Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Hamline University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/04/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 out of 13 people found this review useful. 1 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who like small schools and like to feel like they're a part of a family. Hamline is the best place for you! The professors are all friendly and treat you with respect. Hamline is also great for students who like diversity and like to have fun!

    Tips for prospective students

    Always attend your classes and listen to your professors. Sometimes what they say in class doesn't make it to the study guides :)

    Bang for the buck

    It's realllllly expensive, but it was definitely worth it!

    Did enjoy being here

    I loved every minute at Hamline :)

    Did learn a lot

    The professors were amazing! Very helpful.

  • 10/10/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    9 out of 21 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    this can be the right college you have been looking for

    Tips for prospective students

    never give up and always do your best

    Bang for the buck

    they will help you with financial aid

    Will enjoy being here

    you will have fun at all time

    Will learn a lot

    learning is the most important thing

  • 11/01/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The academic type. They recruit for sports, but the amount it costs can't be worth it unless you get a full ride.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a lot of money so make sure it is financially worth it for you. Personally, Hamline has my heart, I can barely wait a year to get there!

    Bang for the buck

    It just depends on your personal situation, but they will work their hardest to make it work for you.

    Will enjoy being here

    It will be fun most of the time, but you will still have to find your niche.

    Will learn a lot

    Hamline is an academically focused university.

  • 04/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard-workers and those with determination to succeed in the future. Those who desire to learn and grow more intelligent. Also, there are many opportunities for athletes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend every class, read the chapter before the class, and be attentive! Work hard and you can succeed at any class. Also, live on campus! There are many good services here, so take advantage of them.

    Am enjoying being here

    Yes! Classes are enjoyable and interesting. There are always events happening around campus. Get involved and attend some :)

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are very, very willing to help! You will learn if you take time to study, ask questions, and visit professor's office hours. They are extremely smart and caring. I'm learning a lot!

  • 11/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for those who are looking for a smaller campus where you know almost everyone, and your professors know you personally. For those who might not know what they want to get into, there are tons of different groups and clubs that anyone can join; and the academics are very well-rounded. The diversity here is spectacular: in ideas, personalities, talents, backgrounds, opportunities, and every other aspect you can imagine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really research a lot of schools and visit as many campuses that you can. When I got to Hamline, it just felt right.

    Bang for the buck

    Hamline is very expensive, but they give out a lot of financial aid for those in need. I love the school though, and for me it has been worth every penny.

    Am enjoying being here

    Almost everyone on campus is really caring and considerate of others. The campus in general has an awesome laid-back, but determined atmosphere.

    Am learning a lot

    They have a highly regarded academic program that is very well-rounded. The Hamline Plan is a system they use to ensure that every student gets a diverse education thus opening up endless opportunities. The professors want you to succeed, and will do anything they can to see that happen.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Open-minded, charismatic, creative, responsible, and serious people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the financial aid office, they are so helpful and are willing to go above and beyond to make sure that you're able to attend and stay at Hamline.

    Bang for the buck

    While Hamline is well beyond $40k a year, I believe it is a worthy investment. The degree I am earning there may be expensive, but it's also prestigious and an invaluable asset for my future endeavors.

    Am enjoying being here

    The Hamline community is a close one. Professors care about you, learn your name, and enjoy spending time with you. Other students are there for mostly the same reasons, and it's easy to bond with them in that way. I've built lifelong connections and being on campus is one of my favorite things in the world.

    Am learning a lot

    Hamline strives to make every moment a learning experience, and as a student there thus far, I've expanded my mind, my viewpoints, and my love for humanity as a whole through my education. Learning goes beyond the classroom and textbooks at Hamline, it's about growing as a person.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    there is not a lot of clubs. some of the clubs that i am interested cost to join. for example rock climbing and turbo kick.

    Bang for the buck

    i do not think so. maybe for a different will work but we will see after i graduate.

    What to do for fun

    there are some dorms events but are not host every weekend. people can walk around thew city and travel.

    Food and Dining

    first week, going to love it. after that it just get old. there is stir fry. the breakfast is pretty much the same throughout the year.

    Dorm Life

    very costly, but it is a good way to meet new people. there is a flat screen tv in the lodge and in some, have study lodge.

    Academic Rigor

    need to follow the hamline plan which is the course you need to take while in college. some professors want you to do this major, but you want to do something else. some courses are fun. if planning to take chinese hamline have it.

    Tips for prospective students

    start looking for scholarships. you need them. try to get assignments out in the way first and then have fun. do not be afraid of saying hi to people that you do not now during the first week of school.

    In three sentences

    hamline very costly, but if you want to try it go ahead. i like the friends that i made and the professors. good location in the cities.

  • 04/21/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 43

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    A small school where the advisers and professors are ready to help you in every way!

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to sporting events, join clubs, intergrate yourself into the surronding community of Saint Paul.

    In three sentences

    Its very diverse and enjoyable for all people who go here. The athletic culture here is awesome as well as the togetherness of all the programs, so we all support each other during our games, events, matches and so on. I hope that Hamline stays this way because this will attract many more students to become pipers and enjoy Hamline to way I enjoy it

  • 09/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel like the campus is very safe, I feel like I can walk anywhere by myself. Safety and Security will also escort you anywhere if you call them.

    Greek Life

    We have on fraternity and one sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and activities that you can get involved in. I believe that there are over 50 that you can get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Self-taught learners, leaders, independent thinkers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    All freshman must participate in Piper Passage at the beginning of the year. It is a lot of fun as you get to meet a lot of your fellow classmates.

    Bang for the buck

    Although it is expensive I feel like I m getting a very good education.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of clubs and organizations that you can get join, I think there is over 50. Also there are many sports teams, both varsity and intramural that you can get involved with. There are also many events that the school puts on which are always entertaining.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good and the new Anderson Center is gorgeous!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are tiny,like many schools. Overall though the are in good shape and are good to live in. I would bring a fan though as they do not have A/C.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics push you but are very rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would make sure to do an overnight. It really gives you a sense of how the campus runs at night.

    In three sentences

    I love Hamline! Even though I have been here a short time it is already a home to me. Everything about it is fantastic so far!

  • 12/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to listen to your professors and take notes during all lectures, presentations and videos. Keep up with all of your work and if you get stuck writing a paper go to the writing center!!

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive for me but it will be worth it at the end because hard work pays off.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the small campus and the activites that they plan for us.

    Am learning a lot

    I love the professors here, they are really nice and will take time out of their busy schedules to help you and answer your questions.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do because your really close to the city and you can find stuff that is close by. There is a mall only 5 minutes away,

    Food and Dining

    The food has its good days and its bad days, but the area has a lot of outside places to go so you will be alright.

    Dorm Life

    I would not know because i do not live in the dorm. But my friends seem to like it. They are always talking about how people are friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    This courses are challenging yet not very boring. The teachers are very interactive with the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just keep an open mind when coming in. There are things you might come to like after a while.

    In three sentences

    The university is a very nice place. The teachers are very easy to talk to. And they really try to get the students involved.

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we are always told when something happens and the updates to security.

    Bang for the buck

    costs a little too much.

    What to do for fun

    there are lots of porgrams with lots of variety to get into.

    Dorm Life

    i don't live there, so i'm not sure

    Academic Rigor

    chemistry is challenging in a good way.

    Tips for prospective students

    talk to your professors. don't assume it's the same as highschool because it's not.

    In three sentences

    it's a cool school. everyone is friendly. they know what they want to be as a school.

  • 02/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hamline-sponsored events with prizes available such as ipads, gift baskets, etc. sporting events throughout the week.

    Tips for prospective students

    schedule an on-campus visit! join a club or sports team to meet new people! live on campus and enjoy all that dorm life has to offer!

    In three sentences

    hamline offers a campus in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the city, but can still be secluded as a town of its own. the professors are personable and want to help each student. from my personal experience, joining a sports team was an exceptional way to meet new people!

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    again, amazing program.

    What to do for fun

    work is fun! get used to it.

    Food and Dining

    yuck. but there are good restaurants within walking distance. you're certainly not distracted from your studies by the great food.

    Dorm Life

    hotel in jterm, dorm in summer. it's what you'd expect. not great.

    Academic Rigor

    wow, is this tough. reading as a writer, learning the terminology of the academic side, learning to see your own work, and never sleeping. and that's just for starters. 120 books must be read and analyzed by third semester, so work steadily on this.

    Tips for prospective students

    do your homework, ask as many questions as you can. don't slack, because it will just pile on top of you.

    In three sentences

    mfac program is amazing so far. extraordinary faculty as well as staff. demanding and exacting faculty expect no less of students than they do of themselves, but they are supportive of student's individual processes. they demonstrate enormous respect for the creative process as well as for the entire field.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've only had to call them once because my card wasn't working but they found out the experation date was set too early. But they fixed it within 15 min. while I was on the phone with them and stay on with me while I tried it.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm involved in Knitwits even though I don't know how to knit but instead I crochet.

    What to do for fun

    My only fun is when I get to read my book at the end of the day before bed and it use to be band as well.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria isn't the greatest but the rest of the food is good.

    Dorm Life

    I feel like I'm always alone and can't do the things they have planned.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take on more then you know you can do. Make sure to have some time to do things around campus.

    In three sentences

    Since I've come here I've been confused on what I should do unlike the last college I was at. I also feel constantly stressed out but there are some good days. I also don't know how to pay for next year because it's expensive.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Hamline is a very safe campus. There are only rare reports of crime on campus and there are many campus security poles posted in the campus so if you don't feel safe you don't have to be alone.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different types of clubs to join. Also many varsity athletics and intramural sports. You will not be bored at Hamline, there is a lot to be a part of.

    Bang for the buck

    I would say Hamline gives you a good education for your money. Tuition is a little expensive, but Hamline gives a lot of aid to cover that. Also, Hamline brings a lot of opportunities to you. You can study abroad as a first year student and it won't add extra costs to your tuition. They find students jobs and internships. It might be expensive, but it is money well spent.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. There are many different choices in everyday. And there are many different places to eat on campus. Also, you can walk to many different restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are a great way to get accustomed to college life without feeling overwhelmed. Its a good way to meet people in your class. Also, the freshman dorms are really nice. And Hamline makes it easy for you to find your own roommate so you know you will be rooming with someone you want to be with.

    Academic Rigor

    Hamline has rigorous academics, but they ease you in. You aren't just thrown into hard classes, your professors and you advisor support you and show you the ropes as you go. And because it is a liberal arts school they emphasize students study all areas. You can go in undecided and take random classes and still graduate on time. Hamline actually guarantees that you graduate in four years or they pay for the fifth one.

    In three sentences

    I love Hamline! It is small enough so you have a feel of community, but there still are quite a few students. It feels like it's own secluded campus in the middle of a big city; which is amazing. And the professors are always available to the students.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety at Hamline is great. They staff are very helpful and respond to any/all emergencies will professionalism and quickness. The Saftey Team at Hamline partner will local Police to ensure anyone visiting Hamline has a safe and healthy experience.

    Clubs and Activities

    All I can say is that there are so many unique acitivities and clubs and not enough time to be in them all.

    Food and Dining

    I will admit, Hamline food isn't all that great but it isn't all that bad too. I will say that their food is better than most colleges I have been to. I personally think it all depends on your tastes.

    Dorm Life

    I can't comment on dorm life because I am a commuter, meaning I live at home and commute to school. However, I have heard only good things about the dorms and dorm life in general.

    Academic Rigor

    Hamline is both hard and easy. Some professors tell you exactly what to study while others don't. The amount of homework can be overwhelming at times but each piece of homework you recieve benefits you in the long run.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit any school that even slightly interests you. Most definetly check out which majors/fields of study they offer.

    In three sentences

    Hamline is perfect for me. Hamline University is a small campus, allowing professors and students to interact more with one another. Hamline's faculty and staff are by far the friendliest group of people I have ever worked with.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Their are a lot of free activities to do on campus and when it is not free it is very inexpensive.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good quality most of the time. Lots of variety.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very clean and it is safe. The only issue is the quad cost the same as a two person room.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but once you find a support system you should do just fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions and take advantage of all the free activities because your paying for the experience not just the classes.

    In three sentences

    Hamline is a spectacular school full of opportunities so explore different places and cultures. The minority population needs to be expanded but the people regardless of ethnicity are friendly and helpful. It is a very safe community and every one is very trust worthy.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    excellent, the campus is on the outer edge of what some call a bad area but they are from the subs and don't know what they are talking about. i have always felt safe on campus it is small and there is always a little red security jeep near by.

    Greek Life

    pointless, weird and culty

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a good few, link below http://www.hamline.edu/offices/student-activities/student-orgs.html no secular coalition though, hmm perhaps there ought to be.

    Great for these types of students

    if you are serious about school come here, if you want to party and waste money go to the University of Minnesota.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are lots of comfy places out of the way to take a little nap strewn about campus.

    Bang for the buck

    some of the classes are over expensive i think for what they are but J-term classes are free, yes free and summer classes are half price.

    What to do for fun

    if you live on campus you are about thirty feet from a main bus line from there you can easily get downtown saint paul or minneapolis as well as rosedale mall. the mall has a bus depot so you can get anywhere in the cities that busses go if you get to the depot including maplewood mall and the mall of america which is about a fifteen-twenty minute drive from campus.

    Food and Dining

    most people will say it sucks but the food is generally not that bad in the dining hall. then again when you live off of ramen most of the time it tends to put picky eating into perspective.

    Academic Rigor

    some of the classes are challenging but then again that is what school is for.

    Tips for prospective students

    as with all schools, live on campus it is less stressful than trying to find rent money as it is rolled into your tuition. go to class, if you break your tuition down into class periods each class is about 300 bucks so if you do not go you are throwing 300.00 down the toilet. study hard and leave the partying for when you are retired college is for learning not making an idiot of yourself. FYI: you don't need a college degree to be a drunk, if you are going to school to go to parties and get shit-faced then don't bother wasting the money.

    In three sentences

    Excellent school, nice campus and competent professors (for the most part). a tad expensive but they are a private school and are really good about working with you on financial aid. if you ask for more you will generally get it so long as your grades are decent. It is technically a baptist school but church crap is not stressed or even mentioned. however there is an excellent religion department made up of professors from different faiths including: Christianity, Judaism, Buddhism and one other i forget. there is NOT at present a secular organization on campus but i do not think it would be overly difficult to start one if one had the inclination.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I'll find out soon.

    Food and Dining

    There was a lot of variety when I went to visit. The food seemed fresh. There was a wonderful salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    I'll find out in a couple months.

    Academic Rigor

    I will find out soon.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get started on filling out your application early. Go to whatever colleges you are interested. A campus visit is very helpful for making the right decision.

    In three sentences

    I have only attended the orientation, but I cannot wait to get there. So far, everyone has been so helpful. I can't wait to start at Hamline in the Fall.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Multiple intramural sports activities,and many groups that can be joined around campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    I strongly encourage those who are considering Hamline for their Pre-Law program. I am currently enrolled and enjoy my classes very much. The professors are very well-educated and most of them have years of experience in the Legal Field.

    In three sentences

    Hamline has a great atmosphere for all students. They also have a wonderful Pre-Law program with very well-educated professors. I enjoy the class sizes, they might be smaller than state schools but it is very helpful with student-teacher interaction.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many on campus organizations and activities to get involved with, as well as the bustling activity of the twin cities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus before you decide to go anywhere. You're paying a lot of many and you want to be sure it is a good fit.

    In three sentences

    It is a friendly and welcoming campus. It has the feel of a small town school in the middle of St Paul. There is always something going on!

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 24 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    not very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    not many clubs avalible

    Food and Dining

    Bad! sorin is gross

    Tips for prospective students

    visit tutoring center and attend class.

    In three sentences

    Hamline is a small school with not much school spirit.

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food I had there was good, but nothing that was a must eat and have again.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorm rooms that I looked through look good, but were kind of on the small side and (in the rooms I looked at) there weren't closets, but only a wardrobe.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I have researched, it seems to be rigorous enough.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out this college. Make sure that you visit campuses if you can. The right college will just feel right, or something will happen while you are there and you will just know that it's the right college for you.

    In three sentences

    I love the campus and the people that I met there. Everything was within walking distance and it was near a larger city, which is just what I want. The people there made me feel accepted and wanted and I felt as if I belong.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many things that you can do for fun. Downtown is not too far and there are a lot of places to go to do fun things.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just know what you want and make sure you have everything settled before you make your decision.

    In three sentences

    Hamline University is a great school, and being able to have all the dorms and classes so close makes it even better.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is super expensive, but really worth it!

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good, and it is nice for we have a small grocery store. It is a bummer for most times there is good food, it is all on one day. Also, the c-store is pretty expensive, and mostly has junk food, not a lot of fresh fruit/vegetables either.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is expensive and depending on where you live, it can be better or worse. The Heights only have two showers and toilets, while Sorin has sixteen or more. The only thing to remember is that the Heights are boys and girls on each floor (except the first floor is all guys) while Sorin is separated by gender for each floor. I would advise leaving your door open while you and your roommate are there for many people will come in to talk and hang out.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses given by Hamline University are challenging, but they can be done. There are classes with a lot of writing, discussions, or projects, but you get to choose which aspects and subjects are interesting to you. Even classes that aren't labeled as intensive are still challenging you academically, and it is extremely worth it in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get scholarships and do not be afraid to contact the financial aid office for any questions about affording tuition.

    In three sentences

    Hamline University cares deeply for their students. They have a challenging academics program with lots of organizations and many welcoming people!

  • 10/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't a whole lot on on campus fun, however the urban setting on this school means you can get pretty much ANYWHERE by 30 min driving, which is awesome.

    Food and Dining

    The food is meh. Not great, not horrible. The issue with it for me is the breakfast food is pretty much always the same now that the new Anderson Center has been built. Also, the new C-Store has a lot of junk food and not much else. However, it does have fantastic sushi. Sandwiches used to be fantastic from Klas- but since Klas only now serves pre-made gross soggy sandwiches there is nowhere on campus to get non-Anderson good food.

    Dorm Life

    The quality of the dorms depends on where you'll be living. Sorin Hall has plenty of storage space- the downer is that the floors are single gender, which means WAY too much drama on the women's floors and too loud on the men's. I wouldn't recommend The Heights, as the rooms are horribly non-soundproof and the buildings are like a windowless brick maze. Drew is a good dorm building, just farther away than the other dorms from the Anderson Center/food. I absolutely love Manor Hall, it offers a quieter, more spacious, more aesthetically pleasant living space.

    Academic Rigor

    It is true that every year as you progress the classes get harder. I would say that the professors have high academic standards, and you are expected to reach them! You'll need to buckle down and keep up with studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try meeting one on one with someone from the office of admissions- they are super helpful and may answer any questions you may have. Also, don't be afraid to visit campus before you commit.

    In three sentences

    I am absolutely glad I chose to attend this college! The admissions process was smooth, and I have been having a wonderful time here the past year. I would recommend this university to anyone looking for a great liberal arts education.

  • 10/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a pretty good security staff and I feel safe on campus, but at the same time, it is necessary to remember that we are in/near a major city, so the risks and issues with safety are still a factor on campus.

    Greek Life

    We have a Sorority and a Fraternity on campus. I don't really know much about either, but I am pretty sure that the Sorority does a lot of community service.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of clubs and activities offered on campus or around campus. I can't even begin to talk about the huge number of clubs that we have for such a small school.

    Great for these types of students

    Open to diversity, willing to be near a major city, wanting to be close to an airport, willing to deal with snow, and looking for a small school and small classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our school is really old, so campus itself is slightly unusual. Our school started out as only one building, so each building that was added on is unique and unusual in its own way. There is an interesting tradition about the marriage rock that is located on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It is an expensive school, but I feel like I am receiving a very good education. I guess that would probably be a better question for someone who has already graduated.

    What to do for fun

    It depends on the person and his/her interest. I play sports and am in choir, and hang out with friends. Others are involved in one of the many clubs on campus. We are located in a city where there are many places to go, and activities to do (like the free zoo on Como Avenue). Basically, there are always things that are open, that you could go to, that you could find to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is edible, but will be a step down from home cooked meals. There is a variety of food offered in the new dining hall, and other places on campus to get food. However, not many people are a huge fan of the food here.

    Dorm Life

    There are a few different dorms, and different activities that are held by the hall councils or by the Resident Assistants. For each dorm, there are various positive and negative aspects of them, and the different dorms allow for different kinds of lifestyles (all girls, or mixed gender floors, handicap accessible, etc.).

    Academic Rigor

    Although you can find easy classes, like at any college, as long as you strive to challenge yourself, you will find very academically rigorous classes. The learning system is meant to start you off at the level that will challenge you, but changes in level or classes are allowed until a certain point.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in with an open mind, because your perspective on things may change. We have a diverse student body and the school has many varieties of people, ideologies, and beliefs are welcome. Oh! and Be ready for winter!

    In three sentences

    A small school that has very a lot of one-on-one attention in the classroom because of the small class sizes. We are proud of who we are, what we represent, and what we accomplish as a school (tons of community service). We are also located in an area near other schools, which provides the students with many more opportunities and other college students in the area.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Delta Tau & Theta Chi - these groups make a point to host events and parties that do not serve alcohol (though I'm sure not all events are alcohol-free).

    Clubs and Activities

    Just a few are. . . KnitWits (knitting/crocheting club) Intramural women's lacrosse Intramural volleyball Hamline Outdoor Recreation Club (HORC) Hamline Indigenous People's Society (HIPS)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Lip Sync contest is REALLY big at Hamline. It's one of the homecoming events and it's great because some people do it just for fun, while others are very competitive - and all the acts are cheered for. The tree lighting ceremony in December is really awesome, too.

    What to do for fun

    There are TONS of student orgs, intramural sports, and the gym is free!

    Food and Dining

    Dining services was just moved to the new Anderson center, and the all you can eat food rarely disappoints! Besides the buffet, there is a convenience store, a late-night option (burgers, chicken tenders, fries, etc.), a to-go style cafe, and a Starbucks.

    Dorm Life

    There are so many fun things to do, and the RAs are great.

    Academic Rigor

    People at Hamline are very smart, and the professors expect a lot from you - but not more than you can do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay over for a night or a weekend, and sit in on some classes that interest you if you can. Staying on campus with a student host can really give you a great insight into life at Hamline.

    In three sentences

    Hamline is very dedicated to diversity and community. The professors I have had are dedicated to helping students be the best they can be. There are also plenty of orgs and on-campus activities to become a part of!

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is one fraternity, and their house is dry. Most of the brothers are a little on the nerdy side, but they're great people. The sorority does not have a dry house, and is a much smaller organization.

    Great for these types of students

    Hamline is great for liberals and for people who want to learn about other cultures.

    What to do for fun

    With over 80 student organizations on campus, there are almost always programs and things to do around Hamline. Hamline is also located in St. Paul, which means that there are plenty of restaurants, coffee shops, clubs, and other fun venues to check out within reasonable distance.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria just moved to our new university center. Some changes have been made for the better, but the variety isn't huge and sometimes things just aren't well-prepared.

    Dorm Life

    Usually, the dorms are wonderful. They're not huge--most dorms aren't--but they've got enough space to fit a good number of people for hanging out. Some people living in the dorms can be disrespectful of their neighbors and be loud at inappropriate times.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to work hard in each class to obtain the kind of grades you want, and the professors grade fairly. Nothing is impossibly difficult, and there are tutors and other programs available to use as resources when things get confusing.

    Tips for prospective students

    As with any college, it's smart to make a visit before deciding whether or not Hamline is right for you. The atmosphere here is that of a small school--everyone knows everyone--and while some people love that sense of community, others find it suffocating. Be sure to check that Hamline offers several programs you find intriguing, and look into applying for the departmental scholarships, which are available in music performance, theater, writing, and science.

    In three sentences

    Hamline is a small, liberal-arts college that puts a strong emphasis on diversity and experience. There are great major, minor and certificate programs, and the professors are very knowledgeable and open with their students. There are sports teams and student organizations available that ensure that anyone who wants to get involved can find their niche.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I definitely feel safe on campus. I even get an escort to the nearby target !

    Greek Life

    Like I said, I love the boys at the Theta Chi house, they're so sweet and the girls at Delta Tau are just as funny and dorky as I am!

    Clubs and Activities

    There is easily over 25 options here at Hamline. From nerdy anime club (which I'm a part of) to the Martial Arts Club (Want to be a part of, when I have the time!)

    Great for these types of students

    The student that considers themselves dorky and never being able to fit-in. We're not all alike but we all get along great. You can make friends everyday with anybody.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Theta Chi house has got to be my favorite place, everyone is friendly and welcoming.

    Bang for the buck

    Everything I've done and everyone I've met here in four months is worth so much more than 18.000 dollars to me.

    What to do for fun

    There is a mall down the street with a movie theater there are strip malls down the other street. Lots of restaurants and a pharmacy for convenience.

    Food and Dining

    Food could have more vegan items.

    Dorm Life

    Nothing to complain about, all my neighbors are lovely.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging enough so I don't get bored.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just focus on managing your time between work, school and friends. True friends can't be angry at you for picking homework over them. It's your future, work as hard as you think you need in order for you to get there.

    In three sentences

    Hamline is welcoming. Hamline is very different but it is a good different. Hamline is small but all of the professors know my name which I love.

  • 12/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety and Security will pick you up where ever you are, even if that means 20 miles away. They are here to offer protection, and they do just that.

    What to do for fun

    We have a lot of school related activities. Whether that is: sports, recreational or clubs.

    Food and Dining

    With the new addition of the Anderson Center; the food is excellent great! There are plenty of different options for meals, and offer tons of diversity.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are excellent! The size is great. The only thing I could complain about are the community bathrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Every class offers difficulty. However, it's manageable because of the small class sizes, and the openness each of the professors have. They are here to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    I don't necessarily have any tips for students. The only thing I would have to say is to be prepared financially. This school costs a fortune, and hopefully you will be covered with enough financial aid so it won't leave you in a financial strain.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy Hamline University thus far. The school offers great diversity, and a pursuit for success in each of the students. And the atmosphere isn't overwhelming or crowded, but very inviting and personable.

  • 02/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe as nerds don't commit crimes.

    Bang for the buck

    I think if you want to do independent study this is a great place for your money.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with nerds.

    Food and Dining

    Very Good

    Academic Rigor

    It is demanding and fast. It is all work and no play.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be aware that you will not have time to work during the school year. They give you a schedule of 48 hours per week of class work. Unless your parents are going to pay your expenses pass on hamline.

    In three sentences

    It is a place for individuals who don't want to work together with others. It is a small safe campus in the city. Most people are not friendly and seem stressed. Professors are knowledgable, but like to lecture and go fast.

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    35 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you're looking for a small school in a bigger city without sacrificing a great education and life, Hamline is right for you.

    Bang for the buck

    It may be more expensive than other schools, but the Hamline Plan ensures that a liberal arts education with create better citizens, and they guarantee every student to do an internship, study abroad program, research project or honors program.

    Food and Dining

    As a vegetarian, there are many options for all diets.

    Dorm Life

    I stayed overnight in Sorin Hall in February, and I really enjoyed it. The rooms are spacious and the people in the dorms are really friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    I truly feel that I will be challenged academically next year.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    36 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Wish I would have found the 'fun' for Hamline. The University is located in a declining neighborhood with little to no activity around the campus. No local restaurants within walking distance. Just not much there.

    Food and Dining

    There is very little choice in entree's offered. One is required, if living, on campus, to have a meal plan. The COST of the plan far outweighs what one can eat within a semester. There are no refunds for unspent funds. Many students end up wasting money on junk food and what not just to use up their meal plan dollars.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very old. There are very few electrical outlets, no AC or even a thermostat. Even during the winter one has to have the windows open.

    Academic Rigor

    Hamline is all about making certain that students get their monies worth and will be well turned out upon graduation.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is very little campus activity weekends. Most students go home or elsewhere rather than staying on campus. If you like activity and can't go home, this may be a problem.

    In three sentences

    People who like small schools will do well here. The professors are all friendly and treat you with respect. Hamline is also great for students who like diversity and are heads down most of the time.

  • 09/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are little booths on campus with help buttons to call Safety and Security

    Great for these types of students

    open-minded, liberal-minded, LGBTQIA

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At noon every day, the clock in the middle of campus plays an adorable little tune.

    What to do for fun

    You're in the cities! If you're able to drive, you can go to an incredible number of places, including Rosedale Mall, or farther to MOA. Within walking distance of campus is a coffee shop called Ginkgo Coffeehouse, which gives you a lot of coffee for a low price. There are many events offered on Campus as well, including special deals to things like tickets to Wicked at the Orpheum theater.

    Food and Dining

    However many people complain about the food in the cafeteria, it's actually very good. They have a decent selection of things at every meal time, though less on the weekends. They always have a salad bar, pizza, ice cream machines, and waffle makers, and most of the time there are soups, hamburgers and other kinds of meat for sandwiches. Sometimes there is a pasta bar, a cold sandwich bar, or a stir-fry bar. However, if you don't feel like eating in the cafeteria, there is a Starbucks on campus also.

    Dorm Life

    Most people on campus are friendly, so even if you don't get along particularly well with your roommate, chances are likely you will get along with at least a few people on your floor. The Heights buildings have neat common areas where you can hang out with your peers.

    Academic Rigor

    Obviously not all classes are the same difficulty, but if you averaged it all out, classes are at a very satisfying level of challenging. Most courses take a lot of time out of class to do your homework, so you should be willing to spend time on homework when you think you may have free time. Professors are great though, and if you listen during class you will learn a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to get your finances figured out early on! If you're counting on financial aid, get it straightened out early- in the summer if possible. Also, if you want to be comfortable among the most of the student body, you have to be open-minded and accepting. If you are homophobic, racist, sexist, extremely conservative, or your religious views are so strong that you judge people if their beliefs are different than yours, you will be a lot happier somewhere else.

    In three sentences

    Hamline is a liberal arts college, with a largely liberal student body. Although it is expensive, many financial aid opportunities are available. Everything I have encountered thus far -classes, food, experiences- has been quality and well worth it.

  • 12/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Not involved. Although I CAN say that sorority students are nothing like what you see on television screens. Personally, they're very nice people--just like everyone else.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many! So fun!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Old Main, a beautiful building on campus and one of the oldest in Hamline University's history... is haunted. Cool, huh?!

    Bang for the buck

    It's dang expensive. However, Hamline offers a good amount of student aid, and it's even better when you live in Minnesota. Make sure to apply for scholarships though!

    What to do for fun

    There are ALWAYS activities planned and going on around campus! The events are posted everywhere! If not, just sign up for emails from various clubs or activity groups to get the memo and join in on the fun. Like I mentioned earlier, the students here are very accepting and open!

    Food and Dining

    I like the food--but keep in mind that I'm also a commuter that doesn't eat the food there everyday.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter.

    Academic Rigor

    It's important to DO your homework i.e. your readings! These may take HOURS, but it's worth it. The professors give you assignments in order to help you in understanding what they discuss the next day, not to torture you out of entertainment. Exam difficulty varies on the professor and you shouldn't be surprised (as a college student) to write 5+ papers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask your professors for help, or when things are unstable at home and you're unable to handle school, you've GOT to let your professors in on it. The Hamline professors I've had so far are very open-minded and do want to help their students.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy being a Hamline Piper! It's such a friendly environment, and people are very accepting of each other. It's rich in diversity, activities, and is also a beautiful campus. I don't regret being here at all.

  • 01/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's the Rosedale Center nearby, state fair grounds, Midway shopping center, and you can take the bus a short ways to the Xcel energy center, Target field, U of M campus area, etc. Hamline is literally in the perfect spot for all you social activities.

    Food and Dining

    Honestly, the food sucks most of the time. Fortunately, there are restaurants and stores nearby to do your shopping or eating out at.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is nice to get to know fellow students, especially Drew Hall with the upperclassmen there as well. However, it can get expensive so living off campus is probably easier. Let alone cheaper!!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes and professors here are awesome!! They're small so holding discussions are easy to do, as well as being able to present you with a challenge but one that is not too much for you to handle.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you apply for as many scholarships as possible!!! Including getting that FAFSA done. Showing up for classes everyday and on time is extremely helpful. When you go to sign up for clubs or on campus activities, don't sign up for too many. Otherwise you'll become overwhelmed with trying to think you need to fit everything into your schedule. Remember though: you don't have to go to them everyday. Most importantly: Study hard while having fun at the same time!!

    In three sentences

    Hamline University has an amazing environment for its fellow students. The community here is close knit, and one can most definitely feel at home here easily. There are lots of places on or off campus (very close by) for students to either chill out with friends or go out on the town.

  • 02/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    To me it seems like a very safe school.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of things to do in your spare time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Bishop, Anderson center ( where you have breakfast/ dinner/lunch at).

    Bang for the buck

    Although they offer a lot of scholarship opportunities for first year/ transfer students other returning students are not. Tuition goes up every few years and this year (2013-2014) it is going up 3.3 percent. We have to pay for printing in the computer lab and other additional things.

    What to do for fun

    Go to sport events, bond with fellow hall mates, go to an event created by our awesome programming board.

    Food and Dining

    Offers a lot of choices, even some vegeteration ones.

    Dorm Life

    I live in Sorin, plenty of storage for a girl from California but there are bugs occasionally found in the laundry room. Backed up washers in the laundry room, sometimes shower drains clogged with hair, and I have to walk up 4 flights of stairs each day because I live on the fourth floor but am not allowed to use the elevator unless i hurt or break my leg of some sort.

    Academic Rigor

    You are expected to work hard here. Work hard and play hard and you will do just fine at Hamline.

    Tips for prospective students

    Figure out what you want to major in before your sophomore and use all of the resources Hamline University offers (which is a lot). Talk to professors, coaches, mentors if you are having a hard time or just want someone to talk to. Have class schedules figured out before signing up for classes time and make sure you have back up classe because classes get filled up quickly at Hamline.

    In three sentences

    Fun interactive community.

  • 03/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Escort service. Well lit. 24/7 On call.

    Greek Life

    Only on sorority and fraternity. Small and boring.

    Clubs and Activities

    Club for everyone. If they don't have it you can start it.

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing students who like to be involved in everything.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the U. Work. Particpate in on campus events.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great, but repetitive.

    Dorm Life

    Small. Quite. Few Parties / Campus Life etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know its a small school. Choose your classes. Prepare yourself.

    In three sentences

    Hamline is a very diverse school. Professors know your name. Classes are small and challenging.

  • 05/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They make a huge deal out of freshman matriculation. It's a huge honor and the days before class they make sure you stay busy! Whenever there is something going on around campus they put clothing on the Leonidas Hamline statue that represents the events. He even has his own twitter account.

    Bang for the buck

    You pay for your pedigree. They are very willing to work with anyone in any situation to make it work.

    What to do for fun

    Most of the people on campus go home on the weekends which makes it a little lonely sometimes, but being in St. Paul makes it absolutely impossible to be bored. The state fair grounds is across the 94 bridge, there is the Rosedale mall within a 15 minute bus ride, all the excitement of Grand Ave, the Como Zoo within 15 minutes as well, and tons of restaurants to be tried on Snelling. If St. Paul isn't your scene then you can head over to Minneapolis which is less than ten minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    Hamline has a brand new dining hall and student center. Lots of choices for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. It's school food and will never compare to a home cooked meal... just saying.

    Dorm Life

    The campus is a little older and so are the freshman dorms, but they aren't suppose to be grand. You're in college. Learn to make things work on the fly and on a budget! The RA's are absolutely great and most of the students are as well!

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the class and who is teaching it, your brain is going to get a work out no matter what class you're in. You will get back ten fold what you put into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn to work hard in the classroom and even harder outside. Your professors are on your side and are willing to move heaven and earth to help you reach your true potential!

    In three sentences

    A great small town campus in the big city vibe. Amazing professors and classes. I would definitely pick Hamline again if I had to!

  • 05/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is excellent. Safety and Security is a program that Hamline features that has lots of ways to keep students safe.

    Greek Life

    There is a nationally recognized fraternity, but the sorority is a rather small.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for open minded people looking to explore themselves.

    What to do for fun

    The best thing to do is ask around to find what is best. Snelling Ave features a ton of different restaurants and shops and University Ave is a ten minute walk away, which has even more to do. Most things are accessible by bus.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall has pretty decent food, but the other dining services are the best. The on-campus convenience store offers students many of the products they need without leaving campus and the late night Piper Grill offers students craveable foods until the wee hours of the morning.

    Dorm Life

    Because Hamline is an older college, some of the dorms do not have up-to-date equipment, such as kitchens. The freshman dorms makes it possible for freshman to connect and begin to make friends in the stressful transition.

    Academic Rigor

    Hamline has excellent academics and has many opportunities for students to excel. Professors push their students to do the very best, but are still willing to help if students are struggling.

    Tips for prospective students

    It helps to go into Hamline with an open mind. I changed my intended major within the first month of my Freshman year. Prospective students should know that the Twin Cities can be a dangerous place, but Hamline's Safety and Security program offers escorts within a mile radius around campus for students. There is nothing to fear when it comes to the safety of the students.

    In three sentences

    Hamline offers a sort of suburbia within the metropolis of the Twin Cities. It is the perfect transition between quiet town and big city life. This Liberal Arts college provides opportunities for all types of students