Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Great Bay Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our school is located in a business district and around several other campuses, we only have 1 building that was a military base at one point. So you're always safe !

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a club for everyone ranging from a Christian fellowship club, to an outdoors club to a video game club !

    Great for these types of students

    Those looking to learn , shy students, tall students, everyone really !

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a carnival at the end of each year, and we also have a lot of leadership retreats. The other big thing is our student government always provides us with cool stuff to do around the campus ranging from video games, to rock climbing walls. Our school always makes a point of being friendly with everyone. We're an open community.

    What to do for fun

    Our student government is really great about this ! We get things like rock climbing walls, magicians, sand sculptures, and even a carnival ! Our student rec room has an air hockey table, a fooseball table, a PS3 and 360 with tons of titles you can rent from the library along with a tv with great cable. We are less than 5 minutes away from the fox run mall and a lot of great shopping !

    Food and Dining

    Our school has a restaurant called The Green Bean. It's open to the public, and it's very yummy. They have over 70 different kinds of soups in rotation of about 5 or so daily. They always have fresh baked goods and a super friendly staff ! They also offer 5 dollar combos that include a full meal of several things. Finally they order fresh sandwiches, and grill items also providing a full salad bar. Often we have live entertainment (musical, magic shows, comedy, poetry jams, ect.)

    Dorm Life

    We don't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are hard, and demanding, especially for a community college ! They make absolutely certain that you are 100% prepared !

    Tips for prospective students

    Really get a feel for the school and take advantage of our clubs and open houses !

    In three sentences

    A great place to start your future. Perfect for exploring your future. The start of something great.

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is well lit in every parking lot. I have taken evening classes and have never felt frightened when leaving late at night.

    Great for these types of students

    Nontraditional students, such as full time employees, mothers or older returning students will find GBCC a great place to start due to their flexible on campus schedule as well as online courses offered.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to other community colleges and online universities, GBCC is very affordable per credit.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe inside of the school is great, and has many options. The campus is also close to chain restaurants and a downtown area that has some of the best cafes and restaurants in the state.

    Dorm Life

    Great Bay Community College does not have student housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be difficult, but every professor is extremely helpful, through email, class discussions and one on one meetings.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great Bay Community College is a great place to earn an associates degree or start your education for a bachelor's degree. The entire process is simple, from applying, testing and registering for classes. The class schedule is also very accommodating for both traditional and nontraditional students.

    In three sentences

    Being an adult student returning to finish my degree, Great Bay Community College makes it very easy to work full time and go to classes both online and evenings. Communication is extremely easy with my professors and various departments. They also make is easy to transfer any credits or degrees to a four year college.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for someone practical and career oriented -- it's in the same network as UNH, so transfers are super easy.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is really cheap and gets the job done.

    What to do for fun

    Portsmouth is a historical town, so going downtown is fun. Strawberry Bank is right in downtown Portsmouth. Prescott Park is nice and has plays during the warmer months. The school is about five minutes away from the Fox Run Mall + the movie theater, and is just a short drive away from the Kittery Outlets in Maine.

    Food and Dining

    No food plans because no one lives on campus -- restaurant, Green Bean, is really good, though.

    Dorm Life

    Great Bay doesn't offer dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm only enrolled part time, so I've only taken a few classes. The gen. eds are really simple. All you have to do is show up, and you should do well. The degree classes are more challenging, but not too much.

    Tips for prospective students

    The admissions process is super easy. Don't sweat it!

    In three sentences

    Great Bay has a nice campus, friendly staff, and fairly small classes. The tuition is cheap and the quality of the teachers vary. This is definitely a good school if you're looking to save a bit of cash.

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs and organizations within the campus.

    Food and Dining

    Great Bay Community College has its own cafe that is public, shared by students and vistors.

    Dorm Life

    Great Bay Community College is a college that does not have any dorming. It's a relatively small campus with a nice picnic area and its own cafe.

    Academic Rigor

    This school offers a variety of classes, along with a variety of majors. The teachers are there supporting the students along the way and offering any help to any individual.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is a room for student life that you can play pool in, air hockey, play video games, and watch TV.

    Tips for prospective students

    get organized before you start you classes and know what works for you.

    In three sentences

    I love it here at Great Bay.

  • 02/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's a lot of different club and organizations you can join. There's also a student lounge.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start here, but transfer to your school of choice unless you'd like to receive a degree that Great Bay offers.

    In three sentences

    Great Bay is a small, wonderful school. Easy admission and financial aid. Easy transfer.

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school has some of clubs/organisations: gaming club, outdoor club, student government, etc. but lack the attention of other students. I did enjoy the school-funded leadership program. It was a 2 day stay in a camp in New Hampshire, and included a ropes course, a lake, and plenty of activities.

    Food and Dining

    The Green Bean is amazing, I love their soups. The cafeteria is clean and has a good atmosphere. It may be a little bit expensive for some.

    Academic Rigor

    All the classes I have taken besides an introduction class are transferable to most other colleges in the region. I found them a bit more challenging than the high school level, but feel it is adjusted to the laid back students that populate the campus. Test averages are usually low, and are often scaled/corrected.

    Tips for prospective students

    The college has an 100% acceptance rate. The application process, and getting settled in is quick and easy.

    In three sentences

    Great Bay Community College has a beautiful campus, the main entrance is often filled with a variety of art work and has an inviting atmosphere. The staff/teachers act professional, and work hard to make it worth the students time and money. The student life is lacking, but those who do make an effort will find the clubs/organisations enjoyable.

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Single parents or full-time employed students.

    What to do for fun

    Few sport activities available and clubs to join.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to advisers from other universities if there are any questions about courses to talk to qualify for transferring or graduation.

    In three sentences

    The advisers are unqualified for the positions and aren't helpful. The financial aid workers are terrible. School is compatible for single parents with their flexible class schedules.