Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Grays Harbor College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/09/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People with not a lot of money to spend on college. Locals or people from Washington (though we do get a lot of people from Idaho, but they got sports scholarships) people wanting to get into the health care field (I'm not, but I frequently hear about how good our nursing program is, we have an entire floor of the 2000 building dedicated to it) people with English as a secondary language (we have a nice ESL program)

    Tips for prospective students

    Since the college doesn't have dorms, finding a hotel or place to stay is a top priority. I live at my aunt and uncles, and its only a 15 minute drive into school, I know people who make an hour commute and some people who make a two hour commute, just to go to school because of the price of apartments around here. If I were you, find someone that you can live with that lives close to the college. there are some nice apartments by the local Ymca, they are full constantly, but if you can, they are definitely the best choice. Also, the summer quarter has the potential to kill some students, do not take it unless you have to. and if you do take it, don't take a full schedule, the classes are twice as long, but there is less time to do homework. I took only 10 credits in the summer and I was there from 9 to 3.

    Bang for the buck

    Hey, its a community college so the price is really really cheap (I mean the University I am going to attend, a single quarter there is equal in price to my first year here) It is rated as the Top community college in the state of Washington and I can really see why.

    Am enjoying being here

    Since being here I have watched, and enjoyed, movies that I never would have watched otherwise. Had a play that I wrote get chosen to be performed in a national play contest. Went to the Experience Music Project and Science Fiction Museum. They like to make sure that students really enjoy there time attending.

    Am learning a lot

    Many things that I have learned here have really changed the way I look at the world. It is also helping my dream (Novelist) along smoothly.

  • 09/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    From day one I have received all the help I needed to succeed.

  • 12/06/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid or put things off because things may seem intimidating. (Paperwork, forms, questions, etc.) Keep your head up and your eyes forward and you'll find your way.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition seems reasonable...and honestly, who could put a price on education. Education is, in my opinion, the most important asset a person could have.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is incredible. I was in awe as I drove up to it.

    Will learn a lot

    I'm giving this 5 stars, in hopes of learning lots. I haven't actually started any classes at this point, but I've been to the campus and have asked tons of, I'm sure stupid, questions and everyone has been patient and helpful! It amazed me.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe. The lighting is everywhere and parking is close to the campus. There are security nearby for help with any problems.

    Clubs and Activities

    Th campus has lots of clubs. Your best bet is to check the website for information.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking for a low stress college this is your choice. The campus is fairly compact and the people are easy going. All races and religions or choices are accepted here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are nature trails on the lower part of the campus. There is also a lake within walking distance and a trail that goes around another pond nearby.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is reasonably priced. I believe the tuition costs are comparable to other colleges. I am very happy with my decision to go to this school.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities at the college. They have music studies, along with a board game meeting. There is a dodge ball meeting also.

    Food and Dining

    The dining area is great. The food at the cafeteria is excellent. It's basic: cheeseburgers, fish and chips, sandwiches. They also have chips, pop, etc.

    Dorm Life

    Grays Harbor College does not have dorms. There are many opportunities to find roommates. You can also find other housing arrangements at the message boards in the student union.

    Academic Rigor

    It is easy to push yourself at Grays Harbor College. There are many challenging courses and activities. You can get help as you need it but it is easy to challenge yourself. I am challenging myself with algebra that I have never seen before.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are new to Grays Harbor College I suggest using the TRIO center. They are a great way of dealing with issues. They can help with scholarships and the Washboard.

    In three sentences

    Grays Harbor College is a easy place to learn. the teachers are knowledgeable and courteous. The students are willing to help you if you need it.

  • 02/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is really safe we haven't had any incidents with anything.

    Greek Life

    there is one greek program here i don't know anything about it.

    Clubs and Activities

    the clubs are all very active at the school and always have fun things going on like pumpkin bowling around halloween and other things.

    Great for these types of students

    nursing students we have a really nice nursing program same with our human resources program. if you have kids or are working and going to school this is a good place to start. your schedule is pretty easy to make however you need it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is a humans vs. zombies game every year during spring quarter that is really fun and everyone gets into it some people even wear zombie make-up. also there is a lake on campus with a trail that is nice to walk around on nice days.

    Bang for the buck

    you get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    there are alot of clubs and the student government is always putting on fun activities like barbeques, bake sales, comedians come and talk, ect.

    Food and Dining

    the food is excellent and they are currently working on bringing in more choices for all meals.

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorms it's a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    depending on the class depends on the difficulty the science classes are usually pretty rigourous as are the online classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    always check with your advisor before signing up for classes.

    In three sentences

    teacher advisors are very helpful in figuring out what classes you need to take in order to graduate. class size is really good i have never had a class that was to big. teachers welcome you to come in and get help.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Hometown, fine. ****

    Great for these types of students

    older

    Bang for the buck

    YMCA ****

    What to do for fun

    Not a lot in the winter - movies, hanging out.

    Food and Dining

    Kind of expensive, go to Taco Bell or KFC snackers *

    Dorm Life

    Save money, live at home. *

    Academic Rigor

    I would state that some of the professors are definitely on the liberal side and need to relate to all students better. ***

    Tips for prospective students

    Classes fill up fast, so sign up early. Encourage college to help with getting the right classes.

    In three sentences

    The cost is great, but it had a definite older population. The college needs to be more proactive in advertising their scholarship opportunities and making classes available.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt threatened on campus at all. There are staff and first aid supplies everywhere and the majority of students are nice.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many diverse clubs to choose from ranging from Japanese Media Club to Student Nurses Association and many more. Students can also play sports like baseball, softball, basketball, and more.

    Great for these types of students

    Self reliant, those who need extra help, students looking to get prerequisites done at a cheaper price than big universities, pretty much any student

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a week in the month of May every year called Mayhem in which various activities go on all to help raise money for relay for life cancer research.

    Bang for the buck

    The college, as stated before, is full of helpful resources. The counselors and staff are very knowledgeable. I have not had a teacher I do not like so far. Some do have values that I do not agree with, but all have Master's Degrees and/or above; and some have had experience in the field in which they teach. The bookstore is currently working to offer more and more used books to save students money, making it easier for students to keep from having to buy books online.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities that go on in the cafeteria that students can get involved in and plenty if different clubs to get involved in. The gym and fitness rooms have certain times during the day when students not signed up for any fitness classes can go in and work out.

    Food and Dining

    There is a restaurant in the cafeteria. They have a special of the day everyday, but the food choices do get a bit boring. There are also several vending machines with snacks and drinks, and the bookstore also sells some drinks and snacks. A microwave is available to those who bring their own food, and there are plenty of places to eat indoors and outdoors.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers may be laid back but they will give the grade deserving of the work done. Other teachers are very strict. There is a learning center full of tutors that can help students with classes they may be having difficulty with.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to walk up many stairs from the parking lot to the campus. The college is built on a hill with most of the parking down below. If you cannot do stairs they will help you get parking permits for the above parking lots.

    In three sentences

    Grays Harbor College has many dedicated teachers ready to help students succeed. It is very modernized and has plenty of computers and resources available to students who might otherwise not have them. I enjoy learning there and can always find the help and direction I need.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've felt pretty safe, and anytime I didn't, I had places to go.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    If there isn't a desired club, one can be created just by filling out paperwork and turning it in to student government.

    Great for these types of students

    Locals to Grays Harbor, or the surrounding area. Most everyone is LGBTQ friendly.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    For nerds, the Fire Side room is the place to go, if you don't mind the occasional weirdness that happens. Don't go there if you want a quiet place to study.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a really good college for starting out and transferring to a university later. When I was leaving, they were cutting a lot of programs and classes due to budget cuts.

    What to do for fun

    The trails are nice on warm days. There are occasional games that certain clubs will put on.

    Food and Dining

    Decent food, if you have the money for it. I'd advise bringing your own food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the individual class, as well as your course load. Don't take more than fifteen credits unless you have the time to devote to course work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Actually do the assigned reading. Turn assignments in ON TIME. Most of the instructors have been known to make exceptions for family emergencies, but avoid having to use those excuses. Also, get to know your instructors, as they are the ones you want to write your letters of recomendation.

    In three sentences

    Grays Harbor College is great if you live in the area, and want to stay close to home. It is relatively cheap to attend. The faculty and staff are very helpful.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have had no issues with safety or security.

    Clubs and Activities

    TRIO, TRIO, TRIO, need I say more?

    Great for these types of students

    Nontraditional and older students.

    Bang for the buck

    Inexpensive with small class sizes.

    What to do for fun

    Join the Timber Gym.

    Food and Dining

    Is available, but not as varied as in a bigger city.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Difficult but rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study in groups. Talk to your instructors. Start early and finish strong!

    In three sentences

    GHC is a close knit community campus. It is also very close to housing and restaurants. The classrooms are never over crowded, very personable instruction.

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do in this town for fun, but i enjoy just hanging out with my friends.

    Food and Dining

    The school has amazing food, i eat in the hub everyday!

    Dorm Life

    I live at home, so there is no dorm life at this college. Also Grays Harbor doesn't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others, but for the most part. The work load isn't too bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    My only tip is make sure to stay on top of your school work.

    In three sentences

    Grays Harbor has been a great starter school for me. I like having the smaller class sizes. I would recommend this college for others.

  • 02/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun a person can use the weight room, or hang out in Trio or the Learning Center to get help with studying or with a tutor. There is also a fireside room where people can play cards such as Magic, or just to socialize. There are also many different clubs and things going on that a person can volunteer with.

    Food and Dining

    Charlie's in the HUB has great food, and the prices are not too high. The workers in the kitchen are very nice, and the food is fast and fresh.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this college.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but they enable you to get the most out of each class and a person ends up learning a great deal of things.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to fill out the FAFSA, and all other financial aid requirements. Remember to go to class everyday, and study hard!

    In three sentences

    It is an excellent community college that has a lot to offer. They have many valuable degrees offered in 2-year programs. The nursing degree and course is one of the best in the state.

  • 02/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    play sports or go to the gym

    Food and Dining

    Grays Harbor College was a cafe that is call charlies. they serve everything kind food. they always have somthing in special on the food menu.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms that the college offers.

    Academic Rigor

    my plans for college is the first thing that is always on my mind. i want to become someone in life. I'm also the first in my family to attend college.

    In three sentences

    Grays Harbor college is a great college to attend. I have been helped by the staff everytime that i needed it. All the teacher that i had so far have been always supporting me to do my best.

  • 03/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No college life...

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every spring we have a humans vs Zombies competitions that is basically an intense game of tag.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is all about education and supporting our teams. Basketball, volleyball and baseball.

    What to do for fun

    Student activities is always providing interesting or fun things to do in the hub! Such as comedian or arts and crafts.

    Food and Dining

    The Charlies cafe serves home made grill food all day and is delicious!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes vary in difficulty but you should expect hard. Most classes are. But they will always teach you something and are rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Something you should always remember is to use the resources provided for you. Help is a good thing! You will have hard classes that require assistance, make sure you get it.

    In three sentences

    Grays Harbor College is a friendly environment with intelligent teachers. The faculty is always ready to help and wants you to succeed. An overall fantastic college.

  • 03/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great atmosphere. I always feel safe

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all sorts of clubs to join. And if there isn't a club you want you can try to start it yourself

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have an annual Drag Queen show!

    Bang for the buck

    Decent price. Just make sure to get place in the correct classes. I waisted money taking classes I was too advanced for.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms, but they have nice apartments across the street.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to meet with your adviser. They are a great resource!

    In three sentences

    I would rate Grays Harbor College a 8 out of 10 Community College. They have helped me find the right educational path. Their Staff and curriculum has been very helpful and educational.

  • 10/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Where I go is safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots on main campus. I don't know about them. I go to the smallest campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that want to start slow and don't want to deal with all the marketing most schools force on you about their own school.

    Bang for the buck

    Activities on main campus.

    What to do for fun

    Fun is something you do on your own out of college but, they have lots and lots of events and free concerys on the main campus.

    Food and Dining

    I don't know about that. I go to Ilwaco, one of the smaller campuses. They don't offer meals. They have a microwave, free coffee, vending machines and clean dishes to use.

    Dorm Life

    It does'nt provide dorms or units to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    Just keep up and you'll do fine. I do everything as soon as possible when I get the assignment. I suggest you do the same.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's simple and cheap. A college to go to if you feel like you can't take all the stress of a big university. The online classes are good too. Don't miss fast4ward once you've signed up for it.

    In three sentences

    It's a good place to go to do your prerecs before you transfer to a bigger college to finish your major. It's cheap and teaches everything step by step making it easier and smoother. They don't offer a big veriety of classes which is why I would say to go here before going to a bigger college.

  • 02/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is small and very secure.

    Greek Life

    No sororities or fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's tons of fun clubs to join with lots of activities. There's the Diversity Club, Anime Club, Student Life Leaders, and many, many more.

    Great for these types of students

    Fun, outgoing, energetic, and ready to learn new subjects.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have Cardiac Lane as an unusual location on Campus. Its a giant series of stairs that go up-hill towards the 2000 building. Once students enter the building, they can take even MORE flights of stairs to reach their classes, or take the elevator.

    Bang for the buck

    Wonderful professors and classes for a fair amount of tuition.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot of student life events happening at Grays Harbor College. Events are typically free, such as our Halloween Costume Contests, Drag Shows, Plays (Les Miserables, Zombie Prom, etc.), and much more. There's also karaoke!

    Food and Dining

    The workers are wonderful and are very sanitary. The food is cheap and affordable for college students. The food is pretty good with a variety for students.

    Dorm Life

    There is no Dorm Life.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors make the expectations of the assignments clear. They also assign a fair workload to the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize your environment and don't be afraid to ask questions. The staff loves to help and professors are more than happy to answer any of your questions, both in and out of the classroom. Be kind to everybody, even if you don't like them -- you never know when you may need help from that guy in Financial Aid or Admissions. Speak to your counselor often so you can build a tight relationship; this benefits you and helps you both prepare your schedule for your future major.

    In three sentences

    Grays Harbor College has kind, talented staff that happily dedicate their time to helping their students. Professors are experienced and implement their worldly knowledge, encouraging students to learn problem solving skills and engage in different styles of hard work ethic. Rated the #1 community college in the state of Washington, Grays Harbor College has an enthusiastic student life unlike any other, ranging anywhere from cheering on the Seahawks to forming flash-mobs for school spirit!

  • 03/13/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students of Community looking to Transfer.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria in HUD

    Tips for prospective students

    Parking for visitors and future students seems limited.

    In three sentences

    Campus is clean and organized. The staff is helpful and ambitious. Campus is set in a beautiful surroundings.