Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Hagerstown Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/27/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for anyone--working students, full time students, parents, students continuing education, or those who just want to see what one class is like.

    Tips for prospective students

    Manage your time and ask questions if you have any-it'll help you a lot to make informed decisions as well as cut out stress. Work hard and you'll succeed!

    Bang for the buck

    This college is very affordable and the financial aid office does an excellent job of helping you find financial aid. It's a terrific start to the college experience.

    Am enjoying being here

    The facilities are great for learning and meeting friends. The library is a great place to study or meet for study groups between classes! There are two different places to eat that have great food for an on-the-go lifestyle.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors have an open door policy and can answer any questions that you have. They support your interests and allow for open speech in class. If they don't have an answer to a question, they'll work hard to find the right one.

  • 05/05/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is so safe that the security has plenty of time to write me a ticket for using the staff parking lot. =)

    Clubs and Activities

    Good variety of clubs. But it's not a highly funded college, so there is a chance that any one specific club might not be available. I.E.- Football is not a sports option.

    Great for these types of students

    Bargain hunters that want a good course selection and accreditation. Not many extra glam or glitz options to this college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The new Career Development Building has a VERY nice sun-lit lounge room for doing school work or socializing.

    Bang for the buck

    The only reason I gave this a four instead of five star is that I had to re-take a few courses. The reason I had to is so I could avoid a few B grades from previously mentioned undotted I's. It could have been avoided, true. But it could also have been corrected, because it was (admittedly) an instructor's mistake on both counts.

    Food and Dining

    It's not gourmet, but I don't really expect it to be, anyway. There are a few options for places to sit with friends/study buddies and grab something to munch on.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at all. No deals with local apartments or rental offices, either.

    Academic Rigor

    I never found any of the courses terribly difficult, but some were fairly challenging. It felt like a good average. I am giving a 4 star (instead of 5) because many courses didn't feel like they were especially rigorous by themselves, which I'm sure plenty students will appreciate as a good thing. =)

    Tips for prospective students

    Cross your T's and dot your I's ahead of time. Almost all of the instructors will work with just about any issue you could run into. However...if anything slips through, some of them can forget that you are a customer paying for a service, and it *will* impact your GPA.

    In three sentences

    A great option for value, course selection, convenience, and desire to work with the student's needs.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Students can hang out in the gym, play sports with other students in their. Everyone is very friendly and willing to meet new people.

    Food and Dining

    The food has a good quality and reasonably priced.

    Dorm Life

    I do not think dorms are available through HCC..

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to take advantage of all of the help HCC has available for its students.

    In three sentences

    The instructors are well-educated or their subjects along with enthusiastic about teaching them. There is a lot of availability for help and tutoring. This is an overall great school.

  • 01/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    clubs and activities

    Food and Dining

    the college has two dinning settings and both are great in location and in food.

    Dorm Life

    the college has no dorm rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    despite the fact that this is a community college the academic rigor is that of any four year institute.

    Tips for prospective students

    this is a great college to help you ease into college life. i have learned a lot from this college and this college has prepared me for a four year institute,

    In three sentences

    this college is a great choice for anyone that wants to stay close to home and continue their education. the professors are superb and the class size is great. this is a credential college too.

  • 04/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's ideal for students that want to get their general education classes out of the way before transferring to a 4 year college because HCC is much cheaper than universities. It's also a good place to explore what you want to do in terms of a career path.

    Bang for the buck

    The classese are significantly cheaper than that of 4 year colleges and many of the books can be found online for a cheaper price if you prefer that to the campus bookstore.

    What to do for fun

    They have a gym and fields and a tennis court to do some physical activities. There are also many clubs and activities for all kinds of people to get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the grill is a little more expensive but at the other food spot it is a much nicer environment. You can create your own salads and pick out what you want for lunch instead of having a prepackaged meal.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't dorms since it's a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are usually very helpful and will meet you after class to help if you need something. Many of the classes are easy enough that if you read the text book the class won't be difficult at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's best to take advantage of the counselors that they provide to plan out class schedules. Also, being involved with a club can help in the social aspect of college and allow you to meet new people.

    In three sentences

    It's a small college with a campus small enough that it's simple to walk around. There are learning centers available to help with studying. And the classroom size is small enough the teachers can help if you are struggling.

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus policemen always on campus and willing/ready to help you! They do their best to keep you safe!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a wide variety of clubs on campus and they are easy to get involved in. Check them out and see what yah like!

    Bang for the buck

    HCC is very affordable!

    What to do for fun

    There are many sporting events, concerts, and theater/musical plays students can attend for free!

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty great, sometimes pricy though.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of my classes have not been too challenging. Honestly, I have only bought one book and have been able to maintain a 4.0 my first year.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open-minded and willing to get involved! Your experience is what you make it.

    In three sentences

    Hagerstown Community College is a great place to start for students who are undecided for their future or are looking to save a lot of money! There are many opportunities to be involved on campus. Most of the teachers are friendly and helpful.

  • 11/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    HCC has their own campus police that are dedicated to making sure the students are safe while attending school. If you need help or have an issue you can call them and they will come out and help you.

    Clubs and Activities

    All types of activities and clubs are on campus for anyone interest and if someone wants to join a club that HCC doesn't have they can always start that club.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for people who want an education at a great price, but also want to be close to their home. It is also good for people who want to get to know other people that live in the same area as them.

    Bang for the buck

    The price at HCC is great compared to other colleges. For your tution, students are allowed access to all library materials online and at the campus, gym, and other resources around the campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun. There are clubs and sports to join. The student activity center also hosts holiday activities put on by all of the clubs.

    Food and Dining

    There are two places to eat at HCC and their food is pretty good. There are are always places to sit and eat. They are also great places to meet new people.

    Dorm Life

    This college does not offer dorms because it is a commuter college which means that students live off campus and come to the college for classes, clubs, sports or other activities.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are normal for college, but there are less kids in your classes so that makes it easier to ask questions about material you don't understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before going to Hagerstown Community College, HCC, I would suggest talking with an advisor about classes so you know how to sign up for classes and know what classes you need to take.

    In three sentences

    Hagerstown Community College is a nice, small campus. The people are nice and friendly. The professors are very informative and the classes are small.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    -Campus police circle the premises daily and nightly. -Campus police also are available to walk female students to their nights classes.

    Greek Life

    -HCC has a club called Phi Theta Kappa.

    Clubs and Activities

    -Hcc has so many clubs and activities that I cannot name them all. -Here's a sample: Jiu Jitsu club Humanitarian Club phi Theta Kappa Black Student Union Student Government Campus Ministries Psychology Club Anime Club and much more

    Great for these types of students

    -Students who wish to receive a quick degree -Older student who want to receive another degree or GED

    What to do for fun

    -HCC has alot of clubs and organizations like Humanitarian Club and Black Student Union. There often bus trips to places like West Virginia, New York, and D.C.

    Food and Dining

    -The food can be expensive at times

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    -Certain teachers recquire students to work harder and to excel. Overall the professors have a tendency to be more relaxed about things. The work is not overtly challenging. Depending on the professor, the work is about average.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Come to this college with a goal in mind -Work very hard to achieve goal while attending this college -Do not slack on work

    In three sentences

    Hcc is a great place to earn a quick 2-year degree or certificate. It is highly enriching and encourages its students to grow and to excel. It allows students to figure out where they want to be in life.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always see campus police driving, and walking around the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Cheerleading Dance team Gamer club Future Teachers Outdoor Club

    Great for these types of students

    Great school for all students!

    Bang for the buck

    HCC is very reasonably priced school!

    What to do for fun

    They always have activities going on for their students. We had rock climbing, dances,and alots of contest! What I loved the Most was cheering on a club team. I thought leaving high school would be the last time I would cheer, but thankfully HCC gave me one more year of the sport I love.

    Food and Dining

    I am extremely surprised, but HCC food is not that bad! Sometimes I do feel like it is over priced though!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    HCC does have a deans list.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the Acodemic testing seriously! I did not, and I could have saved myself a lot of money if I did.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Hagerstown Community College a 9 out of 10. It is a very convenient, and decently priced. Also, all the teachers I have had are very dedicated, and passionate at what they do.

  • 02/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always see campus police everywhere I go outside walking on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am the president of Anime Club, and future members of LARP and Leadership Club.

    Great for these types of students

    Teachers are willing to work one on one with them, and creates a unique environment. A majority of students are nice, and

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Support Center is a wonderful study hall, and I love the STEM building since my classes are pretty much there.

    Bang for the buck

    The price of tuition is very convenient for good education before transferring to a four year college or graduating.

    What to do for fun

    I love to play with my kitty and write poetry. I also love to watch anime and play Steam games.

    Food and Dining

    I love the vanilla pudding at HCC, and the Krempe's donuts they sale every Tuesday.

    Dorm Life

    I have no dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I strive to do my best in all my classes, and study as much as possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should have find time to study, and keep a positive outlook.

    In three sentences

    It's a great advanced community college with great factually and students. I have made plenty of friends there being in different clubs. Also, the staff is always there to help!

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always available when you need them.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs to choose from on campus. If you're not sure which one to join there is a club fair almost every semester.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students just transitioning from high school, or for students who have been out of school for a while and need to get back into the kick of things.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    All over the campus are multiple trees which bear hedge apples. The unique fruit is the inspiration for the schools annual literary magazine.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the time and money.

    What to do for fun

    The college offers many clubs and activities all over campus. The student center is a great place to meet up between classes and even has a game room where people can get together and play video games.

    Food and Dining

    There are two places to eat on campus. The Hilltop is open late so even night time students can still enjoy some hot food, and the Eatery is open in the morning and provides a multitude of different options.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are enriching. They are not as high standard as most universities but everyone still receives an awesome education that is not too overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Don't overwhelm yourself. Hagerstown Community College doesn't charge a lump sum for a semester. Instead the tuition is based on how many credits you take. There's no need to overwhelm yourself with so many classes like at other universities. -Don't be afraid to change you majors. HCC is a great place to really explore what field interests you. Instead of paying tens of thousands of dollars at a 4 year school where you may discover that you don't actually enjoy the field your studying HCC is a much more affordable option where you can test run many different opportunities

    In three sentences

    HCC is a great school for people who are just starting their college experience. It's affordable and the classes are still enriching and worth while! They offer many different fields of study and that allows everyone to receive the education they desire at a rate that works for them.

  • 03/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Plenty of security and campus police.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to list!

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for students who have not decided what they would like to major in yet and need to explore options. Also, students who have never been away from home will enjoy the small town feel of the community.

    Bang for the buck

    There is financial aid and scholarships. HCC is fairly inexpensive.

    What to do for fun

    There are many, many clubs and organizations to join. Most of the clubs keep the members involved in group travel and cultural events into the larger cities such as New York, Philadelphia and DC.

    Food and Dining

    The Valley Eatery is great. It has fresher/healthier food choices than the Hill Top Grill. Unfortunately, the Hill Top Grill is open later than the Valley Eatery.

    Dorm Life

    We do not have on-campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    All of the STEM (Science, Technology,Engineering, Math) programs are challenging. Many students have said HCC's STEM classes/programs were more intense than the Universities they have transferred to. However, all of the transfer students felt prepared.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the new STEM programs. With the right grades, 4-year colleges will start recruiting you.

    In three sentences

    HCC is what you make it! It can be a great experience with many transfer opportunities and exposure to cultural events and diverse student organizations/clubs.

  • 03/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus contains a newly constructed STEM building. A true piece of art that resembles an architectural structure typically found in large metropolitan areas. The exterior is primarily constructed of glass and represents true technology and innovation.

    Bang for the buck

    For those who desire a higher education at an affordable price, Hagerstown Community College is the place to be. From the level of professionalism found throughout the college community, and the willingness of others to help you succeed, Hagerstown Community College is the place to be for all your educational needs. Come for a visit and see for yourself.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is located in scenic Western Maryland, Civic War territory. Western Maryland is considered by many to be the land of great outdoors. The campus offers a wide variety of entertainment and events throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    The campus offers a large array of dining facilities. If time is a factor, a student can obtain a quick bite to eat at the Hill Top Grill. All dining facilities are kept clean and provide ample seating in a very comfortable atmosphere.

    Dorm Life

    My college does not currently offer on campus residency. However, the surrounding area provides affordable housing for students. The housing supply in the local area is approximately less than one mile from campus.

    Academic Rigor

    A student career will involve academic rigor, and the courses at Hagerstown Community College programs will reflect the necessary challenges as expected through higher education and much more. The course programs are primarily designed to prepare a student for transfer to a four-year college. The rigorous courses in many of these programs are specifically designed to assist students in preparation for future college transfer in a systematic approach.

    Tips for prospective students

    Initially, all students should become familiar with the entire campus. They should also educate themselves on navigation of the college website. Most importantly, they should make a commitment to higher education and completion.

    In three sentences

    Hagerstown Community College aims to provide a source of higher education for a wide spectrum of students. Students vary from recent graduates to senior citizens. Most importantly, there is no discrimination and each individual is readily accepted and encouraged to be an active participate in the college environment.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Located in a good part of town and right off the highway.

    Greek Life

    PTK honors society is a bunch of awesome people to get to know.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different clubs to join and those people treat you like family.

    Great for these types of students

    Who want to start getting their education but not pay an arm and a leg for it.

    Bang for the buck

    You get your money's worth but research your teachers.

    What to do for fun

    Not much to do, at all.

    Food and Dining

    Expensive and don't have many healthy options. Also, only one place to get coffee.

    Dorm Life

    No on campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Most students don't try or are unmotivated. Most teachers push you and there are tons of helpful resources and tutors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask lots of questions especially if you're doing it on your own for the first time. Join some of the clubs and start searching for scholarships now for when you transfer. Research your teachers.

    In three sentences

    A good affordable way to start your education. Variety of classes available. They have helpful online tools.

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It's a great place to start ahead and get a glimpse of what college is like. I'm taking my general studies here and it has been the easiest way to prepare myself mentally and financially for my future once I transfer to a University.

  • 12/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very, very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    The student activities people put on some things, but I've never really gone to any.

    Food and Dining

    It's pretty good and affordable for a community college.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms. but there is an apartment complex right across the street. No special student pricing though.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are hard and others aren't.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask for help if you need it. There's tons of academic support and tutoring available

    In three sentences

    The professors are very helpful and communicate clearly. The price is right. It is very easy to get extra help if you need it.

  • 04/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are constantly on the clock. It's hard to feel unsafe at HCC.

    Clubs and Activities

    Could definitely be more publicity regarding clubs, as well as more clubs added.

    Great for these types of students

    HCC is definitely a great school for people who are definitely planning to transfer later on. HCC offers a huge variety of general education classes that transfer, and even have great deals with other Maryland state universities.

    Bang for the buck

    As a county resident, you get the best prices. Estimated price for a full load would most likely be $1600 (including books, if bought off Amazon).

    Tips for prospective students

    The more college level classes you take during your time in high school, the easier it will be when completing your semesters at HCC. And start getting used to waking up earlier - parking is a nightmare.

    In three sentences

    Hagerstown Community College's (HCC) motto is, Stay Close, Go Far - HCC has always managed to consistently follow that. HCC offers a variety of classes, and teachers know what they're doing. The small classes allow the students to feel like they can participate, as well as have a better relationship with their teachers.

  • 09/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus!

    Clubs and Activities

    HCC has many great clubs and student activities and offers many ways to become involved on and off campus.

    Bang for the buck

    HCC is such an affordable school compared to the prices of 4 year schools.

    In three sentences

    HCC is a great school for anyone. Small class sizes and great professors who are always willing to help.