Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Greensboro College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus security patrol's the campus 24 hours out of the day to ensure safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    greensboro college has all sports except track & field.

    Food and Dining

    the cafe food is good different meals daily.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are a fun experience to be in the people there are great.

    Academic Rigor

    currently my gpa is an 2.6 by the end of the semester i intend on getting it up to a 3.0 minimum.

    Tips for prospective students

    stay focused on your goal and you will achieve it. nothing is impossible if you put your mind to it. success is gained in hard work and dedication.

    In three sentences

    i currently play football for greensboro college. i would say the staff there are outstanding including all the professors. i have learned a great deal in a short time.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No issues on campus.

    Greek Life

    Small

    Clubs and Activities

    Almost a club or activity for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    All students are welcomed, even Adult students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Painting of the Rock, the history behind the college. It was formed in the 1800's.

    Bang for the buck

    Well worth the tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Close to Downtown Greensboro, NC.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is large and great food.

    Dorm Life

    From what friends have told me the dorms are great.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers make learning at this college excellent. Most are easy going and are not push. They care about what you get from the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour the Greensboro College Campus. Know that 70% plus of the student body are athlets.

    In three sentences

    Greensboro College is a sports oreinted college. They have a great list of majors and minors. Teachers and facalty are always friendly.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security officers that walk around all day and night along with RA's that make rounds at night. The UNCG police also keep in contact with us to let us know of any dangers. You can also sign up to get a text message to let you know if anything is going on.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of athletes that attend our school along with theater and music majors. There are plenty of clubs and activities to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are interested in playing a sport at the next level and never thought you would make it in college, this is the school for you. We are a division three school and it is pretty easy to make a sports team.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a girls and guys night every semester. Girls get there nails done for free at a local nail salon and guys play video games and get free pizza and wings. There are normally events that you can go to on a daily basis, whether it be a themed cafeteria night, a athletic event, or something hosted by a student organization.

    Bang for the buck

    Greensboro College is a private school so it is important that students are given a good amount of financial aid. I do believe that at Greensboro College you can get your bang for your buck!!!

    What to do for fun

    Greensboro College is located close to downtown Greensboro and UNCG so there is always opportunity to have something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at Greensboro College has recently been updated and has improved tremendously. Everyday the grill, pizza, and sandwich line are open along with two other stations that change what is served daily. Usually at these stations there is pasta or fried chicken and other yummy more home cooked things. There is also a salad bar, dessert station, bagels and cereal that are available everyday.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms could be updated but they are very spacious.

    Academic Rigor

    Greensboro College is academically rigorous, however the professors are very accessible and are usually willing to help.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe, but I would not walk around alone at night. Sometimes there is an occasional homeless man that may roam onto the campus. The security guards are usually available to escort students or respond to situations. Your student id is also your way to get in the dorms, so no non-students can get in unless a student lets them in.

    Greek Life

    There is one soroity for girls on campus and they have a lot of activities during the semester.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a sorority for girls, SGA, and various clubs for every academic discipline.

    Great for these types of students

    I think GC is great for any student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A lot of people say that the Main Building on campus is haunted. Since the school�s founding, it has burned down three times and there have been deaths on the premises. This building was once used as a hospital for people with influenza I believe.

    Bang for the buck

    I would only suggest attending GC if you receive a very high scholarship or a very high amount of financial aid. GC is a very expensive college if you do not receive either of these things. Although I like the college, I would definitely not put myself poverty through loans just to attend here. There are many more schools that are better pricewise. However, the tuition for adult students is very reasonable in my opinion. You can go to GC for about $4000 a semester and they usually offer a lot of financial aid. I would recommend GC if you would be applying as an adult student because it is a pretty good deal in terms of the education you are receiving for the price.

    What to do for fun

    Greensboro College tries to keep the campus fun and exciting for the students. They sponsor many different activities like laser battles, free manicures and pedicures once a semester, guy�s night with video games and movies, and lots of free food.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good. The cafeteria was recently renovated with all new equipment and food services. ON a daily basis you can choose from pizza, sandwiches, burgers, pasta, or salads. There are two cooking stations that serve the specials for the day. I only wish that the cafeteria had takeout for those of us who are in a hurry or would rather eat in our rooms.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is okay. Everyone is very friendly and welcoming most of the time. However, the dorms are very old and are in some need of updating in my opinion. The best part about living on campus though is that you can get to just about any class in less than five minutes.

    Academic Rigor

    I have found the academic rigor at GC to be very tedious and frustrating at times. You will have professors who are very difficult, while others may be quite easy. I think there is a good balance or rigorous and easy at GC though. Most professors understand that college is not just about studying; it�s about being social and making life-long friends as well. From my experiences so far, quite a few professors will waive exams or not have an exam at all for students who work hard during the semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are considering Greensboro College as your future college, it is important that you take note of the requirements for the degree you would like to pursue. Since Greensboro College is a private college, its general education requirements differ from that of the public universities in the state. For example, although I completed my associate degree at a nearby community college that meets the general education requirements for the public universities in NC, I had to take an additional religion, kinesiology, and literature course to fulfill Greensboro College�s requirements. It is also important for you to remember that Greensboro College is a very small institution with less than 1250 students. For those who prefer larger schools and student populations, GC may seem a little boring and too familiar.

    In three sentences

    Greensboro College is a private liberal arts college located in Greensboro, North Carolina. It is a very small college with a student population of around 1250. Although the school is Methodist affiliated, the student body comes from a variety of backgrounds, cultures, and religious affiliations.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security are always patrolling the campus throughout the day and are only a phone call or shout away.

    Greek Life

    Not many at all. To be honest...only 1 sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    Average small school activities. Not much to do. They do try to create events and have comedy nights and other little shows on weekends. The theatre department usually puts on a good show.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small classes and just the small school feel. Everyone fits in here, it just comes down to personal preference.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Big football game every August against Guilford in the crosstown rival matchup.

    Bang for the buck

    Private school; bit on the expensive side. Small campus; classrooms are pretty up-to-date with tech and so on. Dorms may not be the best but are not bad at all.

    What to do for fun

    GC is basically downtown Greensboro, NC. Nightlife is pretty good. Not much to do on-campus but there are tons of college students in the Triad area.

    Food and Dining

    They just got their cafeteria redone and changed companies [now with Sodexo]. The food quality is probably better than your typical big campus dining hall food.

    Dorm Life

    3 on-campus and 1 off-campus within walking distance. Not bad at all. Decent sized rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Good variety of classes and majors. Good professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus before you decide on coming here.

    In three sentences

    This is a good school for anyone who likes a small, straight forward school. Professors are not hard to get in touch with and are friendly. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They let the students aware of any updates pertaining to safety. I feel the school staff are making sure we are safe.

    Greek Life

    There are people from different background within the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a soccer player for the school.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking for a small class size college and fewer people to deal with therefore Greensboro is for you. Due to small size ratio classes I feel blessed to have chosen Greensboro College.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are out doors chairs in certain part of the school that students can use when they need some quiet time to relax and to think. Not only just to sit you can rock yourself as well which is very comforting.

    Bang for the buck

    As a soccer player I feel very comfortable with my coach and he cares about his players. I am always looking forward to play. Staff members are always there to provide support when needed. The really make me feel at home and someone that I can go to when needed.

    What to do for fun

    There are various activities within the school buildings enough to keep the students active.

    Food and Dining

    I am comfortable with the food provided also other dining site are available to the students.

    Dorm Life

    I recently changed roommate and the RA was very supportive in making sure my concerns are taken seriously.

    Academic Rigor

    Athletic Trainer

    Tips for prospective students

    Please do visit the school before making a decision to attend. This will give you the opportunity to talk to current students and staff.

    In three sentences

    The people I have met here are very supportive. My soccer coach cares about his players. I am looking forward to earn my degree from Greensboro College.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Helpful but kind of clueless

    Greek Life

    Non existent

    Clubs and Activities

    Athletics are fun but football is horrible and the clubs are lacking

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No one is ever really on campus for fun

    Bang for the buck

    Air conditioning is always broken, food is crap and so is the rest of the school for the money it costs

    What to do for fun

    Go to Syn and Sky Nightclub

    Food and Dining

    Horrible cafeteria food most of the time, the store is never open when it says it should be, and your pride card only works on campus regardless what they say.

    Dorm Life

    Pretty much sucks compared to everywhere else

    Academic Rigor

    It is super easy if you go to class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go there.

    In three sentences

    Greensboro has a lack of school spirit. It tends to be a party school, but is full of drama. There is a lot of bullying.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great place for all types of students.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out on campus in the evening with friends, night life downtown Greensboro is great. In walking distance of the baseball stadium. Small , quaint pubs and eateries nearby campus.

    Food and Dining

    Hot meals breakfast is my favorite prepared meal of the day.

    Dorm Life

    Great rooms on campus. The Inn is especially nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you show yourself friendly and show that you are determined to study and that you are going earn your degree, the college administration will help you.

    In three sentences

    Faith based, fun and a family. The college is small but large enough to have your own space. Greensboro College is a great college.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never had an issue on campus. There is always constant patrol on campus.

    Greek Life

    Many different groups that are accepting all types of students.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different clubs and activites.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for all types of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In front of one resident hall there is a rock that previous classes and clubs paint. Plenty of unique locations, some have haunted stories behind them.

    Bang for the buck

    As an adult transfer student it is well worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of social events help on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Great food and fine dining setting.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are comfortable and have many options.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are well thought out and have fun hands on approaches to the curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the tour of the campus.

    In three sentences

    Great college for business students, athletes, and theater majors. Small class sizes and hands-on approach really give a great college experience. This college is also a well established school with a down to earth setting.

  • 09/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Adult or traditional. Slow or disabled learned. They have the motto right, you (meaning a student willing to learn) belong here.

    Bang for the buck

    I pay $340/credit hour. My professors will tell me upfront if textbooks are necessary and they look to try and help students save money whenever possible. I always pass my classes and I feel that it is largely in part to the clarity of the instruction.

    Food and Dining

    I love the variety of food they offer for each meal. I can feed myself or I can get one of the fancy chefs to make me a hot meal. Either way, I never have to go to class hungry. Also, they have reasonably priced snacks in the convenience store.

    Academic Rigor

    My professors don't hound me, but they make their expectations clear and achievable. They provide you will the instruction you need, but also challenge you to learn on your own.

    Tips for prospective students

    Put some thought into your degree. It sounds like a no brainer, but if you are like me and will end up paying 100k+ for your education, it is worth a the extra research and prospective to earn a degree in an area you are genuinely interested in.

    In three sentences

    I have been to four post secondary institutions and GC has been the best fit for me. The faculty and administration are VERY ACCESSIBLE!!! I also think that class size and the flexibility of the professors are key to why this school is amazing.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe here on campus, you see security everywhere and they are always around asking if they can help.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunatly we only have one sorority on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of things to get involved in at Greensboro College. Village Four-O-One is community serivce, Student Government, Student Activities and all kinds of Sports teams.

    Great for these types of students

    GC is great for students who like the small size, its great for studnts who are athletes, and its great for students who like knowing all your neighbors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We don't have many unusual traditions, its a pretty traditional school.

    Bang for the buck

    GC is definitely very expensive, but if you can afford it, it is totally worth it. GC also offers many scholarships to help students afford the school.

    What to do for fun

    Our sporting events at GC are awesome and so many people come out. Student Activities puts on things to do all the time, like Bingo and Spa days for girls and a day at Celebration Station for guys. Also the club scene is amazing in downtown and the food to eat out is great. Also the Four Seasons mall and the Friendly Center are right down the road, perfect for an afternoon of shopping.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has four lines and a salad bar, there is a wide variety everyday as well as having the staple cheeseburgers and fries for those more picky eaters.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not the greatest dorms ever built but Hill Hall is great with the suite style and only three floors, do not a lot of stairs. It is also great because the cafeteria is connected, you don't even have to walk outside.

    Academic Rigor

    If you want to be challenged, apply for the George Center for Honors Studies. It is a very challenging but extremely rewarding experience and you get to graduate with a minor in Humanities!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do a lot of extracurriculars! That will help getting into any school. Another piece of advice would be to come see the campus. I wasn't sure about Greensboro College but when I was on campus and saw how small and how gorgeous campus is, my mind was made up.

    In three sentences

    Greensboro College is a small campus perfect for students looking for a small school. The class sizes are under thirty in most cases and professors are extremely helpful. The school is perfect for someone wanting one on one attention after high school.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Go out and make friends. There are few people here who do not go out and party, but in order to find them you have to join a club. Make sure you get along with your roommate and if you don't, contact ResLife immediately. always go talk to your professors if you're struggling and take advantage of the free tutoring.

    In three sentences

    Greensboro is a lot like high school, the school is small and everyone knows everything about everyone. The teachers are extremely nice and helpful. Take advantage of the opportunities you're given.

  • 04/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Never be afraid to ask for help if you needed. You will also have full access to tutors when you need them.

    In three sentences

    Greensboro College is nice, quiet campus where you know everybody. It's nice and peaceful and and everybody is friendly. I would definitely recommend this College is you're looking for quiet campus with a small community.

  • 06/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If you want to have fun, you can always participate in the activities the school offers. They are not so bad, and are indeed fun if you are looking for something fun to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not procrastinate because that will definitely come back to haunt you later on. Just do what you have to do (meaning work) and get it out of the way so you will not have to worry about it later.

    In three sentences

    Greensboro College is definitely a good school for students who are definitely interested in sports studies and health. Greensboro College is a tad bit expensive for me, but keeping good grades help you actually maintain the money situation for the school. This school is not bad at all and the professors make you understand the subject they are trying to teach you.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Campus have a lot of things such as movie night laster tag you can go to the club

    Food and Dining

    Great food

    Dorm Life

    Great their are students from all over.

    Academic Rigor

    Great

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in ready to work and be a great student.

    In three sentences

    I love Greensboro college because the atmosphere is great. the teachers are great. the campus itself is greta

  • 11/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    its between a poor and rich area, not much crime is seen around here. they do have couple of security guards that keep watch.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Teams tend to loose a lot but still fun to play for.

    Great for these types of students

    Like to be in a small school with very few people and don't care to party hard.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Always take right side stair case to the Cafe

    Bang for the buck

    Way to expensive compare to huge universities (FSU)

    What to do for fun

    Nothing really besides the clubs and sports team.

    Food and Dining

    Food gets boring, hours suck.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are good size, besides freshman has to share a community bathroom. and you are force to stay on campus until your 21.

    Academic Rigor

    Tends to be pretty easy, but you still got to work for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider other colleges if money is a consideration

    In three sentences

    Very small campus