Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Gettysburg College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/02/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student who wants to learn and have a great time meeting people and having fun while doing it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get interviews and visit the campus, it really helped me, especially because I didn't have the greatest test scores around.

    Bang for the buck

    While the school may be expensive, I believe that it is worth it. The quality that you get out of your teachers and fellow students is fantastic. Gettysburg is amazing plain and simple.

    Am enjoying being here

    The Campus is beautiful here and all the buildings are fit for what they need. If you enjoy a Small school like I do, then you will love it here. You can wander around in any direction and wind up on the Battlefield of the famous Civil War battle. The people are great, Servo (dining hall) always has a meal to fill that belly of yours and you have a dull moment at the Burg.

    Am learning a lot

    At Gettysburg there is so much to do and so many aspects to learn, the teachers are all qualified and are some of the best at letting you know what you need to know. If you are interested in an aspect of study, then just keep your eyes open and you can find something that you need to learn about. They have a one of a kind Civil War Era History department that no other school in the nation has for a major and a minor. The school is a liberal arts school, so it may be a bit tougher than your ordinary state school, but you will learn more, be a better student, and succeed in the future because of it.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    DPS, our Department of Public Safety, is here 24/7 to keep us safe. The campus is a very safe place to be, personally I've never felt uncomfortable walking from the library to my dorm. But if you do feel uncomfortable, you can call them and they will come and pick you up or escort you home. The campus also is equipped with Blue lights.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is big on campus. We have 11 fraternities and 5 sororities. The sororities do not have houses although the fraternities do, although many of the sisters live together anyway. You rush your sophomore year, to give you time to get to know the school before you make any decision to join or stay independent. The parties are open to everyone and it makes an impression on campus, although it is not exclusive. The Greeks and independents get along and help out with one another's activities really nicely. Its a good mix on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Gettysburg has a MASSIVE amount of clubs and activities going on at any time. A club fair is held at the beginning of every year so that everyone can see what is offered. We have an equestrian team, a fencing club, a rugby club, along with many intermurals and varsity sports. There are pre-med and pre-vet clubs, history clubs, science clubs, ROTC, dance ensembles, a cappella groups, musical ensembles, you name it, we've probably got it, and if we don't you can create one.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're prepared to work really, really, really hard, this is the place for you. There is an air of familiarity between the students and professors because they work well together and everyone loves what they do. History majors, this is the place for you! You're surrounded by battlefields. What more could you want?! Science majors, we have a brand-new Science Center. It's gorgeous. I live there. All the labs are small, and you get so much hands on experience you wouldn't get elsewhere. In chemistry you get your own fume hood and your own drawer of materials for the year, no sharing. In genetics, you perform an independent project with fruit flies where you mate them and track patterns of inheritance- research that only Gettysburg College is doing. If you want a small class size and the ability to talk to your professors whenever you want and have them know you by name, this is the place for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Gburg is HUGE on tradition. My favorite is Servo Thanksgiving, where the professors and administration serve a full thanksgiving dinner to you and ten of your friends- full turkey, cranberry sauce, mashed potatoes, carrots, peas, bread rolls, pumpkin pie, you name it. The whole campus shows up for it, its absolutely phenomenal. Convocation is pretty cool. On the first day of Orientation, you have a big ceremony where you are officially welcomed to Gettysburg College by all the professors, the President, the Deans of Admission, Student Life, Residence Life, etc... and you walk through the main campus building, Pennsylvania Hall, through a line of professors who are clapping and cheering and down through the other side where your parents are waiting to greet you. After this the steps of Penn Hall are roped off, and you don't walk on them again until graduation, where you repeat the ceremony, but you walk from the other side and end up where you started four years earlier. Its a really touching tradition. The town is blocked off for you too, three days after your welcome to the school, and the entire first year class walks through the town at dusk to the national cemetery, where the Gettysburg Address is read. All the townspeople and upperclassmen are cheering for you the whole way. Again, an awesome experience.

    Bang for the buck

    Gburg is pretty pricey. But you get a lot for that money. You can study abroad twice within the cost of your tuition so you don't have to pay more out of pocket, and the college puts on a ton of events and brings in entertainment and speakers and lecturers and makes school a great time. You are definitely going to enjoy what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    Gettysburg may be in the middle of nowhere, but the nights are always packed with activities. The fraternities are always open on the weekends, but the Attic, our campus hangout always has dances and games and activities. The Junction is a fun place to go too, where they hold coffeehouses and other musical events at night. There are three movie theaters in town, and free transportation to those, along with other events, such as Relay for Life and Up All Night for St. Judes.

    Food and Dining

    Servo, our main dining hall, has been rated in the top 10 campus foods among colleges 7 out go the last 15 years. The food is absolutely phenomenal. All the food is organic and classically prepared by a team of chefs. There are always 7-10 different options including a gluten-free section and a vegetarian and vegan bar, along with a panini press and deli. The Servo staff is very focused on sustainability, avoiding waste where possible. And the Servo cookies are to die for. They are so good that students request them when they are abroad and have them sent to Australia, Denmark, China, Japan, wherever, because they miss them more than their own mother's cooking. Freshmen have unlimited meal plans and upperclassmen have more choices on different plans that are all very reasonable. The other dining halls on campus include a sub line, a sushi and salad bar and a smoothie bar, all of which are awesome.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are exactly what you would expect. Some are much nicer than others, but the older dorms have the plus of being 15 seconds from the dining hall and library. You are housed with your first year seminar, which is a group of students who are taking the same, fun, discussion style seminar as you- on any variety of topics from cancer research to modern dance to sports medicine. They are capped at 16 students and taught by a professor who loves what they're teaching- they design the class after all! So you know coming in on the first day that you have something in common with 15 other students on your floor. The upperclassmen dorms are very, very nice, ranging from motel style living to lofted suites or theme houses, where students design a theme and then live in the house together and organize yearly events on the theme they choose.

    Academic Rigor

    Getting an A at Gburg is tough. It really makes you rethink what a personal achievement is. This may be really tough to hear, especially for those students for whom a 4.0 is everything, but there are many instances where you learn more from a class you got a B- in than any of the high school classes you took where you got an A+. It really challenges you... and I feel like that is more of a take-away than anything else. You're definitely getting your money's worth with these classes. Professors also expect a lot. You really need to step it up in order to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    In your interview here, the admissions staff isn't trying to trick you. They aren't looking for some phrase that is the password to getting admitted. They want you to be yourself. They want to get to know who you are, so that when they are bringing your application before the entire committee, they have a personality to go with it. So just be you. You don't have to impress anyone. You just need to show them what makes you, you. Are you passionate about your sticker collection? Tell them. Do you have a little business walking all the neighbors dogs? Tell them what you've learned from it, and how it's made you who you are. Just be you. But be proactive as well. They're looking for the best students, the ones who want to go here. Do your research. Learn about your intended major, email professors (and don't be afraid! They love getting email!!) and then be able to talk about how you would contribute, even in some small way, to the school. What you want to do here, what club you want to join, or start, or anything that excites you about Gettysburg.

    In three sentences

    Gettysburg is almost like a dream. I feel more at home here than I do anywhere else and being on campus makes me smile. I feel really lucky to get to attend this school and am really going to miss it when I graduate.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nice, helpful, caring and open to student suggestions

    Greek Life

    Fraternity parties every weekend.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Thanksgiving Dinner, Springfest, Convocation and Commencement

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, musical performance, club sports or working out in the fitness center.

    Food and Dining

    SERVO ROCKS! Best food on campus hands down.

    Dorm Life

    Depends on first year dorm. My floor was not close but the floor below me and above me were incredibly close.

    Academic Rigor

    Lots of paper writing even in science classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Become involved your freshman year. It is easier to gain executive board positions when you start early.

    In three sentences

    A fun and interactive college where the professors and faculty care about the students.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Friendly and let you have fun.

    Greek Life

    Feels like just about 80% of the students are involved in greek life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Springfestttt, Thanksgiving Dinner.

    Bang for the buck

    A great education with a lot of great internship opportunities! And Gettysburg gives GREAT financial aid!

    What to do for fun

    Party, party, party. Greek life is huge, but the school does a good job having activities for those who wish to remain sober.

    Food and Dining

    Absolutely love the food. Servo is one of the

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are better than other schools I have been to and the campus housing is so good, its not necessary to live off campus as an upperclassmen.

    Academic Rigor

    Atleast for me, it was quite the adjustment from high school but once you get used to the work and understand the work you need to put into it, its not too bad. My experience has been that MOST of my professors are really there to help you out, holding office hours nights leading up to exams, and really encourage you to go to them if you need help understanding material.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Department of Public Safety (DPS) on campus is really great. They are constantly walking around and there are blue call boxes everywhere if there is any emergency. They provide escort services to students and they are extremely easy to reach and very responsive. Most of the students here at Gettysburg College always feel safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over a hundred clubs and organizations to join on campus. Each one has its own purpose and is loved by its members. There is truly something for everyone. From Video Game Club, to Fencing Club, to Marching Band, there is really almost everything. It is also easy to start a club if there is something that you are interested in that doesn't already exist on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a terrific school for students who are looking for a small school, in which they are not a number, and can get the individual attention they need. It is a very beautiful campus and it is very easy to make friends and find things to do in your spare time.

    What to do for fun

    There are constantly club activities going on around campus which are always fun to join in on. Also, there are a lot of shops and things to see in the town which is in walking distance. There is also a trolly system that is free to students that can take students to the outlet shops, the battle fields, and the movie theater along with a lot of other fun locations.

    Food and Dining

    Gettysburg College actually is recognized for its food. The dining hall always serves something for everyone. There is never a day when there is not something delicious on the menu. The food is also pretty healthy, too. Yes, there is pizza and burgers, but they also serve a variety of fresh fruits and veggies at every meal!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Gettysburg College are very nice. The rooms are decently sized and the bathrooms are very nice. Also, as upperclassmen, there are a lot of housing options such as substance-free housing, Greek housing, and a lot of theme houses with a lot of different concepts behind them. Students are also guaranteed housing which is very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is very good academically as well. The classes can be rigorous and difficult at times, but the teachers really make it easier. They always are able to make themselves available to students when help is needed and as long as you put in the effort, it is likely that you will succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning to attend Gettysburg College, I would say that you should not stress out too much! It's really not as scary as some people make college sound. I would suggest that you join clubs and organizations to make friends. Be open to new opportunities and be willing to explore new things, because you may end up taking a path that you never saw yourself going on before.

    In three sentences

    The food is great and all of the buildings, including dorm buildings are very nice and well-kept. Since it is relatively small, it is easy for teachers to focus on individual students, and they are willing to do so. Gettysburg college is a small school at which it is easy to succeed in a very friendly environment.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus environment is very safe and well-lit. Being a girl walking late on this campus has never felt unsafe or scary. The Department of Public Safety constantly patrols campus on foot, bike, and by car.

    Clubs and Activities

    Over 60 clubs and organizations including the Student Senate, Campus Activities Board, Colleges Against Cancer, International Affairs Association, Toastmasters, Center for Public Service, Rotaract Club, Smart Women Securities, and the list goes on.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to be encouraged to do great work to their utmost potential.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Gettysburg College was founded in 1832, and has many traditions from that time. The annual Thanksgiving Dinner is a major one, where students come to the Dining Center in groups and are served by their professors. Tables get one whole turkey and unlimited amounts of mashed potatoes, stuffing, corn, bread, and other holiday treats. Also big is Sprinfest, our annual celebration before the last week of classes. The whole campus comes out to enjoy concerts, inflatables, and free give-aways.

    What to do for fun

    Gettysburg College is nestled in historic Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, offering a wide variety of dining and other options on the town. However, with all of the programming done on our campus, students will rarely have time to go into town and do these things. The Campus Activities Board hosts many events in the Attic (a popular hangout for students) on many weekends. Students also create their own programming with dance competitions and a-capella groups. There is never a dull moment on this campus!

    Food and Dining

    Our Dining Center, affectionately named Servo, offers excellent food. Our own chefs for the college prepare dishes that never get old such as chicken bruschetta, fettucine with sun-dried tomatoes and port wine sauce, and pasta ariabatta. Even with a limited meat diet for someone like myself, the options never get old. Also available are quick options such as the Bullet Hole, the Dive, and Ike's for sandwiches, wraps, salads, pizza, and grill items. Students never go hungry!

    Dorm Life

    Many housing options are available to students. Students enter in one of six first-year dorms, and many are assigned based on a seminar class. This enables students to create a residential learning community and foster friendships their freshman year that will last all four years of college. Upperclassmen are able to live in theme houses, apartments, or dorms. Most students choose to live on-campus for all four years because of the amenities offered in our apartments right on our own campus. These apartments come with a living room, bathroom, and kitchen-- and are equipped with wifi and cable TV access!

    Academic Rigor

    Courses at Gettysburg College are challenging enough so that students are forced to study and do the work and reading to ensure a good grade in the class; however it is possible to work very hard and earn the grade that you want. Classes are only taught by faculty members, who have office hours if any student needs help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the multitude of opportunities offered by the college's academic programs, clubs and organizations, speaker series, Center for Career Development, and Off-Campus Studies Office to name a few. Be active, involved, and engaged at this campus and you will have a great time!

    In three sentences

    Gettysburg College is an excellent liberal-arts school, based on a beautiful campus, where the faculty and administrators actually care about you, the students are friendly and welcoming, and students receive a solid liberal arts foundation. Faculty members are willing to take time to meet with you and take time out of their day to make sure you can keep up in class. Students foster this atmosphere by working to reach their fullest potential and being involved and engaged. Gettysburg is a great place to call home for four years!

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A little annoying like a parent, but the school is very safe.

    Greek Life

    check.

    Clubs and Activities

    Meh. We need a little bit more diversity and action. Most science related clubs involve students being lectured at. No thanks, already been there done that today. Most students have no understanding or appreciation of any club they are not involved in or have a relation to. Our diversity in general is a little stereotypical.

    Great for these types of students

    Preppy (see fratty). You like to drink beer and party? Our Greek life is for you. Science oriented. You like feeling superior to management majors and not sleeping? Our science department is for you. Government bound. I know little to nothing about the Eisenhower Institute, but it seems like have money like I don't have money. The place spoils you. history lovers. hullo. we're gettisburg. You like the Civil War and old stuff? We have that.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Secrets secrets are no fun, especially if shared with everyone...

    Bang for the buck

    This really depends. Many people get mad financial aid, and some pay full. Though those that pay full generally can afford it, and love Gettysburg. I think for the education provided the school is a pretty good deal. I wish the money would sometimes go to different places, because we're always told there's like none and yet still we have a pretty good endowment fund....

    What to do for fun

    Meh. Chill with friends. Go to a random CAB event. party. That's about it....the place lacks a sober night life.

    Food and Dining

    Bullet is currently blowing. They need to make all the specialty items you can only get with declining dollars available in meal form. Sometimes all I want is a parfait and oj for breakfast, not a bagel or egg sandwich. Also, soy milk. Get on that. Some of us are mildly lactose intolerant, and when I don't want soda my options are juice or water. I want more options. Servo is solid and the commons is over priced. Ike's is shaping up, but needs more drink options. The dive is fabulous, but so far from everything.

    Dorm Life

    Varies by the group you have and where you live, like any college. The sorting process is a little odd with everyone based off a random seminar that may or may not screw you or save you in the end.

    Academic Rigor

    Hello library. Each major is different, but will require more of you than you think. It's not that bad, and professors and plas are glad to help. You just have to be smart about study habits.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask for help from literally anyone, even random professors or faculty. Students are nicer than it first appears. You just need to be willing to try, which can be very hard.

    In three sentences

    Gettysburg is what you make it and quite Greek. You will have to work academically and socially, but it will be worth it. Do great work.

  • 12/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Annual Student Thanksgiving dinner where students are served family style by the professors.

  • 01/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Department of Public Safety (DPS) is helpful and they only have the students' best interests at heart.

    Greek Life

    Very strong Greek Life, especially socially active for boys. There are many different options for both genders, but it is not overwhelming. I was independent and I had many good friends in sororities and fraternities, and never was limited socially.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    -The freshmen students, or First Years, participate in a walk during Orientation every year. They follow the path that Lincoln took from the place in town he stayed up to the field where he delivered the Gettysburg Address. The Address is then read at the site, and a representative from the class gives a speech about it. -Supposedly, one of the dorms, Stevens, is haunted.

    What to do for fun

    Go on ghost tours, rent a scooter, take a run around the battlefields, see a game, and if you're 21+, there are a lot of fun bars like Blue & Gray where wings and pitchers are student-affordable.

    Food and Dining

    Currently our Dining Hall (Servo) is rated #9 in the country; not only is the food really good, but there is always a wide variety of options, and the school is very gluten-free or vegan-accessible. And the specialty dinner that are thrown, like Servo Thanksgiving, are fun and have students literally waiting in line outside for hours.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are comfortable; only a few of them have air conditioning, but they are never overly uncomfortable, are up to code, and each has a common room with nice furniture and a large TV. As of this year, they should all be updated so that you can use your ID card to gain access to your dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    While it is not very nationally recognized, Gettysburg has a rigorous curriculum. Students may say that some majors are considered harder than others; Health Sciences is widely considered to be one of the more demanding majors. But each specialization is strenuous in its own way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go for a visit! It is important in general to visit all schools you apply to, but in the case of Gettysburg, it will absolutely help you make your decision. You will fall in love with it, or you will hate it. Usually, it's the former; a very high percentage of students who come for a visit end up enrolling.

    In three sentences

    Gettysburg is a great liberal arts school, especially strong in health sciences, organization management, and political science. The emphasis on academics is balanced out by exciting extra-curricular activities and a solid D3 athletic department, featuring the recent Women's Lacrosse National Champions, and the Men's and Women's Swimming teams, who are perennial powerhouses in the Centennial Conference. Located in a truly iconic American town, this college is picturesque and will always make you want to come back for Alumni Weekend.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is pretty good compared to some other schools. There is always something for everyone available at the dining hall, and there are also a decent amount of other places to eat either on or off campus.

    Dorm Life

    Especially as a first-year, the dorm life at Gettysburg College will leave a lasting impression. The RA's are really good at getting everyone together especially in the beginning. Everyone is new and nobody really goes into college having a lot of friends, and they do a really great job at coming up with activities for the residents. The rooms aren't too small and the building isn't too big, so it encourages the people who are living together to spend more time together and become friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Of course, the academic rigor depends on which courses you are taking. However, each course is designed to teach something. And although the work may be challenging, if you make the effort, professors are more than willing to help students in any way they can. The work is tough, but it is still absolutely possible to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Gettysburg College is a terrific school for anyone who is looking for a small school. I would encourage you to form relationships with your professors, they are really knowledgeable and can really help you get on the right path for fulfilling your dreams. I would also encourage you to take as many different classes as you have room in your schedule to take. Sometimes, taking classes that you normally wouldn't can open your mind to a whole new world of possibilities.

    In three sentences

    Gettysburg College is a great school, especially for students who want to get a great education without being thrown into an overwhelming environment. I love the small school atmosphere and I never thought that I would form relationships with my professors, but I have. All of the academic and extra-curricular activities offered at Gettysburg College are wonderful at helping and encouraging students to succeed.

  • 07/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has a Department of Public Safety that has a team of officers that support and protect students. The Gettysburg police are often patrolling the campus, and there are state cops around as well because of the Gettysburg Battle Fields. I feel very safe on campus and I know how to get help if I need it.

    Greek Life

    I love being involved in Greek Life on Campus! It is a very supportive and fun community! The Greek Community focuses on community service, social connections, and bonding with your brothers and sisters in your chapter.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is very high but I think Gettysburg is totally worth the cost!

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of options for fun at Gettysburg! We have a College night club called the Attic that offers parties at night during the week and weekends. Some of them are host provider meaning that you can have drinks there if you are of age, and others are just fun with free food, live entertainment, dancing etc. There is also a coffee house stage that has performers, open mics, a Capella concerts, and comedy nights. In addition there are fraternity parties, movie nights, ballroom dances, swing dances, Christian worship nights, game nights, ice cream socials, you name it! I have not ever been bored at Gettysburg.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Gettysburg is rated among the best! They have vegetarian, vegan, and gluten free options. Some of the food is organic, and there is also kosher food available. All of the food is fresh and a lot is made to order! I have yet to have a meal there that I did not enjoy. Also, the cookies are homemade and oh so yummy!

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Gettysburg is great! They do a good job of matching you with someone you are compatible with when you enter your freshman year. After that you have a choice of living with one roommate, alone, or in an apartment with 3 to 4 other students. There are also fraternity houses for men, theme houses for both genders and houses that the campus rents to students who are eligible. The furthest housing is one mile off campus so all of the students are at a convenient location.

    Academic Rigor

    Gettysburg College is very academically rigorous. It is not for the faint of heart. This keeps students on a path towards success and challenges them so that they are not bored in the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Gettysburg is looking for students who are engaged in their community and high school. GET INVOLVED! Gettysburg is academically challenging but is focused on students who do more with their time than just studying. If you have a solid academic standing and show the college that you spent your time being actively engaged you have a good shot at becoming a Gettysburg Bullet!

    In three sentences

    Gettysburg College is the perfect liberal arts school for students who have multiple interests. There is a wonderful social atmosphere. The student and professor relationships are very strong and a key to success.

  • 10/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is really safe, and I feel fine walking around campus at night. It's a small school in a small town, with well-lit sidewalks and patrols throughout the night by DPS (the campus safety officers). It's the kind of school where you don't have to worry about things getting stolen, which is always nice.

    Greek Life

    There is A LOT of partying on campus. Most people go out to the frats every weekend. A lot of students are involved in Greek Life as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    The college offers many different clubs and activities.

    Bang for the buck

    Pretty good, but I'm not sure I would think this if I was paying the full $55K a year. The classes are great, but the dorms are lacking. Upperclass dorms are (mostly) nicer than the first-year ones, so luckily that will change.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Servo is pretty good, even if it does get a bit repetitive after a while.

    Dorm Life

    The first-year dorms are pretty centrally located on campus, but that's about it. The rooms are alright, but it really depends on which dorm you're in--some halls are nicer than others. On the weekends, the halls get pretty loud due to a lot of partying, which I personally don't like. It really does depend on both what you can tolerate in terms of noise levels, as well as how considerate the other people in your residence halls are. The college doesn't offer a substance-free floor or dorm, only rooms. That's nice, but it's not so great when the rest of the people on the floor are partying and drinking all weekend. Also, first-year students are not necessarily housed with people in their seminar--you're only in the same dorm. From what I had heard about the seminar program, I thought my roommate would be in my seminar, as well as the people in the rooms around me/on my floor. However, the people in my seminar were mostly on other floors throughout the building. Just a heads-up for people who think the same thing I did.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging, but professors are always willing to meet with you outside of class if you're having trouble with anything.

  • 12/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is huge. The frats are open for parties on the weekends to anyone who wants to attend. However, if you don't rush, it is also very acceptable.

    Clubs and Activities

    So. Many. Options.

    Great for these types of students

    Honestly, great for every and all students who are eager to learn and are friendly.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Campus is located literally on the Gettysburg Battlefields, where the infamous Battle of Gettysburg occurred during the Civil War and Lincoln read the Gettysburg Address. Between history buffs and ghost tours, there is always something interesting going on right outside of campus. Gettysburg also has all sorts of traditions, such as convocation and the walk through Penn Hall.

    Bang for the buck

    Worth. Every. Penny.

    What to do for fun

    There is a surprising amount to do at school. There are over one hundred clubs and the ability for students to create their own club. There are various hangout spots on campus, such as the CUB and Junction in the Student Union Building, as well as the Attic, where concerts and alcohol/drug-free parties are held. On the weekends, the frats are open to students- which are a ton of fun. The gym is also amazing. There are student-run classes, such as spin, Zumba, yoga, Pilates, etc. There are two rock walls for students to climb. The gym has a lot to offer other than the machines and weights. Sporting events are fun to attend as well. There is a lot of school spirit, especially for lacrosse games and swim meets. Not to mention, the campus is within a five-minute walking distance of downtown Gettysburg. The downtown area is home to the Majestic, which puts on movies, plays, and concerts. It is also home to the Lincoln Diner, which is a cute little diner that is open 24/7. There are all sorts of shops and restaurants in town, so it is difficult to get bored.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall- Servo, is delicious. Breakfast is by far the best meal that they serve- they have the most delicious eggs, oatmeal and variety of fresh fruit! There are a wide variety of foods to take into account all students' needs. For every meal there are vegan and vegetarian options. Servo is ranked one of the best dining halls in the US.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is awesome. The way campus is set up is ideal- the nicer dorms with built in air conditioning and larger rooms are further away from the center of campus than the less nice dorms. This evens out the lifestyle because the students that live in the dorms without air conditioning are right across the street from the dining hall and the student union building, which are always full of people and air conditioned. Also, the way Gettysburg selects where students live their sophomore year and on is by lottery based off of GPA. The higher the GPA of a student, the better the lottery number. This keeps the students eager to do well in classes, which is a really neat method.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are tough because the school is one of the top schools in the country, but it is not so overwhelming that you can't maintain a social life or get involved in the school. I am a physics major and have the most work of my friends, but I still am involved in the school by attending sporting events, working on campus, and playing on the club lacrosse team.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take the Yoga First-Year Seminar. You don't actually do yoga. The school is amazing and so are the people. Everyday I go to bed feeling great about my decision to go to Gettysburg. Although it is a small school, there is plenty to do on and off campus. Also, our mascot is wicked cool- how awesome is it to be a Bullet? Very cool.

    In three sentences

    I love Gettysburg College. The people and housing are great, the teachers are welcoming and the education is phenomenal. I never want to graduate!

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life runs the school

    Clubs and Activities

    A lt but do you research so you know what you would like to get into

    Great for these types of students

    Prep kids

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not many

    Bang for the buck

    Depends on your pockets.

    What to do for fun

    Frat party is the spot sometimes hard to get in if your a male not in a Frat

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good but will get old soon

    Dorm Life

    Dorm are not all the same for freshmen some are a lot better rooms than others.

    Academic Rigor

    Pretty difficult but manageable if you stay on top of your work

    Tips for prospective students

    Research and really see if the school has all you desire.

    In three sentences

    Really good financial aid. Not much to get into if you are not a frat going person. Small school limits somethings you would not think to be obvious.

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food was actually fairly good and there's both hot and cold menus served at the little hole in the wall restaurant. Some of the sauces used with the food are bitter, though, and drown out anything else going on there.

    Academic Rigor

    We were able to sit in on classes and there was actually a decent bit of discussion going on in the class I sat in on and people were frantically taking notes. The subject itself wasn't too difficult but the way it was explored made it interesting and difficult at the same time.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful but it's currently in construction and the students get slightly hostile in the library towards non-students (one of my dual-enrollment courses went up to campus for research for term paper).

  • 07/21/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Just visited the campus last week and loved it! Some parts of the campus are currently under construction but overall it is a beautiful small college campus. Did a triple header info session, tour, and interview (which was highly recommended) all before 2 pm.

  • 02/14/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    The dorms were small, but very clean.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoyed my trip to Gettysburg College. The campus is welcoming, and beautiful, and the town itself is full of interesting things to do.