Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

George C Wallace State Community College-Hanceville Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/20/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    WSCC is primarily a technical college. It has a lot of 2yr. programs that will train you and get you certified so that you can enter the work force as a trained professional in your respective field. If you are looking to go into a health field such as Nursing, Dental Hygiene, or Clinical Laboratory this is a great school for you. This also happens to be one of the few community colleges in North Alabama with a full music program (Jazz band, Concert band, Pep Band, Vocal, Show Choir).

    Tips for prospective students

    Find a teacher you like when picking out classes. The teachers here are really helpful and almost all of them are more than happy to talk to you about how their classes are set up before you register. That way you aren't surprised by their teaching methods or homework plans.

    Bang for the buck

    WSCC was the cheapest college that I found during my original college search. The faculty and staff here are great and you learn more than you expect. I once heard Wallace referred to as The Harvard of Junior Colleges.

    Am enjoying being here

    WSCC is located within a reasonable driving distance from both Huntsville, AL and Birmingham, AL. You'll never be bored!

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types of students. Everyone is wonderful and you don't have the problems at some schools and it is not like high school. Most everyone is there to study and learn, not to worry about who is IT and who's who. It is just a great place to go, make friends and get a degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definately use your advisors. They know what classes you neeed to take and the order that is best for your time and studying to keep all A's.

    Bang for the buck

    Their prices are wonderful, especilly compared to other schools and the teachers go that extra mile for all their students, whether they are getting paid or on their own time.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have made many friends. Everyone is helpful and friendly. The guys still open the doors for the women and I haven't met someone who isn't respectful.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned so much since my first semester. I feel very prepared to tranfer to a 4 year institution.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that are driven and know where they are going in life.

    Food and Dining

    The food that the Culinary Majors prepare in the chow hall is AMAZING. Be sure to check it out!

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in dorms, but I've heard they are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you pay attention and do your work, you could pass any class. Make sure you ask questions if you have them because the faculty are happy to answer. The students that do these things are guaranteed to succeed.

    In three sentences

    Wallace State is an extremely stimulating environment. There are many courses offered there and the teachers are extremely kind and helpful. I really recommend this college because it has changed my life and helped me make the first steps towards my career.

  • 02/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    cullman is a very small town;however, there is much to do. cullman has an awesome aquatic center, local park, movie theater, and a country atmosphere.

    Food and Dining

    the food and dining include dairy queen, hardee's, subway, mcdonald's, huddle house, a local bar-b-que place (luna's), and a local mexican restaurant.

    Dorm Life

    i lived in the dorm my first year, and i really enjoyed it. it was very convenient.

    Tips for prospective students

    the tip i have is to use your time wisely. put studying before anything.

    In three sentences

    wallace state community college is hanceville has prepared me to continue my education. all the teacher are easy to get along with and respectable. wallace is currently adding multiple buildings and is becoming a very impressive college in north alabama.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I only go to class and back home, so I wouldn't know.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research possible career choices well before you start spending money on college.

    In three sentences

    The staff is extremely helpful. It is close to home. It is reasonable in tuition.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A very safe campus with on-campus security.

    Great for these types of students

    Adult returning to school as well as High School Graduates.

    What to do for fun

    Walking tracks in Hanceville, Movie theater in Cullman and Smith Lake.

    Food and Dining

    Across from the college: Hardees, Dairy Queen, Huddle House, Subway, McDonalds, Pizza Hut and Cantinas.

    Academic Rigor

    Flexible schedules for the working student.

    Tips for prospective students

    A great College to attend.

    In three sentences

    Very close to other major Universities in Alabama for transfer to a four-year degree.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hanceville offers a park with a swimming pool.

    Food and Dining

    Hanceville is a small town, but food is plentiful. Right on campus, in the student center, one can find a grill wit a friendly fellow named Woody running the show and taking care of his customers. Around town, one can find McDonald's and Subway. There is also a fine Mexican restaurant called Lupe's. For great customer service and down-home cooking, Jake's Place is hard to beat.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor of Wallace is challenging without being overly difficult. I have found that this fine balance demands an effort on the part of the student without becoming too much as long as the student maintains a clear mind and keeps the goal in sight.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dr. Lance Boyd is a fantastic and thorough math teacher. The English department has several wonderful teachers. Online registration starts at midnight, but you will not be able to get through until around 1 or 2 usually.

    In three sentences

    Wallace State provides a knowledgeable staff. They have a beautiful campus that is centrally located in a small but growing city. Wallace also has a thriving extracurricular system.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Wallace provides exceptional learning programs. Also the staff makes it easy to direct you in areas you need for your degree.

  • 06/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those wanting the personal touch. Small classes and help with courses.

    Bang for the buck

    The knowledge you acquire and success you have when transferring to a four year school.

    What to do for fun

    Intramural sports, athletic events, personal fitness facilities.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is one of the highest ranked community colleges! Be verbal, ask questions and you will succeed.

    In three sentences

    The instructors care about you. The counselors want you to succeed. The administration makes it easy to complete registration and attend the college.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I do not currently live in the dorms.

    In three sentences

    Wallace State is very easy to enroll into. They also have very friendly staff to help with questions. Also the maps Wallace State provide helps with finding the locations of where you are suppose to be.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Wallace is great for students who want to go to college but don't wanted to feel like they are swallowed up in a sea of 20,000 students. Wallace only has around 8,000 students. The typical class size ranges from 20-50 students, where at a big university the class size could range from 100-300 students. At Wallace, you can actually make close relationships with your professors because they don't deal with thousands of students every day. So if you want a more small, home-town college experience, Wallace is the way to go!

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get more bang for your buck at Wallace! The tuition costs half of what a major university does but you are able to take the same classes as you would at a bigger college.

    What to do for fun

    Wallace is located in a relatively small town so there not as big a variety of things to do as there is in a big city. In the student center, there are pool tables and fooseball tables to play on. If you are in to sports, there is a wide range of places you can play (basketball, volleyball, etc.) at. We also have a golf course, movie theater, bowling alley, and several places to shop at around town.

    Food and Dining

    There are several food options around campus. Woody's Grill is in the student center and serves anything from chicken wraps to hamburgers. The culinary students also serve food in the cafeteria and it is really good! There is also a McDonalds, Dairy Queen, Hardee's and a Huddle house across from campus so there are lots of options to choose from!

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms so I didn't get the whole living in a dorm experience. However, my friend did and from what I know, the dorms are really nice! I visited my friend a few times and the dorms are very spacious and clean!

    Academic Rigor

    I had some really challenging courses at Wallace. At the time, I didn't know if I was gonna make it through but I did! I'm glad that Wallace really challenged me because I know it prepared me for the future when I go to Auburn.

    Tips for prospective students

    First things first, do not procrastinate! Whether it comes to filling out your FAFSA or writing a paper, make sure you do it early! Before the semester starts, go around campus and find where your classes are. It will make that first day alot easier! Also, make sure you become acquainted with your advisor. Mine were so helpful when it came to making tough decisions about my major. Don't feel embarassed to change your major! Whatever career you choose will be the one you choose for the rest of your life, so make sure it's something you enjoy doing. Don't just pick your major because it's an easy one or because it's what your parents want you to do. Choose what YOU love!

    In three sentences

    Going to Wallace State first was the best decision I ever made! It was a great experience and I do not regret it at all! Wallace really helped me prepare for my future studies at Auburn!

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can travel to Birmingham or Huntsville for fun!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be patient with everyone... Never go to the campus in a hurry!!!

    In three sentences

    Wallace State is currently re-modeling their campus. Upon completion of the administration building, I believe the campus will be more efficient. They are also currently building a new nursing building, which sounds wonderful!

  • 08/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everywhere I drive, there are cops and campus security driving or sitting somewhere. There are many people driving as well as walking around. I feel really safe being on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Wallace State Singers. Miss Wallace State. Homecoming. Basketball. Softball. Cheerleading. Baseball. Volleyball. and MUCH MORE.

    Bang for the buck

    Wallace offers many great classes and I really am getting what I paid for.

    What to do for fun

    Wallace offers many different activities and clubs to join. The Wallace State singers is something that I enjoy watching when they have shows!

    Food and Dining

    There is one place on campus called Woody's. they have really great food and the dining area is very nice (it is in the student center). Off campus, there are many places to eat, just right across the road- walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm, but from the outside, they seem very nice and clean. Somewhere I would not mind living.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the teachers are somewhat tough. There are not any teachers that you do not have to study hard for. Challenges are always good.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, I would say always do your best and listen carefully to all of the teachers instructions; each teacher is very different. Make sure you are studying for the program that you love Relax. Enjoy the college experience while you can!

    In three sentences

    Wallace State Community College is an amazing school to attend. They have many majors to choose from! The staff and faculty are wonderful people and they are helpful with anything you may need!

  • 10/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Almost nothing dangerous happens on campus. A couple of cars where broken into and I have seen one small traffic accident but nothing greatly significant.

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa. English and Math honor societies as well as non collegiate sports

    Great for these types of students

    A student who is not ready to move to a four year institute but still wants a high quality education in a more high school oriented atmosphere.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the English classes is held in the (poultry diagnostics lab)

    Bang for the buck

    The price is right especialy for the quality of the staff.

    Food and Dining

    Other than the student center and some fast food there is not alot of places to eat at near campus however the city of Culman AL is only a ten minuet drive and there is a large number of resturants in town.

    Dorm Life

    The ladies dorm is located close enough to campus for an easy walk to most classes. The mens dorm, however, is located in the boon docks you would most likly have to drive to all your classes.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the teachers push you to your fullest potential. Yet it is a almost high school setting so the emphasis is not as strong as would be in a four year institute.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and most of the teachers will meet you half way if they see that you are trying. Don't get caught up in the freedom that college life gives and pursue exelence and they can get you as far as you want to go.

    In three sentences

    The faculty is dedicated to your success your not just a number. Of course there are a few bad apples, but those are every where. As a general rule it is a fairly laid back enviroment and the teachers are awsome, especialy the math department.

  • 11/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    On Tuesdays and Thursdays for just $6.50, one can enjoy a very delicious meal at the Culinary Arts building.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are of average difficulty but could be considered easy if one does their work.

    In three sentences

    The instructors I have had so far have been very helpful. The campus is very nice, but the parking can be a bit annoying. Overall, the school is quite pleasant.

  • 04/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have a wide range of sports one can enjoy and learn. They have small non academic classes if you wish to learn something as more of a hobby. There are many campus events that are open to all students.

    Food and Dining

    We have the best cafe around of any college. Our culinary department often prepares meals every Thursday and you can buy a meal for your entire family to take home. Our culinary department will also host small cooking parties where they show off their delicious talents.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on dorm so I am not sure.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are smaller than other colleges which allows for the professors to know students better. There are many study groups and mentor programs for those needing help with academics. The professors are always willing to take extra time for students if the students need help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus that has just been remodeled and is beautiful and clean and enjoy the fresh air project. Always visit the student center for any questions you may have. If you are unsure on how to complete your financial aid the staff in the financial aid office are willing to help.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Wallace State has there own campus police that patrol the campus periodically. They monitor for anything that looks suspicious. I have never felt unsafe on this campus and there should never be a reason to.

    Clubs and Activities

    Academic clubs such as phi theta kappa are a definite must for any students at a two-year college. I was nominated to the Jack Kent Cooke foundation for their undergraduate transfer scholarship and although, I did not win, phi theta kappa made the chance possible. They also offer other transfer scholarships and almost any university in the country.

    Bang for the buck

    This is by far the best college for the money. You will not find better instructors for the price that you pay at Wallace State. I currently have not received a single scholarship since being a student and have still managed to go to school free of charge with the pell grant program. Loans are also offered for students who do not qualify.

    What to do for fun

    Periodically Wallace State will host plays or concert band performances which are great entertainment if you have time to kill. They also have basketball, softball, baseball, and soccer teams if you're into watching sporting events.

    Food and Dining

    Food is never an issue at Wallace State. Although there are not many options on campus, there are plenty directly across the street and in the surrounding area. There is an option for everyone from fast food to ethnic restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    I can't personally speak for the dorm life, due to the fact that I live very close to the and stayed at home. I did have friends who lived in dorms and from what I have heard, they are a good experience for students coming from a long distance.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics difficulty is dependent on how hard you make it on yourself. There is always help available, but I was exceptionally impressed with the math department here. The math department is on par with any university and should not be taken lightly just because it is a community college. It's not a place where you can breeze by without studying, but should not be impossible for anyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should always make sure to keep grades up and take advantages of things like tutoring labs. Teachers are also very nice and willing to help you if you're struggling in their class. Generally there are small class sizes where the teacher is able to help just about everyone individually if it is required. Don't be afraid to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    Wallace State Community College creates a great opportunity for low income families to start a college career. It has allowed me to finish my first sixty credit hours at almost no cost with help from the federal pell grant system. I recommend this school for any student lacking the funds to go to a university.

  • 09/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Unique activities.

    Food and Dining

    On campus there is woody's grill, not the best place ever, but on the other side of the road you have many options.

    Dorm Life

    I was not In them, but heard they were ok.

    Academic Rigor

    As with all things, somethings are easier than others. I found the classes stimulating.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not park on main roads for classes just before lunch. You have a good chance of being trapped or aggressive.

    In three sentences

    Wallace is a great school academically overall. It has an open campus and simple roads. Excellent math and philosophy departments.

  • 04/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I like to hang out in the health science building. The building is one of the newer buildings at Wallace. It is great, mostly because it has a deli!

    Food and Dining

    The culinary arts students prepare lunch daily, and it is absolutely delicious! I try to eat there every chance I get. They only downfall is that they don't accept debit cards.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms here, but they are available at a great price. They are slightly outdated in structure. I plan to move into the dorms when I start the nursing program.

    Academic Rigor

    I like to make sure I am hard on myself, so that I can make good grades. But, I'm not so serious about it to the point that I have no social life or personal time. I like to try and have the best of both worlds.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college, while the staff is helpful, is challenging. You can't just not study and expect to pass a test. The teachers are there to educate you, not hurt you; only you can hurt yourself.

    In three sentences

    I appreciate the college I am currently attending. The teachers are very thorough and are very willing to answer any questions that any of their students may have. The location is also very convenient for me, because it isn't too far from home.

  • 05/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great!!! They are located in the almost center of campus and are usually friendly and helpful. If the campus police are off call then the city police will come and they are about 2 minuets away. there is not a lot of drug or crime problems.

    Great for these types of students

    Traditional, the online classes are ok but you get better knowledge if you take in class.

    Bang for the buck

    They have a good price for classes and your teachers really try their best to help you understand what you are learning.

    Food and Dining

    The on campus dining is in the student center and at the new rumors café. both are pretty good but the student center is cheaper. there are lots of fast food places around campus.

    Dorm Life

    The woman's dorms look nice and are towards the front of campus and the men's are located at the back of the campus. I don't live on campus though.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes I could spend up all night studding for but most were ok. The teachers try and work with everyone a lot in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember to take a fun class when you can, if your loaded down with math and English your going to need a way to relax. take something easy and fun like one of your art electives if you can.

    In three sentences

    Wallace State is an overall great school. It has a friendly atmosphere and beautiful scenery. A lot of your teachers are really helpful and will take the time out to help you.