Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Greenville College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/07/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want their college experience to have meaning, growth, great friendships, amazing professors who want to be there (teaching), and are willing to be stretched both mentally and spiritually.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research! Greenville.edu the college's website will give you a lot of information but take advantage of college tours, student insights (part of the tour is lead by an actual student), and any other information. Look for scholarships! Although there are a lot of aspects to college life, don't forget that you are a student first.

    Bang for the buck

    At GC you pay for atmosphere as well as education. Students who attend Want to be here. It's a Christian college (although you don't have to be a Christian or declared to attend) and religion isn't downplayed at all. You will be spiritually stretched and grow from your experiences. The DC (dining commons) offer a lot of food choices every day and the dorms aren't to shabby. The campus is beautiful and there are many people that work to maintain it.

    Am enjoying being here

    In addition to the academics, GC offers a lot of ways to get involved or opportunities to just hang out with friends. This is important when you live at school. Classes only last so long, and having homework as the only think to look forward to is a sure way to be overwhelmed.

    Am learning a lot

    If you don't know what a Liberal Arts college is, let me give it to you, how it's been shown to me. GC requires you to take a WIDE range of courses and then shows you how they're interconnected. Connections between health, religion, science, art, and languages. This helps you personally and professionally. Employers will like to see that graduates are both specialized in their area of study, as well as versatile and knowledgeable in in other areas.

  • 12/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    * Those who have lived in rural areas before * City students that are looking to get away from it all * Education, Music, Digital Media, and Business majors * Christians and non-Christians * Students looking for a smaller college

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to apply to any college or university - not just Greenville College - look into making contact with someone within the college prior to you applying! It not only shows your initiative, but it can also benefit you during the application process or when you just need a good reference!

    Bang for the buck

    Greenville College is one of the best Christian colleges in the nation! You definitely get the bang for your buck if you are looking for a Christian college that promotes a healthy living and spiritual lifestyle, as well as has one of the best Education, Digital Media, Business, and Contemporary Christian Music majors around!

    Am enjoying being here

    Greenville College in a rural area with cornfields no more than a mile away on either side of it. For a student like me, coming from being in Chicago for high school and then having transferred to Greenville form a larger university in St. Louis, Greenville College feels restrictive. There are all of your basic necessities around you - movie theater, CVS, Dollar General, movie rental places, fast food restaurants, and 24 diners - however, it is the mere size of Greenville that can get to you and feel less than satisfying. So I say for those who are use to the rural setting Greenville College may uphold your expectations. For those coming from a city or a larger university, you may be in shock at first, but I am enjoying myself here anyway, as I am learning to take things at a little bit slower pace.

    Am learning a lot

    Greenville College has provided an environment that promotes learning and conversation. The small class sizes have allowed conversations in the classroom to explore depths that would more difficult to reach in a larger setting. I have been able to actually experience my field of study first hand (elementary education), within my first year of attending Greenville College. Honestly no matter how much you may learn in the classroom, being able to apply and practice what you learn in real life situations is the key. We go through high school feeling as though some of these lessons we go through do not apply, but Greenville College is definitely a Show and Tell college that allows you to take your knowledge and actually use it!

  • 12/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Greenville College is best for students who are very committed to learning. The lifestyle statement may turn some people away, but I like it. There are rules on campus, but not too many! Chapel is also required. GC is a great place to grow and learn with people who share my same values.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're considering Greenville College, I would encourage you to visit. I made my decision after being on campus. The atmosphere is cheerful and community-oriented. I wouldn't want to be anywhere else.

    Bang for the buck

    Greenville College is expensive. I can't lie about that. But it is worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have made many new friends in the four months that I've been at Greenville College. There are also fun activities happening on campus all the time.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes here at GC are great. The professors really care about each student and want to make learning an enjoyable and successful experience. I have learned so much in each class.

  • 03/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -Anyone who's excited to learn, especially in a Christ-centered environment. -Anyone who likes the small-town feel -Anyone looking for a place to be accepted and to be a part of a real community

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for as many scholarships as you can. Go to class; it's worth it. Get to know your professors; they're all pretty amazing.

    Bang for the buck

    It's private, so it's pricey, but worth every penny. The food in the DC is pretty varied and not half bad for cafeteria food. Some of the dorms aren't the best, but you'll love being in them anyway. There are better dorms on campus, though, and once you're an upperclassman, you can live in them.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere is truly amazing. Students and teachers here are very accepting and loving. There are opportunities to learn and grow in every way.

    Am learning a lot

    The profs at GC make you want to learn. They make it interesting and exciting. I've only been here a year and have learned far more than I expected I could in only a year. I've learned about Christ, about relationships and friendships, and I've learned things about myself I don't think I could have learned without the experiences they've given me.

  • 04/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Are you looking to study abroad? If so, GC is an excellent place for you. A cross cultural experience is actually an academic requirement for GC students, and it is highly encouraged that students take a semester to study abroad. If you come to GC, you will work with your adviser in your respective major to plan out your four years, classes you should take, when you should take them, stuff like that (VERY handy!), and they will work with you to include a study abroad semester in your four-year plan. The cool thing is, you can still graduate after four regular years, despite going away from GC for a semester! Also, if you're a music major looking into getting a recording contract, GC has the connects to help you get there. Rod Kim, Class of 2005, just put out his debut album last fall (sold at Best Buy, iTunes, Amazon, etc.) and his song Tomorrow She's Mine is featured on Rock Band 2 (I played it, and it was fantastic :)) and

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be deceived by the Christian label. Although it is an excellent place for Christians and it has a good Christian environment, there are many here who aren't Christians and are still loving the education. You learn a lot about Christianity, but there are also classes that teach history of Christianity and other religions. Except for chapel and COR classes, everything remotely Christian is optional. And whatever there is that is Christian will not shove the Bible down your throat--everything is done in love.

    Bang for the buck

    GC has a lot of things to offer that many colleges don't. For example, I'm a Chemistry major, and I get to use a lot of technology (such as NMR spectroscopy, for anyone interested) that chem majors at other schools won't get the opportunity to use until Grad school--and I'm learning it as a freshman! And, if you're a music major or an audio engineering major, they have specialised recording studios in the basement of Whitlock Music Center, a couple of which are used by Blackroom Records, a recording company that actually uses GC facilities to record their music. The smaller classes and the class options provide for a learning experience unlike any other. GC may seem expensive upfront, but they have a lot of scholarships and aid to offer, even scholarships particular to your major.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere here is excellent. It's a relatively small campus, and the concept of Community is a great emphasis. One of the core beliefs here at GC is that having a unified campus-wide community will help students be more successful in their classes, their spiritual lives, and their careers.

    Am learning a lot

    Small classes=increased learning, and at GC that's exactly what you get! The classes are small and involved, and the profs CARE! about your progress in their class. They challenge you to immerse yourself in the subject and to practice the course rather than just sit in class and do the homework. It's a challenge, but it makes for a well-rounded and enjoyable education overall.

  • 07/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to experience new and interesting things that you wouldn't anywhere else. Always be open to new things and look at things in a positive matter.

    Bang for the buck

    I thought at first that Greenville was expensive but after attending and seeing all I can do i will say it is worth the buck. The classes will leave you wanting to learn more about a different subject, and the school events will have you wanting to do something every single day. I am very comfortable with giving my money to GC and you will be to.

    Am enjoying being here

    Greenville provides students a broad list of activities to do on their spare time. From zombies vs. humans to speed dating Greenville College will keep students entertained.Each event is planned to fit each and every student there. It also gives you the chance to plan events that you think everyone will like. It also provides the best people you will ever meet. I made friends that I know i will keep in contact for a long time. Through meeting new and dear friends and going to a football game I can say i have so far enjoyed my stay.

    Am learning a lot

    Because Greenville is on a smaller campus, it provides students with an opportunity to really get into our school work. There are many areas where we can relax and study. From the library to the beautiful field. Because the classrooms are not full a bunch of students you have the opportunity to locate the teachers and actually sit and talk with them about whats going on in the classroom. If that doesn't work then you can easily find a classmate and work with them. Education is a high priority at GC.

  • 08/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's always some event going on somewhere on campus, and most of the time you'll get some sort of chapel credit or other class credit for attending these school sponsored events. If you're looking for something more free form, there's the gym on campus, the gullies (school owned woodland path in walking distance of the campus), the upper union (Foosball, pool, ping pong, free movie rental w/home theater system, and free board game rentals), and exploring town and the interesting campus buildings such as whitlock music center w/constant access to pianos and snyder hall with a small collection of animals on the top floor.

    Food and Dining

    The Dining Commons on campus are open during advertised breakfast, lunch, and dinner hours. You go in, scan your id, and then you head on up to the buffet for all you can eat. That, or you can get a to go box if you are in a hurry. If you miss a meal, the union on the opposite end of campus open until 12am serves a wide variety of both pre-made food and food you can order in their grill area. As far as quality goes, some of the food is great and some of it just looks great. The buffet makes students creative.

    Dorm Life

    Greenville College offers every type of campus and off-campus living. There are suit style dorms, general floor doors where you have one roommate and a floor bathroom shared by 8-12 students. Freshmen are required to live on campus their first year, but other upper level housing is available such as a pod, off campus apartments, and off-campus houses owned by the school.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a private liberal arts school. So, they want to do things their own way, and they is nothing wrong with that. The curriculum differs with each class. Like any school, some classes can be very challenging and stretch your limits; most classes are very fun and engaging because of the small class size. Academic coaching and tutoring are also available for free to all students during library hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to speak up about anything. Just because it's a small school in a small town does not mean that their system is small. There are many opportunities to get involved, get help, or simply keep yourself busy. Just do a little asking around. I guarantee everyone will greet you and treat you with a genuine smile.

    In three sentences

    Greenville College is a small Christian school doing big things. The teachers, staff, and students all work together to ensure the accomplished graduation and cultivation of each student that steps foot on campus. The campus location could not have been better placed in the small, cozy town of Greenville, Illinois.

  • 10/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I love that you must have your I.D to get food, get in to your building, and your I.D. is set to only open your dorm no one else's. Also there are security guards that walk around at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many ways to get involved, from being an Admissions Ambassador, to being in a sport.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During NSO there is the planting of the ivy ceremony. Then your senior year you get the ivy cut.

    Bang for the buck

    The price of the school is worth it for how amazing the environment is. You definitely get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    When it rains, mud sliding on Scott Field is super fun, as is sitting in huge puddles waiting for cars to splash you while your with your friends!

    Food and Dining

    The food is awesome! Especially at the union where you can order hamburgers to calzone's and even quesadillas!

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is fantastic. I met all my friends from my dorm. Everyone is really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The class options and majors have a wide variety. I love being able to pick my own schedule. The advisors are really nice too!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not worry about the cost of the school, because the financial aid department is fantastic and find you a ton of scholarships and grants.

    In three sentences

    Greenville College has a great community, professors, and great academics. They are welcoming and understanding. I could not have picked a better school.

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I don't have any concerns at the present time.

    Greek Life

    None, except for honorary or academic.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want the freedom to develop their faith, of learning without the stress of having to defend their faith, who want to live and learn in an atmosphere of learning, not partying.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am just learning about these. The Joy Boy* date auction for charity has a lot of potential. (*Joy Boys are the boys that live in Joy hall. No, it's not named after a girl!)

    Bang for the buck

    Although Greenville is a private, Christian liberal arts college, it is actually less expensive than many comparable schools. It has a number of excellent academic programs, including education.

    What to do for fun

    We went to Jo's Java for a coffeehouse with an MTV award winning band. From there we went to a movie at the local theater - free tickets for students. The pizza at Mario's is great, and all of these are walking distance from campus. There is a large fitness center up the road from the main campus, and a smaller one in the gym building. There are over 50 clubs, groups and activities at the college, including a good football team.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the dining commons was pretty good, for cafeteria food. One parent questioned students about serving sizes. They have another child who is an athlete and never gets enough to eat at his college. The students all laughed at the question, and assured everyone that meals are buffet style and you can have seconds.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorms are older, but the students I stayed with on campus, and others I met were fun and welcoming. I think I will really enjoy living there.

    Academic Rigor

    I am expecting to be challenged!

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus. Go on tour days, make appointments with admissions for your own visit, or do both. Get a feel for the place and the people.

    In three sentences

    A welcoming, friendly place. The faculty and staff seem to genuinely care about helping you. The current students are also friendly and quick to lend a hand.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    not a whole lot of violence or crime

    Greek Life

    zero greek life unless its academic

    Clubs and Activities

    not a whole lot going on outside of the faith based organizations

    Great for these types of students

    music, liberal arts

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    nso is new student orientation its a week of just stuff for new students including a service project

    Bang for the buck

    kind of expensive

    What to do for fun

    not much going on here if you dont play a sport and your not in a band, 45 minutes from edwardsville

    Food and Dining

    sodexo does the foot its not so hot

    Dorm Life

    dorms have alot of rules including no opposite gender dorm buildings

    Academic Rigor

    little tough but worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you looking for liberal arts with a small campus and a strong faith and music base come here.

    In three sentences

    mainly atheletes that arent getting scholarships for sports to be here. must attend chapel while attending. the teachers are awesome.

  • 06/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a great variety of activities and organizations.

    What to do for fun

    The town is charming, yet small. there are a few little restaurants and a movie theatre close to the campus.

    Food and Dining

    Typical campus/ doorm food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Greenville are older, but still nice. All the buildings have their own charm. and are great places to build community with fellow students.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are rigorous and challenging. They challenge you to be the best that you can and encourage you to push yourself to the limit.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you visit at different points of the year. Also, make sure that you talk to many different people and ask as many questions as you need to to get a good feel of the school.

    In three sentences

    Greenville has a beautiful campus. Everyone there, both students and faculty, is so pleasant, warm and welcoming. They really care about the individual students and helping them to pursue their dreams and goals.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of places to hang out and social events that the college puts on.

    Dorm Life

    From what I've heard it's a good environment, but they have a lot restrictions.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I've heard it's manageable, but challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research on the school. Apply as far in advance as you can, so you have more time to plan. Visit campus and get a feel for the place. Unless you are a faith driven person you should not go here because it is a school very well set in their Christian roots.

    In three sentences

    The campus is small, but accessible. The environment is positive and supportive. The people are warm and welcoming.

  • 10/21/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    13 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to school events like sports games and other extra curricular events.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors and go to tutoring.

    In three sentences

    Greenville College has a close family atmosphere. The school is small so everyone gets to know everyone.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Bowling Alley Movie Theatre Great Sports/Recreational Facility Game Room Concert Hall (Every Friday)

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared.

    In three sentences

    This is a college where you can explore Christian beliefs. This is a small college that is very community based. I would rate Greenville College a 9/10.

  • 11/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 24

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Greenville is terrific. I love the small town school campus because it forces me to stay on top of my work due to no big attractions. Professors and staff really care about students education.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is one of the pluses of a small town. Also, they tell girls not to go running alone after dark and they make sure that we are completely safe all the time.

    Great for these types of students

    Music and education majors. Also the teachers for ministry are really cool.

    What to do for fun

    It's a small town so fun usually means leaving and going to St. Louis. However, the theatre offers a two free movies every Saturday and thrift stores are always great for trying on crazy clothes and snapping photos. Also, playing in the rain is an awesome activity!

    Food and Dining

    It's cafeteria food so it can never be as good as homemade. Still there are some things, like soup and chicken salad, that are good no matter what.

    Dorm Life

    The girls dorm isn't in the best shape but the friendships that I've formed with the other girls here and my RA makes up for it.

    Academic Rigor

    This semester, I felt like I would have been more challenged at my highschool but I am not in classes for my major. When that happens, I feel like it will be much harder.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just because your parents may be close does not mean you should spend every weekend at home. Get out and make new friends!

    In three sentences

    Greenville is a college that truly teaches its students to be better followers of Christ. I feel like my faith has been strengthened since coming here because of the community. God has taught me so much and truly blessed my time at Greenville College

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is safe. I have never felt unsafe or alarmed while at Greenville. The only thing that bothers me is that on weekends, the campus safety staff does not often answer the phones. That seems a bit odd, because they're supposed to be available at all times, right?

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life. Because of the traditions often associated with the Greek system, Greenville doesn't have one. There's a life style statement that you sign when you enroll, and the happenings within the Greek system would in general, not comply.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students that want a safe, peaceful environment. There is no alcohol or drug use, sex, or partying. All the fun is clean and controlled. If you like that idea, then this is the right place for you. It's nice not to be woken up by a party next door or a roommate bringing in a friend.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the great traditions at Greenville is the all-college hike. We hiked a few miles as a school down to Durley camp and spent the day canoeing, swimming, playing games, eating, and exploring the many clubs and outreaches available. It was a great day and a great way to bond with fellow students.

    What to do for fun

    It's always fun to hang out in the upper union or in the practice rooms at Whitlock Music Center. Jamming with friends is the best! Also, going to the free movies on Saturdays at the Globe Theater or going thrift shopping is great. It may seem like a small, boring town, but there's a lot hidden if you'll only search for it. Not to mention, the greatest fun is usually just hanging out on campus with friends anyway. If that doesn't do it for you, it's a short drive to Edwardsville or St. Louis for a night on the town.

    Food and Dining

    Everyone complains about college food, but the DC food isn't all that bad. There are a lot of choices, and if you make the right ones, you can enjoy your meals and stay healthy. It's all about being aware of what you're eating. I'm very grateful for such great food services and to have meals everyday. It does get monotonous to have the same things everyday, but they try to diversify the meals, so it doesn't get too boring. And if you get sick of the DC or the union food, in town there's McDonalds, Subway, Dairy Queen, Taco Bell, Joe's Pizza and Pasta, etc. My personal favorite is Adam Bros Coffee. They have great coffee and food!

    Dorm Life

    I live in an intermediate dorm, and in general, it's great. I had a pretty crazy roommate, but in a four person room, there has to be one. I enjoy the closeness with my classmates, but also, the seperation from campus. It's nice to be a little further from everything. Overall, the building is great, and the dorm staff is helpful. Everything is very clean, because of the great cleaning staff. Once you find a rhythm for living with other people, it can be a really great experience, particularly at Greenville, because the people are so nice. The floor Bible studies are also a plus. It's wonderful to bond with floormates and get closer to God in the process.

    Academic Rigor

    I've been challenged since I've been at Greenville. They treat you like adults and expect you to work for your degree. I like that, because it's preparation for the real world. Plus, you feel like you really know what you claim to know. There are certainly more difficult colleges, but I think that if you're looking to enjoy your college experience but also, get a really great education, then Greenville is the place to do it. The academic vigor is not so great that is ruins the experience, but its enough that you are very qualified to work in your field after leaving.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to step out of your comfort zones. I think sometimes it's easy to get in a Christian bubble and stay in one clique, but you might be happy with what you find outside of your little world. Also, enjoy your time and friends. College goes quickly. Just don't forsake schoolwork to enjoy it. Time management is everything in college. Have fun and do good work.

    In three sentences

    Greenville College is a Christian college that is very interested in not only the academic but also, the spiritual enrichment of its students. The opportunites for growth are immense, and they do whatever they can to help you succeed. Overall, this college is excellent.

  • 03/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a wispering wall.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, read the Bible, and play games.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your Associate's Degree before transferring.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school to focus on your faith and get a great liberal arts education. The one thing that really separates Greenville College from other schools is the sense of community that we have here. Greenville College is a great school for everybody who wants to get the most out of their college experience.

  • 04/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Greenville College is a very safe campus! Campus security can usually be seen around campus and can be easily contacted.

    Greek Life

    At Greenville College there is no Greek life. There are many other groups and organizations to get involved in but the school does not offer Greek life. However there are different housing opportunities and close knit living situations where one might see it as a Greek life simulated situation.

    Clubs and Activities

    Athletics are very big at Greenville college. There are a wide variety of collegiate sports and intramural sports to choose from. There are also many random activities open to all students that are held in the upper union, Scott field, the local theater, dorm floors, and areas such as these. There are also many opportunities to get involved in the community and other outreach programs around the world. If you like to help other than Greenville would be a great opportunity to get involved in organizations that focus on reaching the needy.

    Great for these types of students

    Greenville college is a great place for students who want to grow in their faith and develop close friendships with others interested in doing the same thing. It is a small school that enables you to get close to many of your fellow students and your teachers.

    Bang for the buck

    At Greenville college, the money you pay for your tuition, room, and board is known to be paid for the experience you receive while attending Greenville. This college is unlike anything that you have experienced in your life. It is well worth the money that you pay for attending.

    What to do for fun

    Since the town is rather small, students who attend Greenville create their own fun. This is what allows the students to become so close to one another. There are also other cities such as St. Louis that one can drive to for fun, but there are also many random campus activities to attend for fun.

    Food and Dining

    There are three places on campus to go for food. The dining commons and the union are both available to eat with bucks from the meal plan and they serve a variety of foods. Joe's Java is also a café/ hang out place that students go to for coffee and snacks throughout the day.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately I do not know much about dorm life because I commute! However, I have many friends who live in the dorms and they love it. You get really close with your floor and get to participate in Bible study and other floor activities.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes that Greenville provides are engaging and they implement values into all topics that they teach. Classes challenge students to develop and grow both academically and spiritually. If you attend class at Greenville, then you are sure to thrive in the classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip that I suggest for students who will be attending Greenville and all other colleges is to attend class! It is almost impossible to pass if you are not going to classes. Another tip I would give is to make friends with your teachers. They are their to help you and they really do care about you at Greenville. The last tip would be to join as many campus activities and groups as you can! College goes fast and you should make the most of it!

    In three sentences

    Greenville College is a unique school that allows you to build strong relationships and grow in all areas of your life. You are challenged and encouraged at Greenville to grow in not only your academic learning, but your spiritual learning as well. It is a beautiful school that gives you an experience unlike any other.

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I had a great experience and got very attached to the school despite the feelings I assumed I would have toward the school. Definitely helped shape me into who I am.

    What to do for fun

    We're only about 40 minutes from St. Louis which has everything a big city has to offer (shopping, zoo, parks, professional sporting events, concerts, etc.) You've got to be resourceful in Greenville itself but there ARE things to do there.

    Food and Dining

    Very typical dinning commons food. It's best to look at it positively rather than complain.

    Dorm Life

    The men have much better dorm situations. The girls have less options and the options they do have are not great (in my opinion). A lot of the students live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The professor's are (for the most part) extremely smart. Their knowledge is very great and if you take the initiative, you can learn a lot from them. I can also see how you could slide by and get C's or D's and just get your degree but the potential to learn is great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply yourself. Make friends as quickly as possible so you don't get stuck being alone because the town is small and friends are what make it enjoyable.

    In three sentences

    Greenville College has the most amazing faculty/staff of any school I've attended/visited. The town is small. If you take initiative, you can have a fantastic experience there.

  • 12/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is okay some people say it awful.

    In three sentences

    Personally I think the environment is not overly suited for international students. So I would not highly encourage international students to apply here. If you want to you can but I would not encourage it.

  • 01/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can longboard, play music, play basketball, go for a walk around town. There is a lot to do on campus, and off.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the union is better than the DC

    Dorm Life

    The dorm is set up like a family community, but you have privacy.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are always worth the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are coming from a southern state, Bring warm clothes, or buy warm clothes. It gets kind of cold.

    In three sentences

    The town is small. The music program is amazing. The people are kind.

  • 01/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Fellowship with others, Homecoming, library, movies, shopping at dollar stores, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent breakfast. Lunch and dinner has a decent selection, although I do not care for the pepperoni pizza they serve that much.

    Dorm Life

    You meet many people on your dorm. If you like single dorm rooms like I do, you definitely want to find one. If you are a sports fan like some of my fellow dorm mates, you may want to watch sports with those who are diehard fans.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are easier than others, but one thing is the same with all faculty and staff: all have high expectations of you, academically and spiritually.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a Christian, you definitely should check Greenville out.

    In three sentences

    Greenville College is a highly regarded Christian institution. The faculty, staff and students work together to nurture students and each other. The president of the college, Dr. Ivan Filby, as a leader, likes to visit, encourage and pray with students as many opportunities as he can get.

  • 03/18/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it is a very small campus with three 911 call stations and with the small campus and that system it felt very safe while i was there.

    Greek Life

    None it is a christen campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    In what i saw there is not a lot of clubs a activities but i was there during winter break so there was also not a lot of students in the campus at the time so i am not sure.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for outgoing and student athletes that love to be encouraged by God.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is a small town so as a football player i loved it because when it is game day it is not just one or two people there there is the whole town and often business close so that the owners can come to the game and watch the game. Greenville loves there football.

    Bang for the buck

    School the is fairly expensive if you are from out of state but if you are in state it is very good value. if you are coming in from out of state to play a sport they are ver accommodating for the student and really help the student with what they need to be successful in the class rooms!

    What to do for fun

    I am a big hunter so I love to go out the the lake and go duck hunting and also fishing!

    Food and Dining

    The food there is awesome and being a football linemen i really enjoy it!

    Dorm Life

    Average dorms nothing to fancy but totally acceptable for 2 people to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    Greenville is no Harvard but is not for the weak minded.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and don't expect it to be easy, nothing good in life comes easy

    In three sentences

    I think that Greenville collage is an excellent place for a person to grow both spiritually and also physically. I am going to be attending Greenville to be able to go and play football in the fall. Greenville is my perfect fit and i am ver much so looking to attend.