Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Grand View University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do in the Des Moines area no matter what the season is.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, but student housing looks very nice.

    In three sentences

    I would give Grand View University an excellent rate. They are very helpful in many ways. It has many majors to offer and the major that I was interested in.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The only time I don't feel safe, is crossing East 14th street here in Des Moines on campus. Yes there is a cross walk and such, but you never know. You always see Grand View Security driving around campus, all day, every day, in their Jeep Liberty.

    Greek Life

    Don't have any that I'm aware of.

    Clubs and Activities

    They need more activities! Students get bored! The clubs aren't well promoted and the school needs to work on integrating the commuting students into whatever activities that are planned.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are seeking a higher education at a four year school, who like being in smaller classes, and having a more personal relationship with their professors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The library is the best spot on campus to hang out, meet up with other students, study, or just grab a cup of coffee. The parking lots are always full, so parking can be a hassle sometimes.

    Bang for the buck

    Doesn't seem to be worthwhile so far. I feel like the classes I have taken weren't worthwhile and would have been better if I took them at DMACC, which is much less expensive than Grand View.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, I don't ever have time for fun. I attend class Monday-Friday and work every night so that I can pay back my student loans. The school does small things from time to time like movie night or whatever the student activities group plans.

    Food and Dining

    Although I'm a commuter student, I still have a meal plan because I spend a good amount of my time on campus each day. The quickest bite to eat is at Stacks and the Library cafe is where I always go for a cup of coffee between class. They have improved their greatly over the past semester. You used to have to wait in line for 30 minutes for a sandwich or 10 minutes for a cup of coffee!

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus and one of the reasons is the dorms. They aren't the best for the amount of money that you, the student pay for. There isn't ever much going on, students seem to get bored, and so they go off campus and explore Des Moines.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are great, but not all the material they cover with you in class seems to be worthwhile. Some classes, mainly the general core classes, aren't stimulating, but required!

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students I would say that they should really look in to the costs of attending school here. Yes, a lot is covered with financial aid help, but those student loans add up quick and have to be repaid one day. Just something to think about, that is why I live at home to save money.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy attending school here because it's close to home and as a commuter student that's important to me. I have had some great professors, who are so knowledgeable, and personal with their students.

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe on this campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not involved in on-campus activities. My activities include community-based organizing, and church activities. I tried not to rate this, but the web page insisted.

    Bang for the buck

    I tried not to rate this, but the web page insisted.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat there, and I haven't heard if the food is good. I tried not to rate this, but the web page insisted.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus. I tried not to rate this, but the web page insisted.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes have been challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    For the adult returning to school, don't get discouraged. Engage the instructors and try to engage the students. Be patient with the younger viewpoints.

    In three sentences

    There are a lot of younger students here, which detracts somewhat from the learning experience. The class sizes seem nice and small, so I do feel like I can get the extra help and attention I need. The admissions and the financial aid offices have both lost paperwork that I have sent them, they could be more efficient.

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 hour securty so it's basically like you are protected by superman

    Clubs and Activities

    intramural sports and volunteer opportunities

    Bang for the buck

    Helps students in paying for tuitions through grants and such

    Food and Dining

    many varieties throughout the college neighborhood

    Dorm Life

    Have class diveded halls with luxuries that fit each person

    Academic Rigor

    Trust me if you study hard, you are going to be sucessful. this college has caring teahers and they help you inorder to archieve your best

    In three sentences

    I like this college because it has a varity of opportunities that suit each students desire for getting an education. It has good community and united feeling throughout the student body and it provides me with countless offers to engage in activities. Personally, Track rules :)

  • 09/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are soooooo many fun clubs and organizations you can join. There are also whole campus activities you are invited to attend

    Food and Dining

    Great! There are places to eat all over campus.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus but I've heard that it is really nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be afraid to ask anyone at Grand View for help. They will help you no matter what. it is a really great school.

    In three sentences

    They have really small classes so you are not forgotten. Your professors and your advisor will help you with anything. They are really there for you with any problems or questions you might have.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus. If you feel sketchy walking around campus at night, you can always call security and they will escort you. GVU isn't in the nicest part of Des Moines so there are always sirens going on but campus always seems really safe. There are lots of cars broken into though.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all kinds of clubs and activities to get involved with on campus. Education Club, Environmental Club, PRIDE Club, Viking Volunteers, RHA, Viking Council, History Club, Math and Computer Science club, SAC, etc...

    Great for these types of students

    GV is great for commuter students and non-traditional students along with the normal traditional students (myself).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a tradition of painting the rock in front of the Humphrey Center, hiding Bud the Bird and there is a ghost named Sheila who haunts the Humphrey Center!

    Bang for the buck

    GVU is a fairly expensive school compared to the Regents schools, but its worth every dime. The professors are some of the best out there!

    What to do for fun

    Des Moines is such a fun city to be in! There are always games going on with the sports teams on campus and there's always something going on. Shopping and nightlife is less than fifteen minutes away. At least once a month the SAC sponsors Free Movie night at an area theater, there's free lazer tag some nights and there's always something fun going on!

    Food and Dining

    There are 3 dining options, Jensen, Stacks and Knudsen. Jensen is an Italian type restaurant (think Fazoli's), Stacks is a sub shop like Subway and Knudsen is all you can eat style. Stacks has the best breakfast.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone here leaves on the weekends, but during the week there is so much life in the halls of the dorms! We leave our doors open most of the time and its a really casual, fun time!

    Academic Rigor

    Grand View isn't the easiest college but it is by no means the hardest either. The Logos honors program is so much fun and you learn a lot. The professors are great and really help if you don't understand anything. Being such a small school there's a lot of one-on-one time with professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your admissions counselor and get to know your academic adviser.

    In three sentences

    Grand View is a fantastic college. I feel totally at home here, and the professors are incredible. I never would have thought I would love this place as much as I do!

  • 12/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On the first day of orientation campus security had every student take their phone out and put their number in it. I see these guys drive and walk all over campus. They take the little situation and make it seem like it is first priority. I have never felt safer in any environment that at Grand View.

    Greek Life

    They have a few sorority and fraternity houses but they have more dorms than anything.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs to join! I can't even name half of them!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for kids who start out shy and then open up after awhile.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One thing I really like about Grand View is how they offer chapel every Tuesday and church every Sunday but they don't force people into going. Its very open and informal as well.

    Bang for the buck

    Grand View can be pricey but they award a lot of scholarships and they help families work out the financial kinks. My family and I made an appointment with them and they answered every question we had.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities for people to do. Just a couple weeks ago there was a jello palooza and we played in the jello. So fun!

    Food and Dining

    There cooks know what they are doing. There are three different dining options on campus and many restaurants around if you prefer a restaurant.

    Dorm Life

    The only part I dislike about dorming is the community showers and bathrooms. I like my privacy!

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are very open about seeing them in between classes. Plus there is free tutoring open to anyone!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you transfer you credits to them as soon as you get there. I took make college credit classes in high school and I waited until the last minute to transfer them and it caused way to much stress. Another tip is no procrastination! It isn't worth it

    In three sentences

    Grand View is an excellent school if you are looking for the small university style. They try and make everyone involved and the staff and students are so nice. To me Grand View is like a small family

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Okay. It's campus food, you won't gain the freshman 15 thats for sure.

    Dorm Life

    Its Dorm life. It's kind of like camping all the time

    Academic Rigor

    Awesome!

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, GPA is everything in college. Most degree's require at least a 2.5 if not a 3.0

    In three sentences

    Grand View has a great at home environment. The teachers and staff are amazing and your always seeing new faces. I wouldn't have choose a different school for my education.

  • 05/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    School Security jeeps drive around and monitor the campus and immediate neighborhood 24/ 7.

    Greek Life

    None that I'm aware of.

    Great for these types of students

    Majority of students are involved in athletics (20+ athletic programs), or nursing students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Grand View Glow is an all student event in the spring. Giant paint party where everyone leaves with glow paint all over. A very fun event. - Spring semester ends near the end of April. Earliest semester end date I know of. Allows you to get home and find a summer job before the state schools let out.

    What to do for fun

    The school sponsors free student outings. This year we had a few movie nights at a nearby theater and a bowling night. All free. These were fun. - Several malls in the area; minor league basketball, baseball and hockey teams.

    Food and Dining

    Several food halls to choose from. Several near by off campus selections (within 1 mile or less).

    Dorm Life

    Lots of very new, modern dorms. Traditional and apartment style.

    Academic Rigor

    I used study groups to help me stay on track and balance study time.

    Tips for prospective students

    The Administration wants you to succeed. I've always felt like my adviser is talking to me as an individual, who knows my strengths and weaknesses. Coaches me in the right direction, but when I hit a bump in the road can easily get me transitioned back on track. - Take advantage of the Writing Center. As a freshman the help I received here really helped me write college level papers. Helped me organize my thoughts and communicate them effectively. It was a very informal process, but it did help me. - Connect with some sort of group. At first when everything is so new, it's easy to want to just isolate your self, but everyone is looking for a friend. It helps to find a college sponsored group to join.

    In three sentences

    - Small classes sizes (20-25 students) which allow ease in participation, and a comfortable environment to ask questions. Easy to talk to professors. Quick responses when I email them. - Small college located in the city so access to malls, shopping, employment opportunities, night life, sporting events. - Lots of activities and groups to become involved in. This helps to connect with a group of other students with same likes.

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have good food. There are different dishes to choose from, but after a while you might want to try something new.

    Dorm Life

    I commute, but have never felt left out.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes only get hard when you don't put hard effort into it. Even when a class might seem impossible to pass there's a bigger chance of passing. Your advisor will give you constant feedback on how to be in great academic standards.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't procrastinate. It is very easy to be successful with the help of professors and tutor tables, so stay caught up as much as possible.

    In three sentences

    In my opinion Grand View University have endless amount of people we can count on to be successful. In and out of the classroom set there's always someone to talk to about any concern we might have. I love the environment here, its very friendly.

  • 08/02/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    HOMEWORK!

    Food and Dining

    smells good!

    Dorm Life

    Not living in dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Im sure it is wonderful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait until the last minute.

    In three sentences

    Everyone I have met so far seems very helpful and nice. All of the admission staff is very easy to get a hold of. They are also good at answering all your questions.

  • 10/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is plenty of things to do on campus. The school sends out personal emails to let students know what is going on and when they can attend. They have free bowling nights, movie nights, and many more. Grandview knows how to keep students involved with activities here on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is decent, they have different foods every day or you can grab a sub at Stacks.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, but we have included a new dormitory for those that are juniors and seniors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Grandview is a great school to attend. If you apply here be ready to participate in school activities. Grandview sends out tons of messages on ways you can be a part of the school. Also if you are undecided, that's fine. You can take your required classes and then when you come to some idea on what you want to do Grandview has lots of options. So don't be scared to go attend Grandview not knowing what you want to do, you will be fine.

    In three sentences

    Grandview is a very diverse college campus. The classes are small, so you are able to get that one on one connection with your professor. Grandview is a great college for those that don't like the larger campuses or crowds.

  • 12/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel pretty safe on the campus, although if you're talking about anything beyond the campus, Des Moines is kinda sketchy... The security guards are really nice and they're willing to help you out if you need something. Remember if you're living at least in the freshmen traditional dorms, don't do anything stupid in your floor lobby cause the guards can see it on the cameras.

    Greek Life

    No greek life, although I wish we had some. But even if we did, I'm not sure I'd join even...

    Clubs and Activities

    There's quite a few clubs to choose from and there's usually always plenty of activities. For Christmas, our activities council brought back this great vocal band, Six Appeal, from homecoming, and it was great! One of my favorite campus events ever. I sometimes wish we had more clubs but for the amount of students here, its a good amount.

    Great for these types of students

    Studious, athletes, and friendly people. If you're looking to party, Grand View is not the school for you. The parties here aren't that great and you're almost always guaranteed to be busted.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bud's Place is great. We have Shelia the Ghost, and a tradition was to hide this statue of this bird, called Bud, around, but now that's no more.

    Bang for the buck

    I really like it here although I've had a couple of troubles here and there, but you'll find them at any college. Oh and this is random, but Grand View loves to give free shirts out at nearly every thing. At our Christmas concert this year by Six Appeal, we got these free cute little mugs with attached spoons and hot chocolate and peppermint candies. Overall, I really like it here.

    What to do for fun

    On the weekends, there's not much to do unless you have great friends who stay and don't go home. But there's usually plenty of campus events and activities going on so just keep your eye out and don't be afraid to go to anything that sounds even the bit interesting. You'll meet lots of people and make friends that way. And you might even have a good time. There's Bud's Place in the basement of my hall with a ping pong table, lots of chairs and a big couch, and a pool table and a couple other things. There's also lots of TVs and one giant screen. People watch movies, play games, or hang out down there a lot.

    Food and Dining

    Eh, its school food. School food is never like homemade food. But the school cafeteria does a decent job at providing lots of variety and its pretty clean. I should know, I work there! The only complaints is that sometimes the food gets cold and the meal/points thing is kinda a downside. Lots of the good food you have to use points with and those go fast. And you can only use meals once every four hours and you can't pay for multiple people. You have to use points if you're paying for someone else. The other annoying part is that at some locations, they run out of a lot of things, like the sandwich shop will sometimes run out of tomatoes within a bit of opening because they haven't gotten a shipment in yet that week. And at Einstein's I really like their bagels, but their sandwiches aren't as great as the actual sandwich shop. I'm kinda sad that the sandwich shop no longer does breakfast, especially since Einstein's is all points and cash and no meals.

    Dorm Life

    I'm living in one of the traditional dorms and I really like it. I have about 40 girls on my floor and we're all pretty close. My roommate left the second week of school, and while I miss having a roommate, its not too bad. Most people are really friendly, although some people have trouble keep the noise down at night. My RA is fantastic and we have fun times. We have girls night sometimes do things together as a floor. Don't be shy although if you are, just go sit out in the lobby and you'll do fine. Oh one of the downsides is that in the traditional freshmen buildings, there's no air conditioning except in the basement unless you request it specifically and pay for it. Or hope your roommate gets one. But there's heat. I also like that in the freshman traditional dorms that our rooms have a colored wall but I wish there was a place where we could cook our own food with an actual stove or oven. You could ask the Viking House and they'll let you cook food there, but it isn't fun bring food and items back and forth all the time. Or if you know an upperclassman in the apartments. They have really nice dorms. You get your own bedroom and the bathrooms are really nice and they get their own kitchen. The sophomores/juniors get nice dorms too.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are pretty challenging, but not if you keep track of your assignments and projects. Make sure you don't fall behind and if you ever need to miss class- email your professors! Most of the professors are good, although a couple of mine I don't like very much but they're good teachers. My math professor was funny and he had a specific test day shirt he always wore. It was the ugliest shirt ever, but you always knew what day it was when he wore it. And he played random videos before class and told stories a lot. I like that our professors actually know us and take the time to get to know us. We don't have graduate students teaching us. The library is really small but I've never had trouble finding sources and the librarians are super helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its a small school, actually really small, but the people here will all know you so keep an open mind. Most of the kids are from Des Moines or Iowa, but there's a quite a bit of students from other schools. Make sure to do well in high school and know that you can't slack off here.

    In three sentences

    This school is expensive, but I really like it so far. I'm a freshman who's going into her second semester and the people are wonderful and really make the school great. I like most of my classes, and they're challenging.

  • 04/25/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are cameras & police everywhere.

    Clubs and Activities

    Play a sport.

    Great for these types of students

    students that are looking for a smaller school.

    What to do for fun

    What's not there to do? it's Des Moines.

    Food and Dining

    Never ate there. lol

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice, and you upgrade to bigger dorms as the years go on.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors and tutors are great with the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like smallers schools, look at this school.

    In three sentences

    Grand View is a great mid western school. The environment is safe, they have great athletics, and awesome professors & staff that will help you with anything. Check this school out, it's worth it.