Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Granite State College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always felt safe and secure while on-campus

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional, shift workers, military service members and dependents.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost to attend, as either an in-state or out-of-state, can not be beat.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of options for fun, in small groups, as well as local area attractions to explore. New Hampshire provides the best of both worlds, the mountains & lakes regions and the ocean. You just can not go wrong!

    Food and Dining

    We always had great options for snacks on-campus and food options in the near area.

    Dorm Life

    I was a commuter student, taking both on campus and on-line classes. There are resources available to students to help locate adequate housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are well structured. Course work is pertinent to your major and truly beneficial with helping you move to the next level in your academic and professional careers as well as in life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be afraid to speak with your academic coach or professor. These folks have been committed to helping so many students overcome challenges you may also be familiar with that are going on in your life. Granite State is a gateway to bigger and better things, just take a moment and walk through that gateway!

    In three sentences

    This have been a great college experience, particularly for a non-traditional student. I enjoy the different options available, both on campus and on-line, for course. Granite State College fits my lifestyle!

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Granite State is fantastic for adult learners, first time college students and recent high school grads. as well. They are well equipped to work with students of every background and needs.

    Food and Dining

    The only food is vending machines because it is a commuter school only.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please check this school out, I have never been happier.

    In three sentences

    Granite State offers the best courses, flexibility and options for every student. They have been there to advise, support and help me achieve my goals 100% since I began courses here. I would recommend this school to anyone that asks.

  • 10/05/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    retieries. good for them to learn how to do some little things so they're not bord

    What to do for fun

    nothing

    Tips for prospective students

    go to snhu.

    In three sentences

    Not worth it. I graduated in 2011 and still unemployed, regardless of my experience i should be able to get an entry level job or a job that pays me enough for the dgree. regardless of the economic crisis you can not suceed with a degree earned at this school the entire class still does not work in that field. not a marketable school.

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Granite State College provides a safe learning environment in each of their campuses.

    Clubs and Activities

    Granite State College offers work study.

    Great for these types of students

    Granite State College is great for students with a busy schedule, or limited mobility. Granite State College is better suited for more motivated students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Granite State College Campuses are located in various cities around the state of NH, as well as online.

    Bang for the buck

    The quality of education is a good deal for the price.

    Food and Dining

    There is no food or dining.

    Dorm Life

    There are no Dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are very thorough in regards to the topics they cover, while at the same time remaining fairly fast paced.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest that students show initiative in their work, and actively participate in class. You should not be afraid to ask for help, or explanations if you are unsure of what the assignment is.

    In three sentences

    Granite State College offers a wide variety of opportunities for prospective students; with college campuses scattered around the State of NH, as well as online courses for those who cannot make it to a campus. The average cost of attending is $20,000 for 2 years, including books. The instructors at Granite State College excel at their job, and are willing to help students when asked.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Mostly the untraditional student. (Older students :)

    Bang for the buck

    Very good college for a local state college

    Food and Dining

    No Food areas

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    In three sentences

    Great School, with Great Professor's that care!

  • 02/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Most campuses are located in downtown areas and students are told to leave in pairs at night, but faculty is usually around to walk students to their cars if necessary.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are no clubs or activities, but the school is open to letting students start them.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for non-traditional students. It works well for traditional students who also lead busy lives.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost is about average if you go full time, and it's worth it for education.

    What to do for fun

    There aren't many student activities; although, the school is open to letting students start activities if there's interest.

    Food and Dining

    There isn't a cafeteria, but there are vending machines, and most campuses are in downtown areas, so there's always food available.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms; however, off campus housing isn't expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are thorough, but the professors are understanding. They expect you to do the work, but if you get stuck, they'll help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your adviser to plan classes because there are quite a few requirements. If you have any questions, don't be afraid to ask faculty. They have been very helpful.

    In three sentences

    People are very helpful, and the other students are friendly. Class times are convenient and there are many online classes. Campuses are small, but are conveniently located in many areas of the state.

  • 07/11/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are always people who can't wait to get out of the parking lot, with their car, like crazy....oh and crazy instructors so watch out. one of them even falls asleep during presentations. so yea, that's what you get at this college.

    Clubs and Activities

    none, this is no university, it's an elderly people class building

    What to do for fun

    fun? please

    Food and Dining

    non existing, it's a building that they are renting, as a one course for eldery people, and later decided that they need more money and included degrees to become a college but were not prepared for it.

    Dorm Life

    non existing

    Academic Rigor

    not good

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to UNH, or SNHU. You have a very good chance of never using their Degrees. Everybody's on Dean's List, so your effort doesn't make any difference. You can not meet another student you can rely on, they are mostly retieries, or really old people. The prices, are not as low as they claim to be, so do your research, and you are not saving any money, and risking of being on food stamps like myself, after you graduate. NOT WORTH IT>

    In three sentences

    I graduated in 2011, and I'm unemployed, and on food stamps. the school is not worth, they can add more and more (weird and useless) majors each semester but none that will help you. There are many reasons for that, the school is not marketable, it is usually people who graduated from UNH or SNHU thtat suceed, not gsc. My entire class still did not find a job in our field or anything worth the money and the Degree. The instructors have no teaching Degrees, don't know how to teach, most of them are agressive and authoritative, it is all about them instead of the students learning something. They do not prepare you for the real world, in any way. The hiring managers are not too amazed about your Degree earned at this college. I wish i signed up with some other college, that is more recognizable, more valued by employers and give you more thance to get A job.

  • 08/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional

    What to do for fun

    Not much!

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare yourself to do research on buying books away from their bookstore. Check into online and in classroom learning. When applying for financial aid start early the process can be long.

    In three sentences

    I love Granite State. The only issue are there are not enough scholarships. Internet learning is in the first stages.

  • 08/29/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I am not visiting the campus often, but it seemed clean and well maintained as well as safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Granite State College is great for non-traditional working and nonworking students.

    Bang for the buck

    I am looking to be a Middle School Math teacher and also to become certified to teach Special Education, and Granite State College had the perfect program for me. All classes are very affordable compared to surrounding colleges.

    What to do for fun

    There are many lounges and bars in the area as well as a mall and cinema's to visit. If you like to travel there are many attractions: the ocean, the mountains, lakes, museums, and historical locations to visit.

    Food and Dining

    There are tons of options in every direction for food and dining, Concord is a large city. The commute in any direction is short.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a mother of five, so the idea of being able to finish my degree completely online is very appealing to me.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is important to connect with an educational advisor right away and let them know exactly what it is you are looking for. The advisors are very helpful and will meet with you personally with an appointment in person or over the phone.

    In three sentences

    I really liked the Concord campus; the building was good-sized with a new interior. Beth and Jim helped me with choosing a degree program that fit my goals. I am looking forward to starting this fall.