Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Gwynedd Mercy College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be careful about your financial matters with the school. They tend to not help when first inquiring about it. Make sure to keep a copy of all records just in case. The dorm environment is a bit noisy so if you are considering dorming make sure to check it out before hand.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is extremely expensive. It shouldn't be as expensive as it is, but since it's a private college what would you expect.

    Am enjoying being here

    The environment is great. It is a quiet place. No overcrowding occurs.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot pertaining my major. The teachers are well educated and know what they are talking about. Some are easier than other, but I believe that all depends on the content that is being taught and that the students are trying to learn.

  • 01/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    students who like small and boring school focused schools

    Dorm Life

    acually pretty fun

    Academic Rigor

    nursing is the big one and its hard!

    Tips for prospective students

    the girls are ok but very clingy as well as the guys.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are several malls and movie theatres locally. They also plan weekend trips.

    Food and Dining

    Food was good and there were lots of choices.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone was friendly and hung out together.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors seem to care about your success. They also have high expectations for the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do an overnight visit to make sure it's right for you.

    In three sentences

    I really liked the campus and small class sizes. Everyone seemed to know each other and were very personal. I felt at home.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None that I know of.

    Great for these types of students

    Business, Nursing, and Education majors. Also, a great graduate school program!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The guy dorms during the summer can get very humid and uncomfortable.

    What to do for fun

    Just make friends and you'll be just fine!

    Tips for prospective students

    Gwynedd-Mercy College is better academically then campus life, so expect to be bored at times.

    In three sentences

    Gwynedd-Mercy College is a strong school academically. Since the largest classes only seat about 18-20 students, you are guaranteed direct attention from your professor.Overall I am very pleased with Gwynedd-Mercy College.

  • 12/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You feel very safe on this campus, our security officers do a great job.

    Clubs and Activities

    This school has a lot you could become involved in such as: Mercy mentors, Black student union, SNAPS, Volley ball, tennis, basketball, cheer-leading, dance teams, and so much more.

    Great for these types of students

    Great school for students who like small community bases campuses.

    What to do for fun

    There are movie theaters, malls, and lots of restaurants in close proximity to the school. So it's really up to you, take your pick!

    Dorm Life

    By living on campus you are able to actually become part of a community.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise prospective students to stay focused and stay on top of their work. Also to learn how to manage your time in productive efficient ways.

    In three sentences

    GMC is a great school with a beautiful campus. There are many great majors offered from Nusing to teaching or even Physical traning. Come to this School you will LOVE it!

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is one of the priorities here at Gwynedd. The security staff does not play and will not tolerate any mess. Its a relaxed environment that makes one feel extremely safe!

    Food and Dining

    The food offered here is amazing! There are multiple cafes and restaurants to eat at! Any and every student here LOVES the food too.;

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life on campus is very chill and calming. Depending on what hall you live in depends if it will be coed too. However, the is security in every hall which makes worrying less of a problem.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Gwynedd depend on the type of classes you take that deal with the major. My major is business, so when it comes down to my tests/projects/papers/homework I find myself always starting way ahead of time so I can have time to perfect it. If you are a hard working student, then the academic rigor will not be something to stress a lot about.

    Tips for prospective students

    Advice for future students who are interested in Gwynedd-Mercy is if they are looking for a close environment, then this is the place for you. Instead of being worried that your professors will remember you as Student #1, 2, 3... they will remember you by your name and character. Plus they will work with you if you need help with assignments and give you advice when you need and ask for it. The professors and faculty will always be their for you. It is a home away from home.

    In three sentences

    Gwynedd-Mercy College is amazing school for students who would love to be known by their name and not just a number. The faculty who work here are kind, loving, caring, and helpful people who make the experience even better than what it is. Anyone who applies and chooses to go here will feel more than welcomed with wide, open arms!

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety here on campus is phenomenal. I feel extremely safe here and although I hate walking by myself I feel that there is not much trouble that happens here on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities are all very involved here on campus each one shows ways for students to become leaders and make a difference by becoming a part of something that they may not have got a chance to otherwise.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want a small but great school, nursing, education, human services, are all great programs here at Gwynedd.

    What to do for fun

    Although the campus is very small there is plenty of ways to get involved for everyone here on campus. There are sports for the athletic types, faith building groups for religious oriented people, Student government, Student Activities Committees, Choir, and many more. There are a lot of great opportunities for service work that is affiliated with this college and very much of it is a lot of fun.

    Food and Dining

    Although the food and dining could be better here it is hard to complain because they give pretty many options. With three different places to dine on this small campus the cafe is a pretty good place to eat and every other place is good as well.

    Dorm Life

    Resident Hall life here is by far one of my favorite aspects of this college. With the triplex it is very personal and easy to meet new people. Rooms are comfortable and generally affordable. I enjoy living on campus because I am able to have more friends than if I was commuting.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academics at this school are excellent. With a wide range of staff, each professor makes a note to get to know you and gain a good relationship with each student. The professors are all very understanding and you can really tell they enjoy their jobs here.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip for students looking at Gwynedd would be to live on campus if possible, I feel that living on campus has helped my studies a lot because I am here and able to work with other students when times are very convenient.

    In three sentences

    Gwynedd Mercy College is a very personable, service-oriented school. This school has a lot to offer every person in all kinds of ways. They focus on the student and getting them to the goal they wish to achieve

  • 06/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    GMC public safety is good

    Greek Life

    None at GMC only honor societies

    Clubs and Activities

    If you want to get involved..which you should...there are tons of options. Most people that go to GMC and say it is boring it is because they are only involved in one club or athletic team. If you get involved around campus, get to know your professors and join a club related to your major you will gain more experience and skills. There are also fun clubs to join around campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is Spring Fling which is a small carnival at Gwynedd. Also Fall Fest, which is similar. Last year we had a concert a Gwynedd with Time Flies.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive being a private school, but you will learn specifics that will benefit you in your major due to the small class sizes. The largest class I ever had was about 20 students in a classroom.

    What to do for fun

    On thursday nights there is always either a late night movie playing, a comedian show, or a dance on campus. On weekends it is pretty dead unless you are an athlete. Then you have games or practice. During finals they get a masseuse to come to the library to give students massages.

    Food and Dining

    The food is healthy and good. It's not home cooking but it's not bad. The best part is fresh fruit and ice cream are available every day!

    Dorm Life

    At GMC, the dorms are way better than most schools that I saw when I was looking for which college was best for me. As a freshmen student I lived in a suite style dorm which was very roomy. It also had air conditioning and heating. If you choose to as a freshmen you can live in a freshmen only dorm building. That building does not have suites or air conditioning, but the room is still roomy.

    Academic Rigor

    The nursing program is elite to other programs at gwynedd. It is difficult because students begin clinical freshmen year instead of junior year like most other colleges allow. All other majors focus on strong liberal arts backgrounds.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not party at Gwynedd, everyone will know about it. Gwynedd is such a small school and word gets around fast. If you want to drink or party go off campus.

    In three sentences

    This school is very small and has wonderfully small class sizes, which make you as a student feel that you are learning everything you can due to the small sized classes. The key to surviving GMC as a resident student is to get involved in clubs, athletics, and work study on campus if you are given work study aid. Gwynedd is a great school for nursing majors, education majors and the school of business is growing as well as criminal justice.

  • 03/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is the main priorities, and public safety does a great job. Public Safety makes sure that everyone is safe, such as making sure the campus is relaxing. Only students that have GMU identification cars can enter the building.

    Greek Life

    None at Gwynedd Mercy U. only honor societies.

    Clubs and Activities

    The activities are boring, and many students don't attend.

    Great for these types of students

    Boring schools are the best schools because you can focus more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none.

    Bang for the buck

    GMercyU is very expensive because its a private school.

    What to do for fun

    There are some activities that goes on during the week, except on the weekends. The campus is small and there's not much to do unless you have friends. The gym and weight room is available to students.

    Food and Dining

    The food offered here is not the best, and there are not many food choices. If there were more food choice, the food would be enjoyable. There are multiple cafe at GmercyU, but only one stay open longer than the others. The main cafe closes at 7pm, while Pep stay open until 11pm.

    Dorm Life

    Resident Hall life here at Gwynedd is one of my favorites because they triplex has more new people meet. The dorms are very comfortable accept Loyola Hall. Loyola has no air conditioning like Siena Hall and St. Brigid Hall. Siena Hall and St. Brigid Hall is coed, unlike Loyola Hall. I feel that living on campus is a great experience because I can meet new people each day. Living on campus make you feel more a part of the school.

    Academic Rigor

    Professor are very caring and want each student to learn. The professors have high expectations for every student. The classes are very small, so it make it easier to communicate with your professors. However, students that need help studying, can go to the ARC; tutoring, which is free of charge. It is also great to start studying ahead before a test comes up, it will help you a lot on the test, quiz, homework or any other assignments. Hard working students seem to have less issues being successful. For advice, after every class look over your notes and readings to get a full understanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focus and do all of your work. Do not miss any classes because it will reflect in your grade. In addition to our campus, it is very boring, but use that time to study because it will help you alot.

    In three sentences

    Gwynedd Mercy University is an amazing school to attend. This school has so much to offer students that are willing to learn. This school focus a lot on the students and trying to help them achieve their goals.