Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Golden West College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/12/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    i would like to get any kind of financial scholarships possible.

  • 09/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    its good for students who arent sure they want to do in life and this is like a start for them to explore what classes they need to take for there career.

    Tips for prospective students

    if your looking for a local college in your area then this it or just need general classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Its nice school but taking two seperate classes is kind of difficult and a waste of money. class it self and then lab, dont see why dont combine the classes, and the books are the books are ridiculously priced, We spent almost three hundred dollars in spanish alone.

    Am enjoying being here

    Its a nice campus, they keep it clean, have good food, nice places to hang out, like the student center and the California Native Garden. The people in the bookstore are friendly and help out.

    Am learning a lot

    the teachers are detailed and explain the lessons well and answer the questions.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    study alot

  • 02/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the public safety officers are always on patrol. keeping the campus safe is what they do best (:

    Greek Life

    no frat or sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    as stated above, i'm in the vietnamese student association and i've been a member for 1 year already and i felt as if this committee became a part of my family. they're always there for you and will help you out through almost anything.

    Bang for the buck

    i really love this community college. the clubs here are very diverse, ranging from culture, gender identity, even heritage. i'm in the vietnamese student association and i've been a member for 1 year already and i felt as if this committee became a part of my family. they're always there for you and will help you out through almost anything.

    What to do for fun

    there's so much to do; clubs, choir, track&field, or simply just hanging out.

    Food and Dining

    cafeteria is always fresh with new items.

    Dorm Life

    since it's a community college, no dorms are necessary.

    Academic Rigor

    be on top of your competitors.

    Tips for prospective students

    tuition fees are cheap, atmosphere is energetic, most of all, this school is great!

    In three sentences

    golden west college is a simple, hard-working campus. the staff here are super friendly, informative, and helpful. i wish it were a university so i don't have to leave it so soon ):

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's a (tiny) game room, but there isn't much in it.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has limited options, but the breakfast burritos and coffee are both excellent

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the teacher, some were really easy, while others really make you work for your grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really use the teacher rating sites. Please take advantage of the counseling services, they can prevent you from taking unnecessary classes. It's best to make an appointment for them to draw up a plan, otherwise they don't really even look at your records if you go to the walk in counseling.

    In three sentences

    It a very chill campus. Some of the professors are really good, while others are not. Same goes for the academic counselors, I recommend Michelle.

  • 03/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Community college

    Great for these types of students

    Asian..lots of those

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    What to do for fun

    Must make your own fun. It's a community college.

    Dorm Life

    Community college, no dorm life

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused on goal no matter what obstacles come up

    In three sentences

    Friendly campus

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always someone around, but if you have a night class just park as close as possible to that class. Keep any valuables hidden in your cars. Better safe then sorry!

    What to do for fun

    Get into a sport, or join the many different groups that are available.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has pretty good food. I especially love the tossed salads made to order. There is also a awesome coffee stand right outside of the cafeteria. The food selection is pretty limited.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not sure if is housing available but the financial office should have those answers.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is filled with wonderful teachers. I have only had a few that weren't not so pleasant, but muscle threw and you will find it rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tip number one is to get to know the different departments and locations. Once you know that, finding a class is easy. Tip number two would be to park on the side of the school where your last class of the day is. Tip number three is study hard and show your teacher that your trying, especially if your having a hard time.

    In three sentences

    Golden West College is a wonderful school, and is well balanced, all around good junior college. Having taking a class in almost every department, I can say that some teachers are not always effective, but what I have learned is to fix the problem by simply finding another one. The school is small, which is why I went, but has a brand new building for the library and nursing departments.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the beach! You're in Surf City, USA!

    Academic Rigor

    It really just depends on the class. Generally, the more advanced classes are smaller and involve more participation.

    Tips for prospective students

    DO NOT rely on the counseling staff for transfer advice. Figure out what schools you want to go to, and then visit their admissions/transfer center and go over everything with them.

    In three sentences

    It's a great school with great teachers. They are always willing to help you succeed and will do whatever it takes to make sure you accomplish your goals. They are truly concerned with your future.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Golden West College always has something going on. Whether someone is engaging in freedom of speech or just playing their guitar, there is so much opportunity for great conversation and debate. Golden West College also offers free field trips for students and live bands often perform.

    Food and Dining

    Golden West College is surrounded by great places to eat. Fuji's Famous Burger is very popular, and the campus is walking distance from the Bella Terra. There is so much action around the campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Golden West College

    Academic Rigor

    I've had many challenges to overcome at Golden West College. However many professors are willing to help with what ever material is not understood. If you are a devoted student, the professors here will acknowledge your dedication.

    Tips for prospective students

    All students must see a guidance counselor at least twice a semester. The key to your success is to ask questions, and never be afraid to ask questions in class. Although asking questions is a task for some, your efforts will always be recognized by your professor.

    In three sentences

    Golden West College is an institution of beautiful people and beautiful minds. A place where intellect meets a society of students young and wise, to be inspired by challenging professors and a scenery set in nature. Golden West College is the perfect place to start your college experience.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There will never be a day where you do not see campus safety patrolling the campus. Security is especially active at night in order to prevent any student crimes. Yet they are ever so friendly to the students! They really care about keeping the campus as safe as possible.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many student activities to choose from, I don't even know where to start! Well, firstly there are a lot of positions available for those who think they want to be a council member or senator. Then there are over 26 clubs available to choose from such as G.L.A.S.S.A., the Gay, Lesbian, And Straight Student Alliance, the Christian Club, CNSA (CA Student Nursing Association), and VSA (Vietnamese Student Association). Last but not least there is the Inter-Club Council which meets twice a month and consists of one representative from every club on campus. ICC is the place where events are planned, coordinated, and then promoted by the clubs and Student Activities. There are also huge end of the year parties that are held by the council, senators, and all of the clubs! It's nothing but fun at the Student Activities office! The one place where you can make life-long friends!

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking, passionate, and dedicated. Perfect for students who love to be involved on campus. Students who like to be in clubs or who want to start a club.

    Bang for the buck

    There is a state of the art library located on the Goldenwest Street side of campus. There are study rooms on all three levels equipped with large flat screen monitors for students to study in a group. On the first floor there is a Tutoring Center, computer lab. and a Writing and Reading Center which is completely free for all students. Free tutoring?! Yes, it's true. Need I say more?

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous student council positions that students can join. At least twice a week there are fund-raisers being held by other clubs. Also, Golden West College does a great job by hosting many campus wide events such as Diversity Week, Red Cross Blood Drives, and Gay Pride Week. Golden West loves to celebrate the diverse nature of the campus and offer free food at a majority of the events. Other than that there is a large quad in the center of the school and a beautiful garden in the corner complete with trails and benches for students to relax.

    Food and Dining

    The food is fairly expensive, but sooo good. At least it's worth buying when you're starving.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Golden West College as this is a two-year community college.

    Academic Rigor

    I have had the honor of being taught by many amazing professors. Every professor I have had so far has been very passionate about the subject they are teaching. The professors are also very fair and reasonable, meaning that they understand very well that life happens sometimes, so just talk to the professor in person and they will do their best to help you. Most importantly, by giving this school five stars in academic rigor, I am saying that every class you take will be well worth your time.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is for those who want to make the most out of their college years. I never participated in any extracurricular activities in high school, but when I started to attend Golden West I realized that school is more fun when you're involved on campus. I am now president of a club and am on a first name basis with almost every department. I am also in five different programs that are there to help me out financially through school. Golden West quickly becomes a second home with the numerous accommodations that are available for just about every student to succeed. Student success is their number one goal after all.

    In three sentences

    Incredibly friendly staff, passionate faculty, and hard working students. Truly is a 'community' college based on the amount of students involved with student activities and government. The campus is always clean, calm, and very environmentally friendly.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Future Teachers club

    Great for these types of students

    Great teaching program

    What to do for fun

    The school provides pool tables and other games for students.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great and a little pricey.

    Dorm Life

    I would tell you if I lived in a Dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be difficult if you don't put the time in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be late to class. Sign up and pay for your classes Asap. Enjoy college life.

    In three sentences

    Golden West is a great campus. They provide great help to those who want to strive through school. I can from my first semester I have learned a lot and was provided with tons of information.

  • 02/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's not much to do for fun except make friends. Some gamers ma be interested in the game lounge inside the student center.

    Food and Dining

    The student center needs some improvement. Food choices run out in a week and it may be pricey. Some students go out of campus to find affordable choices. If you're lucky some clubs make events where all you have to do is prove you attend school and the meal is free.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here haha.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should appeal to the instructors good side and try to be friends outside the classroom. They should also hold healthy relationships with their counselors and staff who try to guide you in the best path for you. A community college might not be the ahead of the pack ideal most student wish for but somethings in life happen for a reason. At least for me, persisting in a community college was probably the best decisions i made in my academic life

    In three sentences

    This community college feels as if I am home. Instructors and faculty may seem distant at first but if you actually hold a human conversation, they are interesting people to talk to and receive insight from.

  • 02/17/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    i would like to get a scholarships for that if that's passable

    Will enjoy being here

    i will enjoy been there because i have always wanted to go there

    Will learn a lot

    i would love to learn lots of things from there like doing hair, make up and nalis

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I love that because of the BOG fee waiver I don't end up paying large chucks on money out of pocket to attend school. Plus they have tons of programs that assist with books and day cares should you need them.

    Food and Dining

    They have a great selection at the food court, the only downfall is the actual cooks close before 5pm so there's nothing fresh for the evening classes.

    Academic Rigor

    I find the classes to be challenging and the teachers to be helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early since classes are limited due to the cut backs.

    In three sentences

    I like Golden West, i've been attending since 2005 and have had the best experiences with my teachers and student body alike. I've found the teachers are very helpful. The campus is small and intimate so you don't get overwhelmed with students everywhere all the time.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The beach is just 15 minutes away from the college, during the hot days which here in Huntington Beach we get a lot, you can enjoy a great day at the beach. Also within minutes away you can stroll around downtown HB and there is endless places to visit to have a great time. Bowling and parks are just minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    Huntington Beach has great places for food and dining. They recently remodeled a shopping center next to the college that offers great options to eat, all around the college there is great options to go eat all different types of food.

    Dorm Life

    there is really no dorm life at the college, but the college is centered in Huntington Beach in a great community where there is a lot housing available from apartments for rent to rooms for rent, the college its minutes away from two freeways so it makes it easier to live in closer cities to the college but still within a reasonable time away from Golden West.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor would probably be that if you fail on a specific class more than 3 times than you are expelled from the district to take that class again at any of the other colleges within the district. But they offer great counselors that can help you take classes that will be right for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advice students to meet with a counselor to get a plan started so you can reach your goals. Use all of the resources provided by the school from financial aid, counseling, library departments to make the best out of time there while getting your undergraduates finished.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Golden West College a 10, because the campus is so clean, and big, with great resources. They have the new building to study and have group meetings, its great you can use one of the new closed door rooms to have a quiet area to study at or have group meetings. You can also use the computers. They have great staff members and they are very helpful in the counseling department and the career center as well as the registration office. They have a great campus

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The beach is a ten minute drive for some cool waves. There's also a nature center where you can go feed the squirrels and ducks that eat peanuts out of your hand. Watch out for the swans.

    Food and Dining

    There are some pretty tasty burgers there. Also, they have a mouth watering breakfast burrito that I try to get every morning. Try it!

    Dorm Life

    Absolutely no dorm life. I wish the was a dorm. But, there isn't.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are great compared to its sister schools. Just use rate my professor. With fairly simple academics its quite laid back. Although, some teachers are very rigorous teaching at a university level.

    Tips for prospective students

    First, register on time! Second, get to class on time! Third, study hard!

    In three sentences

    Golden West College has a great campus. The learning atmosphere is near perfection with lots of tutoring to go around. I would recommend this community college to any high school graduate.

  • 03/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    In this school, there is an arcade in a cafeteria, so you can have fun in there with your friends. Or, you can just play around with your computer at a library, since this school has great WI-FI connection.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria here looks nice, but there's a lots of other substitutes off campus, so I suggest getting your food there.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm in this school.

    Academic Rigor

    There isn't much campus rules in this school, so you can relax for most of the time. However, your course might be little difficult if your professor is strict.

    Tips for prospective students

    Since the campus is complicated, you might want to check the location of your classes before you began your course. Also, don't waste your money on textbook, since you can rent one in a library (but buy a book if you're going to use it daily).

    In three sentences

    Golden West College is a great place to find your opportunity. Everyone who works there tries very hard to help you meet your standards in a polite manner. Also, many professor here has a sense of humor to motivate you during class.

  • 03/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus patrol is always roaming around making sure all the students are safe and sound.

    Clubs and Activities

    Club VSA was awesome. We did plenty of things around the campus and participated in many public events.

    Bang for the buck

    The bookstore workers are the best and the prices in there are great.

    Food and Dining

    There is plenty of places to eat around the campus. Gives you a variety of delicious choices to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The only difficulty about the college setting is getting adjusted to the pace, either coming back from a break or just starting school.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for the upcoming class would be to work hard and try to transfer quickly. The more time you waste, the more lost you become. I learned the hard way.

    In three sentences

    Golden West College is just another community college. The only thing I believe that separates them from other colleges, is the transfer center workers. I believe this is one of the top community colleges in Orange County.

  • 04/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Joining clubs, there are plenty of fun clubs and activities to join.

    In three sentences

    Golden West College is a small but great environment college. The school, staff and students are nice and friendly. It is a good college to start up your future career.

  • 09/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I like to play sports and work out.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food here is awesome

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't know because I don't live on campus or in an apartment nearby

    Academic Rigor

    It's good

    Tips for prospective students

    I'd highly recommend students to come study here after high school. If your looking to go to school without having to pay so much on tuition or for your classes and are looking to transfer to a four university, than this is the best place to be.

    In three sentences

    Golden West College is great community college. The professors here are awesome and they really do help their students out. The criminal justice program here is really good.

  • 11/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have never ate hear

    Dorm Life

    I never dormed.

    Academic Rigor

    Great teachers who are open to help out there students.

    In three sentences

    Golden West College provides students with a great opportunity to further there education. The school does so by providing great financial aid and programs. The library is a great source for help with school.

  • 12/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Security are always on top of things. The men and women working security are friendly and are there for you if you are ever in need of anything. Be sure to buy a parking permit as they are always on top of that and will generously hand out tickets!

    Greek Life

    I unfortunately do not believe we have any fraternities or sororities on campus here at Golden West.

    Clubs and Activities

    All of the sports teams at Golden West seem to be very close-knit. I have made friends with people in almost all of the sports teams and we hang out, outside of campus as well. With that being said we are all very supportive of each other when it's time for our sport. For example, I play football and all of the friends that came out to support my teammates and I were returned in their favor as I went and supported them i.e. volleyball, softball, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Golden West is a great place for all types of students! They offer many different courses and plenty of great professors in which to teach you. Sports programs are very consistent and enjoyable. If you are a student that doesn't feel as if they are ready for University life Golden West will allow you to slowly become your own person and will slowly prepare you for life after Junior College.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Golden West usually has something similar to Clubs Rush day in high school in which all the clubs offer you a position in there club with the right requirements. This happens right in the middle of campus or in the Quad. The LRC or Learning Resource Center is great place to study. The setting is comfortable and quiet so that you can get all the work that you need done. Their hours are very available especially during finals.

    What to do for fun

    Golden West is in the city of Huntington Beach and literally about 10 minutes driving distance away from the beach. Downtown Huntington has many different bars and restaurants which are always fun and a good way to meet people or spend time with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Golden West cafeteria offers breakfast and lunch in which you can not go wrong in either choice. Sometimes the food may seem like it's a little pricey but it is good and very convenient.

    Dorm Life

    Golden West College unfortunately does not offer dorms seeing as how they are a small Junior College. Hopefully in the future they build some as it would be very conveient. But fortunately there are plenty of places in which you can choose to stay which are very close to campus. All within five-ten minutes walking distance.

    Academic Rigor

    The strength of your schedule is solely up to you. Your courses can be as easy or as hard as you choose to make it, just like at any other school. Be sure to always test your academic caliber by challenging any courses that you feel that you should or should not be in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on top of all deadlines and keep track of your gpa and credits in order to receive priority registration!

    In three sentences

    Golden West Counselors are very helpful and available when you need them. Golden West students are very involved on and off campus. The professors that I have had at Golden West loved their job therefore are there for you when you need it.

  • 12/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Game Room

    Tips for prospective students

    Just try, try, try. Give it your best and don't forget to have fun along the way.

    In three sentences

    The Staff are friendly Plenty of Programs Useful Classes

  • 01/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Golden West College is not too far from the beach. Students can hang out at the beach and relax. It is also very close to shopping centers and restaurants.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't know what you want to major in yet, I would suggest going to a community college such as Golden West College. You can take classes at a cheap price, explores many field, and decide what you want to major in.

    In three sentences

    It is a beautiful campus. Golden West College offers a variety of programs. The teachers are excellent.

  • 02/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Get in EOPS if you can!

    Bang for the buck

    Great teachers, for the most part. Definitely join programs available to you.

    What to do for fun

    The theater shows are pretty fun, and there are various events and games to attend as well if you are interested. If you are in clubs your options open up more.

    Food and Dining

    Sadly there doesn't seem to be much good food to eat on campus, not many options in the cafeteria and can be pricey imo.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms not offered.

    Academic Rigor

    Homework/Study load can get a little heavy even without having a job (Though I am in a heavy science/math major so I'm sure that effects my load.)

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to the EOPS program, or see if you qualify for CARE, EFY, and ACE programs, they are tremendously helpful!

    In three sentences

    Golden West, so far, has been a great school. There are a lot of programs that can cover most, if not all, enrollment, book, and material fees. Involvement in the clubs and programs help to provide an excellent support system for their students.

  • 02/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Be aware that while not much happens on Golden West happens that can directly alter your safety, the things that do are those that security isn't entirely in control of. I see security more actively passing out parking tickets than assisting anyone else. There isn't a lot of crime on campus, but my car has been broken into once. When I approached security to help, they said they would file a report, but did nothing else. There is no easy way to reach security other than to call. Just be sure that if you take a night class, never walk to your car alone.

    Great for these types of students

    There's a no smoking rule on campus, which I find fantastic. It's a small campus, so not much walking is required. There is always parking, especially after the first two weeks when people start to drop classes. It has a very nature-like aesthetic to the campus as a whole. Not that many people on campus most of the time. It's great for students looking for a good balance.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a free speech walkway located between the old library and the student store. Here, students are free to speak about whatever they like, and nobody on campus can stop them. Be sure to avoid this area if you don't want to get verbally harassed about other people's causes and beliefs!

    Bang for the buck

    Bang for the buck all depends on your own income. There is an office on campus that offers discounts of tickets for everything around the area, including Knotts Berry Farm and Disneyland. That's a great place to go if you're looking for ideas and don't want to spend a lot of dough.

    What to do for fun

    Check for activities going on during the week. Golden West always has something going on. Go to Club Rush, attend events on campus, get involved with the school. There are even dances and video game tournaments! Be sure to check out everything going on and find something to your own liking. There is also a lot going on all around Orange County, plenty of beaches and places to go to.

    Food and Dining

    On campus, there is a cafeteria with a chef that prepares food. In my opinion, they are overpriced and the food isn't worth what you pay, but if you're desperate for a snack between classes, you can definitely eat there, as it is easily locatable in the middle of the campus. There are plenty of other fantastic locations to eat all around the Huntington Beach area, in fact far too many to go over. Ask students around campus and look online for the greatest locations to dine around the area.

    Dorm Life

    If you're looking to dorm at Golden West, it's not going to happen. Most community colleges don't offer dorms, and the cost of living can be expensive. My best recommendation would be to find an apartment close by with a roommate if you can't live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    I have had both good and bad experiences at Golden West as far as instructors go. Most of the classrooms have slightly outdated technology that goes out every now and then, though their staff is always there to find a solution and fix the problem quickly. Some teachers have been terrible by the book instructors, but not enough for me to personally berate the campus as a whole. In general, you're going to get a good education here, along with fantastic opportunities to keep you moving forward.

    Tips for prospective students

    Community college life at Golden West is centered mostly around those who are local to the area. Ask other students what's great to do around the area: where to eat, hang out, and makes sure to take advantage of all the opportunities Gold West provides to further your education.

    In three sentences

    Golden West College, commonly known by many peers in the Orange County hub as G Dub can best be described as a college not too far out of reach out of the ideal community college. Though underrated compared to the nearby OCC, proclaimed to be the greatest community college in all of Southern California, Golden West is an easy to navigate school, with fantastic staff and plenty of opportunities to fulfill whatever requirements are necessary for most majors. Whether is is your goal to get an AA or transfer, Golden West offers many services to help you along the pathway to further education, up to and including academic counseling, a career and transfer center, tutoring, financial aid, library fully stocked with computers, and a passionate team of instructors.

  • 04/06/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 28

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    The Campus is really nice and very straight forward. The teachers there seem eager to help out the students. I am excited to attend Golden West.

  • 05/24/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe campus

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    friendly activities leaders

    Great for these types of students

    ambitious low income

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    study

    Food and Dining

    There are several malls and eateries within a block

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    This college is average in academic rigor

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your studying and research your teachers before choosing them.

    In three sentences

    Golden West College is a very nice community college. There are good transfer opportunities and the theater department is above par compared to its peers. The atmosphere at Golden West is friendly and supportive.