Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Gloucester County College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/16/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are not ready to leave home yet, as well as students with frugal families that are looking to get a prime education for a small amount of money.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask your advisors questions, they have most likely heard it all before and will be more than capable of answering any inquiry you may have. As for that matter, do not be afraid to ask fellow students for help either. Everyone has a general sense of compassion and helpfulness.

    Bang for the buck

    Although many students attend GCC on the NJ Stars program, even those who must pay the full tuition will find that it is not a hefty cost. At around $2000 per semester, GCC offers an education that cannot be beat.

    Will enjoy being here

    Although students may not get to enjoy living on their own in a dorm setting, the campus is beautiful and the faculty does much to keep it in such pristine condition. All of the advisors are extremely helpful and are always available for a walk-in consultation. They are always courteous on the phone and do everything in their power to make sure whatever issue you may have is resolved.

    Will learn a lot

    The majority of my friends attend GCC and they have found that they learn a great deal from their professors, both in and out of the classrooms. The professors generally move at an acceptable pace that is tolerable for all students.

  • 12/11/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    GCC is great for students who are not quite sure what they want to do, or what college they'd like to attend. It provides a relatively inexpensive opportunity to continue education while working and still living at home. I took the opportunity to find the right 4 year school for me, and now I feel confident to move on without the pressure that is placed on the typical high school graduate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective Students should be aware that they must look out for themselves especially with graduating and transferring. Even though the school is not huge, you can still get lost in the cracks. Some times it even seems as though the councilors are overwhelmed with the number of students they are responsible for. So, stay on top of your own plans, and do not be afraid to as questions.

    Bang for the buck

    I can not complain about the cost because I am member of the NJ Stars program, so basically I attend for free. The cost for a regular student is not too bad however, and with little to no help I can imagine one would be able to swing the cost with the help of the school's payment plan. As far as Bang for the Buck I'd say your best bet would to go onto ratemyprofessor.com and take a look at who is teaching the class and their reviews. The better the teachers obviously the more you will get for your money. Try your best to build your schedule around the better educators, so that you can have the best educational experience possible!

    Am enjoying being here

    The school itself does have a lot to offer, from athletic programs, to clubs, to on campus jobs and activities. More often than not there is something that a lingering student can get involved in and really enjoy. The school size is large enough where you have the opportunity to meet a bunch of new people, yet small enough that you can see some of your high school classmates in passing. Just like any school it has not so great people and great ones as well.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently a student in Gloucester County's Teachers 2000 Program. The schedules for this program are a bit different than those of a regular full time student and as a result it is hard to find teachers willing to teach a. very early or b. accelerated courses. We tend to have very good adjunct teacher or very poor ones. I guess it is simply luck of the draw.

  • 01/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are undecided as to what your major should be, then GCC is a great choice. Most of the time, students pick a university that is known for having a good program with the major that they are interested in. If you are unsure, then there is no use in wasting the money to go to a four-year college. GCC offers everything and anything that you can imagine at a four-year school, but without dorms. It is perfect if you want to stay close to home, but don't want to live at home, because you could possibly get an apartment with the money that you are saving.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the college that you feel is right, and definitely remember that Gloucester County has a lot to offer. I feel that GCC offers the same services as any university that I have visited or attended, and it is much cheaper. It is not really the 13th grade that everybody from high school talks about, because there are so many people going to GCC. Gloucester County does not only consist of the people in your high school, so you are able to meet other people in the county.

    Bang for the buck

    GCC is cheap, and it is very nice. I do not see trash on the ground, or things written on the desks or walls. It is very well-kept and the professors each do their job beyond expectations. There is always someone there to help you along the way if you need it, and I am very thankful for that.

    Am enjoying being here

    Compared to my old university, GCC seems to have golden streets. I am so happy that I am here because I see all of my old friends from high school, and it is close to home. Everybody that I have encountered on campus has been friendly, and it has been a while since I have experienced this.

    Am learning a lot

    Although I have only been here a week, I am impressed with the integrity of the professors. They are determined to get the students educated, and I am happy that I made the switch from Montclair to here. I am excited to go to school, rather than dreading each day, and this is a first for me.

  • 07/20/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    High School Student or anyone looking to just get an associates degree

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be open and look at this college as a way to improve yourself.

    Bang for the buck

    Great amount of resources there to aid you as long as you ask and look around for it. Everyone there is friendly and there to help you.

    Did enjoy being here

    Loved it there will miss it meet tons of awesome teachers and students will miss all the fun I had.

    Did learn a lot

    Yes great college to start and get a feel for the college experience.

  • 09/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a community college, so of course classes are going to be worth it. But the school offers so many extra programs. For example - every week a free yoga class, daily tutoring, career help and guidance. Tons of clubs for whatever your interest. The school has a lot to offer. And almost all credits transfer to other NJ schools.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really am enjoying GCC. Close to home, low cost, and friendly faces. What more can you ask for in a school ?

    Am learning a lot

    I've loved every class and professor. Always thorough, always making sure every student is up to the pace. Same education as anywhere else, but I think the teachers care a lot about their students. It shows.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    it is a really great school.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    since i am only attending part-time and have a busy life outside of school, i don't attend many school functions.

    Food and Dining

    good options.

    Dorm Life

    non-applicable.....local college no dorm life.

    Tips for prospective students

    meet with your advisers...they are there to help you and can really help you make informative decisions.

    In three sentences

    i attend gcc part-time as a non-traditional student and have found the experience very rewarding. the advisers have been very helpful and inspiring to help me reach my goals. the instructors are professional and encouraging.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    phi theta kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a lot of different options for all interests.

    Great for these types of students

    all types!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    stress out day!

    Bang for the buck

    affordable!

    What to do for fun

    lots of student activities and clubs on campus to join.

    Food and Dining

    there are several different food options on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    the professors really enjoy teaching and usually willing to help in any way with problems.

    Tips for prospective students

    do your best! this is a gateway to higher education that makes it affordable for people with low income.

    In three sentences

    small and well-kept campus. good teacher to student ratio. affordable education.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is very safe. there are always security officers around to keep a watch out.

    Greek Life

    relatively small.

    Clubs and Activities

    offers a variety of clubs and activities that cater to the interests of all students.

    Great for these types of students

    gcc is great for students who are looking to transfer to a four-year university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    they always sell soft pretzels.

    Bang for the buck

    classes are cheap, its a good place to go in order to do general eds and then transfer.

    What to do for fun

    participate in extra-curriculars. gcc offers a variety of clubs that cater to each and every interest.

    Food and Dining

    food is good, they have a wawa and a chick-fil-a on campus. also, there are multiple vending machines and microwaves.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    its not relatively hard, some classes are harder than others, most professors try to work with the students in order to help them achieve the best education possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    as soon as registration opens up, register right away, so you get the classes that fit in your schedule. check 'rate my professor' before signing up for a class. use the back entrance, you'll get in much faster.

    In three sentences

    they offer a variety of classes. the campus is laid out nicely. multiple class times available to work around student schedules.

  • 03/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Study !!!!!

    In three sentences

    An amazing education at a fraction of the cost it would have been if I had gone right into a 4 year college.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never had a problem (:

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs consist of SGA, Ambassadors, swim, basketball, baseball, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    All types!

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you need in a two year college and mostly all credits transfer to schools world wide.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the lounges get involved in community service, and SGA.

    Food and Dining

    There's a wawa and a Chick-fil-a!!!!!

    Dorm Life

    Noen, community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Never had a problem with my teachers, they were all amazing in what they do.

    Tips for prospective students

    You'll love it! Simple ride, understandin staff, and great community serice activities.

    In three sentences

    Gloucester County College has amazing has a great staff that is not only well rounded, but knows what students need. The advisors help in tremendous ways and our helping me further my education through Ohio State. They have been with me every step of the way through transfering credits, etc.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good Security always lively, with emergency buttons located around campus.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    A decent amount of clubs and actives for a community college. They are however very active.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone trying to peruse a degree at a low cost, or preparing to transfer to a 4 year university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I am aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a community college it provides basic courses to get an associates or certificate programs. With the flexibility to eventually transfer the tuition is low costing.

    What to do for fun

    GCC has sports such as baseball, wrestling, track, tennis etc. They have a wide range of clubs and other actives to get immersed in.

    Food and Dining

    Although I have only eating at their actual cafeteria once, they do have a chick-fil-a. Which most people tend to enjoy. They do have options and a pretty good sized seating area.

    Dorm Life

    GCC does not provide on campus dorms it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of your teachers are helpful and understanding. They have a free tutor center to take advantage of as well. With any college you will run into some who don't work to well with students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend classes, never miss and be sure to do homework even if it is not graded.

    In three sentences

    Gloucester County College houses some prestigious degrees such as their nursing programs. However if you are pursing a degree in Computers look else where. Their lack of hands on training and updated material is shameful.

  • 09/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Because GCC has a police academy right on campus as well as a many members of security, it's a very safe place.

    Clubs and Activities

    As previously stated, GCC is top in the state for their sports! If you're not the sports enthusiast, there are clubs for all types of interests: art, religion, foreign culture, performing arts, photography, and many more.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for sports, clubs, a great and helpful community, and challenging studies would love Gloucester County College. Oh, and those who have to pinch their pennies!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is surrounded by miles of woodland trails that remind me of hiking in the mountains. There's also a vegetable garden.

    Bang for the buck

    GCC has the lowest tuition in New Jersey, but the classes are top notch when it comes to content. The campus is sprawling, the parking isn't as congested as it first looks, and the school is ever expanding! They recently added a beautiful lecture hall called the University Center, which helps students studying from other universities get their credits at a cheaper institution. Credits easily transfer to and from GCC as well, so you never have to worry about losing your previously spent dollars on furthering your education.

    What to do for fun

    Gloucester County College offers a plethora of clubs for those interested in performing arts, digital media, religious studies, and even a Japanese anime club. There's a handful of sports to choose from, a vast fitness center that is free to students, and a large library that offers a number of services aside from just lending out books. The campus also hosts marathons, volunteer yoga, and often has fairs promoting products from a variety of companies.

    Food and Dining

    GCC offers their Roadrunner Cafe, an Italian Bistro, and fast food options. Every place is affordable, runs on decent hours so you never have to go hungry, and has delicious choices for every palate.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at GCC.

    Academic Rigor

    For the classes I've had as an Exercise Science major, the curriculum is actually challenging. GCC expects the most out of their students, and they do not tolerate incompetence when it comes to school work. However, that doesn't mean the teachers expect perfection -- just an eagerness to learn. The classes provide substantial lecture or activity time, and you have to do the work to pass the class. There's no courses that you simply fly right through. You have to do your work, do your best, and stay focused in order to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should apply as soon as possible. Gloucester County College has had a recent influx of students due to its repute and its low tuition cost for in-state students. For international students, it is also a wonderful institution, for there are many foreign languages offered and plenty of assistance. People are friendly, the teachers are qualified and more than willing to help their students, and the rest of the staff is affable.

    In three sentences

    Gloucester County College is simply a wonderful place to go. Not only is it ranked high for Criminal Justice, it is also the top college in New Jersey for sports. GCC is also the most affordable community college in the state, and it offers a slew of academics for anyone looking for a well-rounded education.

  • 10/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never heard anything bad happen here. The area is very safe.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is cheap, make use of it and take as many classes as you can.

    What to do for fun

    I am not sure. I usually study and I don't participate in school activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent. There used to be a Chick-fil-a but the school replaced it with some italian place and it is not that good. Just go to the wawa in the school if you want food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty all depends on your major. The first year is usually really easy, but the second year can be really hard. In my case, I major in Biology so my second year is pretty difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you want to choose a teacher, go look up rate my prof. They will have very useful reviews about the teachers, so make sure you get a good one. There is a tutoring center, use it often it is free.

    In three sentences

    This school is a great start to your degree. If you are unsure about what you want to do with your future come to this school. There are some great teachers here, but some not so great teachers just like any other school.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The College Center seems to be a poplular hangout for students. I personally like the Instructional Center where the computer lab is.

    Food and Dining

    Road Runner Cafe Vending Machines in every building Can never go hungry if you could spare some change.

    Dorm Life

    Home is the dorm life. Travel varies depending on where you live.

    Academic Rigor

    The tutoring services really do a great job helping students who need help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not order books until you are offcially notified by your professor what to have for the course. Some courses may say a book is required, but you find yourself not really needing to purchase the book at all.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere is low key and small. The classes average about fifteen students who regularly attend. Tutoring services are great. Staff and students are nice.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security everywhere!!!!!! And little stands that have buttons and alarms to push just in case your in danger

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everyone. If you look for it you will find it

    Bang for the buck

    Some things are definitely pricey but its worth it in the end

    Food and Dining

    There are tons of things to eat

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here

    Academic Rigor

    This all depends on what major you are in

    Tips for prospective students

    Look up teachers before you select your class. Most teachers are fine but there are a few bad apples in the mix.

    In three sentences

    Gloucester county college has friendly teachers who go out of their way to help you succeed. From day one attending this college I realized how truly great my experience here was going to be. There is always something to do on campus plus it's a very safe place to be.

  • 01/26/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There were many clubs available for students to attend.

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional. part-time, full-time employed.

    Bang for the buck

    Great education for less money than a University. I paid for the entire 2 years with cash.

    Food and Dining

    There was some vending machines and a Chik-Fil-A was open for daytime students.

    Dorm Life

    There was no housing available.

    In three sentences

    The staff was very knowledgable even for a community college. They had convenient course hours/times.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Gloucester County College is a good school. It is affordable and local.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Since my two years of being here there has been no problems or altercations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It doesn't get any cheaper than this school. You get an an excellent education for a very cheap price.

    What to do for fun

    can join a sports team or club, other than that nothing.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small cafeteria that sells mediocre food.

    Dorm Life

    It is a community college, therefor everyone commutes.

    Academic Rigor

    They are mostly Gen Ed classes but that doesn't mean you will pass with flying colors without studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even though it is a cheap community college DO NOT over look applying for scholarships. Don't listen to your friends who say you don't even go to a real school because in the future they will be paying back debt while you go on vacation.

    In three sentences

    It is a economically smart school to pick, especially if you aren't 100% sure what you want to study. The class sizes are small so you know your professors well and they get to know you well also. If there is anything that anyone at that school could do for you, I am certain that they would.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hanging out is really the only thing you can do for fun. This college is geared more towards students who live in the area and want to obtain their associates'. A four-year university would have more options in terms of fun.

    Food and Dining

    There are a few options for food, including a small convenience store and an Italian diner. The food is average.

    Dorm Life

    This is a two-year county college so there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors give a lot of work and are very difficult and some hardly give any and are very easy; it varies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even though this is a community college, the classes are still difficult and are essentially the same classes at four-year universities so don't slack off.

    In three sentences

    Gloucester County College is a good starter college for those who may have had a difficult time in high school. The campus is nice, however it's small and the student population is also relatively small. Overall, it's a good start but I wouldn't recommend going here if you plan to take a long time obtaining your degree.

  • 06/09/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please take a science or math class your first semester there, if not it will hunt you for the rest of you college career.

    In three sentences

    Gloucester County College was the correct choice to go after I graduated high school. Even though I did not get much help from my advisor about transferring. Over all I would rate this school a decent school.

  • 10/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for stupid who want to start college college close to home then transfer.

    What to do for fun

    Many things at GCC to do for fun in the roadrunner cafe located in the College Center.

    Food and Dining

    Great dining opportunities.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Great courses and very convenient for everyone's schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always check the GCC portal for information from your professors.

    In three sentences

    GCC provides a great atmosphere for students to learn. The professors are always available to answer your questions. The students are nice and always help each other out.

  • 04/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security on campus and they are always present.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are countless clubs to join and activities to participate in.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that this school is worth the money. Other county colleges don't have as great a staff and professors as Gloucester County does. Getting a better education is worth traveling out-of-county for me.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of events and activities at the school as well as walking trails through the woods.

    Food and Dining

    It has a great cafeteria and a convenience store in the college center.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    They take education very seriously and employee some of the best professors I've met. They care about our education and give us the best resources to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are transferring to a university after attending Gloucester County College, check what classes transfer and how they transfer. Some of the classes don't match the university's classes so they transfer as a different and sometimes lower class. Also check what classes you may need at the university and take them at Gloucester County College to save money.

    In three sentences

    They are far above standard for a county college. They are very professional and conduct themselves like a university. The professors are helpful and are very good at their jobs.