Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Greenville Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/11/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    those who want a proper education and the best for a starting college.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need help don't be afraid to talk to your teachers, they will help you in every way.

    Am learning a lot

    This school offers a lot of extra courses that will help in the career you want to go into.

  • 02/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus police have proven successful at preventing a disaster once since i have been at greenville tech when they prevented a disgruntled student from entering a building with a gun. there have been few instances of violence that i am aware of.

    Greek Life

    there is no greek life at greenville tech.

    Clubs and Activities

    the only club that i am a member of is the honor's society phi theta kappa. they have meetings about once a month to discuss current projects that benefit the community.

    Great for these types of students

    this school would be good for students who were not the best in high school but still have dreams of a bachelor's degree. it is a cheap and relatively easy way to get halfway there.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is a shrine in between the nur and health sciences buildings that was built by exchange students from brazil and egypt.

    Bang for the buck

    while i appreciate the education i am getting, i wish that i had been able to go to a school that challenged me more.

    What to do for fun

    there are not really any extracurricular activities at the moment, but there are some in the works, such as intramural sports. there is a shopping mall that is only minutes away on haywood rd. and there are movie theaters and a bowling alley within a mile from campus.

    Food and Dining

    the campus does not have many restaurants right around it, but everything you could ask for is about a 5 minute drive away on woodruff rd.

    Dorm Life

    while i do not live on campus, i have heard many bad things about dorm life from friends who do. they say that there may be as many as 5 roommates in a tiny apartment and that the campus police are obnoxious when it comes to curfews.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are very easy. the most challenging courses i have taken are the biology courses, but even they do not require intense studying. i have been able to obtain a very good gpa without having to study around the clock.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you do research and ask around about the professors you are getting. the teacher can be a difference between a good class experience and an a, and a withdrawal halfway through the semester.

    In three sentences

    this school helps you to get accustomed to college and is very cheap. the college does have some professors who are not very good at what they do and may have been teaching for too long. overall the school is a decent option for those trying to raise their gpa to get into a better school, or for someone who cannot afford to pay the money for a 4 year school all 4 years.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police are available 24hrs.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for open minded and diverse types. Also for those who may have not done so well in high school or anywhere else and are seeking another chance.

    What to do for fun

    Well you can always go around the city of Greenville to look for fun things to do. Other than that all you can do is socialize with some of the other students...

    Food and Dining

    No campus cafeteria! You have to get your own food from somewhere else!

    Dorm Life

    The fees here are ridiculous but the dorms are apartment based and are pretty nice. You get your own room regardless of the floor plan you pick when applying for student housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the work here will be assigned online by the professors. Most of the professors here will try to help you out if you're having problems with certain assignments. There is also free tutoring here for every subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on living on campus, make sure you bring EVERYTHING and be prepared for ridiculous housing fees. Also there is no campus cafeteria so make sure you come looking for a job in Greenville S.C so that you will have money for groceries every once in a while.

    In three sentences

    Just like with any other college, any experience you would have at a college is what you make it to be. As a freshman/resident of Greenville Tech I have to say it's been a pretty good experience so far for me.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    culinary

    Bang for the buck

    Im currently work in the medical field. I love to bake.

    What to do for fun

    Bake

    Food and Dining

    home

    Dorm Life

    I live at home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Watch out for debt!

    In three sentences

    It is a far College so I give it a 7. Being that this school will get you in debt.

  • 01/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Willing to help with anything that may happen, from fixing a flat tire to retrieving locked keys in your car. Extremely pleasing!

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Greenville is just up the road. Not to far of a drive is the Haywood mall and many more shopping centers!

    Food and Dining

    Lunch is catered by a particular resturaunt each school day for low prices. For example, chick fil a is served on Mondays and cost about $5 for a sandwich and a tea.

    Dorm Life

    Nice size dorms; they come with a twin bed, desk and dresser.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are at the level where they do challenge you to use your mind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't allow yourself to slack off, always stay motivated towards your goals!

    In three sentences

    It's extremely hard to rate my school in three sentences, because there are numerous positive things about the School! I would hands down give Greenville tech a 11 out of 10; the teachers are student oriented, they never failed to help when I asked for it. The student life is very diverse, as children from the charter high school behind the school attend also.

  • 03/30/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    for average students

    Tips for prospective students

    this is a great school

    Will enjoy being here

    i think greenville tech will be fun

    Will learn a lot

    you will learn alot here

  • 08/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Greenville Technical College is a great choice for students who are looking for a two-year degree or want to transfer to a four-year college later on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attending a career talk or meeting with future professors may help students make a final decision on whether or not they choose Greenville Technical College. This college focuses on helping people earn a degree and have a career they can be proud of.

    Bang for the buck

    Many of my friends from high school decided to go to large universities and had to spend much more on their tuition than I did here at Greenville Technical College. I believe I am getting an equal education for a price I can easily afford.

    Am enjoying being here

    The professors are polite and make each subject interesting. Each campus is small enough that I do not worry about being late or walking long distances to class.

    Am learning a lot

    The small classes allow for more time with the professors. This gives me a chance to ask questions in and out of the classroom.

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    gives you text alerts to you cell phone and also post things to the schools blackboard, for fast updates.

    Great for these types of students

    the disability department is a good resource for students who have difficulty taking timed test or are easily distracted.

    What to do for fun

    for fun i like to have girl time with my 8 year old daughter where we get our hair and nails done and eat at a nice restaurant.

    Tips for prospective students

    register at least 2 months before school starts. fill out your fasfa as soon as possible. attend any freshman/college skill class even if you have prior credit from another school or attending school before.

    In three sentences

    i think the the enrollment process for greenville tech was a smooth ride. even the orientation was interesting and full of fun facts and information. you can tell that the teachers care about educating you.

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus has its own police department that is regularly patrolled and there are emergency phones strategically placed around the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    all courses are pay-by-the-hour so you only pay for what you take and the courses are very reasonably priced.

    What to do for fun

    the college is located near downtown greenville so there are many recreational opportunities such as going to a show, the movies, or other events.

    Food and Dining

    i don't eat on campus so i can't comment on the food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    i commute from home so i can't comment on the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    the courses are designed to teach you what you need to know so expect some difficult courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    many people think that a four-year degree is the only way to go, but greenville tech gives you the real world experience so don't sell it short.

    In three sentences

    greenville technical college is a great school that is on par with any four year institution. at greenville tech you get a professional degree with real world experience that anyone can take to the job right out of school. greenville tech is perfect for people that have to work and go to school at the same time.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    there is none at the school and only a few restaurants around it.

    Dorm Life

    i dont know anything about the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    some teachers are not very good but there are plenty that are.

    In three sentences

    its a good school to get a start on college. cheap classes are another plus.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    a lot of campus security

    Clubs and Activities

    none that i really know of

    Great for these types of students

    certificate programs

    Bang for the buck

    no not worth your money. by the time you finish if you are doing a degree program you could have payed for a university.

    What to do for fun

    there are a few fun things but not many at all. main things are like clubs and bible groups.

    Food and Dining

    vending machines

    Dorm Life

    i really don;t know because i have never stayed in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    not the greatest.

    Tips for prospective students

    only apply to their certificate programs. these programs have no weighted admissions. the other degree programs have weighted admissions which is based on a point scale.

    In three sentences

    greenville technical college is not a good school for people pursuing degrees. it is a better college for certificates. there are too many students and not enough program space.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Several classes are offered online and a lot of times students will still have access to the online resources for 6 to 12 months after the class has ended.

    Food and Dining

    GTC offers a variety of different vendors at their different locations. You can get Chic-Fil-A or Panera or Papa John's or Subway, to name a few examples.

    Academic Rigor

    For most of the upper lever classes, be prepared to work and study as they are challenging. Fortunately, there is always someone to help; be it the instructors or advisors or student study groups.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know the deadlines, and have all the appropriate paperwork ready.

    In three sentences

    GTC offers a variety of one- and two-years programs that are nationally recognized. The faculty and staff are all helpful and knowlegable. GTC also has several ground campuses or online learning options to help students at any academic stage succeed.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always a good number of security staff members roaming the campus to ensure the students' protection. I have yet to hear of any issues arising at the school.

    Greek Life

    non applicable

    Clubs and Activities

    I have not participated in any of the clubs or activities, but there is an abundance of them, so I'm certain any applicant will find a club or activity they'll enjoy.

    Great for these types of students

    Greenville Tech offers all of the necessary tools for success, but it's up to the student to use it. A dedicated, serious student is best suited for this school. In addition, prospective students who aren't exactly sure what they want to do with their life or career but want to try something will benefit greatly from attending Greenville Tech. This school is also great for those who are financially hurting but still want to acquire a quality high-level education. Lastly, for those seeking to eventually transfer to a 4-year university, Greenville Tech is for you! They have excellent transfer programs, and since Tech is a highly accredited school, credits earned there will transfer to most any 4-year college.

    Bang for the buck

    Greenville Tech is an absolute STEAL as far as affordability goes! Tuition is incredibly low, especially for the level and quality of education you gain!

    Food and Dining

    Non applicable - I commute.

    Dorm Life

    Non applicable - I commute.

    Academic Rigor

    Greenville Tech's course work is no easy A, but you'll definitely benefit from the challenge. In addition, the teachers all expect great work from each student, and are willing to help you do your best work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to speak to some current/previous students of Greenville Tech. They will tell you who the best instructors are for a given course. Also, take full advantage of the guidance counselors! They're PAID to help you, and they'll answer any questions you may have!

    In three sentences

    Greenville Tech offers incredible training for any given Major, and well-prepares students for their future careers. They have phenomenal instructors who truly care for their work and their students, the materials and in-class discussions are is engaging, and the faculty incredibly friendly. To top it off, this incredible experience is INCREDIBLY affordable on almost all budgets! Nothing beats Greenville Tech in price-range, quality of academics, and friendly atmosphere!

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are numerous security guards on campus as well emeergency phones through out the campus in case of an emergency.

    Great for these types of students

    This type of school is great for any type of student because the staff and faculty are willing to work with you in order to fulfill your specific needs.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun, from free movie nights to the different academic clubs you can belong to. There is always something to do on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Greenville Tech is very strict when it comes to maintaining a certain academic level. I think that this is very important because it shows the students that someone really cares.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip that i would give future students of this school would be to begin your process very early because there are a number of thlings that need to be completed before you can begin attending college.

    In three sentences

    Staff and Faculty at Greenville Technical College are friendly and very helpful in many areas of the college process. I have for the majority of my time have recieved useful help from the staff here. I would certainly recommend students to attend this college.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    paint, play and movies.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is a place to prepare your self if you dint graduate recently from high school.lt is a place to get ready to the next level an get in in to a undergraduate program.

    In three sentences

    it is a very organize and reliable institution.My faculty is equipped with great and knowledgeable teachers. This institution provide a core knowledge to get in in to a undergraduate school. Accredited and welcome

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Greenville is loaded with exciting stuff to do from shopping, dining, arcades.

    Food and Dining

    Really Good

    Dorm Life

    Excellent housing for technical students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour the campus.

    In three sentences

    Greenville Tech is a beautiful campus. They have high academic standards. The campus is a very friendly and welcoming place to be.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I mainly attend the Greer campus, and those guys are constantly patrolling. I even feel safe leaving campus at 10 pm after a night class!!

    Clubs and Activities

    Student affairs offers alot of activities. Most are on the main campus, but they are offered

    Bang for the buck

    Greenville Tech is worth what you pay. They have 4 locations and all are very nice and up to date.

    What to do for fun

    I am a mother of 3 boys and my 4th due in 11 weeks, therfore I do not participate in school activies. I hang out at the little league base ball field for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Chick Fil A!! Papa Johns, Subway... Coffee in the mornings with danishes.. NEED I SAY MORE!!!:)

    Dorm Life

    I'll give it five stars, but I don't live on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to study. Some schools let you slide by, but the professors at Greenville Tech expect you to do your part for sure!

    In three sentences

    I have been beyond pleased with Greenville Tech. The staff and all departments are well adjusted and things get handled in a timely manner. I would rate it 5 stars, handsdown!

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are always patrolling, and they are always there to help if your car won't start.

    Bang for the buck

    I transfered to tech from a 4 year university and I have saved so much money! I still pay a lot in books, but still less than I did.

    What to do for fun

    They cater to a variety of activities to those who live on campus or commute, like recreational sports.

    Food and Dining

    They serve chic-fil-a in the student center on mondays and wednesdays!

    Dorm Life

    Don't live in dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to study if you want to succeed. Don't expect to just kick back and pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't yet know waht you want to major in, Greenville Tech is a great place to start. There is no point in spending a bunch of money at a university if you are unsure of your major. Tech will help you get started and help you choose a transfer school if you so choose.

    In three sentences

    Greenville Tech is a great school if you are fresh out of high school and don't know what you want to do with your life yet. The teachers always want to make sure you are doing your best and are doing well in their classes. Tech is also good for those going back to school.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24hr Police Officer on site

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Main St !

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life is exactly what it is DORM LIFE !

    Tips for prospective students

    Read,Learn,Study,Grow and Graduate !

    In three sentences

    This school is cheap and you will get the same education as anyother student at anyother school. Make sure to study and focus. Learn that just because its not exactly a HUGE UNIVERSITY doesnt mean youre any LESS educated than anyother person who are at Clemson or USC.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    The classes are set up very well. The classes are not too long and don't require insane amounts of homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research what you are interested in going to school for and see which location would be the best fit for you to do your schooling at.

    In three sentences

    Greenville Technical College is very student oriented. The teachers are very passionate about their jobs, and are very compassionate towards the students. There are several locations that make it easier for you to attend the classes you need at the times you need.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    21 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    My car battery has died twice while on campus, and they helped me out so I could safely get home. Not a major thing, but I was very appreciative for the help!

    Clubs and Activities

    Nothing really that I know of, after attending for a semester

    Bang for the buck

    No one really likes having to pay for college, and the main reason I went to Greenville Tech is because it's a lot cheaper than going to universities

    Food and Dining

    I've been to the lunch area, and it's hard to catch the cafeteria when they are open. But there are good places to go off campus to eat

    Dorm Life

    I have never been in the dorms, so really no opinion

    Academic Rigor

    I enjoy the classes, it's challenging but there is always a way for the college to help

    In three sentences

    It is a crowded school, sometimes very hard to find a parking spot. It is very diverse, which is fun and new to me. The courses are challenging but not too difficult, and the teachers help you if you are ever struggling in the class.

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Transferring students!

    What to do for fun

    They have events going on at school!

    Food and Dining

    I always ate off campus!

    Dorm Life

    I lived at home but I know the dorms are nice!

    Academic Rigor

    Great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best!

    In three sentences

    It is a very good school. Teachers are amazing!

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety has recently been stepped up a notch or two. I wouldn't worry with the actual police officers spread out through the campus. Yes, I said police not security. There serious here about safety!

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Some.

    Great for these types of students

    Greenville Tech is great if you don't know what you want to do, where you want to go, or what you like. There is a wide variety of subject matter and the price is good for the wishy washy.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The best thing about this college is the four different locations. Surely, anyone in greenville can find a campus which is located in a most convenient location for them.

    Bang for the buck

    Well, there is a reason your at a technical college and it certianly isn't for the high calibur of educational standards, however that said, there area occasionally exceptional teacher that make you love you subject matter.

    What to do for fun

    Anything else. There is swing dancing nearby in downtown Greenville at the Handlebar on Tuesday nights. There area also great events in downtown greenville to attend. Occasionally there is a club or two at the college that might be interesting.

    Food and Dining

    None.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't any

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here can be challenging, boring, or insanity depending on the teacher. There is no way to classify all academics the same since each teacher is different in their approach. And were not talking in their methods of teaching but in their caring about actually helping the student learn something.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you going to nursing school, once you get in the clinical portion of your work don't sit near the back you will be judged by your seating placement. In the clinical portion of your work you will find it critical to show little or no weakness as far as your personal life. Some instructors will assist you, others will hold it against you as being a fatal flaw.

    In three sentences

    There are a sparse few who care about students at this college. I wouldn't recommend going to this college if you were looking for caring. The only reason to go to this school is for cheaper education or getting some classes completed at a cheaper rate before you transfer to another, better college.

  • 08/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Greenville Tech has it's own police department.

    Bang for the buck

    I am saving a lot of money by going to Greenville Tech for my first two years and then transferring to a four year college.

    What to do for fun

    Bowling lane right next to college. Cycle the Swamp Rabbit Trail. Visit the children's museum. Lot's of events downtown.

    Food and Dining

    Greenville has great options for dining.

    Tips for prospective students

    Buddy up with a friend going to college. It helps to have a support system. Don't be afraid to ask your teachers for help, they are their for you.

    In three sentences

    Great option to save money and transfer later. College for real people. Great career options if not transferring out to four year college.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I have attended other colleges and they didn't care how I was doing in the classes. At Greenville Tech, they actually show that they care.

    Food and Dining

    They offer good food when you need it.

    Academic Rigor

    Great education at a great price!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you apply on time!

    In three sentences

    Greenville Tech is one of the best colleges I have been to. The professors actually care about your education and want to make sure that you succeed. I definitely would not want to go to any other college.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They do not have food for the full students that stay on campus. But Monday thru Friday they have lunch for everyone. But if you dont have cash on you, you don't get food. This would be one of the first things i fix i was over the college.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorm life is ok. Their are a lot of people that just hang out and block the stair ways. Which makes it hard for to walk by with out them own and commenting on everything you bring into your dorm. Its a safe place to stay the guards take their job very serious.

    Academic Rigor

    All the teachers are very serious when it comes to there job and your educate. They all want to see you pass but will challenge you to make you better. Some teachers will challenge you more than others but its a good think to set you up for the next level of classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    One productive tip for students is staying organized. Its a full time job and takes discipline to stay organized. Another tip is stay on top of all your classes over everything else.

    In three sentences

    Greenville Tech is a good college to get started on your degree. Many of the students are transfer student or is finishing a couple of classes to get a degree. They have great nurse programs.

  • 09/22/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Greenville tech is an inexpensive school

    In three sentences

    An adverage school easy to get in and cheep costs.

  • 10/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is really great for students who are looking at a technical career, or who want to get their GPA up so they can transfer to a 4 year college.

    What to do for fun

    I am really unaware of much to do at the school. I just go to class come home and go to work. Greenville has many things to do, however. Young people like to go to downtown Greenville a lot.

    Food and Dining

    They do not have much of a dining area. They only have a small coffee shop. The food is okay in there, but I would eat somewhere else personally.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay in the dorm so I am unable to give a informative answer.

    Academic Rigor

    Some instructors are very helpful, others don't want to bother. There are classes that take an unbelievable amount of time, so it can be hard to work very long hours while going. Just depends on your curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have all your financing together before going. You can wait hours, literally, to talk to someone in finance. Also make sure that if you drop classes you get confirmation of the day you did it, or else you could end up being withdrawn 8 days later then owing.

    In three sentences

    Greenville Tech is a good college, if you are looking for a small college. They do offer a variety of careers, from undergraduate to certificates. It is also conveniently located to downtown Greenville.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is safer than my high school ever was! The campus police are always around to make sure that nothing bad is happening. If there is an emergency, there are these polls where you push a button and it alerts the campus police. The campus police are always there for you!

    Great for these types of students

    Greenville Tech is great for the type of students who like small class sizes and challenging work!

    Bang for the buck

    This school is worth the tuition that you have to pay (which isn't that much)! They give you the quality teaching time that you need, and the teachers make sure that you understand the material, so you're not just confused for the whole semester.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of things to do for fun at Greenville Tech! There are many clubs and organizations, and sometimes, the teachers even tell you about some of the things that they're in charge of; and it all actually sounds like fun!

    Food and Dining

    Although I have yet to actually have some of the food at Greenville Tech, I have been in the dining area. It is ALWAYS clean and sanitary!

    Dorm Life

    I currently do not live in a dorm, so I really have no feedback on this aspect of the college-but I heard that it's great!

    Academic Rigor

    The course work is challenging, which is a very good thing! It makes you really think about the material and it makes you feel like you actually learned something.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're thinking about spending a year or two at Greenville Tech, you will not regret it! One thing you have to make sure you do ahead of time is take the placement testing and fill out your FAFSA. Both of those things are essential! Another tip, relax! The first day is always crazy, so you're best to get there a hour before your class so you can find parking and find your class.

    In three sentences

    Greenville Technical College is a wonderful school to attend! The classes are small, so it's really easy to focus on what the teacher is teaching. The teachers will do everything in their power to help you understand the material and pass the test.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Fast-food restaurants are down the street and there is a cafe and several vending machines within the campus.

    Dorm Life

    I take online classes and commute whenever there is a test or a project to be turned in unless there is a class only offered on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Average academic requirements.

    In three sentences

    This college offers lower costs in tuition. The department offices are very slow with processing information. Overall a good school to save money and transfer to a four year college.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are plenty of campus police, safety phones to use, someone to escort you from your cars, and plenty of street lights.

    Clubs and Activities

    plenty, but I work when not in school.

    Great for these types of students

    All kinds!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I started in 2001, a lot of things have changed for the better. Campus has been expanded.

    What to do for fun

    There are always postings for activities on campus website and all bulletin boards in the halls.

    Food and Dining

    I love!

    Dorm Life

    Live on my own.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be responsible for your own knowledge. Always ask plenty of questions. Enjoy yourself meeting new people and learning new things.

    In three sentences

    I have really enjoyed attending this school. When I need help with anything there is a place on campus to help. This is a very outstanding school.

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    study hard

    In three sentences

    good school but long wait list to get into programs

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is difficult to drive anywhere on the GTC campus without seeing a security guard. There have never been any incidents on campus that I am aware of. There is also a system which sends urgent messages to students' mobile phones to inform of security events.

    Greek Life

    There are not any fraternities or sororities at Greenville Tech. that I am aware of.

    Clubs and Activities

    Greenville Tech. has many organizations. I have personally been involved in Phi Theta Kappa, the GTC Honors Program, Student Nurses Association, and the Recycling and Sustainability Coalition. Being involved in these organizations has been very rewarding and has truly helped to broaden my interests and abilities as a person.

    Great for these types of students

    GTC is great for non-traditional students e.g. returning and evening students. It is also great for people who want a quality education without going directly to a four year institution.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a lack of quirky traditions at Greenville Tech. As a mostly commuter campus, there is a disconnect between students and campus traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    Greenville Tech. has offered a quality education at a reasonable price. Financial aid has also been generous, but hard to navigate at times.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of clubs and organizations that are involved in the community. There are also many great restaurants in the area.

    Food and Dining

    Greenville Tech. does not have a cafeteria, however Chic-fil-a is catered in the student center which is more than I could ask for.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter student, so I do not know what the dorms at GTC are like. I have not heard anyone complain about them though.

    Academic Rigor

    The general education classes are engaging but not too difficult. Classes in the nursing program are much more challenging than even the physical and biological science classes in my experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in extracurricular activities early in your program. Students will get a lot more out of their experience at GTC if they become involved.

    In three sentences

    My experience at Greenville Tech. has been phenomenal! The instructors are very caring and knowledgable. The campus is attractive and cozy, except for the sprawling parking lots.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have campus police 24/7 with real greenville policemen

    Great for these types of students

    Any type in my perspective

    What to do for fun

    I go play basketball,give back to the community or just hang out with friends

    Food and Dining

    Well we have our own stove in our room to share. But we also have vendors to come on certain days

    Tips for prospective students

    Classes are smaller all you have to do is pay attention do homework and make sure you turn your assignments in on time

    In three sentences

    Greenville Tech is a great college overall especially for a technical school. We have many opportunities to give back to the community.Also the teachers are friendly

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    35 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can always go bowling with your buddies, which is right around the corner.

    Food and Dining

    They offers different food each week.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    They have many places where you can get help, just make sure to ask for those places.

    In three sentences

    Greenville Technic College is a great place to start your education. The teachers are great, the atmosphere is very peaceful and they have a variety of different professions for your to chose from. It also has a beautiful campus with the most beautiful trees and bridges.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Is very good, they are always on top of things.

    Greek Life

    It's in the making to grow into something.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a few clubs and activities, but they aren't very known or talked about

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for people with people who have a lot of other needs in their life, that can't solely focus on school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Monday through thursday in the student center a different lunch is served.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is very bland, there's classes but never anything more. The school is kept well though.

    What to do for fun

    There's not much entertainment, or fun things ever available at the school, so there's not much interaction with other students either.

    Food and Dining

    There is some food and dining for lunch everyday.

    Dorm Life

    There's not much of any dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Is very difficult, hardest i have seen compared to universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask for extra time with the professors, they are very willing to help.

    In three sentences

    Greenville tech has a great variety in class schedules, diversity in the classrooms, and with professors. The school has availability for tutoring services. The school is much harder than any other school though.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Not a lot of choice here, and usually the clubs are very generalized.

    Great for these types of students

    I see lots of older people returning to get a degree or two under their belt.

    Bang for the buck

    Not expensive at all for a college, and fairly well-respected.

    Food and Dining

    Again, I wouldn't know this since I lived at home and went to classes.

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't know! I stayed at home while attending this college.

    Academic Rigor

    Slack off in these classes and you'll be flailing, but they don't take a whole lot of work to get at least a decent grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have all your financial and contact information sorted out. The administration and organization is very sloppy and you'll get lots of headaches trying to set up a meeting with a financial aid counselor, for example.

    In three sentences

    Nice atmosphere with a great campus. Trying to contact or deal with the administration will put you through the wringer, very frustrating. But the teachers are very helpful and the classes are great.

  • 05/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Perfect choice for those who have to work and attend college.

    Bang for the buck

    Absolutely a wonderful education for the money....those in the medical fields welcome Greenville Tech students as they are very well prepared.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Greenville is outstanding as is downtown Greer!

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are extremely challenging and defiantly enrich your mind. You will not be able to skate through.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make time to attend the admissions and financial aid departments to have your ducks in a row before you begin. Go to www.ratemyprofessors.com to find out if your potential professor is a good fit for your type of learning style. Take one week of school at a time to avoid being overwhelmed and enjoy the ride!

    In three sentences

    Greenville Technical College has been an outstanding experience for me! The professors are attentive and thorough, helping you acheive your goals. I highly recommend attending this wonderful community college.

  • 08/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As a student housing resident I can admit that for the most part I always feel safe. There is an emergency calling post close to campus and dark corners stay well lit. I believe security does a great job at staying alert and the resident assistants stay involved and prepared in coming to student's aid.

    Greek Life

    There is currently no greek life at Greenville Tech but still plenty of school spirit.

    Clubs and Activities

    Greenville Tech has a wide ranges of clubs and organizations for students to choose for depending on their interest and or career goals. Greenville Tech has a great honors program for academically driven students. There are creative writing clubs, Christian oriented clubs, Theatre organizations, LAMBDA Gay-Straight Alliance, Human Services groups and so many more. These clubs are great about helping students get involved in the community and some even offer hands on experience to help build professional skill-sets that look great on resumes.

    Great for these types of students

    Greenville Tech is great foundation for many students interested in raising their GPA's for a prospective university or simply to get better acclimated to the demands of college life. In addition technical school is great option for career minded students who aren't interested in investing more than 2 years into a degree. For these students there are many associate degree programs to choose for that have a high projected job security.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I wouldn't know but I am certainly curious now that you mention it.

    Bang for the buck

    I would certainly say that over all Greenville Tech gives students a great bang for their buck. There's a course for every passion and interests so choosing a major is a lot easier. There are even foundational scholarships that every student can apply for each year to help pay for college and most student qualify for a least a few. The staff is prompt in corresponding, the people are very helpful, and for the most part the student body is very supportive of each other's academic goals. I'm very happy I chose this school.

    What to do for fun

    Although there are currently no activities for entertainment there are certainly some in development. The Greenville Tech staff and housing staff along with resident assistants are working hard in forming more athletic teams to join, more social games to participate in on the weekends, and even little carnivals and get togethers on campus to lighten the atmosphere. It is something I actually look forward to!

    Dorm Life

    Not ideal for any student who is sensitive to noise. Students can be extremely loud and immature. There was also a problem with student consistently pulling the fire alarms in the middle of the night...almost EVERY night. Of course in doing so we all had to evacuate our cozy beds and stand outside for an hour until the fire department cleared the scene of any danger. However maintenance and staff are very helpful and friendly and for the most part the dorms or clean and appealing.

    Academic Rigor

    So far every professor that I've had has possessed a genuine desire to help each student to succeed. Although no one will make the course material easier for you they will certainly invest their planning period into helping you understand better and giving you study tips that will make absorbing the material a bit easier. Ratemyprofessor.com is also a great tool to use for choose your courses and has been extremely accurate thus far.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't assume that just because the college is a technical school that it will fail to challenge you. The difficulty of the material will depend strictly on what each individual professor feels its important for you to know during the course. Utilize the tutors, library, and other resources that are in place to help you do your best. Keep a positive attitude, stay prepared, don't lose focus on your goals and enjoy your time there. There are tons of activities and interest groups that you can join that will not only add to your pleasant experience but will also look great on your resume or transcript if you're planning to transfer to a four year college. Good Luck!

    In three sentences

    Great positive environment of students of all ages. Great plethora of majors and courses to choose from with a very helpful teaching staff that makes the material not only interesting but comprehendible.

  • 08/22/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    40 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Ummm.... I'm a athlete so for fun i'd go workout or play football with some friends or any other active sports that require movement and intensity.

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafe, but it costs its not like free food you would get in high school like when you have free reduced lunch its more of a you pay for it and if you don't you starve haha.

    Dorm Life

    from some of the students i've spoke with on Facebook. Most of their comments on the dorms are very nice. I hear that they are very clean and fancy. I'm really looking forward to seeing what it's like. Also, you're able to cook your own food and have your on private dorm room.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a Physical Therapy Assistant major and from what my pt adviser tells me is that my course is extremely difficult which means it's going to challenge me and teach me things that i haven't learned before. The program takes two years to complete and has to phases, phase I and phase II. you have to pass phase I to be accepted into the phase II program. It's going to take up a lot of your personal time and a lot of study but through hard work and focus anyone who puts there mind to it can succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend you go here if you didn't have a high enough GPA to go to a 4-year college that's apart of the reason why i am going here because my GPA wasn't high enough to get accepted into the college of my dreams. Florida State of course ! However, I think anyone can go to Greenville technical college and like it

    In three sentences

    A beautiful peaceful campus with lots of helping professors and other helping faculty staff and a wonderful place to get your certificate in whatever major you would like to pursue

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not very secured. Cops are rarely in parking lot, all doors are always unlocked for anyone to freely walk into the school.

    Greek Life

    Unknown.

    Clubs and Activities

    Video gaming, computers, halloween fun, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Art students (greer campus) Students wanting to be in the radiology program, physical therapy, dental hygiene, massage therapy, ultrasound, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Beautiful and clean environment. Nice, polite people. Great teachers.

    What to do for fun

    After school activities, festivals, group activities

    Food and Dining

    Needs more food choices.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live in a dorm. I drove to school and back home every day.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself, work hard and you'll achieve anything.

    In three sentences

    Teachers and administrators are very sweet and hard working. Clean, peaceful environment. You can always go to any teacher or administrator for advise.

  • 02/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    MANY ACTIVITIES LIKE IMMEGRANT PARTY FOOD BANK

    Tips for prospective students

    STUDENT HAS EVERYTHING TO BE SUCCED

    In three sentences

    GOOD COLLEGE IT HAS A PROFESSIONAL TEACHER ' .I M SO HAPPY TO BE A STUDENT THERE . IT ASSIST STUDENT WITH EVERYTHING .