Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

George C Wallace State Community College-Dothan Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Tobacco free school and police on campus

    Great for these types of students

    Love to learn. Outgoing hardworkers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Wallace Wednesdays where we aow college spirit and local restuants anf businesses give discounts to students

    Bang for the buck

    Very reasonable and worth it u get the education on half the price

    What to do for fun

    There is drama sports. And many other things

    Food and Dining

    They have a subway yummy and healthy.

    Dorm Life

    Wouldnt know dont live in one

    Academic Rigor

    Lots of differnt feilds

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy books online or on Facebook Wallace buy sell or tradebooks find good deals.

    In three sentences

    This school has great teachers and programs. Everyone is really friendly and helpful safe environment. The cost is some what reasonable.

  • 12/11/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students accustomed to the rigor of general classes or higher ranking students who want to be able to slack off or relax their first two years of college Students who wish only to get a certificate or associate's degree Students not prepared to move off to college just yet Students looking to save a bundle of money Students interested in studying anything in the medical field Non-traditional students or continuing education students

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not immediately discount the idea of going to a community college as I did at first. Visit the campus, weigh the costs of WCC and other schools you are considering, take into account the level of academic challenge you desire, and make sure that if you attend WCC your major is one that will transfer to a university if that is your intention. Also, many classes at WCC are not heavily reliant on the assigned text book for that class. Wait a week or two after classes have begun to find out if you will actually be needing the book, and then buy it used if you can. Explore the college's options for student activities and meet professors who teach in the field you are interested in.

    Bang for the buck

    WCC is definitely worth your money, is you're willing to sacrifice a little bit of course difficulty as compared to a university. The tuition, fees and books total less than half the cost of most universities in Alabama when you consider their tuition, fees, books, housing and meal plans. Some students may shirk away from continuing to live at home for a while after graduation, but if you can cope with it you will save so much money as opposed to going straight to a university. Scholarships are fairly easy to come by; I was awarded two from the college when I first started here. (These two scholarships combined cover ALL of my full time tuition and fees costs and they are not big scholarships. That's how reasonable the cost is!) If you are good at writing essays and score above a 24 or so on the ACT, you can probably get a scholarship or two. Considering the available student activities and social events, free math tutoring, and other features of the college, it is a very good deal and very easy on your wallet. The cost of books is also greatly lessened by the plethora of event boards around campus where students post their used books for sale.

    Am enjoying being here

    Despite some cons, I am really enjoying being at this college. The lack of academic rigor is something I've had to aide by supplementing myself with out-of-class activities like reading and writing more, participating in academic groups, etc. I choose to take the optimistic route and view this as a good thing. Regularly, students will only have classes Monday through Friday (day or evening, student's choice). I have more free time than ever, allowing me to go to class, maintain a part time job, get all of my homework done, volunteer some weekends, hang out with friends weekly, all without ever feeling rushed. Everything about this college is very laid back, including the schedule, faculty and most teachers. It's a small school so it is easy to get to know people. This also means that the classes are small (20-30 students on average), giving you the opportunity to closely engage with your instructor in every course you take. The social groups/clubs, cafeteria, library and computer labs are proportional to the school's size and meets students' needs effectively. There is also free math tutoring and I can personally attest to the credulity of the tutors (my genius fiance is one of them). The campus is always very clean, it is not crowded but it is rather scenic. A negative is that the parking tends to be a bit sporadic. Despite being located in a small southern town, WCC has a considerable amount of cultural diversity. I come from a Native American background myself, and have met friends at WCC from Sudan, India and South Africa. There are also a lot of adults at WCC continuing their educations. In fact, there have been at least 2 adults in every class I have taken.

    Am learning a lot

    Here at Wallace Community College (WCC), the learning environment is not as rigorous as I would like. I am in the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Honor Society, the most difficult course I have taken (and will be taking) here is Precalculus, and I try to get everything I can out of the academics but still find the school lacking in academic rigor and am only a second semester freshman. So, if you took all or mostly honors classes in high school and thought they were a breeze or minimally challenging, or if you take AP classes in high school and do well in them, you will most likely not find this school to be challenging in the academics area. High school general classes students will find the courses to be slightly more challenging. There is one exception and that is the nursing program, which is apparently very thorough and quite demanding.

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    A prospective student needs to take the time to compare cost between Wallace, and the college they want to attend. They need to study hard now. Even though a community college might seem like it will be easy, it's not high school. It will be tougher.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe I am getting a bang for my buck. The classes are cheaper at Wallace than a big University, and we learn the same things.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have made numerous friends thus far while being at Wallace. We are all encouraged to get involved in the school, and community. I have joined the SGA at Wallace, and enjoy being apart of what we do around our school, and community.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a lot in my first semester at Wallace. The teachers don't just look at you as a number. They look at you with the intent of helping you to succeed, and that is exactly what I love about going to Wallace.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I play guitar for the school's Jazz band it's super fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try hard and focus on the future and you'll do great!

    In three sentences

    It's a great campus with friendly teachers. Everyone here is focused on your education and are willing to help. The classrooms are usually small and you get a lot of one on one time with teachers

  • 12/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for the type of students that take pride in community involvement and wish to start in a positive tobacco free environment with great instructors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely a college to start because of great guidance counselors, time availability, ratio of student to instructors, and income friendly for most of the student body.

    Bang for the buck

    Bang for the buck is not bad but with the full time role of this student and work schedule is hard to balance; scholarship opportunities are a blessing only that many of these unsuccessful attempts of scholarships are often lacking a reason why the applicant did not recieve the award.

    Am enjoying being here

    Am enjoying being here due to the amount of success that this applicant has achieved so far and future successes mainly because of the involvement in the college atmosphere of student support service programs and opportunities for scholarships.

    Am learning a lot

    This applicant/student is really learning a lot here. Classroom size is very adequate to my needs and appointments are made for time intervals in which one on one conversations can be made with most instructors to clarify muddy waters.

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    would like to see more than 2 police officers, but the environment is very friendly and i appreciate that people come to school with the right frame of mind

    Great for these types of students

    if you are not quite ready to go off to a 4 year college, working students, and anyone looking to further education or receive credits for a current job.

    What to do for fun

    there are many different organizations that you can be a part of and many different festivities that are happening on campus.

    Food and Dining

    cafeteria could be a little more diverse but it is okay for a quick snack in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    i believe there are apartments that are close by but it is not really the atmosphere for traditional dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    i really enjoy how i am challenged to think outside of the box and use the tools offered to me.

    Tips for prospective students

    go to class and make sure you apply yourself. the instructors are concerned about you and want you to succeed they will not hold your hand to make you do the work you have to put in the time and effort to learn.

    In three sentences

    this college is very close to home and also offer programs for immediate intry into a career.

  • 01/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    great places to eat.

    Dorm Life

    i don't live in a dorm, though they are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    excellent

    Tips for prospective students

    know what degree you are wanting to pursue before just jumping in; especially if you are using financial aid.

    In three sentences

    i love the atmosphere, very laid back and comfortable. the advisors and teachers are both helpful, nice, and great educators. the extracurricular activities are also pretty cool.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security office is a separate building on campus. There is always a Security Officer on duty to address any problems you may have. The Night Officer will remain until the last person has left, and will watch until you have reached your vehicle.

    Clubs and Activities

    Wallace provides clubs and activities for the athletic students, those musically inclined, those gifted in the arts, those who excel academically, and religious groups as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for High School grads wanting to live at home or near by. Great for second-time students who didn't do good that first time around. Great for all other adults looking to change their vocation in life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    What I really enjoy, is going to the theater here at Cherry Hall. The plays are all performed by the students here, and they are magnificent! You would think that they were actors on TV.

    Bang for the buck

    This College has a very professional attitude. It provides a quality education at a reasonable price. You can graduate with pride, and at the same time be relieved of the stress of debt!

    What to do for fun

    This is a small community college and provides students with discounts to various vendors off-campus, via Student ID cards.

    Food and Dining

    Wallace provides a large cafeteria with plenty of tables, various vending machines, and a Subway!

    Dorm Life

    It is a small campus and does not provide dormitory.

    Academic Rigor

    Everyone is recognized for their academic achievements in every area. This motivates others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please seek financial advice upon applying. If you are under financial restraints and are looking for Schooling as a means of income, please do not go to school at this time. You need to be able to concentrate and focus your energy and attention to your studies.

    In three sentences

    Wallace Community College is a great place to pursue your degree. Wallace Community College offers professionalism at its best. Wallace Community College offers quality education at a reasonable price.

  • 06/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Water World, Movies, Shopping, Sports events.

    Food and Dining

    Subway. Ride to other choices is about ten min.

    Tips for prospective students

    Follow up with paperwork you submit as it may get lost.

    In three sentences

    A good local community college. It offers a variety of degrees that are useful for this area and abroad. I have enjoyed my courses, instructors, and fellow classmates.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Students have now been required to keep student Identification badges visible, on their person, at all times. There is a police team on the campus, patrolling at all times and ready to aid students when necessary.

    Greek Life

    I am unfamiliar with the Wallace Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not very athletic, but Wallace does have a Baseball and a Softball team. The most popular groups at Wallace would be The Wallace Sound and the Wallace Ambassadors. Both of these groups offer scholarships. The school's once excellent band is now a small jazz ensemble performing for the Sound. Scholarships in the Ensemble are scarce and reserved for the rhythm players.

    Great for these types of students

    New students that have no idea what college is really about could benefit at Wallace. I wasn't exactly prepared for college my senior year and I am extremely grateful for all the school has provided for me. I feel much more prepared for the large University setting I will be transferring to eventually. Wallace is also great for adults returning to school. It offers a super nursing and automotive program with the hours and online opportunities for those workers and/or parents with tight schedules.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Benze Theatre in Cherry Hall is an awesome auditorium with great acoustics for our musical productions; however, not too long ago, the building was a gym for what used to be the Wallace Basketball team.

    Bang for the buck

    The Wallace Sound and the Instrumental Ensemble performed it's first musical last semester in over 10 years. Hairspray! was a huge success and the school is both excited and enthusiastic for the bright future of music and drama on the horizon!

    What to do for fun

    There are several social hot spots on campus; the Courtyard and the Cafeteria are the most popular- always full of interesting people to connect with. Wallace also has a baseball/softball team for lovers of sport. The music/choir department is making a comeback, providing several incredible, free productions for the public. If these are not enough, Wallace Wednesdays feature current school activities and occasionally include book fairs and Spring Flings for the student's entire family.

    Food and Dining

    Wallace Cafeteria offers a well lit Cafeteria with several vending machines. The atmosphere is more of a social one during the day, but at night it's a great place to do homework. There is also a SubWay that closes at 15:00.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Wallace. There are several outlying apartments, but no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always go to class and complete homework on time. College is very different from High School- it's all too easy to fall behind. If you think you are going to fail a course, don't be ashamed to withdraw from it and try again (if your financial aid allows it, of course). It's better to try again and fully grasp the knowledge then score low and damage your grade point average.

    In three sentences

    Wallace provides an excellent learning environment for adult students returning to school. The staff is friendly and provides new students the help they so desperately need in a timely manner; all and any advice/help students need to advance the college education can be obtained. Music and Fine Arts are undergoing a fine revival, providing enlightenment for students and a pleasant experience for the community.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. Since enrolled I have not heard any complaints of issues with crime. There is an school officer at all times on campus that makes rounds. Badges are worn to identify students to help with recognizing a threat.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of tution is great at Wallace. With $107.00 being the tution rate per a credit hour you are not left with a financial burden. Classes are very affordable. There is a charge for printing which can get very pricey!

    What to do for fun

    They offer several different activities thru SGA around campus. Since my attendance there I have not been made aware of really any activities that are actually fun.

    Food and Dining

    The only food offered on campus is Subway. Unless you like hitting the vending machine all the time and loading up on junk food you are better off bringing a packed lunch.

    Dorm Life

    Wallace does not have dorms but there is several apartments that students can live in.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are small in size and the teachers are pretty good at the subjects they teach.

    Tips for prospective students

    Turn in everything early at this school. It takes alot of time for things to get processed. Always keep a copy of your records because I, myself and others have continuously had things lost. And always follow up with concerns because they can be overlooked or forgotten about.

    In three sentences

    I would give this school a 5 out of ten. They offer many different options for careers. The school is not as up to date with technology as previous schools I have attended. They also take alot of time to handle and take care of day to day tasks.

  • 09/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    THere is a campus police department, and security team.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are tyring to save money, or take college slow then Wallace is a perfect option.

    What to do for fun

    There is alot of clubs at the school.

    Food and Dining

    there is only a subway at the school.

    Dorm Life

    Wallace is a community college, so there is no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    At Wallace the classes are as hard as you want them to be, if you take harder classes you're just going to have to work harder.

    Tips for prospective students

    One thing I would say to do is make sure you take the right classes that will transfer.

    In three sentences

    I think that Wallace is a great community college, especially for students just leaving highschool. Wallace is a very friendly school, and very community oriented. The school is not too big, but not too small either.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    As a single mother, I needed more bang for my buck. I will honestly say I am so happy i found Wallace. The education is just as good, but for a fraction of the price of any other school I've found!

    Food and Dining

    This isn't a huge school, so there aren't many food options. You will find vending machines in almost all the buildings, and there is a subway in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms. off campus living only

    Academic Rigor

    There are a few classes that i am not able to recieve here, but for the most part, they will help you figure out what you need for your major and do everything they can to get you on the right path.

    Tips for prospective students

    I love it here. The teachers/instructors are on a person level and usually know you on a first name bases, they will help as much as they can.

    In three sentences

    Just as good as any other school for less money. You are a student/person, not just a number. Most teachers/instructors understand you on a personal level.

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always seeing a security guard!

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately there is not any :(

    Clubs and Activities

    Quite a wide selection.

    Great for these types of students

    Small town, close to home.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent pricing! Seriously good deal!

    What to do for fun

    Cute little quad where all the Freshies hang out.

    Food and Dining

    Subway hahaha

    Dorm Life

    Not any :p

    Academic Rigor

    Great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be scared, it's a great school. Also called Wally High because it is so similar to high school. Very small classes (12-30) and great teachers!

    In three sentences

    Wallace Community College is a small town school filled with my closest friends. It is the prefect college for those nervous of leaving the nest. In my last semester at Wallace, I have completed my Associates Degree in Englisg Education, and with a solid educational foundation, I can successfully move forward onto a four year university with easy.

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safe no drama

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    not really sure of any, only aspn for the lpn program but no one really goes i dont think.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none, everyone is to themselves and dont pay attention to stuff like that.

    Bang for the buck

    yes its okay

    What to do for fun

    go everywhere else outside of the city

    Food and Dining

    there is a lovely subway in our cafeteria but it kinda gets old. many either bring their lunch from home so not to spend so much. others go and some fast food from somewhere else since there are alot in town. i prefer chik fil la!!

    Dorm Life

    none at all.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are straight forward and in a way its very helpful. there are tutors available whenever you need help from what was taught today. plus the way they teach help you do critical thinking because we have to teach ourselves sometimes especially being future nurses.

    Tips for prospective students

    be on top of your A' game. depending on who you know and who your teachers are, you will get alot of help. but youb really do have to know how to study and get your thinking into college and career methods. (hope that makes sense)

    In three sentences

    its not what im use to actually. im fom Miami and im not use to a slow and laid back enviroment. the mind set is very different in the south, thats one thing i truly learned if anything else. alot to get use to coming from a big city kinda sucks.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    you have nothing to worry about.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    haven't joined anything yet but there seems to be a lot of options and there's always posts on bulletin boards about new clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are unsure if they wanna really spend another 2-4 yrs in school. The teachers do have standards but it's pretty laid back so if you wanna go to school w/o the annoying overwhelming environment of high school, Wallace just may be the place for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If something comes up I'll let you know :)

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely. I doubt it can get any better at a community college.

    What to do for fun

    hanging out with friends, try out for a play, there's a music program The Wallace Sound and it appears to be very established and a great extra-curricular

    Food and Dining

    Only Subway, which is great but often times I do wish there was at least another option although the smell of fresh bread gets me every time I open the cafeteria doors. Oh and Campus isn't all at far from plenty of restaurants and fast food joints.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Middle of the road. Honestly, I'm only taking one class right now and it's in a subject I've always done well in so I'm probably not the best judge yet. But from what I've observed from the classes my friends are taking things can get challenging and if they aren't motivation never hurt anyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry most everyone here (students and staff) is super nice and will help you (even with those stupid questions) once you ask for help. Everybody has a first day on campus.

    In three sentences

    calm campus environment

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Wallace Community College is great for those who have more than just school going on, such as parents and those who work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your teachers; seek their advice in the fields of study your interested in. They're their to help!

    In three sentences

    This school has the best professionals who are willing to help their students further their education and instill a love for learning. My school has made working, attending college, and being a single parent convenient and flexible. I would recommend this school to everyone continuing their education after high school.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As a smaller campus with no dorms, safety is not a huge issue here. I have never encountered any difficulties, but that might be because there are campus security personnel trolling the grounds regularly.

    Great for these types of students

    those with limited funds, those transitioning from high school-or no school-to college, those interested in nursing, those not ready for a college town yet

    Bang for the buck

    As I already said, this is my first semester at Wallace... or at any college period, even though I graduated high school two years ago. I am so glad I decided to attend this college for my first two years because I would definitely have not been ready for the massive amount of students in each classroom. The one-on-one feel of Wallace has helped me to fall back into the groove of student life easily.

    What to do for fun

    Dothan, Alabama is not known for it's nightlife, but for some of us that is definitely a good thing. Other than that, I like to go hunting, golfing, bowling, or just have a good time with my friends.

    Food and Dining

    I live in Dothan, which has one of the highest restaurant to population ratios in the country. There's plenty to choose from.

    Academic Rigor

    I am now in my first semester of college, and I'm taking Trig 113 and World Lit 271. While it requires effort to keep up with the homework and studying, I have great teachers that explain everything clearly and answer any questions that come up to help me do well on my exams and quizzes.

    Tips for prospective students

    The professors and counselors, at least the ones I've dealt with so far, have been so helpful to me in my first semester of college. At first I was apprehensive to admit I had no idea what to do or where to go, but I quickly realized my worries were silly. Don't be afraid to ask for help!

    In three sentences

    Wallace College is an excellent college to attend, especially for those of us who are low on funds. It's giving me a chance to save money while getting my GPA up to hopefully *fingers crossed* finish out my degree at another school. Also, the nursing program is fantastic if that's what you're interested in doing.

  • 12/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Well, from the standpoint of the college itself, they put on a play each semester and then the show choir preforms a show once a semester as well; however, that is about it. There is not much to do in Dothan or the surrounding areas.

    Food and Dining

    We have a Subway. That's it.

    Dorm Life

    Wallace has very minimal housing for students, and what they do have I do not know anything about.

    Academic Rigor

    Personally, most of the material is not challenging, and the instructors do not push us to learn beyond what is on a test. Though I know most students are perfectly happy with this fact, I am not. I wish instructors would teach their students beyond passing a test, and would push them to learn the concepts behind the definitions and formulas, not merely regurgitate them for a grade and never remember them again.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice for future students is to find the teachers who care: those who will give the time to teach them what it takes to succeed. In addition, those teachers who will give as long as it takes as long as the student is giving everything they have as well.

    In three sentences

    I believe the college has its ups and its downs. Some of its good qualities include smaller class sizes and more affordable tuition cost for students. This allows for more personalized teaching and a better bridge between high school and college for students just starting out. In addition, the lower cost is always a plus in the long run. However, the college does have its downsides as well. One being that many of the teachers do not care to teach the students the material they need to know in order to be successful at a transfer institution. Many times they hand out A's simply to be liked, which in the long run does not do any of the students' any favors.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security polices on the campus, and they are very friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa and SGA are two of a few clubs Wallace has to offer.

    Great for these types of students

    Wallace is great for students planning to transfer, returning students, and those who want to go into their career field immediately. Nursing, Cosmetology, Welding, Auto Body Repair, and Drafting are a few career courses given at this college.

    Bang for the buck

    Wallace is all about saving money. The only words to describe Wallace at a financial level are: Go to college for a cheaper price!

    Food and Dining

    This is a community college, so there is only vending machines. There are many restaurants close to the school (Hardees, McDonalds, Sonic, Burger King, Pizza Hut, Wendy's, and more).

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend this college to anyone who wants to save major bucks before attending a university. There are programs that will assist students with transferring, such as: Trio Student Support Service and Bridge

    In three sentences

    Wallace is great for anyone who is seeking to transfer to a four-year college. It is also great for anyone seeking a higher level of education for a much cheaper price. Most importantly, the professors actually care about each student.

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    So far I haven't feared for my life so that's always good. My personal opinion would be to take classes in the day if at all possible because the campus looks way different at night, kind of like ghost town and i just wouldn't like walking to my car alone in the dark.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is very reasonable. try to get as many used books if possible especially because they are usually way cheaper than buying brand new.

    What to do for fun

    The only thing i can think of would be to get involved in school activities.

    Food and Dining

    They have a subway which is always yummy, but the only down side is they close around one so if you have evening classes then you're kind of out of luck. They have vending machines allover the campuses so you can always grab a snack or something to drink.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms that i know about.

    Academic Rigor

    All of the instructors I've had so far were great.

    Tips for prospective students

    A few tips are to: register for classes as early as possible because the classes fill up pretty quick when registering at the last minute. Plan out your routes, the campus isn't huge but you can get confused if you don't know which building to go to(read your map).

    In three sentences

    George C Wallace State Community College-Dothan is a great school. They are very convenient in location. Starting college here was the best thing I could have done, because it has prepared me for going off to other schools.

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go into the city.

    Academic Rigor

    Pretty decent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't get distracted by level of relaxness.

    In three sentences

    Wallace is well organized. It is laid back in a good way. And its a good cheap way to get passed the first couple years

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is small and there is always a campus police officer present. I am not aware of any crime or problems that have occurred while I was a student there.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is very inexpensive comparatively.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy reading.

    Food and Dining

    I did not eat on campus. However, they have a Subway restaurant on site.

    Academic Rigor

    My teachers have always been very helpful and provide everyone with many options for success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be thorough and ask a lot of questions when dealing with the business office and financial aid offices. They make a lot of errors and are not thorough in providing you with information that you need.

    In three sentences

    The curriculum is good, and I enjoy the classes and teachers. My advisor is very helpful. The financial aid and business offices leave something to be desired and have made my experience very stressful.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -Students on a low budget who want to pursue a higher education -Students who want to transition from high school to college easily -Students who have not been to school in a while

    Bang for the buck

    For the price students pay at Wallace, it's a great school. The prices for classes are reasonable, and the teachers are great. I've not only made good grade, but I've learned.

    What to do for fun

    Theatre shows, show choir shows, art club, and guest speakers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go on a website, such as ratemyprofessors.com or ask friends about teachers before signing up for classes; the teacher of the class can determine how well you like the class and even your grade. I would also suggest to buy or rent books online or from students who have previously taken the classes. The bookstore can be a little pricey, especially if you only have a part time job.

    In three sentences

    Wallace is a great school for transitioning from high school, and it's also a great transition to a university. There are a few bad teachers (every school has them), but the good teachers are extremely helpful and are determined to see students succeed. The campus is a great size, and there are clubs and other campus activities to participate in.

  • 02/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework on what you want to major in. I am in the process of changing my major. I am in my second semester there. I should have done my course work first without a major selected.

    In three sentences

    Wallace is a great school with wonderful teachers. The campus is nice, it is a small college, with a big college feel.