Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Georgetown College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/10/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    13 out of 13 people found this review useful. 1 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who are comfortable in a small environment, and can afford the high cost of a private institution. Those that wish to study abroad, there are a plethora of opportunities. From Chile, Honduras, Guatemala and even Oxford University in England.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely go and see the campus and talk to the students and professors. You will get a feel for the college and see if it is right for you. There are a wide array of activities, clubs, intramurals that are available, which provide great opportunities to meet people.

    Bang for the buck

    It is quite an expensive school. It is definitely worth it for the professors. Otherwise concerning dorms, buildings, food etc. they are all mediocre and sometimes dangerous (concerning the threat of lead in the girls freshman dorm fall 2009).

    Did enjoy being here

    If a small campus and student body is for you then go for it! You get to know most of the people on campus, if that is a good or bad thing it is up to you. I felt it was a little like high school with the smaller student body.

    Did learn a lot

    I did learn a lot while attending GC, although I feel that sometimes I was not being pushed to my potential. The professors are great and really have a passion for what they teach. The small class sizes really helped me learn well.

  • 07/20/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 out of 8 people found this review useful. 2 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want to go to a small school where you can stand out, Georgetown is defiantly the school for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending Georgetown College, I would highly recommend joining a sorority or fraternity because there is not many other clubs or activities for none greek students.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a really expensive school. I felt like I was paying way to much for what I was getting. All of the dorms are pretty much falling apart and need to be fixed but nothing was really done about it. The staff were worth all of the money though.

    Did enjoy being here

    For me the Georgetown was just to small, and I just wanted out. All of my friends enjoyed their time there though.

    Did learn a lot

    The professor's at Georgetown are great. They really care for their students and are willing to help outside of class. I felt like they really wanted everyone to succeed in and out of class.

  • 12/18/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Georgetown College is great for students who want to be more than a number. Your teachers will know your name, send you emails and talk to you. Students will know you as well as miss you when you skip class. You should be serious about working hard, and want to be there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just visit Georgetown. Once you see the campus, you will fall in love with it. And don't just look at the price and mark it off the list. Ask about scholarships and financial aid. Talk to some people who are attending the school, and see if it would be a college that works for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Georgetown College is an expensive school, but they also give you more financial aid than a public school would. And it is definitely worth it! The quality of education you are getting is priceless. The dorm rooms and food are comparable to any other school; not any better or worse. The dorms are old, but it's something you have to live with.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy being here. The campus itself is beautiful, and the people are friendly and welcoming. I know over half of the students here, and even if I don't know someone, they will usually greet me with a smile. As long as you get involved with everything the school has to offer, you will have fun.

    Am learning a lot

    I am only in my first semester at Georgetown, but I already feel like I am learning a great deal. The teachers are very helpful, and will not hesitate to work with you until you understand something. Their doors are always open outside of class also, if you need more help.

  • 08/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for someone looking for a very personal experience or a variety of studying options. Also great if you need some coaching to figure out the path for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get all the financial aid that you can the first year because it's what is allotted to you for all four years. Also, make friends with the professors because they will be a great help!

    Bang for the buck

    The school is pretty expensive at first but the financial aid lessens out of pocket costs and works well with students. Plus, the extra money pays off in the quality of staff and programs that are continually at your fingertips.

    Am enjoying being here

    Georgetown College is the extracurricular capital. There are a wide variety of clubs, groups and activities that keep me interested and entertained. The best part is that they offer great complements to the academic experience.

    Am learning a lot

    The general education requirements have allowed me to expand on my range of knowledge and interest and the many opportunities the school offers (study abroad, Honors and Oxford programs, etc) allow me a hands on and deep understanding of my field.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any and all

    Tips for prospective students

    Live on campus! You going to learn sooo much for being actively involved and living in the dorms. This is where you learn to be dependent and meet wonderful friends! Stay on campus during the weekends. There are things to do, you have to get involved.

    Bang for the buck

    Georgetown can be seen pricey. However, it is a wonderful college where you have small class sizes. Teachers who care and generally are interested in your well being!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being here. I am very actively involved on campus. I think it is a great campus to be apart of!

    Am learning a lot

    At Georgetown the teachers really do challenge you to do your very best.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The whole town is around Georgetown, so there is a lot to do for fun. You could go shopping, or walk around, or even go to parks and such.

    Food and Dining

    Their food is quite great. They have a lot of options - even for vegetarians - and the only problem is that there is a limited dessert bar.

    Dorm Life

    What I've seen of the dorms, they look quite comfortable. They are not too small, but they aren't huge either. It's very cozy.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses here, though I haven't been in any of them yet, seem very challenging, which is great if you're considering going somewhere where the academics actually matter.

    Tips for prospective students

    You need to apply for as many scholarships as you can because even with the best grades, you still may come up short in tuition costs.

    In three sentences

    They are absolutely amazing. They are beyond welcoming and I have never seen a smaller, more close knit campus in my life. I wouldn't choose any other school because this one is absolutely perfect.

  • 01/03/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a small class size and strong sense of community will love GC.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the college. At first, it wasn't my first choice. Then I visited. It's a beautiful campus and has a very nice feel to it.

    Bang for the buck

    Georgetown, being a private school, is pretty expensive. But unlike some of the cheaper, bigger schools, most fees are nonexistent; everything is pretty much covered in the big payment. The professors, class sizes, food, and community are well worth the price. Also, the college works its hardest to ensure financial aid to those who need it, so that shouldn't necessarily be a deciding factor.

    Am enjoying being here

    The vast majority of the school is nice. The people are very kind and inviting. It is easy to make friends and get to know faculty and staff as well.

    Am learning a lot

    As a sophomore, I have already learned more than what I learned all of K12 I feel. My mind is constantly engaged.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I have chatted with some students from Georgetown/ and it seems very diverse.

    Tips for prospective students

    I get all questions answered in a timely fashion.

    Bang for the buck

    I am waiting to add them to my fafsa.

    Will enjoy being here

    I really feel so because I liked the admission's Thanksgiving email. I'm involved in similar shows--through my school.

    Will learn a lot

    From what I researched-this college is for me.

  • 01/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have campus safety 24/7 and they are very easy to access.

    Greek Life

    They have a great greek life program, considering our school is so small.

    Clubs and Activities

    Georgetown has a lot of great intramural sport and activities, but they do not have their own pool.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for athletes, people who want a small college, people that want a great education, and people who want to have a good time during college!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Most students go to the donut shop at 2 Am on weekends.

    Bang for the buck

    A college education is priceless

    What to do for fun

    I hangout with my friends for fun and attend some of the on campus parties. I also enjoy going to the Donut store that opens at 2 Am.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent, but they could use more places to eat at and not be so repetitive with their meals in the Cafe.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great as a freshmen, but as you move dorms they become more outdated.

    Academic Rigor

    Very great school for academics

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and don't get lazy when it comes to your work. Georgetown is challenging, but is you try and put forth the effort you will go far.

    In three sentences

    Georgetown challenges you as a student to succeed and is a great school academically. Georgetown school is very small and could update its campus a little bit. But Georgetown College is full of friendly people and is a fun campus.

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe

    Greek Life

    I did not join a soroity becasue they don't allow one to join until 2nd semester. I might have had a better experience there had I been in a sorority

    Clubs and Activities

    most of the academic areas have their own clubs; there are some sports

    Great for these types of students

    religious, introverts

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there weren't a lot of activities - no comment

    Bang for the buck

    This school is the 2nd most expensive in the state of Ky - it is private and very small. If a person is seeking to go to a major graduate school - I can see the advantage of an undergraduate degree there. Otherwise, a public university can be as demanding as a student wants it to be.

    What to do for fun

    not a lot

    Food and Dining

    cafe was ok but few options on comapus

    Dorm Life

    very old dorm - no air conditioning - all girl dorm which I did like

    Academic Rigor

    very demanding - 5 stars

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you want to attend such a small school. It is very expensive - you should only seriously consider it if you are interested in graduate schools where a degree from a private school might help.

    In three sentences

    I was very disappointed in this school. They recruited heavily, but did little to make me want to remain there. It was not a good experience at all

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a campus safety office located in the student center with someone on staff 24 hours. They are always seen patrolling campus. They are good with the text alerts to let the students know what's going on on campus.

    Greek Life

    The Greeks are wonderful people. There is no discrimination and absolutely no hazing on campus. The Greeks are truly sisters and brothers and have a tight bond. Though the Greeks are great, there aren't many to choose from.

    Clubs and Activities

    For such a small college, there are suprisingly many clubs and organizations and activities (especially activities). There is something to do for everyone, so there is no excuse to not be involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for serious students looking for a great, hands-on education that appreciate small classrooms and individual attention.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many people like to hang out in the grille and the LRC to study and socialize. On Giddings lawn people play soccer with their friends.

    Bang for the buck

    For a private institution, I do think that the education is worth the money, though the price keeps rising. The money that we pay for living space is absolutely ridiculous & there ought to be different varieties of food for what is being paid for meals.

    What to do for fun

    Join something on campus! Basically, there isn't much to do on campus, but you can go to Lexington have have fun on the town! There are Greek parties every now and then, but they have to be over by a certain time.

    Food and Dining

    The food is usually good and the staff is very nice. If something you want isn't out, sometimes you can request to have it brought out. There is food for vegetarians & soy milk for those with milk allergies.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms can get loud, especially on the weekends, but the noise isn't so bad. Girls freshman dorm has no air conditioning, all buildings are old and need renovations.

    Academic Rigor

    The material is advanced and fast-paced compared to larger universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be overwhelmed about the look of the dorms. They are not that bad. Try not to go home often if you live nearby or else you'll miss out on many socializing activities. Take advantage of the many spaces that there are to study. Also, if you plan on working, ask around for jobs on campus ASAP!

    In three sentences

    The college has such a beautiful campus with a welcoming atmosphere. The staff truly cares about the students' individual needs and they are friendly outside of a professional environment. The educational standards are outstanding, but the living spaces are not up to par.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe on campus, even when walking around after dark. Campus Safety officers are always close by and they are friendly and willing to help you with whatever you need. If you ever feel unsafe, just call them up and they'll be right there to walk or drive you to your dorm, the library, the student center, or wherever else you need to be.

    Great for these types of students

    Georgetown College is great for students who want to be more than a number on a list. Anyone who doesn't want to slack off and treat college like a 4 year vacation. And anyone who expects great things from themselves and wants to have friends and professors willing to push them toward greatness.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Grub Fest happens when the weather starts to warm up and is not for the faint of heart. It's hours of playing in the mud, building ice cream sundaes with people, throwing eggs at your friends, and having a blast. It takes quite a while to get clean again but it is well worth it for a day of being a kid again.

    Bang for the buck

    As a private college, Georgetown requires a bit more from its students in the form of tuition. And like at any college, the students are going to spend a good deal of their time complaining about the price. However, the education you receive is excellent and the friends and connections you make last a lifetime.

    What to do for fun

    Georgetown is a pretty small town but it's growing steadily. There's plenty of fun little shops down main street which is so close it's almost on campus. The college is also about 20 minutes away from Lexington so you can pile a few friends in a car and have a mini road trip.

    Food and Dining

    The Mulberry Cafe has the best cinnamon rolls and the most delicious muffins and scones I've ever tasted. The cafeteria always has a deli and a grill for sandwiches and hamburgers but the real treat is Ms. Jo's line. She makes the best omelettes in the mornings and always has something fun in the afternoons.

    Dorm Life

    The residence halls aren't always the best. Most of them are rather old and, of course, there's always jokes about the air conditioning in Knight Hall (or lack thereof). But East Campus is a wonderful option for upperclassmen and we have new townhouses built and more on the way so things are looking up.

    Academic Rigor

    At Georgetown College, the professors expect a lot from the students. They aren't going to hand you a diploma just because you paid the tuition. However, they don't expect you to do it without any help which is why the professors keep office hours diligently and are almost always available for help outside of class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors; they can be your strongest allies. Always be nice to the custodians and cafeteria workers - they'll help you out more often than you think. And, whatever you do, go to class.

    In three sentences

    Georgetown College is a small school with dedicated, intelligent professors. The students feel a sense of community with each other as well as with the staff and faculty. The entire campus works to build a great environment for learning both in class and out.

  • 06/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are always lively and love for people to come out to their events and activities. There is defiantly something for everybody.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs on campus and someone is always holding some event (plenty opportunities for NEXUS credit), you will never truly be bored.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafe has a different theme every week and just recently started doing meatless mondays (except on the Grill side).

    Dorm Life

    My dorm life was pretty awesome because I had a super cool roommate (so lucky). Unfortunately the building that I lived in Freshman year had no AC, it was horrible during the summer!

    Academic Rigor

    The professor expect you to do the best you can, but they don't expect you to known everything about the class. The pace is very good and you are able to cover a lot more than what you first expect.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont't be afraid to ask your professor for help, that is the reason why they chose to work here.

    In three sentences

    This cost a fortune but I love it here. It is a small school you are able to get more one-on-one time with the professors. The entire staff of GC are awesome. I'm staying here till the end!!!

  • 01/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have campus safety officers on campus 24/7. Officers are friendly and eager to help anyone in need.

    Greek Life

    Sororities and fraternities induct many. Yearly Greek-week is celebrated. This allows students who are interested in joining a sororities or fraternities can explore their options and visit the Greek housing.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of clubs are available to join so there is something for everyone! We have a lot of on campus activities. You can do everything from watching a movie on a lawn with friends to working out in Georgetown College's recreational facility.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for religious students or students who desire a lot of one-on-one time with teachers. Also our education certification major is one-- if not number one in state.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Grubfest and Songfest are the big traditional events. We also have the hanging of the green every year shortly after thanksgiving.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive-- and tuition seems to get higher. . If possible I would definitely recommend someone who doesn't think they can afford it to apply anyways. the financial aid office is always willing to help you get your tuition in order.

    What to do for fun

    Georgetown College has TONS of events available for you. We have an annual fun singing/act silly competition called Songfest. We also have Grubfest-- which is a fun way to have fun and get dirty in a huge muddy slip and slide!

    Food and Dining

    We have a couple different dining options and the staff working these dinning areas are welcoming and nice.

    Dorm Life

    I've heard it is good-- but I do not actually live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are fun, informative, and good for helping you learn the most you can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't feel shy-- staff and teachers are willing and happy to assist you in any way that you can!

    In three sentences

    Georgetown College is a very welcoming college with teachers/staff that care about you, and even know you by name. Teacher to student ratio is low-- which is fantastic for one-on-one help. Although Georgetown College is expensive you'll get a quality education.

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's a small campus, so if you like being able to know everyone on campus, that's great. It's good for those who like to keep to themselves and for those who are involved in everything- it just depends on your ability to get out there and get connected with people.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are plenty of things to do, but you have to get involved or you'll end up sitting in your dorm all weekend. If you live in Knight Hall, make sure to bring several fans- sometimes it gets a little warm. Everyone will know your name- and I mean everyone- so be prepared for that...it makes for a nice, tightly knit community.

    Bang for the buck

    The professors and staff here are amazing. The food is pretty good, and the dorms are okay. However, they do have lots of good scholarships, so while it's expensive, they definitely look for ways to help you offset the cost.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone here is super nice- people who you don't even know will smile and say hi, the campus is pretty, and the food isn't bad, either.

    Am learning a lot

    The courses here are really meant to expand your thought process. Some classes are definitely easier than others, but for the most part you learn a lot.

  • 06/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who will enjoy being on a smaller campus and in smaller classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Again, apply for scholarships, money doesn't have to be a big issue if you don't let it. I recommend that you come and visit the campus during the school year so that you can get a better feel of the campus. Also, be prepared to learn and stay focus, this is not high school, there will be times when it gets challenging whether it's from the classroom or the change from being away from home, it all comes with the new experience. Make the best of your College experience it is YOUR job!

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, I believe it to be worth it. Georgetown wants you to have the best College experience you can possibly have and they continuously seek ways to make our campus better. Georgetown is a not so cheap school but that does not have to stop you from being a student. Three words: APPLY FOR SCHOLARSHIPS!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the small campus atmosphere and the one on one attention that I receive from my professors. This is what I wanted from a College campus and this is what I'm getting!

    Am learning a lot

    Not only are we learning inside of the classroom but we are also learning outside of the classroom as well. And as our President pushes towards diversity we are being fully equipped with learning experiences that will help us to become well-rounded students and future pioneers.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 30

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Great Campus and faculty and staff

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten on campus, but there are several good restaurants in town and it is near to Lexington which offers many more choices.

    Dorm Life

    I have not stayed in the dorms so I can't say

    In three sentences

    They have an excellent graduate program for educators that meets the needs of busy mothers and teachers.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are wonderful, and always there for you when you need them.

    Greek Life

    All Kinds.

    Clubs and Activities

    Global Scholars, ESL, SAM, Greek Life

    Great for these types of students

    Want to take classes on many different subjects.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Lexington...There isn't much to do in Georgetown.

    Food and Dining

    Nothing really healthy,a dn it gets old fast.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman Girls dorm doesn't have air conditioner.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you just want to take classes for your major, don't come here.

    In three sentences

    I loved the teachers here, but I just didn't feel at home here.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe, great security.

    Great for these types of students

    those who can afford to live in a small environment. Those who can afford high price of tuition. and rooming and housing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no unusual traditions in the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    very expensive private school

    What to do for fun

    Georgetown is a little town, there is nothing to do for fun. swimming at the pavilion, playing basketball, football, baseball, volleyball, tennis and party sometimes.

    Food and Dining

    I dislike eating at the cafeteria or restaurant. I cook my own food. From what i heard they food and dinning is very good.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorm, so I have no idea what the dorm life is like.

    Academic Rigor

    Everything life is a challenge, The class are tough but just have to work harder to improve your learning skills. The teachers are no harsh, they work with you in all possible ways to improve your learning strength.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend any student to go to Georgetown College because is one of the best school in America. And is a great place to learn and improve your knowledge.

    In three sentences

    Georgetown college is a great school because they gives you the opportunity to learn. The teachers work with you to improve your learning skills. Students get a lot of scholarships and grants which reduce having to borrow more to cover your tuition.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    LOVE IT!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like the small town feel of a college town.

    What to do for fun

    There are fraternities you can join, clubs and many students go to Lexington to hang out.

    Dorm Life

    I have thoroughly enjoyed living in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are very challenging. Some are interesting some not so.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class and get involved as much as possible.

    In three sentences

    Georgetown college has been an awesome experience for me so far. The professors at the school are willing to help whenever you need it and go the extra mile. I would recommend Georgetown to everyone who wants a small college but the college experience.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe

    Great for these types of students

    educational careers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    coffee shop in the library

    Bang for the buck

    Georgetown college is definitely worth the money spent

    What to do for fun

    the football games are great and so are the frat/sorority homecoming parties

    Tips for prospective students

    apply for fafsa early

    In three sentences

    I love the courses offered and the professors. It's challenging but it's worth it. The campus is beautiful as well.

  • 08/19/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is good, but I'm not one for cafe style food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice and air conditioned. (boys)

    Academic Rigor

    I've been told that Georgetown is very demanding in their curriculum.

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Georgetown is completely worth every penny you put into it. Also, the college offers many scholarships and will even work to get money towards your education, so don't be scared by the original price.

    What to do for fun

    Georgetown offers a wide variety of intramural sports for all students. It has a recreational facility that is open until midnight every night of the week. The Greek life host many parties open to all students. Georgetown prides itself in athletic greatness, and many students go to the sporting events which are free to all current Georgetown students.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Georgetown is healthy, and there is plenty of it to satisfy all different types of appetites. There is a which is open at most regular dinning hours. There is also an additional wings grill which students can eat at if they cannot make it to the cafeteria when it is open.

    Dorm Life

    The college offers a few options for students on campus. Freshmen are required to live in either the all boy or all girl Freshman dorms. Upperclassmen have the option to live in townhouses, Greek housing, or upperclassmen dorms. Georgetown dorm are spacious and are frequently cleaned by the on campus custodial staff.

    Academic Rigor

    Georgetown College offers a very wide array of classes for students to take, some of which are more difficult than others. However, regardless of the difficulty of the class, each class is very effective in teaching the students the skills it aims to while keeping them interested and engaged.

    Tips for prospective students

    Georgetown College is full of good students that are eager to make new friends. It's not hard to make friends upon entering college, because every other freshman wants to make friends and fit in just as much as you do, so it's easy to meet new people and make new friends. Classes at Georgetown college are challenging, but are also engaging and fun. it's easy for most people to fit in and have a good education at Georgetown College.

    In three sentences

    Georgetown College is the perfect fit for any student regardless of race, religion, or of any other unique background. It offers a challenging and rewarding set of courses, but includes all the necessary tools and services to succeed. Don't be overwhelmed by the price of admission, because in all cases it is possible to get scholarships (which the school will help you do), and no matter how much you pay, it is worth every penny you spend.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A Great group of guys

    Greek Life

    There are 3 white fraternities. no diversity

    Clubs and Activities

    There are 3 white fraternities. no diversity

    Great for these types of students

    The type of students that dont play a sport and dont mind busy work in the classroom.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Grub fest. every year they dig up the ground and make a mud patch; people play in the mud.

    Bang for the buck

    Its $42,000. Its way to expensive. I'm looking to transfer to University of Kentucky.

    What to do for fun

    There is nothing to but to go to the movies and go to Lexington which is 25 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    the food is horrible, there is few options to eat healthily.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very uncomfortable and are 100 years old. The newer dorms are $1800 more and probably dont fit in your scholarship.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics at the school is way to difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to UK instead

    In three sentences

    Georgetown is a very small college. It is difficult academically and does not help a graduate find a job out of college. It is in Georgetown Kentucky, and 25 minutes from Lexington where the university of Kentucky is.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can play intramural sports, workout, or join a club.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask for professor advice. Just enjoy it!

    In three sentences

    It has great professors. it is a beautiful campus. It has a decent food.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is very diverse and recently we got a new house.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Favas is the place to go to eat. Everyone has to go once. That and Hongs at 2 am in the morning.

    What to do for fun

    GAC is a main program for fun things around with games such as lazor tag and nerf wars. They do movie nights and other games as well. The math club organizes a zombie versus humans with nerf guns and they have video game nights.

    Food and Dining

    It honestly depends on the day.

    Dorm Life

    The freshmen female dorm has big rooms, but no AC. The upperclassmen dorms are a lot smaller, but its nice with AC.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is a 15 meal plan that shaves off a bit of the tuition, I would recommend that. No one really uses all their meals. Get involved your first year. There are somethings that only happen your freshmen year and you can't go back to it.

    In three sentences

    A small college campus that has plenty of opportunities for students. There is always something to do and professors are always helping with extracurricular activities. Its nice if your looking into a private and small college.

  • 02/03/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 30

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I love the campus! It is small and all the professors seem to connect with the students outside the classroom not just inside. The dorms are a little out dated, but I still love the feel about it. I can't wait to start!

  • 02/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety at Georgetown is top notch. They have 24/7 security guards, and they will even pick you up if you're across town and need a ride back to campus. They're great about thinking about the students and taking care of them, and if you have any complaints or concerns, they will look into them as soon as you bring them to their attention.

    Greek Life

    The Greek Life on campus is huge, although there are a lot of independent women. The Greeks are incredibly nice though, and there isn't much of a rift between the Greeks and independents. Everyone seems to get along.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's always something to do on campus. It's easy to start a club if you're dying for a new kind of group on campus. They're good about including everyone, and there is such a variety of clubs that everyone can find something to enjoy.

    Great for these types of students

    Georgetown is great for artsy students, be it physical, literary or musical. We have very strong programs in the humanities, and the atmosphere here fits creative minds.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Belle of the Blue is a beauty contest held on campus every year. It's tons of fun, and the winner gets a scholarship. We hold Songfest every October, and it is huge on campus. Every dorm creates their own skit and preforms. Almost everyone on campus participates or comes to watch. It's so much fun, and it really brings everyone together. The third floor of the library is kind of hidden. I didn't know about it until my second semester. It's a great place to study, since no one every goes up there.

    Bang for the buck

    Georgetown is expensive. It's very expensive. Without scholarships, it would be incredibly hard to go here. Although, once you're here, you'll fall in love with the classes and people. It feels like you're part of a family here, and the academics are top notch.

    What to do for fun

    There is a movie theater close to campus, and it's very reasonably priced. Also, once a month, the college's activities council will pay for student's movies. There's always something going on around campus, be it a play or a musical performance. They take students on tons of trips, like ice skating in nearby Lexington or even snow tubing up north in Indiana. Georgetown, Kentucky is a pretty small town, but there's always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The staff in the Cafeteria makes eating there much more enjoyable. They're all super nice. The food is alright, but it can get old. My only complaint would be the fact that there isn't much variety on campus. It would be nice if we had more options.

    Dorm Life

    Knight Hall, the dorm for freshman women, doesn't have air conditioning, but it isn't awful. The other dorms are much smaller, and some of the residency halls aren't very clean. Overall, they're livable, but they could be better.

    Academic Rigor

    You will be pushed and pushed. You will be challenged. Your professors will want you to do your best; they'll want you to do better than you think you can. However, they will stand by you every step of the way and help you reach your full potential.

    Tips for prospective students

    You'll certainly need to figure out your finances. Georgetown College is an expensive school. The cafeteria food is good, but it gets pretty old. You'll want to make sure you have a fridge to stock your favorite foods. The Kroger around campus is cheaper and nicer than the Walmart. Make friends with your professors. They really, truly, honestly want to help you.

    In three sentences

    It's a beautiful campus, where everything is close enough to walk to. The professors are all wonderful, and the small class size certainly means that they are always able to help you out. You can make real connections here, with your professors and with other students.

  • 04/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is available 24/7, they are one phone call away. Sometimes they are a little slow getting to you, but that is typically when they are in the middle of another task they have been called to. The officers are very friendly, and, of course, appreciate a thank you. There are also call buttons in parking lots, in case you need a ride, or escort somewhere when you feel unsafe.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is great. There are four fraternities, four sororities, and one President's House Association. President's House Association is not Greek (they're Roman), but are still an organization with philanthropy, rituals, alumnae, and brotherhood. You must meet certain academic requirements, like GPA, before going through formal recruitment, or getting to pledge a sorority/fraternity- because academics do come first here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are may clubs and activities to choose from. The involvement fair has people's booths set up for you to get more information from, in case you might want to join. I am in at least 5 organizations, including my sorority. Getting involved allows you to meet even more people, and eventually, I've noticed, that the social circles seem to intertwine. You will eventually at least know of almost everyone you go to this college with.

    Great for these types of students

    Georgetown College is great for students who are ready for college life, an academic challenge, and people who would enjoy a campus that feels like family.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Hypnotist comes every year at the end of Orientation (the day before first day of classes), and he is hilarious. Go to this. Weeks of Welcome is put on by GAC, and they offer many events that are great to go to to meet new people, have fun, and relax. Songfest is where groups come together and put on hilarious skits. These include the residence halls and Greek life. It's a lot of fun to watch, and probably to be in it, but I definitely recommend going to see it.

    Bang for the buck

    Academically, you are getting so much out of Georgetown College. The professors really do care for you, and your success. Sometimes, to me, it seems like colleges only say this to lure you in, but here it's REAL. They will email you, talk to you after class, or give you pointers in the progress checks. They are here to help you any and every way they can. Sometimes this includes outside of the classrooms, like coming to benefit for an organization you have joined. They are supportive. As for the food, let's be real, it could be better, but they do the best they can. They care about your opinion. I attended a session to give feedback on how we felt about the food and choices we have, and things were definitely different when we got back from Christmas break.

    What to do for fun

    For fun in Georgetown there is shopping, movies, restaurants to just hang out at, and bigger cities close by. Tons of students go to Applebee's to hang out with groups of friends, eat, have a good time, and sometimes sing karaoke. The movie theater and shopping are close by. Lexington is only about a half hour away, and there is so much more to do there. There's Keeneland (a horse track), sports games to watch, more shopping and movies, concerts, and many more things.

    Food and Dining

    Honestly, there's more to choose from at other colleges; BUT the selections here are still to the students' liking. The Caf sees better days when we have visitors. The Grille and Mulberry are absolutely awesome! They offer Cash EQ, which is where you can go at certain times and use a meal swipe instead of your tiger dollars (cash on your g-card). There's also the C-Store. It is like a mini convenient store; go here when you need food or drinks for your room.

    Dorm Life

    Freshmen dorm life is actually better than I expected. My room is quite spacey for my roommate and I. If you are doing the random roommate selection, make sure you are honest in the person you are, and not how you want someone to see you. My roommate thought I was awkward at first, but then we opened up to each other and became best friends. Keeping the doors open to invite new people in is fun, but doesn't always work the way you hope, but it's worth a try.

    Academic Rigor

    As a liberal arts college, you are exposed to different fields of study because of the required courses. This is superbly helpful if you have no idea what you wish to major in (like me). You will explore different subjects, and hopefully fall in love with one..or two or three. You can also double major OR double MINOR!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the events put on by GAC (Georgetown Activities Council). You meet a lot of people, and have a lot of fun. For Knight Hall residents: Bring fans. There is no air conditioning, but you will survive, I promise.

    In three sentences

    Georgetown College has a small, homey atmosphere. It has the convenience of the city all around, but without the hassle- you can get that in Lexington, if you so desire. Your professors and peers are there to help you every step of the way, whether you're struggling or succeeding.