Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Georgia Highlands College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/03/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    GHC is ideal for students who did not do so well in high school and want to get into college anyway to improve their GPA and be able to start brand new to then transfer to a 4yr university of their choice. GHC is also ideal for students who want to reside close to home. GHC welcomes students of all ages and backgrounds. GHC is great for nursing and dental care majors. They specialize in these two fields and has one of the best Nursing programs in GA.

    Tips for prospective students

    One of the tips I would suggest for prospective students would be to definitely not miss ORIENTATION ! Orientation seems so silly for many students, yet it helps you familiarize with the campus and everything that will surround you on your first couple days. Getting lost on your first day, for instance, is not something anyone would want (: Also, do not pick out hard classes on your first semester; by hard classes I mean, classes you have never heard of. If you are bad at say, Science, do not start your semester with Organic Chemistry ! Although you don't want to start with the easiest ones either, because otherwise all your hard ones will fall on you in one semester, which I've seen it happen to quite a few people. Think ahead, get help from counselors in your field of interest. Say, if you are a Computer Science major, try getting help from a Computer Science or a Math professor; just something associated with your field.

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get more education than what you are paying for. I am currently taking a Bio class. Human Anatomy and Physiology I, which I had already taken back in high school, it is a very difficult course, but the professors make it so much easier to learn. It involves lots of memorization, long studying hours, and you need to really give it your full potential. Overall, I believe in every class I have learned so much and have had great experiences. I will never forget my final speech for my Service Learning Human Communications class; it was so overwhelming, although the small class size made it so much better to bear.

    Am enjoying being here

    Although I always wished for the full college experience since I was in my last high school years, GHC has made my 2 yr community college experience a very productive and different one. I believe beginning at a community college is the best choice for someone who wants to really focus in bringing their GPA up, and taking the hard classes first, becomes despite their difficulty, the fact that you get to be one-on-one with your professors makes it easier mentally and physically. Mentally, due to the professor knowing you by name, and being way more personal with you than at a 4 yr university. Physically, because you can see from up close what they are doing, you can hear with clarity everything they are saying, etc.

    Am learning a lot

    Georgia Highlands College was my first choice as a community college. I applied due to its low priced tuition for in-state students, the smaller classrooms (which improve the learning environment in the transition of high school to college), the fact that it is very close to home (I can get there in within fifteen minutes without traffic, twenty to twenty five with traffic). I have learned a lot overall in my these past two semester I have attended.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Some incidents, but overall it is very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    More like clubs rather than activities or sports.

    Great for these types of students

    Focused. Want to get done with school fast. Looking for great campus that is very diverse.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are fairly priced and much cheaper than most colleges.

    What to do for fun

    Very Diverse Campus & Tons Of Different People .... The School Does Offer Clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Unless your at the Marietta campus, you do not have a cafeteria on campus, your best bet would be local restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    Only if your on the Marietta campus !

    Academic Rigor

    Awesome !

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose your teachers wisely and don't try and overdue it by taking too many classes.

    In three sentences

    Great Campuses. Very Diverse. Awesome & Helpful Staff !

  • 07/01/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    *Great for everyone! I have seen all types here. *Great for those who do not want to go far from home at first. *Great for those who don't want to pay a lot for the basic core. *Great for those who do not want to be just a number. *Great for those with a full-time job who need the flexibility of evening classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    *Get involved!- GHC offers many clubs, organizations, and activities. Take advantage of it and get to know some new people while having fun! *Get to know your professors- Professors love when you show interest in their class and take extra steps to show your effort. Visit your professors at least once during their office hours with a question or two, or maybe even to just say hello, and they will remember you! This could also come in handy if you have a borderline grade (say pass/fail). They will remember your efforts and maybe give you that .5 extra points you need to bring that grade up! *Meet with an advisor- The advisors are a wealth of knowledge! Meet with them before you sign up for classes each semester and get their input. They can also help you select classes you can be sure your desired school of transfer will accept. *Check with the school(s) you plan to transfer to afterward- Find out the requirements for the school you wish to transfer to and make sure you are taking the right classes and maintaining good grades.

    Bang for the buck

    Your core is basically the same anywhere you go. Why pay an arm and a leg for it?? Get your start at GHC, then transfer and graduate from that expensive school. Your diploma, resume, etc will still say *degree level* from *desired school*. The classes at GHC are high quality classes with great professors that all meet the standards and requirements of the Georgia Board of Regents.

    Did enjoy being here

    I LOVED my time at GHC! I attended the Floyd campus, which is a beautiful campus with lots to do. The facilities are nice and everyone is friendly. There is always an event or some sort of entertainment happening and the school is small enough to know many people, yet still large enough to make new friends everyday. There is also the flexibility of 5 different campus locations to chose one convenient for you or to have a change of scenery each semester.

    Did learn a lot

    I received my Associates of Science from GHC. I feel extremely prepared for my next step to continue on to receive my Bachelors and Masters in Mathematics. GHC does it's job of quality instruction, the rest is up to you as a student to take advantage of it. There are also many resources to help you get the most out of your time there.

  • 01/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is very important at highlands there is always someone patrolling the campus to keep you safe!

    Bang for the buck

    highlands is not very expensive at all and all of the professors are veryy good.

    What to do for fun

    at highlands there are some clubs and extra activities that you can sign up for, they also have a fit program which allows you to get in shape.

    Food and Dining

    georgia highlands has a pretty good place to dine at on the campus, and there are vending machines every where.

    Dorm Life

    at georgia highlands there is not any dorm life at all, they do not offer dorms.

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    this was one of the selling points for the college. taking on a load of full-time classes costs around $1500 a semester.

    What to do for fun

    in addition to going to college full-time, i work 30 hours or so a week. i receive plenty of emails of events going on for the students. most often i can't attend because i'm always at work or working on assignments and studying to keep up the grades. work is relatively flexible though, so i can get off sometimes to have a little fun. they let me off work a few weeks ago to attend a weekend event my school was participating in.

    Food and Dining

    this is also non-applicable to me as i attend a satellite campus of this school which is located on another college's property. this other college's food isn't bad, but i would rather go to some local restaurant whose food is better.

    Dorm Life

    this is non-applicable to me as i live off campus. i do not recall hearing negative things about on-campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes i take certainly keep me busy. i have been warned by some of my professors, however, that when i'm at a four-year college it will be more challenging. i am preparing for this, but there are those things in life in which people will say something is worse or more difficult and, once it is experienced, it's not so bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    do the work! you're not going to get good grades by sitting through lectures. you have to take the time to read the material, take good notes (in class or out of the text), and take the time the time to study those notes. i find going to the library is the best thing to do. if i try to do work at home, i generally get very little done. i read somewhere once that two hours in the library is like five hours at the dorm. this statement is very true. once, right before i started going to the library, i had a test in two days and another test a few days after. i had barely any studying done and needed to get the ball rolling. i remembered that statement about time spent in the library compared to the dorm. so i tried it out. i nailed both tests!

    In three sentences

    i expected this school to be a joke because another two year school i attended was terrible. i was very pleasantly surprised because most of the professors are very good at what they do, teach relevant information, and engage the students with frequently entertaining lectures. some of the most memorable teachers that i've ever had are at this college and i wish i could drag them to whatever four-year college i wind up going to.

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    there are many such as: b2b, w2w and many more.

    Food and Dining

    the food there is pretty good. however, the choices are limited.

    Dorm Life

    never lived on campus before, but from what i've heard it is decent.

    Tips for prospective students

    at georgia highlands college, a student must be focus, determined, and join a club.

    In three sentences

    georgia highlands college is a great community school that does help to succeed/ transfer later in bigger schools/life. there are many supporting clubs. for example: brother to brother (b2b) helps the minority of man to success; such as black/latino. this club not only improves succession rate, it also makes the best out of someone.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    7 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    NONE.

    Greek Life

    NONE.

    Clubs and Activities

    NONE.

    Great for these types of students

    NONE.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    NONE.

    Bang for the buck

    NONE.

    What to do for fun

    NONE.

    Food and Dining

    NONE.

    Dorm Life

    NONE.

    Academic Rigor

    NONE.

    Tips for prospective students

    NONE.

    In three sentences

    NONE.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nontraditional students, traditional students, full and part time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak to an advisor as soon as you are accepted for admission. They will set you on the right track for your educational needs. Also, remember to visit the financial aid office as soon as you are accepted as well!

    In three sentences

    Georgia Highlands College is a great school to begin your college education. Personally, I am attending classes here for my undergraduate in prepharmacy and have not been mislead yet! There are many helpful staff and faculty members who will guide you in the right direction so that you can achieve your diploma in a timely manner.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There seems to be security and courtesy staff located throughout campus.

    Great for these types of students

    All students, new and returning.

    What to do for fun

    I have two teenage children at home, there isn't much time to take advantage of the college activities.

    Food and Dining

    I will be able to answer this next semester when the new dining facilities aer complete.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    There have been challenges, but again, utilizing the resources provided has helped me to excel.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't struggle, use the resources provided.

    In three sentences

    The resources provided has made returning to school after 21 years less stressful. The Success Center provides free tutoring as well as the staff teachers provide tutoring for your specific class. I would never have imagined the transition back to college being so smooth.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Highlands Interactive Productions and Orientation Leaders we also have different events during the semester so it is really cool.

    Tips for prospective students

    DONT PROCRASTINATE YOU WILL BE OVERWHELMED !!!!!!!!! Turn in your work on time.

    In three sentences

    The staff and faculty are nice and very helpful. The school is nice because they have different locations you can go to. the classes works around my schedule.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is no greek life on the Georgia Highlands campus that I attend! I have tried to get some started, but nobody seems to be willing to help get the ball rolling.

    What to do for fun

    Campus has many fun activities monthly! Sometimes it is an on campus concert and other times is pizza and crafts! There is always something fun to do.

    Food and Dining

    Students are provided with a wide variety of foods to chose from! All the food is well cooked, and taste fantstic. Food is also priced well for students on a budget!

    Dorm Life

    I do not personally live in the dorms at Georgia Highlands, but I have friends that do and they are great dorms! The only complaint I have heard and experienced is the internet connection.

    Academic Rigor

    I have found the academics at Georgia Highlands to be fantastic! Teachers provide all the information needed on the exams and are willing to help if you do not understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    A student looking into Georgia Highlands needs to remember that even though it is a small college, it is still a college! It is the same amount of work! Even though it may not be mandatory, go to class! Skipping and not turning in assignments on time will only hurt you!

    In three sentences

    Georgia Highlands College is the perfect size for me! My classes are small enough that I get individual attention and help from my professors when I need it! The professors genuinely care about each student that they have!

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is well lit and very safe. I often stay until 9pm and have never felt as if I were in danger. Due to the size of the college you often see the same people over and over. You may not know their name but you recognize the face.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for the non traditional student returning to school after either being in the work force, still in the work force or wanting to complete an education that was put on hold for some reason.

    Bang for the buck

    I must be honest and advise you about the financial aide department. They are less than committed and I must question their knowledge of the area they are working in. I went into the financial aid office for advisement on more than one occasion and was given wrong information. When the things they were telling me didn't appear as they said it would I went back in and was told everything was fine and it should only take a few more days. When it was one week before class was to start and I felt like I was still getting the run around I insisted (I had to insist) on speaking to the supervisor. The supervisor is very knowledgeable and competent but by this time it was too late for me to obtain the monies I needed to attend school the next semester as I had planned. So be very careful when doing your financial aid because the person you speak with may sound knowledgeable but may not be. The person that suffers from this lack of knowledge is you the student.

    What to do for fun

    There are many on campus organizations. Many of them have activities going on on a regular basis so if you are looking there are always a variety of things to choose from.

    Food and Dining

    The food has a vast array of choices. There are healthy choices if you choose to go that way. There are everyday selections that may be needed for an immediate pick me up eg. chocolate, cookies and chips. Then those choices you make after you've talked yourself out of the everyday choices like crackers, popcorn and energy bars.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know.I lived off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I give it five stars. The size of the college is small. The academic rigor is huge. There is a lot of work involved with the courses you take but when you successfully complete the course you will have a great deal of knowledge about that subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait until the last minute to apply. It is a small college and there is not an abundance of employees to process applications and information. The positive side to that is the people working there want to help you.

    In three sentences

    Georgia Highlands College is a small college atmosphere with a large college standard of excellence. The professors really want you to succeed and go above and beyond (if you are serious) to help you achieve your goals.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great bang for the buck ratio. Tuition is cheap enough to be affordable, but make use of the fee costs and take as many classes as you can per semester.

    What to do for fun

    You can do just about anything!

    Tips for prospective students

    The Rome main campus is the best campus, and offers all classes, where as other campuses are limited.

    In three sentences

    Good school with caring teachers. The main campus is just the right size to be able to enjoy it without being overwhelming. They are making every effort to expand and offer more for students.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Great cafe, and close to various restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus housing

    Academic Rigor

    Ive not started classes yet, but to my understanding, free tutoring is offered to all students who request it

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply as soon as possible and fill out your FAFSA as quickly as you can.

    In three sentences

    I love this school so far, there are plenty of activities and opportunities for current and prospective students here. The faculty are very knowledgeable and helpful for all your needs as well. I thoroughly look forward to attending this summer semester.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety are the best they are very helpful when you need help .

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable

    What to do for fun

    Play in the student center and get involved with the clubs on campus.

    Food and Dining

    on the douglasville campus we are five minutes from the mall so most of the students go their for food and dining

    Dorm Life

    the only dorms are on the marietta campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont Procrastinate!!!!!! you will fall behind do your work before the due date.

    In three sentences

    It is a great college to enroll in. I love the faculty and staff they are very helpful with what ever question you need answered. I am always happy to go their every time i have class the students are friendly.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    16 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Unsure

    Greek Life

    Unsure

    Clubs and Activities

    Unsure

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional Traditional

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have not attended classes here yet, so I am unsure.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is extremely reasonable financially.

    What to do for fun

    Track & Field and study time are excellent choices!

    Food and Dining

    I have not attended the school yet, so I am unsure of the food and dining experience.

    Dorm Life

    I will not be living in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not attended classes yet, but I have heard Georgia Highlands is a challenging school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you check your admissions status daily, and feel free to call the admissions office for help at any time!

    In three sentences

    The registration process was all online and very user friendly. Each time I have called the admissions office, employees are helpful and professional. The check admissions status link on the website is very useful.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Georgia Highlands is great for non-traditonal students, students who have families and students who have careers.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things that you can do for fun such as the flag football, three person basketball, study abroad and this is just to name a few.

    In three sentences

    Georgia Highlands College is the best college institution to choose because they have the best faculty/staff. their campuses are very well accessible and the classrooms are nice. There Cartersville campus is the best campus in my opinion.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Really safe. Haven't had any incidents at all that I know of.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life on the Douglasville campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Because the campus is so small, there are not many clubs or activities. The clubs that are there try to make the best out of it though and offer a couple fun things to do weekly.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone!

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely very cheap to attend, especially if you've got HOPE.

    Food and Dining

    There are a variety of fast food places/restaurants around.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on the Douglasville campus.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you go to class and do your work, it's honestly not hard to maintain good grades here.

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have noticed security officers every time I visit one of the campuses. The security presence has been great so far. It seems like a great deterrent for potential criminals. Also, you do not have to worry very much about unauthorized people on campus, the parking security is out in force writing tickets and towing unauthorized vehicles.

    Greek Life

    A full greek life is optional to those who want to partake. I am not one of those.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student life is available for those who want to explore hobbies in an organized form. I have 5 kids which doesn't provide for much time to indulge in club activities.

    Great for these types of students

    A perfect option for older people returning to school. The flexible schedule and multiple campuses allow for convenience and work schedule. Most courses are offered online as wellwithd many resources to ask questions and get the help you need with minimal effort.

    Bang for the buck

    Georgia Highlands offers traditional 4 year university academics with 2 year technical prices. This is a great opportunity for students on a tight budget. Get in before the tuition catches up with the great education.

    What to do for fun

    Every Campus has its special things. Rome has many concerts by big name artist at a lower admission than most places in ATL. Marietta is closer to Atlanta with lots of bars and clubs. Douglasville and Dallas have their respective cities with bars and club functions as do all the other campuses. Most people who attend Ga Highlands go for the convenience and are degree motivated, but that doesnt mean that you wont clique up and enjoy new friends with different activities.

    Food and Dining

    The Marietta campus is in the heart of Downtown, Some of the best places to eat are less than 10 mins from here. Keep in mind that some of the most surprising meals come from the little hole in the wall places, don't judge a book by its cover. The new Dallas, Ga campus is right down the road from a BBQ joint that has the BEST chili dogs I have ever had. It looks like a dump, but the food is GREAT.

    Dorm Life

    I am a non tradition student who does not live on campus. Ga Highlands just became a University and gives you the option to engage in all activities of traditional student life.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a first time college student returning to school after 13 years since graduating. I am not sure about the academics but I am attending college here because my wife attended here and graduated 2 years ago. She said that the program was not that difficult and campus locations were great. The nursing program is one of the best I have ever heard of, I personally know 15+ nursing grads that have positions from local hospitals to as far as travel nurses in California. I have heard that GA Highlands also has better hands on experience than most programs and it takes less time to get your degree than other schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    New students should sign up for orientation as soon as possible, classes fill up very quickly. Arriving for orientation early is NOT the best thing to do if you are trying to get there before everyone else to speak with advisers or Fin-Aid, apparently everyone else has the same idea. Plan on staying a while after to have all your questions answered.

    In three sentences

    So far, so good. I have been impressed with how friendly everyone is. There were quite a few more people than I anticipated at orientation.

  • 08/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus offers difference sports activities during the year that I like to interactive with getting to know my classmates more.

    Food and Dining

    I don't stay on campus so I don't know how the food services is but they have vending machines with snacks and drinks that I attend to alot.

    Dorm Life

    I don't stay o campus but I have heard that the dorms are nice and newly renovated.

    Academic Rigor

    I never had any academic problem but I'm sure the school has strict policy on academic probation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Set goals for yourself and don't stop until you achieve those goals. Also don't be afraid to ask for help because everyone needs a little help every now and then. When teachers see the students putting forth the effort, they are willing to help the students achieve the grade they are reaching for.

    In three sentences

    I rate Georgia Highlands College a 8.5 out of 10 because the staff on campus do a great job preparing students for four year institutions. The classrooms are small, so it makes the capability easier for teachers to engage in individual time with students. All the staff on campus are eager to help any student who needs it.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The presence of security is always near by, but not stifling. And the college's student body does not consist of any questionable people.

    Clubs and Activities

    The school has a multitude of clubs ranging for fitness clubs to comic book clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who wish to earnestly learn and grow before starting their university career.

    Bang for the buck

    Georgia Highlands College is a very fair priced institution. The school provides amazing professors who's true passion lies with teaching. And because of this and the myriad of extracurricular activities available to the students, plus the respect the state has for the college's academics it makes the school quite the package.

    What to do for fun

    I love to tutor Anatomy and physiology at my school. There is also a gaming club that provides video games, pool, and ping pong for the students.

    Food and Dining

    The school doesn't have major franchise culinary options but what they do have is good. The refreshments available to students are good and fairly priced.

    Dorm Life

    Since the school concentrated most of its funds to class rooms, laboratories, and student centers dorm's aren't yet an option.

    Academic Rigor

    As aforementioned, Georgia highlands has tough sciences. The school is also known for its highly competitive and respected nursing program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Georgia highlands can enrich any student's life willing to participate in their many available clubs. All you need is the willingness to learn and open your mind to the college's academic opportunities. Since the school is relatively small you'll always have people willing to lend a hand.

    In three sentences

    Georgia Highlands has a wonderfully intimate academic experience. Classes are reasonably sized and professors care about their student's success. The institution's tough sciences prepare students who wish to attend university or to pursue a medical career.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a nice student center at the Cartersville campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early to get into the classes you need. Get to school early to get a good parking place.

    In three sentences

    It is a very nice clean school. The teachers are well trained and helpful. The campus is well maintained and lovely.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel 100% safe while on campus. There are people riding around making sure all the rules are being followed and no one is causing trouble.

    Greek Life

    GHC offers Psi Beta for those interested in psychology, Phi Theta Kappa, an international honor society, and Alpha Beta Gamma, a business honor society.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are quiet a few different clubs! (Green Highlands, Circle K, Human Services Club, Gamer's Club, Fellowship Club, different political clubs, and many more...) There is something for everybody! GHC offers a good bit of sports too, such as basketball, cheerleading, and tennis. There's also a flag football team coming soon!

    Great for these types of students

    GHC is great for anybody! (Especially for people who are undecided in their major or just want to do their core classes.)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The GHC Floyd campus has a beautiful lake.

    Bang for the buck

    Unlike big colleges and universities, Georgia Highlands doesn't have a really expensive tuition.

    What to do for fun

    There's so much stuff to do! There are various clubs, organizations, and sports to participate in along with the different activities going on each month! There is always something to look forward to!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is really nice. I wish it was open a little longer for night students, but otherwise it's great. It's also a good place to use your laptop or hang out with friends.

    Dorm Life

    GHC does not offer dorms but they do have a nice lounge area!

    Academic Rigor

    If you take notes, pay attention in class, and study, you'll be fine. The teachers are there to help you if you have a question and they are very understanding. I don't feel like I constantly have to struggle to pass a class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you attend one of the earlier orientation dates so you have a wider variety of classes to choose from. Also, if you have any questions or concerns, don't hesitate to email or call an advisor! They will be happy to help!

    In three sentences

    Georgia Highlands has some of the most friendliest students, teachers, and staff I have ever met. The campus is really nice and everything is easy to locate. I absolutely love GHC and cannot wait for next semester!

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Decent? I have never had an experience with them. I've only seen one vehicle at my campus, but that seems appropriate for the size of the college.

    Clubs and Activities

    Political Science Club, Noise Society (Electronic Music interest), Religious clubs, Student Government, Basketball team, ping-pong and table tennis tournaments, GLBTS Alliance, Environmental club, Philanthropic opportunities

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional, nursing, first-year students, transfer students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am too new to know of the traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is great for what is offered. I feel like it is realistic and affordable for my non-traditional student lifestyle. It is also not very far from where I live, so I am able to travel with little extra fuel expense.

    What to do for fun

    Being a part of multiple clubs (civic, social, and honors) is a real option if you balance your schedule. The study abroad options are fun, and the Student Life department is ever-expanding. They have game rooms, fitness areas, courts for a variety of sports, and a lake at my local campus to leisurely study by in between classes.

    Food and Dining

    The first food program started this year at my campus. They need more staffing, but I'm satisfied with the quality. The price is a little higher than expected for students.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Georgia Highlands offers all standard classes required by the USG to complete your Associate's degree. The extra classes offered are usually transferable to most Georgia college institutions. Classes are not difficult if you listen in class and follow directions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to start the application process early. Be on time to class, and make sure you follow directions. By studying a little each night, your risk of failing assignments and tests dramatically drop.

    In three sentences

    Georgia Highlands College teachers hold high yet manageable standards. As a non-traditional student, I am pleased with the flexibility of class hours and learning platforms, and I am happy knowing I can still work full-time and earn my degree without regret. The class sizes are small, and the teachers are interested in the students.

  • 09/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Georgia Highlands is very affordable, and that is something i looked for since i was the one who had to save up the money before I could go back to school. After tuition and fees are added together it is under $2,000 for 16 credit hours.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    In three sentences

    I will be attending the Douglasville location. I have been there a couple of times to turn in information and every time the staff was very helpful and friendly. I look forward to start school there.

  • 09/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety personell are always there to answer any questions or fulfill and needs that one may have.

    Clubs and Activities

    Gaming club is always a big one at the Campuses I have been to.

    Bang for the buck

    Georgia Highlands has many campuses to chose from if one of the classes I need to take is not available. Attending here also allows you to save up money if you're looking to transfer to another university.

    What to do for fun

    Seeing as how you will most likely be living at home while attending, you are able to stay with all the friends you have and do the things you love.

    Dorm Life

    There is no campus housing for Georgia Highlands.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers here really care about what they're doing and try to help the students as much as they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know which campus is closest to where you live as there are a lot of campuses.

    In three sentences

    Georgia Highlands is a good college for someone looking to get their core classes out of the way. It is a fairly cheap place to attend that offers quality classes.

  • 10/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    We have intramurals!

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention, study hard and don't give up.

    In three sentences

    It's small and personal. I like all of the classes. I will use the things I learn in the future.

  • 11/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students looking for smaller class sizes with professors who acknowledge each student, for lower cost, and convenient to northwest GA area

    What to do for fun

    There are many opportunities to socially mingle with activities to do.

    Food and Dining

    The new added cafeteria at the Cartersville campus is a great convenience.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are hard if you want them to be. If you pay attention and study, you will succeed. The coarse taken determines how rigorous study will be.

    Tips for prospective students

    The library and tutor center WILL help you. Go ask them. Go to your first day of class before you buy your book, you could be able to use an older edition and pay less $.

    In three sentences

    Georgia Highlands is a great community college. It offers small class sizes, great professors, and plenty of support. This is the ideal college for your 2 year degree.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    fresh graduated high students, adults low on money, adults looking to earn a degree and a new beginning

    Bang for the buck

    one of the cheapest schools around

    What to do for fun

    multiple different clubs and societies for each individual person along with intramural sports teams throughout the year

    Food and Dining

    own cafeteria on campus along with other various vending machines for snacking.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms are actually on campus, although we do have Men's and Women's basketball teams and a up and coming baseball team

    Academic Rigor

    just your basic college classes and professors

    In three sentences

    GHC is cheap university for graduating high students, who are 1) low on tuition funds and 2) undecided on what exact major they want to have just quite yet

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Depends on the campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Depends on the campus

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are trying to make a slow transition from high school into college. Also it is cheap.

    Bang for the buck

    Affordable compared to a bigger university.

    What to do for fun

    Depends on what campus you attend. I go to the Marietta campus, so I can get involved in GHC and SPSU's activities.

    Food and Dining

    There is plenty of places to find food on campus or nearby.

    Dorm Life

    I gave GHC a 3 because not all campus locations have dorms available for students.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are really great here at GHC.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply as soon as you can. Call the school and talk to the admissions people, make sure you know the dates and have really good up to date contact information so that way you can talk to someone specific about your application, that person will remember your name and do whatever it takes to help you.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are nice and always willing to help you. The school has multiple campuses so that it is easy for everyone that attends to find a campus close to them. The classes transfer, which was a huge decision factor for me.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus safety people are amazing, and always willing to help people out. I always feel particularly safe walking to my car after I get off work (I work in the Student Center as a student worker) because they want us to call them and make sure they are with us at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a rather lengthy list of clubs at Highlands, but some of the ones that seem to have more student support would be Gaming Club, Phi Beta Kappa, Creative Writers Collaborative, Highlands Interactive Programming, Green Highlands, SGA, Cru, and Emerging Leaders

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to go to college, but don't have the money saved up to go to a 4-year institution yet. I have also seen quite a few 'adult learners' at GHC, and the fact that the classes run from early morning to late evening seem to work out well for these types of people. This is also a good school for someone who is looking to get their GPA up before transferring to another college.

    Bang for the buck

    I am technically being paid to go to college at this point, because my financial aid covers the cost of the school and then gives me what is left over after that. I think that the education I am getting is on the same level with many students from institutions that cost a lot more than Highlands.

    What to do for fun

    We have recently acquired a Student Center on the campus I attend, and we now have a gaming room with a billiards table, televisions that are HDMI compatible with gaming systems. I often enjoy hanging out with the Gaming Club that frequents this area and we will play cards in the gaming room. We also have a good many sports through-out the year, and a great favorite of those is flag football which takes place in the Fall.

    Food and Dining

    I have never had anything from the Charger Cafe that I didn't like, but the choices are very limited since the cafe is just a small place.

    Dorm Life

    I attend the Cartersville campus, and there are not dorms there, but there are ones on the Marietta campus.

    Academic Rigor

    While the classes here are no more difficult than from the 4 year school at which I began my college career, I will say that the fact that the professors enjoy teaching at GHC makes the classes much more interesting and easy to stay active in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even though this is a community college never take things as if they were any easy than a 4 year university, because that will get you nothing more than a low GPA by the end of your first semester.

  • 03/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is none.

    Great for these types of students

    Shy, undecided, fun, awesome!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Most people hang out in the cafeteria where our school, including many teachers, made a Harlem shake video!

    What to do for fun

    Clubs, student activities, ping pong, pool, sports.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, study, study! Get involved. Always attend class.

    In three sentences

    Most of the teachers are on first-name basis with their students; that is very helpful when having trouble in a class. Although it is a community college, there is a good amount of student involvement. Georgia Highlands is a great place to start your college career!

  • 03/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent security staff!

    Clubs and Activities

    Pi Theta Kappa Honors Society, Brother2Brother, Math & Science Club, Gaming Club, Speech Club.....

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking to get their associates degree, or students looking to acquire core credits then transfer to a bigger school.

    Bang for the buck

    All the course credit for less money. GHC is accredited with the GA University System, so all your credits will transfer to the four year colleges.

    What to do for fun

    Pool and ping pong tables in student center. Club activities and trips. Some sports.

    Food and Dining

    Vending machines in student center at most campuses.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are defiantly challenging, you have to put in a lot of work to get the top grades. Not Ga.Tech, but not easy either.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be involved with your classes, the more a teacher is shown that you care about learning, the more they will be there for you when you have problems.

    In three sentences

    Georgia Highlands College has allowed me to acquire most of my college core requirements close to home for less money. The teachers are amazing and always available to help. The student community is very close and I have many new friends that I think will stand the test of time.

  • 03/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    These guys will help you out a lot whenever you need them. And they are quite friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    Everything I've been a part of is enjoyable and it isnt time consuming either.

    Great for these types of students

    Great mostly for those starting out of high school and those going back to finish their degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Huh?

    What to do for fun

    Despite its lack of the media's picture of campus life, Highlands does in fact offer amendities for students. There are varied clubs such as a Writing Club, Young Republicans, etc. Apart from school sports, intramurals are also offered.

    Food and Dining

    GHC just added a new Student Center complete with a cafeteria which will satisfy a hunger craving after an afternoon class and their meals aren't that expensive.

    Dorm Life

    Georgia Highlands does not offer housing. All their students commute to school from home.

    Academic Rigor

    It's all based on who you have really, the work load will keep you busy. Some classes will have a lot of online assignments to boost your grade, others will be mostly based on lecture and exam performance. Some will even have both.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise students considering GHC to be prepared to put in a lot more effort in some cases than those at universities since at times it will seem like you arent there for very long and you go home after you're done. I have to admit, I was unprepared for this pace at the beginning of my college career and sometimes forgot that I was in college due to its short daily duration and the noticable lack of a college experience. However, if you are passionate enough about getting core classes done, it shouldn't be a problem

    In three sentences

    Georgia Highlands isn't anything special for big university goers, but for those who aren't ready or do not wish to have the high profile pressure of a 4-year college, its just the place. GHC has multiple campuses around the North Georgia area, is relatively local based on where you live, and the tuition is cheap. The classes, as far as the ones I have taken, are not impossible but are still college level difficulty and will still eat up the necessary hours for your intended degree. Usually your duration at Highlands wont last long, and it is a school to get a 2 year degree, which supplies a lot of flexibility for future transfer students.

  • 04/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is patrol car that circles the campus continuously. They do many tasks. I have locked my keys in the car, and the campus safety personnel managed to get it unlocked for me.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities or fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Some of the clubs include Equality Alliance (supporting the LGBT community), Circle K (involves members getting involved in the community), and Green Highlands (for the green loving environmentalists).

    Great for these types of students

    Highlands is great for any traditional or non-traditional student. There is something offered for everybody. If a student is looking to party, Highlands is not the scene.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The back of the campus reveals a beautiful lake. Most campuses do not have a body of water.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition and everything that goes with it is worth it. The classes are small so teachers are able to focus on all their students. The fees are not all that expensive.

    What to do for fun

    There are many opportunities to get involved on campus. I am a staff member on the newspaper. There are a variety of clubs that suit every personality. At the end of the spring semester, there is a spring fling in which the entire student body can participate in athletics, have a good time, and eat food.

    Food and Dining

    The food is surprisingly good for it to be cafeteria food. My favorite is the pizza.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Georgia Highlands.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others. Highlands has a very difficult science department. It takes a good amount of time to pass a science class.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is very important to study. Do not procrastinate and wait until the night before a big test. Do your homework, listen to lectures, and study.

    In three sentences

    Georgia Highlands is a great school for students wanting to get their core classes out of the way. It is very inexpensive. Everybody is friendly and the atmosphere is exciting.

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety was fair.

    Greek Life

    Nor was I apart of Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I was not a part of any clubs due to work schedule.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for both traditional and non traditional students such as myself.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Simply put Cartersville campus is by far the best one to attend.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the lowest cost colleges in the nation.

    What to do for fun

    The school host concerts and different events on campus for students.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food was good.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live in a dorm so I can't speak on this portion.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors all grade fairly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with a counselor and create a road map before you start taking classes.

    In three sentences

    Georgia Highlands College is a great two year college. The professors are genuine and will work with you one on one if needed. I would recommend this school to anyone.

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Georgia highlands College is definitely worth it. The tuition is incredibly cheap.

    What to do for fun

    For Georgia highlands college, there are plenty of things to do for student activities. Recreational room, where you can play games, watch movies, and come up with student gatherings for clubs and sports.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat at the school

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus , but I do hear that living on campus is not time consuming . You do not have to constantly drive back and forth. Its more easier to get to class than commuting.

    Academic Rigor

    the school empowers you students to successfully take the next step in their lives and careers through employment, graduate, or transferring to four year institutions in the same or related fields, thus fulfilling of preparing educated and enlightened students who lead productive and meaningful lives.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be able to focus and study. Try not to focus so much about the fun college life. You will be able to see the bigger picture once you transfer to a four year. The first two years can be a dramatic change or it can break you. Always look forward and have confidence in yourself to achieve your goals.

    In three sentences

    A great school

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe and protected.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs to join and participate in. So far my favorite has to be the fencing club.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for the students who aren't that financially stable.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely get the bang for your buck because of class costs compared to difficulty.

    What to do for fun

    I usually would attend after school meetings with various clubs, or go to the student center to relax.

    Food and Dining

    I commuted.

    Dorm Life

    I commuted.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics were fairly easy, but don't be fooled, this is only my second semester!

    Tips for prospective students

    Go into college strong! Don't waste time and make sure you allocate time for your studies and schoolwork.

    In three sentences

    Georgia Highlands college is an exciting and fun college to be at. I enjoy the small class sizes and how well the professors instruct. I also am happy with the several extracurricular activities there are to choose from.

  • 08/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's parties, play video games, watch movies and go out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food was alright. They had some bad days, but it was nice to get breakfast, lunch, and dinner within the day. You could go in the middle of the night and buy snacks from different dine in services that was on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Staying on campus was a good, fantastic experience. I went to the GHC that was in Marietta and it was on the same campus at Southern Polytechnic State University. There were jobs, clubs, organizations and sports that you can participate in at Southern Poly. You even could go to events that are on campus too.

    Academic Rigor

    Everyone has help from administrators and professors to be successful in their classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study and do not procrastinate and use your resources.

    In three sentences

    It has good programs. There is alot of clubs and organizations that you can get involved in as a student. The professors are very helpful in guiding their students through their college journey.

  • 09/20/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    40 of 46

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    GA Highlands is a great college that is very close to Rome.

  • 09/28/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    41 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is small and the Floyd Campus is located near a nice lake.

    Great for these types of students

    Freshman Prospective Student's seeking affordable tuition Student's who want to continue their education People with Children Transfer Students Commuters People who like to have personal educational relations with staff Traditional Students Non-Traditional Students

    What to do for fun

    Clubs, Organizations, and Sports are the top activities that students engage in for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Breakfast is good as well as Lunch and the Salad bar is always good.

    Dorm Life

    Despite how beautiful the campus is, there are no dorms available because this is a commuter's college.

    Academic Rigor

    Core classes are relatively easy except for the math and the sciences. The math and sciences are very challenging but it does pay off in the long run especially for students who plan to transfer to a elite university or another college that is more competitive.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best advice I can give to prospective students is to network with the staff and the teachers. Stay on top of study groups and educational organizations, study and have an organized educational schedule (class time, study time, and recreational/pleasure activities) and join the educational clubs and organizations that are offered especially Phi Theta Kappa. Being in the top 10% or on the Dean's List is very beneficial and I can not emphasize that enough.

    In three sentences

    Georgia Highlands College is an excellent commuter's college to attend for freshman and nursing students. Financial Aid is very helpful and organized and the staff take the time to care for the student's needs both individually and as a whole. The classrooms are small and it is a very beautiful campus.

  • 10/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There isn't much that happens. Although it is open, it is safe and protected by the campus security.It is quiet and everyone is there for one purpose, school. So I would say its pretty safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    I attend bible studies on Mondays, and it allows me to share my thoughts with other people. Getting involved in clubs or activities is important because if you're like me, meeting new people can be intimidating so activities like this allow you to get to meet new people. And it also gives you something to be a part of in your college.

    Great for these types of students

    Its great for people who like to work in a calm environment.

    What to do for fun

    Walks around the school. Spending your time with friends outside socializing.

    Food and Dining

    The bookstore provides food for students, as well as the campus restaurant that is located in the student center.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus but the dorms are nice. The housing seems quiet and reserved.

    Academic Rigor

    Learning how to balance your time.

    Tips for prospective students

    The first and most important thing to do is to apply for the application. This should be done ahead of time, maybe like two or three months before the deadline. Have everything done all at once, to complete application.Take compass test ahead of time to get your results before the deadline. Make sure you know what classes you need to take before applying.

    In three sentences

    The environment is calm and relaxing. It allows you to focus on your work. The classes typically range from 20 to 25 people.

  • 10/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is a great price when you come here.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of activites to be a part of. All you have to do is show up and have fun!

    Food and Dining

    No food plan in the Douglasville campus although there are plenty of restaurants around.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm in the douglasville campus.

    Academic Rigor

    As a full time student there is a lot of work to be done but if you manage your time wisely you can get it done.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't fall behind Do not get distracted Get involved

    In three sentences

    Great place to start college life. The staff and professors are extremely helpful in what they do. Small and friendly

  • 11/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Non-Traditional

    What to do for fun

    Sport events

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, do the homework. Find time to talk to teachers if you need help. Communicate with the other students.

    In three sentences

    GHC is a very friendly college. They are helpful and supportive. They have several campuses where you can accomplish your goals.

  • 01/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school doesn't offer many extra-curricular activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really awful.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life is offered at GHC.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are fairly easy, but science classes are way to complicated for non nursing majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't overwhelm yourself. Don't underestimate A&P 1 and 2. Work hard

    In three sentences

    Georgia Highlands is a great school, but could better develop a student life program. The school is a great 2 year school, but should offer more majors for student's who plan to transfer with an associates degree. Overall, the school is great but is not very student centered.

  • 03/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are tons of clubs there organized by student life

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Research your your teachers before signing up for classes.

    In three sentences

    Very good school for getting your core classes. There are multiple campuses. The teaching staff there is wonderful!