Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Georgia Southwestern State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/29/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 out of 20 people found this review useful. 1 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like a small town, but not too small. About 45 mins from Columbus, so there's places to go on the weekend. Lots of activities on campus; you just have to find what you like.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour, of course. Go to the bookstore and definitely eat on campus. Talk to some of the students and professors. Check out the library and see if it would be a good place for you to study. Look at a few different dorm rooms. Ask any questions you have, they are more than willing to help you find the answer.

  • 08/22/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 2 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is good for students who want to go off to college but are still close to home, anyone who is tired of a fast paced city, anyone who wants a medium sized school, doesn't mind walking everywhere to class, and the Nursing Department is really good here if you go into the health field.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan to come here, don't be shy or closed up. Be friendly, join at least one organization whether it be non-Greek or Greek, don't try to go to all the parties first year of college (their will be more), please don't procrastinate on your studies such as work/studying your GPA will suffer and might lose HOPE, and don't be afraid to ask questions!

    Am enjoying being here

    This depends on how you are socialable to other students, roommates, professors, and joining an organization that will have people knowing your name. This is a small campus with no close malls just Wal-Mart. I enjoy being here because I make the most out of this college experience.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are knowledgeable in their class. I am currently taking Anatomy & Physiology this semester and I am enjoying myself because the human body is interesting.

  • 10/30/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    social, serious about school, need one on one teacher time, involved

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved. because this is a small town some people complain that there is not uch to do but once you get comfortible and get out and find stuff there is SO much to do and you can get so much out of the community. for most majors there are internships right here in americus. the community is also extremely supportive.

    Bang for the buck

    living on campus is okay. i now have moved off campus and although i am saving money i do miss being involved and always around people. the food is okay but the cafeteria setting is great! not to mention i feel as though i am getting the best art education possible in georrgia and for this price?! i wont be in student loan dept forever and that is fantastic!

    Am enjoying being here

    the people here are incredible. there is quite an eclectic group of students here and everyone gets along. i went to a huge high school in atlanta and had always experienced cliques and secular grouping but at gsw everyone is friends. i love walking around campus and having everyone i pass by say hello to me. ive never met a stranger here!

    Am learning a lot

    i am currently an art major at georgia southwestern state university and not only do i love the program but i also feel like i am learning a lot. i would compare our art program to one as good as uga. the one on one time that i get with my art teachers is priceless and they are always there to support and help me out. outside of the art deparment i have taken six other classes and have had only one mediocre experience and that was just because i didnt not enjoy the subject. the teachers are extremely knowedgeable and have helped me to truly enjoy learning.

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety at GSW is phenomenal. Besides a staff of campus police 24/7, there are call boxes located all around campus in case of trouble. Literally, with one touch of a button help will arrive.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is always thriving at GSW. They sponsor so many activites you will never have time to be home sick.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you can think it, there is a club for it! From the chemistry club all the way to theater club you can always stay busy.

    Great for these types of students

    Gsw's campus is perfect for someone who doesn't like the rush of a big city. It is calm and time just moves a little slower.

    Bang for the buck

    GSW has on of the lowest tuition rates in Georgia! Not only are you get a great education, but you are also getting it at a great price!

    What to do for fun

    Americus, is a small community. There is a theater and plenty of places to watch a sports game or just relax. There are also plenty of activities on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The lunches are always different with so much to choose from. The meals are cheaper than eating at some fast food restaurants. The cafeteria always has something you'll enjoy!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are highly secure. There is always order. They are cleaned regularly.

    Academic Rigor

    GSW is staffed with highly qualified professors. Always turn your work in on time, study, and never make excuses. If you are having trouble there is free tutoring available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always meet with your professors. Do not be afraid to ask them anything, they are always happy to help you with whatever you need. There is also a first year advocate that will keep you on the right path.

    In three sentences

    GSW has a beautiful, safe, and friendly campus. All of the staff are equipped with the knowledge and willingness to help you with whatever you need. There is a wide variety of courses and majors to chose from.

  • 08/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Georgia Southwestern is a great school is you're an Art major because there is a glass blowing studio on campus and/or a preforming arts major because students often preform at a professional theater off campus. The nursing program is also an extremely competitive program and therefore a good school for perspective nursing students. The education major at GSW is a wonderful one. Students are given the opportunity to work in actual classrooms with students and teacher before graduation. There is also a school (for pre-school aged children) on campus for hands on campus for hands on experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should really sit down and plan out what classes they will take and when they will take them. The university is growing but it is still a small school, every class is not taught every semester and knowing when a class will be taught can only be beneficial to students. Get a mentor, the school offers free mentors to freshmen and they are upperclassman students who can help you when knowing where to buy cheaper books, what professors to take, and all the other tips and tricks only a fellow student would know.

    Bang for the buck

    The prices seem fair, activities on campus are most always free for students. Georgia Southwestern is one of the less expensive schools in the state. I think for the amount students are asked to pay, things are reasonable. There are free services available to students, a writing center for help with writing papers, free tutors in most every subject, career services to help students get a job on or off campus. There are many many benefits

    Am enjoying being here

    Georgia Southwestern is a good school. There are plenty of activities for students. There are sports and organizations (greek and non greek), there are clubs and outreach programs. There is a large variety of things to do on the campus. however, the town surround the campus is small and activities around the campus are not always so obvious unless you truly look. There are some larger cities a short drive away and there are more things to do; however, the best way to enjoy the college experience is with friends. Once you have friends anything you do will be enjoyable.

    Am learning a lot

    The Classes are not only informative but are extremely interesting. The professors are always willing and able to help. Like any other school, if you show an interest in your own education the staff at the school will make it a point of their duty to assist you as best they can.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When you need them, they're there. You see them around often and they seem to be laid back when they can, but strict when they need to be.

    Greek Life

    There a few Greek organizations on campus, such as Zeta Tau Alpha and Delta Sigma Theta, but non-Greek organizations seem to be more involved.

    Clubs and Activities

    I can't say that I hear about clubs often but there are a few. Many people participate in Theater, which is more of an activity than a club. Orientation team (O'Team) is a really energetic group that welcomes new students. Other clubs and groups are there, but you really have to have an interest in them for them to stand out in your mind or for you to participate in them.

    Great for these types of students

    Most students who are laid back and really focused on their education will enjoy GSW. Also those who are looking for a smaller school in a small town will be comfortable here. Those looking to make a new friend every day and hang out every night may want a bigger school, just make sure you stay focused.

    What to do for fun

    Most people say that GSW is boring and Americus in general doesn't have much to offer. I spend alot of time studying so I don't have much time to get bored. But there are fun activities to do on campus and there are always new friends to meet. Basketball games are probably the most popular sporting event to go to, but there's also flag football, baseball, and other sports. There are raquetball courts, a rock climbing wall, and MANY socials sponsored by ResLife. Most people are skeptical about the socials but the free food tends to draw them in and they end up having more fun than they expected.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall, RFoC, has its good days and its bad days. There are some meals that make you want to go back for more. Other meals will leave you with a bare plate and an empty stomach. Luckily, they always have cereal, salad, and the sandwich station to choose from. Cane's Den has good fast food options but of course Freshman 15 is very real so its not a good idea to go in there too often. Plus its not covered by the meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms aren't the worst you can live in. Most colleges don't offer private rooms to Freshmen, but GSW does. Even though the bathrooms are still shared in private rooms, they aren't used by an entire hallway. The Freshman buildings, Oaks 1 and 2, are fairly new so there aren't many issues with the rooms and there are plenty of areas within the buildings to spend time in other than the actual rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    The Biology program is very time-consuming and challenging. Even when it seems like you understand the material, the exams are likely to prove you wrong. Fortunately, the classes aren't impossible to pass. You just need hard work and dedication. Art Majors also tend to spend a lot of late nights doing work. Other majors seem to be less demanding, at least during Freshman year.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn to balance responsibility with relaxation because too much of one or the other can make any college experience difficult to enjoy.

    In three sentences

    Georgia Southwestern is a small school with a lot to offer. Every day is an opportunity to make friends and find out something new about yourself. The class sizes are usually small, allowing you to have one-on-one time with your professors.

  • 10/21/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 5 people found this review useful. 7 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Its good

    Will enjoy being here

    I hope that if I get into the school that I will enjoy it.

    Will learn a lot

    From what I can tell this is a great school..

  • 05/21/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Did learn a lot

    I learned alot in my classes except Comp 1101 with Dr. Stauf; in her class all I learned was about the camous which had nothing to do with English

  • 01/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they're great!

    Greek Life

    there are a few fraternities and sororities here.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a few sororities and fraternities. i am not in one, but i do have friends in them and they love it. there is christian group as well! intramural sports! some of the intramural sports have supporters that is considered a team!

    Great for these types of students

    if you like the comfort of a home town with friendly people, but also has a little spice to it when you are looking to have fun, this is the place! :)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is a fellowship hall on campus that serves free lunch on wednesdays and sometimes even has free chick fil a. if you come here, you will learn that is a big deal to us! lol

    Bang for the buck

    it is a very affordable university with the education of a private school. i love it because i know i am getting a great education because of how caring my professors are!

    What to do for fun

    they have a game room with ping pong tables and i think xbox, ps3 and wii. there are 4 raquetball courts which are a ton of fun! they have group fitness classes which consist of aerobics, yoga, hip hop, latin, and many other fun classes! the greek organizations and other groups play intramural flag football and basketball. we have an awesome basketball team! there is a public high school and private high school here too and they both have football, basketball, softball and baseball games you could attend.

    Food and Dining

    again, i wouldn't know because i don't eat my meals there, but i have heard it is super good! it sure does smell good though :) and if you are in a hurry, they have freshly made sandwiches you can pick up and run to class with! :)

    Dorm Life

    i wouldn't know because i grew up here and stayed home for school, but i have some friends that live/have lived in them and they are very clean and everyone is very friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    the core classes are not that bad as long as you study regularly, do you assignments, and go to class. many professors count attendance as 10% of your final grade, so that could make the difference between an a or a b, or even between passing and failing. college is different than high school because the professors aren't going to hand you everything and remind you of tests and such.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't take the core classes for granted. absorb as much info as you possibly can because whenever you start taking your major classes, you will use those skills and knowledge and build from there. it's okay to have fun and go out, but do it in moderation. college will prepare you for life, partying won't. go to class!!! it could save your grade. :)

    In three sentences

    because the average class size is about 20-30 students, the professors can get to know the student on a personal and individual level to help you achieve your goals. it is a small town so you make friends quick too! also, no friday classes! :)

  • 05/06/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Visit a CANES GAME!

    Tips for prospective students

    Its affordable and a great place to get an education.

    In three sentences

    I think this school is AWESOME! A recruiter visited our school and told us all about it. I have done a large amount of research myself and I am sold.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very good at what they do and keep the campus safe. They strictly enforce parking and no illegal drug use. Underage alcohol consumption is also closely monitored primarily because of how close the high school is to campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    If there is not a club that interests you, make your own. There are tons of clubs on campus and making your own club is easy to do on campus. There is always a professor willing to sponsor a club so joining a club is easy at GSW.

    Great for these types of students

    GSW is good for any type of student, not just one particular type. There is an abundance of international students and it is an excellent experience to meet other people from other countries and learn more about their cultures.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's nothing really unusual that happens on campus but our campus does do a lot with the Vietnam Wall Memorial and several other things related to honoring our veterans and Jimmy Carter's work.

    Bang for the buck

    I can only really speak to the nursing major and yes, the program is definitely worth the money. Nursing is expensive and GSW is one of the cheaper ones but the experience you gain through GSW's nursing program is excellent and worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    One draw back of a small town is that there is little to do. However, there is a good bit to do in Albany which is about 30 minutes away from campus and an excellent shopping mall and lots to do in Columbus, about an hour from campus. Some students have said that there being limited things to do in Americus has sort of forced them to actually study and not blow it off.

    Food and Dining

    Since Americus is a small town, there are limited food places around. There are several fast-foods around in town that are not far from campus, just a few blocks away, and there is a cafeteria, dining cafe, a coffee house, and a mini-mart on campus so no one will starve.

    Dorm Life

    Freshmen start out as having little freedom but after that first year, you will have your freedom in nice dorms with lots of people from all over the world to get to know. The dorms are like adult living but the closeness to classes to keep you going.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the major, there is a rigorous academic atmosphere at GSW. These professors know their stuff and they are not going to baby you through the courses. You will have to do a lot of self-learning but if you can get over the procrastination that you will feel as a college student, trust me, it happens to everybody, you will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors as soon as possible and don't be afraid to go to them when you need help in a class. It is intimidating at first but they are there to help, even if they don't show it. Don't wait until midterm to get a tutor. If you are struggling early on, don't feel ashamed to get a tutor. I have been tutored and have been a tutor to others so I know both sides. Biggest tip of all, don't give up. It may seem overwhelming and it will seem that way at first but find a friend, tutor, or study group and keep going!

    In three sentences

    GSW is a small-town campus that is ever growing and ever changing. It keeps up with all of the newest trends while keeping a small-town feel. I would rate GSW as an A overall.

  • 10/22/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is laid-back when they can be, but strict when they need to be. There are call boxes all over campus for if you ever have an emergency.

    Great for these types of students

    People who like the small, close-knit feel in their classes and surroundings. I've visited the campus a few times and am completely sold! Having only grown up in small towns, I like GSW because of how laid-back it feels, you don't have the huge rush of a big city.

    Bang for the buck

    It is one of the most affordable colleges in Georgia. I love it, because the only way I can pay for college is through scholarships. I should be able to finish college here without any debt due to the large amount of scholarships avaliable and Georgia HOPE

    What to do for fun

    There are a TON of organizations, Greek and Non-Greek, and there are all sorts of things to do on campus. Watch a sporting event, go work out, or even climb the rock wall. There's not much in Americus, but there is a theatre next to a VERY good pizza place! :)

    Food and Dining

    I've only eaten in the cafeteria once, but I really enjoyed my experience. I've heard from my friends that there are good days and bad days, as like it is in all cafeterias.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorms! I have stayed with a few of my friends who live in the dorms, and they are very nice. I really like how freshman can get private dorms and are not forced to do public dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I do not know much about the academic rigor, but my friends say it can be a lot of work and you will need to buckle down and study hard!

    Tips for prospective students

    The freshman 15 is REAL! :) Don't overdo it in the cafeteria, and if you do, there are plenty of ways to work it off. They have raquetball, a rock-climbing wall, and all kinds of intramural sports. I adore this school because it has the small feel that I like, with a great academic program.

    In three sentences

    Georgia Southwestern has a great feel to it. It's like it's own tight-knit community. There is always something to do on campus.

  • 11/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Fine Arts

    Tips for prospective students

    GET INVOLVED! START ON ART PROJECTS ON GIVING DATE! COMMUNICATE WITH YOUR PROFESSORS! These three will help a lot in your success as an Fine art major here at GSW. Also don't forget to communicate with classmates. This will help a great deal too. Good luck.

    Bang for the buck

    Not to much to say on this, but if you're interested to be an art major, you better come prepared to spend a lot MONEY on your art supplies.

    Am enjoying being here

    If you like being in a small town where everyone knows everyone, then this is the place for you. I'm sort of enjoying my self. I'm one of those people that don't get involved.

    Am learning a lot

    Yes, I'm a fine art major and it's true about the one on one thing with the teacher, and to add to this as an art major you WILL have a lot of work.

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    online students, non-traditional students returning to school.

    Food and Dining

    again, i am an online student only.

    Dorm Life

    i live off campus, at home in atlanta since i am an online student.

    Academic Rigor

    gsw offers a lot of classes and the schedules seem fairly flexible considering its size.

    Tips for prospective students

    contact the financial aid office, registrar's office, or admissions office with any questions you may have. this will take all of the guessing out of what you need to have completed for school. gsw is very friendly and fits right in with southern hospitality!

    In three sentences

    gsw has been extremely organized and helpful with any questions i have had. since i am an online student, they quickly respond to any emails that i send them. i would highly recommend them to any student looking to complete an online degree!

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Limited parking may bring many students to hate the Campus Police (who are very good at sniffing out a vehicle parked in the wrong zone!) but as far as keeping the students safe, the GSW Campus Safety team certainly excels.

    Greek Life

    I do not participate, but GSW certainly has an active and thriving Greek social circle.

    Clubs and Activities

    Georgia Southwestern student life includes numerous organizations and student groups. The Alliance, one of the newest groups to form on campus, proudly provides a safe arena for members of the LGBTQQIA community (and straight supporters and friends) to gather and hang out.

    Bang for the buck

    in-state off-campus undergrad costs a little less than $2,000 per regular semester, certainly worth every bit!

    What to do for fun

    Americus is a very small town, which the Campus Activities Board compensates for by offering numerous on-campus activities such as concerts, intramural games, or even creating a fishbowl for a new dorm room fish- or turtle-friend. There are also frequent shuttles to local businesses as well as the nearby city Albany for shopping needs. Other organizations frequently host parties and other exciting events as well, certainly worth taking a look at.

    Food and Dining

    While many may complain about the low-quality expectation of cafeteria food, the food in the main dining hall of Georgia Southwestern is anything but low-quality. Located in the Marshall Building at the very center of the Campus, this dining hall focuses on providing students with R.F.O.C. or Real Food On Campus, and features multiple hot-food options at every meal, and an expansive cold-food/salad bar that does not disappoint. If a student doesn't have time to cross campus between classes to eat in the dining hall, there is also the option of The Canes Den located in the massive Student Success Center on the North side of the campus. Complete with a grill and even a hot wok, The Canes Den offers a wide menu fit to serve a variety of tastes from Vegetarian to Southern-Fried Everything! No time to stop as you rush to your next class? Students can run through Java City, GSW's very own on-campus coffee shop and a grab their favorite freshly-made coffee house beverage and a delicious giant chocolate chip cookie or cinnamon bun (or a regular-sized sandwich, wrap, or fruit bowl) for on-the-go grub.

    Dorm Life

    Georgia Southwestern has recently built several new dormitory buildings, with room privacies which include single-room/en-suite bathroom/double occupancy, 2 private rooms/en-suite bathroom/double occupancy, and apartments which have 4 private rooms, 2 semi-private en-suite bathrooms, and a shared kitchen/living common area.

    Academic Rigor

    One may expect a smaller state-school to hold students to lowered academic expectations than a larger university, but Georgia Southwestern certainly proves this assumption to be incorrect. Rather than defining classes as hard or easy it would be most appropriate to say that classes at Georgia Southwestern are instead challenging and inspiring.

    Tips for prospective students

    Georgia Southwestern State University is not a downgrade from larger universities, so if you get in here and not there it should not be considered a failure. GSW is a significantly cheaper alternative, with the same level of academic expectations but with much smaller classes and faculty who love getting to know their students and see them succeed. Even if it is not your first choice, coming to GSW will not disappoint.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus, small class sizes, exceptional attention from faculty who genuinely care. GSW offers a wide range of certificate/degree programs, enough for everyone to find something to suit their interests. Schedule a personal tour today to see everything that Georgia Southwestern State University can offer you!

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great at GSW, there are full time, certified police monitoring the campus. There are call boxes every so often available for students to use in emergencies and traffic is minimal around campus, so walking or riding a bike is fine.

    Greek Life

    I am not part of Greek Life, but I do know that they are great at serving the community around GSW, such as less privileged children.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are always campus activity board events every so often to give the students a break from school, such as a foreign food day where everyone brings in different types of foods. Clubs are also available to students for who are willing to go the extra mile at GSW.

    Great for these types of students

    The business and nursing departments are supposed to be some of the best around the area, but GSW has a lot more to offer than just this. Every department is great to expand your knowledge on many subjects. Any students who want a great college and have a limited amount of money, somewhat lower GPAs, or just want to learn should attend GSW.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    With GSW being a smaller university, there are not many traditions or locations that just stick out, except for a few. There is a student appreciation day where the professors give back to the students by volunteering their time to give out free food and drinks for students. There are three locations that stick out to me, the dome shaped Gymnasium, one of the only glass blowing stations in the state, and an observatory in the science building.

    Bang for the buck

    The school may be a cheaper school, but that does not take away from the great opportunities GSW has to offer, both current and future.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is filled with many activities for students that live on and off campus. The STORM dome has great workout areas for both athletes and non-athletes. They have a basketball stadium, baseball and softball fields, tennis courts, a pool and many other athletic activities. There are more than just athletics at the school, there are many computer labs located around campus, along with a library and study halls. There is free WiFi all around campus and free cable TV if you live in the dorms. There is a pond, game room, snack areas, great scenery and many other odds and ends activities around campus for all students to enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    The food is considered good, not great. I have eaten there a few times and it was good every time. Some students say it is much better on orientation day and bad the other days while some say the opposite. If you have a meal plan be used to the same thing quite often.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, but I do know they are well kept, clean and effective. They have a bed, desk, closet and other necessities, but nothing spectacular the day you move in. There is free WiFi and cable if you bring a computer or TV with you. It is very safe and only students with certain cards can enter their part of the dorms. There is a comminuty kitchen at the end of each hall for every on to use.

    Academic Rigor

    Students who are looking for a challenging learning environment have come to the right place if they have set their mind on GSW. The professors are strict about their classes, they take them seriously and they want you to do the same. So students, study hard and take tests and assignments seriously if you wish to pass your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should feel at home here. The professors are great, but they can be tough, so keep that in mind. Always check your email the school gives you, and check your Georgia View as both of these will have important information about your classes and messages from professors. Make time to study, and study often to make tests easier.

    In three sentences

    This college has excellent options for many upcoming Freshmen and transfer students, as well for those continuing education. The requirements are low, but not too low, the campus is great, online courses are knowledge filled and the professors are not just teachers, but friends. Though it many be a small school, it has a great staff and great atmosphere for many students yearning to continue their education.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. There are always campus police around and resident assistants who are on duty if there is an incident.

    Greek Life

    There is a very present Greek life on this campus. Both nphc and phc. There also seems to be plenty of Greek unity, which is always good:)

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities that will keep you interested. There are also fraternities and sororities which are a lifetime commitment.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for those who love having intimate relationships with their professors and classmates. I went to a huge school where all my classes had 200+ students and I did not like being just a number.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Something that seemed unusual to me was the community kitchen. I had never stayed in a dorm like that before but I love that it promotes a family feel.

    Bang for the buck

    GSW is a good school that feels like home away from home.

    What to do for fun

    There is not a whole lot of things to do in Americus for fun. Campus is fun, and has plenty of activities to get involved in. There are also nearby cities like Albany and recreation such as lake blackshear.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, made fresh daily. Plenty of options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice, clean, and everyone is close, like family.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic aspect is challenging; however, you are well prepared for your career and or grad school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you turn in all of your financial I'd criteria on time. Also make sure to check with them concerning the status of your financial aid.

    In three sentences

    It is a nice campus. The people seem friendly and really helpful. It's in a small, yet loving town.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Schedule a tour and ask questions, everyone from the admissions office to the tour guide will answer any questions you have. Go to a preview day, even if you have decided you will attend. Research the website.

    In three sentences

    Great environment where everyone cares about the success of the students. It really does have the private school atmosphere with the public school price. Can not wait for the fall semester.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many activities.

    Food and Dining

    GREAT!

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused and ask questions!

    In three sentences

    I love the school so far. The teachers are extremely helpful and motivated. My first choice school.

  • 09/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very very amazing at what they do. They respond fast to problems.

    Clubs and Activities

    There`s not that many clubs and activities at Georgia Southwestern but the ones they do have are great.

    Great for these types of students

    Georgia Southwestern is great for students that need a smaller class size and do well in smaller places

    What to do for fun

    For fun since the town is very small I go to other city that surround Americus, such as Columbus and Albany.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is ok. They have many options for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Theres a place called the canes den that sales wings, pizza, Chinese and other things. There is also a place called java city that sales like muffins and things like that. They also serve coffee and smoothie in java city as well.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Georgia Southwestern is great if you share a room and awesome if you have a private room. The shared room has a good amount of space. The sink and the mirror is inside the actual room, which a negative. But the shower and the toilet is a separate part of the room. The private rooms have a great amount of space as well. The layout of the sinks is in a him and her style with a big mirror and then the toilet and shower is in a separate part. You are able to control the air temperature in your dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    with any college the work load is going to be a lot. Due to the smaller class sizes, professors or very strict on work. But having smaller class sizes also gives you more one on one time with the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for you guys is if you cant handle big class sizes then Georgia Southwestern is for you. But if your use to the big city life then you mite not like Georgia Southwestern. But to me its all in what you make it.

    In three sentences

    Georgia Southwestern State University is a very welcoming school. It is a smaller school, which means smaller class sizes. In the end to me its a great school.

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    21 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Coffee is good. Never ate in the dining room

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are great. Lots of avtivities

    Tips for prospective students

    Do go here if you like diversity

    In three sentences

    Small, no diversity

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Most of all of the professors have the highest degree possible in their profession, you will be sure to learn.

    What to do for fun

    Intramural sports are fun, there isn't much to do in the town of Americus, but if you get involved with a club there are plenty of event to participate in

    Food and Dining

    If you live on campus you have to have a meal plan. Food isn't bad.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorms are nice, fairly new, and clean. Internet is in the process of being upgraded

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors are harder than others, if you stay on top of your studies then you should do fine

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. Don't be shy. Research Professors.

    In three sentences

    Smaller University, you are able to know all of your professors on a name basis. You are not a number here, most professors have the highest degree possible in their subject area, so they know what they are talking about.

  • 11/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are some parties ( i have not attend any) Enjoyment is really based on the people you hang around

    Tips for prospective students

    The city is small, therefore for there to be fun, you must create it.

    In three sentences

    GSW is a great school for science, math, and medical majors.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a very safe campus, and we strive to keep it as safe as possible. Our campus security is the best and so friendly!

    Greek Life

    Our Greeks are the best in the state! Brotherhood and sisterhood really mean something to our community. There is a place for everyone!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities on campus. It is very easy to get involved!

    Great for these types of students

    GSW is great for students that want to excel. Many of GSW's programs are top-ranked, and most people that graduate from GSW have a wonderful chance of being hired.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a campus color day, where students take and donate one of their shirts in order to get a GSW shirt. We are all about campus pride here, and it is wonderful.

    Bang for the buck

    GSW is much cheaper than other schools in the state of Georgia. GSW has so much to offer, so everything you get for the price is fantastic.

    What to do for fun

    There are intramural sports to join and watch. Students love going to programs offered by Residence Life and the Greeks on campus. We have the best sororities and fraternities in the state!

    Food and Dining

    Some of the food here is pretty good. Students will definitely love Canes Den and Java City. Most students spend most of their time in those places.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus in a dorm is a very interesting experience that you will not want to miss out on. All of our dorms offer great amenities! The Resident Assistants are friendly, and there are many programs offered daily to keep students busy.

    Academic Rigor

    Georgia Southwestern offers many programs that are top ranked in the state. GSW is definitely more of an academic school than a party school. Students should expect to work very hard, but it is worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is much harder than high school, and I feel that many students are not prepared when they arrive. Make sure you use all of the resources available to you. Make connections quickly!

    In three sentences

    Georgia Southwestern is a wonderful university. Because the campus is small, it is so much easier to meet people and obtain study resources. I love all of the faculty and staff!

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I did not pledge but there are several organizations on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional and online students

    What to do for fun

    The campus offers several activities for students

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to start applying early. Always check deadlines for admissions and financial aid.

    In three sentences

    This is an excellent school for anyone who is not a traditional student. The staff and instructors truly care about the students' need. I would recommend this college to everyone.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety here is no joke. They strictly enforce the rules no matter what. They take their job serious and I like this about them.

    Greek Life

    Here we have 6 female sororities and 5 male fraternities. Everyone that I know in the Greek Life are very nice and if you feel like you want to be apart of it, then they will guide you through the process with joy.

    Clubs and Activities

    Their are a variety of clubs and activities around campus. I am a member of GSWANS (nursing club) here. They post flyers about if you are interested in joining this club, so you can pick which one best suits you.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is located in the country. I wouldn't advise any big city students to come here, because they would think that it is boring and nothing to do.

    What to do for fun

    Here on the campus we have a lot of event happening throughout the semester. We have a game room located on campus for those who love playing games. You can simply hang out with friends around campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food here isn't all that bad. The cafe is usually packed on Thursday's because it's fried chicken Thursday. They have their good days and their bad days.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorm life here. The students are nice, and so are the faculty in the dorms. You can either have your own private room or share a room with a room mate.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics here are sort of tough. You have to really concentrate on your work and takes notes here. If you set your mind to do something, then it will happen for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you come to this college make sure you have your game face on. Here you have to show the professors that you are willing to learn and they will help you out. Don't come here and think that it's going to be easy because it isn't. If you believe in yourself, then everything will fall into place just as you want it to.

    In three sentences

    I rate this college on a scale of 1-10 a 7. This is a small college, so getting to know your professors is very easy. This college is great academic wise.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are very fast and effective. They do not bother you and are very understandable

    Greek Life

    The greek life is amazing. The frat houses are always going on thursday thru saturday. The black frat are always in the courtyard stepping.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are alot of clubs you can join the options are endless.

    Great for these types of students

    It great for students who do not mind the outdoors. Also for people who are social.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't any traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of the school is way cheaper than any other public school you might find in Georgia.

    What to do for fun

    Because the campus has alot of land. You will find people playing Frisbee, football, and kickball.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good and the Restaurant on campus has a good variety of choices

    Dorm Life

    The dorm sizes are really good. They make sure that you are comfortable. It is real easy to reach the RA as well.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are really difficult. Some are easier than others. Some teachers are willing to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for all the bugs out there. But the classes are not easy and do not let the parties make you lose yourself.

    In three sentences

    It is an amazing campus. Good teaches with good challenging classes. If you are a looking into science this school is the way to go

  • 05/31/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    28 of 36

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This place sounds like a really grea school. It's not too far from home either. I can't wait to apply.

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a wonderful little café in addition to the cafeteria.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would highly recommend GSW.

    In three sentences

    The professors are incredible. They care greatly for their students and are knowledgable about their subjects. The campus is beautiful.

  • 07/21/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    From what i heard the safety is very well, all the student feel safe. They have a low percentage of crime.

    Greek Life

    I am planning on pledging and cant wait!!!

    Clubs and Activities

    I have found many clubs and activities that I can't wait to partake in once school starts.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are passionate about nursing as well as just focusing on school.

    Food and Dining

    When we went to the STORM Day the food was awesome!

    Dorm Life

    I cant really speak on this, I love the way the dorms are set up. The only thing i dislike is that all the dorms are set up the same way even for upperclassmen. You still have to share a bathroom with somebody unless you get an apartment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you attend the STORM Day is a way of finding your roommate. I had picked my roommate found them at the STORM Day and didn't get along to well and found a new one. You get first dibs on classes and get a experience of the campus.

    In three sentences

    Georgia Southwestern is a very inviting school. If you have any problems or issues there are many people there to help you, and have no problem helping you to solve them the best way you can. I made my decision to go here when I found out this school has one of the top passing rates for nursing.

  • 08/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many activities going on from movies, to intramural sports, to workout sessions.

    Food and Dining

    fantastic!

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to always study.

    In three sentences

    They have a great education program. The advisors care about your progress. There are job opportunities on campus for those who need to work while in school.

  • 09/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is not really on the forefront- there are police when you need them, but you won't see those little blue call boxes everywhere. You also don't really need them though. Campus is pretty small, and pretty safe overall.

    Greek Life

    There are many frats and sororities to pick from if you so choose.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a handful of academic clubs and a few general clubs like outdoor club. Clubs are not really that prominent here.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who live in the area, commuters, engineering students taking advantage of the two year dual degree transfer program, and education-majors.

    Bang for the buck

    GSW is one of the cheapest, if not the cheapest, four year schools in the state. For that you get solid education and a pretty nice-looking campus, but that's about it. Just be aware of that, that you're not paying for frills.

    What to do for fun

    There's not much- there are Campus Activity Board planned activities, but they're usually not attended to by most students. Clubs sometimes host events, and there are frat parties often. The town has a movie theater that plays two movies at a time, and a stage theater that occasionally has productions going on. There is a game room with pool and table tennis. There are three or four restaurants in town that cater to students. That is about it, though. You'll have to get creative with some friends about what to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the dining hall is usually pretty good. I can imagine it getting tiresome very quickly but that would happen with any dining hall food. There are special theme days every other week or so for variety. There is also a coffeeshop on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms have rules about visiting hours and signing people in and quiet hours but they are rarely enforced, which could be a good or bad thing. Very little happens in the dorms. People go in them to sleep and watch television.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not pushover classes. They are quick paced and have a lot of work. They are certainly doable, but make sure you're not blindsided by them.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have any problems come to your first year advocate, they are always extremely helpful and will work around the red tape to solve a problem.

    In three sentences

    Good teachers and good academics, but very little else going on. Be sure you will fit in here, come to preview events. Make sure this is your place, because you'll be spending a lot of time here.

  • 11/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can go to the game room, intramural sports, and places to to just sit and talk with friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should become accustomed to studying more than going out to party. It will be a lot easier for you then.

    In three sentences

    GSW is a small university and that makes it ideal for students who want to have more time to get help from professors. There are a lot of cool people to meet and the community is very friendly. GSW is an accredited college so you know you are getting the great education that you want.

  • 01/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Zumba classes once a week are one of the most popular things to do on campus. It is a great way to exercise and have fun at the same. Also basketball and baseball games are very exciting to watch.

    Food and Dining

    There are several places to eat on campus. Such as Canes Den which is a fast food dining service. Students love this restaurant the rest. Java City is just like Starbucks and also has smoothies and sandwiches. GSW have a convenient store. The cafeteria serves everything from fast food to home cooked food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can be a fun experience. It helps students learn how to live with others and become more self disciplined.

    Academic Rigor

    There are three sororities on campus: AKA, Delta Sigma Theta, and Zeta Phi Beta. They love to get involved on campus and support many charities. There are also many honor societies and clubs that support a certain major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Here are a few tips for upcoming college students: 1. Come to class on time. (If you're not a morning person, then the best decision would be to take classes in the afternoon or evening.) 2. Join clubs/organizations. (Become involved on campus. It will not only look good on resumes but also gets you networking with all types of cultures.) 3. Work hard. (Don't get caught up in participating in every event, because your main reason is to earn your degree.) 4. Have fun. (Life should be fulfilling and hardworking at the same time. That's what makes it worth living.)

    In three sentences

    Georgia Southwestern State University is a small college filled with professors who are happy to help students reach their fullest potential. It is a school like no other. I would rate this school 3 out 5.

  • 04/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is patrolling campus around the clock! This promotes a very safe atmosphere around campus!

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do! Flag football, Greek Life, Going to the Gym, Golf, and Athletic Events are just a few to mention. Campus Activities Board is always doing something on campus whether it be build a bear workshop or making t-shirts. There are also outside movie nights weekly. A weekly campus wide email is sent out to let you know of all the events taking place that week!

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is actually pretty amazing! They are working on adding a few more restaurants such as Chickfila and Boars Head Deli in the fall!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are all relatively new! They are up to date and kept very clean! I recommend experiencing the dorm life! It was a great experience!

    Academic Rigor

    There are numerous ways to help you succeed around GSW campus. The library is a great place to start! They are open flexible hours and even on the weekend! There is a Student Success Center as well as a Writing Center to help proofread and give you that extra boost to do your best! Also, there are numerous tutoring services free of charge, which is always great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Start off with a bang! Be determined! Don't procrastinate!! Manage your time wisely!!! You can do it!!!

    In three sentences

    GSW is a wonderful school to attend. It is a relatively small, yet beautiful campus. The faculty and staff go above and beyond to provide you with the best advice as well as instill the knowledge in you that will last a lifetime.

  • 05/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It's a small town so there is not much to do. If you have friends you WILL make the most of what you have. Wal-mart, parties, Campus events, and going out to surrounding cities will occupy your time.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is ok at some point. Next year they are installing a Chick-fil-a and Boar's Head subs where the old Cane's Den used to be which will be great. The Cafeteria has its off days, but the signature day is Fried Chicken Thursday which is really delicious.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorms are all suite-like with private bathrooms so they are nice. The freshmen dorm are kind of small, but the common room can be really helpful when you want to hang out. Also, everyone is very nice when you show up.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academics here are strong in most fields. The Business and Nursing programs are the strongest. Some students don't care, but the ones that do work constantly.

    In three sentences

    I give GSW a 4.5 out of 5 because GSW is a small, comfy college where the student to teacher ratio is small which allows for 1 on 1 time with professors. It has a good education for the price you get it for with professors that respect you. The only downside is it's in a small town, but when you have friends it doesn't really matter as much because you can always find something to do.