Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Green Mountain College (GMC) Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/15/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is for those students who value their education, but is also for those students who can drop their textbooks, relax, and have a good time. Green Mountain has a diverse student body and everyone who comes here is accepted. We are in this together so students treat eachother with respect. Green Mountain College is great for students who are seeking adventure. The school's Green map program holds weekly trips of canoeing, backpacking, hiking, rock-climbing, and camping. The school also helps fund students' trips to the many conferences that are held in the surrounding region. Our Model United Nations team received an honorable mention at the NYMUN Conference in April 2009 thanks to the support from the college's many clubs and organizations. Most importantly, this school is for students who care about one another and care to enhance their knowledge about the world. This school will challenge you to think, and everyone can benefit from that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Once you arrive on campus, don't be afraid to introduce yourself to almost everyone you meet. You will make great contacts and once you realize that we are in this together, your experience at GMC will be much better. Make sure to use the Calhoun Learning Center's resources; their student tutors are dedicated, hardworking individuals. Although there will be numerous times to have a great time, make the library your second home. Procrastination comes easy for many students, but don't let it get to you. For difficult classes, organize a study group. Hearing the feedback from students in your class and better yet, explaining your thoughts on the class subject matter, will help you better understand those difficult concepts.

    Bang for the buck

    Albeit it looks like an expensive, private institution, Green Mountain College is actually quite affordable. The school offers great financial aid packages and the VSAC corporation; vsac.org, is really generous in their Stafford and private loans. The school's work-study program not only allows for students to pay for their textbooks, it also offers them some real world business experience. We have all heard the cliché you get what you pay for and Green Mountain College is definitely worth the investment.

    Am enjoying being here

    This school is awesome. I came from Utah (2500 miles away) and was immediately accepted by the campus's environment. Members of the faculty and administration are knowledgeable and helpful; students are committed to being your friend, and the people of Poultney are warm and welcoming. The natural beauty of the Green Mountains and the many hiking trails, rivers, and campgrounds are awesome! Many students will go out and camp for the weekend and on Monday; they are ready for what the professor is going to teach them. One of the best things about coming here is the trust you feel from the community. On campus, you can leave your backpack in the lobby of Withey, come back days later, and it's still there, untouched and waiting for you to pick it up and head back to the library.

    Am learning a lot

    At Green Mountain College, a liberal arts institution, a student enrolls here to learn. That is what a liberal arts college is all about; enhancing one's knowledge about themselves and their surrounding and not just enhancing a skill or technical knowledge. While here, I have learned how to inspire the apathetic, how to change the way people think about the environment and social issues, and how to inhibit my own procrastination. The classes are challenging and rarely will you see a professor lecture; most classes have engaging discussion. I am learning so much about the world and I am grateful towards Green Mountain College for the many opportunities that the college has provided for me.

  • 12/05/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's really great for people who want a small-town and who are passionate about environmental issues. Don't come here if you like clean people. We have a huge hippy population, and showers are optional!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have a car, bring it!!! The transportation is kinda hard to handle. Be prepared for a hippy atmosphere and a serious environmental focus. If you can, get into the honors program! It offers huge advantages, like early registration for classes. When it comes time to register every semester, be at your computer because the best classes fill up fast. Images is really boring, but hang in there. You only have to take it for one semester.

    Bang for the buck

    For a private school, this place is a reasonable price, and the quality of the education is unbeatable. The classes are all really small and personal. I can't even start to tell you how much I've learned.

    Am enjoying being here

    The first semester here can be problematic if you're not into partying, but eventually you make friends. The focus of the school has been really good for me in nurturing my interest in the environment. The food here is decent and the dorm rooms are awesome. I love the small feel of campus. It feels really great to see people I actually know around campus.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes here are really small and hands on. They can be demanding or not, depending on the student, but most of the professors are really accessible and happy to help out. The textbooks are really interesting and the reading assignments are relevant to the class. I think the professors and classes are excellent, and the field trips are numerable, insightful, and fun.

  • 01/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Green Mountain College is great school for anyone who holds true to environmental concerns. Most of the classes are centered around environmental issues including the history of environmental disasters as well as different cultures view's on the environment. The professors are very down to earth, most of them allow you to call them by their first name. The classes are small which allows for great one on one time with the professors and time outside for classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you decide to go to Green Mountain College I would not recommend buying your books at the school book store. I would suggest buying them online because they are probably two hundred dollars cheaper that way.

    Bang for the buck

    I would say that the best part of the school is the professors, they are caring and very down to earth. They would do anything to help you. We also have the learning center which is the real bang for your buck. You can get tutoring their and they even will go over your papers to edit them and make sure that you are following the prompts.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Green Mountain College, they have a lot of great clubs for students including P.A.N.T.S which stands for People Are Not There Sex which is a gender education club, along with other clubs such as International Awareness Club, Student Senate, and Farm Crew. We are one of the few schools that have an organic farm that is run by the students, along with cows, chickens, goats, and pigs.

    Am learning a lot

    Green Mountain College has a great Education major. You can take a class called Early Field Experience which allows the student to go into a elementary or high school classroom to get an idea of our roles as future teachers.

  • 10/21/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The environmentally conscious and the hippies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure this college is really for you before you commit. The environment may not be for you and a couple visits might be needed to make that judgement. Listen to the teachers, they do know what they are talking about.

    Bang for the buck

    Depending on which dorm you get put it depends on if you really feel like your paying for it.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere is so down to earth. Everyone is laid back and they do not care what is going on. They are many places to just sit down and relax and take a breather. The town is small and welcoming to anyone. I am originally from Missouri and it is a long haul from there to here, but the people at this school make it worth it.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are really small and you are taught by teachers who really care about you and about the subject they are teaching. They are lenient about late work as long as it is not to late. The teachers strive to push you towards your goal. If you are struggling they will help you. The learning center is a great place to sit down and study. Tutors are available all the time and will help you with your work.

  • 05/28/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If your laid back, and chill... APPLY If you care about the environment.... APPLY If the idea of small class sizes, and friendly students excites you... APPLY

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be yourself, if you don't have the best GPA out there, don't fret, still apply; GMC takes in account your whole personality when deciding for admissions, not just your GPA. GMC also has an alternative for testing scores, instead of sending in your SAT or ACT scores, you can just complete the insight portfolio, which consist of four or so mini essays. So if your worried about not getting accepted, don't worry, try anyways!

    Bang for the buck

    Money, money, money. GMC is a bit pricey and for me that is a big issue, since my family isn't financially stable at the moment, BUT GMC has given me a really generous amount of financial aid, and has covered about 85% of my tuition.

    Will enjoy being here

    Reading reviews, and talking to people from different offices has convinced me that i will enjoy it at GMC. Every single person i have talked to so far have been super friendly, and very informative. I have a feeling that I will meet some of my closest friends while attending GMC, can't wait!

    Will learn a lot

    So far i have been talking to people from admissions office and the registrar's office, and from what they're telling me, i am pretty confident that being at GMC for the next four years, will be full of learning of what i like, and full of learning from new experiences that GMC has to offer.

  • 09/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for anyone who wants any of the following: to play D3 sports, who wants to chill, be involved in a tight knit community, environmentally sustainable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and visit! You really get to know the place when visiting and the people here are so friendly. If you're looking to come here because it is very liberal in its policies (relaxed) then you will enjoy it, but it is also the place to come for students who are very actively involved in the environment and looking to thrive academically.

    Bang for the buck

    You get out what you put in, so if you embrace it and actively participate in the opportunities here it is well worth the buck.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being part of the Green Mountain community! There is always something that you can do here whether it be a Friday night or a Tuesday afternoon. The athletic programs are really on the rise fast and are a great time to go and watch.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are small and allow for you to really get to know each of your professors very well. The classes are not too hard but you learn what you need to and can have a good time doing it too if you embrace it.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The student body is pretty harmless, though any student body is likely to contain one or two bad apples. I have not heard of any instances where students have hurt each other, but students have compromised their own safety by doing silly things like jumping out of windows. This is not a problem in campus safety, but in student decision-making. I would worry more about time spent off campus. Poultney is a safe town during the day, but some of the people who lurk around Stewart's in the evening can be rather unpleasant and sketchy. Gather a posse of your friends to accompany you before you head out in the evening. I haven't felt truly unsafe in town or on campus, but a few of the folks hanging around Stewart's at night have made me feel uncomfortable. Poultney safety would get a 4/5 stars thanks to the unpleasant night lurkers, but Green Mountain College campus safety easily gets a 5/5.

    Greek Life

    As far as I am aware, Green Mountain College does not have any fraternities or sororities. I suppose you could start one!

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs include but are not limited to Philosophy, Aquarist, Bio/Enviro, Black Culture, Camp, Canter, Activism, Education, Forestry, Anime, Herbal Tribe, History, International Awareness, PANTS (People Are Not Their Sex), Pre-Law, Pre-Med/Pre-Vet, Pride, Psychology, Shakti Tribal Dance, Slow Food, Spirituality, Ultimate Frisbee, Men and Women's Rugby, and Quidditch. If you are passionate about a particular activity or topic, you can petition to start your own club. A few noteworthy groups include Student Senate, Student Campus Greening Fund (SCGF), the InterCultural Center (ICC), the College Programming Board, and Farm Crew. Student Senate represents the student body, participates in college policy processes, and works to improve student involvement. SCGF is a student-created, student-run group dedicated to promoting sustainability on campus by funding student-designed projects. The ICC promotes cross-cultural experience at Green Mountain College and offers opportunities which enable students to see the world from a different culture's perspective and grow as a member of the greater global community. The College Programming Board provides a way for students to be directly involved in the decision-making processes that determine which events are brought to campus. Farm Crew works on the farm every morning and evening. If you're curious about working on a farm--volunteer for a shift and get involved at the college's very own Cerridwen Farm. Milk a cow, gather eggs, pet the barn cat, and work with some veggies! Whether you are a skateboarder, longboarder, kayaker, climber, cyclist, hiker, camper, fisher, skier, snowboarder, swimmer, reader, thinker, actor, activist, dreamer, sport player, horse rider, musician or other, come to Green Mountain College! Learn, have fun, and make a difference!

    Great for these types of students

    Green Mountain College is great for free-spirited students who don't mind having fun, staying happy and getting a little dirty. The school is even greater for students who truly want to make a positive difference in the world. The opportunities to get involved at Green Mountain College are endless.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Students frequently attend River Parties down at the Poultney River behind the campus and students can be found enjoying their time down at the river nearly every day of the school year. The river provides a great social atmosphere and opportunity for meeting new people and hanging out with old. An unusual tradition at Green Mountain College may be Midnight Breakfast and the unofficially official Green Mountain College Streaking Team. Every semester, the college hosts a breakfast meal in the dining hall the midnight before the first day of finals, and, every semester during Midnight Breakfast, the streaking team runs through the dining hall. It is a hilarious event, and if you're bold and know who to ask, you can join the team.

    Bang for the buck

    Private schools are on the surface more expensive than public schools, but financial aid is often much better, especially if you are a student that has worked hard to receive good grades. Green Mountain College still has much to work on in terms of offering its student body the biggest bang for their buck, but if you decide to get involved at Green Mountain College, much of the amount you paid will be paid back to you through rich experiences. Students have access to free kayaking, climbing, hiking, skiing, snowshoeing, and snowboarding trips through Green Mountain Adventure Programming nearly every weekend of the school year. Students can join clubs and receive funds to pursue the activities of their interest and can directly request funds from rolling fund groups like Student Senate and Student Campus Greening Fund to improve student experience or implement sustainable projects on campus. The direct access to rich experiences is what sets a private school like Green Mountain College out from the rest, and offers students a better bang for their buck.

    What to do for fun

    If you cannot figure out what to do for fun at Green Mountain College (a school that is basically a factory of fun), well...I suppose I'll have to list a few things for you. 1. Go to the river. 2. Try working on the farm. 3. Play sand volleyball. 4. Look for bugs. 5. Climb a tree. 6. Stare at the stars. 7. Dance a little. 8. Bang a drum. 9. Howl. 10. Dance a little more. 11. Discuss existentialism. 12. Rant about your favorite Pokemon or Adventure Time episode. 13. Run around barefoot. 14. Tell everyone you love them. 15. Try something new!

    Food and Dining

    Whatever your thoughts may be concerning the food in the Chartwell's dining hall, facts are that food quality is continually improving and much higher than most other colleges. Students have gotten involved in encouraging the presence of local and sustainably-produced foods in the dining hall, and this direct involvement has effected change. You do have a say in what you eat, so share your thoughts and offer suggestions or ideas to the managers.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms could use a bit of renovating in terms of heating and cooling, but overall the living experience is great--mostly because you are surrounded by great people. Don't sweat the small stuff, and I would recommend going to the library if you really need to study. While dorm life is fun, the dorms have potential to get a little distracting at inappropriate times. Your friends are living around you, after all.

    Academic Rigor

    Green Mountain College's academic rigor ultimately depends on the quality of your professor. The college takes great care in hiring professors who are qualified in their field of interest and in their ability to teach, so if you are dissatisfied, let someone know! The Good: Green Mountain College has many absolutely excellent, approachable professors who are more than willing to help when asked. My learning has been greatly improved by the professors with which I have come in contact and I have been disappointed by very few courses at this school. The small class sizes allow more interaction between professors and students and, as an added plus for hard-working students who are seeking to get the most out of their education--if you think you are not being challenged enough in a class, you can easily request more work. The Bad: Technical courses are taught by specific professors, and few options for choosing an alternative professor exists for these courses. Some majors at the school are more difficult than others, due more to varied teaching style of professors than the actual content of classes. In some technical courses, a motivated student that would receive a 4.0 for their work at a state school may receive a 3.0 or lower for their work--unless they learn to adapt to a particular teaching style.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Choose your major wisely. Think about what you want to do after you graduate. Consider the difference between a Bachelor of Arts degree and a Bachelor of Science and determine which will better aid you in attaining your future goals. 2. Do your best in school, but try to broaden your social circles. The people you meet at Green Mountain College will stay in your life and likely become your colleagues. Treat each other with respect. 3. Treat your professors with respect, even if you dislike them. Your professors may also become your colleagues, and their opinion of you could either help or hurt you when you are applying for jobs. 4. Get involved, but don't overload yourself. Green Mountain College has a lot of opportunity for involvement, so choose to be involved in what interests you or will benefit you most. Realize that it is impossible to get involved in everything. 5. Love your school and yourself! Every place and person has its faults, but overall, Green Mountain College is great and so are you! Care deeply, act wisely, and laugh lightly.

    In three sentences

    Green Mountain College is one of the top ten environmentally-focused schools in the United States, and has a consistently barefoot student body. If you possess an easy-going disposition and care about the earth, Green Mountain College will welcome you with open arms. If you want to possess an easy-going disposition and care more about the earth, come to Green Mountain College and we will show you how.

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    campus life.

    Food and Dining

    variety of foods offered.

    Dorm Life

    comfortable living arrangements.

    Academic Rigor

    the professors are consistently challenging you to go beyond.

    Tips for prospective students

    a great school to grow and learn.

    In three sentences

    this is a small college that has a excellent focus in their students success. the campus offers a family like atmosphere and the professors are very accommodating when assistance is needed. the classwork is current material and not so much of past results and information.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can sleep with your two eyes close

    Clubs and Activities

    With over 30 active clubs, the possibilities are endless.

    Great for these types of students

    Do really want to make a change' come to Green Mountain College'

    What to do for fun

    Get out on the field with the Ultimate Frisbee team, join the fencing club, or help coordinate campus entertainment through the College Programming Board. GreenMAP (the adventure programming office) sponsors a range of outdoor trips, from rock climbing and skiing to kayaking and camping.

    Food and Dining

    Awesome and nice

    Dorm Life

    90 percent of students live on campus, forming a close community that reflects GMC’s emphasis on sustainable living. Student life extends far beyond the classroom walls because The College keeps an active calendar of events: whether it’s kickboxing or yoga classes offered by GMC’s Wellness Center, a live band playing in the Gorge or an art show opening at the Feick Arts Center, there’s always something happening on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Green Mountain College believe that a liberal arts education ought to respond to the most pressing problems of the times. At Green Mountain College your will be exposed to an education that develop students with skills needed in tackling global issues such as globalizing economy, rapid population growth, changing land use patterns and surging technological development. Students learn how to synthesize ideas, make intellectual connections and better understand the complex relationships between human and natural systems.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be real, tell the whole truth about yourself, ensure you start your application process early enough so as to enable you know what and what documents are left, Just keep in-touch with your Admission Counselor.

    In three sentences

    Green Mountain College is not just a College, but a College with great difference, keen in environmental sustainability, friendly admission counselor and students. GMC a nice place to study

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Tight but lax at the same time.

    Greek Life

    Non-Existant

    Clubs and Activities

    Plentiful & Active

    Great for these types of students

    Hippies Farmers Punks Rec Kids Anyone with an open mind

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every fall there's a burning man ceremony. Tuesday is pub night where teachers/students/locals enjoy bluegrass music at the pub.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive. Make sure you network, otherwise having a job post-graduation may be tough.

    What to do for fun

    Farm chores Swim Hike Play Frisbee Enjoy the Coffee House Read Craft

    Food and Dining

    Fair most of the time. It's best when it's prospective weekend, unfortunately. That's a great way to rope noobs in.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is what you make of it. Also, who you share space with. There are specialty floors which is cool.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than other, only because of the teaching style of some. Some classes should be upper level, but aren't...luckily there's the opportunity to petition to make it so.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't believe everything you see/hear/taste.

    In three sentences

    Fun for all who are open. Intriguing for all who care. Opportunity for those who open the doors.

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The number for campus security is located on the back of your ID.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    For a small school we have a wide variety of clubs; anywhere from knitting to rugby. Contra dancing, to club activism. We also have a ICC or intercultural center.

    Great for these types of students

    Fantastics for students who have a passion for environmental causes, want a small campus and love everyone regardless of sex,race,ethnicity, gender preferences, and sexuality..

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Midnight breakfast before finals where the teachers and staff serve the students. And the occasional streakers.

    What to do for fun

    One might often find themselves socializing down at the Poultney River, attending the sports events or the club functions.

    Food and Dining

    Chartwells is the food provider. The dining hall will often include meals made with the local produce and meats.

    Dorm Life

    Each Dorm building at GMC is mandated to have one quiet floor, all male/female floors and coed floors. There is a Substance Free floor and a number of other specialty floors. All floors have Ra's except specialty one's.

    Academic Rigor

    While some students might find GMCs Environmental Liberal Arts classes to be easy they provide as a segue into the curriculum and they are a great, enjoyable break from your chosen major.

    Tips for prospective students

    For future students, please don't be afraid to approach your professors, attend the meals at the dining hall; your professors and peers may be found inside.

    In three sentences

    Green Mountain College has a unique appeal to it.With its small student population it's an accepting environment and the small student to faculty ratio provides a great learning environment.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Just remember general safety advice

    Greek Life

    non-existent

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm a part of Slow Foods, Shakti Tribal Bellydancing, cross country, a peer tutor, a social netwroker, and a member of the psychology club. Next year, I hope to become more involved on our farm:Cerridwen.

    Great for these types of students

    People who march to the beat of another drummer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The rope swing and river parties around a fire. Burning Man Specialty Floors: The Rec Floor, the Sprituality Floor, Sustainability Floor, Creative Arts Living Floor.

    Bang for the buck

    If you talk to Financial Aid, they can be very helpful and understanding. I can't imagine having gone to any other school, so I certainly think it was worth every penny.

    Food and Dining

    Chartwells has come a long way after our persistence on local food from our farm and community.

    Dorm Life

    I would say 5 stars, because they're spacious and they all have a wonderful view of the Green Mountain Valley-but as with all colleges, students are eager to get off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It really is what you make of it. You could pass biology with decent grades having had an average education, or you could get involved in undergrad research with Meriel Brooks, Natalie Coe, or other biology teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to contribute in class-the biggest classes are 30 people, but they're usually 20 or less. You won't be skewered or anything if you do not contribute to class discussions or don't do your reading. But why would you go to college if you didn't want to contribute and do the readings?

    In three sentences

    Green Mountain College is a small community where students and professors refer to each other on a first name basis. Your professors are always available for you. There are a myriad of clubs, activities, and events welcoming new comers all the time.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Fairly safe. A small campus that allows for safer surroundings.

    Greek Life

    None at all.

    Bang for the buck

    The substantial price tag lashed to an education at GMC does not stand up to its price-equivelants at larger universities and private schools partially because the school seems to have difficulty maintaining a student-body large enough to meet the increasing expenses of sustaining a private institution of higher learning.

    What to do for fun

    Find your high. There are no urban areas in Vermont, and the closest examples of a city are Rutland, VT and Saratoga Springs, NY. Many students are encouraged by their natural surroundings to explore the natural beauty of rural Vermont where others turn to school sports. Many of my friends are members of the Quidditch team The Welsh Dragons while others play more conventional sports such as soccer or basketball. The farm on campus also provides opportunities for students to play a part in the production of the food that will eventually come to their plate in the dining hall while having a grand time working.

    Food and Dining

    Students will complain about Chartwells as though it's the stereotypical slop served at prisons (Chartwells does primarily provide food services for prisons) but the real issue is the fact that it is so difficult to get off the meal-plan is the real issue that students have. There is a great variety for all dietary wants and needs: vegetarians, vegans, the gluten and lactose intolerant, as well as the carnivores.

    Dorm Life

    The campus is experimenting with greener technology and as a result, there are heating problems as well as a greater lack of funds on the college's part where other schools would have money to put toward updating living quarters. Prospective students must also consider the fact that dorm-life really depends on neighbors, and GMC has a very diverse student body; Reslife may not place you with your dream floor-mates, but if you're a social butterfly then there's a great chance that you'll meet some amazing people.

    Academic Rigor

    As a Fine Arts major, classes are as difficult as I make them for myself. I find that personally challenging myself to perform in all aspects of my degree-related and liberal-education curriculum is the greatest strength and weakness of GMC. This is not a continuation of high school, it requires that students bring initiative to their studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider your options strongly before choosing GMC; it is a very different experience for those expecting a hollywood university education.

    In three sentences

    This school caters to the primarily liberal with a focus on progressive environmental awareness. Sustainability is a buzz-word heard more often than any other around campus, something that will either deter or draw in perspective students. Do not attend the college if your main incentives are the fact that you got accepted and your major is offered; you must be open to a change in perspective.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great. The campus is well enough lit at night that you can feel secure walking around when it's late, there are keys for the doors and RAs on duty to make sure that residents can get to where they need to be. Green Mountain College feels like a safe place.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities to get involved and join in on campus. From opportunities for volunteer work to literary developments to sports clubs even recycling clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are environmentally mindful, Green Mountain College is a great place for you. The course materials all have a link to environmental issues and solutions and a major focus is sustainability.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At Green Mountain College we do have a small streaking team, it's just great to be in a place where people can be free to do what makes them happy, and people can be respected and have respect for how others choose to live.

    Bang for the buck

    Green Mountain College is a pretty expensive school, but if it's a place that makes you feel comfortable, happy, and at home, there are ways to be in the place you want to be. It's a great school filled with amazing people and lots of opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you can walk around town with your friends, go to the river, walk or bike down the rail trail, drive or take a shuttle into Rutland, play games out on the front lawn or the areas in front of the dorms.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the dining hall is great and the atmosphere is comfortable and friendly. If you don't feel like eating in the dining hall, all floors have a hub, with a small kitchenette or you can walk off campus and stop in at any of the small restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    Life in the dorms is great! I made so many friends and we keep our living environment clean and in a state that is inviting and comfy. Some dorms are co-ed, some are single sex floors, some are specialty floors, but they are all great living spaces.

    Academic Rigor

    I've heard that Green Mountain students are some of the hardest working students and the work is challenging sometimes, but challenging in a good way. You have the learning center tutors, your professors, and fellow students to help when you need it, the work can be accomplished.

    Tips for prospective students

    Green Mountain College is great. Living in the dorms, you feel welcome and at home, leaving your door open to passers-by, you might make new friends. Classes are relatively small so you can have contact with your professors, taking advantage of their help is definitely something you want to do.

    In three sentences

    Green Mountain College is a great school. It's a small school located in a small town which provides for comfortable living and you don't get lost in the shuffle. Green Mountain is environmentally focused which is so important for the healthy future of our planet.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is above par here at GMC.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many varieties of clubs are offered for all kinds of students here at Green Mountain. Activities on campus are often held by certain clubs and are very popular.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are really into their academics and are serious about succeeding in their future careers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The college has a farm on campus so our dining hall get some of its food for our own farm that produces food grown by students.

    Bang for the buck

    The money one spends to come here is certainly worth it! The college goes beyond expectations in providing us students with the best in everything.

    What to do for fun

    Sports, clubs, hiking, skiing, sledding, swimming, etc. There are so many things available to do at GMC. Plus, the college is close to Rutland, VT, the second largest city in the state. Boston and New York city are not too far either.

    Food and Dining

    College dining is not gourmet food, yet the dining services at Green Mountain are top-notch compared to many colleges in the USA.

    Dorm Life

    The dormitories at GMC are very nice. Specialty floors are available and the dorm building themselves are very beautiful. Plus, the campus is extremely safe.

    Academic Rigor

    Green Mountain is an extremely rigorous school in terms of academics. The school does not get a lot of credit for this because of the way the curriculum is shaped, but course work at GMC can match any top US university.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a college is not too 'traditional' but at the same time is not too different, then this Green Mountain is for you. If you are looking for a college where students have great relationships with their professors then this school is for you!

    In three sentences

    The college is small but very beautiful and tightly knit. The serenity of the campus is ideal for a student who is dedicated to learning in a inspirational environment. The forest/mountains and river surrounding the college are the only distractions as this college provides the best educational location.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not at all. Campus security is there to write you up and search your rooms wrongfully. I asked CSO once what would they do if someone came onto the campus with a gun. They responded, I'd go to my office, hide under my desk, and call the police. So nothing they do will really help because I'm sure i whole group of people have called 911.

    Greek Life

    None, thankfully.

    Bang for the buck

    Too expensive for this school basically running as a scam and requiring credits that transfer nowhere.

    What to do for fun

    Leave and go to Rutland. Or the river

    Food and Dining

    RUN AWAY NOW!!!!!

    Dorm Life

    Being on the food plan SUCKS!!!! But the dorms are okay, freshman dorms were awful; I felt like I was in prison.

    Academic Rigor

    Don't try, seriously, you'll do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't eat the food! And if you do, be picky. I lost so much weight here my doctors became concerned.

    In three sentences

    I met some great people and had a great time, but I lost a lot of my credits transferring out. I transferred out because I was looking for something larger, and classes that would be useful in the real world.

  • 10/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can always find something to do at Green Mountain College. Hanging out at the Coffee House, hanging by the river, going Bowling, or playing pool. Green Mountain College offers a lot of various activities for the students.

    Food and Dining

    At Green Mountain College, our dinning hall incorporates organic, local foods into every meal. The farm also provides a lot of the vegetables on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Green mountain college, is a different kind of experience. You become very close to the people you are living with or next to, and start to form a family on the floor you live.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics' at Green Mountain College brings you an education of the environment, even if you are not an environmental studies major. The environment is incorporated into your education you will receive here at Green Mountain College. The faculty, is one of the most loving and understand group of faculty members I know of. They are willing to help you succeed on nearly anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    For Prospective students, do not be turned away by the environmental lifestyle Green Mountain College has to bring. Bring an opened mind when looking at Green Mountain College. We might be a small campus, but we an a unique campus. There are endless of possibilities here, and no matter how big or small the idea is, you can find a group of students who are willing to make your idea a success.

    In three sentences

    Green Mountain College focuses its' education around the environment. A close knit community is what makes up the environment that Green Mountain College brings. The students, faculty, and staff join together to grow the education and lifestyle the Green Mountain College is about.

  • 02/02/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24/7 campus security, one in office, one on rounds. RAs do rounds as well and everyone watches out for everyone else.

    Greek Life

    None, GMC is an all-inclusive (socially) campus

    Clubs and Activities

    They have everything, and if they don't, they let you create it. Ask student senate and you get a budget too.

    Great for these types of students

    Environmentalists, freedom seekers, hippies, hipsters, geeks, conservationists, democrats, socialists, spiritualists.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Streaking club! This can happen at any time; convocation, graduation, friends and family weekend, young alumni weekend and midnight breakfast; mostly just at 'event' type weekends. Being naked in VT is legal although this and the river are the only times it ever really happens. Cerridwin Farm; GMC has a farm with both animals and vegetation that runs all year long. Check it out! Never milked a cow? Stop by during posted milking hours and a fellow GMCer will show you how.

    Bang for the buck

    The experience is what you make of it. I'd give just about anything to do it again.

    What to do for fun

    Everything! Rope swing in the back of campus overlooks the Poultney River. There are bonfires, concerts, belly dancing clubs, adventure recreation club which has outings several times a week; you can also rent equipment (kayaks, tele skies, rock climbing equipment, etcâ?¦) for only $1 each! (2011)

    Food and Dining

    Run by Chartwells, the dining hall has great quality and variety. They even work with the Cerridwin Farm on campus to feature GMC's own veggies. Once a year they even serve the pigs raised on the farm as pulled pork. If this turns you off there is a great learning experience here where you can really learn and appreciate how, and where your food comes from.

    Dorm Life

    With specialty floors like the Rec Floor, Spirituality Floor, SAGE (students for academic and green engagement) and others you can find your own niche or eventually create your own. The cleaning staff knows there stuff and keeps the facilities cleanly and in good working order. The dorm life is a blast.

    Academic Rigor

    Different from high school, the work-load is challenging but not overwhelming. The amount and degree of difficulty varies with each major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a wide range of classes before you declare your major. For skiers, pick up a season pass to use on light class days and on the weekends to break up the winter blues. There are a lot of great activities and clubs that you can be involved in. Start a study group, you will make more friends in your classes as well as increase your GPA.

    In three sentences

    An environmental liberal arts school where teachers know, and care about their students academics, interests and professional development. This is a place where you can really learn and peruse interests along side other like minded individuals. Teachers and staff help you craft the tools and skills to achieve.