Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Gordon State College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/07/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 12 people found this review useful. 1 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    great for students who did not do so well in high school and need help transitioning to college; great for students who are not recieving financial aid and have to pay their own way, great for students who are intimidated by big classes like most universities and need more personal attentiont and help.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have the time, take a summer class or two each year, they're easier and only last a month. that way if you have a semester with a bunch of hard classes, you can take 9 or so hours as opossed to 15 and still be on track to graduate on time.

    Bang for the buck

    it's an inexpenssive school, good for student paying their own tuition without any financial aid or scholarships.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy the size of the school and the location, but it is pretty easy (atleast the first year) i like something a bit harder; therefor, i am going to apply for the honors program before i transfer schools

    Am learning a lot

    Gordon is a good start for students right out of high school, usually first year freshman go crazy when they move to college, but gordon is not a huge party school so it is easier to focus on academics. the class sizes are small and the professors are personal with each student. unlike most colleges, the professors at gordon learn each and every students name, academic tendencies, study skills, etc.. and use this as a way to personally help each person to suceed.

  • 08/12/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 2 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Gordon College is great for students that like small class sizes, a small campus, and a local campus feel. Most classes have around 30 students in them, which helps when getting to know them. The professors get to know you as a student as well, and if you're the kind of person that likes the sound of that, then you should definitely check out Gordon College!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're a high school junior or senior, I would strongly suggest that you visit Gordon College at least once in your search of finding the college that's right for you. They have plenty of Campus Visit Days where you can visit and get a tour of the campus, to see if you like the college. Even if you're unsure if Gordon College is right for you, go ahead and apply anyway. If you are accepted, it may help you in the decision of finding your right college. If you decide that Gordon isn't right for you, then you don't have to attend there, but at least you know that you got accepted. That's always good for boosting your confidence, especially if you feel that you didn't do well on your ACT or SAT. This simply helps relieve some of the stress when searching and applying to colleges.

    Bang for the buck

    Gordon College is absolutely the best college in Georgia to go to if you're on a tight budget. You get the same education for much less than you would at any other college in Georgia. Even though most students only get their Associates before they transfer to another college, Gordon does offer 4-year programs for Nursing and Early Childhood Education. If you're looking to go in either of those fields, then Gordon College is the right college. You will save a lot of money and get the exact same degree as someone else who paid a lot more and attended another college.

    Am enjoying being here

    Gordon College is great for high school seniors who are nervous about college and will help with the adjustment from high school to college. The campus is small, and easy to walk from one end to the other. There's almost no way to get lost, which helps for first-time college students. There are also many different dorms to choose from, so if a person decides that commuting isn't right for them, then they can always live on campus. The only negative thing about Gordon College's location is that there isn't much to do. There's no movie theater or bowling alley in Barnesville, but Gordon does have a student center with a rec room where you can hang out and play games. Although there isn't much do to around Barnesville, there are plenty of places to eat, and many restaurants to choose from.

    Am learning a lot

    Gordon College is a wonderful college for first-time college students. They offer classes at local high schools around Georgia, which helps minimize the amount of gas commuters have to pay for. They have many classes to choose from and the professors really want to help you learn. Most will do whatever is best to help you understand the material. Gordon College is a great start to your college education. Most students attend for 2 years, receive their Associates degree, and transfer to another school.

  • 07/14/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Gordon is great for everyone, but mostly students who do not want to escape the small town scene.

    Tips for prospective students

    My high school teachers have always told me attending college is hard, but after going through the paper work process, I think attending college is the easy part. A simple tip for prospective students: get all paperwork in and make sure everything is filled out neatly and correctly. To make the process simpler, complete the application online, just make sure all information is correct. Do not worry if you will get in or not. Gordon seems to have the reputation of accepting everyone. One last tip: Make the most of your college experience because you only live once.

    Bang for the buck

    My mom has always told me, It does not matter what college you go to or how much you pay, you still get the same education. Although I do not agree whole-heartedly, Gordon does give you a decent education without breaking the bank.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have always wanted the urban lifestyle, and Gordon is smack dead in the middle of the country. I guess it depends on what kind of college environment the students prefer in order to determine if they enjoy it or not.

    Am learning a lot

    Gordon is a small junior college set in the small town of Barnesville, GA. Because the classes are so small, the students are able to have one on one time with the professor. The students are able to learn more and understand the lectures better. I know I did.

  • 01/03/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for first year college students, returning college students, and the non traditional student.

    Tips for prospective students

    You Gain the College experience, you gain the friendships and you enjoy the small town atmosphere, what more could you ask. The on campus living is reasonable price with dormitories ranging from traditional, honors room and apartment style living. I advise any prospective student to get involve, join clubs and campus events, and to also make time for studying and hanging out with friends.

    Bang for the buck

    Here are the golden points. Gordon College is one of several, if not the only most inexpensive school in the state of Georgia to attend. Not only are you getting your money worth with the small class ratio, and PhD level professors, you are also saving money and being able to pay back any student loans, if you even needed to take out many. Gordon College is more than worth the expense in comparison to other colleges and universities

    Did enjoy being here

    Gordon may not offer the lavishing city life atmosphere, but you are offered the warm and friendly small town hospitality which help make Gordon a place you enjoy being around. The small rural town setting, friendly faculty and staff, and opportunities for a long time friendships make it hard to every leave.

    Did learn a lot

    The academic classes are fairly small with a ratio of 25 students to every 1 professor. Over half of Gordon faculty have earned their PhD and more than half the professors are friendly and enthusiastic to help further your education. There is very much a fun and goal oriented classroom environment and the fulfilling opportunities of getting to know your professor more, therefore take full advantage

  • 09/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for anyone new to college or anyone who has been out of school for awhile and wants to come back.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't underestimate the school with how it is called Kindergordon in some place because it still can be as difficult as any other school. I would also say starting off here with the core would be very help financially as well.

    Bang for the buck

    It is really good for the price which is the main reason I started out here at Gordon.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy it here although there isn't a lot going on at the campus all the time. It has more of a laid back feeling to it.

    Am learning a lot

    With the majority of teachers with PhDs you learn a good bit and the classes are small than that of a bigger college so you are able to communicate with the professor easier.

  • 06/24/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is good for students that want to earn there degree and have more of a personal relationship with teachers more than just being another face they see in a class room.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like one on one time with professors and need help with understanding certain things, then this is the place to go.

    Bang for the buck

    The price of going to this school is not expensive whatsoever. The school will help you out. Financial Aid is available to all students who cannot afford to go to college. They also will point you in the right direction of what scholarships you will be eligable to apply for.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is not very big, meaning the people we see we will be able to know and also be able to establish friendships.

    Will learn a lot

    I have a good feeling that i will be learning a lot at this school. From listening to the professors at orientation, I have learned that they will not only tech to us during class, but that will meet with us before or after class to help us on anything that we need help with.

  • 08/01/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For those who know where they are head, and for those who want to raise their GPA.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take courses that apply to your major of choice, and don't waste time

    Bang for the buck

    when going to any college you have to re-learn your high school to keep them fresh in the noggin. If you re-learn them in Gordon it saves money oppose to learning them in the average four year school

    Will enjoy being here

    So far its great. Gordon will help you higher your GPA

    Will learn a lot

    Gordon college will help students knock out the general studies such as math, science, history etc. etc.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police drive around the campus 24/7 and we have security guards in each dorm after 10 pm

    Greek Life

    none what so ever

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs depend on the type of person you are

    Bang for the buck

    its pretty cheap and a good start for those wishing to get a degree further than their associates

    What to do for fun

    There isn't that much to do since barnesville is kind of a dead area

    Food and Dining

    You have pizza, cheese burgers and a salad bar everyday. They also have a different entree and innovation food selection. Wednesday's are fried chicken days at lunch. so, if you're a junk food type of person , its great but, there aren't that many selections for vegetarians.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is what you make it.

    Academic Rigor

    Each teacher teaches differently. If you happen to get an easy teacher, the class and stuff learned in that class will be easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't waste anytime. If you have work to do, do it. Don't procrastinate because time will fly quickly. I wish I could go back and redo my first year because i've made a lot of mistakes.

    In three sentences

    Gordon college is what you make it. If you act like your time there is leisure time, you'll get kicked out but, if you take the opportunity your given to better yourself , you'll do just that. Don't take anything lightly

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security on speed dial.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs that range from gardning to puppys.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone that likes to socialize while getting an education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Buggy Day is a giant carnival which they host every year. They have bouncers, funnel cakes, crafts and more.

    Bang for the buck

    Explore the campus and historical sites in the town.

    What to do for fun

    Explore the town. Attend the activities the campus throws. Go to the sports games, and make your own.

    Food and Dining

    A variety of dishes are available in the cafe. There are smaller eating areas around the campus, in which you can use your meal plan to purchase even when the cafe is closed.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms is AWSOME. . You get your own room to personalize to what fits you best.You get to mingle and experience so many different personality's. There are always personal events for your building, and sometimes the other buildings host giant events.

    Academic Rigor

    Go to class everyday, some teachers give extra credit just for showing up. The library is the ultimate place for studying and meeting study buddies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit all of the dorm rooms, ask students while visiting their opinion on there current room. Don't be afraid to get on a social network or ask what teachers the students perfer. Explore the town there are alot of unique shops, and the town host lots of events.

    In three sentences

    A great school for a beginning college student. Living on campus is a great way to meet new people and study partners. Gordon is also a nice head start to being on your own.

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    games there is alot to do every week.

    Food and Dining

    great.

    Dorm Life

    never lived on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    great

    In three sentences

    it is a great school. everyone at the school is helpful. i love the campus.

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    do not procrastinate! start early on everything so you can get it out the way!

    In three sentences

    i like that the classes are smaller, because it is more personal. it also helps me to learn more efficiently!

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    nothing serious happened while i have attended so far.

    Clubs and Activities

    not too much activities going on. it's a pretty quite environment.

    Bang for the buck

    there are many opportunities to work at the school, there is a great student center with many tutoring math, english, and sciences.

    What to do for fun

    movies nights, sports, game rooms, pool tables just to name a few.

    Food and Dining

    breakfast, lunch, and dinner is buffet style.

    Dorm Life

    there are many choices some of which includes suites and apartment style dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    some professor are harder than other just as any other school would you just got to pick and schedule accordingly. ;)

    Tips for prospective students

    be ready to learn and prepare well.

    In three sentences

    gordon is a close knit community. the classes are usually no larger than 20 to 30 students depending on the coarse. the professors are professional with a solid background in teaching effectively. many which are graduates of ivy league universities.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's trying to improve

    Clubs and Activities

    too many to type, but me myself I'm in Campus Activity Board, Gospel choir etc..

    Great for these types of students

    small town people

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    THe village green is where everything happens

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition isn't bad but rent on the other hand is a no.

    What to do for fun

    Have a car, i can't stress how much you really need a car. Gordon is located in a small town. The school try to do things around campus put that's not going to be a lot. Griffin is where everything at, but you need a car in order to get there.

    Food and Dining

    Have money and a car so you can go out and eat!!!!!!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is not all what they crack it up to be, but Gordon is trying to improve on that aspect of the school.

    Academic Rigor

    You really need to study!!!!!!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    The Housing at Gordon is trying to improve, but if your one to not like people breathing down your back stay off campus.

    In three sentences

    Gordon College is a great school. Gordon have many two year programs and is currently adding on. Gordon is a great school if you want to be in a small town and small class

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They updated there saftey. There are police everywhere

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    I was on SGA, CAB, Internartional Club, GSA, and Earth Wind and Fire

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for those who want to experience the college lifestyle to see if they would like it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus was in the country. it was hard to do stuff, but with friends we always found something.

    What to do for fun

    Hang with friends and go to the movies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and dont flunk out of college

    In three sentences

    Gordon College was the right college for me. It made college life simple and easy to understand. Im glad i attended Gordon College

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will feel very secure.

    Greek Life

    There are none.

    Clubs and Activities

    Science club ,SAAB,Christian club,Gay straight alliance, dance team step team and many more

    Great for these types of students

    Students who lack financial assistance and who like to build a relationship with his or her professors

    Bang for the buck

    Gordon is a school where you can get to know your professor personally due to the fact of it not being a big school.I enjoy my stay while I reside there.Even it isn't a university you will get a experience you will never forget.Sometimes you have to start small to get to bigger things.

    What to do for fun

    Attend basketball games or any athletic game in general.There are fun programs on campus as well.There is also a game room and a swimming pool.

    Food and Dining

    The food is divine.Different varieties from carribean to italian to American and many more.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice.Depending on the type of person one is could help determine which room he or she would desire most.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors like to build a bond with his or her students.Classes can be challenging but anything is possible if you put your mind to it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Complete assignments early as possible and submit before they are due.Make use of any local resources i.e. library,tutoring center and also classmates for study groups.Pay close attention and do your best and rise to the challenge.Learning should continue throughout life.

    In three sentences

    Gordon is a good way to start off as a freshman for those who do not obtain a high gpa or nervous about college in general.It isn't that big of a school .However, Gordon is not so much as an easy school but it can be very challenging.In addition, Gordon offers a preview of what a University could actually be like.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety does a very good job.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are few club, take part.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The cafe during lunch time.

    What to do for fun

    I hang with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright but you'll eventually grow tired of eating the same thing every week.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a good way to meet new people and participate in school events.

    Academic Rigor

    Apply yourself in each course and check RateYourProfessor.com before registering for a course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply yourself in your academic courses and participate in the student events.

    In three sentences

    I would say that Gordon College is good to start off year first few years of college. Gordon is a good opportunity to get your GPA up in case you need. Gordon College is a very good school overall.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police officers circulate very frequently.

    Greek Life

    None. Only Swazi step team

    Clubs and Activities

    There is only on club in town. The is filled with local residents and gordon college students only. The school is one hour and a half from atlanta.

    Great for these types of students

    Looking to transfer to a university. For students who are interested in Gordon's nursing program. Students looking to major in nursing and/or education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Small town, very little to do.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for. The school is cheaper than most university but it is smaller.

    What to do for fun

    Excercsie room even though it is very small . Basketball. Movies in Griffin.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is not very accommodating. You eat on a schedule and you are not allowed to take food out. If you live on campus, you must purchase a meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    Expensive to live on campus. There are local apartments however I would recommend living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Easy if you study! Great nursing program but harder to stay in the program then to get into the program. Study!

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a car to get around. Use ratemyprofessor.com. Study! Most teachers use powerpoint that have all the information you need.

    In three sentences

    There is great opportunites at Gordon College to further you education. Great teachers. Small town with little to do, you must have a car.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is superb at Gordon.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student willing to show up and try their best. Students with not alot of money.

    Bang for the buck

    For how much the tuition is and the quality of the classes and professors id say its solid 10.

    What to do for fun

    As far as fun theres not much to do in Barnesville unless you like making your own fun. Me and my friends play football or go to the town of Barnesville to get a bite to eat and what have you.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Gordon is very processed and only a little better than highschool food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Gordon college is good depending one which dorms you stay in. If you have the money go with the appartment style if not the traditional dorms are not the greatest but they are a place to stay.

    Academic Rigor

    Overall Gordon is not a hard college i would give it a 7 out of 10. The most challenging course i have taken so far is Chemistry, but any science subject is challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with a good attitude and a strong drive the same is for any college. The professors dont put up with childish behaviors. If you were the class clown in highschool dont bring your humor here because people who care dont appreciate it.

    In three sentences

    Overall for a junior college Gordon is a 8 the people are nice, campus is beautiful, and professors are helpful. They could really use some work on the food, its not the best. I also wish the fees would decrease but we all know thats not happening.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Gordon College has an extremely safe campus. There are call boxes located all around the campus that any student can push to get immidiate service. Campus police are constantly making rounds around the campus to ensure safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities available for students. From all different types of sports (football, basketball, baseball, tennis, soccer) to their wide variety of clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Gordon College is perfect for starting students (freshman and sophmores). It has a welcoming atmosphere and all buildings are easy to find and in comfortable walking distance of each other.

    Bang for the buck

    Gordon College is much cheaper than most well known colleges like UGA or West Georgia. However, just because they are cheeper, does not mean they do not lack the excelence that those same colleges have. For the price Gordon charges it is more than worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Gordon college is located in the heart of Barnesville. If going to different games or theatre performances is not your style, the campus also has many different activities available every day of the week. Also, because of its location, if there is nothing to do on campus, there are shopping centers and restaurants within walking distance of the college.

    Food and Dining

    The food is fantastic. Unlike most colleges, where you get your food then pay for how much you've taken, Gordon College has a miniature food court. A student pays a certain amount to get in the cafeteria, then is allowed access to all you can eat buffets. There is a deli, salad bar, food of the day, burgers and fries, pizza and desserts.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived on campus, however, from what I have seen. The dorms are extremel well kept and there is a variety of different room styles to choose from. The Dorm Advisors do an excelent job of staying available and keeping all residents in check of their duties. The rooms are a comfortable size.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is excelent. Teachers and faculty are constantly available (in person or by email) to help any student. There are help centers specialized for each subject. The work is not hard or extremely easy-depending on the teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, I advise that you do not slack off. Do not be afraid to ask questions and get to know your teachers. The entire staff is there to help you strive to excellence, so do not ignore their help. Also, take advantage of the help centers and tutors.

    In three sentences

    Gordon College is a fantastic, beautiful college that strives to meet the expectations of its students. Its professors and staff are extremely helpful and understanding. This college has such a welcoming atmosphere, that a student has no trouble adjusting to their new home.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. They have the campus sheriffs there to monitor the campus, so my parents and i feel great about that.

    What to do for fun

    You could play sports, join organizations or clubs, or go out.

    Food and Dining

    I ate at their cafeteria on their orientation day, and the food was great. The cafeteria was very clean and organized, and the cooks and staff were very friendly.

    Dorm Life

    I have only visited the dorm rooms. I absolutely love the apartment style dorms because they offer more privacy, and they make you feel like you're at home.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not attended the school as of yet, but i recently received my class schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Apply for scholarships as early as possible -Do as many scholarships that you qualify for -Get all the extra help and tutoring, so that college wont be so much of a shock.

    In three sentences

    Gordon College has excellent staff who are dedicated to helping the students. They have a clean, tobacco free campus. Last, but not least they have a nice small campus, so getting to class is time efficient.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    21 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always felt safe while attending Gordon, although it isn't in the ritzy part of Barnesville, it is pretty isolated, and the school has on campus security 24/7.

    Great for these types of students

    Gordon is great for students who are more interested in obtaining a degree, and less interested in experiencing college life. There are many parents, and older people at Gordon. It is a good school to attend if you have other priorities, such as jobs, that require your time.

    Bang for the buck

    Gordon is an extremely reasonably priced school, with the economy being the way it is, Gordon is a real blessing for struggling College students.

    What to do for fun

    Gordon always provides activities for students to do. They had a week called Fair Week last semester, which was really fun. They provided big blow up obstacle courses and other fun games for free, this was open for all students.

    Food and Dining

    The food is actually really good, and the variety is great.

    Dorm Life

    I did not ever live on campus, but i did have friends who lived on campus and liked it quite a bit. The housing is new, and very nice but the area around the campus is small town. Barnesville is not a very college friendly town.

    Academic Rigor

    Gordon is often nick named Kinder-Gordon, but there are actually more professors with their Doctoral degrees at Gordon than at some universities, such as Kennesaw State. Of course every college has it's rotten professors, but most of the professors I had at Gordon provided a challenging environment to enable students to grow in knowledge and potential.

    Tips for prospective students

    In order to have the best experience at Gordon I would recommend registering for classes as early as possible, because classes fill up quickly. I would also recommend visiting the site, rate my professor to see what other students have said about the professors. The last piece of advice that will provide you with success while attending Gordon is to stay focused on academics, and be consistent in attending class.

    In three sentences

    Gordon College is an ideal school to attend to get prerequisite courses out of the way. Although the classes fill up fast, the classes are generally smaller, which makes for a more intimate setting meaning there is a good chance your professors will have more time and assistance to provide you with. Overall, attending Gordon was a positive experience, tuition is affordable and most of the professors are great.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a lot of campus security! I am so thankful for this because it makes me feel a lot safer!!! I mean a lot safer, you never know what could happen but there are a lot of security measures they have and they do their job right!!

    What to do for fun

    There is a on-campus pool, game room, and a weight room/gym! There are sports events and athletic complexes!

    Food and Dining

    The food taste amazing! There are food lounges through out the campus not just the cafeteria! They always offer snacks, candy, drinks of all sorts and healthy food! The dining area is clean and the workers are oh so friendly!

    Academic Rigor

    I honestly have no idea what academic Rigor is!

    Tips for prospective students

    Most classes do not require you to come as long as you pass! My best of advice is go to class whether you think you need it or not! Don't sleep in class because they will let you sleep while their teaching and you wont understand anything the next day, I have seen it happen!

    In three sentences

    Gordon is a small but yet, big college, Everyone is so friendly and willing to help with anything they can! College is not easy but Gordon sure has made it a lot less stress free with the tutoring and help they offer!

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    During the semester the school provides activities for students. But other than that, you can go swimming, hang out with friends, or go to the gym.

    Food and Dining

    They almost always have subs, fruit, salad, and burgers every time you go to dinner. But they also have different things to eat its good most of the time.

    Dorm Life

    They are strict about after hours and how many people are in your room at a time. But its still fun especially if you get along with your roommates. Above it all its a great college experience.

    Academic Rigor

    The main thing that they are strict about is copyrighting. You have to do your own work; your words, out of your brain.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work first, party later, and everything will be fine.

    In three sentences

    As far as academics Gordon is a really good school. They don't baby you, but they are there to help if you just ask; there's tutoring and you can go to your professors' office. Whether you live on campus or commute.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good campus safety. They care about the students, although there is not a lot a crime in the area.

    Greek Life

    Not so much. Gordon is a commuter school for the most part, although it is growing. The only fraternity is academic.

    Clubs and Activities

    Great academic fraternity and many religious based clubs available as well as academic clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students in the area just out of high school who are not quite ready to leave home, people who have never been to post secondary school, and also for working professionals pursuing further education.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap school and great teachers; a perfect combination.

    What to do for fun

    Not much to do in Barnesville Georgia for fun. If you are into nature, there are many State parks and other fun things to do outdoors in the area.

    Food and Dining

    Nice greasy Southern food! Of course they have other options, but I give them kudos for the grease!

    Dorm Life

    I never lived there, but they are very nice facilities.

    Academic Rigor

    Gordon had wonderful teachers. Since it is a small school the professors are available and are ready and willing to help. They teach clearly and at the level appropriate to the class. You will not find any astrophysicists not interested in Chemistry 101 so they do not cover the material and yet test you as if they have, go to larger universities for that experience. I have been to several different size schools and Gordon has the best to offer when it comes to professors. The course work becomes easy because they make it easy to succeed and become intrigued in the subjects. You will learn and have success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the classes with the professors deemed the hardest. You will benefit the most from the experience. They really are not hard, they just expect you to do your job.

    In three sentences

    Gordon is not a risky college to attend. The classes are easy, the commute is a cinch, and the professors are very good. It is a great place to begin your education or come back to school to rejuvenate your confidence for academics and future endeavors.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go to basketball games.

    Food and Dining

    it is a variety of good food.

    Dorm Life

    i lived off campus but campus had alot of rules because of certain situations.

    Tips for prospective students

    come prepared to work.

    In three sentences

    Gordon college is a very good school. every school has its flaws but they are very money hungry. major the teachers are helpful.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Gordon College from what I've seen have 24 hour campus security and police on campus.

    Greek Life

    Gordon College has many chapters of greeks, but I don't know all of them.

    Clubs and Activities

    Gordon College offers swimming, soccer, tennis, jogging, basketball etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Gordon College is great for single mothers, tranfer students, non traditional and low income student. Also, great for student who have been placed on academic probation, suspended or dismissed.

    Bang for the buck

    YES! Gordon College is a great school for someone paying out of their pocket. That is another reason way I love this school, it wont break my bank account.

    What to do for fun

    I haven't seen anything to do in the town, it's a very small town with a few hundred residents. However, Gordon has a schedule for fun activities that the student can do for each month.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is really good, on my orientation day I had lunch there and the food was surprisingly good. I like the buffet style set up, I like the variety.

    Dorm Life

    Gordon offers sororities and fraternities, that walk around campus and promote school spirit. The dorm rooms are new and apartment style, which is cool.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is slowly paced, I've attended a large university and I didn't like how my professors didn't know my name or face. Of course the academics have to be up to college level standards, the classroom setting is just like a high school classroom, it's not too overwhelming.

    In three sentences

    Gordon Colleges is a great school, it's campus is very beautiful and spacious. I give Gordon's campus a 9, because the buildings inside and out look very clean and matinenced. I also give the faculity and staff a 10, everyone is very friendly, the admissions and financial aid staff are very helpful.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus police are visible on campus and with having their office located within one of the dorms and headquarters on campus, one would feel safe at all times.

    Greek Life

    I haven't checked out Greek Life yet so that is on my list to do!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities to choose from so keeping active is something you won't have a problem with. I have joined 3 clubs so far and now trying to get a girls basketball team together in hopes of officially having one to compete against other 2 year colleges.

    Great for these types of students

    Gordon is a school for students who are exceptionally smart and those who are academically challenged as well. I am a student that struggled in high school and didn't know if anyone would give me a chance due to my gpa. However, my test scores were accepted so if you are student that have challenges then Gordon is a school that you should check out!

    Bang for the buck

    The school is very affordable and flexible with payment plans if your parents can afford to make them. We have

    What to do for fun

    Of course it is a small college within a small rural area, however we have activities that will keep you busy. We have tennis courts, an indoor swimming pool, gym, and other student organized events that will keep the fun going. Also, you can always create your own fun as long as it's safe and can peak interest from others too!

    Food and Dining

    We have a great selection of food and locations that are accessible. There is a Starbucks kind of coffee shop within our cafeteria and another fast food cafe located within one of the dorms. In addition, you have 3 choices of meal plans which fits a picky eater to a hearty eater!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life is awesome as I live in a dorm that is set up like a 4 bedroom apartment. My three roommates and I have our own individual rooms, however we share a kitchenette and sitting area. We also have 2 bathrooms that are shared among us as well. There are laundry rooms located within the dorms that is free so you don't have to worry about finding quarters!! Also, we have a multi-purpose room where you can go and chill out with friends and a computer room as well. If you don't have a computer, it's ok because you will have access to one now!

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is challenging, however that is to be expected when you transition from high school to higher learning. The professors and advisors are very helpful so there is no room for failure because of the programs that set in place for tutoring and additional help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you take advantage of the orientation and campus tours so that you can familiarize yourself with the campus and what is required to be a potential student. Take the necessary tests(ACT,SAT,Compass) more than once to improve your scores so that you can start your first year with college courses instead of learning support courses. Be excited about school and meeting new people!!!

    In three sentences

    Gordon College is a great college for those who desire a place that provides a smaller classroom setting where you don't feel like you're just a number. It is a 2-year college that has residential dorms on campus so you can have the same experience as you would on a 4-year campus that educate a larger student body. The faculty and staff are very helpful and nice which makes your transition from high school to college a plus!

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is located in Barnesville, Ga, which has a few odd traditions. One of which is Buggy Days and the other is Barbecue and Blues. They are both huge tourist attractions and town is usually blocked off for them.

    Bang for the buck

    Gordon is one of the cheapest colleges I have found that still has awesome programs. I think it is less than 100 per hour to attend.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't really all that much to do in Barnesville because it is such a small town, but if you go less than 20 minutes away you can find movie theaters and bowling allies.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is a buffet. The food is wonderful and they also have places on campus that sells sandwiches and Starbucks coffee. Also, the food options in town are also very good.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be hard but the teachers have office hours every week that they are there to help you understand what you don't. The teachers want you to succeed if you want to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class every day. Take through notes. Study in a group.

    In three sentences

    It is a nice, small town campus. The professors care about your education and want you to succeed. The curriculum is challenging but the experience is worth it.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe

    Greek Life

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    Great!

    What to do for fun

    Town is boring. But, there is one amazing coffee shop named Caffeina!

    Food and Dining

    Not good.

    Dorm Life

    Not good.

    Academic Rigor

    Mediocre.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college is great for transferring in the future.

    In three sentences

    The professors are really good for a community college. The campus is beautiful as well.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, the police are always riding around looking for things or people that are suspicious or out of whack. I was never once alarmed. Speaking of alarms please make sure you leave during a fire drill I got in big trouble one year cause I wanted to sleep through it, huge mistake.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are alot of clubs that offer scholarships like tennis. Or if you are loud and proud how about cheerleading. Or be a tough woman as I was and join the flag football team. Grrrrr!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One tradition my best friend and I had was going to the circle to see the plays being preformed. It was like you were in an outdoor theatre. So cool!

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do for fun. You have your recreation center, you can swim, shoot pool, hit the gym, watch the guys in the gym, go to backetball, baseball, or flag football games. There are local spots you can walk to on the strip. Or if you want go old school and grabs some friends and play double dutch or something near the dorms.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining is pretty good. There are always so many options to choose from. The only bad thing about it is on the last day if breaks when everyone must go home they serve you all the really good stuff like steak and shrimp. Hey where was this last week when I was craming for my finals?

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life was lovely, I must say your roommates wil generally become your best friends by the end of the semester. Remember to be respectful you are sharing another space with someone. Your neighbors soon become study buddies and someone to sit with at lunch between class. Grow to know new people.

    Academic Rigor

    Gordon shuns upon students who do a poor job. What do you expect I wouldnt want to attend a school with a very low graduating rate. The teachers will help you if you put forth the effort and truly try. The dont not play games and dont expect you to either. I learned that you have to grow up mentally really fast because once you get to college you are an adult. So get ready!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you make friends with the type that goes to classes, dont party as much. Are always in study groups make good grades. Respect themselves and those around them. Also learn to network your graduating class may be needed later in your future.

    In three sentences

    On a grading scale I would say Gordon College is a solid A. Thoughout the years they have grown in student body and added on to the facility. Their administration team is always healpful and make sure you know what next steps to take.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Gordon College has one of the most advanced Campus Safety programs around. There are emergency call boxes all over campus, campus patrol cars, (not only on campus but in the surrounding areas as well) and also a campus-wide emergency number to text in any emergency, from assault to a tornado, and there will be someone there to help.

    Greek Life

    One thing I prefer about Gordon is that there are no fraternities or sororities. We are focused on our futures here, not on social parties and Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Gordon has tons of clubs and activities to get into, there is something for everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    Gordon is great for students that live close by, and do not want to stray far from home. It is also good for a student who is interested in a wide variety of classes, because Gordon has it all!

    Bang for the buck

    Gordon College is one of the least expensive schools in Georgia, but it is a great school to go to. Great classes, great professors, excellent amenities. This school is the best bang for the buck you could get!

    What to do for fun

    Get involved with the school, because there are a constant stream of activities going on! There is always something to do at the school, and it's a great way to make more friends!

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall has always been delicious, and well worth the price!

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, however, the amenities are very nice!

    Academic Rigor

    I usually got bored in high school, because I was so far ahead of my class. College is much more my pace, especially my classes at Gordon!

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice for a prospective student would be to study hard! If a new student does not study, they will not succeed here. Get involved with the school, there are tons of activities going on every week!

    In three sentences

    Gordon College is a good school to go to. It is close to a lot of towns, such as Barnesville, Griffin, and Forsyth. Gordon College has wonderful professors, who are intent on their student's success.

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety on campus is top notch.

    Clubs and Activities

    Check the webpage: www.gordonstate.edu for more information.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who approve of small classroom and one on one instruction.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Check the webpage: www.gordonstate.edu for more information.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    Not much fun around Lamar county, but if you have a car, Griffin and Macon offer fantastic venues.

    Food and Dining

    The food is healthy, but can get quite old. Not so many options.

    Dorm Life

    It's sociable amongst the various dorms on campus. Yet, the weekends can be quite boring.

    Academic Rigor

    Some courses are tough, but the the care of the instructors you will be surprised of the knowledge you will obtain.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the Student Success Center as well as the Writing Center. With the help from this place, your whole grade can be boosted a letter grade.

    In three sentences

    The school itself is very small, but the opportunities are limitless. The faculty care about the well fair of the students and are willing to help them succeed. The Highlander Pride is one of the toughest in the state of Georgia as well.

  • 12/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is excellent. There are police patrolling the campus 24/7

    Greek Life

    it is enjoyable

    Clubs and Activities

    None at the moment

    Great for these types of students

    None at the moment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am fairly new to this college, so i have no clue to any unusual traditions held on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition plus room and boarding is pretty cheap. When I say cheap I'm in no way implying that this college has a poor facility. You will still receive the same amount of education on par with other colleges, but the cost is just low.

    What to do for fun

    If you are attending this college I recommend that you join sports and student club activities. Taking part in these festivities will make your overall experience enjoyable.

    Food and Dining

    The food is exceptional.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are on par with any other university. The professors are engaging and actually care about there students academic success.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only tip that I can give to prospective students is that even though Gordon college is not a large school, you will still receive the same level of education that students at larger colleges are receiving. Just study hard and you will be OK.

    In three sentences

    Gordon State College is a very unique, and great school. The very first time I set foot on the campus I fell in love with the overall scenery of the campus. The faculty and students that are on campus absolutely amazing.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    All public safeties are great, and there are emergency phone all over the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have great sports programs. They makes student step up to next level.

    Great for these types of students

    Who study hard and enjoy playing. Its college you need to enjoy at same time. You cant just work hard in this college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We do have fun week toward end of every semester. Where we get to enjoy carnivals and etc.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends. Go and play in soccer class.

    Food and Dining

    Food could be better. They make same food over and over again.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are clean, and RAs are nice, but they are extremely strick about alcohol fines. All my roommates got arrested one night for drinking.

    Academic Rigor

    They provide great academic opportunities to students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Gordon state is great college, and what ever students do here will have great experience.

    In three sentences

    Gordon state college is great college, and they provide great educations to their students. Gordon state have one of the best student athletic programs in the state. Gordon state also have clean facility.

  • 02/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    High Falls State Park is located about 20 minutes away from the school. There are great trails to hike and a beautiful waterfall to see.

    Bang for the buck

    Absolutely the most affordable in the area.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do at Gordon for fun. It's in the middle of nowhere.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is great. There are alot of options to choose from. I eat there frequently.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms so I don't have an opinion on them.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a great school and some of the teachers are tough.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to study and apply yourself so you can acheive your goals.

    In three sentences

    I love going to Gordon. It has been a great school with great teachers. I am planning on completing my nusing degree there.

  • 02/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get the most bang for the buck at Gordon! You could not ask for cheaper tuition!

    Food and Dining

    The food at Gordon is average to say the least. But hey, all you can eat for the low price is not that bad.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Gordon are somewhat easy. Sometime I do wish my courses were a little more challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for an institution with a small atmosphere Gordon is the place for you!

    In three sentences

    Gordon State College is a great institution, especially if you are a nursing major! The class sizes are usually very small which makes for a great atmosphere. The professors are energetic and seem to love what they do, and they are always willing to help a student.

  • 04/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always some form of athletic events happening on campus. Along with these, the student life department is very good about keep the resident life occupied.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice would be to attend class and never be afraid to ask for help from your instructor. They all have mandatory office hours for this reason alone.

    In three sentences

    My time at Gordon State has been very productive. There are a number of extra curricular activities on campus and I have enjoyed my time here. The faculty has also been very helpful throughout my enrollment.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never had any problems with campus safety. There are officers around patrolling.

    Greek Life

    I don't think they have any.

    Clubs and Activities

    I was involved in music ensembles. I wanted to be involved in Baptist Campus Ministry, but they always met during my band class.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like smaller classes and communities would do well here. It is a very small town.

    Bang for the buck

    Because I had Zell Miller HOPE and a Gordon Scholarship, I didn't pay a dime to attend Gordon for 2 years.

    What to do for fun

    I was involved in band and chorus. I was a music major, but we had many non-music majors and community members that were a part of those organizations too.

    Food and Dining

    I didn't eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I was shocked by the academic rigor there. It wasn't as easy as people thing. Many call it Kinder-Gordon but they must not have taken classes there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early. Don't skip classes. Get to know your professors.

    In three sentences

    Gordon has been a great place for me for the past 2 years. It was close to home and had very small classes. I learned how the whole college system works here before I go on to a larger school.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe and I have never heard of an incident concerning safety from anyone.

    Greek Life

    I do not think there is any Greek Life currently.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and it is fairly easy to establish any club that is not already there.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small town and small campus feel.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    no comment

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is the cheapest of almost any college. I think it is a great value for the money.

    What to do for fun

    Gordon has a game room and many common centers. There is definitely something for everyone here.

    Food and Dining

    The main cafeteria is very nice and just recently renovated.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the individual teacher. Most classes are difficult depending on the way the teacher teaches and ones personal preferences.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare yourself for a small town, small school feel.

    In three sentences

    Gordon is a good small undergraduate college. The campus is nice. The faculty are always there to help you with whatever you need.

  • 05/17/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    40 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing. There is always so many different things to choose from and it is so good.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty chill. There is a curfew which isn't that cool but it's all good. There is always something going on on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Like I said they aren't crazy hard with the work, but that depends on the professor. Just make sure you are doing your work and turning it in on time and there shouldn't be any problems. Just remember it isn't high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    It isn't like a huge university so don't be too scared to speak up. But remember it sure isn't high school anymore. They will expect college level work from you but that isn't a surprise, it's college. Just keep a positive outlook and if you ever need help don't be afraid to ask questions and hit up the student success center for help.

    In three sentences

    Gordon State is the perfect place for you if you are ready for your degree. It doesn't matter how old you are. Everyone there has one goal in mind, graduating with a degree.

  • 05/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police is always present

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs from religion to race to sexual orientation !!!

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing students should go here the school caters to nursing students there is a who,e build,Inge dedicated to it!!!

    What to do for fun

    The town is small so there isn't much to do but there are a lot of campus events helps which are free to students.

    Food and Dining

    Never ate there but there are several options for places to eat on campus !!

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't advise anyone over 19 to stay here lots of young immature freshmen.

    Academic Rigor

    It could really use a wider variety of classes it is slowly getting better , but when I say slowly I do mean slow,y.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use rate my professor.com it is a life saver. Do not take classes you do not need . That seems like expected knowledge but it can happen. Stay on track with classes you need, do not count on your advisors .

    In three sentences

    The school is evolving into a wonder campus. The professor here could be better, but with time I am sure with time some will be winged out. Overall I give the school a 7.5.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The public saftey office is amazing. I feel so safe on campus. The only issue is smoking and a little alcohol in the dorms.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus, wonderful staff, and good classes. Campus is very small with expensive dorms, and you have to check in with your adviser every semester or you can't register. Overall a great school!

  • 06/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Have safety people

    Clubs and Activities

    Few

    Great for these types of students

    any. Blacks. People to their self who don't want to attend a big school.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheaper than most schools

    What to do for fun

    nothing

    Food and Dining

    I bring my lunch

    Dorm Life

    I commute

    Academic Rigor

    Tougher than I expected.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be careful if you take Dr. Parsons. Go to the bookstore, it is off the chain and the people there are really nice.

    In three sentences

    Gordon College is a small, but enjoyable atmosphere. The classes aren't to hard, but they aren't east. It is also affordable.

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is super safe. They will even send someone to fix your tire.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is pretty much non-existent.

    Clubs and Activities

    I like how many clubs there are. They have something for everybody.

    Great for these types of students

    Gordon is great for focused and driven students who are ready for their shot at achieving their goals.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everyone loves to sit on the walls near the street.

    Bang for the buck

    I love the price for Gordon. It is definitely worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    I like to take the Zumba class they offer and also I like going down the road to slices pizzeria. Yummy.

    Food and Dining

    I am getting hungry just thinking about it.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is not that great. They are really worn down in areas.

    Academic Rigor

    I think the academic rigor is hard but it is also fair. The teachers just expect you to actually do what you need to pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning to attend this school make sure you register for classes early because the classes fill up fast, especially the prerequisites for nursing.

    In three sentences

    They are overall pretty good. The teachers there are really dedicated and make learning fun. On a scale of one to ten I would give them an 8.

  • 09/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is one of the colleges main priorities.

    Greek Life

    There are no Fraternities or Sorities, but gordon is considereing adding a few within the next few years depending on enrollement.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs, but I do not have the time personally to join them but if i did I would. There is always something going on everyday at Gordon.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students looking for a small college, low tuition, and people who are very homely and nice.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Game Room is the place where everybody hangs out in between classes.

    Bang for the buck

    The bang for your buck is that there is always something going on and the college itself is small and not too expensive.

    What to do for fun

    You can go mountain climbing on the rock wall, workout in the gym, go to the Game Room, use the trails, go to sporting events, and so much more.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe food is excellent I recommend eating there at least 4 times during the week while on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms, but i have heard from fellow students they are decent at best.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes do not require much studying, but the tests will prove to be harder as the semester goes on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you go to RateMyProfessor.com as this will definitley help you figure out which teachers are more to your liking.

    In three sentences

    The classrooms are nice and spacious and the buildings are welll taken care of. Some of the teachers do not speak english too well and this poses some difficulties when trying to understand some information. Overall Gordon State College is a great school that is very well run and I recommend it to anyone who is trying to find a small school with very nice and homely people.

  • 10/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Gordon offers many extra resources including gym, pool, walking track, tennis courts, libraries, student centers, theater performances, etc. Barnesville doesn't offer much in terms of fun. Also Gordon sends out extracurricular activities students can participate in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Gordon is a wonderful college that is always improving the structure and technology. Gordon offers an excellent education at an affordable cost yet still has a hometown feel.

    In three sentences

    Gordon offers a great education with an affordable tuition. The nursing program is top notch and challenging. The student body is a bit immodest but if you focus on your studies you will get a degree.

  • 12/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Defiantly one of the cheapest colleges your going to find with quality professors.

    What to do for fun

    Kickbacks and Thursday nights the crows nest I believe.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty decent I can't complain but the weekends are a deferent story.

    Dorm Life

    I love dorm life it's great I have basically my own apartment! The village is where you want to be.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe Gordon academic are challenging and do not be afraid to take the hard teachers believe me that's when you learn the most.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take your education for granted if you want a degree do not be afraid to go and get it, it is going to take hard work and a lot of determination but do not give up.

    In three sentences

    I feel that Gordon State College is a great college to start at. No matter if you have low SAT score or not, I believe that this score prepares you for bigger and better things like UGA. I recommend that every come here for at least two year of core because believe me inquiring all that money you have to pay back is not going to be so fun trying to pay back ,why pay more for the same core education and you do not have to.