Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Genesee Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The Phys. Ed. program is good, along with the professors, there is also a good nursing program, and a good education program.

    Bang for the buck

    A lot of the teachers that work here also work at University at Buffalo, Brockport, Buff State, and other various four year schools around the area, and they use the same materials, and the same syllabus, or similar ones, and they treat you the same way that they would treat their other students at the other colleges they apply too.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy it a lot here, sports are important to me, and a majority of the sports that we have a pretty successful. The other students are fun to be around, the professors help you out a lot if you ask them, there is also plenty of on campus things to do.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are great, the one's that I have worked with are more than willing to help you out if you need help with something you are doing in class

  • 08/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    GCC is a great place to start your college experiance. It gets you used to college and lets you take your general education classes a lot cheaper.

    Bang for the buck

    The reason I decided to start at GCC is because of the tution price. Now that I am enrolled, I realize that not only is tuition reasonable but I am also getting free printing, free tutoring, free writing assistance and so many other features that a private school could never offer me.

    Am enjoying being here

    I like that GCC is a small school. It guarantees that the professors have enough time to get to know you and your needs.

  • 08/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Being a veteran I am able to use my G.I. Bill here

    Am enjoying being here

    The classes are small so the Professors can help us easily

    Am learning a lot

    As an older student I have felt that I am not getting lost like I used to in high school.

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All students no matter age, race, gender or learning abilities. Wide variety of classes, teaching styles and if you need help with anything, including academically, it comes in abundance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to the person who schedules your classes/degree and tell them what you think you can handle; get involved in chooses what classes you want and do not just sit back figuring they will plan it all out.

    Bang for the buck

    It is less then 10,000 a semester to attend and for a community college offers so much academically. GCC has classes for a large range of students whether they are coming straight out of High school or are going for a degree later on down the road. If your looking for a quality college education GCC is a good place to get it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Extremely friendly college to attend. When sitting in the student lounge people, whether they know you or not, will assist you with anything. 98% of the teachers know what they are doing and have a real passion for teaching.

    Am learning a lot

    GCC offers a wide variety of classes and majors to choose from. Originally going for an Associates Degree in General Studies I have through my electives chosen a career path that I wish to get a Doctorate in. In my time at this college i have been given the opportunities to get a very rounded education in a variety of fields such as astronomy, computer sciences and music.

  • 01/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    working, moms, online

    In three sentences

    I like it because it is close to home, classes are small and it is flexible with my work .

  • 01/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is great at GCC. There are always security driving around the parking lot or walking the halls of GCC. It is defianetly a safe place to be. In the parking lot they also have security telephones you can use if you don't feel comfortable or you need help.

    Bang for the buck

    You are getting an awesome deal when choosing GCC. Your getting the same education you would be getting as a University for your general electives for a really great and cheap price.

    What to do for fun

    GCC has a lot of sports programs to attend, along with an art gallery and theatre. There is almost always some kind of event every weekend. They have many extra curricular activities and clubs that are open to everyone. The college has a nice student union where students can play pool, ping pong or sit and have a coffee or work on homework.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is great at GCC. It is very affordable and convienant. They have a large regular style cafeteria, a pizzeria and coffee area.

    Dorm Life

    I actually do not dorm at GCC but I have heard great reviews about the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I love this college. The professors here are great and are always willing to help out a student in need. It's very easy to access them or the computer lab/library. There is help all around the school. There are tutors in almost every subject which is a great feature to a school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always check out community colleges. There is nothing wrong with starting off and GCC and it saves a ton of money. For your first two years at college, most of the classes will be general electives anyway, so it's a cheap and easy way to get them out of the way. GCC also offers summer courses that are completely free.

    In three sentences

    Genesee Community College is a very small school with classes sizes averaging 20 kids. GCC is very affordable and it a great way to start off, whether someone is undecided about a major or don't know what college to go to. The application process is very easy and there are plenty of opportunities to keep a person busy!

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security is always available at the batavia campus. the smaller campuses are located in the country. i have taken mainly online classes, but have taken a few classes at the dansville campus center. i haven't really seen any need for security there. it's more like family. everyone there knows everybody and it's a friendly place to be.

    Clubs and Activities

    very long list that will fit a variety of interests and hobbies.

    Great for these types of students

    any kind of student looking for a two year degree or who will be transferring to a four year suny college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    batavia is the main campus, but there are many mini campuses making it easier for students of surrounding areas to take classes without a long commute. online courses make the classes available to students from their homes any where in the world.

    Bang for the buck

    for the most part everything is affordable with an exception of text books. the book store is over priced, but i buy my books cheaper online at amazon and ebay.

    What to do for fun

    there are a wide variety of activities suitable for a wide variety of interests.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria at the batavia campus has a great menu, has plenty of room to sit and study, and is convenient. prices are a little on the high side, but you do have the option of packing your own more affordable meal. there are microwaves and vending machines available as well.

    Dorm Life

    i have never stayed in a dorm and can't really rate this area.

    Academic Rigor

    i have been pleased with all of my professors and the course outlines. some of them are a little tougher than others, but i come away feeling i have learned a great deal from each class i have taken.

    Tips for prospective students

    learn and utilize genesis to help you be in charge of your own record keeping and schedules. it's an easy system to learn and saves you from many unnecessary hassles in the long run.

    In three sentences

    i love the freedom that online classes provide. i find the financial aid office and record keeping to be slightly inadequate. on an overall scale of 1-10 i'd say they are an 8.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are always security guards driving around parking lots and walking in halls. i feel very safe there.

    Greek Life

    sorry no information not a part of any

    Clubs and Activities

    many clubs as i am an older student i have family obligations and not fortune it enough to enjoy in the activities but i do read a lot about the ones offered. some examples are honor society, learning abroad, ethnic clubs, science, sports etc.

    Great for these types of students

    transfer students, nursing students, and returning adults.

    Bang for the buck

    this school is very clean and up-to-date with many computer facilities and a nice library. the school is set up on a hillside in the country with lots of parking space and the entire school is enclosed so no need to freeze walking in between classes.

    What to do for fun

    there are always posting on the bulletin boards about different activities going on as well as sports events and the school uses blackboard communication which is also a very good way to inform students of the events taking place.

    Food and Dining

    this college has a very large cafeteria with prepared food as well as vending machines, i always bring a brown bag so i have no advice on the food itself.

    Dorm Life

    sorry i have not dormed no info here.

    Academic Rigor

    depending on your course of study like nursing the classes are challenging but they should be.

    Tips for prospective students

    research what your ultimate goal is so you know what classes to take and if they transfer. take college serious because gpa does matter when looking to go on with your career.

    In three sentences

    genesee community college is very willing to assist anyone with their concerns and in a happy manner, they offer many types of classes and are very competitive. the classes are challenging and the professors are very professional as well as knowledgeable. the cost for the classes are affordable compared to other institutes.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Dear prospective students, Whatever you do, don't slack off. some classes seam to be easy, but the moment you start to slip, your hard work and determination will go with it.

    In three sentences

    At this college, I feel welcome and at home. The teachers make transitioning from high school to college much easier. This truly is a great stepping stone.

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional

    Tips for prospective students

    Start study groups!

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are Public Safety personnel that constantly patrol all areas of GCC. I feel very safe at this location.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs to choose from that consist of easy to get along with people.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student that wants to cut financial debt down by attending at Genesee Community College, students that wants to save money by doing a 2 + 2 program, and non-traditional students. GCC is a good alternative for individuals who would rather commute than be forced to live on campus at other colleges.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are regular events that take place every week. There are fashion shows twice every academic year.

    Bang for the buck

    Genesee Community College truly is one of the most affordable colleges in the area. I can easily afford to attend because of the low-cost tuition and generous financial aid options.

    What to do for fun

    There are dozens of clubs for every interest and hobby. If there is not a club that fits an individual's interests, a new club can be generated by the individual and/or a group of people.

    Academic Rigor

    There are programs that challenge students intellectually and gives them experience within their intended career fields. Instructors are easy to access and always willing to help. I feel up to the every challenge as instructors never throw more work they know you can handle.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should be sure to have all of their documents, financial and educational, sent to the corrected offices at Genesee Community College. In addition, stay in regular contact with your academic advisor.

    In three sentences

    GCC is a very affordable college. There are campus centers in various, convenient locations. There is an excellent emphasis on educational goals.

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This college is probably the best bang for your buck around! Tuition is less than $2000 per semester and the classes here at GCC are classes you would be taking elsewhere anyway.

    What to do for fun

    The campus has pool tables and ping pong tables in the student union. In addition, the campus also features a fitness center and pool to exercise in. The college has a variety of extracurricular clubs you can join as well.

    Food and Dining

    The wraps are great and they offer plenty of options. The only drawback is that the food and beverages are a little pricier than they normally are.

    Dorm Life

    I personally haven't had to dorm, however I've heard it's not the greatest, but it's isn't the worst. So, I'm assuming it's at least a manageable place to live temporarily.

    Academic Rigor

    There definitely is work, but I found that it was actually less homework than high school. Why one may ask? The teachers focus on the quizzes and tests more and let you be responsible for what you take away from the classroom experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Write down test days, quiz days, and when your projects are due. Also, try and get to class 5 minutes early so you can be totally prepared and focused for that day's class.

    In three sentences

    Genesee Community College is a stupendous college to attend. Whether you're getting your associates degree, or transfering to another school, it's definitely a great foundation for your education. Furthermore, it's very affordable and the class sizes are small, so it's easier to focus and participate in the classroom.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are always around (patrolling parking lots, campus, etc.). Makes you feel very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    You can really keep busy if you want to.

    Great for these types of students

    They are welcoming of everybody.

    Bang for the buck

    Some really good profs - for not a big tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of school activities - ust join in.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good dining options - good prices and quality - especially compared to others I've tried.

    Academic Rigor

    Like I said - you get out what you put in.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're not sure what you want to do - at least take a few of the basics while you figure it out.

    In three sentences

    It's a really great school - great profs working hard for not a whole lot of money - you can get a really great education for not a prohibitive cost - of course, you get out what you put in.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Have never had a problem. You always see guys surveying the area and it makes me feel pretty safe when walking out to my car later at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many sports...theater events

    Great for these types of students

    Anybody!

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely bang for the buck here. It is a community college so that seems to set the charges a little lower than other colleges. It is very much appreciated when it comes to working and paying and also working after graduating.

    What to do for fun

    Have a great new student lounge area for activities. There are also many sports, art, theater, etc events open to go to.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good. There is a nice area for the dining. And I have always had a good experience with the food here.

    Academic Rigor

    GCC is great with motivation and challenging for the students. They have specific programs that are very successful and contribute to the bettering of the community and society.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the conveniences of the campus and availability of the staff to be here to help you no matter what.

    In three sentences

    It is a great location. I appreciate the availability and cleanliness of the campus. There are so many resources for the college and the community to use.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The have many extracurricular clubs and sports. They also do a lot of things for the students such as Sock Hops and karaoke and Wii nights.

    Food and Dining

    They have a variety of choices, and the food is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know anything about the dorm life, as I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are smaller, so you get more one on one help!

    Tips for prospective students

    Getting an advisor and asking for advice and help is the easiest way to make college great!

    In three sentences

    Genesee Community College is a great place to go to school. The curriculums are wonderful and the enrollment process is easy. The staff and teachers are more than willing to help with anything you may need, from picking classes to extra tutoring in a subject.

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are rarely any incidents at the school, it's in the middle of the country and has a great scenic view. I've looked and still haven't even heard of anything that would set off an alarm about safety.

    Greek Life

    There are sororities and fraternities on campus, I personally haven't joined any though.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton, ask and you shall receive.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for every type of student!

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of tuition is very affordable and getting the access to the gym, the pool, the databases, and even the school as a whole is entirely worth the very affordable tuition.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and sports and general groups of people who like to have fun, as long as the student looks. This is my freshman year and I'm already on a team and I joined three clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Great dining services in the cafeteria. Vending machines for everything a student could need as well.

    Dorm Life

    The cost is a bit steep and the location isn't exactly prime either. Consider looking in Batavia for apartments, it will cost less and provide more privacy, in my opinion.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not the most difficult, but it gives you an idea of how difficult things can get. As long as you, the student, can keep up with doing what is expected, it shouldn't be a problem.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work, it's not high school anymore. Make sure you fill out every opportunity you can and get the most out of what GCC provides.

    In three sentences

    Genesee Community College is a great school for a running start in the ballgame otherwise known as education. It provides an excellent array of classes, a large library, and many databases to kick start any research projects. GCC is an all around great deal, considering it provides affordable education in a time that everyone needs it.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    They're Okay, but I'm not involve in any

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, this school is worth the amount you paid for it

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do for fun in Batavia or on campus. The student union or College Village tries to put some activities together but they're just okay. . .

    Food and Dining

    The first 2-4 weeks of school you'll like the food choices but eventually you'll get tired of eating the same things everyday.

    Dorm Life

    College Village is very strict about what you can and cannot do on campus. Safety patrols the dorms frequently and complain about any ounce of noise.

    Academic Rigor

    This rating is based on my personal opinion and not on actual facts. I don't believe I'm very challenged by the education because right now we're just focusing on general studies, so it's review of basic courses (English, Spanish, math, history science, etc)

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to ask sophomore students about teachers the prefer. You'll get a better idea of whose class you'll be comfortable taking.

    In three sentences

    I'm a student majoring in Psychology at GCC. I like the education I get from professors who instruct my CONCENTRATION classes. Professors who instruct the requirement or general studies classes don't seem to care as much.

  • 10/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    GCC is big on campus safety. Including the dorms, College Safety is always busy trying to keep the campus a dry campus.

    Greek Life

    So far I haven't noticed to much about the Greek life here at GCC.

    Clubs and Activities

    Each year GCC is adding to their long list of clubs and activities. As mentioned earlier they have a CAB (Campus Activities Board), an Anime Club, Radio Station and much more. GCC encourages students who are interested in starting a club to do it.

    Great for these types of students

    If your a student looking for something new and interesting, GCC is just for you. GCC in batavia is a great place to start off as a freshman like I did.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    GCC does what some might call interesting activities. Each year is focused on a different culture. This is interesting because, for example, we would have salsa dancing for a year focused on India.

    Bang for the buck

    Living by the college budget here at GCC is as hard as it is at any college. However if you spend your money right you will have the time of your life.

    What to do for fun

    GCC offers many student activities for all the students on the campus. They have Campus Activities Board which holds activities at least three times a week, so no one can ever complain they are board.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at GCC is huge. They also have a student union where you can buy from the junction. The junction is made up of Boulder subs and Starbucks. In the normal cafeteria, the prices aren't too bad and the food is always fresh.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is as great as it can get here at GCC. They offer so many free things that you wouldn't be able to get in any other college.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic Rigor is very successful in GCC. The professors are always looking to help a student in need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Your life at Genesee Community College will be alot easier and alot smoother if you stick to going to classes and complete your work on time. If you ever have a question don't be afraid to ask your professors or go find someone to answer your question, they love to help out students.

    In three sentences

    Genesee Community College is a great place to get started with your college career. They offer alot of different options for different majors. Even though you cant get a four year degree from Genesee Community College, they go all out to make sure that you have learned as much as you can from the college and help you to find another college which you can transfer to too complete your intended major.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always safety on duty at the college and at the dorms!

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports teams: for example, Basketball, baseball, lacrosse, ect. Many clubs and organizations!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    GCC is located on farmland, so there isen't TOO much to do majority of the time.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition itself is not expensive what-so-ever, the only things that cost are books, meal plan, and the dorming life for sure. Many students choose to live off campus.

    What to do for fun

    Many of the students have off-campus housing, so there are many parties and get-togethers there. There are many restaurants and stores to go to. Rochester and Buffalo are both forty minutes away and there are many things to do in both those cities!

    Food and Dining

    There is the cafeteria at GCC and the sub/snack shop, which has build-your-own subs, pizza, and a starbucks as well.

    Dorm Life

    This is a drug and alcohol free campus, meaning that no drinking is allowed on the premises, as well as drugs of any sort. There is not much to do on the campus unfortunately.

    Academic Rigor

    If you put your mind to work, you will recieve good grades and a high GPA. This school has wonderful and helpful teachers who will help you along the way as long as you show the effort. Great academics.

    In three sentences

    GCC is a very great school to attend to understand what college is about and as a stepping stone from high school to college. Teachers are very interactive and helpful with their students!

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    classes are hard to get into.... and most likely not needed at a four year

    Food and Dining

    best thing about the school

    Dorm Life

    lots of fights

    Academic Rigor

    good if you like taking classes that do not transfer elsewhere

    Tips for prospective students

    go straight to a four school.... majority of their class will not transfer and are not needed.

    In three sentences

    WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY

  • 01/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take it as a joke, because it is college and it's serious. But still have fun and have a good time

    In three sentences

    Genesee is a great school that is inexpensive and offers a wide variety of resources to it's students. I have learned an incredible amount from the professors they employ and can't wait to complete my degree.

  • 02/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always see the security people wandering about. I never feel unsafe and there are not a lot of sketchy people that go here so that's good.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of clubs!

    Bang for the buck

    You can't beat the price.

    What to do for fun

    I have no idea, I just go to learn. I have fun at home :)

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is okay. They have great wraps but they are pricey. I wish they offered healthier foods, but most college students don't care about that so I suppose it's understandable that they serve a lot of junk. The coffee shop is pretty good as well. I'm just super pick when it comes to food, which is why I pack my own lunches.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus so I feel as though I cannot give an accurate review on the dorm life, although I haven't heard anything bad from those that do live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I am in the nursing program so the classes cover difficult material. All of the teachers that I have had so far have been super helpful and good at teaching so I have had no problem maintaining a 4.0 gpa.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are debating between MCC and GCC, go to GCC!!

    In three sentences

    I have taken 10 classes here so far and haven't had a bad teacher yet. I really like that all the buildings/wings are connected so you don't have to walk outside unless you want to. I feel like the quality of the education I have received here thus far has been excellent.

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Guards are posted everywhere. We recently had a fire drill, and was completed with 20 minutes! Very quick!

    Greek Life

    I have only gone one semester so far, so I'm not really sure how to answer this one!

    Clubs and Activities

    Have not had the time to check out any, but I am told there are many to choose from!

    Great for these types of students

    They have seven different campuses to acommodate everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The have an outdoor common area for just relaxing and taking a break between classes. The library is HUGE!

    Bang for the buck

    Cost per class is a bit more affordable than most colleges of the same caliber.

    What to do for fun

    Many types of extra-curricular activities to choose from.

    Food and Dining

    There is a main cafe, also a Starbucks on campus as well.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, so I can't really rate this, but I am sure it would live up to anyone's expectations.

    Academic Rigor

    Not hectic, but very fast paced environment. Staff is very helpful and caring.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the website for information, you'll be glad you did.

    In three sentences

    More than I expected. Little college feel, Big college attitude. I love it here.

  • 06/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone with a busy schedule that needs flexible class hours, wants to take online classes, is looking to go back to school, wants to take a class just for fun, or is looking to transfer to a four year school after.

    What to do for fun

    There's a variety of clubs and sports offered, but there's a lot to do off campus as well if you venture a little ways into the city.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of orientation and ask questions, the teachers and staff are very nice and are always there to help you. They offer day, night, and online classes, so GCC is pretty flexible.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are very helpful and considerate. While they are strict on deadlines and want you to do the work, they're quick to help with any questions you may have. The staff is very friendly, and the campus is easy to navigate.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's always something to do around the college for fun!

    Food and Dining

    Very good but high prices.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't dorm here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, Study, Study!

    In three sentences

    The teachers have been very nice. Everyone is supportive. It's so much cheaper than a high end name school like Yale.

  • 08/22/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    A lot cheaper then going to a four year school.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with new friends that you are sure to meet. Go to the gym or the swimming pool.

    Food and Dining

    Have not had to eat on campus make meals at home.

    Dorm Life

    have not had to live in the dorms here thankfully because I did the dorming at SUNY Brockport and I did not like it.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes don't seem that they will be too bad. The professors seem willing to work with you on things.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get things done before near the beginning of the semester. Go here before going to a four year school so that you don't miss out on financial aid and have to take out all loans.

    In three sentences

    Very friendly staff in the offices. They treat the students like they are an actual person. Very helpful in the financial aid offices and the admissions offices.

  • 09/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security and being in a small town really makes you feel comfortable.

    Greek Life

    Sororities and fraternities that are welcoming to all individuals.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a great education at a great cost.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus book store is a Barnes and Noble!

    Bang for the buck

    Great cost for a great education!

    What to do for fun

    GCC is located in Batavia. There are many restaurants and shops to spend your afternoons free in. There are also coffee shops which are great places to do your homework!

    Tips for prospective students

    GCC is the best way to start your college career in an affordable way.

    In three sentences

    GCC provides a well rounded education for an affordable cost. The professors give one on one attention and truly care you are successful. The college makes me strive for excellence and want to be the best I can be!

  • 11/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I really don't know any of them

    What to do for fun

    - Play in open gym

    In three sentences

    - Good athletic program - Bad housing experience - Good major programs

  • 12/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I do not know about the food.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in a dorm here.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is great, people are really into the learning over there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get all your information into the offices so that there are no mistakes. Apply for as many scholarships as you possibly can. I do not recommend a math course online.

    In three sentences

    It isn't organized enough in the financial and business office areas. The classes are great online! The hardest thing is that for math we have to go to campus to take quizzes even though we are doing online.

  • 03/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus provides a numerous amount of activities from fashion shows, to sporting events and intermural activities. In the lounge area there are ping pong tables in your free time to use for your own enjoyment.

    Food and Dining

    The campus has different locations for food and they provide a wide variety of options. As well as the dining areas, there are multiple seating areas if you like a crowded area, or quiet and peaceful seating area.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live on campus so I can not attest to the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging enough for students, but they are not overwhelming and impossible to receive an A in the classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors, they are always willing to work with students needs and concerns. Use your advisor wisely, they can give you advice and keep you on the right track for meeting all your graduation requirements.

    In three sentences

    Genesee Community College is a great learning environment where all students are being heard and are given the help they need. The teachers are extremely helpful and willing to above and beyond for their students. I enjoy the small professor to student ratio and the academic standards are excellent.

  • 04/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety vehicles make their rounds often in the parking lot and their office is on the first floor in the main building.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not in any clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    GCC is great for anyone, any age.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love walking into school and seeing random people holding signs that tell people to smile, and other messages.

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get your money's worth at GCC. Teachers are more than happy to help if needed and there is tutoring at school.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club!

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Go full time and you will stay busy with class work, homework and studying!

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, have fun, and earn a degree!

    In three sentences

    There is a variety of class days/times which makes it perfect for non-traditional students. Teachers are very knowledgeable. GCC is a great choice for me!