Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Greenfield Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are so many different student activities to choose from you will never be bored.

    Food and Dining

    there are a high variety of foods for you to choose from and the dinning commons are updated, and have plenty of space. the prices are also very affordable.

    In three sentences

    i love this school, everything about it is so inviting and comfortable. everyone in the school is so friendly and the is so much help available if you need it there is no way you cannot succeed here. i would highly recommend this school.

  • 01/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security patrols all day, and all night. Well lit parking lots as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    All types of clubs/activities are offered. Dance, video games, athletics, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The president of the school gets into some pretty silly situations.

    Bang for the buck

    The best way you could get pre-requisites out of the way before heading to any 4 year college and beyond.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of clubs, and outdoor activities to keep you busy and entertained.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria offers plenty of food all through out the day, and plenty of variability.

    Dorm Life

    There are no on campus living, but if there was it would be well reflective of the school.

    Academic Rigor

    Not too tough, but not too easy. The faculty is reviewed many times by both fellow faculty, and students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Your teacher is your friend, seek help if you need it, they will help you! Recent renovations made the campus stunning.

    In three sentences

    Your success is their business. Extremely motivating and helpful. Supportive to all those seeking an education.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    No dorm life. Its a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on what kind of classes you sign up for and your credit hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    GCC is a very safe school in Western Massachusetts surrounded by the beautiful countryside.

    In three sentences

    I love how much all the teachers care for their students and truly want to help every student succeed. You can have a personal relationship with the teachers helping with success and is a great motivation.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a very safe school.

    Greek Life

    You have to be invited to join the greek system.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always a club meeting going on somewhere. I didn't join too many my first semester but I definitly recommend it.

    Great for these types of students

    Returning students, adult/non-traditional students. Working moms or working students. GCC is a great fit for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The ducks are always roaming around

    Bang for the buck

    I'm getting a quality education for not that much money. You really get your money's worth at GCC

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs. There are always art shows or dance preformances going on. If you get to know some students in different departments, you'll always have something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. I've only ever had one sandwich but it was really good.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are great, some classes are harder than others but they're all pretty good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitly walk around the campus before the first day of classes, it can be little confusing sometimes. Get to know youre teachers join clubs definitly eat some cafeteria food, its pretty good.

    In three sentences

    GCC is the best school I've ever gone to. The teachers really care about their students and are willing to work with you to get the grades you deserve. I couldnt ask for a better college to attend.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus police on duty.

    Bang for the buck

    It is less pricey than larger schools, but the cost still seems rather high for what you get as well as being a community college which should make an education more affordable.

    What to do for fun

    Fitness stations are setup along the spacious campus. Plenty of room to spread out and play games with others or just relax outdoors. There are numerous restaurants and stores nearby.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college with no housing.

    Academic Rigor

    I completed one class and it did not seem to be very challenging for me. The class was very informative.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research before you go talk to the advising staff (Jeanne Dodge discourages students from attending) and don't get set off track or dissuaded from attaining your degree and working toward your achieving your goals.

    In three sentences

    Although the cost to attend classes seems higher than it should be, Greenfield Community College is a bit cheaper than other colleges in the area. The advising staff is not very helpful, they must hate their job, and discourage prospective students from attending as the economy is struggling. Small, local school in a nice area.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's great for laid back students who love studying a lot of unusual subjects. Recently the college added an Outdoor Leadership Program which is very popular among people who love to spend time with nature.

    Bang for the buck

    The college is relatively inexpensive, even for a community college. The education is fantastic and you always feel like you're learning a lot of information that you'll use later in your life.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs and organizations in the college. On top of this, there are a lot of places to hang out in the college itself. They recently put a few TVs for the students to watch in particular parts of the buildings.

    Food and Dining

    The two dining halls that are located on campus are always well stocked. The larger dining hall has a sandwich station, a grill, a salad bar, and an on-the-go portion as well. The pizza that they make in house is some of the best around!

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the teachers try to challenge you. Since the classes are so small it's easy to get a very personalized information without paying an arm and a leg! Many of the teachers understand that many of the students understand that you have your own life and job as well as other classes. You learn a lot in class and the homework reinforces what you learned in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's okay to start out with a liberal arts degree and try out a ton of different classes. GCC is a great school to try out what major you really want to follow. It's always possible to change your mind and reinvent yourself.

    In three sentences

    GCC is a very small school and you definitely get personalized attention. The people who work in the offices try to be very helpful in answering your questions. The campus is almost put back into the woods but the revamped inside of the main building is very pretty now.

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    GCC has their own security department that patrols the parking lots periodically.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life at GCC.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities, however, since I am working part time and going to school I do not have time to join any of them at this time.

    Great for these types of students

    Greenfield Community College is great for students who want to get an education but do not want to stray far from home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus has a duck pond in the middle of the two main buildings.

    Bang for the buck

    It is easier on the pocket book going to a community college to get your pre-required courses.

    What to do for fun

    There are several clubs ranging from academic to student organized clubs for sports and gaming.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good and doesn't cost a lot.

    Academic Rigor

    I am able to work part time and still have time to complete my classwork.

    Tips for prospective students

    It still has the feel of high school with a mixture of old friends and new students so there is really isn't as much anxiety as you might think.

    In three sentences

    GCC has a diverse student ratio. There is a good variety of classes. It is a good size for a student who is not quite ready for the large college life.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a police car parked outside the building and usually there is a officer in the college store. Police patrolls the parking area. There are fire alarms and drills.

    Clubs and Activities

    I really haven't looked into the clubs and activities. There isn't much that intrests me.

    Great for these types of students

    Dance center= the dance center is a place where you can take dance lessons there is all sorts of different kinds of dance you can take including: Ballet, modern dance, jazz, belly dancing, ballroom, and african dance. Work out center= has treadmills, weights, and other exercise machines if you need to go work out. Math studio= A room designed to go and quitely do math homework or problems. Ther is faculty that will help you if you have questions or need help with your work.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a pretty good college, and the academics are really good. I would say its worth it. And it's relatively cheap compared to most colleges.

    What to do for fun

    I haven't discovered much fun stuff yet. But people do gather together and play card games in the cafeteria. And there is a work out center.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, I haven't tried much of it. There cinnamon buns are delicious and they have a good variety of food. They have plenty of vending machines with soda, chips, and whole grain bars in them. I tend to get things out of the vending machine.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Gcc which is really an inconvience. Gas prices are going up and I am just one of the few of the many people who travel a good distance to get to Gcc. Dorms would be a really good idea to add on to the college.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are very good, the teachers explain things well, and depending on what classes you are in the homework isn't too hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Show up for class attendence is a good fraction of your grade, ten percent in some classes. Do your homework, it really helps and some of the proffessors actually check homework and grade it. Take notes, don't space out during class, notes are important becuase they help you highlight the important stuff without having to go through the whole book. Explore the college, it will give you a better sense on where you are there. The staircases can get confusing even with signs.

    In three sentences

    Has good academics.

  • 05/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. There are patrols all the time, but the guards are friendly, and there never seems to be any problems on campus anyway.

    Bang for the buck

    For such a small price, I really feel that I have learned a lot. If you want to really get your bang for your buck, you do have to invest in the classes. No one will force you to learn.

    What to do for fun

    Student life keeps fun activities and programs going, like little fairs and ping pong tournaments. Kids play soccer and frisbee on the lawns, and live student music plays every Monday in an open space near the cafeteria. There isn't a ton to do in Greenfield, but one town over in every direction, you can find bowling and bars. It is a rural area, so people tend to hang out further away from the school..

    Food and Dining

    The school is very small and there is only one cafeteria, but the food is good (if lacking in variety a bit). There is a salad bar, and small made-to-order sandwich/burger bar, soup, and a different hot meal every day. In town there are a lot of good restaurants and cafe's.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm here and everyone commutes.

    Academic Rigor

    Many people would consider the classes here easier, but I think that is because the classes are much smaller and the teachers are there to help everyone individually. The teachers here really make you think, and if you're not doing the work you will have trouble passing. The only thing other thing I would say is that the teachers are also very compromising when it comes to outside situations (if you have kids or difficult job), they will work with you so that you can learn and still keep control of your life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be scared by the title! Even though it's a community college, its programs (especially in art, outdoors leadership, and nursing) are solid and many students move seamlessly to a bachelor's program at a larger school. Keep involved in your classes and in the community here and you will find people who are incredibly supportive and helpful, and that can mean a lot when you're trying to handle a busy schedule or even within a class.

    In three sentences

    GCC really is a great place either if you're strapped for money, not sure what you want to study, or need to balance your time between school and work. The classes are as good as at a four-year institution, due mainly to the talented and invested teachers, and students of all ages and backgrounds are working, at their own pace, to attain an education. People work together in this small-town environment to learn and grow.

  • 10/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    So affordable, especially for the area especially considering the kind of academic thoughtfulness the faculty seem to put into their curriculum and classroom environments.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club, take a dance class, get involved with a local advocacy group or permaculture group. There are also tons of events scheduled during the class days that offer free lunch and entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria staff totally rule. They prepare great food to order for a minimal price. They also have a nice selection of meals, ranging from sirloin burgers and sweet fries to local ingredients made into delicious and nutritional meals.

    Dorm Life

    unsure. I am not sure they offer housing.

    Tips for prospective students

    I'd encourage prospective students to go to the departments of their intended major and talk to the teachers to get a feel for the classroom setting. While my experience as been superior, each student has a mode of learning that is more effective for their individual needs. I also encourage prospective students to take a year off from school before entering college. This will give them the opportunity to find themselves outside of the boundaries of formal education. How can you know what you want to do before you have begun to shape yourself?

    In three sentences

    While my experience is limited to one semester, my experience has been that teachers are interested in students learning and do this is non-traditional ways which include classroom discussion and the application of the psychology of how we learn. I've been blown away by the critical thinking that has been encouraged especially in addressing issues concerning race, gender, class and disability. Concepts are applied to real life issues so that students are able to relate to topics and retain information more effectively.

  • 03/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have a great security team. They always have have police around on campus and watching off campus to keep the students safe. They respond quick and are very friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    Outdoors club, GSA, Art clubs. They have so many but I dont join any because of work.

    Great for these types of students

    Any students! Any race or culture is welcome. Any person who is artistic I would highly recommend. The great thing about this school is they accept everyone no matter what you are into or who you are.

    Bang for the buck

    All I have to say is I am very blessed to have a school like Gcc near me and that they make it so easy to be able to go to college. If Gcc wasnt around I probably would not be achieving my goals.

    What to do for fun

    GCC offers alot of off campus trips, they also have on campus musicians, art shows, plays, and indoor and outdoor games. They even hold the big balloon festival. Also a couple times a month they have pizza with the president which is nice. The school helps students engage with one another and to make friends.

    Food and Dining

    They just upgraded the kitchen/dining and since they did the food is great! There are so many diffrent choices amd the prices are great. My personal favorite is the pizza and salad bar. The dining room setting is comfortable and you can feel like your eating at home.

    Dorm Life

    Sadly we dont have dorm rooms

    Academic Rigor

    The academics department is great! Every professor I have or had is more than willing to take that extra step to make sure everyone passes with a good grade to succeed. You can tell they are not just there for a paycheck but to help ypu understand your studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never let your goals slip away from you because GCC is there to help you achieve them. Any problems that arise Gcc will help acomidate. Lastly study hard if you want that grade!

    In three sentences

    GCC is an amazing school to attend. All the students, professors, and other staff are very friendly and are always willing to help you. The school is very comfortable and made to meet each students goal.