Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Gulf Coast State College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/19/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Science majors, independent and disciplined, socially sophisticated, and the financially frugal

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused. Apply for tons of scholarships. Join the Student Support Services. Bring snacks for lunch (the food is expensive!). If you are not from Panama City, move to a location that is very close to the campus (gas is a significant percentage of living expenses). Buy used books, and buy your books as early as possible. Apply for the PELL GRANT!!!!

    Bang for the buck

    I cannot really comment because in the cut of the Bright Futures Scholarships, but work during the summer, if attending full-time. Apply for as many scholarships as possible. (Shout-out to Cappex!) Buy USED books.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's not a huge university, and you don't get the full college experience (dorm life). I would rather be at an university. It's in a small town, so it's difficult to find social activities. Maybe the upside to that is coursework gets more attention. I've been in Panama City all of my life, so of course I'm ready to leave. Nonetheless, the campus has a relaxed ambiance.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers here are really helpful, and if help is ever needed, their doors are always open. Mr. L. Harris is the best math teacher ever. There's no way you cannot earn an A in math if he's your instructor. Gulf Coast is known to have one of the best science programs in the country -- that means it is super challenging. With subjects such as Chemistry and Physics, I highly encourage study groups. It is very relieving to discuss with classmates the tons of information thrown at you in a lecture. Everyone has that one concept that they can grasp and master. Working together and brainstorming can ensure that everyone gets help. Maybe your classmate can explain in a way that the instructor cannot.

  • 06/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had any trouble with safety. Campus security watches over students and teachers

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of fun activities going on always.

    Food and Dining

    WE have a great cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I do not know about Dorm Life , I am out of campus student

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers require a lot of work from thei students but it is all so you can learn more

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you attend your classes and study and you will be just fine.

    In three sentences

    It is a good College. I enjoy going there to classes and also learning online

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Ocean!!

    Food and Dining

    Any restaurant you can imagine around.

    Academic Rigor

    Very good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start early on registration and getting ready for classes. The staff is very helpful and can answer any question you have.

    In three sentences

    I think this college is very nice. It has a nice location. The staff is very helpful and the classes are very flexible.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Human vs Zombies

    What to do for fun

    Human vs Zombies. The Pit (Gaming center). Go to games.

    Food and Dining

    New cafeteria. =)

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Aplly for classes early.

    In three sentences

    Gulf Coast is pretty cool. There is a variety of classes with a beautiful campus. The teachers are usually pretty great. =)

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school is closely located near the beach. You can literally, unwind after class by walking across the street and dipping your feet in the water.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not feel scare to ask for help here because the teachers are well knowledgeable in their fields.

    In three sentences

    This school is a fast paced environment that still manages to take time with helping students graduate. The administration staff is always ready to help serve the students and they do so very quickly. I enjoy getting a very valuable education at an amazing affordable price.

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Oh, they consider safety one of their utmost top priorities - they give out tickets if you don't have a parking decal!

    Greek Life

    Ummm...Not interested in that stuff, so I wouldn't really have a clue.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have clubs and social events for everyone. I don't think you can ever get bored here when there's so many things to do.

    Great for these types of students

    It's really important to concentrate in your studies and not get distracted so often - so they have this Ginormous library to help you out and for your everyday use! How sweet is that?!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Once a year they do a zombie-attack night which is totally cool - if you're into that sort of thing. It's like one all around campus zombie tag - complete with the make-up!

    Bang for the buck

    They try their best in making sure your econmically stable and help you out in any issues or dilemas you might be having.

    What to do for fun

    The SGA club has lots fun activites year-round, I was excited just listening at orientation!

    Food and Dining

    If you like fast-food, pizza and tex-mex, you're gonna like it alot. And the cafeteria is huge too - I got lost in it.

    Dorm Life

    Eh, no dorm avalibility around, but I chose it because I want to be near my family and friends. There's more concentration, less chaos and no immoral lifestyle.

    Academic Rigor

    I think that if you set your mind to it, you can accomplish anything and conquer your studies. There's something for everybody here!

    Tips for prospective students

    I definitely think that this was my best pick out of the needles in the haystack.

    In three sentences

    It's real nifty how everyone works together to make your experience a memorable one. Both the teachers and adminstration want to help you in your individuals needs and in what you really need to graduate and succeed as both a person and student. I just loved orientation - lots of helpful information!

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Chill with my friends and read.

    Food and Dining

    Great food and good hard working staff.

    Academic Rigor

    I've always felt challenged in my class/homework at GCSC.

    Tips for prospective students

    Alway remember to have fun and stay focused.

    In three sentences

    A great school where people love to help you do your best.

  • 10/19/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college has many different types of students. I do not really fit into a specific category but I have seen many all kinds of people on campus. There are black, white, Hispanic, emo, surfer, preppy, disabled, retired, dual enrollment, and MANY more. Everyone is welcomed here!

    Am enjoying being here

    This college is literally on the water. It is right beside a beautiful bay. During my breaks from class - I go sit at the covered picnic tables and study. It is SO very peaceful and relaxing. What more could anyone ask for?

    Am learning a lot

    The science department here is awesome. I have learned so much from my teachers. They seem to try and make it interesting and not just lecture the whole time. Everyone here is so helpful. I have had many encounters with the admissions office & financial aid administration, everyone was pleased to help me.

  • 12/05/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that are looking for a small college experience with small classes in a beachy town. Very helpful teachers and college staff.

    Tips for prospective students

    You're teachers are there for you! Let them help you if you're struggling meet with them take advantage of all that they provide as help for you. The library is a great place to print off any notes or power point slides you need for your classes, so you do not have to print anything off from your home printer.

    Bang for the buck

    The college has a foundation scholarship that all students can apply for to help with cost of books, room and board, tuition, or anything you may need extra money for. They also accept Bright Futures if you are a Florida resident. Tuition in general is not very expensive. They have very few fees. It's a pretty inexpensive college experience.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am enjoying Gulf Coast. It's a great school. They have many student activities and clubs to help you interact and make friends. The student activities board organizes a lot of social activities free to students. They have drive in movie nights and free Thanksgiving meals. Durring finals week they have midnight study in the library with free coffee and energy drinks.

    Am learning a lot

    Gulf Coast Community College is a great in between school. Many people consider it 13th and 14th grade. The teachers are very interactive and have a lot of office hours. They are always willing to help you succeed and answer any questions you have. The classes are small so the teachers have time to help each student individually. There is also a success center for any students that need tutoring.

  • 10/16/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you register as early as possible so you get first choice on classes and times. Otherwise, you might be stuck with classes or times you don't want.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is far cheaper than if you went straigt to a University, and you receive a quality education.

    Am learning a lot

    All of the teachers are very helpful. Most are willing to set up appointments if you are having trouble. Plus the class sizes are fairly small, so you can always ask questions during class.

  • 04/24/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who did well in their high school classroom settings. A lot of students would joke about how the college classes here felt like 13th and 14th grade. Because the classes felt and looked a lot like high school classrooms. If you're looking for that iconic college experience, this place might not be for you. There's only one or two lecture halls, and you can walk across the entire campus in about 5 minutes. But then again, there were a few students who had transferred from larger universities because they were overwhelmed and actually wanted a smaller setting. Whatever the choice, this college is a great one, and as I've heard, is soon to be called Gulf Coast State College. Go Commodores! :)

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to teachers first before buying any of the reading material, because some teachers don't even have you use the books. I know for my history and government classes, the teachers were all required to have a textbook to go along with the class, but we never ever used them. So talk to teachers first before going and buying the required books. It'll save you some cash. Take advantage of the on campus fitness room. Every student gets in free with their campus ID card. I wish now that I'd visited that luxury a lot more. It's very nice, and located in the Wellness Building. Also, don't plan on walking to the campus. Either drive or take the city transportation, which are buses that are shaped like trolley cars. The only part of the city that is pedestrian friendly is the beach side.

    Bang for the buck

    I give this area five stars because I attended the college on a full athletic scholarship. But also, the college offers great discounts on used books and they also offer to buy books back at the end of each semester, which is extremely helpful because books certainly aren't cheap.

    Did enjoy being here

    The scenery is great because the college campus backs right up to St. Andrews Bay, which is beautiful at certain times of the year (some times it's a little murky) The college also backs up to the Hathaway Bridge, which is the dividing line between being on the town side and on the beach side of Panama City, which gives students a multitude of options on where to live. I also enjoyed Gulf Coast Community College for the smallness of it. I would frequently have people that I knew from previous classes in other classes with me so I would actually get to know them instead of being in classes full of a hundred people without knowing a single face. Though, above all the best part of the college? Being a hop, skip, and jump away from the beach. :)

    Did learn a lot

    The classes were great, they were typically small, around 25 people, with the exception of a few smaller ones that only had about 10 or even under 10 for certain electives. I never had a problem with any of my teachers. One thing that I found very helpful was that the classes all connected to an online database that students can access called an Angel Account. I found this to be SO helpful in organizing things and keeping tabs on what was going on in all of my classes and a lot of times teachers posted notes from the day's lecture into the database. This was extremely beneficial. There was also a way to send personal emails to professors in case of questions.

  • 06/12/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that are still relaxed about there education, and are wanting something a little less formal, but still worthwhile. This is a good education for someone who wants to sleep in, and still be able to take their classes comfortably.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask around about different teachers, before registration starts. Take advantage of the Add/Drop period, sometimes a class you want fills up quickly, but then people might drop out leaving a space for you to slide right in. Dont forget your umbrella on cloudy days, there are very few ways to get anywhere without having to step outdoors, where there is limited awning space.

    Bang for the buck

    Prices are supposedly changing, but really, for a college education, you can't be paying less than state tuition. Price definitely makes a huge difference in your education and how many classes you can afford to take at once and things like that. So, all in all, it's good for the money.

    Did enjoy being here

    This was just a stepping stone for me, and in the end, I didn't even bother getting a degree from the school before moving on to a new one, though my time here was enjoyable. If you like being next to the water all the time, it's perfect. Nothing like that ocean breeze to help you clear your mind on exam day.

    Did learn a lot

    As with any college, you really need to ask around your friends to find the best professors. Because everyone learns differently, you'll want to find a teacher who's style might be compatible with your own learning style. Sometimes this can be tricky, because there are a limited number of instructors for several of the core classes, really making it hard to find someone you really like.

  • 09/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    GCSC is great for students who are fresh out of high school and want to get a taste of college before going off to university, for older students who are returning to college for the first time in years, and really for everyone that wants to learn something new or get a degree to further their career(s).

    Tips for prospective students

    The biggest tip I can give is to do your homework. Not just in class but also when it comes to registering, financial aide, teacher choices, the whole lot of it. There's a great staff here that can help with all of these things but it doesn't hurt to know what exactly you're asking for help with.

    Bang for the buck

    The ways of getting help via teacher to student communication and organization for tests, homework, exams, and more is great here. The main way of communication between teacher and student outside of the classroom is on our internet based computer system called Angel. On here you'll find all of your courses with resources made available by your professors and even your professors email address to contact them when you need help on an assignment or need to schedule meetings with them during their office ours for what ever the reason.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really love the teachers and how they are all willing to work with you and your schedules to try and help you do the best that you can do.

    Am learning a lot

    I am in my final year at GCCC, which is now called Gulf Coast State College, or GCSC as of June this year and I've learned a ton here.

  • 11/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The prices of the school are great. I am currently taking 4 classes and my tuition was only around $2,000.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the school and the area it is in. When you are not in class you can just go outside and catch a cool breeze by the water.

    Am learning a lot

    I have actually really learned a lot of GCSC. The teachers there are really helpful. Especially in the art department.

  • 11/09/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    15 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This would be great for students living in the Panama City area seeking an Associate's Degree in a major to study, especially in Science.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships(especially cappex) early. You never know if you can actually win.. Focus. You will do good if you put your mind to it.

    Bang for the buck

    Apply for scholarships and/or grants.

    Will enjoy being here

    I'm sure Gulf Coast State College would be convenient for me because its close to my home.

    Will learn a lot

    My intended major is nursing. I always loved helping people and I feel confident that I will develop new skills.

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    99.9% effective.

    Clubs and Activities

    gay and lesbian, phi kappa alpha, amsa, sports, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    college freshmen, high school students, graduates, people who are looking to go straight into the workforce, military, online students, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    i intended to pass all my courses with a high grade during the pursuing of my education and i intend not to make anything less than and a. i believe that my academic performance should be notarized by the help of a scholarship.

    What to do for fun

    work, exercise, study, & make good grades.

    Food and Dining

    the food tastes like that of restaurant food. the dining is plausible.

    Academic Rigor

    plausible. the students here are able to study here under a peaceful environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    stay on top of your studies. do not fall behind.

    In three sentences

    the college campus is clean. the college campus is smoke-free. the academic courses are comprehensible.

  • 01/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    again, we are located and surrounded by a bay that is connected to panama city beach.

    What to do for fun

    watch our sports team members play games. walk across the street and ur at the the bay that runs from panama city beach.

    Dorm Life

    i live off campus , this is the only option we have gulf coast does not have dorms on their campus.

    Academic Rigor

    very educated and motivative professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    check out our website. www.gulfcoast@edu.com

    In three sentences

    i give a rating of 5, do to the professors that i have had , they have made my learning experiance pleasent and enjoyable. i have found them all to be very kind.

  • 01/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are plenty of activities in this college!!! a lot of different clubs for your choice!!! loads of cultural and educational events

    Tips for prospective students

    this is an excellent school for everyone. students are welcomed over there, just try to study as hard as you can, teachers will help you in everything!!!

    In three sentences

    it is a great school! i really enjoyed it every single day!!! great and understanding teachers, very helpful in all means!!!

  • 02/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    some of the parking is kind of tight, but they just passed a rule that no smoking is allowed on campus (which saves my lungs and nose).

    Great for these types of students

    have certain schedules, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the cefeteria has an interesting pattern in the roof. i think it may be one of the older buildings.

    What to do for fun

    watch plays, watch movies, play humans vs. zombies, check out the library, etc.

    Food and Dining

    there is a nice cafeteria, but i rarely go in there, and it is currently having some work done.

    Dorm Life

    i do not live in the dorms, if there are any.

    Academic Rigor

    some of the instructors have strict rules about phones and things in the classroom, attendance, etc, but i respect that. some of the instructors do much care what you do.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't buy all your books new. only buy them new if it is a new version that you cannot get used. also, you do not have to buy the books on campus. get scholarships and do not borrow money. this is very, very helpful.

    In three sentences

    it provides lots of oportunites for students from different places to take classes. it has cool activities.

  • 03/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    the student body is always offering study groups and on campus activities. as well as the beach being down the road.

    Food and Dining

    they have recently made changes that i am eager to experience after our spring break. there has been three different dining options added to the menu.

    Dorm Life

    i live off campus. as far as i know they do not offer on-campus housing.

    Tips for prospective students

    listen to every bit of advise that a professor offers. remember that you are no longer in high school.

    In three sentences

    gulf coast state college has been putting many efforts into improving the campus. it has currently became smoke free which i am very proud of.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    numerous clubs that hold events open to all students

    Food and Dining

    normal cafateria cuisine

    Dorm Life

    no on campus dorms

    Academic Rigor

    This is not your average community college. It takes dedication and hard work as this is an accredited college, which is now a state college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even if you are undecided on a mojor just get started. They make it easy to switch majors so you can end up doing what you really wat to do.

    In three sentences

    Gulf coast gives you the tools and opportunity to steer your academic career in the direction you desire. There are tons of majors and teachers who truely care about you and your educational path.

  • 03/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. Numerous police officers on campus (not quite sure why so many are needed on a campus this size in a small city).

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Variety available

    Great for these types of students

    Students on a budget

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Spring Luau is a lot of fun and provides free admission to a local water park.

    What to do for fun

    Beaches within 15 minutes.

    Food and Dining

    Overpriced and often stale from sitting under a heat lamp all day. However, the cook-to-order food (limited menu) and salad bar are fairly good (if overpriced).

    Academic Rigor

    Enormous workload for many of the courses in the Computer Science area but the grading is fairly easy and the difficulty level of the material is not that hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Not a bad choice if you're on a limited budget like me but be prepared to work as hard as an MIT or CalTech grad without getting the recognition of a degree from a prominent school!

    In three sentences

    Can only really rate the Computer Science department. The workload is generally very high and most of the Professors bring valuable experience from the workplace but the program is still in development and it shows with a lack of organization and limited choices as far as class times and instructors (many of the required courses are only offered at one time certain days of the week so if you work it can be hard to accommodate your schedule).

  • 04/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs. Panama City also has some of the worlds most beautiful beaches.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    In three sentences

    Gulf Coast Community College is an excellent place to start your college career. They have a wide range of majors and excellent instructors. The credits earned here are accepted an many colleges through out the US.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    plenty of things to do and clubs to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Any...

    Food and Dining

    good food clean cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    dont have dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your work, work hard and remember the professor's are their to help.

    In three sentences

    They are their to help. They do what they can to get you on the right track. They have good recorces for all classes.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Parking is difficult.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for specific educational programs such as for Dental Hygiene/assisting or any other health science majors. The dental clinic is top notch.

    Food and Dining

    A new cafeteria was recently added with great selections of dining. The dining area can be updated, however, and it is more like a recreational/party area than a dining area.

    In three sentences

    This college has great program opportunities in Health Science careers. I do not like how difficult it is to get ahold of anyone in certain departments, and I dislike how the system is set up for current students for Drop/Add registration of classes. Other than that, this is a good college with a beautiful location right on the water, it just needs some updating for it is an old college.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The inside pool is amazing.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to attend this college, apply as early as possible.

    In three sentences

    The staff is patient, and enduring. The atmosphere is student oriented and friendly.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early because even though it is a small college, without many students, availability is also limited. Also take advantage of the library. It has created the perfect atmosphere to help me prepare for exams.

    In three sentences

    Gulf Coast is a small college that offers a lot of opportunities for upcoming high school students or even your grandparents. It feels welcoming, the staff is truly there to help the students, and the small classes are friendly. It is the perfect college to prepare me to transfer and for graduate school.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    28 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Shared security with Florida State University campus next door. Well lit in most areas. Security will escort you to your car at night if you want them to.

    What to do for fun

    A lot of clubs to join with a big diversity in the student body. Beach and park behind campus with a ramp for boats, jet ski's, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria just got a big make over. Food's great and the prices aren't that bad either.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging enough without completing making you psycho in most cases. Really just depends on how you study and how lazy (or not lazy) you are.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the nice attitudes of the teachers fool you. Just because they're nice to you doesn't mean they'll go easy on you when it comes to your class work.

    In three sentences

    Went here to study art. Great teachers with a lot of experience in their respective fields.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Beach !

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the program ... The RN program is difficult, but top notch.

    In three sentences

    Great location.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Panama City is only separated from the beach by the Hathaway bridge. There are also many places to go kayaking and hiking.

    Food and Dining

    This is for the area, not for the college. Panama City is on the Gulf of Mexico so fresh seafood is readily available at fair prices.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college, therefore I am unable to rate dorm life because it is non-existent.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here may seem difficult at times, but the teachers give you everything you need to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to register for your classes early so that you get the ones you want/need and do not miss the fee deadline. As long as you go to class and study you cannot go wrong.

    In three sentences

    I think that this schools is a great choice for returning and/or working students. The teachers are very understanding when it comes to health issues and working with you through problems. The teachers do whatever they can to make sure you have the opportunity to succeed.

  • 08/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they have on site patrol, and they also have a no-smoking policy, but if you do smoke, if you do it in the parking lot or your vehicle you will not get in trouble.

    Greek Life

    no greek life.

    Great for these types of students

    Over-Achievers, Under-Achievers, Slackers, Stay at home moms, every type of situation, they bend backwards to accommodate your needs.

    Bang for the buck

    Regardless of the price, the experience will be life-changing and they give you all the tools to achieve your dreams.

    What to do for fun

    This school is AMAZING with activities, last year we had a flag zombie attack. Beware in-between classes. Also they hold drive-in movies, theater, on-site gym, swimming pool, very accommodating.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria makes EXCELLENT food that is affordable.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on-site dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic Rigor is quite extensive, BUT they offer on-site tutoring to anyone whom needs help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find your goal, do your research, and you will succeed.

    In three sentences

    Financial Aid Advisers are some of the greatest people on earth. The staff there are overwhelmingly friendly. And if you have a problem they go out of their way to fix the issue.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not enough security. This is my only complaint. Especially during the evening.

    What to do for fun

    Beach. Its Panama City, Florida. All there is to do here is lay in the sun.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat at the college. Although, this school has a well known name for its culinary program, I imagine the food is great.

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't know because I currently stay in my own home.

    Academic Rigor

    This college has wonderful programs for almost anything. If you aren't sure, just ask!

    In three sentences

    This is an amazing State College. I would never leave this college unless I absolutely had to. Ever since I have attended, every bit of the staff and professors hav been wonderful, and the renovations are definitely coming a long way.

  • 10/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    While Gulf Coast has its downsides, it's a great value for those wanting a great education for under $100/credit hour.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Government Association, along with many organizations at Gulf Coast, host many events for students throughout the year. You won't have trouble finding something to do that's fun.

    Food and Dining

    Gulf Coast has a cafeteria, but that's pretty much it. They serve typical cafeteria food, and outside providers like Taco Bell, Subway, Chik-fil-A, etc. are not allowed to sell food at Gulf Coast. Therefore, the food selection and quality is rather subpar.

    Dorm Life

    Gulf Coast has no dorms, so dorm life is nonexistent.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on which classes you take, academic rigor can range from relaxed to oh-gosh-I-am-completely-lost. Most classes are fairly challenging though.

    Tips for prospective students

    While Gulf Coast is technically a state college, a large majority of the degrees are still 2-year degrees. Keeping this in mind, it's fairly easy to get admitted. Be sure to keep up with your grades and take the SAT/ACT in order to qualify for scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Overall, Gulf Coast State College is a great college for anyone who can't afford going to a major university. The student body is not incredibly diverse, but there seems to be a place for everyone. Classes are fairly challenging, and there are many organizations students can join.

  • 11/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lots of officers around to help.

    Clubs and Activities

    SGA is amazing!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The gym is awesome!

    Bang for the buck

    Needs to offer state college quality if it charges state college tuition.

    What to do for fun

    The parks and bay are across the street, fun to relax by.

    Food and Dining

    Food is somewhat pricey, but it is yummy.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up with work. Don't get an 8 am class. Stay positive and motivated.

    In three sentences

    Good school with great teachers. Can't earn most bachelors here, though. Love it.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a good selection of food as well as reasonable prices.

    Dorm Life

    There are no on campus dorms. However, there are very many apartment complexes and housing very close-by.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes are very rigorous. The professors prefer to teach at a quick, but understandable rate.

    In three sentences

    Gulf Coast State College is a great college for the transfer student and student pursuing an Associate's degree. The class sizes are generally under 40 students and can provide a great one-on-one experience with the professor. Also, the campus is beautiful and provides a very comfortable environment.

  • 11/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a police officer patroiling the parking lots, the campus, and surrounding areas.

    Clubs and Activities

    Offer a ray of clubs, such as student government, gay-straight alliance, national honor society, and many more!

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is low, service is excellent.

    What to do for fun

    There is the beach close by. There is water parks, putt putt golf, movies. the area is endless!

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing in the cafeteria. The only down side is everyone loves it so much, that we have to wait nearly 10-15 minutes for food.

    Dorm Life

    We do not have dorm options. It will be in the future as our insitution begins to grow.

    Academic Rigor

    I have held 3.5 and higher GPA while attending.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends! Everyone is so nice and caring, that it is almost impossible to not enjoy yourself. Join the clubs! They offer trips, free items, and even is a great way to be involved in supporting your school and community.

    In three sentences

    Its an excellet school. The faculty and staff are always exceeding my expectations. The campus is wonder, its not big, but its filled with smiles from every corner.

  • 12/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 55

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Gulf Coast is a convenient institution for students who live in the Panhandle and nearby. It is an efficient college with great teachers and nice people. Located in a great place the campus offers a great view of the Gulf of Mexico.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a group in the food court that plays trading card games. The Sga usually has music playing in the mornings. Once a semester there is a game of humans vs zombies that lasts a week.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but the service is slow in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Gulf Coast State College does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I've only had a few hard classes, but as long as one studies then one can pass any class.

    Tips for prospective students

    do not procrastinate in the harder classes, or really any of the classes: it leads to failing the course. Be on time for class, you can miss a lot of information in those first few minutes of class.

    In three sentences

    campus is easy to navigate, and most people don't have a problem giving directions. Most of the teachers are decent or better. The radio station for the school is student run and actually plays pretty good music.

  • 01/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Buy used textbooks when you can.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the library for quiet time relaxation and to find out more information on whatever it is you need.

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria, but bring food when you can because the food is expensive.

    Dorm Life

    Gulf Coast State College has no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for classes early, especially their Foundation Scholarships! I never knew I was on one until part of my tuition was paid, and of course financial aid in general if you really need it.

    In three sentences

    It is a great College for a view of the Gulf of Mexico. Though it is not a big university with a lot of dorms, you still can have some experience in a small college. I was excited to come here.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every single day I see the presence of campus security. At no time have I ever felt ensure or scared. Bravo to those that serve to protect all that access the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    As an older student returning I have never felt out of place. I have always been made to feel welcomed by student, faculty, and staff. There are many of us out there so to be comfortable in this setting will go a long way to help accomplish my goals.

    Bang for the buck

    I am on a very tight budget, so to be able to afford an education is a huge bonus for me. The cost and on-line availability are two of the many reasons I have decided that Gulf Coast is the college for me.

    What to do for fun

    Gulf Coast offers a gym, and pool for use which I love. The drama department will put on plays that are open to students. I have been to one and was thoroughly impressed. Most important the school is across the street from the bay that leads into the Gulf of Mexico. Between classes a girl can get a tan. That is called multi-tasking.

    Food and Dining

    I have never experienced and of these facilities. I honestly have never had any need for them but I do see many students take advantage of what is offered.

    Dorm Life

    I live in my house away from the campus. Our school does not offer dorms, but I do understand they assist in finding living quarters for those that need it.

    Academic Rigor

    Time management is a must. If you fall behind it will be very difficult to catch back up. The professors are top notch and will challenge you to be your best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Upon entering a college education, don't take it for granted. The work is hard and you must put in effort to be successful. That is better learned now because the real world will expect no less.

    In three sentences

    The admissions process was extremely quick and easy. The professors that I have encountered all have multiple degrees in their profession which makes me feel like I am actually learning from the best. The campus itself is small so I am not walking miles inbetween classes.

  • 05/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    has their own campus patrol

    Clubs and Activities

    has a lot of academic clubs

    Bang for the buck

    school prices are better than most other colleges

    What to do for fun

    it is across the street from the beach

    Food and Dining

    Lots of resteraunts nearby.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms on campus

    Academic Rigor

    It is very tuff, but maintaining a job, going to school full-time, and raising 3 kids should be!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't overload your plate. Ask counselors and advisors to help you select your classes, it really helps.

    In three sentences

    GCSC's staff is great! They are some of the most professional, passionate, and concerned teachers and staff I have come across. You must apply yourself though to succeed.

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    42 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have campus police that drives around. Make sure you have parking stickers and don't park in the wrong areas like the green parking lots. They are reserved for teachers and staff only and they have there on stickers for that.

    Clubs and Activities

    They offer plenty of clubs and activities. The one club I would recommend is Baptist College Ministry is because they have free pizzas and sodas every Thursday. They also read bible and praise the Lord. We go on fun filled trip with friendly outgoing people. Gulf Coast State also offers a lot of activities like for example Spring Luau where all the college students and one guest get to go for free at Shipwreck. They will have free foods, sodas, and t-shirt. They also have dancing challenges if you dare to do it!

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs like BCM where you get free pizzas and sodas. Participate in different activity like Spring Luau for spring fun in the sun at Shipwreck for free plus one guest. Gulf Coast have a room for all the gamers out there or if you just want to be chilling, they have bean bags.

    Food and Dining

    Few years ago they look like my high school cafeteria with low quality food with high price tag to it. Now they have renovated the lunch area and improve food quality with better price. That a win-win for me.

    Dorm Life

    The reason why I give Gulf Coast a one star is because they do not simply offer dorm. There is apartments located near Gulf Coast that offers discount for being a students there. You also got to be careful because some apartment may not take full time students if your also working full time job.

    Academic Rigor

    This is my first year of college and I had to take some basic classes so I can't really rate them as well as other people who is more advance in there college degree. But so far it is pretty easy and paced.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait till last minute to register for classes because you will be extremely limited as to what classes you will take and what time they will offer. Make sure you arrive at college at adequate time because they will quickly fill up and you will have to park far away or on the side of the road. Always look for extra money to help you out like scholarships, grants, or foundation instead of loans.

    In three sentences

    At the time I was going I did felt like it was waste of time but I didn't find what I wanted to have my major in until now I finally know what I want and it easier to succeed. The career center is a great place to help you out with any questions or if your interested in transferring to a different colleges. Gulf Coast have great resources readily available for anybody online searches or books and newspapers

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    None

    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing, X-Ray, Ultrasound.

    Bang for the buck

    Inexpensive, as most community colleges.

    What to do for fun

    On campus? Not that much. There isn't a lot of involvement in clubs, and the only get together I've seen students organize among themselves is ultimate Frisbee.

    Food and Dining

    There are three cafe style restaurants in the lunchroom. One is made up of coffee, muffins, and pizza, one Pita Palace and one River Cafe. None are extraordinary but they get you by if you need it.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are incredibly easy. Some are easier than high school classes. Some people might like this, but to me it was really disappointing since I wanted to be more than ready to transfer and not get shell shocked.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research your major and the professors in that department before attending. I ended up absolutely loving my adviser, but this information wasn't exactly given to us. You have to seek out who's the director of a program and who you're suppose to be talking to frequently.

    In three sentences

    The upside of the campus is that its on the water. The downside is a lot of the buildings need re-vamping, multiple classrooms have leaking ceilings and mold. The small classroom setting is the colleges biggest upside, you get a lot of one on one time with your professors if you want it.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Classes are reasonably priced.

    What to do for fun

    The SGA offers plenty of fun and free activities for the students.

    Food and Dining

    really good little restaurants in the cafeteria, also an excellent coffee shop.

    Academic Rigor

    fairly easy, or at least the classes I have taken were easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just put in effort and teachers will help you. Great school

    In three sentences

    Gulf Coast has a beautiful campus. The teachers are very friendly. A lot of parking available. Classes are not overcrowded and campus has plenty parking.

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I lived at my own home so I couldn't tell you anything about the dorms. Sorry!

    Academic Rigor

    I have done well with my academic scores but also was smart with taking the hours of classes I knew I could handle and be able to keep up good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Constantly keep check on your file and making sure you take advantage of all early registering dates to assure yourself of getting the class you need.

    In three sentences

    I rate this college well. I have only had one complaint regarding only one of the advisors not being available to meet with for my nursing paperwork. Now that I have a new advisor everything is good and I would recommend this college to anyone.

  • 07/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    A little here and there. Movie nights and sidewalk graphiti.

    Food and Dining

    A diner with a varied menu. food was edible. Fruits and baked goods, too.

    Dorm Life

    only for athletics.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes were somewhat challenging. I feel that the Institution was Pandering to the lowest common denominator, sometimes. Remedial math and reading. . . give me a break.

    Tips for prospective students

    Investigate issues for yourself. There are some issues that you will be able to resolve better yourself.

    In three sentences

    Overall my experience was positive. The instructors were knowledgeable and helpful.

  • 07/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    THE COLLEGE IS LOCATED IN PANAMA CITY SO THERE IS TONS OF PLACES TO GE GREAT FOOD.

    Dorm Life

    I CANNOT TELL YOU BECAUSE I LIVE OFF CAMPUS.

    Academic Rigor

    NURSING PROGRAM SCHEDULE IS VERY RIGOROUS BUT YOU KNOW YOU ARE PREPARED WHEN YOU FINISH EACH CLASS.

    In three sentences

    GULF COAST STATE COLLEGE IS GROWING BY LEAPS AND BOUNDS. IT IS VERY STUDENT ORIENTED AND HAS A STUDENT FRIENDLY STAFF. NOT TO MENTION IT HAS A WONDERFUL HEALTH SCIENCE DEPARTMENT.

  • 07/21/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    48 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police patrolling every so often, but at night, the parking lots are dimly lit, and I have heard of some incidents happening in those parking lots, particularly the back side of the college by the waterfront park. Take note that the college is right next to a busy US highway and a bridge to another city.

    Bang for the buck

    If you're good at keeping up with your own paperwork and credits, and tenacious with administrators, then you can get in and out with pretty straight forward costs. If you're NOT, well, be prepared to have to pay (yes, pay) to fix paperwork and retake classes. The school is cheap, but they do find ways to milk money out of you if you're not careful. It's good for getting the essentials before moving on to a university.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities put on for students around town by the Student Council, like college days at the local waterpark (at very little cost for the students), movie nights, and other things. Always check out the bulletin boards in the Student Union.

    Food and Dining

    The food is expensive and not particularly great.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes were snooze-fest easy, some were engaging, but none of them were actually academically difficult. It was more difficult just trying to work with some of the teachers, as some of them are particular.

    Tips for prospective students

    Triple check all admissions paperwork, and keep a close eye on your credits. The counselors don't always seem to keep up with program alterations and changes (which are sometimes retroactive), so half of the time you'll be on your own with keeping up on what to take and when to take it. Also, plan your classes wisely, as often times some required classes are on rotation. Take them in the wrong order, and you'll find yourself twiddling your thumbs for a semester, waiting for the class to be offered again.

    In three sentences

    Affordable, but it seems that depending on the class, you get what you pay for. Some classes kept me engaged and were wonderful learning experiences, while others were disorganized and made me wonder if these people were teachers or people pretending to be teachers. Word to the wise -- the administrative staff are not particularly nice, or organized, so be firm and be prepared to be given the run-around with paperwork.

  • 08/05/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    49 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I am only taking an online certificate program to get my teaching credentials together so I have no advice.

    In three sentences

    Good. Great. Awesome.

  • 12/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is great

    Clubs and Activities

    SGA IS FANTASTIC!

    Great for these types of students

    Very diverse campus

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing that I know of.....Great student support and unity

    Bang for the buck

    A lot of student fees within the tuition but that is everywhere. I feel Im getting a great education to carry me to my next step.

    What to do for fun

    SGA holds a lot of fun events

    Food and Dining

    Food is great! Local places also give discounts with student ID

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms but there are close apartment complexes that offer discounts to gulf coast students.

    Academic Rigor

    I am always challenged in my classes and they have great student support centers to help!

    In three sentences

    Great clean campus with a wonderful staff and AMAZING programs.

  • 12/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    When selecting the college for me, money was definitely on my mind. That is why I chose GCSC. Money wise, it was the best choice I could find, and that along with all the great things I found out about GCSC is why I chose to be a Gulf Coast State College Commodore.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, GCSC has lots of options for fun. We have our own gym and swimming pool. We are located on beachfront property, and near a lot of tourist attractions.

    Food and Dining

    GCSC has a great cafe with many, many food options. Options for health nuts, meatless diets, meat eaters, and anything you could think of. There is also a great coffee shop located int the cafe as well. Everything a college student could ask for.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately GCSC does not supply dorms but there are many options available otherwise around town.

    Academic Rigor

    GCSC pushes you past where you ever though your mind would go, and then some. But it does it in a way that you find yourself wanting more because you don't feel like you're doing it alone, so you feel supported by both your teachers and other students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students of GCSC are few and simple: -If you are unsure about your future, you can find help here, all you have to do is ask. Anyone and everyone is read and willing to help. -GCSC has so many choices for students who are starting out or for students who are starting new careers in their lives. So weather it is your first time applying to college or have already had a career or a family, GCSC is the place for you.

    In three sentences

    GCSC is a great school option for anyone who is not ready to take that step to a major college. It gives you the opportunity to have a one on one teacher student experience while at the same time becoming an independent, adult college student. Overall, GCSC is an amazing choice for the new college student just trying to figure out what they want to do with the rest of their life.

  • 01/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty safe. :)

    Greek Life

    None that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    Baptist Christian club, theater, Singing Commodores (show choir)...

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to go to college for about $2,000 per semester (including the textbooks in that figure)... Students who want a laid-back atmosphere without the extra stress that big-university professors can bring.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    The college large library is open until late at night, so you can study and do homework for a long time.

    What to do for fun

    You won't have much time for extra curricular activities if you attend this college full time. You'll have a lot of homework.

    Food and Dining

    The college's food is way too expensive and it doesn't taste that wonderful. Plus, if you're a vegetarian (like me), you won't find hardly anything to eat... The average price for just a panini is 5$. The fries are only about $1.75, though, and they give you a lot! Other foods they sell include hotdogs, grilled cheese, eggs (breakfast), chicken tenders, etc. Again, most of the food is too expensive though.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this college. But, there are condos, apartments, hotels, and motels surrounding the area.

    Academic Rigor

    Most professors really know what they're teaching. There will always be those few, though, who don't really teach you anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't get discouraged! Quite honestly, the faculty (administration, counselors, academic advisors, etc) are very unfriendly and unhelpful. If you have a question, they'll normally tell you to go speak to someone else...on the other side of the campus. No one seems to know what's going on and who knows the answer to your question. Although the faculty isn't so friendly or helpful, most of the professors are. Also, make sure you sign up quickly! Classes fill up fast!

    In three sentences

    Gulf Coast State College is a very relaxed and laid-back institution. Most of the professors are very kind and eager to help outside of class, as well. The campus overlooks the coast, so it's nice to do homework there in your free time.

  • 03/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a campus cop or two roaming around either on foot or on the campus vehicles. It is a very safe campus

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a very wide array of clubs at Gulf Coast. One of the bigger clubs is SGA, which is a very active club at this college. They are always hosting different and really fun events.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who want small class sizes, and for students who have an interest in really getting to know their professors.

    Bang for the buck

    Gulf Coast is extremely reasonable when it comes to tuition. Plus, if you really apply yourself, there are many different scholarship opportunities offered especially through the school.

    What to do for fun

    Gulf Coast is right on the water and less than a mile away from the Hathaway bridge that connects Panama City to Panama City Beach. One of the best things to do on a sunny day after class is head to the beach just a few miles away, or go shopping at Pier Park.

    Food and Dining

    Gulf coast has an awesome coffee bar inside of the food court. In almost every class I have, at least two people are drinking the coffee made fresh daily

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available at this college

    Academic Rigor

    Many individuals may believe that because this is a state college opposed to a university, that the classes and professors are much easier. However, I strongly believe that in many cases the classes here are just as tough as most universities. There have been classes that seemed almost impossible to pass, but with the help of my professors and many nights of studying, an A average was possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan to major in anything pre-med related, I highly suggest you choose to go to a university. The science department here is not as strong as the English department, and depending on the professor and your learning type, it may be difficult to obtain an A.

    In three sentences

    Gulf Coast State College is a good college to attend if you are not quite ready to head off to a big university after high school. The class sizes are typically the same size as your average high school class, and most of the professors there are very willing to help.

  • 06/15/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    54 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I wasn't involved in activities at the college but they do have a fun drive in movie night sometimes.

    Food and Dining

    I never ate at the cafeteria, however, Taco Bell close by offers a 10% discount for students. I did take advantage of that.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I was part of a college prep program in high school so I found many of the academic classes quite easy. Basically do your work and everything will be pretty easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Strike a good relationship with the Financial Aid Advisors to be sure that you take advanage of all the benefits available. I wish I had. Contact teachers if you ever need help or are behind and most will help you get back on track.

    In three sentences

    This college is extremely reasonable in price and, due to its size, offers more personalized support. However, this school does not provide the university life that prepares students for life after college. It does allow you to go anywhere after you graduate, though.

  • 07/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus is right by the water, so the most fun thing to do is lounge by the water to study or talk with friends. If the weather isn't great, there are always people in the cafeteria. The campus is very social so there are always people to talk to.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Gulf Coast is very good and reasonably priced. There is a variety of options so everyone can find something they like. The hours of operation are limited, though, so you can't enjoy the convenience of campus dining unless you are taking classes at a certain time of day.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on-campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    There is definitely less classwork and homework than at a university, but I believe I learned just as much. I feel that the classes here were less methodical, which lends to a classroom where students become engrossed in the subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a good idea of the classes you are wanting to take and the degree you are seeking. I knew the degree I wanted and the classes I still needed to take, but still ran into issues with advising. I received different information from different advisers. I ended up taking a course I didn't need because of the incorrect information I received.

    In three sentences

    Gulf Coast is a very friendly school. Every class has an open, friendly feel and the professors are all very passionate about the subjects they teach. The campus is definitely the most laid back and friendliest that I've visited.