Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Hamilton College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/28/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 out of 25 people found this review useful. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who don't mind being away from the city, since the area surrounding Hamilton is fairly rural and at times, isolating (but Hamilton certainly provides the tools, activities, etc. for students to make their own fun and you rarely need to leave campus. if you do want to, there is a shuttle that brings you into town, to the mall/movies, etc.). People who want to be challenged but rewarded. Those who believe in the work hard, play hard motto. People who have a wide variety of interests and want to try new things (Hamilton prides itself on its open curriculum, which is both unique and liberating for students and there are tons of extracurriculars and opportunities to get involved). Students who want a great education, the 'small New England liberal arts school' experience, highly interactive classes, a close-knit community, state of the art facilities, and a beautiful campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do an overnight. You really cannot gauge if you will be happy/fit into a school if you simply take a tour or attend an information session. Visit classes. This is a great way to get a feel for a school's academics. If you get a chance, visit campus more than once and definitely try to go there when classes are in session. The more times you get a chance to visit a school, the more you can potentially see and experience. In addition, coming when classes are in session allows you to see what the student body is like through meal periods, classes etc. Meet with a professor, coach, student athlete, etc. when you come to campus. Be honest and genuine in all of your application material including your essays and interviews, because it will definitely show. If you're interested and Hamilton is your number one choice, let interviewers and admissions staff know that.

    Bang for the buck

    I am definitely getting my parents' money's worth. Sure, Hamilton is definitely expensive, even with financial aid, but that holds true for almost any college of its caliber. I think that it is definitely worth the price, as I feel that I have learned more in my first semester than I ever could have imagined.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it. I think social life at Hamilton is whatever you make it out to be; there are really options for everyone, no matter one’s interests or comfort zone. If people want to go out and party on the weekends, they can or if they want to stay in and watch a movie, go to a sports match, knit a scarf, or meditate, they can do that too. I really believe that Hamilton offers such a wide variety of extra curricular activities and campus events, that anyone and everyone can meet other people with similar interests. In all of the different club meetings and sports activities that I have attended, from HEAG to intramural soccer, I can honestly say that everyone has been really friendly and welcoming. Given that Hamilton has such an athletic campus and that sports are not my forte, I am happy that it offers several different levels of competition. Having already participated in two intramurals and a club sport, I realized that people can really choose their commitment and skill level when it comes to athletics, which are an easy and laidback way to meet new people.

    Am learning a lot

    I have been extremely pleased with my academic experience at Hamilton. My professors have challenged me intellectually and really pushed me to new levels, while remaining friendly, professional, and passionate about their subject. They have encouraged me to ask questions, think critically, and effectively convey my ideas both verbally in class and in individual discussion, as well as in writing through papers and projects. I am a huge fan of Hamilton’s open curriculum as it has allowed me to pursue areas of immediate interest, while letting me to step out of my academic comfort zone and try new things. I honestly have never done as much work as I did this past semester; it has been a both demanding and rewarding past four months. On somewhat of a whim and with no prior background, I decided to take Mandarin Chinese, not having any idea what I was getting myself into. I now know why Hamilton can pride itself on its superior Chinese program, as I have never been pushed so hard academically, nor have I found a class so rewarding. The professors have been encouraging, while the coursework is extremely challenging. I still am amazed that we have learned over two hundred characters and can effectively speak in only one semester of study. The interdisciplinary nature of my schedule, in particular, has encouraged me to pursue other courses that fuse different academic focuses and also reminded me of the importance of approaching every issue from multiple perspectives. It was this time during first semester, when three of my classes overlapped, that I truly realized that Hamilton College was the right place for me. It was a powerful feeling to know that I could use knowledge I had gained in one class and readily and confidently apply it elsewhere.

  • 12/05/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 9 people found this review useful. 2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students who really want to write effectively and speak efficiently. It's a tough liberal art college and they really want you to be successful. If you came to learn techniques that will help you toward your future career, this is the college where you want to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit Hamilton and see if you like it yourself. The campus is really pretty and it's worth the experience. Spend a day or two with the current students and experience what's it like being in a college class. Ask a lot of questions whether it's class related or social activities.

    Bang for the buck

    Hamilton is an expensive school if your not given financial aids. My financial aid was really good and that's why I came to this college. They offer full scholarship to low income students and merit scholarship.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's pretty nice here especially during spring time. There's a lot going on in Hamilton, such as HAVOC, which is a volunteer organization, parties during weekend, plays, etc.

    Am learning a lot

    You are always learning in Hamilton whether it's during class or doing community services. Every class is challenging and the professor expects you to do your best which means going to office hours and ask for tutoring. You also have to commit hours and hours to do HW and learn the materials if you really want to pass.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We are very blessed to be up a hill, it's almost like the ivory tower. You won't see many people that aren't part of the college community. And there isn't a reason you couldn't walk across campus in the middle of the night, unless your afraid of the dark. Campus Safety usually break up parties that are too loud, opens doors when you forgot your key, or drive you up to your dorm if you aren't feeling well.

    Greek Life

    Very prominent - but not necessary. There is only one sorority that has other charters, thus greek life is hardly what it seems.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots to choose from!

    Great for these types of students

    Hamilton College is great for the student that wants to work hard and go off the beaten track a bit. We are very proud to be a liberal arts college. The majority of the students don't have a one track mind. The campus is riddled with people from many walks of life and quirky personalities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Because the campus mirrors a lot of Harry Potters architecture, the student has an annual Harry Potter dress up day around October. You'll see a lot of the neighboring community come up for the event year after year. We also have a streaking team that without fail shows up nude at the most inappropriate times eg. parent weekend, alumni weekend, and at the library during finals They are celebrated on campus and have even been featured in the news!

    Bang for the buck

    Hamilton College is really expensive and though they have Ivy League funding for the most state of the art facilities, I think they can put a lot more into the dorm rooms and food. Or at least open up the food options for private companies to set up shop! Having said that, the teachers are top notch and the career center make it feel like an investment for my future.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs they hardly fit on the track! There's even a club called People that like to do fun things and The Do Something Club. There are all kinds of free events on campus like laser tagging, paint balling, concerts, guest speakers, movie screenings, plays, art shows, bumper carts, 3-story rock climbing, swimming, dancing! Like any college the most common thing to do on campus is party Thursday thru Saturday.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of options on campus. Mc Ewen dinning hall is for the healthy students seeking lean meat, vegetarian options, or a simple sandwich. The Diner is a 50's styled diner complete with burgers, fries, malts, and a jukebox! Then there is Commons dinning hall. Its structure resembles something you'd see in Harry Potter movies, but it's food is all about comfort! There is always at least 3 kinds of pasta, 5 freshly made pizzas, a salad bar, a burger and chicken grill, sandwich bar, fruit racks, 8 tubs of ice cream, and 7 kinds of cereal. Commons is the go to place when you want variety. Freshman year I thought this was all great! But by sophomore year your taste buds are begging for change. I think that's why they allowed the Euphoria Smoothie Shop and the 2 Opus Cafes to open on campus. But dishing out extra money for a smoothie and some coffee isn't what my taste buds are craving while on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Being an affluent school I expected the dorms to be more charming. But in all honesty, the dorms sometimes lack heat or provide too much heat. The sizes are often inconsistent with the floor plan you are to choose from during the lottery. And there are some rooms where you can't get WiFi. However, I think having a great roommate or living next door to friends can always be fun! Majority of the time you are at the study halls, or dining halls, or common rooms. Dorm rooms are for the occasional movie night and sleeping in.

    Academic Rigor

    Let's put it this way, Hamilton College's A- range is a 92%! It is incredibly hard to earn a 92% let alone a solid A. Teachers really push you to give your best on every assignment and as long as you are doing your coursework and studying for the tests there's no reason you wouldn't get a B. If that's unacceptable for you, be prepared to visit office hours frequently, participate in class discussion regularly, and go the extra mile to really know the subject. Thankfully, Hamilton College sends out a letter to any graduate school you'd like to attend, making them aware of the difficult grading scale.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going to attend Hamilton College you definitely want to brush up on the basics of writing. I haven't heard of a single class that doesn't involve writing. If there is one thing Hamilton will make you- it's a good writer. I'd also advise you to get involved! The winters are harsh and long without activity to stimulate your sense of purpose time can go a lot slower. And my last piece of advise is study abroad!!! The school almost makes it part of the curriculum for students to study abroad. About 50% of your junior class will study abroad to the various universities, college, and programs Hamilton has kindled a relationship with- so don't miss out!

    In three sentences

    I go to school in a postcard; the campus is absolutely gorgeous! The teachers are warm mentors that often invite you to their homes for a meal and intellectual conversation. Hamilton College is a quirky private college nestled atop a hill, where you'll find the future business and government leaders as well as pre-meds and noir artists enjoying the weather together.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A little lenient at times, especially with noise complaints. However, they patrol the campus at all hours and respond quickly to actual emergencies. They also have a strong working relationship with the on-campus EMT squad, which helps keeps students safe.

    Greek Life

    While roughly 20-30% of both genders participate in Greek life, it isn't exclusive. There is no Greek housing on campus, so the societies act more like clubs in the sense that they need to request social spaces like everyone else. They bring a different dynamic to the weekend social scene, but their gatherings must be all-campus, so everyone is always welcome. Overall, it is easy to get involved, but you don't have to if Greek life isn't your cup of tea.

    Great for these types of students

    Hamilton is great for hardworking students that want to take an active role in their education. Classes are small, so prospective students should be willing to talk and advocate for themselves with professors. This is not a school where you can fade into the background.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club, go to a sporting event, throw a frisbee on one of the lawns around campus - there are lots of fun things to do and it is hard to get bored, even though the school is in a more rural setting.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great when you start off. It can get a little repetitive after the first month or so. But the stir-fry in Mcewan is to die for!

    Dorm Life

    Most of the dorms are very nice. I love that freshmen aren't secluded in their own residence halls. Instead, all of the class years are mixed together and it gives students the opportunity to make friends in different class years.

    Academic Rigor

    I was top 5% of my high school class and thought college wouldn't be any different. Hamilton gave me a reality check because your professors make you work incredibly hard and you are surrounded by other students that were also at the top of their high school classes. The academic curriculum is incredibly challenging, but just as rewarding if you are willing to put time into your education. It takes a lot of time and school work consumes most of the week, but will help you become a better studier and a stronger student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go on a pre-orientation trip - it's a quick and fun way to make friends before school starts. When visiting, don't just stay for the tour. Spend more time on campus. The beauty of Hamilton can be seen in the everyday interactions of the small community, which can't always be seen during an hour long tour.

    In three sentences

    Hamilton is a small community where everyone matters. With Hamilton, I found a wealth of experiences and opportunities to grow. For me, Hamilton has been a great place to plan for the future and enjoy the present.

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Whether it's frat parties and silent disco or a cappella concerts and one of the many college-scheduled events, you won't be bored. The plethora of clubs and activities, too, will keep you busy. (The People Who Like To Do Fun Things club is always looking for new members!)

    Food and Dining

    The food is great! The two dining halls offer different options to avoid repetition, and although you may get a little bored, that is truly the only fault. The food is delicious. If a mundane day ever comes around there are other dining opportunities not too far away in town!

    Dorm Life

    Almost every dorm is enviable. Hamilton takes care of the dorms really well, and whether you end up on the old-style Light Side or the 60's concrete block Dark Side there are many advantages to each. The old-style dorms are beautiful and roomy, while the 60's architecture lets in tons of light with the huge windows and has awesome walk-in closets to boot! Freshman dorms are pretty nice, but they get SO much better!

    Academic Rigor

    Hamilton's academic rigor is right on, in my opinion. It is challenging, but just enough for the intellectually curious and hard-working students who attend! Good luck to science students, you have a lot of work ahead of you, and try not to take to many writing intensive classes at once, but it is certain that whatever is handed to you, you can handle.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit! I did not make my first visit to the Hill until April, but oh, how I wish I had visited earlier! The campus is beautiful and open. The atmosphere is so welcoming, and everyone I spoke to was so helpful and kind. Be sure that you want a small school though, because Hamilton is pretty tiny!

    In three sentences

    Hamilton College is for you if you love to learn, if you are enthusiastic and outdoorsy. If you are looking for a homey, small school with a cute little town, look no further. Hamilton is a truly wonderful place.

  • 01/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very helpful.

    Greek Life

    present, but not a dominating force at all.

    Clubs and Activities

    the campus is filled with clubs who are very welcoming and plan great activities for the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    students who actually want to learn and get something out of their college experience and who aren't afraid of the cold.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    at the end of every year there is class and charter day, which marks the anniversary of the school receiving it's charter. it is the last day of classes and there are many lectures and awards handed out on this day, as well as a concert.

    Bang for the buck

    while expensive, hamilton delivers a top notch education. the classes are challenging, the professors are approachable and very willing to help.

    What to do for fun

    everyone stays on campus so there's always something to do, always something fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    visit the college in the fall or spring, the campus is beautiful then, make sure to actually visit before you apply.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They really care about the students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a very active streaking team.

    What to do for fun

    There are a ton of clubs and sports teams. And lots of free activities on campus. All-campus parties on the weekends are well-attended.

    Food and Dining

    Really good, though can get repetitive.

    Dorm Life

    Great dorms, especially for upperclassmen.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are tougher than others, but I've found myself challenged. If you put in the time you'll do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you like the social atmosphere before you make your decision. Coming from the midwest, the east coast attitude at Hamilton was a bit of a culture shock.

    In three sentences

    Hamilton professors really care about teaching. The campus is gorgeous, though chilly in the winter. The open curriculum is amazing.

  • 06/17/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    Seems like so much fun!

    Will learn a lot

    The diversity of interests among the student body make it seem like I'll learn a lot both in an out of the classroom

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is okay, but relatively quiet

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great college for hardworking and very social people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The glenn is a great place for just about everything.

    What to do for fun

    All campus parties happen all the time on weekends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stay involved.

    In three sentences

    It is an expensive but worthwhile private institution. The professors are great and the food is good. The social life includes greek life, but isn't tied to it.

  • 08/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is great here. There are always a lot of options, and the hours are convenient. The diner is my favorite.

    Dorm Life

    Hamilton has the best dorms!!! Even the freshman dorms are really nice. There are a variety of options open to all grades-singles, doubles, quads, and more. Also, you are guaranteed housing all four years.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at this school live up to their expectations. The professors are challenging, but always helpful. They are very critical of your writing, and require you to take writing-intensive courses.

    In three sentences

    I love the close sense of community here. The students and professors are always nice and helpful. I wish there were more school spirit, especially at athletic events.

  • 08/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a club or sport. There are so many options that there is no excuse for not being involved. These activities will link you up with people with similar interests as you.

    Food and Dining

    Really good quality food. There aren't many places off campus, but on campus the food is great.

    Dorm Life

    The lottery system is pretty cool.

    Academic Rigor

    Work hard, play hard. The work is hard, but a lively social scene makes up for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    VISIT! Experience what Hamilton is like on a normal school day or weekend. It will help you really understand the school.

    In three sentences

    Hamilton is a great school and seems to be very underrated. It is a good balance between social and academics. The people at Hamilton are extremely friendly and down-to-earth.

  • 09/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Hamilton's campus is very safe but if you ever feel uncomfortable, campus safety is always on-call and will be willing to escort you to wherever it is you need to go.

    What to do for fun

    Hamilton has a wide variety of clubs, ranging from Model United Nations to Scottish Country Dancing. At the beginning of the year, Hamilton hosts a club night where the clubs set up tables and introduce themselves to you.

    Food and Dining

    There are two main dining halls in Hamilton as well as several other restaurants. One of the dining halls, McEwan, uses organic food and caters more towards vegetarians and vegans, although it does serve meat. The other dining hall has a wide variety of food and its menu changes every day.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Hamilton are quite big and there are a large variety of activities in each dorm. Some have designated quiet spots for people who prefer to live in a quieter environment while others tend to have parties on the weekend.

    Academic Rigor

    Hamilton is an incredibly challenging school. Additionally, Hamilton is one of few schools to use an open curriculum, which means that there are no specific graduation requirements (there are requirements for your major). This means that if you're undecided about your major, you have more time to explore different subjects, plus you never have to take a subject you hate ever again.

    Tips for prospective students

    Hamilton is a challenging school to be accepted into so keep your grades up and get involved in your school and community.

    In three sentences

    Hamilton is a close-knit school where the professors and other students are always willing to help anyone in need with basically anything. The actual campus itself is beautiful and the food here is great, especially for college food. Additionally, the classes are challenging but most professors have office hours where they're willing to spend time going through your questions one by one.

  • 10/14/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with people

    Food and Dining

    Commons wasn't the best food ever but very decent.

    Dorm Life

    The light and dark side are pretty cool with no terrible dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Great reputation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus!

    In three sentences

    The vibe of the campus is incredible. Everyone is super friendly and willing to talk to you about Hamilton and the college process in general.

  • 08/11/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is delicious and varied. The dining hall looks like Hogwarts.

    Dorm Life

    Very few students leave for the weekend. A great social campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes and curriculum is oriented toward writing and presenting ability. The graduation requirements include several classes that are writing-intensive.

  • 10/01/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking, intelligent, independent

    What to do for fun

    Hiking in the Adirondacks! Joining an acapella group, or one of the million other clubs they have.

    Food and Dining

    As a vegetarian, I was super happy that they have a lot of options. There are lots of places to eat on campus that are varied, and the surrounding area of Clinton has some charming places as well.

    Dorm Life

    All of the buildings are amazing. Some dorms are located in these old-fashioned ornate stone buildings, and others are in these spacious modern block ones. The campus is a mish mosh of the old and the new, and I LOVE IT.

    Academic Rigor

    Being a little ivy, Hamilton clearly has great academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Every one who goes to Hamilton is the kind of student who would get merit scholarships at most other colleges. Keep your GPA and SATs high, and be involved. This is not a school for students who are not willing to take control of their education or college experience.

    In three sentences

    If you need to see a lot of green like I do, look no further; beautiful rural campus and area. Everyone you meet is equally intelligent and kind. The open curriculum fosters a very liberating atmosphere.