Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Grayson College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/20/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    it is great for all students except for the extremely lazy

    Tips for prospective students

    apply early becuase spots go quick

    Bang for the buck

    for a reasonable price you get a great education, amazing teachers, fun and connections.

    Am enjoying being here

    the recent renovations make this college fun to be at and you dont want to leave.

    Am learning a lot

    the teachers are no nonsense and want to teach all that they know but at a reasonable price.

  • 06/03/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Trying to control cost.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for Scholarships before March 15th.

    Bang for the buck

    $45 an hour. Scholarship opportunities. Small Community school.

  • 08/19/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Grayson is great for students fresh out of high school who want to transition into college life at a slower pace or who want to get their basics before transfering to a larger college or university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Only take online classes in the courses that are your strong points. For instance, if you have trouble with math, take the class in person so you can actually talk to the professor.

    Bang for the buck

    Good teachers, a wide range of classes (and campuses) to choose from, and newly renovated buildings make Grayson a good deal for the price of tuition. On top of that tuition is not very high.

    Am enjoying being here

    Grayson College is like an extension of high school. Most of my friends attend Grayson and have classes with me. The classes are fun and give just the right amount of challenge so they aren't too easy or too hard.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers here are really dedicated to helping the students learn. They are almost always available by phone and always are by email. The added addition of Blackboard makes communicating with your teachers and fellow classmates much more simple.

  • 10/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Grayson is a very safe campus. I feel comfortable walking there without being afraid of being hurt.

    Clubs and Activities

    On Wednesdays the Baptist Student Ministry serves free lunch to all the students on campus from 11 until 2. (I think it is 2)

    Bang for the buck

    I believe I received great knowledge in exchange for the cost of the class. I was fortunate enough to receive a scholarship that covered all my tuition cost.

    What to do for fun

    I like to play volleyball and do English Country Dancing in my free time. I also like to hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    I like their food! They have a special deal where you can get a pell grant that will pay for all the food you eat in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I can not really rate the dorm life because I lived off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework!!!! If you do not do your homework then you should plan to not pass the class. Also, do not be afraid to ask questions. Teachers love it when you ask questions. If you want to do well in a class then you need to make sure you understand it properly. This means asking questions!

    In three sentences

    A fun relaxed environment for learning. Most of the teachers really know the subject they are teaching and are happy to help. Out of 10 I would give GCC an 8.

  • 09/04/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    all together tuition and book prices are very reasonable

    Will enjoy being here

    everyone will enjoy being here very nice campus

    Will learn a lot

    the teachers seem frindly and willing to help you learn

  • 01/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    excellent.

    Greek Life

    phi beta cappa

    Great for these types of students

    if you are ready to learn, attend here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    it's always alive! you can talk to anyone! everyone is friendly!

    Bang for the buck

    its great!

    What to do for fun

    game room, computer labs, library, gym

    Food and Dining

    i do not eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    i do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    medium

    Tips for prospective students

    be ready to study and learn the concepts of anatomy and physiology, shock managment, cpr, aed use, artificial ventilation, basic pharmacology, and many other topics covered in the cirriculum. i do not recommend using drugs because there is a drug test and criminal background check before clinicals.

    In three sentences

    i currently attend grayson county college and am enrolled in the high school dual-credit ems program. my instructor is the best teacher i have ever had, and every day is fillled with learning. if you are interested in emergency medicine, i highly recommend that you go through with the excellent program.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always available to help you whenever necessary. I have been on campus late at night, and just to be safe, asked for an escort to my car and they were happy to oblige.

    Greek Life

    I have no information about this!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many things to be involved in, however, I pass on most of it due to my class load and working full time.

    Great for these types of students

    If you work, you will find a great deal of classes at many times during the day or night that you can work around. I find this to be very helpful as my work schedule can be somewhat inflexible.

    Bang for the buck

    So far, I am very impressed with the overall cost of going to school here. I did have to pay late fees one semester, but it was my fault for registering so late!

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs, activities and sports to get involved in. Sometimes, we go and watch different sports just to be involved!

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten on campus as I leave directly from school to work.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't lived in the dorms here, so I have no opinion on this matter. There seems to be plenty of space though.

    Academic Rigor

    I have found that I am not necessarily challenged in many courses, however, I am being forced to repeat some classes for prerequisites, that were taken in HS, but not transferrable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early for maximum class choices. Don't be afraid to ask questions and keep asking until you are satisfied with the answers. Check out the many different clubs and activities available to meet new people.

    In three sentences

    There are many subjects to choose from and most general education classes can be completed here. I have found that there are some classes not offered here that I need, which is disappointing. I would recommend GCC for a stepping stone to a 4 year University or for Associates Degree programs.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I am definately getting my money's worth here.

    What to do for fun

    The sporting events or lab classes are very beneficial and help in my academic success.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria looked great the time I went there. Many choices on healthy food we need.

    Academic Rigor

    The homework for online classes prove to be very challenging and keep you busy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definatley check out to see which location offers the courses you are seeking to learn.

    In three sentences

    So far in my freshman year in college I feel that I made the right decision in choosing Grayson as my college. Thed staff and students there are so helpful and friendly, why would I have chosen anywhere else. I stand behind my alumni and partake in nas much as I can.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police are always around the parking lots and easy to reach.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a bunch of clubs and things that can happen in the student center.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a great school for the money.

    Food and Dining

    They have great food.

    Dorm Life

    Never stayed in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are challenging, but the professors usually are willing to help. They do have an honorers program for students that what to take advanced classes.

    In three sentences

    It is a great starting school. They are updating most of the buildings to give it a newer feeling and make it more student friendly. The professors are great and willing to help also.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    We've had pizza parties along with many projects grouped with other classes. Ive heard there's a gym, and other places to hang out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on task. and don't think that just because some professors don't know each individuals name that he won't call on you randomly.

    In three sentences

    I am a dual credit student attending Grayson County College and I find the professors quite helpful and nice. They make you feel comfortable and are willing to help you in any way possible. I find this college to be a good school to get your basics at.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Just do your work and get it on time and the teachers will respect that.

    What to do for fun

    I do not know a whole lot about what there is to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends with all your teachers!

    In three sentences

    Grayson County College is a great school to go to. They are great when you need classes to work around your schedule and they have great teachers. Their website is also very helpful in getting set up for classes.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Everything, but the books are at a great price. Go here for your associate first! Save lots of money!

    What to do for fun

    There are ping pong championship games, video games and baptist student ministries group that serves free lunches on Wednesday!

    Food and Dining

    It's a decent cafe! Nothing exciting though, but it taste good!

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, but from what they look like and from what I've herd I will rate it a one out if five.

    Academic Rigor

    They always push you for excellence!!

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a not too big, but not too small campus! The student life center is great! There are a few organizations you can get involved with. Just make sure you are on top of your assignments!

    In three sentences

    A small community college with nice and familiar faces! All professors have been super awesome and helpful. They offer free tutoring and an online labs for additional practice!

  • 05/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good, they actually appear to have inherited Howe's squad cars. Just don't park in a parallel parking spot going against the grain of traffic. Even it is completely deserted, they will ticket you. True story.

    Greek Life

    No idea, not a sorority kind of person

    Clubs and Activities

    I was always too busy to be involved, but I here there are some good clubs and a lot of baseball/softball.

    Great for these types of students

    Ones who live in Grayson County and don't want to drive to Collin, for those who wish to be Nurses or musicians, and dual credit students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not too much unusual but they do hold festivals, such as a Christmas bash, a breast cancer awareness day (Wherein students dressed up as breast related superheroes) and a few other festivities. The BSM has a free lunch every as well.

    Bang for the buck

    Super affordable. I was actually able to pay for full time semesters myself out of pocket (As a high school student!)

    What to do for fun

    The practice rooms are nice for fellow musicians, but for everyone else there is a whole center full of free games, gaming, and just chilling.

    Food and Dining

    Never did eat there, smelled good though.

    Dorm Life

    I'm really not sure... I lived at home while at Grayson. I know they were recently renovated due to (allegedly) finding asbestos.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes can prove to be challenging (for me it was Math and Sciences) but most of them are harder than they needed to be because the professors are unclear or have very vague tests (again, do not take History with Carnes!)

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the tutoring that they have available, as it is super easy to get them to help you. Don't take History with Carnes!!

    In three sentences

    Grayson has a nice, small campus that easy to navigate. Grayson has a fabulous Music program with amazing Music Professors! Most of the students at Grayson are Nurses...

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe and there is a police watch right on campus where you can report any suspicious activity. If you ever feel unsafe walking to your car late at night or unsafe about going to your dorms by yourself, they will gladly escort you.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club and activity for basically anyone. There are so many different groups and they always seem to have some type of activity going on. The rec. center is a great place for anyone to go whether you need a place to study, want to watch t.v., play video games, Ping-Pong or just simply hanging out.

    Great for these types of students

    Grayson is great for any type of student, especially ones that are looking to save money. It is the smarter way to go and you get just as good an education as you would anywhere else. The environment is perfect if you really want a smaller group experience so you can feel more confident in your education.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to other colleges, Grayson is definitely more affordable than most. Whether you are looking to finish a degree, or simply finish basics, Grayson is the smarter way to go. You get the same education for much less money which means less debt when you graduate, and who doesn't love that?

    What to do for fun

    Since Grayson is in a very popular area, there is always something to do. Whether you're into shopping, going to dance or going out to eat with friends you can find something to do. And if group activities are your thing, Grayson has several programs to get involved in and there is always something going on at the school.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Grayson is much better than most colleges, or any high-school cafeteria. They have a wide variety so it is hard to get bored of eating the same thing every day. They also give you a lot of food for your money and the dining area is always clean.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, but plan to next Fall semester. The dorms are very affordable and are much cheaper than living on your own in an apartment or home. The required meal plan also helps with the cost of paying for all of your food on your own.

    Academic Rigor

    The experience I had in the classroom was very successful. I feel as if I learned a lot and my professors answered any questions I had. The smaller classroom settings allow you to have a more personal learning experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the Grayson website if you are feeling confused about anything. There is a link to everything and you can save a lot of gas money and time by getting online. There is contact information for every department and they are helpful.

    In three sentences

    The teachers I has for my required courses were really helpful. I learned a lot in their classes. Also my program instructor, Wendy Renfro, is very helpful in making sure I have all of the required papers turned in.

  • 06/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nursing

    What to do for fun

    Close to the Dallas.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going into the nursing field, this school is one of the best in the area.

    In three sentences

    Grayson College is an inexpensive college that offers several great programs. I am currently attending their nursing program and I have enjoyed my time with great professors. The classes here are small so you get a lot of one on one interaction with you professors.

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus has a police station on campus and cops are always patrolling the area to make sure people stay safe.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a hands on learner than this is the college for you. You will get a lot of practice in the classroom before a big test is given.

    What to do for fun

    Grayson always has things going on that you can get involved in. There are clubs and parties. Around Halloween time they have costume contest in the student center and that is lots of fun!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is very good. They have many foods to choose from at every meal. The cafeteria is also a clean place which is important to me because I would not want to eat anywhere dirty.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus but I have heard they are a good place to stay if you do not live around the area.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are great because of how small they are. The teachers can give you one on one time if that is what you need to pass the class. They are willing to do everything they can to help you get a degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Grayson County College is not hard, you just have to do your homework and study. If you are to busy to do either of those things than wait till to do have time to start.

    In three sentences

    Grayson college is a very great place to learn because of how confortable the classrooms are. They are around a 20 students to one teacher ratio. If you are from a small high school this is a great place to start.

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The new student center is great, there is a lot of stuff to do there. Plus there are many organizations

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is pretty good, but it could always use some improvements.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm where I lived is no longer there but it was acceptable.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college is small but growing. There are a lot of things to do. The people that work there are very helpful

    In three sentences

    I'm a former student that is going back for a second degree, I enjoyed my time at this school. I ran into a lot of friends from High School. The teachers are also great.

  • 12/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Creative, quirky, or average; GCC has something for everyone.

    What to do for fun

    Grayson has a great student life aspect. There is a recreation center, yoga, softball and baseball. As well as tons of clubs and organizations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, stay focused, and go to class! Nothing is more important than your education.

    In three sentences

    Grayson County College is a wonderful place to learn vocational skills. Attending GCC has prepared me to attend a four year school. It's not your average community college, Grayson truly cares about their students.

  • 01/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is an active campus police department, and I have never had any problems with my car.

    Clubs and Activities

    I can't say I have seen any or know.

    Great for these types of students

    GREAT school for any nursing student prospective!

    Food and Dining

    I usually bring my lunch, Ive never been a fan of the food.

    Dorm Life

    I live at my own home off campus, I wouldnt know.

    Academic Rigor

    The nursing program is a beast, and the professors are there to help you succeed. They want you to pass, do well, and to become amazing nurses!

    Tips for prospective students

    NEVER drink the water! This is a community college, so dont expect too much!

    In three sentences

    I do not like the fact that I have to pay for printing. I mean I am paying $1200+ on top of gas driving to the campus, the least we could get is free prints! The wifi could be improved. The nursing staff is absolutely amazing, those are truly some amazing people!

  • 03/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you look at the campus police reports you will find very low crime rates at Grayson, with parking tickets the most common crime.

    Greek Life

    I'm not sure I understand what this section is asking. Students are diverse at Grayson.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a music club, a writers club, Baptist Student Ministries, and many others. Everyone is so involved it makes you want to jump in.

    Great for these types of students

    Grayson is great for any students who want to get a couple years of quality college education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing unusual that I can name off of the top of my head, but a good baseball field.

    Bang for the buck

    Grayson is very affordable compared to some other colleges, and with good quality education offered.

    What to do for fun

    The gym is open to students, and the student life center has several games available and is always a great place to hang out.

    Food and Dining

    The lunch area is always very clean, the food is good.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't been in the dorms, but my friend likes them.

    Academic Rigor

    Grayson recently renewed their accreditation, and thus far I have found all of the professors very efficient and willing to help (they'll do their part if the student does theirs).

    Tips for prospective students

    When first applying, be sure to get to administrative services early because there are usually long lines just before school starts. You will want to meet with an advisor to create your degree plan, which you will want to print and keep for future reference. You can sign up for classes online of course, but should meet with the advisors at least every couple semesters to keep things straight. Ask which professors classes get filled up first or talk to other students to learn favorite professors. Also, be aware that some classes may not transfer to certain colleges, so ask your advisors for suggestions. The student navigation Blackboard sometimes has trouble, but always gets back up in a short time, so don't wait until last minute to do your homework!

    In three sentences

    As my first college experience I have to say I am happy with choosing to go to Grayson. The campus is easy to navigate with well marked buildings, while the classes are far less expensive than other colleges. Bookstore prices for textbooks are no crazier than other colleges.

  • 04/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe

    Greek Life

    There are a few honor societies. Its not really big on fraternity houses

    Clubs and Activities

    men of distinction student ambassadors

    What to do for fun

    there's student life center where you can play ping pong, video games. There is also a gym available, a quick jog on the treadmills between classes are a real energy boosters.

    Tips for prospective students

    make use of the knowledgeable advisers and career counseling services.

    In three sentences

    very affordable, plenty of resources for the students to excel, and very helpful and competitive faculty.