Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Green River Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is honestly great for all types of people. It has many friendly clubs as well as sports teams. There are places for those interested in music, art, teaching and many more.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are many professors who offer review days before the tests. Although some teachers offer them on the weekends, it is worth waking up for. When a professor offers a day of their own time to help you, take them up for it.

    Bang for the buck

    The education offered here is well worth the dollar. Although education often burns a hole in our pockets, Green River's education does not. It is very affordable and offers a great education.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really like the people at this school. There are many clubs that can help you make new friends and new memories. All of the clubs that I have participated in are amazing and fun. There really is a club for every type of person.

    Am learning a lot

    This school has a great environment and community. Beyond the great environment, the school has awesome educators. The professors are very helpful and show that they want you to succeed.

  • 05/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    get your pre-reqs here and then xfer to a four year you will save allot of money

    Am learning a lot

    Instructors in CJ are experienced

  • 08/24/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Someone receiving a DTA (direct-transfer Associate degree) to transfer into a University. In my three years of attending, I never met anyone who was able to even see an academic advisor. You need to check out the universities and get an advisor there. They can tell you what extra courses to take (if any). The DTA will allow you to go straight into the university as a junior.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're someone who needs help in everything, you won't make it here. You probably won't ever see an academic advisor and if you have problems with a teacher, you'll get no help from anyone. Normally, if you're respectful, quiet, but try to get involved in the lecture, everything will work out. Remember that 80% of your grade is actually participation (yes, 80%). And, if you have a grade problem, the teacher will normally give you extra credit work to boost your grade.

    Bang for the buck

    Even for a cash student like me, tuition of about $1000 each semester was a good deal. Stay away from the bookstore - they charge six times the price for textbooks than Amazon and college book sites. There is a fee for everything, but they're normally not extravagant.

    Did enjoy being here

    There are both pro's and con's. One pro is that everyone is very supportive. You can literally walk up to someone you don't know and just ask, Do you know anything about ______? Even if they don't know, they might know how to find out. One con is that GRCC receives the highest about of financial aid for foreign students. Those students get priority over the community students because they have financial aid so it's hard to get a full course load when you're paying cash.

    Did learn a lot

    I definitely learned a lot. Ask around and check out professor ratings online to get the best teacher. From there, you'll likely have fun learning and understand what they're teaching you. The online classes are just as enjoyable and quality as far as education goes.

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the college has a very well-tuned, courteous safety staff. their presence on the grounds is invaluable, both for information and assistance. they also provide information on the college website about closures, various alerts about hazardous situations, etc., which can be sent to students' home computers or to their cell phone.

    Greek Life

    i believe there are greek houses represented on campus, but i do not know more details.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a great many clubs and activities on campus, but i haven't had time to investigate them as yet.

    Great for these types of students

    i think nearly anyone would feel at home at green river. i find that the campus has a good personality to it. very friendly people, in nice wooded surroundings

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    unknown at the present time.

    Bang for the buck

    my personal favorite: if you love chinese, and want ot stay local, golden china buffet in auburn is a bargain. an all you can eat buffet, under $10 per person (before tax/tip). their staff are very prompt and attentive, and the food is excellent

    What to do for fun

    there are a great many events and destinations in the area, too numerous to list. you can refer to tourism brouchures, and do searches for your locations. two that i will suggest: the pike place market (seattle); the paramount theatre (concerts)...ok, three suggestions-the seattle center/key arena/pacific science center..all this can be done on the cheap by public transit (a.k.a. metro-www.metro.kc.gov/transit). disclaimer: if you want to enjoy going out to these, i think 1 place per outing is plenty..don't rush it!!

    Food and Dining

    green river has a cafeteria, the gator grille, which seems to be very popular, as well as various vending machines, and 2 espresso stands. there are many cultural and grcc-related events all through the year where there may be food available. i am on a really tight budget, so i have limited knowledge beyond my 2 or 3 experiences there thus far. see bang for the buck for a suggestion, however.

    Dorm Life

    sorry to say,i have little information on dorm life, as i live off-campus. there are numerous apartment complexes in the area, with varying prices. i am aware that there is student housing, just slightly off the main campus. check out the website for green river community college (www.greenriver.edu) for further information.

    Academic Rigor

    i would say that the demands of college here @ grcc vary with each student, their courses, and their level of committment. i find that certain classes are more challenging for me, and there are some with which i struggle. right now, 2 of my 3 classes feel easy because of my interest in the subject, and instructors who are upbeat and are easy to learn from. the class where i'm struggling is due to a split between 2 campuses in my schedule, limiting my on campus time, as i use public transit. otherwise, the joy of furthering my education, working towrd my first degree, outweighs the rigors of student life on most days. generally, if a student has the proper tools and is committed to doing their best, college will be everything they imagine it to be, or even more.

    Tips for prospective students

    come to your college experience prepared to be challenged. you will need to be attentive, prompt, and ready to absorb new knowledge. if you do the work, and stay focused, your chances of success will increase dramatically. don't give up if it gets tough. ask for help, and take advantage of tutoring and other resourses.

    In three sentences

    i absolutely am in love with this school. i find the experience of college to be challenging, and in spite of the stress, extremely rewarding. i am so very glad i am doing something to change my stars, i would do it again in a heartbeat.

  • 02/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    grcc is very affordable, has financial aid and scholarships available as well. just stay away from the book store if you can help it. it will almost always be cheaper to buy your books from another vendor.

    What to do for fun

    there is lot's to do. the auburn supermall is not far, neither is skiing, hiking or just about anything else you might want to do, providing of course, that your classes give you the time.

    Food and Dining

    campus food is average, i pack my food.

    Dorm Life

    i live off campus but dorms seem very affordable and convenient.

    Academic Rigor

    it really depends on the instructor but 200 level classes are very tough so come prepared to work, show up to lecture and don't get behind on your assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    be certain you have a plan. decide on a degree you want to shoot for and check the yearly schedule planner as some classes our only held one quarter per year.

    In three sentences

    grcc is a great school. parking is convenient if you buy a pass and everything you need is accessible on campus.

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great and safe. i as a student feel safe at green river community college. the main reason is the sheer amount of students that go here. its seems that everyone has each others back. even if you don't actually know him or her. cameras located throughout.

    Clubs and Activities

    sports. soccer,basketball,baseball,cross country. clubs. arts,performance arts.

    Great for these types of students

    at green river we have allot of international students. mainly from asian speaking cultures. so if your interested in getting to know amazing people from an asian background this is the place for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the trails can get unusual. but its quite the small journey. amazing in the spring and fantastic in the summer. all you need is a bottle of water and some shades. maps are provided. also there are sigh maps posted throughout the the trails.

    Bang for the buck

    yes. indeed it is a bang for your buck great location. amazing forest like features throughout the campus. walking trails for anyone. open to the public. free tutor center. open lab's aside from the computer labs in the library. open gym on select days for all students.

    What to do for fun

    tons of activities to consider. sports,clubs and student movements all geared to keep you interested.

    Food and Dining

    snacks anyone? an easy and quick stop between classes.

    Dorm Life

    from what i have been told the dorm life is great. its unique and very close to the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    its easy to adapt to them life of a college student here at green river community college. there are amazing staff members who are more then willing to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    just stand tall. never give up on your passions and transform them into reality.

    In three sentences

    great place to start. i love the atmosphere. its friendly and its easy to make friends.

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is really safe, and campus safety will make sure it stays so.

    Great for these types of students

    this college is great for students who want to meet students from all over the world, state, and even the country. you enjoy nature then go there because the school is in a forest, it is so relaxing and beautiful.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is a nice bridge that leads over a pond, it is a very nice place to just relax.

    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of clubs on campus. the library is a good place to get rid of some time. in the cafeteria you can not only eat but also have good talks and play some games. the billiard tables are great for a good game with some friends.

    Food and Dining

    the food is very good. the coffee shops on campus have coffee that is way better than starbucks.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are very good. a lot of students from all over the world life there. it is a great place to meet new people and have some fun.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are challenging but you learn something. the teachers make their classe very interesting, and want their students to have fun while learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    go there if you want a wide variety of classes to choose from. meeting new people is very easy there. the teachers love their students, and want them to succeed.

    In three sentences

    awesome place to meet new people. great learning environment. the teachers are really interested in your learning and that you succeed in their classes, and also in general

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always multiple security officers patrolling the campus and the only danger seems to be with stolen cars, which students are warned about quite clearly and frequently. In addition, e-mails are sent out when security has a situation to deal with and students are advised to remain at home when such things occur or when the weather is unsuitable for travel to school.

    Greek Life

    I'm not exactly sure what this means, but I have not encountered any Greeks at the college to my knowledge.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities are exceptional and quite accessible. I take part in the Grace Christian Club at the campus and find it quite enjoyable and uplifting, as well as spiritually challenging.

    Great for these types of students

    Running Start, College, and International.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I can think of.

    Bang for the buck

    Definately worth the money that you spend there.

    What to do for fun

    I don't live at the college so I cannot accurately evaluate this portion of the college.

    Food and Dining

    I bring my own food so, once again, I cannot accurately evaluate this portion of the college. From what I have seen, however, it appears that the food is exceptional and the dinning areas are well maintained.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live at the college so I cannot correctly evaluate this portion of the college.

    Academic Rigor

    You are expected to do your work and will be marked down for not completing it or doing so in an unsatisfactory manor. Some teachers take it easier on you, but the mental demand is no less between instructors.

    Tips for prospective students

    They have exceptional student services staff, who are fully capable of plotting out wise course plans and pointing you to people who can answer the questions that they cannot. Information on classes and faculty is easily accessible and simple to understand. Navigating their degree requirements can be difficult, however, so it is suggested that perspective students speak with an advisor before committing to classes.

    In three sentences

    Easily accessible. Reasonably priced. Friendly, approachable staff and professors.

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Study!

    Tips for prospective students

    Just go and sign up. The staff is super helpful.

    In three sentences

    I love Green River Community College!

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is a major deal here at Green River. Parking lots are being renovated to ensure student parking, along with a free shuttle. Rules that aren't followed are more strongly enforced. The Green River Safety Team is one that is personable, down to earth and focused.

    Greek Life

    Being associated with Greek Life only raises the academic bar that Green River has placed so nicely. Greek life brings Green River's efforts to a clenching close with enriched educational experiences, a supportive campus environment and academic and collaborative learning.

    Clubs and Activities

    Campus has several highly motivated, student run clubs. Often these clubs give away sodas or hot chocolate depending on the weather in order to advertise some interesting information.

    Great for these types of students

    Green River is really great for any student. There is room to grow for the 4.0 student, there are positive teachers that do what they can to push the down and out students, and there is a nice atmosphere for everybody else treading the narrow path bettering there education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Green River promotes exciting activities such as Bowling nights, Paintball War Days which occur off campus and other activities that keep people connect such as movie nights at the dorms etc.

    Bang for the buck

    I have personally talked with several instructors and I was surprised to find out how they have been bargaining for cheaper textbooks and lower tuition's in order to make life easier on the busy-bee college kid.

    What to do for fun

    Green River has an open gym at lunch time - Free work out, basketball games - and there are countless hiking trails weaving in and out of the Green River's forest.

    Food and Dining

    The Green River cafeteria is not above average, but they serve every legal beverage your mind can conjure, as well as delicious breakfast burritos, pizza, burgers, sandwiches, cereal and salads.

    Dorm Life

    Green River is not the life of party, but rather more focused on learning. Several professors I have taken have pushed me toward excellence in order to succeed at a 4 year university.

    Academic Rigor

    On this path of education I travel here at Green River Community College, I have come across and befriend several 4.0 GPA students. Nonetheless, we have our emo crowd, our chill-out crowd, with a pleasant lack of druggies and gang bangers. Most everybody is willing to at least meet you half way on the scale of niceness

    Tips for prospective students

    Prioritise your schooling above you other responsibilities. Short term retail jobs only hurt your chances of finding a life career with a classy degree when you pull 40 hour weeks. Either your sleep will diminish or your study time. Either your grades and clarity of mind, or your health. Make the right choice and work less in the industry in order to work more on your education.

    In three sentences

    Top of the line mathematics division, computer science and engineering departments run by brilliant, down to earth professors. Every student is encouraged toward excellence to succeed in education. The modern tech center, up to date Library, and hundreds of little study nooks all over campus make Green River an easy target for an enjoyable study life.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You may not notice it, but there are people looking around for anything suspicious. Even if you never notice it, they e-mail you any suspicious activity that went on in cast they do.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who want to start on their education in a smaller level. Those who are intending to transfer to a big university, like the University of Washington.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition isn't that expensive compared to most community colleges. In fact, if you live with your parents, your financial aid will leave you with a lot of money left over once you get your books.

    What to do for fun

    The college always seems to plan events, so be sure to look at future events to see if they're for you. But for every day, you can talk with your friends, and there's a lounge in one of the buildings, with billiards tables and an arcade (though the games are a bit outdated or run down)

    Food and Dining

    There's plenty to choose from inside the cafeteria. It's almost as if you're in a restaurant. There's hamburgers, fries, sweet food, grilled food, sandwich wraps, the list goes on.

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't know, since I don't live in a dorm. But I heard that the dorms are cheap enough that it feels like you're living on your own. It's very close to the campus, making getting to your morning classes easier.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a bit in the middle. The courses are difficult depending on what you're taking. But some courses aren't that rigorous. In fact, the ones that are equivalent to the university counterparts aren't that difficult compared to them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Complete all the courses that are equivalent to the ones in the college you want to transfer to. Talk to your advisers on what courses you need to take to get into the university you want to get into.

    In three sentences

    Great for starting your college education. There's always a fun thing to do with the college students for everyone. A great college to go to for a transfer degree.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Sometimes overly protective,

    Clubs and Activities

    I love the dances!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for open minded, scientific, philosophic, or diverse students. Everyone accepts everyone here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lindbloom Center in the center of campus. Everyone hangs out there. When you have an hour between class, at least one of your friends will be there. I also recommend the cafeteria.

    Bang for the buck

    The Humanity Department here is fantastic. From music theory, to drama, to philosophy, to painting. You will always find something that will interest you.

    What to do for fun

    Campus life is very diverse. Different languages everywhere. There is a lot of events going on and you will always meet a new face.

    Food and Dining

    Good food, good coffee, the baristas are awesome, and the cafeteria cashiers are super sweet.

    Dorm Life

    Never lived in a dorm myself, but from hanging out in them, I can tell you they are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Work hard. It's important at this school. Some professors won't pity you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Realize that this is college. Do not screw around because you will regret it later.

    In three sentences

    Green River Community is a great college. It matures you, focuses you, and makes you understand the importance of an education. I love the happy accepting atmosphere as well.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always campus safety officers patrolling the parking lots as well as walking the grounds, and they are always very easy to reach in any situation.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs at Green River for academics, sports, or leisure. Everyone has some place they can belong in a GRCC club, and anyone can start a club too, so there are always new things happening.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for anyone going back to school for a certificate, or preparing to transfer to a university. The courses are challenging and focus on student success, not just getting the job done.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of great on-campus events every week, some put on by the school and some put on by various clubs and organizations. Whether you enjoy lectures, or intramural sports, or concerts, or paint-balling, there is something for everyone to enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not the best you will find, but there is always a lot of variety to choose from. They offer a sandwich bar and a grill that will make your lunch fresh for you, and the prices aren't too expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your program of study, some courses are more rigorous than others, but overall, Green River does a great job of providing challenging a curriculum ensured to help you succeed later on in your studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the extra help your teachers offer you. They have office hours set up for a reason, and if you're stuck on a subject, 15 minutes talking to your professor in the office can help much more than hours of reading a text book.

    In three sentences

    Green River Community Colleges offers a great variety of classes and majors, and has some of the best science programs in the state for a community college. The professors are very knowledgeable, as expected, but go above and beyond to ensure they are reaching each student. The small class sizes allow for a lot of one on one learning and help a lot when it comes to understanding the material.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Frisbee in the courtyard between classes -- 10 points if you hit someone in the head (accidentally, of course), 5 for any other part of the body, 1 for shoes/backpacks, and 1 for scaring someone. 20 if you make it into the garbage can unintentionally. ;)

    Bang for the buck

    It's definitely worth the money spent -- get quality classes at a non-university price.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things going on! Concerts, trips to Wild Waves, laser tag, dodgeball tournaments, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your work done, keep your grades up, join any clubs that interest you, and DEFINITELY join the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society the first time you're offered the opportunity.

    In three sentences

    GRCC is a very open community - the people are friendly wherever you go. The professors are amazing, always making you feel as though you belong and willing to help with whatever is needed to help you succeed. And the campus events are amazing -- I just attended a great concert last night!

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    15 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is one on-campus cafeteria, but several food places and most of the city of auburn only a 5 minute ride away.

    Academic Rigor

    There were some courses that were challenging while others were completely mind-numbing and easy.

    In three sentences

    Very friendly and open campus. Almost all of the teachers are laid back and care more about your learning then the grades that they give out. The campus is also very beautiful with many new buildings and lots of wildlife.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Cheap living cost and as a community college, the tuition is also not expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Southcenter mall! One of the biggest mall in the WA state. Lots of shops and also food

    Food and Dining

    Cafetaria is really bad, a lot of junk food. But you will not resist the breakfast burrito, clam chowder, and sunrise breakfast

    Dorm Life

    CCA is too small and expensive. Live off campus is better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Green River has the best advising program among all community colleges, use the resources wisely and you will get a many benefits

    In three sentences

    Friendly and homey environment. A lot of international student, which mean a lot of new experiences. Great teacher, always helpful and available when we need them.

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When I took my first night class I was worried about being out after-dark, but the security team patrols the campus all day and this gave me peace of mind.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of sports to get involved in, and the bullet board is always full of different clubs and events to go to.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition itself is reasonable and the education is great. Bookstore not only sells books at the best prices for new books, but buys them back at the end of the quarter. There are several different tutoring centers to get help with homework that are free, but the one that everyone should take advantage of is the Writing Center. They will save you and your midterm paper.

    What to do for fun

    Hike down to the Green River, especially during the spring and summer when it isn't raining as much. You can even take a horse or bicycle on some of the trails. There are also plenty of sports to get involved in, and the bullet board is always full of different clubs and events to go to.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food isn't all that great, but there is a nice coffee stand in the Student Center and Technology Center. As for restaurants in the area there is a Herfy's not but 5-minutes away from campus that makes an excellent hamburger and milkshake.

    Dorm Life

    They're right next to the campus and the parking lot, so everything is within a 5-minute walk. The Lea Hill Market is only a couple blocks away, and sells groceries that a college student can afford. The dorms themselves are cool, and well-maintained.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are more focused on your learning and understanding rather than challenging you. They give you what you need to know, and make everything as simple as possible making it very easy to succeed. This is especially true if you take advantage of all the free tutoring services.

    Tips for prospective students

    Parking can be difficult, but if you get there before 8AM you can usually get a good spot. Another challenge is finding an open computer passed 10AM, so either plan ahead to get their early or take advantage of the free wifi and bring your own laptop. If you're unaccustomed to western Washington's weather, you might want to invest in an umbrella and rain boots.

    In three sentences

    Green River has a beautiful campus with a lot of trails that can be explored between classes and plenty of space to hang out with friends and classmates surrounded by grand public art displays. There is huge student diversity and you will find yourself with classmates from literally all over the world who genuinely want to know more about you and have a lot to teach you in return. It's also a campus where I have always felt safe because their security is so fantastic whether it is around the earliest morning class to the last night class.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great place for international students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    college is college what do you expect.

    What to do for fun

    Read books.

    Tips for prospective students

    its a great place to attend. You can meet people from around the world.

    In three sentences

    Green River is a good college to attend. There are more opportunities for students to be successful.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very quiet and safe. The biggest worries of the safety crew are keeping the school posted about power outages and weather related closures, which they do a great job of.

    Greek Life

    only one Greek group, based on academic merit. I love it!

    Clubs and Activities

    something for everyone

    Great for these types of students

    International, old and young, parents, anyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a commons area that is your picturesque, typical scene of a community college; kids playing frisbee, everyone our for a smoke break, playing hacky-sac, lunch in the grass. It's great.

    Bang for the buck

    Why pay triple the tuition and go to a university with up to 400 kids in ONE classroom, when you can pay less than 2,000$ a quarter and the instructors actually know you buy name? This is a great place to get your AA, AS, or many many other degree/certificate options.

    What to do for fun

    Green River is surrounded by a beautiful and clean forest. Go out there and explore! 1.25 miles down to the actual Green River, swimming holes, picnic spots, and plenty of chances to burn off a little stress with a nice hike right in your own backyard! On top of that, GRCC's student life organizes (cheap) events of ALL kinds; shopping, nature, volunteering, theater, travel, you name it. The school also has clubs/organizations for every interest.

    Food and Dining

    It's not a gourmet cafeteria, but when a club at the school petitioned to lower the costs of food, they agreed to work with us and lowered prices on everything, opted not to raise the prices due to inflation (which they are contractually allowed to due), and began to offer many combo deals. Vegetarian options always available. A great deal!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms. On campus apartments though, which often host fun community events.

    Academic Rigor

    Occasionally you will get an easy teacher, but almost all of my teachers have taught at a university and hold the same standards.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for financial aid AS EARLY AS POSSIBLE. Be patient, register as soon as your registration appointment is open. Become the extrovert that is in you!

    In three sentences

    This school has incredible instructors. The administrators and office workers could be more helpful, but I suppose that's true of any office worker. the diversity of students has been very liberating.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Have a good car that can go up hills because you need to climb some to get to the college! If you are unfamiliar with the area, it might be wise to get a GPS because it's a tad off the beaten path.

    In three sentences

    The college is very nice and many buildings are new. The people seemed very pleasant and I saw many students enjoying the common areas and hanging out. Parking didn't seem too bad either, but then again I came in the evening.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go on hikes with other students!

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I enjoy being here and getting my prerequisites done.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at the campus map and get used to finding the buildings behind trees.

    In three sentences

    Green River Community College is a college where students feel welcome. I really like coming here, the environment is exceptionally peaceful. The teachers are understanding and helpful.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had a problem with safety, even with late classes on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to succeed and learn will do so at GRCC.

    Bang for the buck

    I am getting a good education for reasonable cost.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities going on that you can choose to be a part of.

    Food and Dining

    I don't use he food or dining services.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but they are not unbearable. You have to work to get the grades you want.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay organized and in contact with your teachers.

    In three sentences

    Green River Community College is a great school. The teachers are great. The atmosphere is great.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    always on top, there are security guards that are always walking around making sure you are safe at all times.

    Greek Life

    not enough info on this subject

    Clubs and Activities

    always clubs and activities to attend everyday

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, down to earth people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Middle of the campus, music always playing, and students performing with instruments and dance.

    Bang for the buck

    New to the city life, I went from Sitka, AK to Auburn, WA. A huge change in roads, in Sitka there is a 14 mile long road whereas in Auburn there are highways, stop lights and traffic. It was fun to get to know how to drive down south. I had played volleyball for GRCC my first year, but had to go back to AK to work that way I could attend here again in the fall, worth every penny. This place makes me feel free with option, and makes me know that I can accomplish anything I want to.

    What to do for fun

    Long board, play volleyball, work out in the gym, watch plays, see bands, life and breathe a fun life.

    Food and Dining

    Best bacon burgers in the area, healthy choices all day.

    Dorm Life

    can't say much because I stay with family.

    Academic Rigor

    Very easy to focus on the main path I am heading towards. Got amazing people who are willing to go the extra mile to help you succeed in your dream job.

    Tips for prospective students

    Easy to make friends, a staff that really wants you to succeed, and a beautiful campus.

    In three sentences

    A vibrant feel in the air of accomplishments. The campus is beautiful, makes for endless thinking when working at the library. A place where I found myself, for the better.

  • 09/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with your advisors. They are there to help you. Once you are there ask as many questions as you can think of.

    In three sentences

    Green River makes the transition for adults to go back to school easy by offering may different class times and locations.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is quite diligent. They are good at sending out weather alerts as well as emails regarding safety on campus.

    Greek Life

    I am not completely sure about all Green River has to offer, but I do know that they have Phi Theta Kappa.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not too familiar with the clubs here on campus, but I do know they have quite a few clubs that anyone can join.

    Great for these types of students

    Green River caters to anyone who finds the community college path the right one for them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The library is a great place to do research, catch up on homework or meet with group members.

    Bang for the buck

    Quite honestly, Green River costs less than a University, but still the price of tuition and fees is a bit steep. Expect some relatively large fees depending on how many credits you are taking each quarter. As far as materials go, books here are expensive, but most you cannot find elsewhere. Green River buys hard cover books and removes the cover so that you cannot resell the books, be aware of this.

    What to do for fun

    Green River offers many intramural sports as well as free exercise classes from time to time. There are community service projects as well as field trips that anyone can take part in. There is always something to do outside of class.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria in the dining area of the college, but I have not personally eaten there. I have had people tell me that the food is good and the prices are average.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived on campus, and do not know anyone who has. I have seen campus housing and it looks inviting.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses and how well you do in them is really up to you as an individual. You choose what you take, and your success depends on the amount of effort that you put into the course. I would check with other students about instructors however, I have had a couple of bad experiences with poor quality instructors. I would also caution prospective students about online courses. Depending on the course, taking it online can be outstandingly difficult and you can expect your GPA to fall just a bit in most cases.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are many things I have learned about Green River Community College over the course of my time here. First off, parking can be quite shocking at first. The parking lots fill up incredibly quick, and once they do good luck finding a spot. I recommend getting to campus early to get a spot, or taking the shuttle that the college provides. I also have to foreworn prospective students about the courses themselves at Green River. Do not wait until the last second to register for classes each quarter, classes fill up very quickly and instructors can only take the first few from their waitlist. Also be cautious of the courses that you are taking because Green River does not offer all classes every quarter and some have prerequisites.

    In three sentences

    Green River Community College is a great place to start your education career. Green River offers a wide range of degrees and certificates to help you achieve your career goals. The College is a welcoming environment that caters to all walks of life.

  • 11/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Green river is a safe campus to be :) We have security and people who make sure green river is a safe environment!

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a great community service center on campus that does events every month as well as blood drives!

    Great for these types of students

    Who are hands on, like to interact with your professor one on one. Also I find it easy to make study groups with people in class.

    Bang for the buck

    From previously attending a University, I know how expensive it is to attend school. Professors at green river definitely give you your bang for your buck and are well educated on their subject.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many different activities that go on around campus each week. Personally for fun I like to help with the community service. Also there is zumba classes every tuesday! :)

    Food and Dining

    There is a Food center on campus that has lots of different options for each persons lifestyle. I really enjoy the coffee stand on campus in the Student Center!

    Academic Rigor

    I am studying to be an occupational therapist Assistant. I previously attended a University and decided on green river because I found their OTA program. The Professors at green river are great at working one on with you and have enthusiastic attitudes and passion for their career!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to fill out your fafsa early and meet with an advisor a few weeks before registration. Classes fill up FAST!

    In three sentences

    Green River Community College is a an awesome school to attend! I am happy that I chose green river because of the people, the atmosphere and the wonderful professors! Make Green River your choice school, you wont regret it! :)

  • 11/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Well they have a nice size library. Also in the student center they have arcade games available and pool tables so anyone can play pool.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. The campus' book store is almost like a little grocery store also. The cafeteria is pretty nice and clean and there is always someone available

    Dorm Life

    I wont really know because I do not live in that area. I do not think they have dorms, but I do know that they have houses or apartments pretty close to campus, I think they are down the street from it.

    Academic Rigor

    I am not really sure about this but as what I know is that it differs with each professor. Some will expect you to already know how to look for information in a particular way while some will literally teach you the fundamentals an the easiest and helpful way to find the information. Some of the work is pretty difficult but if the students listen and are active in class than the assignments will not be that hard.

    In three sentences

    Green River Community College, in my opinion would rate at a 3 or 4. Some teachers are great and know the right things to say so students would understand while others explain things like they are teaching elementary school students. The only problem that I have with the campus is that it is way too open, anyone can just walk on the campus.

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I'm not really involved in the school itself, but I do see posters around about school activities. For example, they have volleyball games and laser tag.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't eaten the food on campus but I have seen the cafeteria which isn't that awesome. The food around campus seems decent, there is pizza, pretzels and coffee that can be found.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus so I can't tell the inside of the dorms. However, the physical appearance is very nice. It is also extra convenient since it's walking distance from the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm taking two classes on campus and one online. English 101 is pretty basic, however the teacher I have is very strict. The strictness effects why I rated the rigor a three stars. PE 109 (court games) is extremely easy and is based on attendance. The online class (Music 104) is at your own pace, so it's pretty easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend finding your classes on your registration day, no later. The classes fill up super quick. Also, don't forget to pay as soon as possible or else they'll kick you out of the class!

    In three sentences

    Green River Community College is a school in the boonies. This is my first year and the instructors that I have come across have always been extremely helpful (Victoria Scrivner and Dan Keene). The school is definitely a great transition from high school to college.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Auto theft is a real problem in South King County. The Green River campus is no exception.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel as though college is too expensive to start with. Unfortunately, the instructors' decisions to use only current edition books can make things even more costly. Expect to pay upwards of $300 per quarter for books.

    What to do for fun

    Auburn has the unique position of being approximately half way between Tacoma and Seattle. So, with a little drive, there are two major cities for entertainment and night life.

    Food and Dining

    Green River has a fairly run-of-the-mill cafeteria. The school also has several espresso and snack stands on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I can't comment on dorm life, as I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor is something that needs to be judged by an individual - I don't find it any more difficult to learn here than any other school I've attended.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can, take night classes. They're generally less crowded. If you're a day time student, plan to show up an hour early (every day) to search for parking.

    In three sentences

    Green River Community College is an interesting and diverse school. However, it is (at times) very crowded. If you're not used to showing up early for a parking spot, Green River may not be right for you.

  • 03/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They do a great job in safety

    What to do for fun

    Come to the events that are held regularly. GRCC have several clubs that you can be part of and some recreational places

    Food and Dining

    Food is a bit expensive i think is better to cook your own dinners

    Dorm Life

    I don't know much about it.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends of the instructor you choose some of them loves teaching and will be clear in teaching and strict on grading. Others will simple teach because is their income and will be really easy grading

    Tips for prospective students

    Get connected to campus resources.

    In three sentences

    Green River Community College is a good school that is concerned about his students. It provides a good campus environment. The Engineering advising team knows what they are doing

  • 03/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are quite a few security officers making their rounds at this college but it is set in the middle of a wooded area so parking lot might not be as secure because of this. Some cars have been stolen from the campus. They are making improvements with this.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all kinds of activities and clubs at this college. Whether you are interested in academic clubs like chemistry or sports activities like soccer teams, Green River has a huge variety.

    What to do for fun

    Green River Community College is surrounded by woods and nature. There are lots of trails to hike, and outdoor activities all around. There's a mall and movie theatre within 10 to 15 minutes from the college.

    Food and Dining

    There's a grocery store and a few restaurants within walking distance to the college and apartments.

    Dorm Life

    There are several apartment complexes within walking distance to the college.

    Academic Rigor

    Green River Community College is one of the best in the area when it comes to education and actually learning something. There are some strict teachers here who demand perfection and count you down for the smallest mistakes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have morning classes and find it hard to get there early enough to find parking, there's a great shuttle service that runs throughout the day back and forth from off-site parking that never runs out of spots.

    In three sentences

    I give Green River a B+ because it's a great community college but could improve on a couple of things. Some of the more popular classes need classes at more times and available during more than one quarter. Some of the teachers are hard to work with regarding grades.

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Their is campus security every where you go. You will feel safe from walking im between classes, or leaving your car parked far from the building.

    Great for these types of students

    Green River specializes in international students. Their also trying to offer a 4 year degree for a couple of the many different degrees they offer.

    Bang for the buck

    The pricing per credit is quite fair considering the hardship were in. Apply for grants, loans, or scholarships to help pay for your tuition and fees.

    What to do for fun

    Participate in the after school theater group, or maybe you like helping others with school work you would be a great candidate for the tutoring area. They offer many different fun activities throughout every month. They even offer you low costing trips to Japan, Hawaii, etc.

    Food and Dining

    They offer a variety of different types of food, beverages, and snacks. Whether your a healthy eater or don't care they have something to satisfy each and every students needs.

    Dorm Life

    They have a large on campus housing. The rent is affordable and they come fully furnished. In walking distance to all your classes.

    Academic Rigor

    Push yourself to attend full-time every quarter, even for the summer quarter. Instead of taking the easy courses to fulfill your elective credit requirements take an extra Math or English course or an even better, if your planning on transfersing to an university, see what courses the university want to see on your transcript and take those courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Determine whether or not your wanting to transfer to an university once you finish your AA there. Take some time to play around on the school websites, making sure you familiarize yourself with the site and information that's provided for you.

    In three sentences

    Fast, efficient, helpful, and considered to be one of the best Clinique college around. Everyone in every department knows what their doing. Know matter what your question or problem is their always there to help you, taking their time making sure your questions are answered.

  • 04/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are many safety officers all around campus and they have optional text updates on any safety alerts throughout campus at all hours... This includes campus weather updates.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am involved in the Phi Theta Kappa group, and they are very involved in the campus community.

    Great for these types of students

    a Large selection of books and resources both in the Library and online!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I really like the quiet study room on the lower level of the Holman Library. It allows me to study peacefully instead of in the upper, and often noisy, library floor.

    Bang for the buck

    They offer a lot of financial help and many areas to get food and supplies. Usually prices are not to high, but they have been known to be a little more. But which do you prefer, convenience or slightly lower prices?

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the large outside courtyard, especially when that sunshine is out!

    Food and Dining

    While the food is usually tasty, the facility is quite outdated. The Gator Grill can be very packed and is not very big. The cafeteria is rather outdated and in need of renovation!

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the campus housing, nor have I heard much about it.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the class. Many of my classes have been very helpful and sometimes rather challenging, but to the good end of learning!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your paperwork in and done right away, in this case good things don't come to those who wait! And plan to arrive on campus early for parking, or ride the very safe shuttle!

    In three sentences

    Continuously growing and expanding. This college has good professors who, for the most part, want to invest in your future! There are aspects of the campus that need updating, although it is in progress, and there are a lot of students!

  • 05/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can ride the 164 bus to Kent. There is AMC and many restaurants there. You can go to Supermall, the Auburn shopping center, by riding 181 bus. The school offers a lot of programs for fun too such as kayaking in Seattle, watching Pentatonix concert or Mariners game, and take you to events held in many places you cant reach by bus. You can register for these events at the student life office.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria sells good variation of food and beverages. They have 2 coffee shops at the technology center and at the student center. The bookstore sells some grocery stuff too!

    Dorm Life

    The dorm is the student housing located in front of the campus. It is very convenient to live there because you don't have to spend more money on transportation. The area is clean and maintained. Each house has 4 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and a kitchen and a living room.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses in Green River Community College mostly transfers to a university. The classes are not easy, they give a lot tasks and assignments but it really prepares you for exams and tests. The teachers are helpful and accessible during their office hours and by mail. Overall, the academic quality in Green River Community College is satisfactory.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect a lot of urban life when studying in GRCC as an international student since the campus is located in a suburban area and on top of a hill surrounded by forest. To get to Seattle you will need to ride 2 buses taking about 1hr 30 mins for one-way trip. But the campus is situated in a beautiful area which created perfect atmosphere to concentrate in studying.

    In three sentences

    Green River Community College is a very good place to start for a higher education opportunity in the United States for international students. They are very helpful in guiding international students to be oriented to American education system. A lot of international transfer students graduating from GRCC got accepted to good schools such as UC Berkeley, University of Illinois UC, UCLA, NYU, UT Austin and University of Wisconsin.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    35 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Their friendly and are very personable.

    Greek Life

    Minimal.

    Clubs and Activities

    Green River hosts some of the best events i've seen. They keep you intrigued.

    What to do for fun

    Stay involved and all the fun event opportunites will present themselves to you.

    Food and Dining

    Cafteria over-priced, but the food is great.

    Dorm Life

    Again, international students are top priority. Seek other living options.

    Academic Rigor

    Study. Study. Study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. Ask for help. Find your resources.

    In three sentences

    They cater to their international students the most. If domestic student, keepon your toes.

  • 06/20/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    36 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    From what I've seen, the Improve club is really fun to be with.

    Food and Dining

    Really haven't experience what they have to offer there but it looks like everyone is enjoying there time.

    Dorm Life

    Haven't experience their housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Haven't experience anything yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have all your paperwork with you when you do your financial aid and turn them in on time.

    In three sentences

    In Green River's open house, the students and staff who help out was really helpful! Also in my orientation, the advisers was really helpful and amazing and funny too. Overall from what I have experience so far, what an amazing school.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join the clubs, they have great a variety of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    They have great food.

    Dorm Life

    Actually I don't know, I don't live on campus... but I heard its okay

    Academic Rigor

    With the right teachers you will be pushed to do the best you can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to rateyourprofessors.com and this will help you decide which teachers would be best for you. Use your resources (writing center, math center, science center), find study groups and you'll do great!

    In three sentences

    Amazing school, great teachers, beautiful campus. I came here for a year doing running start and I loved it! The library is fantastic and all of the staff are willing to help.

  • 07/13/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    38 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When first walk in the campus it looked pretty safe and I wanted to know it safety a little more then I went around the campus to find out if how safe it really was and I found that it couldn't get and safer than it was. Everyone got along well previous student were helping the new and give tips on what college is like their and how it works.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a new building that didn't used to be there earlier.

    Bang for the buck

    I am able to search for all help and support that I can be eligible for with a group of students like myself.

    What to do for fun

    You can always go to the library to study or go out of school to play soccer.

    Food and Dining

    I need tried the food or seen the dining.

    Dorm Life

    I never seen that life and I don't know how it's like.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't started but I am interested

    In three sentences

    It is a very supportive and lovely placed. People there are loving and caring. They support anyone in need and they try finding ways to help you.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    39 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join clubs! Attend the college with friends and get to know as many people as you can.

    Food and Dining

    From what I had the cafeteria was quite tasty. I always wanted to stop by and grab something to eat. The only problem I had was not having enough money (:

    Dorm Life

    I never stayed in the dorm

    Academic Rigor

    It's a community college so don't expect it to be extremely difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always check rate my professor. You have no idea how many times I chose a class without looking them up and ended up with a horrible professor. I wish I had used that website more often.

    In three sentences

    Green River was a fantastic starter school for me. Not too big and not to small. My only complaint was that some of the teachers I had didn't seem to care about my education.

  • 08/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Since its in a wooded area, I don't like taking night classes. Lock your cars. They have text alerts you can sign up for to let you know of any unusual activities going on.

    Greek Life

    There isn't a greek system on this campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Their sports teams are so much fun to be on. I played fastpitch for a little while and loved the atmosphere of the team.

    Great for these types of students

    People who aren't sure what they want to do yet but know they want to go to school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The whole campus is in a wooded, beautiful area. There are lots of squirrels who are not afraid of students and follow you around.

    Bang for the buck

    It was definitely the best decision I made to get my AA before transferring to a four year university. It prepared me for the harder college life.

    What to do for fun

    The school has lots of extracurricular activities to get involved in. This campus is in my hometown so I didn't really do anything for fun here besides hangout with my friends.

    Food and Dining

    They have good food and coffee stands available campus wide.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't dorms on this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    If you apply yourself and are interested in getting the most out of your education, you'll do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to not be able to park. Wait until class starts to get your textbooks, most teachers give other options. Don't do online classes unless you know how to prioritize your time.

    In three sentences

    Most of the teachers really want to see students succeed and will do anything to help. Campus has recently gone cigarette-free, creating a much better learning environment. Beautiful, clean campus.

  • 09/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are always security around if you need them.

    Great for these types of students

    great for students who have part time or full time jobs. Morning and evening classes available.

    Bang for the buck

    It is pretty inexpensive and financial aid is available.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and sports that you can participate in. These can help you make friends and have a BLAST.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Green River is good, with healthy options as well.

    Academic Rigor

    I love green river cc. It is the only community college that I would suggest to someone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the free tutoring services. Use the free planner that grcc provides for you. Most importantly, ASK QUESTIONS.

    In three sentences

    This college has great teacher who truly care about their students. The campus is beautiful and the peers are nice and friendly. There are many tutoring services available which are very helpful.

  • 10/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can join a lot of clubs, competitive sports, intramural sports, go to events and make a lot of new friends on campus and at Campus Corner Apartments.

    Food and Dining

    There are not that much food choices. On campus there are two coffee stations and one gator grille. In the area, there are not a lot of food places to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    They don't necessarily have dorms but they have a Campus Corner Apartments. These Apartments are located five minutes away from campus. Although, apply for student housing early because international students get housing first then it is first come, first serve.

    Academic Rigor

    In the Aviation Program, it is very rigorous. Make you sure you are ready for fast-paced aviation classes. As far as other classes, I am not sure.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you would like to major in Aviation Technology then you should go here. This school is known for their Aviation Technology. There are lot of different choices of sports for men and women too.

    In three sentences

    They have a nice little campus. It is surrounded by country. There are varieties of majors to choose from.

  • 10/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Don't leave anything of value in your car. Especially in the back lots.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Awesome outdoors clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Open-minded community college students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The most interesting people hang out in the smoking sections.

    Bang for the buck

    A decent transfer degree for the price.

    What to do for fun

    Go take a hike on the trails.

    Food and Dining

    I wouldn't know.

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't know.

    Academic Rigor

    I work full time and go to school full time. It's manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait until the last minute, because the good classes fill early.

    In three sentences

    The school has plenty of fresh air, enchanted trails, and a sense of new life all around. The teachers are flexible and understanding if you make prior arrangements. The 8am parking situation is dire.

  • 11/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They don't joke around at all! It's amazing! They have security buttons; they have free security rides etc. They really put your safety at the forefront.

    What to do for fun

    Anything from movies at the Student Store to pool or games on the top floor of the LC building. You'll find something to do! Besides there's tons of clubs to get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    AMAZING! I think its awesome that they have culinary students working in the kitchen-- sometimes the prices are way over the top, however the food is worth it. I'm some what impressed with the quality they've put into it all.

    Dorm Life

    I can't really comment because I've not lived there yet, however I've heard pretty good things about the apartments etc. There's always a security guard available to help as well!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't very hard at all if you actually study. There are also a few teachers that make it really difficult to fail a class- they can be really helpful! Math and Sciences are probably the hardest of the classes but with the right teacher it's all the more that we learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the shuttle in the mornings unless you plan on arriving at 630am. There are tons of great teachers but there are also a few lanky ones so study your brains out- and just because you can check your phone during class doesn't mean you should! PAY ATTENTION! Write notes, but only write down the points over-emphasized by the instructor, odds are he's repeating the same words over and over because he wants you to know it.

    In three sentences

    Small campus for easy travel-- it's really hard to be late to class unless you're trying! The shuttle bus makes the limited parking better and they're pretty nice people. Staff is made up of relatively nice people.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Frequent reports of cars being stolen or broken into in the parking lots. I took several night classes and it seems like security leaves before all classes are let out. They frequently would lock the bathrooms before they left, so you could not use the toilet during break or after class let out.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    They're not well promoted if there are any.

    Great for these types of students

    It seems mostly geared towards international students, which seems weird considering its suburban location.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No tobacco or smoking anywhere on campus. Including parking lots.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is reasonable, but it would be really helpful if financial aid arrived in time to help with expenses like books and supplies.

    What to do for fun

    There's a pretty decent nature trail near the school.

    Food and Dining

    Food's pretty lousy and extremely overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    There's some nearby apartments, but no dorms. It's almost impossible to find a place to smoke a cigarette.

    Academic Rigor

    Science classes move a bit slow. Had an english professor that didn't show up to class for two weeks and was fired. I felt really bad for the international students who could have really benefited from the English class.

    Tips for prospective students

    File financial aid paperwork in January. Familiarize yourself with all deadlines because financial aid and counseling services will have 0 communication with you as deadlines approach.

    In three sentences

    Terribly run financial aid and counseling services. 120+ day wait for office to file paperwork, and funds not released until it's too late to help with books. Most counselors aren't trained in assisting with transfer to 4 year university.

  • 01/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food at the cafeteria at GRCC is average. I have only tried the salad, but there are curly fries, which is pretty awesome.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm at GRCC. I live only about five minutes away from the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    As a high school student as well as a college student, for me the work load from my classes is heavy. Although it varies some between different classes, the teachers almost always assign homework and outside work as well as multiple exams throughout the quarter.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't bother looking at ratemyprofessor.com because most of it is just angry students who aren't satisfied with their grades. Expect to make your classes a top priority. Study, pay attention, and do the work and you should be fine.

    In three sentences

    So far my experience at Green River Community College has been nothing but exciting and interesting. I have enjoyed every one of my teachers here at GRCC. The Running Start program has been very helpful and such a great opportunity for me.

  • 03/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I'm going as a full time student, pay a fair rate, and you get a lot out of it.

    What to do for fun

    There are many intermural sports and clubs for everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to get to the campus early to get parking!

    In three sentences

    A beautiful campus, with very welcoming staff. I went to a different school before this, and Green River is much nicer looking, and has a a more welcoming environment. The campus is large for a community college, but doesn't have enough parking.

  • 06/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They give notifications often.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a community college with some decent classes. Good money saver.

    What to do for fun

    There's are pool tables and arcade machines. The library is also extensive.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, but expensive.

    Dorm Life

    I never roomed at Green River, but the housing looks mediocre.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes can be especially challenging, almost to a university standard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what kind of instructor you are getting, that may be the deciding factor of your educational success.

    In three sentences

    The campus is pretty good looking. Although there are some incompetent instructors, the majority consists of very dedicated people. The rigor of the curriculum can be challenging, but rewarding.

  • 06/17/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    49 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is a stickler for parking and following the rules. But they do a good job, coming from one who never really had an issue with them.

    Great for these types of students

    There is really something for everyone here. It is such an inviting school that invites everyone from any walk of life. I was mournful when I graduated because it is a top-notch school and a top not-notch education.

    What to do for fun

    At noon, there is usually some type of activity such as a dunk tank in the spring or karaoke in the commons area in front of Salish Hall.

    Food and Dining

    The lunch room makes very good food. I would recommend eating there if you must. But it is expensive, so beware and do not plan on eating there daily. I would recommend getting a combo meal, it is cheaper and tastes better. I gave this four stars for the food quality, and subtracted a star for the price.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in a dorm since I lived only in Auburn, but I heard that they are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor is moderate to hard, but with diligent work and perseverance the work will be simple.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always do your best and do not procrastinate. I repeat, DO NOT PROCRASTINATE.

    In three sentences

    I loved this school. It was a beautiful campus and it was small enough that you could cross it in five minutes if you were late to class. Also, the classes were very small and the teachers were very friendly.

  • 08/19/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    50 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security on campus, and alerts of any goings-ons.

    Great for these types of students

    Artistic and nature-inclined.

    Bang for the buck

    Inexpensive learning at a high level.

    Food and Dining

    A few coffee shops and a cafeteria. If you ask me the food is a little over-priced, however.

    Dorm Life

    Didn't stay in one.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes where just the right amount of challenging without being too stressful. Quarters are the perfect length and the curriculum is interesting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the time to get to know your teachers, they are critical keys to your success. Spend some time wandering around campus, there is art everywhere (even hidden!)

    In three sentences

    The teachers here are very willing to help students in whatever way possible. The art direct transfer agreement helped me make a smooth transition to a four year college. The campus is stunningly beautiful with nature all around.