Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Glenville State College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Throw yourself into the college experience. Try everything that you can and you will make tons of friends like I did. I left my inhibitions behind from high school and I have never regretted that decision. In doing so , I made more friends in two semesters that I had in 4 years of high school.

    Bang for the buck

    I am definitely getting my bang for my buck. There are so many awesome activities that have happened throughout my first semesters here.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am definitely enjoying it here. GSC is an amazing place for any student to be. It is small enough for you to know everyone and find your way around easily, but large enough for you to be able to lose yourself in the crowd whenever you want to.

    Am learning a lot

    I absolutely love all of my classes. The professors are very interested in what you do and are excellent in trying to help those who need help. The classes challenge me in a way that high school never did without stressing me out.

  • 08/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Take a campus tour of Glenville before you make your decision. You will be impressed with the friendliness. Walk right into the department chair of the major that interests you. They will be more than willing to help you out.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to other colleges, it is not too awfully expensive to attend college here, but nevertheless, so many college students, including myself, have trouble finding the funds to cover it all.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is a very friendly atmosphere here on campus at Glenville. It gives you a warm feeling to be apart of a close knit campus.

    Am learning a lot

    I absolutely love the professors at this college. They are all friendly and helpful. The professors are very approachable and will help you with anything. They are willing to take time out of their own lives to make sure you succeed.

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cemetery on campus grounds

    What to do for fun

    Church Exercise Participate in school events Shopping Pledging fraternities and sororities Music events Performing Arts Center

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your FAFSA and other requirements done ahead of time. Apply for as many scholarships as you can, instead of taking out loans.

    In three sentences

    Glenville State College is very peaceful and welcoming. Glenville State College has a beautiful campus. Glenville State College has welcoming staff.

  • 04/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very well lit. Always a police presence.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is great.

    Clubs and Activities

    Athletics and student clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students willing to learn. Its hard.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A lot of tradition and pride at Glenville.

    Bang for the buck

    Admissions are very helpful. A lot of bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    Campus activities, ballgames, tutoring, swimming, library, local mall, wings, movies and much more.

    Food and Dining

    Can't beat the selection.

    Dorm Life

    Roomy and relaxed. Everything available indoors. Tends to be a bit loud

    Academic Rigor

    Bring your brain, College is not easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use your resources. Be a part of the campus community. Athletics are Awesome!

    In three sentences

    Glenville is like home away from home. You always have something to do in Glenville. Glenville, a small college with a large curriculum.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is great!

    Greek Life

    there is some greek life on campus and its getting better.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a club for everything here

    What to do for fun

    being a music major i play music and go on trips to things that are going on with the program.

    Food and Dining

    the food has its good days and bad but most the time its wonderful and very filling.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are new and great. there is not that much noise and they are very clean.

    Academic Rigor

    you are pushed to do your best in everything that you do here.

    Tips for prospective students

    your going to get a good work out here but its worth it in the end. the teachers push you to do your best.

    In three sentences

    glenville has a wonderful learning environment. great classes and teachers. and wonderful students.

  • 05/05/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots are sports and extracurricular activities you can join. Such actives may include, bass fishing, white water rafting, rock climbing, sororities, ROTC Programs, and much much more.

    Food and Dining

    I absolutely love the food here. I have visited campus on several occasions and had the chance to compare it with other schools. I like the cleanliness better and the organization of everything. The cooks are nice and appreciative to help you even if you are a picky eater like me. Laugh out loud, I enjoyed the whole experience.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is very safe, clean, and secure. They have cameras set up in the front lobby that shows every hallway in the dorm areas, and the key your assigned only works for your floor and dorm room door. I like how everything is set up and I feel safe.

    Academic Rigor

    They talk a lot about getting involved in and activities they have. They also encourage you to build your resume and that your going to do it there. You can learn many great skills and all the teachers and advisors are so nice and easy to just talk to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved and put your self out there to make friends. They watch to see which students don't get out much and stay in there dorms and they try to help you on your socializing skills. No one is left out. I encourage you to just be yourself and get involved.

    In three sentences

    One big Family. Resume Builders. Great Opportunities.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is really safe and campus security is always on duty.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are too many clubs and activities to name.

    Bang for the buck

    It is worth every penny you spend!

    What to do for fun

    The student activities program is great! You can go white water rafting, sky diving, and much more. Also there are movies, and comedians that come it! There is always something to do!

    Food and Dining

    There are two different restaurants. There is the Mollahan's Restaurant which is the cafeteria and there is the rusty musket which is a fast food restaurant and a convenience store also.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are newly built and very safe and secure. You can have your privacy but also know everyone around you.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are excellent and you learn in every class something new!!

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is located in Central West Virginia. It is in a safe atmosphere and everyone is extremely friendly.

    In three sentences

    This college is a great institution. After the first week of classes the professors know your name and your background. If you work as hard as you can and take time to study you will succeed at GSC!

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    My mother attended Glenville State, she didn't get a degree, but has 50 college hours. My sister received her degree from Glenville in May of 2011 in business administration. I like Glenville State because it is a smaller school with less kids per classroom.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have a lot of activities if your interested.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent food here!

    In three sentences

    Glenville is a small college in West Virginia. Not very big but has great professors. Located in a very small county.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The only thing to really do for fun is go to Morgantown which is an hour and a half from our school. Which means you would need a car to go. Also we have a small local bar people usually gather and go to dance and drink

    Food and Dining

    The food here could be better. It's basically a repeat of the same food everyday with a little change in the menu here and there

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is kind of boring at times. People generally just walk around and find there way into different people's room to hang out or socialize

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't too hard as long as you pay attention and take notes. If you don't take good notes then don't expect to do well in the course

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your work and don't procrastinate. When given an assignment, start it that day and don't be afraid to ask questions. Your professor is there to help you

    In three sentences

    Glenville's a real small school with not a lot of anything around it. Some people may look at it as one of the negatives of attending the school but I actually look at it as a positive. The fact that there's nothing to do makes sure I get my work done and my grades reflect how well I'm doing.

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Glenville State College has a very good program that gives students the change to do exciting outdoor activities. Some examples would be horse back riding, white water rafting, and rock climbing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go and visit the campus at least once. Talk to professors of your major to get more information and ask any questions you might have.

    In three sentences

    Glenville State College is a very safe and supportive school. Each student there receives the personal attention they need. You aren't just a number there you are a person that the faculty cares about.

  • 11/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs or organizations to get involved with on campus. It is definitely a great place for that. Also, there's a lot of activities that go on around campus so it's just a matter of going.

    Bang for the buck

    Where the school lacks in some things, it makes up for in the quality of academic education and the knowledge of the professors. Definitely worth the money to be under the instruction of a lot of these professors.

    What to do for fun

    There's usually something going on around campus. There's also a lot of sports games that are free for students. However, if you need something more exciting, it's only 30 minutes to Weston or Flatwoods for some shopping and an hour to Clarksburg if you want to go to the mall or the movies.

    Food and Dining

    Dining is alright if you're not too picky. It isn't the best though. It's a lot of hit and miss on many things so good luck if this is where you're relying on your meals to come from. However, it's nice to have a choice between the Mollohan Restaraunt and the Rusty Musket Grill.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is okay. In Goodwin Hall, there's a lot of freshmen and underclassmen so it can get a bit rowdy. Pioneer Village is reserved for upperclassmen (Sophomores/Juniors and up) and is a lot quieter so it is definitely a good choice for older students. The dorm staff is quite helpful and a lot of the ras are pretty cool.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of the teachers are very good at what they teach and there are some harder classes once you get into the area of your major. However, teachers try to cut down on the busy work to give you more time to do meaningful work in your field.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need help in your classes, don't be afraid to go to your professors for help. Also, get involved with organizations on campus so that you can start making friends quickly. Try to go a couple of times to the campus to get a feel for where everything is before you go there.

    In three sentences

    Glenville State College is a school with a family-centered mind. The professors are extremely helpful and the professional staff does their best to make Glenville State a great college to attend. Though tucked away, there's always something happening at the college.