Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Guilford College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    if you're planning to come to guilford be prepared to work harder than you ever have before. because you'll not only be doing lots of schoolwork, extracurriculars and trying to be social it's going to require learning good time management skills. remember that everyone at guilford is on your side and wants you to succeed. ask for help when you need it, at guilford everyone uses the tutors at the learning commons and they've actually made me more open about my own learning disability.

    Bang for the buck

    ...long story short, great opportunities, hefty price tag. i'm currently struggling to pay my remaining first year tutition, but if you get lucky like me and you recieve a really generous financial aid package (the majority of my first year's tuition is paid) you'll only have to pay a little bit. there's tons of merit based aid and really good scholarships at guilford.

    Will enjoy being here

    It's a really small campus and I really liked the fact that even though it was smack dab in the middle of a big place like Greensboro, it feels like it is its own little island. The campus is gorgeous and there are lots of environmentally friendly buildings. There's lots of clubs to get involved in, everything from the Pagan Mysticism Club to Biohazard Ultimate Frisbee. Greensboro is also a really cool city and there's always something to do, if not in Greensboro, a little ways away in Winston-Salem, Durham, Asheville, Raleigh and Chapel Hill.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are really small and all of the teachers are very caring. they really get involved in your education and are always available to help you when you need it. everyone seems so passionate about what they're doing and the facilities are amazing.

  • 04/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Guilford is great for everyone and anyone unless you don't like small schools! Just come out and visit you can tell from there if its the place for you or not!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open, don't stay in your dorms, go out meet people, join clubs and make friends, by doing this it will be much easier and much more fun your experience at Guilford all you have to do is just be involved!

    Bang for the buck

    Guilford College do lots of activities for the campus community where everyone's activity budget go towards every year. Guilford will always try to find help if there is any financial problems and they won't do anything the student body wouldn't want them to do. It's the voice of the students at Guilford that say it all!

    Am enjoying being here

    At Guilford College because of the friendly people, the clubs and sites where you can go to for volunteer work. You will meet so many friendly people here that you will get so comfortable and might even call Guilford your second home, I do. It's so many nice and calm places at Guilford where you can go and relax hangout and have fun in of out of buildings.

    Am learning a lot

    Here at Guilford College you will learn in and outside the classrooms. I know by experience I'm always in and out of classes with peers, teachers, and advisers and since my first day of coming here to Guilford I have yet to stop learning. I learn some thing new everyday and when I least expected. the teachers I've had so far are every nice and they are so into their subjects that you will get a lot out of the subject you are learning. Here at Guilford College students are like teachers too, they help you outside of your class when you need help find a buddy and ask questions trust you will get an answer. Like I said before you will never stop learning coming here to Guilford College!

  • 06/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like small classes and lively discussiosn, Guilford is the ideal fit. I find it easy to balance work and play. There are a lot of academic programs designed to support and cater to individual student needs. Along with the academic programs there is literally always a event happening on campus and they are always ran by students. The values of Quakerism are reflected in our small class sizes and community involvement many students take part in. You do not have to be Quaker to attend Guilford; there are 13 other religious organizations supported on campus as well as the creation of many more as time passes and our community expands.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend visiting he campus. It is beautiful and the tour guides are also amazing [I happen to be one of them]. In the fall and spring you get to see how full of energy the campus is and how supportive the Guilford community is.

    Bang for the buck

    College is an investment, if you really want to invest in your education and future Guilford is definitely worth your buck.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety is oftentimes overbearing but if you are friendly to them they will oftentimes let you go if they catch you.

    Greek Life

    It is not there. We have theme houses instead of greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities all the time open to all students for free.

    Great for these types of students

    Open-minded students willing to learn and be challenged.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you fall asleep on the wooden bench before an exam you will get an A on it.

    Bang for the buck

    Guilford is expensive but if you love the school it is well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    I play on the tennis team and the rugby team and I am an Orientation Leader and Peer Educator.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a wide arrange of food but unfortunately is either spot on or terrible. the Quakeria and Grill always have the same food but good.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman rooms are small but it gets better as you move up.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but well worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Guilford's community is like no other and can not be beat. The academics are awesome and are rigorous but well worth the challenge.

    In three sentences

    Guilford offers a great community full of awesome and diverse people. Do not come here expecting not to be challenged intellectually as well as on your comfort level.

  • 03/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for any kinds of students. Especially for those who wish to attend a small school in a big city like Greensboro, NC!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to be in a small and want to meet with your teachers often then this is the school for you!

    Am enjoying being here

    I am enjoying being at Guilford College because it is small. I can find help whenever I need it. There is also a lot of activities going on on campus so you will never be bored.

    Am learning a lot

    I am definitely learning a lot at this college. The teachers that I have had so far are awesome! If you get stuck with something they are always available to help. That is what is great about going to a small college.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they have well lit parking lots with call for help stations and the campus police are visible.

    Clubs and Activities

    i haven't yet attended any club meetings, but there are a lot of clubs and activities offered.

    Great for these types of students

    guilford college offers the college experience for young and old students. you can easily feel at home on their beautiful campus.

    Bang for the buck

    guilford college offers its' students a wide range of degrees, cultural life,activities and a big campus feel on a smaller,more inviting scale compared to larger universities. the staff and faculty treat you as if you matter and are someone important.

    What to do for fun

    there are endless opportunities! you just have to check your email for daily happenings,such as sports events,potluck dinners and music events.

    Food and Dining

    there are several options for meals on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    i would rate this as a 4 because this is a four year university with many papers to write, your mind is challenged in class discussions and it is a research oriented school.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't hesitate to ask for help when you need it and seek out the resources and support that you need. you will find it when you look for it(just look in your gps manual that is given to you).

    In three sentences

    they offer outstanding adult degree programs. they are phenomenal at giving adult students the resources and support needed to succeed. the instructors really care about your success!

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety is on-call 24 hours and will escort you if you feel you need it.

    Greek Life

    None. Greek life goes against Quaker values, so there isn't any.

    Clubs and Activities

    A few off the top of my head: Campus Activities Board, Pride Club, TriBeta Biology Club, Office of Student Leadership and Engagement, Yachting Club (the club for the geeky stuff), Expressions in Dance, and so on.

    Great for these types of students

    It's a liberal arts college, so anyone fitting that label would fit right in here. The science department is very rigorous, and there are a few clubs dedicated to the sciences.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Community time: On Wednesdays, from 1:00-2:30, there's community time. There aren't any classes during this period, so many events are held during this time. Quaker-style meetings: Some gatherings choose to use the Quaker method of meetings which includes a moment of silence to begin and end the meeting.

    Bang for the buck

    I think Guilford is really worth the cost. I find already that I gain a lot from the close relationships I have with my professors and my advisor. Not to mention the academic rigor.

    What to do for fun

    There's always some kind of event happening on campus. An email goes out every day advertising various events. Off-campus, there's a shopping center across the street with dining options. There are a few clubs close to campus, one even in walking distance.

    Food and Dining

    I think it's decent, but I know a lot of students aren't impressed. It's not gourmet, but you're not going to be struggling to find something you want to eat, either.

    Dorm Life

    I only just finished my freshman year, so I can only talk about that dorm. There was usually always something going on in one of the halls.

    Academic Rigor

    Guilford is a writing-intensive school, and they mean that. Many classes have weekly written assignments and lengthy research papers. This includes science-based classes and even some art classes. If you're wanting to just skim by classes with minimal effort, this is not the college for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    The cost can make you balk a bit at first. Tuition is about average for a private college, but seems much higher in comparison to public colleges. However, Guilford has great tuition packages, and the actual cost ends up being much smaller.

    In three sentences

    Guilford is a small, private college that prides itself on its involvement with the student community. Small class sizes mean professors can be personally invested in student learning, and they are. There are resources on campus intended to help students learn about themselves and get help when they need it.

  • 07/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like friendly people, a small school atmosphere, social justice, and the arts this is a great school for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you visit talk to a bunch of people there to get the real perspective of the students rather than what admissions tells you.

    Bang for the buck

    Guilford College doesn't have a well known reputation but it does supply its students with a good education.

    Am learning a lot

    Small scale classes allow for more in depth discussions and friendly arguments. Classes will sometimes get off topic to talk to more important issues that face society in the now.

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    guilford is a quaker college.

    What to do for fun

    campus activities, plays, and sports of all kind.

    Food and Dining

    great dining area, and healthy meals that satisfy hunger.

    Dorm Life

    family oriented

    Academic Rigor

    integrity, honesty, striving for excellence and leadership.

    Tips for prospective students

    -stay focused -become active in school activities-- -engage with classmates,teachers, and advisers

    In three sentences

    my experience at guilford college has been wonderful. the staff and faculty encourage students to stay on task and plan for a bright future. on a scale of 1 to 10, they get a strong 10 for excellence!

  • 05/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety is dedicated to protecting the school as well as being they best they can be...but improvements could be made.

    Greek Life

    NO GREEK LIFE.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities to choose from, but if a student wants to add more they can.

    Bang for the buck

    It seems that tuition is always rising and the money could be put into better areas than athletics.

    What to do for fun

    Meet as many people as you can, do as many things as you can.

    Food and Dining

    Could be better, could be worse.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life introduces you to the best and worst people you'll ever meet.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers take their subjects quite seriously, while others, not so much.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit and fall in love with the school.

    In three sentences

    Guilford College is a small but great school, offering a strong liberal arts alternative to the typical faceless university experience.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everyone knows everyone, and everything is VERY peaceful at Guilford.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life because as being a Quaker school, it is about Equality.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During the month of April, there is something called Serendipity. What this is, is bands come and play concerts all over the campus. Food, drinks, games and parties are involved.

    Bang for the buck

    This school provide long relationships to alumnis with aide and support. Teachers will take time out of there day just to make sure a student understands a subject.

    What to do for fun

    So many clubs and sports to join. If you have an idea for a club, gather enough people and you got yourself a club.

    Food and Dining

    Unlike other schools, Guilford's dining is great!!! There are different food everyday. Great variety and even a Vegan Bar.

    Dorm Life

    People in your dorm are like your family, the school is small so by the end of junior year, everyone knows everyone.

    Academic Rigor

    Its a writing intensive school, so that means most of the classes will require written papers. But if you need help, the Learning Commons are great aids that can assist anyone in any subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you would like to experience a new and different type of college, then Guilford's for you.

    In three sentences

    This school is great for students who want to be in a free-minded enviroment. The class sizes are small so that every student may interact with his or her professor. The staff are willing to help each and every student succeed in both academically and socially.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very much safe. Campus Public safety are active 24x7

    Clubs and Activities

    Various clubs that one could be part of. Includes camping, exploring, community service and farming. Different groups for college activities that holds a lot of programs and fun events

    Great for these types of students

    Open minded, critical thinkers, willing to accept risks and interested in community service

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Guilford's a quaker school, and since it encourages diversity, we have international days where we get to see a lot of different cultures and food. It's pretty interesting.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, go for a movie. Rarely go clubbing(only when the time is right)

    Food and Dining

    Decent cafeteria with vegan and vegetarian options. Guilford has its own farm from where almost all the food for the caf comes. It's organic and pretty healthy

    Dorm Life

    Depends on what you choose. Two Freshmen dorms, one peaceful and decent, the other is loud and wild. Life's good when you choose the correct one for yourself.

    Academic Rigor

    Critical thinking is encouraged so the education is better and more useful in life for future purposes. Rote memorization is not required for most of the classes. Understanding the context helps a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't get overwhelmed, stay focused on your goal and help will surely come through. Prepare to experience some community service adventures if you've never had one

    In three sentences

    Small, friendly and great learning environment. Good enough education for a Liberal arts school.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    PSafe, our campus public safety, are always visible, riding burgundy golf carts. It is a very safe campus, although the walk across the street to the Tavern, Starbucks, and Harris Teeter get a little creepy after dark.

    Greek Life

    None. It doesn't fit with out core values or our strong Quaker heritage (you don't have to be religious at all to enjoy Guilford, even though Quaker values help our college stand out.)

    Clubs and Activities

    Something for EVERYONE!

    Great for these types of students

    Hipsters, stand-outs, artsy, creative, jocks, nerds...we have it all!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Spring - Serendipity music festival. You must go to this! Call the teachers by their first names, because equality is arguably the most important of our core values. The Greenleaf! The lake!

    Bang for the buck

    You pay a lot but it's definitely worth it. Financial aid is readily available if you need it.

    What to do for fun

    Hang by the lake! We have a lake on campus! Lots of neat festivals to attend - Serendipity music festival! Clubs, parties, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Quakeria and Grill are excellent, but cafeteria is so-so. It's hit or miss.

    Dorm Life

    Typical dorm life. There is suite-style, co-ed, girls and boys only, and apartments. Freshman dorms are very loud and can be messier.

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging and intellectually stimulating environment. Caring teachers and staff.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get out of your dorm room and do stuff, or you'll feel like you don't fit in. Don't be a hermit! Be safe in whatever you do. Make friends with your dorm mates. Visit the rest of the places on campus you don't normally go to (dorm rooms you don't live in, buildings you don't have classes in, etc.) Try the coffee at the Greenleaf and try to pizza at the Quakeria. LEAVE YOUR DOOR OPEN WHEN YOU AREN'T STUDYING! No better way to make new friends that random chats on your hall.

    In three sentences

    Guilford College is home to very accepting and diverse students - we're very friendly! It's is a small place, everything is close together - affectionately called the Guilford Bubble - and everyone is close; you'll connect with people your first day. The campus is absolutely gorgeous all year round, and is central to a ton of great hangouts for college kids - we even have our own coffee shop called The Greenleaf, which has the best coffee in Greensboro!

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is extremely safe. Nothing has happened while I have been there and we have public safety officers constantly riding around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for anything you can possibly think of. I am in crafternoon, cooking, photography, and others.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who enjoy a family atmosphere and a small campus with tons of nice and friendly people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Serendipity!!! An all weekend event with food, music, games, tye-dye, face painting, and anything else you can think of.

    Bang for the buck

    Guilford is a little pricey but the financial aid counselors are there to help you and it is worth the cost.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lake and woods on the campus that are always fun to explore. Also every year Guilford has a celebration called Serendipity that is always tons of fun.

    Food and Dining

    There is a variety of food including the dining hall, the grill, and the quakeria. The food is good sometimes but if you get bored with it there are tons of places to eat near the campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice. The RA's are very friendly and are always available if you need them. Met some of my best friends in my dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are tough but you learn what you need to. Be prepared to write, Guilford and essays are two peas in a pod.

    Tips for prospective students

    Give it a try and remember to have fun. Once you get started you will love Guilford.

    In three sentences

    Guilford is a small school with a friendly atmosphere. The class sizes are small which allow a personal learning environment. You never walk somewhere without seeing someone you know.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I would say all of the people here are honest and respectable people. To give an example I have no problem with leaving my car unlocked when I know I will be away from it for a long period of time.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life at Guilford College because it is a school affiliated with the Quackers.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for any student who is accepting of any kind of person. The people here are from all wakes of life and a new student can always find a group, or more, to become great friends with.

    Bang for the buck

    With all of the resources that Guilford offers this school is worth paying the high tuition rate.

    What to do for fun

    At Guilford College there is a forest reserve on campus that is dedicated to nature and the environment. It is a great place to go explore after a long day of class. Also if that isn't your cup of tea the city is only a few minutes away with many different things to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Any student who comes to Guilford should be ready to put forth the best effort they can give. They should know that this is a school that will help in any way possible, but the student has to show they want it. Prospective students should also keep in mind that this is a small school and with that they should understand that there are not many classes offered. I would recommend that before coming to Guilford that they know what they would like to major in. If they don't it can be troublesome to figure out a major that works for them.

    In three sentences

    Guilford College is a school that allows a student to take full advantage of their situation. They want there students to have the best education possible. They even help students after they graduate Guilford by helping them find a job or getting into graduate school.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of things to do near campus. There are comedy clubs, sporting events, parks, etc.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria and a grill on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I am an adult student and have not stayed in the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Guilford College is a writing intensive school, so make sure you love writing. I went to a community college prior to attending Guilford, and it is so much more intense and learning based than a community college is. Be prepared to work and study hard for your grade!

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips that I wish I would have received are: Make sure that you enjoy writing, as this is a writing intensive school. Also, if you are not comfortable in front of groups of people, learn to be. There are presentations in every class I have completed thus far.

    In three sentences

    Guilford College has become a second home to me. After transferring from a school I was not happy at, I have found my place! They are wonderful and extremely helpful anytime I contact them about an issue or with a question.

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are a few places to eat on campus as well as several places directly across the road off campus. I haven't eaten at any of the places on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know about this part-I am an adult student!

    Academic Rigor

    Guilford College is a challenging school and expects excellence from their students-there are no free passes here!

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a writing intensive school-so brush up on your skills!

    In three sentences

    Guilford College has changed my life! It is a small private university that has an unique learning environment with small classes where both students and teachers learn from each other. I have grown immensely as a student and encourage others looking to expand their knowledge base to give Guilford a chance.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Since I moved to Greensboro, I have been involved with the Special Olympics. Currently, I coach both soccer in the Fall as well as Track and Field in the Spring. Special Olympics has been a huge part of my life. Along with coaching, I work two jobs while going to school full time.

    What to do for fun

    Greensboro is filled with a little for everyone. There is a good night life, plenty of outdoor activities and other colleges in the area.

    Food and Dining

    Standard college food.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in the dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Guilford with the expectations of having to write a great number of papers. Along with writing these papers, you will become a much better writer and understand the business world better.

    In three sentences

    Guilford is a very friendly, writing intensive college, which keeps me very busy. I give Guilford College a 9 out of 10 and would definitely recommend this school to prospective students.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I felt very safe on the campus. I never felt that I would be attacked or harmed at all.

    Greek Life

    Did not get involve due to work.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a lot, but due to my work schedule. I hate that I never got the opertunity to join any.

    Great for these types of students

    All type regardless of you age, gender, or race. I personally think if you are looking for a school to attend and want to feel welcome Guilford is the school for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It was good for me. I lived very close to campus.

    Bang for the buck

    I have to say I did get what I paid for a full education. I love the school the people and I feel like it is worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    I workout, attend plays, church

    Food and Dining

    I never ate there. I attend night classes, so most of the dinning halls were close when I attend campus

    Dorm Life

    I did not live on campus, but from what I know it seems nice. I can't really say anything abut it.

    Academic Rigor

    Did not use any thing. I really don't have anything to say about.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school is hard, but you will learn a lot that you will be able to take with you into to the real world.

    In three sentences

    I love the school. The CCE department goes out of their way to assure that student are doing well.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Public Safety officers are very important to Guilford safety. They're really cool, when you get to know them. If you respect them and acknowledge the fact that they're just doing their job, you'll find that you won't have any problems with them. However, us students must hold ourselves accountable and be aware, in order to help P Safe and to keep our community a safe one.

    Greek Life

    I wish Guilford has Greek Life, however, because they are founded on Quaker values, I can understand why they don't have it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and so much to do at Guilford College, I couldn't cover some of what we have to offer there without leaving something out.

    Great for these types of students

    I think Guilford College is great for anyone with an open mind who is interested in a challenge when it comes to their education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Serendipity isn't that unusual, to me, but it is one of our yearly traditions. There's glitter, music, activities, food, and fun.

    Bang for the buck

    I think the fact that Guilford has something for everybody is the bang for one's buck.

    What to do for fun

    One could participate in athletics, become a member of the Residence Life staff as an RA, there are plenty of clubs and organizations, there's Senate, art, Chamber Singers, spending time in the Hut, Serendipity, Africana Change and SO much more... I could on. Guilford, literally, has something for everybody.

    Food and Dining

    With options like the cafeteria, The Grill, The Quakeria, Chick-Fil-A across the street and Harris Teeter next to that, one shouldn't go hungry. There's always options.

    Dorm Life

    Residence Life at Guilford is what you make of it. Especially if you do what needs to be done on time to be placed where you want to live and with whoever you would like to live with.

    Academic Rigor

    Guilford is reading and writing intensive. One needs to be focused and hardworking to be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, I suggest you have your priorities in order and to make sure you execute things such as: financial aid, dorm room necessities, housing, classroom supplies, your meal plan, and more properly. Also, be open-minded and willingly to learn about various things and differing people you may encounter. Lastly, make the most of the experience, be head strong, focused, and optimistic.

    In three sentences

    If one seeks a challenge, diversity, and a great college experience all in one, Guilford College is the place for you. One is pushed to think outside of the box and in ways he/she has never done so before. Additionally, there are copious opportunities to hang out with people different from you and to learn new things.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 21 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing bad happens at Guilford.

    Greek Life

    It exists. YAY!

    Great for these types of students

    Weirdos.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Quaker loving

    What to do for fun

    Have fun in the hut.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come here if you're a bit on the strange side.

    In three sentences

    Great professor-student relationship. Great campus. Great but weird student body. Great education, but not if you are into the sciences.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Four and 1/2 stars

    Greek Life

    THere's no greek on Guilford

    Clubs and Activities

    The best organization to be involved with is the Friend to Friend Mentoring program. Not only do you get to support and be a friend to other adult students, you also receive lots of encouragement and support, while having a great time.

    Great for these types of students

    Traditional and returning adult learners

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We are a Quaker school and our library has a Quaker library collection that is very unique. It is quite interesting.

    Bang for the buck

    As a student, you will get your money's worth. The professors hold doctorate degrees, yet they are down to earth and interested in your success. The campus is easy to learn and everyone is friendly. It is also a very diverse campus and offers something for everyone.

    What to do for fun

    They have some sort of student activity everyday it seems and they have something for everybody. They also have family centered activities, like bonfires, sports and music concerts.

    Food and Dining

    Guilford has several places to eat on campus and close by, like Chik-fila.

    Dorm Life

    CCE students don't stay in the dorms, but I've heard they are pretty decent.

    Academic Rigor

    I would rate this at four stars. Some instructors expect more than others. Overall the professors will make sure that you are challenged and that you are prepared for the next level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't delay- check them out. Start at the CCE office and they'll make sure you get all the right answers to your questions. Also, check with the Student Success office-they are very friendly and helpful.

    In three sentences

    It has the oldest adult degree programs in N.C. The staff and faculty are very success oriented and I have been greatly encouraged by all of them. They give you lots of support!

  • 01/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt threatened while on campus. Public Safety is always patrolling the campus. Be weary of parking tickets!

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of different clubs to join and partake in. You can do anything from Pagan mysticism to student government. There are also intramural teams for common sports and not so common ones, like rugby.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a school that free spirited and liberal students will love.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You will learn a lot about Quakers from your freshman class and even visit a Quaker cemetery. A lot of students like to hand out in The Woods. There are also bonfires at the lake.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a pretty good school, but it is very expensive. If you like the college it is worth it, but it will not be to others.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs and sports teams to get involved with. You can get into student government and RA's often try to come up with small activities. There are also events to attend like Serendipity with live music and things of that sort.

    Food and Dining

    The food is average at best. While eating in the cafeteria there is a lot of fresh locally grown produce, but some of the food seems suspicious while other foods will surprise you. The other options are The Grill, where you can get anything you would get from a normal burger joint, and the Quakeria, which serves okay pizza.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not the best, but upgrades are coming. You should not have a lot of trouble making friends in the dorms, but they are not squeaky clean. The facilities are just alright, and sometimes a community bathroom is not the most fun thing if you are a clean person.

    Academic Rigor

    In my experience, it is not so much the difficulty of the work as it is the quantity. You will be expected to do a lot of work outside of class and think at a higher level. It is not too challenging as long as you just stay focused on the task at hand.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is writing intensive, so be prepared for a lot of essays. The school is not unlike others in terms of partying. Be smart and be careful about this because I have seen first hand the negative effects on bright individuals from drugs and alcohol.

    In three sentences

    Guilford college is a very diverse and green school. A lot of people that may feel like outcasts in high school will fit in at Guilford. The Quaker heritage makes it one of the most accepting and friendly schools around.

  • 07/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety aka Psafe very homey and friendly. They don't necessarily make you feel endanger in fact you will feel more at home. Not too much bad or mischievous things happen on campus unless some students are drunk but still that't nothing to worry about.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life, sadly.

    Clubs and Activities

    American Indian Student Circle Archery Club Blacks Unifying Society (BUS) Buddhist Meditation Campus Activities Board (CAB) Chemistry Club Chinese Culture Club College Democrats College Republicans Community Aids Awareness Project (CAAP) Community Senate Cooking Club Economic Advancement Club Expressions in Dance Fancy Feet Fencing Club Food Justice Network Forensic Biology Club German Club Greenleaf Review GuilCo Gamers Guilford Christian Fellowship Guilford Community of Religious Observants (GCRO) Guilford Peace Society (GPS) The Guilfordian Health Science Club Hillel Hispanos Unidos de Guilford (HUG) International Club Menâ??s Rugby Muslim Student Association Outdoors Club Pagan Mysticism Photo Club Pride Project Community Psychology Club The Quaker (Yearbook) Sexual Assault Awareness Support and Advocacy (SAASA) Student Athlete Advisory Council (SAAC) Tri-Beta Ultimate Frisbee (Biohazard) Womenâ??s Rugby WQFS Yachting

    Great for these types of students

    If you are accustomed to starbucks and other similar coffee shops the Greenleaf is the place for you. many social events, coffee, book readings etc are held there.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No unusual traditions or locations on campus

    What to do for fun

    For fun... it's honestly really up to you. anything you do can be fun or you can make fun to it. There are various amounts of diverse organizations/clubs on campus that hold many events as well as the campus activities board who keeps the school energized, fun and live.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafe, Grill, & nearby restaurants. are fairly good. If you are coming from far to attend Guilford you will definitely miss home cooked meals but that's normal. You will learn to appreciate the food especially the fresh healthy food from farmers market.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life could be better but not complaining only just finishing my first year of college. Guilford offers the opportunity to live any where on campus unless you are a first year then you only have two options. Trying to live off campus is tough process and has a lot of requirements.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor in academics here at Guilford really challenges us students to go beyond our prior knowledge and to find out what's outside the box. Guilford College is a writing intensive school so many papers & research is being done throughout your college experience. But don't be intimidated by that, even if you are a poor writer or reader Guilford nurtures us into becoming better. A lot of help is given but more primarily offered you just have to go about your way to go get what you need and that's what the Guilford community is encouraging there students to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Since I've had the opportunity to host an over night prospective students. I recommend to consider the right reasons for choosing which college you will attend. Pay close attention to what you seek in a college and what they have to offer you that you can take the opportunity and benefit from. Make wise and great choices. Remember that every experience is a learning experience.

    In three sentences

    Guilford College is an experience of a lifetime. It allows students to really achieve, nurture and grow. Our core values really speak for itself within the Guilford Community.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for any student serious about their education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to do a lot of writing. It is a very intensified writing school.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always available for the students. The security officers walk through each building nightly which gives the evening students a peace of mind. The security officers patrol the parking lot and guarantee safety for the CCE students as they walk to their cars late at night.

    Food and Dining

    I have dined at the cafeteria twice during my three years at Guilford College; both times were excellent.

    Dorm Life

    I am a CCE student and do not live on campus, but I have observed the on campus students and their housing. I would feel comfortable for one of my children living on campus at Guilford College.

    Academic Rigor

    Guilford College is very writing intensive. Students should be prepared to write for each class, including science classes. The amount of papers required for each class feels overwhelming, but at the end of the semester there is a pride and a feeling of accomplishment in the completion of the academic goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should come to Guilford College prepared to work hard, but to expect at the end of the four year educational journey to be completely changed. This change will be the acquisition of knowledge and how to apply that knowledge to improve self and society.

    In three sentences

    Excellent college for older or returning student. The professors are very helpful and go out of their way to make sure the student understand the material. The Center for Continuing Education Department works with all departments to insure success.

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 36

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I like the small college environment. The professors really take an interest in your success. The student body is pretty liberal

  • 02/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety is always available. They roam the campus 24/7. I feel 100% safe here on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is based on Quaker beliefs. Fighting is has a worst punishment than getting caught with alcohol.

    What to do for fun

    There are places that are generally close to the campus. There are clubs and such downtown. There are campus led activities such as movies on the lawn that give some entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is okay. The Pizza place and The Grill on campus is the ideal choice for most students.

    Dorm Life

    Generally acceptable.

    Academic Rigor

    Attendance in courses is a must. Not a overload on course work, but that also depends on the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Depending on the prospective students personality, it may be a tad boring. Academics will keep you busy. This is not a school for someone who wants to party all the time.

    In three sentences

    Guilford has a beautiful campus. The academic programs are rigorous. The atmosphere in general is

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24/7 public safety. If you don't feel safe walking from library to dorm at 2am just call and they will escort you

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of stuff to join. Sports clubs or major clubs, cultural clubs

    What to do for fun

    be with friends Getting involved a lot

    Food and Dining

    Many options for eating

    Dorm Life

    Always those loud people but once you get use to it its not that bad

    Academic Rigor

    They expect a lot out of you but not right off the bat, They ease you into college life but then second semester is when you do it yourself

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to write in every class Get involved on campus

    In three sentences

    Safe, Beautiful, Writing

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    play sports

    Food and Dining

    crappy

    Dorm Life

    crappy

    Academic Rigor

    very hard

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school at least once to see if you like it.

    In three sentences

    I think it is a good school. There needs to be more diversity.

  • 09/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It feels completely safe here. PSafe is always driving around at night and not many bad things happen here. I wouldn't suggest walking by yourself at night, especially if you're a girl. However, I I'm a girl and I feel fine walking on my own if I really wanted to. It's very well lit and nice people are walking around all the time, even at 3 in the morning.

    Greek Life

    We don't have a Greek life here on campus. But I hear they are... interesting.

    Clubs and Activities

    They are AWESOME! I am currently involved with the Yachting club which is the geek club and we do larping every Sunday and have our HellCon every year. I also Love the Outdoors club because you can go rock climbing for free every Friday. There's a ton of club sports and an improve group and tons more. Don't wait to get involved because you will miss out on a lot. You don't have to be a member to go to their free events either!

    Great for these types of students

    We have a lot of hippies, environment freaks, nerds, and unique people. If you are from a preppy school and anyone who isn't concerned with the tabloids is weird, then don't come. You could see someone walking around in Ren Gear or maybe have six different colors in their hair. Don't come if that bothers you cause if you try to complain about it then people will look at you like you're crazy.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have some teachers who do a moment of silence at the beginning of every class which I find awesome. We have Quaker hands which you should come on a tour and ask about. We also have this weird mist thing outside of Founders where it is a constant spray of mist which is great on a summer day, but still... weird.

    Bang for the buck

    It's just over all great. They have weird policies and such like a barefoot policy where you can walk around the entire campus barefoot and no one cares. (Except for the caf, but that's health and sanitary reasons.) They even have a nude policy where(and no one does it but you can start a trend if you want) you can, guy and girl, walk around nude. Takes the fun out of streaking but it's pretty cool.

    What to do for fun

    There is this Guilford Bubble that people have a problem getting out of because they have so much happening on campus. It's crazy. There are karaoke nights, spa nights, movie nights, larping, club meetings, tons of sports, bon fires, parties, and it's all on campus. But don't worry! If you don't like the idea of staying on campus forever and a day then there is plenty of shopping, parties, restaurants, rock climbing, parks, trampoline rooms, and other such things off campus. The only problem is it's not free, but what's free now a days?

    Food and Dining

    They have goo dining options with a pizza place and grill downstairs that accept meal swipes. However, the caf is okay. It seems to only be good when they are hosting visiting people or on Wednesday afternoons when teachers eat for free. Other than that then the food has a 50/50 chance of being good. We normally go to the Grill or Q downstairs to eat dinner.

    Dorm Life

    You can't avoid the messy people in the dorms who don't clean up their messes in the kitchen and all but it for the most part is pretty good. It's friendly and a lot of people keep their door open and if it's not then just knock and they will hang out with you for hours.

    Academic Rigor

    It is definitely a writing intensive school. Which isn't a bad thing, it's great because you can't avoid getting a job where you need to write. Just be aware that you will do a lot of writing, but you get used to it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your teachers the second you have a problem. They won't be mad or anything but they figure what they can do to help.

    In three sentences

    Guilford is beautiful, creative, and peaceful. It's small which gives you a home feel but big enough that you don't see everyone all the time. The teacher's are great and make sure you have the resources you want and need.

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is an open campus however the security for the on campus and off campus are amazing I have never felt in danger for my life or well being.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is missing from the campus and there are no fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    The amount of clubs they have is incredible and more are added each year. For it to be such a small school these clubs are all very well managed and supported by the Guilford Community.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're at a small school or used to smaller schools Guilford is certainly for you. Guilford is also very diverse so if you've ever felt different or out of place you would feel in place at Guilford. Also hippies are very very welcome.

    Bang for the buck

    Guilford is horrid at managing it's money and occasionally makes me consider transferring when they charge me extra things. For example I was 3 minutes late leaving my dorm over winter break so I was charged an extra $100 on my tuition. If you leave your key in the room more than one time it's $15 for every time they come to open it. Money is not an object to them and they will charge you for anything.

    What to do for fun

    For fun there is always a party but there are also on campus events. There are poetry competitions, ice cream socials, bonfires at the lake, community walks, and pretty much anything else you could think of. If they don't have it you can suggest it and there's a 85% chance they will try to create something for you.

    Food and Dining

    The cuisine is rarely very good and because it is such a liberal college often there are weird or exotic dishes. Guilford does grow its own vegetables though so they have many vegetables that are organic.

    Dorm Life

    Probably some of the worst places I've slept in. I've slept in friends rooms, girls rooms, and my room, both on campus and off campus. There are bugs that occasionally crawl through the window, when I first got there, there was an ant problem, and the school often finds petty reasons to fine you increasing costs on your tuition.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers will definitely challenge you with each assignment and missing any one assignment can turn your grade to mush. On the other hand there are those classes you take and you really don't have to do much in order to get an A. In all it does matter on who your teacher is but the classes are generally challenging and somewhat entertaining as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you come here be prepared for a very diverse experience with many types of people. The food isn't very good but there is a shopping center across the street not to mention there is the grill where everyone eats. It's a very good campus to be on with great teachers and good students. The students are very sexual and very open about it

    In three sentences

    Guilford college is probably the most diverse college in the united states of America. It lacks when it comes to food and housing priorities however makes up for it with the quality of teaching and openness of the community. Overall it is a great school you just have to be sure to meet the right people.

  • 01/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Quaker school

    What to do for fun

    -Greene Street Club is nearby -Athletic events are also fun to attend on campus, sometimes the student organization gives away prizes for attending games- such as free t-shirts, money, gift cards, etc..

    Food and Dining

    The Grill, cafeteria and Quakeria are pretty good. The Quakeria offers pizza, calzones and sushi. The Grill has hamburgers, wraps, salads, chicken nuggets, etc. The Cafeteria has good days and bad days, like most schools. However, there is always a wide variety of foods available.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms could be better. The rooms are average size for college dorms but they aren't horrible. Some of the buildings are a little old but for the most part they are similar to any college campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Guilford has a very high job acceptance rate after graduation. You can expect to work hard and put a lot of effort into each of your classes. If you do so, you will be highly rewarded and thankful that you put so much time into your academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your professors as much as possible. They are here to help you and they enjoy doing so. Learn to manage your time and schedule your classes so that you have time to get all the work done for each of them. Be involved in your class discussions and go see your professors if you are struggling with a particular area. The professors are amazing and always ready to give advice to the students who are seeking it.

    In three sentences

    Guilford College is an amazing college. You could not ask for better teacher to student interaction because most class sizes are relatively small. Everyone here at Guilford College cares not only about your education but also about you as a person.

  • 02/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hippie and hipsters.

    What to do for fun

    Practice Quakerism. READ a book!! WRITE a paper.

    Food and Dining

    The one time I ate in the dining hall... it was pretty good. Lots of variety.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes ain't no joke. ;)

    Tips for prospective students

    Start reading NOW.

    In three sentences

    Be ready to read and write! The people are wonderful and you get out of the classes what you put in. Gorgeous campus, with lots of local amenities.

  • 03/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety is very good at their job and are helpful with anything you need.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a wide variety of clubs but none that I was interested in so I can only say that there are some clubs that others might be interested in.

    Great for these types of students

    Hippies, homosexuals, extreme liberals

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hippies and homosexuals are very common on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The wifi is terrible as well. $45k a year and they are not investing back into the college well. I would definitely recommend looking for a different college.

    What to do for fun

    There are parties and sporting events. Other than that you might as well bring your xbox or play station so you don't get bored every single day.

    Food and Dining

    The Grill and the Quakeria are the only two places on campus besides the cafe that serve food. Those two are the better of the food places on campus while still mostly just adequate and not great food. It's acceptable, but the cafe serves mostly vegan or healthy food which is pretty gross.

    Dorm Life

    All there is in the dorm to do are parties, which end up getting shut down by public safety, and events that the administration tries to put on that are a sad attempt at trying to get the dorm to come together and bond. I have more fun in my own house than the dorms at college. Plus people mess with your belongings constantly and quiet hours are enforced at 11 o'clock. I feel like I'm being babysat all the time.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are definitely tough, depending on the class. Some are what one would expect from a college level course, however, some are also something one would have experienced in High School and I found that to be very unappealing towards the college.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely look at other colleges unless you are a Quaker or homosexual because as accepting as they are of peoples' preferences and beliefs, they are very un-accepting of people who do not share these beliefs or preferences and will put these people under a microscope during the academic year.

    In three sentences

    The Academics are good, but I still feel like I am at High School here. The school makes it seem so diverse when in reality the school is divided between athletes and non athletes and also sometimes between races. The administration is strict and does not work well during situations involving their students and I was almost responsible financially for a great sum of money because of their negligence regarding an injury I received playing on a sports team for the college.

  • 10/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is secured at all times of the night !! We have guards at night that drive around campus from 9pm till I wanna say about 6am . We are all kept good here .

    Greek Life

    Everyone here is smart in there own way , we don't really have a geek club , we just have geek friends

    Clubs and Activities

    Join as many clubs as you can , the more clubs you join the more friends you make

    Great for these types of students

    The food , the clubs , the friendships , the community , you'll LOVE it

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bauman will be the best spot to get your homework done , founders is a study spot , the library is also a good study spot , the hut is for church worship !

    Bang for the buck

    I will admit this school is very costly but its so much fun here !!

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs , since everything is so close by , you can go walking to many places , ride a bike , sit outside and hang in the trees , we do throw parties here , just because were a Quaker school doesn't mean we don't know how to party trust me we can party !!

    Food and Dining

    The cafe breakfast is the BEST thing ever , I go there every morning faithfully just to eat their breakfast , I don't like the cafe's dinner and lunch unless it's Wednesday , Wednesday the cafe is always packed the food is GREAT that day for lunch . When you don't want the cafe food , we have the grill and the quakeria , the Quakeria is known for pizza , the grill is known for the fries and so on , they are all good

    Dorm Life

    Milner is the BEST dorm ever !!!!!!!! My roommate and I don't always get along but my room is still good , I love having control over the A/C & Heat (:

    Academic Rigor

    This school is very big on writing but I will admit it helps you get better , the classes you take whether it's for your major or what helps you in some kind of way .

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't look at the fact that it's a Quaker school , look at the fact that this school is a beautiful place , look at the fact that everyone is safe here , even though this isn't known to party your college experience is what you decide to make it .

    In three sentences

    Guilford is truly what you make it . You have to come here in the right mindset to make it . Guilford community is like a small family , you build strong friendships with everyone around . Everyone looks out for everyone around just what a family does .