Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Grace College and Theological Seminary Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/23/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to be involved in campus and really develop relationships with students, professors and the Christ.

    Tips for prospective students

    Grace College is a great community for students. The small size allows you to know most of the campus. There are fun activities that all students can get involved in such as BBQs, ice skating, and arcade nights. Also, soccer, volleyball and basketball games are awesome ways to get involved in the campus. The professors want you to succeed and will do what they can to help you achieve your goals. Students who attend Grace College should be prepared to work hard. Professors will not be like teachers in High School. It is the students' job to do the work when told to, not the professors job to keep track and keep them accountable.

  • 07/17/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Grace is great for students that feel like they will not fit in because they will. Grace also is great for students that wants to be around some heart-warming and caring individuals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared and focused. Make sure you know what your goals and dreams are. Grace is a place that will help you mature as well as equip you for life after college. Have fun but don't slack off because the workload will bring you down if you don't stay on top of your work. Grace is excellent and it has a very warm and exciting atmosphere.

  • 06/15/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants a smaller campus atmosphere.

    Tips for prospective students

    Small school, great facilities, beautiful town and campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Not overly expensive. Job or master's program acceptance guarantee when graduated. If not, they give you another year of schooling at no cost!

  • 01/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone ready to learn, make friends, and in love with God!

    Tips for prospective students

    There should be no worries about whether or not you'll fit in here, because you will! It truly is a great place where everyone cares, from teachers and faculty to students. For example, when I first came, I was terrified of the upperclassmen. But it turns out that they are just as interested in watching you succeed as everyone else! There are plenty of things to do on campus and places to hang out. It's a wonderful campus with so much to offer!

  • 06/20/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I would recommend Grace is anyone who is searching for a place to grow, learn a lot, and be a part of a great community of people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Grace is an amazing place. Choosing Grace was one of the best decisions I ever made. My time there was life changing in so many ways. I grew academically, spiritually, socially, and personally. Grace is full of loving caring people who make me feel like you belong there. Professors and Staff want to get to know you as a person and truly care about you. You get to learn from very skilled professors, and you get to be in an environment that draws you closer to Christ.

  • 12/07/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Grace College is for all students. Grace has a Learning Center is that a really help when you are struggling in a class. They have tutors for almost all the classes and if they do not already have a tutor for a class that you are needing a tutor for they will find someone to help you in that class. Again all the staff and faculty are willing to work with you in any way that they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Grace College is such an amazing school that I am so glad that I am able to attend here. I am personally a transfer, and I am upset that I ever went to another college. Grace makes you feel at home every day. The staff and faculty care for you and your growth with the Lord. That is one of the factors that I love about Grace College because you can ask professors to pray for someone in your family or someone you know in class. I do not know many places that will allow that to happen in the classrooms. I feel very privileged to be able to go to school like Grace College.

  • 05/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christ-followers or those interested in learning more about Christ who want to mature spirituality, mentally, and relationally and enjoy every day of college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard at school but have a blast with friends. When you visit check out major classes not general education classes. Ask your admissions counselor questions and enjoy the company and friendly atmosphere while you are here.

    Bang for the buck

    Grace is a little expensive according to the price tag. The fact that 95% of students receive either government or institutional aid help with the price. Even without the aid Grace is less expensive than most private schools our size. The atmosphere and friendships with peers and professors that you will develop makes the price tag well worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    The people here truly care about you. Taking the time to invest in friendships and relationships is something that everyone enjoys doing. It is easy to find a group of people that you enjoy spending time with. The Christ-centered atmosphere also makes for great accountability and theological conversations.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here make a point to teach each student specifically. They are willing to take time after class, before class or even on the phone after school hours to answer questions. Everything is taught from a real life perspective. I have never thought to myself When am I ever going to use this? when learning material. The Bible is also a textbook in every class. Professors integrate biblical values into all classes from business to science.

  • 03/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety can be seen driving around campus all day, and all night. so the campus is very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    grace is bustling with clubs. to my knowledge, the types of clubs we have is service clubs, rugby club, men's volleyball club, a few ethnic clubs( like the korean club and african-american club). service is a large emphasis at grace so there are many different opportunities to service in many areas. we also have the student activity board(sab). they plan campus wide events and get-togethers.

    Great for these types of students

    grace college is prime for students who are majoring in any ministry field, education field, psychology, and art.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    one fun tradition is when a couple get engaged, the guy is swept away by his friends and tossed into the lake. then he must run back all the way to the girls dorm where a large iron bell is set and ring it to announce the engagement.

    Bang for the buck

    with the new 3 year program, a student can get a 4 year degree in 3 years. this saves each student a whole years worth of college bills.

    What to do for fun

    the campus is right next to a lake. there is a movie theater and many restaurants and shopping outlets. for more excitement, the nearby city of fort wayne is much larger and has many more attractions.

    Food and Dining

    alpha is the name of our dining and they do an excellent job of food variety. if you don't like what is on the line, then you can always get variety of salads, pizza, burger and fries, deli meats, subs, and more.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life cool. all of us freshman on my hall are really close. i've made friends that will last a life time.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic environment is quite good. the professors expect you to work hard and be responsible for you own work and assignments. they will, however, help you if you ask for their assistance.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you can, fill out the early registration form. it will save you time and money.

    In three sentences

    grace college is a great place for a student to grow with god and in academic excellence. whatever your major is there are classes that you will take to strengthen and grow you relationship with god. the faculty are very diligent in helping students with their studies.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety can be seen driving around campus every day and night.

    Clubs and Activities

    Next to campus, there is an elementary school in which students can participate in College Mentors for Kids. This programs pairs college students with elementary students to give the elementary students visions and aspirations for the future. The college students come alongside the elementary students for two hours every week and do fun games and learning experiences with them. There are also various ways to participate in the community.

    What to do for fun

    Many students disperse into the surronding community to do activities for fun over the weekend. There are open dorms and students body activities to do on campus. Nearby, there is a bowling alley, restaurants, a parks, a lake, and Wal-Mart. One can see many students talking out on the college campus during the course of the week. Many students play games with their friends for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Grace College is plentiful, and there are many choices. Whenever I get tired of the food, I think of children around the world who are starving, and that makes me grateful for what I have. There is a restaurant of campus like Subway in which students can purchase subs, chips, fountain drinks, salads, and fruit with their meal plans. Next to this restaurant is a coffee shop which serves coffee, smoothies, and cookies. In the bookstore, there is another smoothie/coffee shop.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. The community life is fantastic. Over the course of a year, students develop strong friendship bonds with the other students on their halls. If you want someone to talk to, you can feel free to open a hallmate's door and talk to him/her. Students stop by each other's rooms and ask how they are doing. Occasionally, entire halls get together and do activities together (i.e. watch a movie, go bowling). All dorms halls are paired into brother and sister halls. Open dorms are fun sto visit your girlfriend/boyfriend and play games and talk.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of the college depends of your major and the courses you take each semester. Last year, I took twelve courses. Most of those courses demanded a lot of studying and reading. After graduation, students will find out that they have only really gained from what they invested into their coursework. If they do not study, they will not profit much from their classes. After studying, there is plenty of time to do recreational activities and games.

    Tips for prospective students

    Incoming students should prepare to study as much as necessary in order to learn in their fields of study. Before entering the college, the students should visit the campus to gain a better understanding of what goes on at Grace College. When they schedule a campus visit, they should spend time in a dorm to meet other college students.

    In three sentences

    Grace College is a Christian College founded on the principles/essentials of Christianity. The professors and students who make up the body of the college are welcoming and inclusive. This college equips its students to be effective and competent for their future careers.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety patrols Grace and the surrounding area constantly, and students always have help when they need it.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Serve teams on campus provide opportunities for serving in many different areas in the community, from Dance for Him, which is a free ballet class for elementary school students, to Destiny Rescue, which creates awareness of human trafficking issues. There are a variety of language clubs, including a Korean club led by Korean exchange students.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are passionate about community, service, and growing in Christ.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When couples get married on campus, there is a bell ringing ceremony that is fun to watch, but a little hard to explain.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Grace is rather expensive, a student's is certainly worth all the money. There are student jobs on campus that can help with finances, as well.

    What to do for fun

    Warsaw is minutes from Grace, and there are numerous places to go. Students at Grace frequent the movie theater and the many restaurants in Warsaw. There are multiple lakes in the surrounding area for swimming, boating, or wake-boarding. Winona Lake is a very unique, artisan community, with interesting shops and free concerts of great quality.

    Food and Dining

    Alpha Dining is the main cafeteria, and their food varies from sublime to bland, at best. Sub Connection serves excellent sandwiches, though!

    Dorm Life

    There are distinct personalities to each dorm on campus, but every one of them is characterized by a deep community atmosphere. The Resident Directors are extremely helpful and involved in residence life, and the Resident Assistants are intentional about building community. Dorm life is fun, crazy, and just what you need after a long day of classes.

    Academic Rigor

    Since many of the students are planning to graduate in 3 years, through the ReImagine program, there are new classes every 8 weeks. This new system can be challenging for students who are taking 18 credits per semester. The workload is hard, but definitely doable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to change spiritually, because Grace College is passionate about growth. Be prepared to work hard, because the 8 week sessions go by quickly and the workload is rigorous.

    In three sentences

    An incredible place of individual and communal growth. Students have countless opportunities for community service and networking. The spiritual atmosphere is one of unity and dedication.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is always reliable. They are willing to walk you to your dorm or car at night if you aren't comfortable to walk in the dark for example.

    Clubs and Activities

    An activity Grace does is basically a big campus laser tag. The President is involved and you get a name of someone on campus and have to shoot them.

    Great for these types of students

    Grace is great for the students who want to continue to better their relationship with Christ. The school seems to really share the gospel in all that they do.

    Food and Dining

    The food was really good when I visited. The nice thing about the campus being in town is that you could also go out to get something to eat and not have to travel very far.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life seems to be pretty interesting. Grace reconstructs old buildings, and therefore all rooms are different.

    In three sentences

    I had never heard of Grace before, but kept getting things sent to me in the mail. While I was on campus during my visit I felt God calling me to come to Grace. The campus is very small and in town, which I enjoy.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The college regularly has campus safety officers patrolling the entire area of the college, and checking dorms (not dorm rooms, out of respect for privacy) for any unwanted activities. Most places in parking lots are reserved for students (all students living there with a car have to register (for free) at the school for a tag to be parked there without getting a fine), and the safety officials keep a pretty close eye on that. There's also an e-mail that's regularly sent out by the school which posts any notices from the safety officials, and news is given directly to those who lead the dorms to provide to all students. All throughout the campus there are placed emergency beacons that have a call for aid button, both for talking and alerting. The campus is also very well lit all throughout, both in parking lots and all along every sidewalk, especially around the dorms. Lastly, the school regularly hosts fire drills for all those living in the dorms.

    Greek Life

    This author, while not having personally taken part in any such groups, is only generally aware of various such groups, namely from graduation commencements/ceremonies, wherein students are awarded for their achievements in them. This author is also loosely aware of several groups of men and women who contribute to the community at large, such as taking care of the especially needy such as the handicapped and elderly down in the village and in the surrounding areas; and those involved with at risk families as well as young men from Lifeline (a group who helps young men and women living in dangerous or at risk situations). There are also very many church organizations comprised of students from the college, political organizations, those who raise awareness, and many events hosted throughout the year for politics, churches, schools, and the community.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is (or at least was) a writing club called the Scriblets who also put out a paper or magazine every so often. Other similar sorts of groups include a volleyball tournament, soccer and rugby matches, and every so often a swing dancing group (of which this author was a part!). Also, there are occasionally offers put in students mailboxes from various other groups who are temporary, such as music lessons, games, and the like. Last but certainly not least is a very serious-minded journalism group that regularly publishes articles for the school.

    Great for these types of students

    The college is definitely best suited to those who are more conservative about their lives, while also still being welcoming and appealling to the more free-spirited. The college is not legalistic or overly strict, but certainly does uphold Biblical values and pursuits. The college is a liberal arts college as well, so suits many different pursuits.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    What is called the orthopaedic capital of the world itself is located right at the college. Not much else is known concerning this by this author, unfortunately. Some interesting traditions have everything to do with Billy Graham having been there: In the Reineker Museum located in the refinished Westminster Hall--which used to be a very fancy hotel and is now a historical landmark--is a good deal of information on his time there. This is not to mention Billy Sunday having lived in the area--his house is located somewhere in the village, if the author remembers correctly. Also, one of the primary facilities for classes, called Mount Memorial, has also been restored from being an old publishing house called The Free Methodist Publishing House, and it still retains its older architectural style and is also considered a historical landmark. Also, of a more unusual note, a tradition exists for those who have been engaged: Apparently, in the warmer months, the man (not woman, apparently) is traditionally taken to be thrown into the lake! From there he has the option of running all the way back to the college (about a five minute run, depending on where he's at), through the sub shop, and to his lady's dorm where she may stand outside waiting for him. A bit charming!

    Bang for the buck

    Certainly the college is one of the most affordable, as mentioned before. (Of course, this is in comparison to universities, private colleges, and the like; community colleges are of course much more affordable.) For example, for a 12-18 credit hour block, the cost per year for tuition alone is $23,290; but per credit--not being a part of the block plan that saves money--is $775. The college also offers online summer courses at a huge discount for those students who were enrolled full-time before: It's free! (All the student pays in the $125 online fee per class; ordinarily it would be $465 per credit hour plus that.) The costs, including room and board, costs for studying abroad, meal plans, and information concerning refunds and other information beside, can be fairly easily acquired from the college's website (www.grace.edu) under a search for tuition. As a last note, the President of the college and seminary himself once a year hosts a seminar that all are required to attend on how he and the college are always trying for the best quality and price, listing various cost changes, needs, etc. and then comparing to other colleges, consequently showing how much care is put towards the students and what they and their parents are investing in. And as was mentioned before, if students are in real financial straits (such as this author!) those in the financial aid and business offices offer not only considerable understanding but also actual help.

    What to do for fun

    Things to do for fun in the area usually center around Winona Lake or the Village at Winona, as it's called, since the college is more than less right on the lake. There are a few restaurants in the village, bakeries, and the like; and every so often, usually once a month, sometimes more, the auditorium there, called Rhodeheaver Auditorium, hosts orchestral concerts and the like (for free!) that are open to the public, usually for the Symphony of the Lakes but also for others. Other events are also held there from time to time. There are also plays that are put on usually twice a year by the college right on campus in its own theatre. For the more sporty, students are often seen outside on the various lawns playing tennis golf (golf with a tennis ball!) or other outdoor activities. One of the dorms, called Westminster, has a fairly spacious game room with a pool and ping-pong tables, amongst other games. All lounges have television sets, couches, and (usually) games--though, if they aren't there, they can be borrowed (for free) from the Alpha lobby for a time. There's also a bookstore right on campus, complete with a cafe and a small area for buying CDs, clothes, posters, etc.; and also a recreation center complete with a track for running and a gym. For the more indoors person, in Fort Wayne (about a thirty minute drive away) there is a dance studio called Pulse Arts Studio where a person can pay a very small fee per session.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at the college is, honestly, pretty good for the most part, and certainly well balanced. It's a buffet style and quality dining commons, so not only the students may eat there but anyone who desires to (who can pay, of course!). Called Alpha Dining, the buffet always has a salad bar, with some things being added such as a pasta mix. It also always has a dessert bar, a sandwich and cereal bar, and almost always has a grill for hamburgers, pizza, and certain other similar foods; and lastly a specialty bar that changes from day to day, meal to meal (breakfast, lunch, and dinner). Students usually get a meal plan at the start of the semester (freshmen are required to get the highest meal plan, fifteen meal scans per week; but more upper class men and women have several options) but may choose not to. If students (or those from elsewhere) prefer an alternative, there's also a sub shop right on campus open until late at night (11:00 p.m.) that offers a pretty good selection, including a little bakery for cookies, brownies, and the like. Students may use their meal scans there or buy. Both facilities are quite clean, comfortable, and welcoming, both usually being rather full on a regular basis.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is far more comfortable than any who may be afraid of such life undoubtedly fear it to be. (The author of this review was one of you!) Because the vast majority of those attending the college are serious-minded followers of Christ, this shows in the quality of their ways of life, including a good sense of not mere friendliness but actual fellow brotherhood/sisterhood (in the body of Christ) proper. Consequently, there is no mixing of men and women in dorm living; but every weekend men are allowed to visit women in their rooms or the other way around (providing the room door remains open during the visit), as it is changed from week to week. All freshmen are required to attend what are called Growth Groups (more upperclassmen may attend if they desire), which is a weekly session of teaching from the Bible not too dissimilar to a Bible study, but usually more forthright. This enforces the aforementioned sense of brotherhood/sisterhood. Granted, of course, there's always going to be those guys/girls who don't take things as seriously as others (and this has happened more than once to this author) who end up doing or saying things out of line; but such behavior is very often kept in check either by the lead dorm supervisor (who is one of the students) and/or by the others. The author has attended the college for about three years, and in all that time there hasn't been encountered drugs, sneaking around, or anything else many fear goes on in dorm life: The worst is rowdiness at odd hours, but even that is kept in check much more often than not as aforementioned. Lastly, the dorms themselves are often of good quality, with students having their own bathrooms, plenty of space (some rooms support five people, but many three), and comfortable quarters, complete with lounging areas where men and women can get together freely. (One dorm, however, known as Beta--a men's dorm--does have communal bathrooms, and is an older style building; but it's reserved more often for freshmen. I'm not sure if there's a similar dorm for women.) All students are also regularly required to clean their rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Given that the courses are all accelerated, it only follows suit that the academic rigor is increased substantially. While those at the entry level may find a lighter challenge than is to be expected, such is of course subjective, relative to each student individually; but certainly the more advanced courses are almost universally accepted as most rigorous. This is especially so for art students, who typically need the most time for their extensive (and advanced) projects. However, simply because the workload is twice as fast, this doesn't necessarily balance out the loss of half the time, even with some professors having changed their curricular sessions to fit more comfortably from the fifteen week sessions into the eight. Overall, however, while it's certainly not for the faint of heart, it's not necessarily overbearing, and the challenge can certainly be met by any who are of the serious academic mindset.

    Tips for prospective students

    For those who inquire into the college and/or the seminary, it is important to bear in mind first and foremost that it is, of course, an evangelical Christian college: All courses, including those not directly involved in ministry, are taught from the perspective of an explicitly (not merely implicitly) Biblical theology and worldview to prepare all to be ministers in whatever field they go into. Thus students must regularly attend chapel (three times per week) sessions in addition to what the professors provide. Concerning other things of note, the college offers only an accelerated learning curriculum: Each year's semesters are divided into quarters, thus making classes at roughly eight weeks long instead of the usual fifteen or so. Consequently, work is twice as difficult and twice as fast; but students will complete their degrees in about half as much time at about half the cost.

    In three sentences

    Grace College and Theological Seminary has an exceptionally strong sense of community, all the more appropriate given its nature as a seminary and a foundation for those going into any field as followers of Christ, providing a safe yet challenging environment for those exercising belief in Christ. The college and seminary both have highly skilled professors who take their time with students, making genuine, concerted efforts to care, teach, and meet needs as they arise while by no means jeopardizing their own integrity, either personal or professional. Lastly, both the college and seminary are affordable while not shirking on quality, being extremely helpful to and understanding of those in financial need.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who want to grow in their relationship in Christ and feel confident about their future career.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When a young man proposes to a girl, it is tradition for his friends to track him down on a random warm night and throw him into the back of a truck. They then take him down to the lake and throw him in, he then has to swim back to shore, climb up to campus, run across campus, and ring the bell at Alpha circle. Pancakes in the PM-where Alpha girls decide to eat pancakes, lots of pancakes at around 11 PM. Alpha Female Week: The Grace College Olympics, really. Each hall of Alpha fights to be the best dorm. Competitions during this include (but are not limited to) kart racing, a hall-length slip-n'-slide, and a lip syncing competition.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a liberal arts school, so it's expensive but with the help of many donations, Grace tries to make itself as affordable as possible with grants. Also, like I said before, you truly feel like you're becoming prepared for the career that you are pursuing.

    Food and Dining

    Not so great, especially since there's only one dining hall on campus but there's a sub shop nearby and it's pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    There are four dorms on campus that freshmen can live in and some various apartment style dorms around campus nicknamed Perimeter. I was apart of Alpha, the oldest girl's dorm on campus. This dorm is old, the air conditioning isn't the greatest, but it has the best community you could ever imagine. The resident director is the most loving person I have ever met and knows every single girl who lives in Alpha. You come into the hall as strangers but you leave a family and it's a wonderful experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be pretty tough, depending on the professor and the subject matter of course. But all-in-all the work generally feels like it's rewarding and you can step into your career that you're working for. I know that education majors are in the classroom within their first eight weeks of school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in with an open mind and an open heart and God will take you through an amazing college career. It won't be without it's struggles and it certainly isn't easy, but it's worth it.

    In three sentences

    Godly place focused on creating future leaders. Amazing staff who truly care deeply for each of their students. A campus that makes you feel like you are a part of a large family.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This area seems very safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Traditional and non-traditional students benefit from this wonderful College.

    What to do for fun

    They have the best state of the art gym.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is really nice, and there are nice cafe`s within walking distance from campus.

    Dorm Life

    Rules are strict for those who live on campus. There are also age restrictions for living in dorms. The rules are set in place to protect the integrity of the young college students.

    Academic Rigor

    If you apply yourself, nothing will stop you from achieving your goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be proactive in reaching out to others, and don't be afraid to go out of your comfort level and allow others to get to know the real you.

    In three sentences

    Grace College and Theological Seminary is not only a place of higher education, but a place to build relationships as strong as family. This is the first college I've ever attended where I am valued as a person rather than a number that increases revenue to the school. The staff sincerely cares about guiding individuals toward their aspirations with Christian compassion and grace.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Grace Campus Safety is on-call 24/7. Run by full time staff and students (often chosen from the Criminal Justice majors), they will give you a lift from one side of campus to another, uphold parking and driving rules, and provide emergency assistance if needed. Scattered throughout campus are emergency contact stations, glowing blue during the night, to ensure you can always have access to emergency help at the push of a button.

    Clubs and Activities

    Countless volunteer and community service options are open to the students, as well as clubs and organizations. Serve Teams are what we call the volunteer activities. From helping at a teen pregnancy center to serving at a Boys/Girls Club to playing Bingo with residents in a nursing home, Grace has many volunteer options with flexible schedules. Also, there are numerous clubs and organizations to join if you choose. Because of our growing Korean and African-American student population, we have clubs for both. Additionally, we have clubs for military children, swing dancing clubs, artistic clubs, and intellectual clubs. You can also join student planning organizations, student government, or theater opportunities.

    Great for these types of students

    Students from a religious or conservative background, or a desire for Christian community, would do well at Grace. Also, students that have been home-schooled or missionary kids would fit in comfortably. Students with a good work ethic and a love for authentic relationships will thrive at Grace.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Alpha Bell, located by Alpha dorm, is traditionally rung when a couple announces their engagement. This is typically preceded by a laking where the guy's friends throw him in Winona Lake as the consequence of becoming engaged.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Activity Board organizes campus-wide activities offered almost every weekend, occasionally during the week as well. In addition, each hall holds its own events. There are also Grace Intramurals, with different sports competing during different months of the year. The Communications department puts on two musicals a year, with several other smaller productions in between. College-level athletics, the Grace Lancers, provides constant entertainment, with the basketball and soccer as the main attractions. In Winona Lake, there are many other recreational options. The Village, a common tourist attraction, provides some eating and shopping options. There are also a few strip malls, as well as many dining options, a cinema, and a local musical theater. The Winona Lake itself is a source of entertainment, with a tiny park along its beach as well as swimming and boating opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    Though some may still complain about the idea of cafeteria food, I can personally say the food of Grace College Alpha Dining is better than most. As one who has worked for Alpha Dining for two years, I know the food is quality, as well as high in variety. Alpha Dining offers a large menu, with everything from a salad bar to a stir fry bar to the hot meal of the day. You have the option of pizza and cereal every day, as well as an array of drinks and desserts. There is always a vegetarian option at every meal, as well as menu modifications for students with gluten allergies. Also, the on-campus Jazzman's and Sub Connection offers coffee and subs throughout the day.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life of Grace college is warm, friendly, and fun. Hall leadership (RA's, Growth Group Leaders, etc.) are chosen for their ability to foster healthy relationships, create an inviting atmosphere, and provide fun-loving energy. From Nerf wars to dance parties to Bible studies, each hall has its own unique flavor of students. Students have the opportunity to become involved in their weekly hall Growth Group, a group dedicated to fostering Spiritual growth, trust, and encouragement. Additionally, the hall leadership will provide hall activities throughout the year to encourage healthy, unifying fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Grace College strives to foster the values of character, competence, and service in the hearts of its students. Thus, the academic side of the school is taken seriously. Of course, depending on your subject of study, you may find certain professors or classes harder than others. Because Grace is a private school, the professors are there by choice and their passion for teaching. They are quality people with a great depth of knowledge in their particular fields. Grace professors want their students to be well prepared to enter the work force and they take the greatest care to ensure each student has experience and a competitive resume to boot. Of all our offered majors, our most competitive are Elementary Education, Counseling, and Biblical Studies. We do have pre-med options, as well as a budding engineering major.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are considering Grace College, here are some unique aspects about the school that you should keep in mind. 1) Grace College is a Christian school, so understand that there are certain rules and standards that you will be required to live by. 2) Grace College is a private school, resulting in higher tuition costs. Grace currently costs around $30,000 a year. On a competitive note, this is relatively low when compared to other private schools in the area. 3) Winona Lake is not a city, so common city advantages such as public transportation, a large variety of shopping and eating outlets, and recreational options (i.e. museums, parks) are not available.

    In three sentences

    Grace College is a credited, liberal arts, private Christian school located in the small town of Winona Lake, Indiana. The school offers the option of a 3-year degree, as well as seminary and a duo-enrollment nursing program. In my three years of experience as a student thus far, Grace has met all my expectations as a quality school.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Grace College is perfect for the academically serious, Christian student. The atmosphere is uplifting and fun, and the professors challenge students to do their best.

    What to do for fun

    Grace provides lots of activity opportunity on campus! From sock-ball, to ultimate frisbee to Open Mic Night, there's always something going on.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not the highlight of Grace College, but there are options. Alpha Dining Commons is the main cafeteria which is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner each day of the week. Sub Connection or SubCo is the alternative dining option on campus which offers salads, soups, and subs when Alpha Dining is closed.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun. The atmosphere of each dorm is different so you can be sure there is a place for you. Indiana Hall is a good blend of fun and study.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Grace are challenging, and students work hard to achieve the grades they desire. The letter grading scale is much more selective than many college. In some classes, professors require students to achieve a 96% or above to receive an A.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to get your application in early, because many of the grants and scholarships are gifted in early February. Also, visit the campus! You will fall in love with the students and professors here at Grace as well as the beautiful campus.

    In three sentences

    Grace College and Theological Seminary is a small college with a community atmosphere. Students are friendly and willing to help each other. Grace is very generous with financial aid.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    All I do for fun is chill in my friend dorm. Sometimes I go to a basketball game but I barely have time for fun stuff. I like to organize my clothes also for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is not so good. Sometomes I hate what is being offered so I eat pizza, we always have pizza. Breakfast is too early, so I skip it.

    Dorm Life

    I wish we had bigger dorms in the Alpha Dormatory. I also wish we did not have to continously be checked on as freshmans. Everyone in my hall is friendly and helps me so I do appreciate my dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Grace College really challenges its students. I have exhibited more productive study habits within the last couple of months. Also this is a very advanced school each class here is completed within eight weeks, so if you fall behind, you might have to retake the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a beautiful place for someone who is very focused and need isolation. Also the people here are so friendly, so Grace helps you work on your attitude. This coolege also helped me become closer to God.

    In three sentences

    Grace College is a new environment for me. I'm am used to being in a bigger city and being offered more everyday opportunities. I don't really like Grace but I am not a picy person, so for right now I am just going to focus on my ducation here at Grace.

  • 11/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Going down to the village is fun and there are always events going on.

    Food and Dining

    It's cafeteria food, but there are options which is nice.

    Dorm Life

    I love my dorm. All the girls on my hall are great.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are harder because we are on an 8 week schedule, but they are manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to go out and experience life.

    In three sentences

    I love it here. The students are all really friendly. Everyone makes it a point to make you feel like you belong.

  • 11/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, and if you do not feel comfortable walking across campus at night, you can call campus safety and they will pick you up and take you where you need to go.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a Student Activities Board who plans every event as cheaply as possible. There are several events throughout each month.

    Great for these types of students

    Grace is great for people who are laid back and want a challenge. The professors will push you to your limit, but in the end it is worth it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a saying ring by spring. Many couples get engaged in the spring, and Grace is where many people find their spouses. There is a bell that people ring when they get engaged. The freshman class gets to build boats out of cardboard and race them on the lake every year.

    Bang for the buck

    Grace has a great curriculum, and it is totally worth the amount of money. The professors are open to your opinions and are willing to work with you if you are struggling in a particular area.

    What to do for fun

    We have the lake that you can walk around. Because it is a small town, there are shops and fast food places to go visit. On campus we have intramural sports once a week. There are two coffee shops on campus that students go and spend time with friends. There are lots of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    Sometimes there are good meals, but it seems to be the same thing over and over.

    Dorm Life

    Each dorm is a community and the RD's do a great job at making it feel like home.

    Academic Rigor

    The professor's are passionate about what they teach, but are very challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you come to Grace, be prepared to be stretched in ways you did not know you could be. Expect professors to push you to your limit.

    In three sentences

    Grace has a great community and fantastic leaders. It has great curriculum. Grace also offers many aids such as the writing lab and the counseling center, all to help you adjust to the lifestyle.

  • 12/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am in student senate and walk around campus.

    Food and Dining

    The good is exceptional for being in a cafeteria. There is also a sub shop and a coffee shop on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Many friends are made in the dorms and they are fairly comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are hard but you learn many things in them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join the many student led clubs on campus.

    In three sentences

    Grace College holds exceptional credit for a religious atmosphere for growth and experience. Grace College has exceptional and rigorous academic courses. Grace College has a welcoming and friendly student environment.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great! They are always willing to help you.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of activities to be involved with.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students looking for a small family like environment.

    What to do for fun

    There are all kinds of great places around to hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    There are not many options on food, eating at the same place does get old.

    Dorm Life

    I love dorm life! The hall I live on has became family.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging, but someone is always willing to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with something that interests you, it's a great way to meet friends.

    In three sentences

    Grace is a great environment, I enjoy being there.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Being a block from the lake provides lots of options, and Warsaw is right next door to provide movie theaters, bowling alleys, and more.

    Food and Dining

    You can always find something that you'll like.

    Dorm Life

    Be ready to have a lot of people love you. The community feel is incredibly strong.

    Academic Rigor

    For a small school, the accreditation of Grace seems very great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get as many Grace scholarships as possible by doing well in your classes and having a high ACT and GPA. The cost may seem daunting but it's overall worth it.

    In three sentences

    Grace is wonderfully focused on glorifying God throughout the campus. The integration of faith and learning is a new and wonderful experience for me. While still small, the academics are well-planned out and accredited.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is pretty good, they do a lot for the students, but it's sometimes hard to find them in their office.

    Greek Life

    I know nothing of the Greek Life here, so I really cannot say ^^;

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various service based clubs, religious based clubs, interest based clubs, and there are more appearing all the time, such as a newly resurrected Chess Club. The college is pretty open to new clubs and ideas.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for Grace Brethren Church students, other conservative religious students, and those that are looking for a college with various majors that integrate biblical values with their lessons.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a weird athletic event that goes on with the halls, where the halls of a dorm compete against eachother for bragging/respect rights. And there is a bell outside of Alpha Dorm, where when one gets engaged, at a random date the guy friends will take the guy, drive him to the lake, dump him in, and then run. The guy must then run back to Alpha Dorm, and ring the bell, to show that he is engaged, and will be committed! And in Alpha Dining, the boys of Beta Dorm will fumble (aka tackle) a fellow Beta boy if the boy is sitting at a table with 4+ girls with no other guys. And there are other competitions, often within the dorm, that vary from dorm to dorm.

    Bang for the buck

    This being a private college, it can be a bit spendy, especially for those that are from way out of state. Me for example, am from Oregon, and thus can't get scholarships from Oregon for Grace due to the fact it is outside of Oregon and a private institution. So coming up

    What to do for fun

    Stuff to do for fun is watch movies, go to the lake, participate in dorm and campus activities, participate in club and Serve activities, go bowling, go swimming at the community pool for free on monday nights, go to other free or cheaper events on various dates throughout the year like skating, bowling, and wings night, there are dances and other formal events throughout the year, there is rarely a lack of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    There are currently only two options for campus dining, which is disappointing, but there has been talk of a possible third option opening. The main dining, Alpha Dining, has ok food, but it gets repetitive after a while. The secondary dining option is Subco/Jazzman's, which is like subway with pastries. However, freshmen are given a large amount of coupons for various fastfood places in town at the beginning of the year, and so that does offset some of the disappointment of having only two dining options.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is in their hall is usually pretty close, and there is generally little drama. There are always events going on so one can never be bored for long!

    Academic Rigor

    I am a science major, and thus far I find the classes not too hard. They are informative and enjoyable however, the core classes can be a challenge if you don't do well with essays, but otherwise the curriculum, which is on an 8 week schedule, is very do-able and great. How the schedule works is that every 8wks you have 2-3 new classes, that you are in for the duration of that time. So it means you spend more time in each class, but you get out of the class quicker and move on quicker, making it a great schedule for those like me that do better when able to focus on only a few different subjects at once.

    Tips for prospective students

    Read the Grace Covenant, make sure that your values match up with the colleges (this is found on the website). Get to know some of the students when you come visit and don't be afraid to ask questions. And look in the dorms and around the campus to get a feel of it, to see if you could really see yourself going here.

    In three sentences

    This College is more conservative, so is good for those that are looking for that sort of experience. It is a very friendly and overall peaceful campus, with the beautiful lake nearby and many craft stores. It is most definitely the small Christian college experience.

  • 02/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    I have only taken general ed courses so far, and they are not easy, but they are extremely hard either.

  • 04/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You are safe. Safety assistance poles are around campus in case you need help with anything, Lighting is good all over. People look out for each other.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons!

    Great for these types of students

    Tutoring is available if you struggle in a class. Diversity acceptance is a focus. People get a along. It's a smaller college yet growing, which provides you support along your way.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Several freshman activities are set up for you to get to know others. You stay with your learning group throughout the year.

    Bang for the buck

    Grace College is an excellent place to grow as a person and academically. You have several activities and sports to get involved in, job opportunities are available.

    What to do for fun

    Campus activities are happening all the time. I have had to learn to prioritize my time as I could be engaging in some fun activity all the time. The area is great too. Lots of opportunity for varying activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. You learn what you like. Plenty of choices.

    Dorm Life

    Love it! We have some crazy fun together. Everyone gets to know each other in your hall.

    Academic Rigor

    You will be challenged in all areas, yet supported. You take 3 classes each quarter, so it's easier to stay focused. The accelerated 3 year program allows you to save money or gives you the option for your master's degree in four years, still being eligible for scholarship.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attendance to class is important. Turn in your roommate request and informational they do match you well. Try not to take early morning classes your first quarter.

    In three sentences

    Grace College's professors care about you as a person, not just about their class. Dorm life is fun and encouraging. The accelerated academic program is fantastic as I can receive my undergrad degree in 3 years.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The town this collegce is in is so small and sweet. There is honestly nowhere safer to be.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of things! Taco Bell raid nights, Olympics, theater and two city to see are just some of things they have.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is not all that big. However, the food is to die for.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are probably my favorite part. One dorm even has their own Olympics.

    Academic Rigor

    Your average joe is smart there, and the teachers are excellent.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you really want a small school in a safe town this is the place to be.

    In three sentences

    Grace College in itself is amazing. The people there are beyond friendly, and truly make you feel loved and welcomed. Grace College is a small college with a big heart.

  • 08/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our Campus Safety team at Grace College is available 24/7. They patrol the campus all day and throughout the night. While there have been a few minor issues on campus, Campus Safety takes care of these things right away.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are looking for a close knit community who is seeking God. Also great for students who enjoy smaller class sizes with caring teachers who like to help you however they can, inside and outside the classroom.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    -Alpha FEmale Week -Ringing the Alpha bell for engagements -The Hike!

    Bang for the buck

    Grace is very expensive. In comparison to other private Christian schools it is about average on price. However, if you don't qualify for much financial aid it can be very stressful. Luckily, there are payment options.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you sometimes have to make things up as you go. However, the Student Activities Board does a great job at hosting activities for students to participate in. In the past these activities have included Taco Bell Night, movie nights, and bowling. We also live very close to Winona Lake so there is always something fun to do down there.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. There are always options and you can always find something. If you don't like what is on the main line in Alpha Dining there is pizza, salad and sandwich bars, soup, cereal, and stir fry. There is also the sub shop: SubConnection. This coming year there will also be another dining option across from the game room in Westminster basement.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms was a great experience. You build bonds and friendships with people on your hall. Some of my best friends today are people that were on my hall my freshman year. There are many living options as you go through your years at Grace. After freshman year there are options like on campus apartments, town houses, and other options in the community. However, because of what seems like a lack of planning on the part of Grace College, I have encountered many issues with my living arrangements throughout the years.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many classes that are pretty tough. The level of difficulty definitely depends on the major. Sometimes bio majors put in a lot more time and effort into their classes than most psychology majors. However, there are also some classes that are very easy and require little effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be intentional about getting out of your dorm room. It can sometimes seem like there isn't much to do inside the Grace bubble, but you just have to get out there and be creative. Whether you are playing tennis golf or going for a night swim in the lake, get out there and have fun. As far as classes, there can be some tricky classes, but most teachers are there to help you succeed. Don't feel too intimidated in the classroom.

    In three sentences

    Grace is a great place with some really amazing people. You learn a lot in and out of the classroom. It is important to be intentional about getting involved and getting the most out of your experience.

  • 11/08/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It was so cool to see, when I went up to the campus, that there is so much safety at this school! One of the concerns my father has for me, is safety for when I go away to college. And when I told him about their safety measures that they take, it was so reassuring to him, and that helped me make the my decision to come to Grace as well.

    What to do for fun

    All my friends who have been going to Grace for the past few months have actually really had so much fun! It has been such an awesome time for them. I love seeing their pictures on Facebook about what they do up there! I thought it was really neat for them to do this annual cardboard-boat-race thing.

    Food and Dining

    The time that I went up to visit the campus, I remember their food being absolutely amazing! All throughout my freshman to junior year I ate spaghetti literally every day; then when I went up to my senior year, I got to know the lunch ladies in the pizza line very well! So when I went to lunch with some of the people when I was up there, I had there pizza and ate their fish that was being offered. I remember turning to my mom and said This fish tastes just like McDonalds! and their pizza was amazing. Everyone just laughed and it was such a relaxing time to eat with the people who went to school there. We actually ate with the professors! I never knew that colleges did that, but Grace did which made me feel so welcomed!

    Dorm Life

    I actually don't live in the dorm room, sadly. But I have a handful of friends that went to grace and every single time that I am talking with them, they are always with their friends from their dorm and having the most amazing time! I cant wait to go up their and experience it for myself.

    Academic Rigor

    Since this school does 8 week sessions, the academic rigor is kind of a lot to take in when you first start out. But, the whole staff make it so that you can lean on them when it gets to stressful from the workload. The classes really make you think a lot about what is being taught.

    Tips for prospective students

    The teachers here are an amazing bunch; if you have any questions or concerns, do not be afraid at all to go up and ask away. I was actually really scared to go up and ask teachers and tell them that I was having problems understanding what was being taught, but now it is really no problem. I love the fact that I can feel that they are there for us.

    In three sentences

    This is an amazing place to be at for college. I have never met teachers that have been so gracious and kind to me before coming here. I would rate Grace at a 10, no doubt about it. (I go to the commuter college by me, not the actual campus, not yet).

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is ALL about getting married. There are multiple traditions regarding relationships and engagements, so be prepared.

    What to do for fun

    There are some activities, like pep band or campus life, to join in, and I know there are a lot of other organized groups. However, there doesn't seem to be much in the way of spontaneous, random things to do.

    Food and Dining

    There are two good options, a sub place and a Mexican place, but they get old after a too many times of eating there. However, the main campus dinning area is not very good at all.

    Dorm Life

    The older dorms have temperamental heating/cooling systems and are just plain old. Also, it is hard to find a hall with a great sense of community.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are medium difficulty, but they are a lot of fun and I know that they will be ultimately beneficial.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think that this is a good school to come into with friends, or if you just want to focus on academics.

    In three sentences

    Grace College has really good academics. The professor seem to be striving to help every student achieve their potential. However, the social aspect lacks a real sense of community, especially a community in Christ.

  • 04/05/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 30

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I am super excited for the 4 year Bachelors and Masters program! Along with the community and the passion of the school, that was a big reason for choosing Grace.