Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Grambling State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/01/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 out of 29 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships early and start taking the ACT in your junior year. Don't forget the FAFSA and consider ROTC to help pay for college as an option.

  • 12/09/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 out of 19 people found this review useful. 2 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Grambling is great for the type of student who wants to experience something a different and also wants to have excitement added into there curriculum at the same time

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for prospective students is to do your work and everything else falls into place

    Bang for the buck

    Grambling is a great school for the price because it is not to much to pay and they do things where if it is to much to pay you can get ways to lower the prices by making good grades and getting out of state fee;s waived

    Am enjoying being here

    I am enjoying being here because Grambling allows you to get your education and also time to have fun because it has everything from parties, to flag football to 3 on 3 tournaments and that keeps my time at Grambling good. Some other things about Grambling that I'm enjoying is that they also have plenty of extracurriuclar activities for you to participate in like Fraternities,Clubs, and Intramural league sports.

    Am learning a lot

    Grambling is a great school because you get to experienve the life of a black college and how diffeerent some things at grambling are compared to other schools. Grambling also gives you the chance to make out there in the work world with the education and things you learn from Grambling

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 3 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is never a moment that I haven't felt safe on campus, of course besides when you have to get used to not being at home. But there are emergency stations all around campus just in case.

    Great for these types of students

    African American Students, International Students, Social Work Majors

    Bang for the buck

    If you choose Grambling State University as your college, you will not be sorry. Even with some downfalls, the good outweighs the bad. And as regards to the typical amount being around 7,000 a semester, its a cheap college with high quality.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, most of the time depending on which day of the week that it is, Grambling will already have something planned on campus. but do NOT forget homecoming week or the bayou classic, you have to experience them.

    Food and Dining

    In the cafeteria, there are many choices throughout the day, If you do not want one thing, you have the option of selecting another. If you get bored like I did with the cafe selections, then using your tiger bucks will come in handy for you, where there are sooo many different selections and food that will make you feel right at home

    Dorm Life

    I loved my freshman dorm this semester. Besides from them being new, you feel at home also. Having my own personal space was critical to me, so I chose the apartment style dorm and I haven't regretted my decision yet.

    Academic Rigor

    There are high expectations set at GSU. Students are expected to fully evaluate class work even with its difficulty.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're planning on attending GSU, be prepared to experience a challenge but at the same time, be open minded. They have many programs and things to offer, so feel free to get involved.

    In three sentences

    Grambling State University is a great place to start your college career. I fully enjoyed my first semester there with all the things that they have to offer. If you choose Grambling as your college, I'm pretty sure you will not be sorry.

  • 05/28/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 4 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Always Go To Class And Make sure you Financial aid is in order.

    Bang for the buck

    Cost are good but and dorms are the best!

    Did enjoy being here

    Yes I enjoyed but to get around you need a car.

    Did learn a lot

    Teachers Really Care And Are willing to help at all times.

  • 07/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 5 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Social, creative, unique.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved and be consistent, dedicated, and focused and you will succeed.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 6 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We do have a great security team. Our campus is an Open campus with a highway going straight through but it is also one of the safest places i know. I say this because i have walked from study sessions at 3am, i have sat outside surrounded by people I didn't know with an ipad, a laptop and a cell phone- all of which i still have.

    Greek Life

    Come check it out.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are greek and non greek, honor and community service oriented clubs here. There are also clubs based on where you are from or even your department.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students attend Grambling and with just a smile and a greeting we all get along.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Almost every Tuesdays and Thursdays between 11-1pm there is a DJ and a bit of dancing and merry going on the yard. this keeps up the spirits of the students. its also a fun way to get away from the stress of classes, as there are no classes scheduled during this time.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is among the cheapest accredited schools out there. Along with out of state fees, scholarships and financial aid it becomes a little more affordable than most.

    What to do for fun

    Grambling State is only a drive away from Ruston LA and Monroe LA. you can also go to the moves, to a play, or to the bowling rink all of which are on campus or the tiger game room which has just about every type of system available and... a pool table.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria provides a variety of foods from all over, from pizza and burgers to a vegetable buffet and tofu dishes.

    Dorm Life

    This is a home away from home. Customize. Yo have your choice of various complexes go for the one within your budget or live off campus. it's all up to you.

    Academic Rigor

    I am an honor student and have been for a while I know what it takes to make it to that bracket. Do not underestimate yourself. Give it your all and you will do great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to give it your all. Don't spend more than you need and don't be afraid to make international friends.

    In three sentences

    Great school with a diverse student body. This school has good standards, to ensure that students are motivated to do their best. GSU is located in a quiet city with stores and activities only a short drive away.

  • 05/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 7 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Open-minded, dedicated, focused, innovative, and functional

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused yet have fun. Being apart of Grambling is an honor within its own.. Cherish it..!!!

    Bang for the buck

    My only problem with the cost are the out-of-state fees. Thank God for scholarships. Keep your grades up & stay on top of those scholarships!

    Am enjoying being here

    Life on Grambling's campus is something that you will never experience anywhere. You will make friends and family with people that will last a lifetime. As with any other school we like to party yet we get the work done first. Business before pleasure is key with Grambling

    Am learning a lot

    Each one, Teach one not only do I learn from the professors and staff but the students as well. There is ALWAYS someone to help you out with something.

  • 07/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 6 people found this review useful. 8 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletes

    Tips for prospective students

    If I could move, I would definitely choose another university. I really don't recommend it.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is reasonable but the University itself needs a lot of work. Some of the buildings are not presentable. Many of them are falling apart.

    Am enjoying being here

    Even though I am enjoying my classes, I have had a lot of trouble out of Financial Aid, Admissions and Registrars Office. I have been there a year now and it seems like every semester is something new. I am really frustrated with this area of the university. I am actually going to make an appointment with the President of the University (that's how bad it is).

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently pursuing my nursing degree. The classes are very informative and I am learning a lot. My professors are really great!

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 9 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are lots of fun programs at the university to engage students while keeping them on track academically.

    Food and Dining

    variety is the spice of life.food in grambling is excellent as the menu is planned for all students considering the huge international student population. no one goes hungry here!

    Dorm Life

    dorms are safe, clean and quiet. dorms have study areas in all dorms where students can study preventing students from making that long trip to the library.

    Academic Rigor

    because of the constant dedication of our teachers , the final outcome of students is awesome .

    Tips for prospective students

    come thinking positively and you'll make . put your education first and always work as a team.

    In three sentences

    it's a great educational environment. teachers are ready to help students and most students work together.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I don't know much about the Greek life

    What to do for fun

    For fun people go out to the quad chill make friends. There are step shows to go to, comedy shows fashions shows, Lyric quest ( poetry readings ) and a lot more.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty good but it's nothing like momma's or grandma's food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty nice, they have it where there are apartment style where two or four people can have a separate room with a kitchen like area to it , two to a room where your looking at your room mate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have all your High school classes done before you apply with acceptable grades. If you do attend become best friends with your counselors!!!!

    In three sentences

    Grambling State University is a place where teachers are not afraid to help you. You meet a lot of nice people.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Grambling police are sufficient and are always available around the clock to help students in danger. They are kind of on the slow side when it comes to getting to certain things on time, but they do come through when they are needed.

    Greek Life

    Grambling has the Divine 9 which are Phi Beta Sigma, Zeta Phi Beta, Omega Psi Phi, Delta Sigma Theta, Alpha Phi Alpha, Alpha Kappa Alpha, Kappa Alpha Psi, Sigma Gamma Rho, and Iota Phi Theta. They are all great organizations that have different qualities about them to make students want to join.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 100 clubs and organizations which can be seen on the website at www.gram.edu. There are clubs for singers, dancers, sports, and clubs for every major. There is also the two biggest organizations on campus which is the Favrot Student Union Board (FSUB) and the Student Government Association (SGA). FSUB creates all fun events on campus including homecoming and Springfest. SGA is the political organization that creates events to uplift and educate students in campus about certain issues in America.

    Great for these types of students

    Even though it is a Historiacally Black College or University, it is great for any kind of student. It does not matter color, religion, or any other factors. Grambling embraces all types of people and makes them feel at home. There is no discrimination on what types of students that should come to this University.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Courtyard and the Quad are two places that people like to unwind after class and many activities are held there during Homecoming and Springfest. People also like to hangout in front of each dorm or at the basketball court by Tiger Village.

    Bang for the buck

    I cannot even put into words how much I love Grambling State University. If you would pay a visit during Homecoming, Springfest, or take a trip to New Orleans for the Bayou Classic then you would see how much the students love Grambling. I fell in love the first time I stepp on campus and I have grown to love it even more. The students have the southern hospitality and bring so much energy to the school. Grambling football games and band is like no other and I go to every game that they have in every sport. Grambling is just a great place to be and anyone who comes will have fun. There is also education things to know about the campus because each building and dorm on campus is named after a significant African American person who meant so much to history. I encourage anyone to come visit and experience it for themselves.

    What to do for fun

    There are over 100 organizations to get involved in depending on what you like to do. There is also clubs for states and different regions of the country so students can feel comfortable. There is also plenty of Greek and Non-Greek organizations to get into. Also, each major has their own clubs to represent their major.

    Food and Dining

    Not only does Grambling have a dining hall, but they also have a Cafe' and a place called the Tiger Express'. The dining hall has stir fry, pasta, sandwiches, burgers, pizza, and many other choices. The Tiger Express has a Burger King, Panda Express, Topio's, Louisiana Home Zone, Student grocery store, and a Starbucks. The Cafe' has different daily specials everyday and they fix really down home southern dishes.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great! As a freshman, you get your own bathroom, sink, and closet! Once you become a sophomore, you get your own separate room and there is no community bathrooms in Tiger Village! It really gives you the best college experience!

    Academic Rigor

    I major in Criminal Justice and it is a pretty easy going major up until your junior and senior year where the classes change in difficulty. The homework load is not bad either. You have to know how to balance your work and time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you be yourself and do not let anyone change you. Also, make sure you are very honest and humble. Have a lot of positive energy and surround yourself with positive people. Get to know upperclassmen because they know a lot about certain teachers and classes and they are experienced with the campus.

    In three sentences

    Grambling State University is the best HBCU there is! It has a great atmosphere and the Criminal Justice degree program. It makes me feel right at home and it has the best school pride in Louisiana!

  • 04/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get your application for housing in early, Take out as few loans as possible and stay on top of the financial aid department.

    Bang for the buck

    The quality of things as far as meals and housing are concern, but the education is still great.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being here and meeting people from different parts of the world.Its always something to do if you go out and look.

    Am learning a lot

    This institution has very skilled and highly trained professionals who are very knowledgeable in their courses.You can learn a lot only if you apply yourself!

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They is a gym and thier is always some kind of event going on

    Tips for prospective students

    Always go to class

    In three sentences

    Grambling has great dorms .the classes are esay and the techers are very helpful.the students are friendly.

  • 06/25/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Shootings and robbers always happen on this campus.

    Greek Life

    What Greek life? There are only a few active Greeks on campus. I heard the others have been suspended.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that grew up in small town areas, students who's parents went there, students going to school for sports

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I can think of

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for! Gram is always up for losing accreditation so don't be surprised if you get a sup-par education or diploma.

    What to do for fun

    Gram is like any other school. Parties, clubs, etc. most of the time it's really relaxed and laid back.

    Food and Dining

    For the most part the food was mediocre.. But the express and all the other restaurants around campus makes up for it.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is really what you make it. My RA was really cool and kept us updated on everything. I didn't care for my roommates but I was rarely in my room anyway.

    Academic Rigor

    Obviously you only needed a 2.0 to get in.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to get the best academically then it could be a great school. The professors and doctors there are very helpful, and seem to care about the students. Socially.. You need to be a very sociable person because everyone walks around with their noses in the air.

    In three sentences

    Grambling's motto is Where everybody is somebody, this may be true but this deff isn't the school for everybody. In my opinion it doesn't put HBCU's on the map, just a bad example of one. Grambling is holding on to its great and notable past, this seems to be the only thing keep it afloat.

  • 01/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police on campus are great. They look out for our safety 24 hours a day.

    Greek Life

    Sigma Alpha Pi

    Clubs and Activities

    Marching Band

    What to do for fun

    Hangout with friends, go bowling, attend parties and workout.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is great. good food selections and also healthy.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. I currently stay in a new dorm for my first year of college.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics plays a big role in college. I have a 3.0 GPA

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose the best school that you feel is best for you and your future plans.

    In three sentences

    I rate Grambling State University as a great school for me. I think by being here my future will be great. While being here i plan to succeed and stay on top of my work.

  • 01/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria here has awesome food but, no so healthy. it has a wide variety of food to choose from. plenty of space to sit down, relax, eat and dine in.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is nice. very roomy and space to lay back. internet and cable are available in each dorm. there are also study rooms on each floor, if the persons around are making a lot of noise.

    Academic Rigor

    grambling is also well know for their great academic affairs. scholarships are offered to students, if they are in the academic field.

    Tips for prospective students

    the professors here are very understanding. if you don't register on time, be prepared to go to the instructors for overrides. the classes will most definitely be full to capacity.

    In three sentences

    grambling is a historical black college, with great opportunities for music and science majors. the environment is quite nice. activities and events are available to attend to keep us student busy.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    in my honest opinion, the campus police react slowly to some situations. however, campus is safe, just be sure if you are a female, never walk alone. we all know to stay out of drama, do that, and you are good to go!

    What to do for fun

    there is always something to do on tuesdays and thursdays between 11:00 a.m and 1:00 p.m. some of the organizations are always trying to put something together. the festivites, such as spring fest or homecoming week , are always fun.

    Food and Dining

    the food is typical, nothing spectacular. every now and then, you might catch the cafetaria on a good day. our tiger express consists of burger king, panda express, starbucks, home zone and a pizza place. there is a store right outside the express for those who may need a quick snack.

    Dorm Life

    most of the dorms are new and nice. if you are a freshman, you are most likely going to stay in tiger village 800 or 900. i would suggest 900 because it is suite style.

    Academic Rigor

    the student-teacher ratio here is great. the classrooms are reasonably sized, meaning your professor will know who you are. in most big universities the classrooms are huge with 150+ students, but here the biggest classroom might be about 90 students tops, if that. the professors have reasonable office times so you can get in touch with them if you are having any problems in the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    to all incoming students, don't come here thinking this is just a party school because it is not. grambling is far more than just parties and club hopping, you need to make time for your work and any other more important things too. a little fun won't harm anything but most freshman lose sight of why they attend college.

    In three sentences

    grambling is what you make it. it can be fun to some, but boring to others. its great academic wise.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    good enough for you not to worry we have a police station on campus so everything is secure

    Greek Life

    great, very wildlike steps and high intense action.

    Clubs and Activities

    marching band greek organizations and much more

    Great for these types of students

    for the people who want to learn and have a good time leaning.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    football field is a landmark on our campus because of the great football coah or ours eddie g. robinson.

    Bang for the buck

    of course the food the food and room and board is a band for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    greek organizations, marching band, weekly actvities theyalso have, sports and much mor

    Food and Dining

    there food is very magnificant. you will just have to try it for yourself.

    Dorm Life

    dorms are very clean and safe. they also have air conditioning in each dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    students wake night and day to get there work done. very good students

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you go to class, study hard and join a greek organization lol.

    In three sentences

    grambling is one of the most famous black colleges ever. in division two standards i would rate as eight out of ten. they are also known for there marching band and football team.

  • 03/17/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    alot of frats and campus life

    Food and Dining

    nice food

    Academic Rigor

    vey smart

    Tips for prospective students

    should go here

    In three sentences

    nice college

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    There Are a lot of. Clubs and if you want to start a club it is easy.

    Bang for the buck

    It is overal a reall good school.

    What to do for fun

    Walk around campus play basketball to to the bowling alley.

    Food and Dining

    We have burger king,panda express,soul food place, and pizza place. Also near by we hav a chicken and waffle joint.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on which dorm some dorms are suite like.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic levels are very understanding

    Tips for prospective students

    Where everybody is somebody

    In three sentences

    GSU is a good school. The teachers take time to help and listen to you. Also the community is very understanding.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is helpful, but you must keep yourself in safe situations.

    Clubs and Activities

    Iota Alpha Mu, Christian Sorority,

    Bang for the buck

    Very cost effective and worth every dime education!

    What to do for fun

    Attend events on campus, hang out on the yard, and go to church a couple of times per week

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, the staff - especially Mrs. Marilyn are AWESOME!!!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are brand new about 4 years old now . . . they are awesome. I was accustomed to having my own bedroom my entire life. I tried to share the first year, but it is definitely best when people who aren't related have their own space.

    Academic Rigor

    Reasonable

    Tips for prospective students

    Understand there is always a party. If you have a class or an exam, just know . . . first things first . . . there will always be a party.

    In three sentences

    Grambling University is a great institution with a lot of history. The sports and band speak for themselves, but the education is outstanding. The educational and extracurricular organizations provide an opportunity to bond with fellow classmates.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I love my school. You come to college to get a degree, but I am pursuing my degree and having fun.

    What to do for fun

    My friends and I find anything to do for fun. Walk the stadium, explore our school, and just go to different campus activities offered everyday.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great to me. The food isn't mom's home-cooked meal. The variety brings something new to me.

    Dorm Life

    I LOVE the dorms. A variety of dorms are offered. I love my privacy and the study rooms our dorms have to offer.

    Academic Rigor

    My school really pushes to have great academic rigor because we don't want to fall below. Staying on top is what makes us better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not play around your freshman year or it will come back on you. Get everything in early, including schoolwork, paperwork, and financial aid. Get help when you need it. Don't follow your friends because they are not YOU. Community service is well needed

    In three sentences

    Grambling State University helps all of the students greatly. Grambling State University prepares students for the life after college. Grambling State University is the school Where everybody is somebody.

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    23 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I know that they have a great amount of Campus police so safety is not a problem.

    Clubs and Activities

    You have so much to do at Grambling but i dont know that much yet.

    Bang for the buck

    Grambling is the most famous HBCU school out of them all and most popular.

    What to do for fun

    You name it you can do it.

    Food and Dining

    Great down home louisiana food.

    Dorm Life

    Great dorm life everyone knows each other.

    Academic Rigor

    At Grambling everyone will Graduate unless you don't try at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its very Great theres no other college like Grambling.

    In three sentences

    Has the best football team in SWAC. At Grambling State University everybody is somebody. A outstanding HBCU.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't know of any unusual traditions or locations that is on our campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The bang for the buck is homecoming. You see alumni come back with their previous traditions, famous entertainers attend, and many activities during the week is amazing, along with the our football games.

    What to do for fun

    Grambling has an intramural center for fitness and an outside basketball court for everyone. There are many talent shows, plays, and constant sports activities that are presented to the students for fun; and for those with a car, they can go to Ruston, La (5 min away) for access to the movies and etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is bad; breakfast is real good in the mornings though. The lunch and dinner time dining needs major improvement, some food you can't tell what it is and some you just don't want to know.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life on campus is good, you have your traditional and apartment style dormitories. We have four different areas on our campus that have dorms; and each environment is different from the next. Tiger Village is an apartment style dorm, Freshman Village(the projects) is a traditional dorm area, Steeples Glen is the most lavish dorm, and Drew Apartments is the second best dormitory.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is just as strict as any other college institution. Their are easy teachers and difficult teachers, but all are willing to assist their students with their problems, due to the direct access that we have to our instructors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get access to a motor vehicle. Enjoy the many parties, but study even harder. Network among your peers as much as possible.

    In three sentences

    Grambling State is a good college, that has its challenges, but in the end the experience that you will have is worth it. The financial staff in our department works hard to ensure that every student has the aid needed so that they are registered for school; even with the constant budget cuts.

  • 09/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every once in a while, you will here about a fight or something that happened, but majority of the school year, you will be fine.

    Greek Life

    I'm not Greek, but from what is viewed, it is fine. They used to be really fun to watch, and i have friends that are Greek as well. But, as the years gone by, they basically are not the center of attention anymore.

    Clubs and Activities

    Grambling has a wide range of clubs that you can join. They have interest meetings all the time to join a club. You just have to remind yourself to look or ask around for them.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are an Athlete, In the Band or in the Choir, (I REPEAT) COME TO GRAMBLING!!!. They look out for you guys (ex, Scholarships, Fee Waivers, etc.). I'm sorry to say that the rest of the students just have to find ways to get ADDITIONAL money.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Homecoming is the best! The Alumni comes and like BOMBARDS that campus; its too funny!. But it's like when they do come, you realize the REAL tradition of Grambling and you get high hopes to to Graduate and meet up with your College buddies and hang out like they do around this time.

    Bang for the buck

    Basically, Visit the school in high school. Get registered EARLY; so you do not have to face out DEADLY financial aid center. Highlights of the school year: Football games, Homecoming, Cotton Bowl, Bayou Classic, Mardi Gras, Springfest, & Graduation (in that order, until you graduate). Stay focus and dont believe the Illusion; Or Else Grambling will chew you up and spit you right out. Our motto, Where everybody is a Somebody...(with a fee sheet) is true and you will believe it when you get here.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends. Go to a party every once and a while or just go to one of the events that's happening on campus. What I was told when I was a freshman was that you create your own fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. The cafeteria has there days. Sometimes its horrible, but other times its just what you have been dreaming about or have a taste for.

    Dorm Life

    It all depends on WHERE you live. Some dorms are nice, but are noisy because of the people that also live in the same dorm. While traditional dorms are what you make of it and is a SUPER quiet area to live and study.

    Academic Rigor

    The majority of the classes are fine; some are even easy. You can choose a variety of classes early or late. Most teachers tell you just come to class everyday & you wont fail; while others, you have to work your tail off just to get a C.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the School BEFORE you attend; your Senior year of high school. Get REGISTERED before school starts. And, have an idea of what you want to do AFTER College so you wont lose focus DURING College.

    In three sentences

    I rate Grambling at about a 7. The beginning is great. You meet new people & have a different feel in the atmosphere.

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a bowling alley, basketball courts, and the intramual center. Parties are on the weekends

    Food and Dining

    There is lots of things to eat in the Cafe. Then right across the street is the Express which has Panda, Pizza, Homezone, and Burger King

    Dorm Life

    Very fun and allows you to choose your roommates. Attend the monthly meetings and keep every thing clean

    Academic Rigor

    If the assignments are done on time and correctly, school will sail by pretty smooth. Some classes are online and there is plenty of time to do them on MOODLE.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please Please Please register early if you want good classes. Also have patience because at Gram it is what you will need.

    In three sentences

    I think Grambling State University is an excellent HBCU to attend. The students and staff for the most part are very upbeat, fun, and easy to talk to. While at the school it is very easy to learn about history as well as engage in many student activities.

  • 09/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I dont no much about this.

    Great for these types of students

    If you dont want to be on a big campus then GSU is the place to be.Small classes which means more one on one with your teachers.You learn more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They find things to do to make sure everyone feel at home and comfortable.

    What to do for fun

    You can join a club or organization.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just make sure that you have enough financial aid to pay for everything for college.

    In three sentences

    It is a beautiful campus.The people are nice and respectful.The teachers are helpful and they really want us to be better people.

  • 11/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Though there isn't very many frat and sorority houses on or new Grambling the greeks are very prominent. Everyday you can see a group of AKA's or Iota's with a booth spreading awareness. Or you may hear about an Alpha probate coming up soon.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who know how to focus and manage they're time and money, and who are sociable and easygoing.

    What to do for fun

    There's always things to do on campus. There's a bowling alley and numerous recreational rooms where you can hang out with friends and meet other students. The more social you are the more you'll find to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your work. Paying attention in class, doing the homework that's assigned (even if not collected), and managing your time wisely are important to passing any class.

    In three sentences

    Grambling State University has amazing students and staff. The school spirit can be felt and heard from miles away. Grambling offers the students all of the resources, like the library and numerous computer labs, needed to succeed at the University.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can't take two steps here at GSU without seeing the campus police but honestly I don't think they do anything. They ride around at all hours and their headquarters are in the center of campus. If something should happen they usually take forever to get there.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is seen on campus but its not a big party of daily events here at GSU. The Greeks are often treated like normal students, they aren't given any fancy housing or special privilages.

    Clubs and Activities

    Grambling is full of sports and clubs. Most clubs are involved with the majors on campus but are open to anyone who wishes to join. They have everything from a poetry/performing club to pageants.

    Great for these types of students

    Grambling is great for students who prefer tight-knit communities and smaller school and smaller classes. Grambling is not a big school and everyone here knows each other but that can be a problem sometimes because everyone knows everyone else's business.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't any. Grambling is a tradition college meaning the normal activites a college would engage in such as community service.

    Bang for the buck

    I love/hate it here at GSU, its the prefect school for people who prefer smaller areas away from busy cities. What is amazing to most people is that downtown Grambling is only about three blocks long and its made up of family owned stories and restaurants, not huge skyscrapers and busy intersections. However Grambling is also know for being a party school and if you're not a huge party goer, then the loud music and crazy nights will irk your nerves.

    What to do for fun

    Things to do for fun at GSU are go bowling, campus movie nights, Greek events, and every thursday we have a DJ playing outside in the Quad so you can listen to music and hang out or just swing through on your way to class.

    Food and Dining

    The McCall dining hall here at GSU has somewhat of seedy reputation. Oh who I am kidding, its a joke. As much money as the students pay for meal plan you'd think our cafeteria would be better. There is no variety and the food is pretty much processed.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on which dorm you're in your experience can be good or bad. So far, its been decent for me but I believe it could be better. Some dorms are really dirty and the trash overflows, but if you can learn to ignore it, you'll be fine.

    Academic Rigor

    Honestly, how hard a class is depends on the teacher. There are some here that are easy on students and others who are the toughest teachers you'll ever meet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep copies of everything. Grambling is infamous for losing or mixing up paperwork. I've had so many experiences with this problem, I keep copies of the littlest things, like flyers.

    In three sentences

    More appearance than substance. Everything is all about performing. If you sing, dance, or play an instrument this the school for you, if not I wouldn't suggest it.

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on on campus. Live music in the yard. Sport events, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food is awesome. All you can eat and alot of diversity. All cook and not heated and served.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. We dont have a curfew because the president know they we will be responsible and not stay out all night. Its basically a none factor rule.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers here are just as diverse as the students. We learn a lil bit about the world everyday.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not let anything distracted you in college. Yes, have fun but your education is first you paying for school so go to class.

    In three sentences

    Grambling is a fine institute of higher learning. It is a very historical school full of diversity and helps every student. Where everybody is somebody.

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    so far its ok im not in a greek but of what i see its ok

    Clubs and Activities

    the clubs are very into the school and helping out students

    Great for these types of students

    students who know to study and be in their books because there will be parties though out the semester...even on mondays, athletes, and the strong willed

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    really hard to explain you must be here to experience the fun

    What to do for fun

    play football, hang with friends, there is somethings to do outside of the campus you will need a ride

    Tips for prospective students

    study. study. study. the classes maybe hard it maybe easy but if you just coast you will get lost

    In three sentences

    Grambling is a very rich in history. it is a place where if you don't know yourself you will learn very quickly. and it is a place to have fun and come into one self

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    IT IS SAFE HERE SO FAR

    Greek Life

    IM NOT THER YET

    Clubs and Activities

    THERE ARE A FEW. BUT YOU CAN FIND SOMETHING TO DO AFTER HOMEWORK IS PLACE

    Great for these types of students

    DO YOUR BEST AND PICK YOUR FRIENDS WISELY

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    WE ALL ENJOY THE CAFE ON CAMPUS

    Bang for the buck

    ALL SCHOOL FEES ARE VERY HIGH. NO MATTER WHERE YOU GO. JUST BE ABLE TO BUY YOUR BOOKS. AND SUPPLIES

    What to do for fun

    YOU WILL NEED A CAR TO GET AROUND. IF YOU WILL NEED TO GO OFF CAMOUS. IF NOT YOU CAN WALK TO WHERE EVER HERE ON CAMPUS

    Food and Dining

    5 STAR

    Dorm Life

    5 STAR

    Academic Rigor

    5 STAR

    Tips for prospective students

    PLEASE HAVE A PLAN OF WHAT YOU WILL NEED TO DO TO APPLY. MAKE SURE YOU DO WELL ON THE ACT, THEN START YOUR APPLICANTION TO ATTEND SCHOOL.

    In three sentences

    I LOVE IT HERE AT GRAMBLING STATE. I AM IN MY 3RD SEMESTER NOW. I COULDNT HAVE MADE A BETTER CHOICE FOR MYSELF TO ATTEND COLLEGE. I WOULD SUJECT TO ANYONE WHO IS THINKING OF ATTENDING SCHOOL HERE AT GRAMBING STATE. PLEASE DO SO.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the freshman quad.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply or call for any assistance.

    In three sentences

    The overall experience at Grambling State University has been awesome. The teachers are helpful and so is the administration.

  • 03/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are very firm when it comes to students.

    Greek Life

    When our Greeks arent suspended, which they usually are the Greek life is everything you see in the movies. We have the entire Divine 9, however about 6 of them are on lock down.

    Clubs and Activities

    All I can say about this is to be responsible, there isn't much to do in Grambling, but the surrounding areas, Monroe, Shreveport etc have lots to offer.

    Great for these types of students

    Grambling is great for any type of student that's not afraid of being out on their own and making things work for themselves majority of the time. If you ever want to test your level of maturation, come to Grambling especially leaving a big city.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Tiger Express is the place to be at the beginning of each semester. Fun! Fun! Fun!

    Bang for the buck

    If you are an out of state student like myself, try everything you can go get involved so an out of state fee waiver can be provided for you! It saves money and the refunds you receive will come in handy during those tough monetary periods.

    What to do for fun

    The yard on Gramblings campus is almost always filled with people. However, that can get boring. So if it is at all possible to have a car, do so, your time here will go by much smoother.

    Food and Dining

    I recommend investing in food stamps immediately, if possible have them before you leave for school they will come in handy! Most cafeterias neglect to stay open at 12am when we're really hungry from studying all night!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are almost the greatest part of college. It helps you to learn to mesh with other people , it's a trial on people skills. You live with someone you don't know most of the time & it's all about how you handle that situation. The insides of the dorms are lovely to say the lease.

    Academic Rigor

    Build relationships with your teachers, time can get hard and they will as a broke college student. However, it helps for your teachers to be familiar with your work ethic.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to Grambling for a school, not to party or discover a new type of people. Learn and perfect the art of time management, it's ok to have fun but gtf that work done as well. Don't give in to peer pressure, everything that you see being done on campus is not for you, have your own mind & stick to it.

    In three sentences

    Grambling is a great learning experience. It will increase your level of maturation whether you want it to or not. If you can make it at Grambling, you can make it anywhere in thi world.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Fun on this campus is what you make. There are a few parties here and there but it is really up to the individual to decide how they will have fun. There are many different things to get into around the campus, for instance game rooms and lounges.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent. Things could be better in this department but it gets the job done altogether. The choices of food are pretty good and the atmosphere of the cafeteria is awesome.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is awesome. They are very clean and comfortable housing arrangements. It gives you the perfect feeling of home.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are taken very seriously here so you must be on your A game. Don't let your academics consume you though, understand that you must create a balance and be relaxed in order for you to greatly achieve in the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for an all around life experience. Don't be afraid to be yourself because that is the best way you will fit in. Be punctual and proactive and become involved in school clubs or activities.

    In three sentences

    This is a school that makes everybody feel like somebody. the family-like atmosphere creates a comfortable environment for the students who attend, allowing better chances for academic achievements.

  • 06/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning on attending GSU, prepare for a great expierence and a great future.

    In three sentences

    It is a great place for opportunity for an African American citizen. It has great extra-curricular activities. It guides you on the right path for success.

  • 06/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I cheer for fun and that takes up a lot of my time but I also have a social life away from that.

    Food and Dining

    Some days are better than others but the meal plans come in handy just choose the one that is right for you.

    Dorm Life

    I stayed in Bowen 900, that is a apt styled dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stay on top of all your stuff, just like any other major university Grambling has many students and plenty of paperwork!

    In three sentences

    Grambling is a great school and I am glad to be in attendance. I am also happy that they have started the campus beautification to make the campus look more modern and appealing to new students. I feel as though I have chosen the right school for me.

  • 07/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    All you can eat! try not to gain the freshman 15!

    Dorm Life

    Brand new dorms, apartment style

    Academic Rigor

    Nursing is the hardest department on campus! Other than that, the work is absolutely doable

    Tips for prospective students

    BECOME ACTIVE! Join organizations and get involved. Don't be the student who goes back to their dorm after each class. That will make for a miserable experience.

    In three sentences

    Overall a good experience. It's all up to you on what you do with it.

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cameras are up and for the most it pretty safe. We always travel in a group.

    Greek Life

    They put on great shows and lots of activities for us. I enjoy the bond they have. I am thinking of pledging to one...which one I haven't confirmed as of yet.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am thinking of joining a club this semester. This will be my Junior year and I want to put something on my resume. I plan to get an internship with pay of course.

    Great for these types of students

    All types.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I know most of my friends are my support we help each other from moving in, moving out, and most important studying. When its mid-term we are focus no playing around.

    Bang for the buck

    College has a lot to offer you and we need to take advantage of it. It prepares you for your future. I only wish the cost would go down a bit and the loans. Wish I could get more grants and less loans. I heard some stories about paying the loans back.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy hanging out with my new friends. I like that a lot of sports activities are available. I pick up my nephew and he enjoys the band. There is also a quiet place to study.

    Food and Dining

    The variety is great....the tiger bucks are wonderful. I love that I can eat healthy when I want that choice it's available.

    Dorm Life

    I truly like that we have the option to have more roommates. It has given me the opportunity to get to make new friends, that I feel will be a lifetime friendship. My mom has friends she meet in college and its been awhile and they are still in contact with each other.

    Academic Rigor

    I messed up my first semester and from now on I'm a 3.7 average working toward that 4.0. This is the start of my future and I plan to make it happen for me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Grambling is a place where you can learn and have fun all at the same time. You have to have a backbone of support to keep you motivated. My mom does that for me and I am so proud we have a good relationship. She checks on my regularly. She told me when I first came this is a privilege don't mess it up.

  • 09/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty things to do for fun, You can join organization, Participate in Sport and Recreation activities.

    Food and Dining

    We have the Best food of any university in state!

    Tips for prospective students

    If trying to attend Grambling make sure you are coming to do your work and not party.

    In three sentences

    Grambling is one of the Greatest HBCU's. Grambling had lovely professors. I love my HBCU because we can all get alone!

  • 09/17/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    41 of 45

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    has been said alot of great things about i have alot of friends there

  • 10/03/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    42 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had an issue with feeling unsafe on campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek life has a visual presence on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a plethora of student activities on campus Band Choir Football Baseball Basketball Cheer leaders Greek life

    Great for these types of students

    Grambling is a place with student ranging form the age of 17-40. There is a place for other non-traditional students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They sing the school song after every football game as they hold up their are pointing in the air with their index finger. This let's everyone know that they are always number 1!

    Bang for the buck

    Grambling State University is a budget friendly school.

    What to do for fun

    There are games, televisions and WiFi in the Student Union. The campus always have entertainment going on on campus through out the year for your entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is full of southern home cooking. There are other fast food restaurant on campus also.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in the dorms. There are new dormitories on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I have found that most of the class are intense. Computer labs are open for your convenience. Tutors are also available if you have found some things to be challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you fill out you paper work in a timely fashion. Visit before the semester begin to get familiar with the campus. Keep an open communication with your professors. Take advantage of your down time.

    In three sentences

    Grambling State University is a home away from home. The instructors are very concerned about to finishing the task at hand. This is a great school to attend to begin your new journey in life.

  • 10/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is 100% great on campus. 24/7 police on campus, they are always riding around making sure everything is going smoove.

    Greek Life

    The Greek Life here is very serious! They are very active on this campus and full of life. The Greeks have their different weeks in the fall where they have stroll offs and fun activties planned for people, its a great time and experiance for anyone!

    Clubs and Activities

    This campus has so many different clubs and activites for students to get in! Any club that is imaginable is here!

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for every type of student, no student is left behind at this campus!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some tradtions on campus is that there is a big coranation each year and that is where they introduce Miss Grambling to everyone its like the Queens Ball and everyone gets dressed up to go to the event and they called out the diiferent clubs queens and kings and at the end is when Miss Grambling is presented her crown and then she gives a speech to everyone, then after that is done there is a reception.

    What to do for fun

    What to do for fun on this campus.... Well the yard ofcourse, there is always some type of thing going on the yard, like a block party of just people hanging out. But usllauy you can go to the game room which is full of video games from xbox games to playstation and also the wii, and if you are not a gamer than you can play pool or ping pong. Or go bowling on the on campus bowling alley!

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining on campus is great only on tuesdays in the cafe. Tuesdays in the cafe is called fried chicken tuesdays and that is like the day everyone looks forward too! But other than that you can go to the express where there is Burger King, Taco Bell, and Panda Express. But the downside too that is on the weekend its only open till 9 :( . And some times they close earlier than that.

    Dorm Life

    I have to give dorm life four stars. Its always fun getting to room with your friends and living on your own. But the only bad part is if you stay in the older tradtion halls the air condition seems to go out three times a semester and are off for likr three to four days. So you are either sweating or you are cold.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic stand point of Grambling State, I would have to say coming from a Arizona community college, is a wide awaken. I say this because professors are very cut thoat, but at the same time they are here to see you suceed in your work and the best thing about it all is that the computer labs have free printing and are open to mid-night.

    Tips for prospective students

    For any student looking to come to Grambling State, be ready because professors do not play and games and are not cut for kids who are lazy and like to show up to class every other day. Also dont be shy to talk to other people on the campus! A great why to meet people is going on to the yard and hanging out meeting new people. But most importantly dont let the party life get to you! Always remember your studys because times at Grambling and the party scene can get pretty crazy.

    In three sentences

    Grambling is a great place where Everybody is Somebody and by this I'm say that because this is the schools motto and they stick to it, no one is left unnoticed on the semi-big campus. Grambling is rated great for class and sticking wth traditon and most importantly the outstanding marching band!

  • 12/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Their is no safety on campus. Their is a police department on campus, that write tickets to people who park in the wrong area but do nothing about people who are driving 30 miles over the speed limit on campus, or people who almost hit people while walking on cross walks. Their is tons of fights, involving guns, also a lot of sexual crime going on. It is not safe to walk alone on campus at night.

    What to do for fun

    At Grambling there is a party on campus or close to it every weekend. Literally. If you want to get out and have a good time with people you can always go to a party.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food doesn't really supply a lot of healthy options, in my opinion. They also have horrible hours. However, they're open on Thanksgiving break, so the out of state students who can't go home have something to eat on the Holiday.

    Dorm Life

    They have a lot of dorms to chose from. The dorms are nice but too expensive. Internet in buildings is very horrible.

    Academic Rigor

    You have some teachers here that don't teach properly and then some that do and care about there students succeeding. Their system in getting students financial aid, and registered is horrible. They are very slow.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to go to a small university and not spend a ton of money this would be a place to go. I don't recommend coming to this school. They are more interested in making money to keep the students that they have than actually focusing on the students and schools needs.

    In three sentences

    Grambling State University is not on the top list of schools to go to. Academically you can get a good education. However, students needs are not a priority here.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Not in any.

    Great for these types of students

    Nerds and studious students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    All the extra tiger they adding on campus and new trash cans.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you can go to the game room in the express where you can play pool, watch tv, play video games, and play card. Also you can go to the tiger den and play bowling with your friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    There really aren't any tips to give. Its just when you start school you should be on your school work and not all the partying.

    In three sentences

    I would rate grambling a 5 out of 10. Grambling is not what i thought it would be. So far we have had fights, shootings, and teachers not showing up.