations and in student lounges.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms at gateway.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers base grades mainly on attendance. Some teachers give sliding scale on hard tests. Studying at home is very important.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes early. Leave enough time for the next class you have. Show initiative to you're new teacher

    In three sentences

    Small class sizes. Very freindly classmates. Helpful teachers.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is very important to our school, I feel very safe on our school grounds.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a few clubs that work with the community, and the cities around us.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for parents and full and part time employees.

    Bang for the buck

    The credit hours are very reasonable and it saves money to get the classes you nees for a higher education.

    What to do for fun

    The Cincinnati and Kentucky area are beutiful and have lots of great establishments for everyone to enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    No food and dining

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    There are many classes, certificates and asscoiates degrees to choose from.

    In three sentences

    Gateway is an excellent school. The staff works hard to help you with your education and sucess rate. Affordable and flexable for parents and working people.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Never be scared to ask for help, no matter how big, or small the problem!

    In three sentences

    Gateway is an awesome school that takes time to help, and understand their students. I have been treated wonderfully, and enjoy going to school. The teachers have gone out of their way to help me grow as a student.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    None on campus but there are some places to go for lunch near each campus.

    Dorm Life

    None.

    Academic Rigor

    Unsure yet but i will be starting soon.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional students make up a large population of the student body.

    What to do for fun

    Cincinnati is a few minutes from the campus, so big city activities are available. Zoo, museums, conservatory, trails, parks, etc.

    Food and Dining

    I never tried the cafeteria food, however the instructors spoke very highly of it.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus housing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should meet with an academic advisor to be sure they are on the right track with taking the correct required classes. Also, be sure to continue to stay in contact with your academic advisor throughout the year. Although tuition is very affordable, be sure to apply for financial aide to assist with tuition.

    In three sentences

    The instructors are very knowledgeable and made learning interesting and obtainable. The instructors are also very accessible and go out of their way to help the students. A new tutoring service recently opened and was a valuable asset for me.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am an older student, so I've already had most of my fun. Newport on the Levee is a good place to start.

    Food and Dining

    I live in the area so I already know all the good places to eat.

    Dorm Life

    I did not stay at a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are sometimes very hard. Study, study, study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Set aside the same time everyday for classwork. Don't let it overwhelm you, the instructors are very helpful.

    In three sentences

    Gateway allowed me the flexibility to do all my classes online. The course material was sometimes difficult. The instructors were always at hand to answer any questions.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a cop walking around the campus or stationed outside. All campuses are very safe.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students from all types of life can easily go to Gateway. Its set up to if you are working you can work full time and go to school. Also its much cheaper but provides the same criteria that a 4 year college does. Weather you are 18 and just coming out of High School (like myself) or if you are 60, Gateway provides the classes.

    What to do for fun

    The college has many clubs and I usually stay around with my study group and hang out at the college. Since I usually have time between my classes, I hang outside by the library where I can chat, study or just waste time on the computer.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has pretty good food. There are always vending machines available and the cafeteria is open almost all the time except at the night.

    Dorm Life

    The nice thing about Gateway is there is no dorm life. Since it is a 2 year college you have many people in different stages of life. It's a great way to start off. You don't acquire to much debt but still get to be part of the clubs and become involved.

    Academic Rigor

    If you study and apply yourself the classes are simple. Manly it depends on your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your work. Once you let something slip or procrastinate you get in way over your head.

    In three sentences

    Gateway College has a flexible schedule for all its students with affordable tuition. The teachers are interested in helping you. The best part of Gateway is the small classes, instead of a huge auditorium you are in a classroom.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I think it's pretty good. The parking lots are close to the bulidings and there is usually security on duty.

    Greek Life

    I am not sure about this one...

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some clubs and organizations available.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student, especially those that are coming back to college and have a full time job and/or a family to take care of.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are several campus locations in the northern Kentucky area for the entire Gateway community.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent tuition rates! About a third of the price as the closest university.

    What to do for fun

    Gateway offers different clubs and organizations to be a part of. Being a community college, there are no sports available.

    Food and Dining

    There isn't any on campus, just what is around locally.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available here.

    Academic Rigor

    This depends on the course you are taking as well as the instructor, which I think is the case at any college or university you attend.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a way to save money and get a great start on your college education then Gateway is the college for you! They offer most, if not all, of the general requirements that a university wants you to have. Then you can transfer to a university ahead of the game and in a lot less debt! This is a great school!

    In three sentences

    Gateway is great college for people who are looking to furhter their education and save money at the same time. The class sizes are small and this allows for more one on one instructor time if it's needed. For people who are busy and aren't able to attend classes, Gateway offers courses online for you to do on your own time.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Emergency posts everywhere, in case of an emergency! Campus security is tight and there are lots of cameras and watchful eyes for safety as well!

    Great for these types of students

    Non-Traditional, Single Parents, Pregnant mothers, First-Years, Not the best high school grades, ANYONE!

    Bang for the buck

    VERY AFFORDABLE FOR ANYONE, IN ANY SITUATION!

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of on and off campus activities, such as: clubs, Greek life, and volunteer opportunities!

    Food and Dining

    There are lots of vending machines but more of the campuses could use a campus cafe of some sort. But there are restaurants relatively close to the campus.

    Dorm Life

    It's a community college so sadly they have no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Easy to understand and and easy to obtain! I've had no problem since attending the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour, meet and talk to some of the students and professors, and find out what Gateway can do for you!

    In three sentences

    Gateway is open to helping EVERYONE! Its small and personal and the professors are amazing! Its a good start for anyone who just wants to try out college until they get comfortable enough for a 4-year institution.

  • 03/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Reasonable fees with full tranferable credits to a four year college.

    What to do for fun

    There are a variety of student organizations to help you suceed in life and school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't try to do too much at once, slow down, take your time and plan to suceed.

    In three sentences

    The staff are very nice and helpful. they will go through strides to help you achieve your goals. The classes are challenging and engauging.

  • 05/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    i eat with my parents.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    i love the professors.

    In three sentences

    i really enjoy Gateway's campuses. I do plan on transferring to Northern Kentucky University. I really enjoy the Professors.

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa - Beta Pi Tau Chapter

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, Student Government Association, Spanish Club, Poetry Club

    Bang for the buck

    $140 per credit hour - This is affordable in comparison to other area colleges

    Food and Dining

    We have a cafeteria at the Covington campus and a cafe called MoJoe's at the Edgewood campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here at Gateway. Students live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Be prepared to exercise your brain here at Gateway. For every three credit hours which equal one class - be prepared to devote two hours or more to homework per subject per class. While this is a two-year community and technical college, they are also preparing you for a four year university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always make sure you know your student identification number. This is the way you are identified and can be helped with your questions. When preparing for your semester of classes, print out your schedule and your syllabus if available on Blackboard. Be prepared before you go to class. Make sure you know the correct dates and times for your classes. Remember to go to class and be there on time.

    In three sentences

    I rate Gateway a 10. The reason why I rate it a 10 is because you are valued as a person and not a number. When you work hard, you are recognized and are encouraged to continue on that path of educational excellence.

  • 07/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    spent time with my family and that's all.

    Great for these types of students

    Study hard and get a good grades.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's pretty close to my house and I love studying here.

    Bang for the buck

    pretty much

    What to do for fun

    I love to cook filipinoi food.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that disability documentation and special education reports are up to date and obtain a copy for your records. Understand your specific disability and the support you are currently receiving. Before taking the SAT, inquire about special accommodations for testing. Contact the State Bureau of Rehabilitation Services to inquire about eligibility for services. Develop reading, study, time management and organizational skills.

    In three sentences

    This is a very excellent school.I've love to continue my nursing program and graduate here. Also, it's a quiet and environment.