Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Gateway Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/10/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    absolutely virtually anyone can return to school if i did it after 12 years.

    Tips for prospective students

    come with a clear mind the teachers are great and will help you with anything

    Bang for the buck

    you get the most out of your classes here and the teachers are always here promptly and ready to teach.

    Am enjoying being here

    I'm here 3 days a week and i wish i had more time to be here

    Am learning a lot

    I'm learning just as much if not more from going to gateway technical college in Racine the people are nice and bright and i enjoy being a part of gateway technical college.

  • 06/22/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security is always roaming the campus, checking parking passes, and asking students for student ID's when they are not visible. I've never had anything stolen, and I've never felt in danger while there.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    A number of clubs are available to all students, some are open to certain programs, but there are a few clubs that don't exist that should.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for an easier and more laid back environment would do well here.

    Bang for the buck

    With all of the technical problems that seem to live in their system, it's not worth it. The classes are not always challenging or engaging, but teachers are always reachable and able to help.

    What to do for fun

    There are a number of clubs, but there are no sports or music.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. It could be better, but it's rather decent.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm rooms are not available.

    Academic Rigor

    General Ed. classes leave a lot to be desired in the way of a challenge, but the course specific classes often offer more of a challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have all of your information ready at all times, and memorize your student ID number. The libraries are friendly places, but not always useful. Be sure you know how to use a printer before you print, because you will be charged for copies.

    In three sentences

    Assistance is often hard to find here. The Administrative department has a tendency to pass you along from person to person, and they have too many people that you have to see in order to figure out your classes. Despite the difficulty with paper work and computer problems, the teachers are wonderful and various other members of the staff are always willing to help.

  • 04/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard-working, talented, fun, inspired students!

    Tips for prospective students

    If I could go back and do it again, I would start my academic career off at Gateway. I would have saved a lot of money and a lot of heartache knowing that I was actually taking classes I needed. You can always transfer over to a bigger school/4-year University after your general courses have been completed. Either way general courses need to be taken at all colleges-why not take them when they are at a cheaper rate and than transfer over to another college for your core courses?

    Bang for the buck

    The prices at Gateway are great, and much better than those of a University or 4-year. I wish I would have started my schooling off at Gateway-I would have saved about $11,000 in loans! You also don't have to pay for a parking pass-which at other colleges can cost up to $150! And if you register for classes by a certain date, than a class processing fee/holding fee is waived-so that is another $40 saved right there! Just as a side note, prices per semester credit have gone up about $20 for each class due to Wisconsin's new budget plan.

    Am enjoying being here

    School is just plain old school sometimes, but Gateway always has an event going on, making the school day more interesting.

    Am learning a lot

    I am definitely getting my fill of information at Gateway-Kenosha Campus. I used to attend UW-Parkside right down the road, but the class sizes were too big, and you paid a lot for not getting a lot of hands-on attention. I have learned more than I have at Gateway being here one year, as opposed to UW- Parkside-being there 3 years. Class sizes are a nice size, and the campus itself is easy to navigate-I know that can be a daunting task!

  • 06/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Jump in and dedicate yourself to getting good grades. Use the tools they give you and it will be so much easier. You have to find that internal voice to keep you going and don't lose focus.

    Bang for the buck

    I have learned a bunch and yes, it is very affordable and the intructors are or have worked in the field of study that I am going to school for so they are great teachers.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am taking my classes in Elkhorn and it's close enough from where I live. I have met many people my age who are also returning and it makes it a much easier transition when you have people your age to relate to. There are a range of ages to learn from.

    Am learning a lot

    Returned after 25 years out of school with no post high school education what so ever. I enjoy learning new things and the instructors are just great. The academic support is a huge asset to me so far and has helped me maintain my 4.0 GPA

  • 01/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security Guards are always walking around and there are emergency boxes in the parking lot.

    Clubs and Activities

    The have a new exercise room, game room, and student clubs available.

    Great for these types of students

    The students coming out of High School and Adults trying to change a direction in their careers. The help you prepare for a four year college or university.

    Bang for the buck

    Considering this is a community college, it is not very expensive. Financial Aid does cover your books and class schedule if you qualify for the whole amount.

    What to do for fun

    The have a new exercise room, game room, and student clubs available.

    Food and Dining

    There is a great little company that offers a cafe style menu as well as lots of coffee options. The Culinary Arts class does provide lunch, but only during their class time. That is the only downfall. I would like the dinning area to be available for a longer period of time.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    The school provides a great opportunity to learn. Some students do not take schooling seriously and treat it like a social gathering and expect the instructors to give them their grades like in High School. Some courses are difficult while others are more difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the academic center for help with your assignments. Use the resources the library offers. If you have a question, faculty is happy to help.

    In three sentences

    The school offers great academic assistance. Instructors here are great Mentors. You can make some lasting friendships.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Gateway Technical College is a very sourceful and academic institution that has your education and after college life best interest at heart and I believe by me attending into the program that im goin to take Gateway is the best college for me.

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    educated and wanting to learn more

    Tips for prospective students

    apply today

    In three sentences

    I love this place

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Gateway has an awesome cafeteria that serves delicious food and beverages at a reasonable price.

    Academic Rigor

    Although Gateway is a 2-year degree school it still has some of the best teachers, and student success stories in the midwest.

    Tips for prospective students

    Whether you are just graduating high school, transferring, or looking to get back into school make sure to check out Gateway. The small class sizes are a definite plus which makes it easier for one on one attention, and all of the teachers are well qualified and respected.

    In three sentences

    Gateway is a great school whether you're receiving an associate degree, a certificate, or just taking a class for fun. Gateway has a wide range of degree/certificate programs to satisfy different interests and career focuses. Since Gateway has smaller class sizes than regular universities it's much easier for the students and teachers to bond, and get the attention they deserve.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is top notch.someone will walk out with you to your car if you want..safety is #1

    What to do for fun

    its a small town

    Food and Dining

    accessible dining

    Dorm Life

    there is none

    Academic Rigor

    Academic Rigor is what you make of it...you can have an easy schedule or you can load yourself up the choice is your..i love the convience of this school ..wowrk at your own pace

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have your ducks in a row when you come in//make sure you have tax papers and know what you want to do...they will help you with the rest..no question is EVER unanswered with them

    In three sentences

    Friendly and helpful staff will go out of their way to make the most of your experience..Every question was answered and they gave out inside tips to help you...Everything was accessable and easy to find

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There may be lots to do for fun but I live to far away and was unable to participate in much extra

    Food and Dining

    All I can comment on is what is at the IMET campus and it is a few vending machines

    Academic Rigor

    I guess I am not schooled as much as I should be because I am unsure what Rigor is referring to so I Will go with what Wikipedia definition is laws enforced to the letter I would say that the laws have been enfoced

    Tips for prospective students

    If you live a great distance from school consider that you will need to allow money and time for travel, although many of the classes are offered online the civil engineering program has several classes basically at least 1 per semester to be in person only.

    In three sentences

    The instructors are very knowledgeable. The instructors are very willing to help when needed The blackboard system is helpfull

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Have always felt safe at GTC

    Clubs and Activities

    Active Student Government and many program specific clubs and activities. The engineering degrees have very active clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Great school for the local student. Great value for the money watching student. GTC has both day and evening programs that are ideal for the working studnet. The staff maintains frequent communication with the students regardingn coursework, scheduling and job postings

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    IMET - great facility; little known jewel of campus

    Bang for the buck

    Amazing quality for the price. Very happy with the 2 + 2 program engineering program with MSOE and Marquette as partners. Other GTC programs are equally strong - nursing, computer scinece, fire science and EMT/Paramedic

    What to do for fun

    I work full time and take school in the evenings - I dont participate in as much GTC sponsored activities as are available.

    Academic Rigor

    I have been very impressed with the rigor in the classes I have taken so far. I feel prepared to move to the next level of education

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your instructors Manage your time well

    In three sentences

    Gateway Technical College (Kenosha, WI) has been a great place for me to learn new skills in preparation of a career change. I am working on the 2 + 2 engineering program and have found quality instruction and rigor in the curriculum. Great value wiht solid academics

  • 05/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a variety of student clubs and organizations, as well as workshops that students can take advantage of. Biomedical Engineering Society, Society of Women Engineers, and Amateur Radio are a few I was involved in.

    Food and Dining

    Only vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    Gateway does not have dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work with your instructors-they're there to help you! Don't underestimate the rigor of the classes, it can become difficult if you allow yourself to fall behind.

    In three sentences

    Gateway is a supportive educational institution. Staff and teachers are dedicated to your personla and academic success. Classes and course work are flexible, but informative.

  • 05/06/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Automotive students, future law enforcement, aviation, nursing.

    Bang for the buck

    Cost per credit hour under $130.00, beats most accredited colleges, hands down.

    What to do for fun

    Many student organizations. Small class sizes creates lasting friendships.

    Dorm Life

    No on-campus housing, but facilities are good.

    Academic Rigor

    Not overtly difficult, but stretched my brain at times.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend every class. The instructors are there for YOU!

    In three sentences

    Gateway is a fantastic school for people looking to get back in the education flow. The small class size, and personal connection between instructor and student promotes higher scores. Attended to boost my GPA, and transfer out, but would stay if my outlook were different.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a constant stream of Security Guards walking and driving around and through the campus. As a women, this just makes me feel more secure.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always an activity or club outing taking place. Being a student at the Kenosha Campus also gives you access to the clubs and activities at the Racine and Elkhorn campuses.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This campus hosts its own radio station, that is in its own building with a cafeteria, pretty cool! Also, there is a welding department that has an Art Welding class, they produce some amazing metal sculptures! You really need to check these out.

    Bang for the buck

    Gateway is a Technical College and you will definitely get your bang for the buck. If you are eligible for FAFSA, chances are your tuition and most of your books will be covered right there.

    Food and Dining

    Kenosha's campus offers a great lunch and coffee area and don't forget the radio station cafeteria. If you have time, head out to the Racine campus, you can try foods prepared by the Culinary Department. Also, the Kenosha location is right next to 3 different restaurants, so take your pick.

    Dorm Life

    The one down side of Gateway, is that there are no dorms to stay in. There are many local apartment complexes and houses available for rent. There is also another College and a University in town, so finding off campus housing should never be an issue.

    Academic Rigor

    Gateway has something for everyone. This Technical College really knows how to help students balance their life. Many students are parents or hold full time jobs outside of the campus. Gateway and the Staff make it important to them to help everyone get the education they want. If you are willing to work hard, so are they.

    Tips for prospective students

    The people working in the office of Kenosha campus know what they are talking about; any questions, just ask them. At times, when you are looking for a quiet place to study, don't forget to check the courtyard. Many students pass on this, but the quiet and beautifully landscaped surroundings make this spot ideal for studying. Finally, remember to take advantage of food prepared by the culinary department, taxes done by the accounting department, and hair cutting done by the beautician department all done for lower costs (and sometimes even free) because students need all the help, and practice, they can get.

    In three sentences

    Gateway's Kenosha campus has grown a lot over the years. With the addition of new buildings and renovating old ones, it is definitely coming into its own. The gorgeous landscape and small town feel, make this campus a perfect choice.

  • 09/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Visiting Chicago for fun!

    Food and Dining

    Amazingly delicious.

    Dorm Life

    NO DORMS

    Academic Rigor

    It's amazing of what these instructors can teach you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Excellent opportunity who want to continue with their education.

    In three sentences

    Great school with lots of possibilities. 100+ major programs to choose from. Companies will hire you straight out of college

  • 10/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always campus security officers around for the comfort of the students. Although they are there, you will rarely if ever need their services since it is a very safe campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a radio club, an electronics club, international clubs, AITP, and several other clubs and activities for students to join and enjoy.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to receive an education and experience you can actually use. They focus on teaching you the knowledge and skills you need to exceed at whatever major you decide.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a mascot yet we have no sports teams!

    Bang for the buck

    Gateway Technical College is reasonably priced. I am able to pay for college while I attend so I don't have large loans waiting for me when I get out like I would if I went to a University.

    What to do for fun

    When on campus, in between classes, you can go to the commons area where there are foosball tables, video games, and TVs set up to enjoy. If you prefer a quieter setting, there are great libraries and cafes to relax.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Gateway is good. It's nice to be able to get a fresh cup of coffee in the morning before you start your classes. The hours of the cafe are also accommodating for class schedules.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Gateway Technical College.

    Academic Rigor

    The workload is just right. The classes are designed so that, if you need to, you could both work and go to school full-time. You will be able to get your schoolwork done and learn everything you need to so you will be a successful professional in the field.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep organized! It's helped me tremendously to follow a strict schedule for work, classes, and for homework. Make out a schedule for the week and write down everything you need to accomplish. It will help you greatly!

    In three sentences

    This is a great Technical college! The professors are professional and helpful. I have especially benefitted from their knowledge and genuine concern.

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food at the cafeteria is pretty good and they have a nice variety of healthy selections to go along with the burgers and fries.

    Dorm Life

    Gateway has no dorms that I am aware of

    Academic Rigor

    Most teachers will keep you challenged, but not in a tedious way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with a counselor or academic advisor if you are still not completely sure what it is you want to do. They have great ways to help you narrow down you interests and suggests classes that will give you an opportunity to test the waters first.

    In three sentences

    Gateway has great, flexible class schedules. Gateway makes it very easy to sign up for classes and keep track of yourself online. Gateway's Financial Aid staff are the most unhelpful people in the universe.