Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Great Basin College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/20/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great Basin is great for any student. They offer internet classes which is awesome for all those busy people trying to go back to school. They have a few campuses throughout Nevada, the main one is in Elko, NV. The staff is super friendly and the teachers have a lot to offer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to learn a lot!

    Did enjoy being here

    I took mostly internet classes but, did attend one class at the Elko campus. The Elko campus is very pretty and easy to get around.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Pahrump campus is located right by Pahrump Valley High School so it gets not only the campus protection, but that of the high school. The parking lot is close by so it is a lot safer for students to go to their cars at night.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the end of the spring semester, they usually hold a dinner for students and their family to attend. They have drawings and good social opportunities.

    Bang for the buck

    They offer their classes for cheaper; especially for high school students. They have a program called the K12 program. It is a list of all online classes that high school students can take for $40 to $50. It makes college a lot cheaper.

    What to do for fun

    Great Basin College holds after hour activities. They hold dinners and activities nights. There is also a bowling alley nearby.

    Food and Dining

    In Pahrump, there are a couple of food places near the college as well as vending machines inside.

    Dorm Life

    I am attending the Great Basin located in Pahrump, and as far as I am aware of, it does not have any dorm housing.

    Academic Rigor

    I think this school holds a good standard for being a community college. The teachers are there for students to learn and grow in each area.

    Tips for prospective students

    My best advice would be to look into some of their programs. They offer a lot of valuable opportunities and they are worth investigating. I would also look at their list of degrees before taking classes. It will be a lot easier if you have a general idea of the generals that are required.

    In three sentences

    Great Basin College is a wonderful place to start and education. It provides many opportunities not only for college age individuals, but also for those in high school looking to advance. Their staff cares about the students and wants them to learn and succeed and are located in many different locations.

  • 01/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    First time college students. As well as student who do not know what they want as a career. Great Basin college is a great place to start, even if you want to attend a university. Great Basin can give you a jump start and prepare you for a bigger school. This college is also good for people who work. A lot of on-line classes are offered, and if you ever need help a lot of the professors are willing to meat in person.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for fun in the classroom. Be ready to work hard, and always be prepared to learn. Oh! and camera ready, especially if you have a class with AVI sessions.

    Bang for the buck

    Great Basin College is worth it, especially if you're on a tight budget. You get free tutoring, which you would have to pay for any place else. One-on-one time with professors. The week is filled with fun events as well, so you're never bored. There are so many opportunities that Great Basin has to offer.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy Great Basin. It's small. Everyone is really friendly. Students and staff are always willing to lend a helping hand. Also, there is always something to do. Great Basins student council always has activities planned for the students. They certain nights where you can go to the auditorium to watch a movie, with free snacks. Other nights you can head over to the gym to play basketball, tennis, along with other sports they have planned. There are plenty of clubs to get involved with as well, and if you join clubs doors for great opportunities open. Great Basin also offers student jobs, which is great, and they work great with your class schedule.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers that I have had so far all have been really great. You learn a lot because the class sizes are small, I would say around 25-30 students or less to a class. This works out great especially if you need help because you can get the one-on-one time you need with your professor. A lot of the professors are really understanding about being a college student, having to work, and go to school, even if you have kids. Great Basin also has the new EIT building, along with the ASC (Academic Success Center) where free tutoring is provided, and the tutors are wonderful. Which is a big help, especially when finals time comes around.

  • 12/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All kinds of students. I am a mom of 5, work full time, coach whatever sport one of my kids needs me to, and GBC always seems to fit in without hassle.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll as soon as possible and learn how to use web campus to your advantage.

    Bang for the buck

    I priced other schools and even though our tuition just went up, it is still far more affordable than others.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love GBC. Everyone is helpful, friendly, and the classes are scheduled with everyone's schedule in mind.

    Am learning a lot

    I amaze myself sometimes with the amount of knowledge I have gained in the year I have been going to GBC

  • 04/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24/7 security. The security staff is always out and about the campus.

    Greek Life

    One one greek club and it is not bias

    Clubs and Activities

    There is usually something going on around campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Student looking to get Bach. degree from a major university

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are the lowest in the state and they are offered online.

    What to do for fun

    There is usually something going on around campus

    Food and Dining

    The on-campus cafe is closed due to a dispute between the college and the contracted restaurant but will be up and going soon.

    Dorm Life

    There is plenty or oppurtunity to meet people and sleep safely.

    Academic Rigor

    There are classes that are tough and many more that do not require maximum brain power but plenty of oppurtunity to get help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early classes fill up fast.

    In three sentences

    Great Basin College is the perfect transition college for people looking to go back to school or go to college for the first time.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For anyone that cannot afford school and still needs an education in Nevada this is a good institution.

    Bang for the buck

    The price for classes here are really affordable. The professors know what they teach and teach it well.

    What to do for fun

    There are various things to do for fun. There are ping pong tables set up around the campus, if your a reader the library is full of books, in person and online. The campus even rents out iPads and movies.

    Food and Dining

    This school has multiple places to eat. The restaurants here serve good food for not that much money. They are not as cheap as fast food, but sure do serve higher quality food.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes that i have taken have not been rigorous, they have been some what challenging, but have not been rigorous. This school definitely makes you think but maybe not as hard as it should.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to work. It may not be the hardest or most rigorous schools out there, but you cannot just coast through the classes.

    In three sentences

    Great Basin College is a budget school. That being said you get a little more than what you pay for. It is a beautiful campus with professors that know what they are teaching.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is smaller than an elementary school it is literally a giant hallway with classrooms on both sides.

    Greek Life

    No greeks.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a running club, that's it.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for kids that are just focused on an education and not too worried about any school activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's located right across from the high school so show up early or you will be fighting teenagers for a parking spot.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is great compared to other schools that charge an arm and a leg.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing to do for fun. There are occasional runs where we 3k or 5k as a school but other than that there is nothing.

    Food and Dining

    No food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for the smaller GBC branch in Winnemucca, there may be some in Elko but I'm not sure.

    Academic Rigor

    Not to bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a great place to start college to learn the ropes of college life and start to learn how to take on the world by yourself.

    In three sentences

    The small campus makes GBC easy to navigate and get from class to class. The administration and teachers treat you as actual people rather than just a number. Tuition is very cheap compared to other colleges and universities. (I attend the smaller branch of GBC in Winnemucca so that is the one I will be writing about)

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Its great for people who are looking to get there classes done and out of the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to check your registration for your classes because i have been bumped out of certain classes by computer mishaps.

    In three sentences

    Great Basin college has been amazing. I am currently getting my associates of the arts there, and they have been truly helpful.

  • 02/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The GBC campus in Elko, NV is located near several fast-food chain resturaunts. Easily accessable as well as affordable. Also within walking distance, a grocery store can be found to suit more a more healthy lifestyle when it comes to food choices

    Dorm Life

    I have not expieienced dorm life, as i have only taken courses online. But a represenative from GBC has explained the dorm situation to me an it sounds appeasing.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm not too sure what this means.

    In three sentences

    GBC is a great college to ease into as well as attain beginning knowledge of some intended majors. Online classes are organized, easily navigatable, and offer dual credit courses for high school student at lowered prices to help them get a feel for college before they graduate. I intend to finish out my basic college credits with GBC, because it is affordable and a great stepping stone to begin a path towards a college degree.