Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Georgian Court University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/06/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those craving a small campus atmosphere in a peaceful setting A small school where they could have smaller classes and more individual attention

    Bang for the buck

    Although Georgian Court University is a private college, it does provide merit scholarships and other academic scholarships which can hopefully reduce some of the cost of attendance for me.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is very small and beautiful and from the moment I first stepped onto the campus I knew it was the right place for me. I just felt like it could be a second home for me.

    Will learn a lot

    The program I wish to major in at the college, Communications, is small and I've been told is very hands-on which I feel will keep me engaged and teach me more about the career field I will pursue in the future.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus has guarded gates all around. i also live about 5 minutes away from the campus and the campus in in lakewood border of howell nj, which is a very safe area.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many activities and clubs, too many to name. everyone is so friendly that even if you are a freshman or a transfer student, they make the transition experience great.

    Great for these types of students

    i think this is great for all students. gcu is a catholic school so students that are interested in campus ministry clubs would love it. they have mass every week on campus so you don't have to leave if you don't have a car.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    what allured me to gcu is its beautiful campus. this campus was originally a millionaire railroad owner's land and a lot of the buildings and statues throughout the campus have remained the same. there are tall trees and a lake right behind the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    i think compared to other institutions i seeked out, gcu tuition in not bad. they also offer scholarships which really helps out.

    What to do for fun

    gcu has so many events going on that there is always something to do. i recently won tickets to the winter formal which was at ramada inn and it was wonderful! they always have free events and offer food and beverages, sporting events and more. gcu is close to the jersey shore and great shopping mall areas!

    Food and Dining

    the first time i ate at gcu i was in love because they offer so much food and they are all healthy for a low price.

    Dorm Life

    unfortunately i am a off-campus student but i have spent time in the dorms with friends and it is a very clean and cozy place!

    Academic Rigor

    academics are valued highly at gcu and the instructors expect students to perform highly academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would suggest to do your research and explore what gcu has to offer. gcu is truly a great school for students to grow and develop into successful individuals. they offer many different organizations and clubs and i would suggest to seek out these clubs when considering applying. the campus is beautiful and very inspiring and motivational, i would suggest to visit the campus asap!

    In three sentences

    i would rate georgian court university a 9 on a scale of 10 being the best. when i had transferred to gcu, i was treated with the up-most respect and my needs were accommodated. having been at gcu only two months, my experience here has been amazing because of the environment, staff and instructors.

  • 09/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security never receives enough credit. They are on the job 24/7. I see every time at night, and even off campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Georgian Court has a abundance of clubs and activities. These clubs range from campus ministry to history to Active minds a club I joining because it addresses mental illnesses. There is a club fit for any personality, and also helps you become more social.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that want and need student teacher interaction, rather than a large lecture hall where you get lost beneath the audience. Also students that prefer a quiet school, that does not have partying constantly.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many landmarks and monuments on campus. That is because it belong to George Jay Gould who own a estate then after he pass on the estate was turn into a campus, with two of his mansions still on campus. The gardens that were design are still there and look like someone really leave there.

    Bang for the buck

    This is the best university you never heard of and the best place you could ever go. It really is a place that is worthy of all the critically acclaim it receives.There is also various internships, and programs that prepare you for the workforce.

    What to do for fun

    Too many to list, you can walk around observe the landmarks, go to the tennis center, common room. Furthermore, you can go to New York which is thirty minutes away. The school offers shuttle cars to go the mall.

    Food and Dining

    I have practically no words to describe the food and dining. It is completely great, with the hardest working staff, and chefs. They go out of their to make sure you have three meals a day.

    Dorm Life

    There is currently three beautiful dorms on campus. St Joseph, St. Catherine's, and Maria. The dorm is clean, and the room is extremely spacey with a lot of draws and has it own dresser.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are tough, but they are design to challenge to become a better student. The teachers get to teach in small classroom captivity, so that means more student teacher interaction. There is a number of student support services like Academic Development Center, Community learning Center are programs specifically design to assist students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go visit the campus and walk around. look to a admission counselors. You could even go on the website and up numbers of the head department of majors you are interested in. Do not feel afraid to reach out and ask for questions.

    In three sentences

    Georgian Court University is the best school you ever heard of. It is low key, and the campus is fantastic. Right off the bat you will feel right at home. The students and teachers are very welcoming and warm.

  • 04/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are various activities on and off campus. It is a short bus ride from Philadelphia and New York.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good but only available at certain times.

    Dorm Life

    Bustling with life and friendliness.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a very friendly yet competitive atmosphere.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is hard to get a job outside campus if you do not own a car as things are a bit far away.

    In three sentences

    Georgian Court University is a wonderful place for students who seek a quiet and friendly atmosphere.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety on campus is very tight. We have a guarded gate to the university that is guarded 24/7! When my parnets come to pick me up, I have to notify the guard that they're coming so he/she knows to expect them. We also have the campus police who patrol the grounds in his car, so that's even more extra safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    I myself aren't in any clubs yet, but I do run track which keeps me extremely busy. I really don't have much time to join clubs or other activities because my sport is very demanding. There are many different clubs/activities that one can join. There's something here for everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    I never attended an all girl school in my life, but that;s what keeps it quiet too I guess and it allots for time of study. Being a quiet campus, it's great for the type of student who is very serious about keeping their GPA up, or maybe not so much that, but a person who is serious about going to college and doing well!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a tree on the campus with a fence around it. We learned that the owners of the mansion, the wife, died under that tree. She was trying to lose weight and just collapsed and died there.

    What to do for fun

    We had a Halloween party which was fun! We also had to collect gifts for needy children at Christimas which was fun, and of course rewarding. I will say, our university is quiet compared to others, trust me, but I guess it's good because it keeps us studying more instead of being disrupted with other things. There was just a fashion show the other night which my 2 friends and I attended. We weren't in it, but just went to watch and it was fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining hall and cafe are good. There's a wide variety of food to get throughout the day. Me and my friends go to the dining hall around 5:30 every night, I guess you can say it's a bit of a habit going the same time everyday! We enjoy the dining hall as we unwind from our day and sit and chat and catch up from the day.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is good! Our rooms are small, I guess you can say normal dorm size, but we do have alot of closet space. There's cabinets going across one wall where you have a mirror, and then there's a long closet in the room, with two beds. There aren't showers in the room, you have to go down the hall, which isn't that bad. In the bathroom there's 3 toilets, 4 showers and a bathtub.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the professor's are alittle more tougher than others. For example, the classes that you think will be really easy aren't, and the classes you think will be challenging are, but not too bad. My class load wasn't too bad this year as I'm a freshman, but next year I plan on taking more courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    To start with, Georgian Court is an all-girl Catholic university, so if you're looking for a co-ed you might want to double think attending here. Although we just had a campus meeting and we are trying to go co-ed...Yes! The campus itself is extremely nice. The grounds are always kept well. The campus is located on acres and acres with a mansion on it. A railroad engineer lived here many, many years ago with his wife. There are many different statues all over the property, with a fountain. There's a lake on the property and a japanese tea garden, which is cool. The professor's are pretty cool too.

    In three sentences

    I give Georgian Court University a very high rating. The professors here are very helpful when needed. The campus is extremely nice and very well-kept at all times.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is shown importantly on campus. We have monthly hall meetings to discuss any issues going on. Technical problems are solved within a day or two. Firedrills are practiced occaisionally.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities are everyday. You will never get bored while on campus. Besides having fun, you can also win prizes from trivias too.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The catholic church is definetly somewhere to go to connect with God. Sharingyour faith with a different religion can be very interesting.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I try to get involve as much as possible. I participate in many activities, and take daily walks around the beautidul campus. I also hang out with my friends too!

    Food and Dining

    There are many different tatseful choices of food. Every day there is a new cuisine to choose from. The servers takes orders at a respectful manner.

    Dorm Life

    There are three dormitories and they are all awesome. The people are friendly and there are tons of activites to do. The spacing of the rooms are suitable for anyone.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics here is such a great tool in learning about education. The teachers offer as many help as you need. There are also great tutoring opportunities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a goal and plans about what you would like to accomplish after you graduate. Have a major and a minor prepared. Get as many scholarships as possible.

    In three sentences

    Georgian Court University should be rated at 4 stars. They will help you finanacially and educationally. They offer many opportunities.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I bring food

    Dorm Life

    didn't live in dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to have all of your paperwork ready. Schools you're transferring from can really muck things up.

    In three sentences

    This is an amazing school. Everyone is incredibly helpful. They want you to succeed.

  • 01/28/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very good. they do not let any one in unless the student has called them in, in advance.

    Great for these types of students

    religious, athletic and lesbian.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    great sculptures and landscaping.

    What to do for fun

    go to athletic events.

    Food and Dining

    the dining hall is horrible besides for breakfast and the court cafe is pretty good and open pretty late.

    Tips for prospective students

    great school for athletes.

    In three sentences

    campus is very small, it is an all girls school, catholic and in the middle of a jewish town. not much to do around the area. the athletic teams are good and entertaining. the dorm life is not very good, the dorms for freshman-juniors are old and gross but the newest dorm is very nice.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you apply for scholarships and get involved.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The entire perimeter of the campus is fenced in and there is a main gate where everyone must check in. All visitors must check in and obtain a visitor pass. There are campus phone lines and always a security guard patrolling the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities. I was a choreographer on the dance team and honor club.

    Great for these types of students

    Goal oriented, driven and students who are geared toward obtaining a great education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This is a religious university so there are masses throughout the day, ceremonies and the campus is an arboretum

    Bang for the buck

    Georgian Court is an expensive university however you do receive a quality education and the attention of the staff and professors.

    What to do for fun

    The Beach! Lakewood is located slighly mainland but a short 20 min or so drive to Seaside or Point Pleasant and the boardwalk, beach, rides etc are available. There is also a minor league baseball team which is about 10-15 minutes away. There are farms in Howell and Jackson to go horseback riding, there are movie theaters and bowling alleys.

    Food and Dining

    The food is provided by chartwells which is pretty good. There are multiple places to eat on campus- the main dinign hall and the court cafe are th emain areas. There are also many places in the surrounding neighborhood that are good also. Chain restaurants are a short drive away.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in a dorm- however, I have been in the dorms- there are brand new dorms that are reserved for upper level classmen which are nice. The dorms for sophmores and freshman are adequate.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a tough school, most professors administer a tough work load. If attending Georgian Court they expect that you apply effort and it does pay off in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Georgian Court is a school that prides itself on values and preparing students for the future; this is not a party school. However, the staff and professors will work one on one with the students and do everything to help you succeed.

    In three sentences

    Georgian Court University located in Lakewood NJ is a diverse school that offers many classes and majors for both ungraduate and graduates. The school has expanded in the past few years and will be going co-ed in 2012. The University offers small, intimate classes where the staff know your name and not by a number.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Best there is.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are not here to play any games and are really focused on their studies should go here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They say the area behind the library is haunted, and the old buildings around the campus are beautiful.

    Bang for the buck

    I find that even though I love my program, I feel that some of the course I could have taken in high school, are not advance enough for me also. In addition, I find that the campus life is a big factor of wanting to stay at the school and around the campus.

    What to do for fun

    Leave to go home on the weekend, or hope your friends stay.

    Food and Dining

    It could be better, but they are working on it.

    Dorm Life

    The girls here are very immature, and there's a lot of senseless fights. In addition, there's not much dorm life because of the atmosphere of the college. And there aren't many options outside of campus too.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a nursing major and I really do love my professors and the program even though it's very new.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you check all of your options, such as financial aide and if this school provides your major. They are making cuts in their programs.

    In three sentences

    This college has a wonderful staff and campus. But this school is better suited for commuter students rather than residents. There really isn't much to do around campus and the surrounding area does not peek any interest.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe!

    Great for these types of students

    Education majors.

    What to do for fun

    It's the Jersey shore! There's the beach, Atlantic City and New york and Philadelphia are both close.

    Food and Dining

    Great! There are lots of options for all types of meals and snacks.

    Dorm Life

    Very casual atmosphere with a strong camaraderie and lots of on campus activities

    Academic Rigor

    The Education program is very well regarded and graduates land great teaching positions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Living off campus is a nice option. It is easy to commute to school and there is a nice selection of online classes.

    In three sentences

    I love this school! The campus is located in a beautiful area near the New Jersey shore. Professors are really interested in helping people succeed.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I am a commuter so I mostly eat at the cafe located on campus in between classes. The food is awesome and there are so many choices. Even the staff in the cafe is kind and willing to make the students happy in there food choices.

    Academic Rigor

    Like I stated before the teachers are great and Georgian Court has made it a point to help students academically. There is an academic advisory center and student tutors 6 days a week from the A.M to the late afternoon, and the list goes on.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are accepted and end up attending, get as involved as possible, especially if you're a commuter because it's a bit hard to get into things since you're not on campus all the time.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus and great atmosphere. Awesome teachers who truly care about their students. I really enjoy going to school everyday because my teachers are really cool and the girls that attend GCU are nice.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a super safe campus, there's emergency phone all over but I think they're rarely used because its so safe.

    What to do for fun

    Where to start? There's so many clubs to join, or sports teams, and almost every week there multiple things to do like rollerskating, movie night outside, performances, and SO much more.

    Food and Dining

    There are two places to eat on campus the Dining Hall and the Court Cafe. They both have good food but the Cafe is faster while the Hall is kind of a sit down and eat.

    Dorm Life

    It's so much fun to live on campus here, and the freshman dorm is so much fun. There's always movie nights or other activities going on.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm a freshman right now and I'm not saying everything I'm taking is super easy, but it's not to challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Defiantly visit first to make sure you'll like living here. (I do :] ) GET INVOLVED in anything you can, there are so many options. Don't be afraid to go out and meet new people.

    In three sentences

    Is a very welcoming place and everyone is so friendly. The perfect size so that your not a number, your a name. The campus is beautiful.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is extremely serious. the campus security does a great job at keeping students safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Women In Leadership Development Living Learning Communities C.A.B etc

    What to do for fun

    The university provides fun activities on and off campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is average college food. There is not a wide variety however you can find some tasty treats.

    Dorm Life

    I am a Resident Assistant at Georgian Court University and I must say that living on campus made me become a friendlier and more approachable person.

    Academic Rigor

    Stay focused on your academics because professors would push you to reach your full potential.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research the university well and be sure that they have your major, you can afford the tuition and be ready for wonderful experience.

    In three sentences

    Georgian Court University is the right college to attend if you want to challenge yourself. The environment is friendly and full of women that empower each other. Georgian Court University would give you the all the tools you need to be successful in the future.

  • 02/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Make friends, have movie nights.

    Food and Dining

    With only two dining options available, there aren't many choices. The Court Cafe is always busy, and doesn't accept Meal Plan after 4:30, and the Dining Hall closes at 8.

    Dorm Life

    Being in a dorm makes it easy to have friends and to spend time with them, as well as being centered around your classes.

    Academic Rigor

    Many classes are too easy, while the occasional other is incredibly difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends, since there are few clubs to get involved with. If you don't have friends, and intend on remaining on campus during the weekends, you'll find yourself incredibly bored.

    In three sentences

    Georgian Court is a small school with limited opportunities for enjoyment outside of the classroom. More often than not, the teachers prove to be difficult in the sense that they do not cooperate with student needs. This school is not what I was expecting.

  • 03/29/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have almost every club u can think of!

    Food and Dining

    Best college food ever! All you can eat too.

    Dorm Life

    Always something going on around the campus from meetings to sport events.

    Academic Rigor

    Very nice and wide verity of classes. Flexible class times. Very good hands on environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    They have a website for accepted students to mingle.

    In three sentences

    Has some amazing food. Has a very supportive environment. Very safe feeling almost like home.

  • 08/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student will fit in at Georgian Court. We pride ourselves on diversity.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved! Georgian Court prides itself on its' student life office but they can't reach the students unless the students get involved.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to be dedicated to your classes but the professors are really there for you. They do their best to make themselves available at all times so that you always have access to them.

    In three sentences

    Georgian Court has become nothing short of a home for me. Everyone at school is there for the right reasons. If you as a student are committed to a goal, Georgian Court will match that commitment to make it happen.

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety campus you will probably be see. We are gated and our security makes sure of it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's many clubs to join and you can also make your own club as well.

    What to do for fun

    They have a pool for everyone. They have parties and great events that people on campus put togetehr for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    Their cafe food is very goood but I gained my freshmen 15 by going there too much so I stopped eating there. There dinning hall is more on the home coooked meal type of side and I really enjoy going there.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms could be bettter, I feel as if the cleaning ladies do not do a great job with that.

    Academic Rigor

    GREATTTTTTTTTTTTTT EDUCATION !!!!! I seriously can't stress that enough

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need help in any of your classes, please please please just ask they love to help everyone and make sure not a single of of their students are failing.

    In three sentences

    They have a great education, helping students is what they are very well at. It's a very small school but they have many great activities they provide for their students. I love the school and I know you would too.

  • 02/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Good individually focused classes, teachers always do their best to make sure everyone gets it.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing like taking a relaxing walk around the lake or going to a good workout at the gym.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent and they don't charge too much.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know anything really about dorm life, I commute.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm in the nursing program, and it's extremely competitive and difficult to keep up with, but worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take some online classes here because they're not difficult to follow and a great way to get the gen eds out of the way.

    In three sentences

    Georgian Court University not only has a gorgeous and historic campus but it's smaller class sizes allow for a more personalized education. Teachers at GCU really care about giving their students the best possible education to prepare them for the working world in their majors, and tutoring is always free!