Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Graceland University-Lamoni Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No concerns. I feel totally safe here. I don't usually lock my car!

    Greek Life

    not much going on that I can tell

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something for everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like to study and be a part of small town life!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    caroling by all staff and faculty on a night in December!

    What to do for fun

    Outdoor stuff available everywhere around here. Explore southern Iowa!

    Food and Dining

    Food is average.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is omportant aaround here. Houses have strong comaraderie!

    Academic Rigor

    I don't really know what to compare it to, but it is defintely above average based on what transfer students say.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come here if you want to remain anonymous. Everyone matters at GU!

    In three sentences

    Graceland is a small campus in a quiet town. You get personal attention here. The college is noted for the arts

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are locks on all the doors to get into the housing. This makes it so creating a lock-down easy as the ID is used as the key.

    Clubs and Activities

    There has to be over 50 clubs and organizations on campus. If you want to be in something it is very easy. If they don't have the club or organization that you want to be in then it is really easy to create one.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    All the COSA events are special to Graceland, weekly house meeting, bonding between members of each hall, housing system, close proximity of everything on campus, and involvement/inclusiveness brought for each student.

    Bang for the buck

    Graceland is at a great cost for what the experience you get. Tuition is rising, but that is because it has to accommodate for the economy.

    What to do for fun

    Intramural sports, go to other sporting events, different musical ensembles, theatre program, disc golf, regular golf, walking, bike riding, hanging with friends, learn an instrument, take fun classes, join clubs and many more options.

    Food and Dining

    Some days it feels like having a home cooked meal. Other days however, the menu choice and selection might need a few adjustments. There is the swarm and the commons as well to give a bigger variety. Unfortunately if a student doesn't have much time they end up eating in the swarm much more. There is not a big selection there because it is more like a fast food restaurant.

    Dorm Life

    One of the best parts about Graceland. Living on the same floor with many of your best friends (and brothers or sisters) can really make this the best time of your life.

    Academic Rigor

    There are ways for those in advanced programs in high school looking for a challenge, but also those who were not as successful in high school to still be successful here. There is also a wide selection of classes and majors each student is able to strive for.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you take advantage of the opportunities and experiences available at Graceland. School is important, but don't forget to balance your time with homework, friends and yourself. Make the best of your education and the possibilities that come from the small class sizes.

    In three sentences

    There is a loving and welcoming community for everyone. Opportunities are available to anyone who wants them. With a small school you are able to work more 1-on-1 with the teachers.

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe, I dont even have to worry about locking my car!

    Greek Life

    There are multiple male and female halls on campus, one of which you are placed once you enroll at GU that the admissions office think you will fit in best based on your major, personality, and other such information. You room with a member from your hall and live on an actual hall with these people. Your hall is also your team for campus activites.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs for students to get involved in, just name it and we probably have a club for it! We actually have a day for students to look at booths set up by their peers and become a member to clubs that they think might suit them.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that like alot of individual attention from professors, are happy with a small town where everyone knows who you are, and for those students that like to be involved.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The differnt halls on campus have traditions completely unique to their hall that they carry out every year. There are a few unique landmarks on campus as well that we take alot of pride in.

    What to do for fun

    The student government has a group called COSA that provides activited for students to do both on an individual basis and as a hall. COSA brings in performers, organizes an end of the year carnival, wednesday night movies, and many other events throughout the school year. Id say there was at least one event per week!

    Food and Dining

    sodexo provides food for our campus and they do an excellent job in providing us with multiple options in styles of food and variety at every meal. It obviously isnt quite as good as a homade meal by your mother but it does the job!

    Dorm Life

    There are no sororities or fraternities, but instead everyone is automatically placed on a hall which are similar to greek life. This is so that everone has a sense of belonging, the housing system is excellent and you can't find anything like it anywhere else it is totally unique to the GU campus!

    Academic Rigor

    The academic programs at Graceland are great, the amount of time you spend with your professors in and out of the class room makes your learning that much more beneficial because of your ability to have a one on one relationship with your professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although the campus is small and may not be as well known as bigger schools, if you actually take a campus tour and meet some of the GU family it might just change your mind! There can be a bit of a culture shock at first because of how small the town is and all of the near-by amish farms, but just remember that everyone is there for you and if you get involved in alot of the student activities it is so much easier to adjust!

    In three sentences

    Graceland is very welcoming to everyone, no matter what you as an individual are a top priority for the professors. Everyone there cares about your success, and you will meet some of the most genuine and friendly people that will be mentors or even just friends you keep in touch with for the rest of your life. Graceland is a close-knit community where no one gets left out and and everyone has a definate feeling of value.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You are 110% safe on the campus, and the police station is right around the corner from the campus too.

    Greek Life

    Well at Graceland University, they have different Greeks on your dorm hall. So every floor is a different Greek, and you will do different activities with your Greek hall.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs & activities to be involved in. There is no reason why anyone should be bored or lonely at Gracelsand, because there are some many things to do deal with different clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Graceland University is a great school for students that isn't really a party type of person. This is also great for a student that like small amount of students in one classroom at a time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There really isn't any unusual traditions or locations on campus that i know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Graceland University also has a great looking campus too. Its a has two lakes on it two gyms for sports players & another just for everybody else.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things to do. You can go into town and go to the movies, go play baskball or football when the teams aren't using the gym or the field. You can also go to the activities to dorms be having also.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty cool. They make sure that you'll never go hungry, for sure. There's no better food than home cooked food, but they try there best to make you feel like your at home though.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are one of the best part of Graceland, because they have so many activities involving you in the dorm. Its like you own family in the dorms in my opinion.

    Academic Rigor

    At Graceland, everyone take academics very serious more than anything. If you play a sport, your coach will make sure your doing good in the classroom before you even think about playing your sport. That's how serious academic is to everyone, which in my eyes is a wonderful thing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tip 1. ALWAYS go to class & be on time. Tip 2. Have good time management Tip 3. Work first, then play later. Tip 4. Stay focus on the reason why your in college and try hard not to get distracted.

    In three sentences

    Graceland University is a wonderful college to stay focus on your major. There are so many people that are willing to help you reach your goals at Graceland. In my opinion, i feel like no one can fail at Graceland University.

  • 03/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is small and I always feel safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many. Over 50!

    Great for these types of students

    Hard workers Need extra help Family influences

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have houses instead of Frats, or sort., everything.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are tough, but it is worth it in the end. Little on the high side for me, but they work well with scholarships, grants and money wise.

    What to do for fun

    You have to an imagine and be creative. Go to Des Moines, or Kansas City.

    Food and Dining

    You have to be creative. It college life..can't expect to much? Right?

    Dorm Life

    There are no sororities, or frats, but houses. You'll feel like family.

    Academic Rigor

    It;s though, but there are always people willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you struggled in high school and want a place that will push you to be best this is the place. Specially for education majors, low income, nursing students and others.

    In three sentences

    It is a small town place with caring people. The courses are advanced so you get all the knowledge you want. It has great opportunities.

  • 02/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    athletes and students who need extra help

    What to do for fun

    study and play your sport

    Tips for prospective students

    it will be hard in the beginning being away from home , but get out there and meet people and it will make your experience that much better

    In three sentences

    lamoni is a small town different then what i am use to. for the sport i compete in , its a great town for me to be in, the people in this town , whether its locals or professors are great all around.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have not been in the university yet.

    Dorm Life

    I have not been in the university yet.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not been in the university yet.

    In three sentences

    Good, comfortable, good teachers

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great they are there and visible

    Greek Life

    It's what you make of it. For me my focus is on the classroom and the football field

    Clubs and Activities

    If you are a person that likes to be in a Greek organization than this is the place for you

    Great for these types of students

    Any student can fit in here. I thought that the cold weather would be a factor but really you will get use to it.

    What to do for fun

    Excersie and hang out with my team mates

    Food and Dining

    Food is great. We have two different facilities we can choose from

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is not that great unless you are apart of a sports team.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are easy if you take advantage of the tuturing services they offer here. No student should fail a class because the academic staff is hands on.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you get a chance to attend this school you will not regret your choice.

    In three sentences

    Graceland University is a great schoool. The staff here really cares about the students. The students here are able to learn in a safe environment.

  • 01/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is good...can't complain much.

    In three sentences

    Graceland is a small, safe and a friendly community. Almost everyone knows everyone. Our activities as a whole college are legit than other colleges that I know.

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There were police officers all around, which really made me feel safe.

    Greek Life

    I haven't experienced this.

    Clubs and Activities

    I was told there were many to be apart of!

    Great for these types of students

    People who really want to exceed in life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Haven't experienced this.

    Bang for the buck

    It may seem pricey and expensive, but they have a lot of schalarships to offer

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of programs to get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't experienced it. But have heard it's nice.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't experienced it. But beautiful campus

    Academic Rigor

    I have not experienced it myself, but I have been told that it is challenging, but the teachers really want to see you exceed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to an advisor about your questions and what you hope to accomplish our of this school, and they will explain to you whether this school is for you or not. They also help plan out your class schedule, which is something that is extremely stressful, and they help make it easy.

    In three sentences

    Graceland is a beautiful campuse.Everyone I have spoken to has been honest, respectful, encouraging, motivation. Instead of making me believe that I won't be able to complete their nursing program, they have explained to me that it is difficult, and it will be hard to complete, but I am completely capable of doing so.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for: Those who are used to all four seasons Those who love snow Those who love animals Those who like quiet and relaxed atmospheres

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have the annual Luau (that is put on by the Polynesian club), Big Man on Campus (somewhat like a pageant for the guys), Zombie Prom, Valentines Day dance, New Years in November (because we are not together to celebrate New Years, we have a dance in November), and many other fun things.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive here but there are a lot of financial aid available.

    What to do for fun

    There are always events going on around campus. There is also The Coliseum (movie theatre) that is open Thursday nights (Thursday night movie is free to all Graceland students and staff) and Friday-Sunday. There is the Bar and Choices (our 18+ club) that is open Friday and Saturday nights. Besides these, students usually always find something to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come out here with a positive attitude. If you find that Graceland isn't for you, don't turn other students away. Not every college is for every student.

    In three sentences

    Graceland is a good atmosphere for those who want to get a break away from the craziness of busy, loud cities. It has a quaint and relaxed atmosphere. The weather may be unpredictable, but don't let that deter you.

  • 06/15/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many events on campus that happen where you can go and join and have a great time.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is clean and polite.

    Academic Rigor

    The expectations are set high considering it is a private University.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose Graceland, your future would only get better by attending. You will feel like home because everyone here is a family.

    In three sentences

    Graceland University is the next step in living your dream and becoming successful. Everyone I have met so far have been utterly amazing and polite. This University is a great way to start your future.

  • 06/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In Lamoni and in Graceland, no one has to worry about any safety concerns as people as a whole in this community stress a lot on campus safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lot of different types of clubs that you can participate to. This includes clubs for computer science students, Outreach International, International club, and many more. Students here get a lot of choices regarding clubs and activities.

    Bang for the buck

    It is worth coming to Graceland and this place is a place you will never forget in the rest of your life. Graceland believes in Passion to Succeed. So, it is worth paying for Graceland University.

    What to do for fun

    Graceland provides with range of activities including sporting, dancing and many more. Hanging out with friends in Graceland is a great experience.

    Food and Dining

    Food is not something that is praised in Graceland as there are lot of students. Graceland do need to improve on food services with more consideration.

    Dorm Life

    Graceland dorm life is one of the great. Graceland provides students with housing system and your house members are like your family members where you work and enjoy together to succeed as a whole.

    Academic Rigor

    Well in Graceland, you get every help, resources and time from everyone for you to succeed in academics. They provide great scholarship for academically good standing students but still athletes get better scholarships.

    Tips for prospective students

    Graceland University is a wonderful college and so much different than others. So be ready to get the warm welcome from everyone as even a person you have never seen will make you feel you are part of the community. And don't worry about anything about what field of study you want to go to because you will learn great stuff as Graceland is a liberal arts college.

    In three sentences

    Graceland University is a peaceful college in a small and quiet town Lamoni. Graceland provides students with the sense of community as a whole where everyone helps each other. Graceland provides resources for the student to prosper in their area of study.

  • 08/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    It's alright but the food tends to be high calorie and heavy.

    Dorm Life

    Very accepting with the house system in place.

    Academic Rigor

    It's average. Seems similar to high school.

  • 09/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Quite safe, no incidences so far.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life, but definitely a brotherhood sort of setting with the housing system.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and activities Enactus Ultimate Frisbee Pre med Club

    Great for these types of students

    All rounders Athletes Those interested in theatre, music, arts.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Two lakes. Playfair where everyone randomly meets everyone else.

    Bang for the buck

    A little on the expensive side.

    What to do for fun

    Go riding on the bike trail Linden Street coffee house Coliseum movie theatre Campus has lots of events weekly

    Food and Dining

    I personally dont like the food Chicken is nice... vegetables are not seasoned Nice pizza Great swap options at the swarm inn.

    Dorm Life

    Good sense of community. Dorm rooms could be bigger, but they aren't too stuffy. A kitchen on the floor would be great. Our dorms have AC Great WIFI connection Bathrooms are no longer communal; private showers. Nice dorm events e.g mud games, movie night

    Academic Rigor

    Well sized classes. Lecturers really do care about your academic success. Our Chemistry lecturer brought us muffins :) Great Library... I'm sitting there right now. Good Advisers

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be discouraged by its country setting, this small town still has a lot to offer. Not all mobile phones work here, e.g. my room mates phone; get verizon or a tracfone (I have that). Apply for institutional aid because almost everyone gets some form of it. Come with an open mind and heart, smile at everyone and I'm sure they'll smile back.

    In three sentences

    Graceland University is a really warm community of learners and educators and every facet of your character is given the chance to flourish since this is a liberal arts and sciences university. The atmosphere around campus is great and instead of fraternities and sororities, everyone belongs to a house which is a lot more tightly knitted together. Being at Graceland is an absolutely wonderful experience and I hope to encounter many more great ones in the future.

  • 10/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I can't say anything because i never went to the Lamoni campus. Independence doesn't have a dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    I can't say anything because i never went to the Lamoni campus. Independence doesn't have any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Nursing school is not easy, no matter where you go. However, this staff really wants to you succeed! I can't say that for the other schools I've looked into.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure you know what you want to do, after you graduate. Make sure it's an attainable goal before you set out on an expensive endeavor (aka college). I'm working on my second bachelor' s because I wasn't given this advise.

    In three sentences

    I'm attending the nursing school, in Independence, MO. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The campus is always clean and nice in appearance.

  • 11/02/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Very close knit community, everyone gets involved with activities. Feels like home. Everything is very close to each other, within walking distance.

  • 12/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you go to parties or whatever do not trust most of the students. Students don't really tend to take care of each other.

    Bang for the buck

    it's super expensive and they do help with scholarships but they don't offer enough help. Another reason why I am leaving.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs.

    Dorm Life

    Some students can make your life miserable because of how quickly rumors spread. Directors of student life and house presidents do not listen to your concerns. They do not take care of problems instead they lock down halls if they have problems and do not bother taking care of them. It can make your life miserable. But don't be discouraged try to stay away from people that are mean and keep going. It's not the end of the world. my roommate stole many of my things and partied a lot. She spreaded rumors about me and made fun of me. My room always smelled like alcohol and weed. I went to my house president and she didn't do anything then I went to the director and nothing happened. they ignored me and treated me like I was nothing. I am transfering schools because of it. Do not think that the staff here care. They don't. They won't fix any problems.

    Academic Rigor

    because it's a small school the academics are a huge focus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go out of your comfort zone. Join lots of clubs and take leadership roles you never thought you could.

    In three sentences

    You'll feel like a big fish in a small pond here. Everyone is friendly and the teachers will know you by name.

  • 12/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It depends on student activities but there is always something planned for the students every week.

    Food and Dining

    Great

    Dorm Life

    Great

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your school work. There is always something going on which means there should be no reason you should be bored.

    In three sentences

    I love Gracelqnd Univwrsity. It has given me a second chance to succeed in life and give me more options in the real world.

  • 01/04/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel 100% safe on this campus. You have to have an ID card to enter into a hall of the opposite sex and after hours, you need your ID to allow you in your own. Also, the police station is right around the corner.

    Greek Life

    The housing system isn't Greek, but kind of like it. You don't rush or pledge, you're in a house from the beginning and nobody is turned away!

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something for everybody!!!

    Great for these types of students

    There is no type of students on campus. Graceland offers something that I've never seen on another campus and that's an extreme friendliness. You could walk down the sidewalk and start a conversation with a complete stranger and it be normal. It's amazingly accepting and really easy to make friends-even if you're a super shy, and socially awkward person.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During Homecoming, there is a ton of crazy competitions. One of which includes a house scavenger hunt. On the list there are various crazy items, but the one that stands out the most is the shaving of one half of a persons body. It awards 50 points if a guy does it, and 100 if a girl does.

    What to do for fun

    Graceland offers a variety of things to do for fun. We have COSA which put on various events including the Messy Games and New Years in November. Intramural activities are available weekly, and those are A LOT of fun. It's basically a battle between the houses to see which one will come out on top. There are many sports and clubs that Graceland offers access too. Our MSC (Memorial Student Center) is a great hang out whether you want to play pool or ping-pong, wanna play old arcade games, or just wanna hang out in the AC. We're also only an hour and a half from Des Moines and Kansas City.

    Food and Dining

    You have two options, the commons and the Swarm Inn Cafe. The food is pretty great in the commons with plenty of options from the classic Pizza and Salad, to our own Sub shop, to more custom options. If you're in a hurry or just not in the mood to fight the crowd, the Swarm Inn has a meal exchange option that is great for both on the go and dine in. The prices are decent if you're not meal exchanging. After 9 we have our Sting Snacks, which is everybody's favorite time. This is when the frozen cappuccino's, cheese balls, pizza, pretzels, etc. come out. Oh! We can't forget about Potato Soup Thursdays!!

    Dorm Life

    Graceland offers a unique housing system that you wont find at any other University. Rather than Greek life, each student is placed in a house from the day you move in and you even remain in that house if you move off campus. (Check it out on their website). You meet two hand fulls of other students right away and they become your family away from home. Aside from the students, there is house council that is AMAZING. They are involved in every aspect of student life and are always there to turn to. My HP (house president) has become an amazing friend and go to girl if I ever need anything.

    Academic Rigor

    Sure, you'll have your occasional cupcake class, but regardless you'll wind up studying. So take it seriously and just listen the first time around. It's not impossible to catch up, but it's definitely not easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take courses that interest you and sit in the front of the class for at least a week during the semester. Most importantly, know that your professors are there to help (Really!!). That sounds so cliche, but don't be afraid to reach out to them whether you're confused in their course or you're having other troubles. You'd be surprised at the amount of understanding and personal compassion the faculty at GU has to offer, I know I was.

    In three sentences

    Graceland University is an amazing school with many opportunities available that will stand out to perspective employers and graduate schools. The small campus size offers a very open and accepting atmosphere that makes meeting people really easy. It offers the possibility for appropriate student-professor relationships that not only help the student succeed, but provides the feeling of being more than a number.