Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Hampden-Sydney College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/06/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Well rounded self motivated seeking a great education among a brotherhood.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the college. Beautiful location and campus. You might fall in love like I did in the first 10 minutes on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive but I hope it will pay off in my future.

    Am enjoying being here

    I do enjoy the campus and all that is offered.

    Am learning a lot

    I believe that I am getting a top notch education at HS-C. My professors have been interesting and helpful. Class size is just right.

  • 06/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I strongly believe that any young man who seeks brotherhood can fit in and find his place at Hampden-Sydney.

    Bang for the buck

    Be warned, the dining hall is not a five-star restaurant.

    Am enjoying being here

    Hampden-Sydney can be a great place for the guys who fit in, but a bad place for the guys who do not. On the weekends, the main excitement on campus happens at Fraternity Circle, where girls from neighboring schools - Sweet Briar, Longwood, Hollins, Lynchburg, etc. - flock to party. For guys who fit into the fraternity scene there will be plenty to do; for the guys who are not so comfortable with this scene there is little to do.

    Am learning a lot

    Hampden-Sydney is a school for young men who truly want to learn. The academics here are top-notch, and the school itself does not inflate the grades of any students - a typical practice done at many other colleges. Professors are always available to help a student that needs assistance.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security makes the campus one of the safest places around.

    Clubs and Activities

    Phenomenal opportunities are readily available around every corner of the campus. There is something to do for every student on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Like every other private college, HSC is definitely expensive; however HSC offers more than enough financial aid for nearly all of the students. Plus, the other opportunities available through HSC, such as the vast Alumni Network, make the cost worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and activities available on campus. There are IM sports played on campus and many team sports that can be played. There are multiple fields on campus which provide more than enough room for students to play any sport from rugby, to campus golf, to ultimate frisbee. Clubs and activities vary from chess club to international club to math club.

    Food and Dining

    Like many other private colleges, food and dining is probably the only fault in HSC; however, that is probably due to the fact that after several weeks of eating in the same environment everyone starts to miss a good home-cooked meal.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms could use a little work but the frequent interactions and lasting connections made between roommates and sweetmates outweigh all of the negatives.

    Academic Rigor

    HSC is an easy college to be admitted into and yet it is one of the hardest colleges to stay in. HSC has some of the most intelligent professors and a wide variety of majors and minors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get ready to learn from some of the toughest yet fairest professors in the south. Get ready to make some life-lasting connections with some of the greatest, smartest and kindest friends. Get ready to make an impression on the world.

    In three sentences

    A great, small, private college that is an amazing match for any student. Like every college, HSC has its flaws; however, the positives greatly outweigh the negatives. The phenomenal professors and unbelievable opportunities available on campus make HSC one of the best colleges in the United States.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is the center of this school. It's all male, so the fraternities on campus are the center of attention. Getting a bid is pretty easy because of the size of the school, though dues can be pretty expensive. There are about 12 social fraternities and a couple professional fraternities. Friday and Saturday are the big party nights, and there are a couple parties each night, depending on the time of year. Greek life is highly recommended by anyone who attends this school.

    Great for these types of students

    The people at Hampden-Sydney are often well off, or rich, and therefore preppy. In addition, they're most conservative and there's a southern feel to the school. There's heavy use of tobacco as well. Most guys can survive at this school, but it's not for those who can't live independently and take charge of their own social, academic, and professional lives.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved in clubs, groups, and organizations early on. In the Fall semester, there's a football game every other weekend which is essentially center of activity in the area. Frat parties are fun, safe, and usually easy to get in to. The town also has a movie theater, a bowling alley, and Longwood University is pretty close by. The main fun on campus, however, comes from making connections and having friends to do things with. This school isn't for the socially faint of heart. Get out there early, and you'll always have something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The main dining hall is very good all things considered, and the campus has it's own restaurant called the Tiger Inn. It serves cheap, quality food and has beer on draft and in the bottle for those who are of age. Local dining is great if you have a car, as it's about a 10 minute drive to anywhere. There's a great variety of places and they're all great quality.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms all have their pros and cons unless you're an upperclassmen with first pick of housing. With that said, most of the fun isn't found in the dorms. Dorm parties aren't big at this school, as most of the fun is down at the fraternity circle, which is the social center of the school. It can be hit or miss depending on where your placed, but for it's purposes, the dorm life is alright.

    Academic Rigor

    Get ready to work hard. This school has great, personal professors who have specifically designated office hours that can be stretched if you absolutely need help. No other school nearby will be as academically sound as this one. Some classes are tougher than others, but you can't fudge many, if any classes at this school. If you're not keen on buckling down and applying yourself, don't go here.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is great, but not for everyone. Be somewhat confident in your field of study, but know that the liberal arts education will be almost universal, regardless of your major. They say you can do just about anything with a degree from Hampden-Sydney, but don't come here entirely to find out what you want to study, because the range of options at this school isn't huge. Get ready to apply yourself during the week, and then have a blast during the weekend. There's something for everyone. You've just gotta find your niche, even if you're not a partier.

    In three sentences

    Southern, Conservative, all-male liberal arts college in the heart of Virginia. Preppy, but not too preppy, and if you're not rich it's not a problem. This school will teach you what it is to be a man.

  • 11/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are minimal problems with intruders, theft, and other incidents, for we take pride in our Honor Code and Honor Court System. These two combined help the Hampden-Sydney College Community run efficiently and safely.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is bountiful at Hampden-Sydney College, and it is a way to further develop a brotherhood with your fellow Hampden-Sydney Brothers. With our many Fraternities, most of the students look forward to pledging and serving in these wonderful organizations.

    Clubs and Activities

    As an active participant in the Classics Club, Circle K International Organization, and Catholic Campus Ministries I have found that there is much to be offered at such a small institution! You have the chance to join many intramural sports teams, charitable organizations and communities, and religious environments!

    Bang for the buck

    Education-wise, Hampden-Sydney College is worth every dollar spent. Not only do you get the chance to learn in small classes, but you also get to be involved in one of the only three non-religious all-male colleges in the United States.

    What to do for fun

    There are many aspects of fun to have on campus at Hampden-Sydney College, for non-alcoholic fun, we have game nights at Venable Hall every friday of the month, free rental gear for camping, canoeing and sport of the like, and fishing in the surrounding lakes. There is much more to experience if you also get involved with certain organizations and clubs!

    Food and Dining

    The hospitality of the workers is great, they're very kind, and generous; however, the food in the dining hall can frequently vary and most times you will hear guys bashing on the food. Sure, it may not be the best food in the world, but at least it is edible and that the workers try to make it as best as they can. It's buffet styled with some serve yourself, but mostly it is moderated by the workers.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on whether you live in Freshman housing (Carpenters, Whitehouse, or Cushing), Venable Hall, or any other housing such as The Blakes, Hampden Houses, and etc you will find that it is different for everyone. While I live in the Carpenters I have experienced substantial living such as a lofted bed with a long desk, my own closet, dressers, and a common bathroom, and a newly installed common area.

    Academic Rigor

    As stated previously, academics is taken very serious here. Always be present and prompt to class, while also keeping up with your assignments, or else you'll fall behind or end up having to withdraw from the courses you are enrolled. The courses offered here are supposed to make you feel interested and passionate about what you are studying, not just to meet core requirements.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, and take your education seriously! The professors here demand much more from you than your High School teachers, for they expect you to meet their academic demands promptly and creatively. Always be on the lookout for any sports whether they be club or Division III, Clubs and organizations, or affiliations when you enter Hampden-Sydney College, of course Academics are important, but finding a group where you thrive and can show your best potential makes the college feel proud in having men who are passionate about what they love.

    In three sentences

    Hampden-Sydney College is where youthful boys, become young men. While at H-SC you will experience a welcoming College and Community that shows the southern hospitality of Virginia.

  • 01/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police are so easy to work with.

    Greek Life

    12 Frats

    Clubs and Activities

    Football

    Great for these types of students

    Well rounded, southern gentlemen

    Bang for the buck

    You will walk out with a mountain of student loans but you also walk out with a high paying job.

    What to do for fun

    Great Athletic events, greek life, clubs always have something going on.

    Food and Dining

    Not ma'ma's cooking, but pretty close.

    Dorm Life

    one word. Brotherhood.

    Academic Rigor

    It's easy to get in, hard to stay.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never take an easy high school class. Push yourself academically and always try new things.

    In three sentences

    Hampden-Sydney is the premier college for outstanding young men. Our alumni network is better than any I have ever seen and the brotherhood is unremarkable. I am proud to say I am a Hampden-Sydney man.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety isn't really an issue. We pledge on our sacred honour to neither cheat, steal or lie, or tolerate those who do. Assault is not really an issue.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is prominent! Think of Greek life at one of the largest party schools and just shrink it to fit a student body of 1300. Pretty freaking epic if I do say so myself.

    Clubs and Activities

    The school has 50 + clubs so definitely check them out.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is ALL-MALE, but most of the guys have girlfriends who frequent the campus almost weekly. Also about 80% of the campus plays a varsity, intercollegiate, club or intramural sport. Also the gym is usually packed, but you make great friends this way.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hampden-Sydney men wear Blazers and ties to the football matches in all weather. Come ready to dawn your apparel. There is also the Macon Game where we play our arch rivals Randolph-Macon. This is the most important football game of the year. It is a sacred, time-honoured tradition that has been firmly established in our school's history.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is a bit pricey, but the education and memories are worth the sticker shock in price tag.

    What to do for fun

    Outside of Fraternity Circle, there isn't really a lot to do. The fraternities have killer parities,especially during greek week. If one is looking for a club, we have tons; and if you find what you like, start one. Most if not all, are student organized,run, and lead. Farmville is the closest town and about 10 minutes away by car ride. If I haven't mentioned it before, bring a car. If one wants something to do, one usually has to go to richmond, lynchburg, or to other universities for nightlife.

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright. We have a new catering company founded by some alums, so the food should get a lot better.

    Dorm Life

    Not to say the least, dorm life is always interesting. Throughout the week, there is never a dull moment, but on every other weekend outside of football season, it can be quiet. So bring a car to campus as most students go home often. Expect riffs with people, but also expect a lot of funny stunts, sing-a longs, and mid-night food runs. After all, college is about the memories one makes along the way, and during dorm life, one does this.

    Academic Rigor

    Honestly the school is not hard, but it is rigorous and requires a lot of effort to maintain one's G.P.A. The teachers are always available, but do not expect any handouts. Grades at H-SC are well earned. There is no such thing as grade inflation here. So if one attends, come expecting to work one's tail off!

    Tips for prospective students

    Research the school thoroughly, make sure it is the school for you! Visit! View the campus and stay with a Hampden-Sydney brother. Note the things that are being said, but also pay attention to what's not being said.

    In three sentences

    Hampden-Sydney is a place for young men who seek to refine themselves into gentlemen who hold their partner and friends to a higher standard, a higher caliber.

  • 03/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Hampden-Sydney is one of the most secure campuses I know. We have an Honor Code that is strictly enforced so hardly anything ever gets stolen and no one has attacked anyone on Campus. You can walk around at night without fear of anything bad happening.

    Greek Life

    I'm not a member of any of the fraternities, but I hear that they are amazing and the parties are pretty good too.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a lot of clubs here on campus and I happen to be a member of Intervarsity which is a christian fellowship group that partners with Longwood. Every Friday we have a praise and worship and our leader gives us a little sermon which all lasts less than an hour. Afterwards, we go out to eat and just hang out.

    Great for these types of students

    Hampden-Sydney is great for kids who were raised in the country, enjoy the country life style, or are willing to adapt to it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have our own volunteer fire department which started years ago after Winston Hall caught on fire. Also, Hampden-Sydney does not cancel classes. Teachers might but the school remains open. The last time the school closed was during the Civil War. It has snowed several times this year but I had to walk through it each time to go to class. We also have a monument to Hampden-Sydney students that fought in the Civil War outside of Graham Hall. Living on campus is the oldest living man with Downs Syndrome in the country and we call him Shorty. Also, Hampden-Sydney is still old school so most of the buildings have stayed the same ever since the College's existence and have only been renovated.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel I'm getting enough bang for my buck. Considering the education I'm getting, the excellent library, the writing center, and a great faculty, I'm happy.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, you can go down to the TI and play ping pong, pool, or air hockey. Other times you can hang out in friends dorms and play video games. On the weekend, you can go party down at The Circle. If you want to get off campus, there is a bowling alley and a movie theater plus numerous places to eat in town. Since we are an all male school, you have to go to Longwood University which is down the street for the women.

    Food and Dining

    The best meal of the day hand down is breakfast. Everyone loves breakfast here but lunch and dinner can be hit or miss. The food down in the TI has more quality to it but it's a tad bit expensive. I would know because I eat down there a lot more than I should.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is amazing. On my hall everyone gets along and we all take care of one another. We hang out all the time and we have a lot of fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Here at Hampden-Sydney there is a lot of writing involved so be prepared for that. Also, pretty much each class is a lecture and the teachers expect nothing but your best effort at all times.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your work done and get it done on time. Take advantage of the excellent library and writing center that we have.

    In three sentences

    I have been at Hampden-Sydney for almost two semesters and I am having the time of my life. The brotherhood here is amazing and everyone makes you feel welcome. I would strongly recommend this college for anyone who wants to attend.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food isn't the best characteristic of H-SC. It is better to eat in the cafeteria than to have to drive into town (Farmville) for other food sources.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms aren't particularly new. They are simply just a place to live until you decide to move into a house or apartment-style living quarters.

    Academic Rigor

    It is very hard to graduate with a 4.0 GPA. Not many people can because the curriculum is very difficult, but with hard work and dedication, a high GPA is can be achieved.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour of the classes. I highly suggest you stay the night with a current student to experience what Hampden-Sydney has to offer outside of the classroom.

    In three sentences

    It is a great college. Academically challenging school containing a close-knit community.

  • 04/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can go in any building 24 hours a day and do anything you want!

    Greek Life

    Great, can't talk about it

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Frat's are ok but are a little run down

    Bang for the buck

    Cheaper private college

    What to do for fun

    nothing, it's in Farmville and there is nothing here... Middle of nowhere

    Food and Dining

    AWEFUL!

    Dorm Life

    Ok, old buildings...

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging and it's fun. Could do without the unnecessary rhetoric requirements...

    Tips for prospective students

    You better be ready to write and spend 5 hours a night writing drafts!

    In three sentences

    I feel like they make us write more rhetoric essays then any other college my friends are going to! Everything else is great! Plan on spending all your free time writing papers...