Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Goldey-Beacom College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/22/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Apply Apply Apply !!! and good luck

    Bang for the buck

    ?????

    Will enjoy being here

    The activities are always booming can't wait to get involved !

    Will learn a lot

    Love The small atmosphere it feel like home !

  • 03/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    great for International students, and athletic students, and also our brainiac students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply Apply Apply...you wont regret it, also stop by and receive a tour to get a better feel for the school.

    Bang for the buck

    The Financial Aid office is very accessible. My advisor was very help for and she made sure i received the best financial aid package.

    Am enjoying being here

    Goldey have many events, and programs here, Karaoke Night, Pool Tournaments, and Pizza Parties....Casino night was the best, even though I gambled away most of my money loll

    Am learning a lot

    The school is very helpful to student academically. We offer peer tutoring, and very flexible office hours for our professors, Psychology was the best so far. My psychology teacher was actually the author of the text book we used, which i found very fascinating.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's fairly expensive but after all it is a private college, and our degree means so much.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try and get an athletic scholarship it helps a lot with housing costs and you can't beat more scholarship money!!!

    In three sentences

    It's a small, yet private business college. The classes are smaller than normal colleges, and you get a lot of one on one time if needed.

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent. I have never once felt unsafe. I have yet to see a non-geriatric security guard. Don't get me wrong they are nice, and for a campus that has no criminal activity problems it's great. But if a serious assault situation, or break in, or any situation that requires speed strength and stamina, I seriously doubt they can provide the security force necessary if a serious situation were to ever occur.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have NEVER seen anyone take these clubs seriously. They are great and their intentions are beautiful, but they don't receive the attention they deserve.

    Bang for the buck

    It all depends on you and of you let their mistakes get to you: Totally incompetent staff in the Business Office, if you enjoy STUDENTS handling your account with their numerous errors go ahead and apply. Inadequate professors who despite bad reviews (they lie and say they will not invite a professor to come back if they have overall negative reviews) are still gainfully employed; professors that are NOT student friendly and dictate lessons from absolute personal perspective/ bad attitudes; if your opinion differs good luck with that. NOT all, but you WILL encounter them at least twice a semester and there's nothing anyone does about it. Overall it seems welcoming but the school is really about the selves, making money, and desperate to hire any person who had the top rank in their degree. All they see is money and how to make money. In the beginning you will see Goldey is cool, but as time progresses you realize you're paying the salary for these people and they WILL NOT accommodate you if it is an inconvenience or will make anyone look bad. They keep interdisciplinary and whatever other problems under wraps. Only doing damage control to fix their image, coercing students to think of a situation differently, or say they will take action and don't and if you follow up its some lame excuse for why it didn't happen. I have NEVER seen a staff member get the blame, unless of course they are trying to squeeze them out. Which I have seen that before also. Don't live on campus, don't socialize and make personal relationships, go there get your education and leave.

    What to do for fun

    There's a plethora of things to do at Goldey and in the surrounding areas.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent food and dining. The staff is the complaint. The students who do work in the cafeteria are NOT friendly, only to those with whom they are friends, they are NOT disciplined for their bad attitudes ever.

    Dorm Life

    If we pay for room and board, tuition and whatever else don't you think it would at least be nice if they assured all students who LIVE on campus can access wifi? Yeah. Not everyone can because the signal is horrible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep to yourself, take good notes, and keep all detailed important interactions of an degree recorded. Mistakes are inevitable, we are humans. But unless you have it noted and can prove it, you will never win.

    In three sentences

    Excellent student to professor ratio. Very comfortable setting. READ THE REST OF THIS REVIEW BEFORE MAKING A DECISION.

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's an expensive school when you look at first, but with the amount of scholarships and aid they offer you, it is really affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There are always all types of events posted around campus, and on weekends there are a lot of bus trips to different museums, aquariums, NYC, etc.

    Food and Dining

    I enjoyed the student lounge cafe. They were quick and inexpensive.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in the dorms but I have heard good things.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a fast paced school, so the classes are fair, but they go by so quickly you must be prepared.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you study.

    In three sentences

    Great college for students that want to work at a fast pace. The professors are always available for help. The classes are always small.

  • 01/06/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is heavily watched with 2 security guards and on duty RA's for a campus of about 400 students. Everything is watched and is found out quickly by the staff of the school.

    Greek Life

    There isn't any Greek Life on this campus or at this school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are sports teams and also clubs such as Student Government (SGA) , a Drama Club,(TAB) and a Gay Straight Alliance,(GSA).

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students that know what they want to study, also great for students with very shy personalities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't any traditions or rituals at this school.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is very expensive for the quality of the education. The prices is just about as much as attending ivy league schools such as NYU or Columbia University.

    What to do for fun

    There honestly isn't much to do unless your into sports. This school revolves around sports.

    Food and Dining

    There is a food court at the school but there are strict hours. All your food is on you, but there are lots of places to eat out and deliver as well, even a supermarket across the street.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't really much going on other then activities during the week. The dorms are spacey but there inst much privacy. The campus is extremely small.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the professors are more strict on you then other. The courses are way too easy, there is also classes that are empty credits because they will not transfer to other schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in mind to what you really want to study because there isn't a wide range of majors. Also keep in mind is living on campus what you really want to do.

    In three sentences

    A very small conservative school. The staff is very friendly and create close bonds to their students. there is not a wide verity if majors.

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    you make you own food = ))))))))))))

    Dorm Life

    Its perfect its like a mini apartment

    In three sentences

    Goldey-Beacom is a WONDERFUL college its a place where all new freshmens would want there college to be like.

  • 08/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The sports are big at the college, so as soon as there is a home game everyone is there! There are also student activities through out the day.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the lightening cafe is very good! They give you a lot of food, so you are never hungry for more once you finished your meal. They have healthy options too like wraps and salads.

    Dorm Life

    Its very nice to have a kitchen and living room, and 2 bathrooms. Its much like an apartment, it is very convenient

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are tougher than others, which is to be expected. The home work is never to overwhelming however because the teachers will help and try to accommodate you if you ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    The small class sizes are great, so do not be afraid to ask questions and get help from your teacher. They are all very accommodating and willing to help. Also, dont be shy to get involved with the student life activities! You will meet a lot of new people and have a lot of fun!

    In three sentences

    Goldey Beacom has a great mix of people from all different races and countries. Students are extremely friendly and easy to get along with. Teachers are there to help, and will make time for you.

  • 11/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food is very good here. I would love to eat at the café every day.

  • 05/18/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is ok.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are standard but there are a lot of great activities and you will meet a lot of great people.

    Academic Rigor

    Its pretty tough, but getting a degree is worth it.

    In three sentences

    Its a really great school with a lot of opportunities. Its definitely a social school, so be prepared to have fun. The education is also really great, so its worth your money.