Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Governors State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Education, Biology, Psychology, PT

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your application in early, and check their websites for scholarships. I qualified for only about 6 out of 43. It offers a lot for specific majors and minorities. Join a club! I didn't join because with my schedule I might have 3 online courses and be there one day a week, and that one hour twice daily gets to be a lot on the gas tank.

    Bang for the buck

    It is the cheapest University in Illinois. Although I think it personally stinks that I busted butt in high school and community college and didn't get much except loans, I can't complain because I'll still be leaving with about 80% less loans to pay than all of my friends.

    Am enjoying being here

    The only bad part about being here is that I live almost an hour away and the class times offered are sometimes not the best. There are a lot of mid-afternoon classes...the worst time to drive, especially in the winter. And once you're within a mile of the school there are no stop-lights so it takes forever to get up to it if you're going or leaving at rush hour. I wish the science labs were better, coming from Moraine which were brand new, this was kind of a let down. But! They did just set construction into motion and the entire science building is getting redone, so it will get better.

    Am learning a lot

    I would have to say in the almost two years that I have been here, the pace seems perfect. The science courses are a little more fast paced, but that is okay because it's college and we can't have everything handed to us anymore, right? The teachers are here almost everyday and are constantly reminding us to come whenever we need help. The books so far have been relevant to the course which is a shock to me because I have had a lot of courses in high school that were terrible. I've kept my GPA high and hope to continue to do so.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school is very safe with classes getting out at 10:30pm. The school offers a shuttle through the parking lots and to the train station. There are safety patrol officers that will walk students to their cars, if requested.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The university is on a statue park. There is artwork and a trail that surrounds the school. It is very cool.

    Bang for the buck

    Over, I have had a great experience so far with Gov State.

    What to do for fun

    There are many school clubs and organizations to get involved with. The school offers a basketball court, racket ball courts, a swimming pool, and weight/workout room.

    Food and Dining

    The school offers a lunch cafe.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many tough instructors, but are very helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    The faculty/staff are very eager to help and want all returning adults to thrive/succeed.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Junior college transfers, adult and returning students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Currently this university is geared for upper division and graduate students only. In 2014, the university will begin admitting underclassmen as well.

    Bang for the buck

    This is currently the most inexpensive public university in the state of Illinois.

    What to do for fun

    There are several clubs and activities available for students to participate.

    Food and Dining

    The university dining hall is similar to what I have experienced on other campuses.

    Dorm Life

    There are currently no dorms. However, I believe they are under construction for 2014.

    Academic Rigor

    The Biology Department faculty challenges student to be engaged academically, and be knowledgeable and confident.

    Tips for prospective students

    Approach this university's approach to academics with enthusiasm, and you will not be disappointed.

    In three sentences

    Governors State University is an excellent university for continuing education. I returned to academic study after being in the work force for over ten years. The campus is undergoing improvements and the faculty is committed to student development.

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always see GSU police circling the building in squad cars and officers walking within the building.

    Clubs and Activities

    The only club I ever hear about is our table tennis club, which is also the only sport we offer.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who are paying for college on their own or would like to stay close to the Chicago area and pay as little as possible.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The entire science wing is currently under construction so it is a maze to walk through the school in order to get to the lab rooms. The hallways are very confusing to maneuver on the first try, even faculty have mentioned they've gotten lost trying to get from one are to another. Construction is schedule to go on for the next 3 years I believe.

    Bang for the buck

    I have learned a lot for the amount that I am paying when compared to other Universities.

    What to do for fun

    There is a student rec center located within the school and a workout center complete with pool. That's pretty much it.

    Food and Dining

    While they offer a decent variety of food and Starbucks coffee some of it just isn't very good for the price they charge.

    Dorm Life

    GSU doesn't have dorms at present.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes have so much busy work you won't be sure if you will have enough time to get everything from all of you classes done and still have time to study while others only have tests and that is strictly what your grade is based upon. If you mess up one test you won't be able to recover from it very easily.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what you need in order to graduate and/or get into the program you plan on applying to, some of the counselors are useless. Don't be afraid to email your professor and ask them questions. It may be a determining factor between two letter grades.

    In three sentences

    As with any school, there are teachers here that are extremely knowledgeable about the subject but just don't know how to teach it. Fortunately I've only experienced a couple like that. I have loved all of my other professors and have learned a lot from them.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Have several pull station in the parking lots. Security is always patrolling the area and will give and helping hand when needed.

    Clubs and Activities

    Have several clubs and activities, unable to participate due to my family takes most of my free time when I am not working or going to classes.

    Great for these types of students

    working and going to school individual. Schedule of various course have multiple options to meet your busy schedule

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hard for me to comment due to I have not attended long enough

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that the cost for going to Governor's State is the same as any other college i have checked into.

    What to do for fun

    I love to gold and just across the street and around the corner is a golf course i really enjoy

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria has the standard food and daily special, food is better then most other facilities with cafeterias. Around the area has some excellent restaurants

    Dorm Life

    Unable to properly answer due to I drive to college and I stay at my house about 30 minutes away

    Academic Rigor

    Hard to define because of the the two words. Facility members have a excellent stands for teaching the student the curriculum for the course subject and assessment standards for that academic. Academic Rigor means to the student is the difficulty in the subject and again it is what you put into the course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be willing to commit to the courses studying and do not be afraid to ask question or for help

    In three sentences

    Very unique college setting geared to helping the student enhance their knowledge in the subject of studies and assist in the development of the student social interaction skills

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Right now there are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers expect you to work for your grade, but are more than willing to help out when needed.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    cool. cool. cool..

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I definitely feel safe on campus, I always see police cars when I walk through the parking lots at night, there is an emergency button, and if you want a police escort they are more than willing to offer assistance.

    Greek Life

    There are honor fraternities

    Clubs and Activities

    Variety of activities and clubs for any hobby

    Great for these types of students

    Great for continuing education and older students who work during the day

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable education

    What to do for fun

    The library has a good selection of books and the student activity center is great:TV, game tables, couches, etc

    Food and Dining

    The food is good and offers many healthy choices, however it can be kind of expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to utilize the resources! There is tutoring, help with writing papers, and many clubs/organizations to join

    In three sentences

    GSU has great academic resources in the library including tutoring and essay writing skills. GSU advisers are very helpful and always willing to make time to complete your plan of study. GSU has a friendly and open campus that provides a comfortable learning environment.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Cheapest University i have ran across.

    What to do for fun

    They have different events for the student almost every months which students are notified by email and on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in touch with your college advisors because your time there could move much smoother.

    In three sentences

    I believe that Governors State University is a great school. They have great professors. The counselors are great and are always available when you need help with financial needs and career planing.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is visible.

    Great for these types of students

    Great any students who want to further their academics.

    Bang for the buck

    Feasable tuition.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of extra curricular activities

    Food and Dining

    Food is awesome..

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors move at a fast pace. They will take time to assist you if your having trouble. There is a wonderful tutoring program that will suit almost all academic class. The writing centers is valuable to you take advantage.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students please ask questions. Get clarity on all information. Study hard your success comes from what you put into it.

    In three sentences

    I will rate GSU on following guidelines at the top, there is no going off the beaten path. Outstanding when it comes to degree selections. Maintenance of the facility is superb.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is fantastic for people returning to school, those that want to work at their own pace, early entry students (if they meet criteria), people that prefer night school or online school, and so forth. I was able to complete my B.A. at a pace I was absolutely comfortable with, I was surprised how quickly I completed it, the time just flew by. Additionally, you can complete some courses are the junior college level and it transfers (if you take the courses at eligible transfer colleges).

    Food and Dining

    I am not too sure about the main campus food (I am a satellite campus student), however, when there is food ordered for different satellite campus events, the food is pretty good. The snack machines are descent, but what is great is that the satellite campus is located in an area that is central to a lot of great dining. A 30 minute break between classes can be a nice relaxing meal not just a quick run to a gas station or grocery store.

    Dorm Life

    I am not sure of the dorm life (I don't think there are dorms, perhaps there are apartments at most)! But the schooling is cheap enough and financial assistance helps make paying rent easier than if you were trying with the same income at some other school that is for sure! And no need to split rent with a roommate because the cost of living is better than if even trying to rent an apartment in Chicago trying to go to a school up there.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the teacher but the work is challenging, in a good way. Its not like you cannot pass, if a student applies himself/herself, he/she will absolutely pass and will benefit as a result, however grades are not given away for free, just becasue the school is one of the cheapest in the state, do not think that the school is a bad school, Governors produces graduates that can compete with graduates of some of the best private schools (and their current students can compete too, I should know!)

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions and be yourself. This school is very encouraging, I have not met anyone that has shot someone down for a 'stupid question' so don't be afraid to explore and have questions and be open, you will be accepted and you will go a long way, further than if you just try getting around by guessing.

    In three sentences

    I love going to Governors State University. I can go to school closer to home and at my own pace. Its cheaper than other schools with as good as, and many times BETTER teachers than other schools and the class sizes are great that I can get one-on-one help to an extent that ensures my education.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has security,and they always are making rounds to monitor unusual activity.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who work.

    Bang for the buck

    I think this school is doing a good job,I know past students that also say it is cheaper than most. Mostly everyone gets a good vibe.

    What to do for fun

    I always have a good time swimming and using the rec room.

    Food and Dining

    The food is always served in a warm and friendly atmosphere. I really love their soups.

    Academic Rigor

    study and study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stick to your goals.Make sure you follow the study plan given to ou from your counselor.

    In three sentences

    I am an Rn that would like to complete training for a BSN degree. I am very determined to complete the program.I am very focused and I never give up easily.

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You should feel safe that you are a at a school full of prospectful criminal justice students, and many security and police personell.

    Greek Life

    Not interested

    Great for these types of students

    Great place.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Im sure kids play in the cornfields that surround the school.

    Bang for the buck

    Coming from a community college the transition was easy coming to GSU, the campus pretty much is on one site with the exception of the computer lab department, and the child care center.

    What to do for fun

    Pool, billiards, work out room, table tennis, all FREE!!!!

    Food and Dining

    kitchen on site serving hot food, treats, and even starbucks!!!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are in construction and will be available spring of 2014.

    Academic Rigor

    These highly qualified teachers don't take anyones guff and adhere to a strict code of conduct that is unsurpassed. Coming from a community college, the first day of class was a big kick in the butt for me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the university gym, pool, tutoring center, writing center, library... just everything. Its all included with your tuition so there is NO EXTRA COST for anything!!!!!

    In three sentences

    Governors State University has the cheapest tuition of any 4 year university in the entire state of Illinois. It is literally in the middle of a cornfield, however highly qualified instructors fill the walls of GSU.

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is excellent!

    Dorm Life

    They are currently just building dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great school to be a part of and will teach you much about yourself as well as others!

    In three sentences

    Governors State is very diverse. It has excellent faculty that strive to make their students the best they can be. It also has a variety of programs from undergraduate, graduate and doctoral levels.