Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Hannibal-LaGrange University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/04/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Looking for small Christian environment

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is small and I think I will get to know a lot of people.

    Will learn a lot

    The class sizes are small and the teachers seem to care.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus safety is always on top of things. it is an incredibly safe campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is something for everybody!

    Great for these types of students

    this university has many international students.

    What to do for fun

    there are many activities to do. we are in the heart of hannibal and close enough to other major cities with plenty of attractions. being in college usually means you have little money. walking along the mississippi river costs nothing and it a great way to escape.

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared to put in a good amount of time studying. if you study, you will make good grades. if you do not study, you will not make good grades.

    In three sentences

    hannibal-lagrange college makes is simple to be yourself. the professors and other students work with you and do not expect you to understand everything. the environment is filled with christ's love and there is no other place i would rather be.

  • 03/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Religious or even students unsure about their faith.

    Bang for the buck

    The campus is very clean. I like going a a religious school because you know that others believe in the same things you do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour of the school and talk with current students.

    In three sentences

    HLGU is an inviting environment. The teachers really get to know you and are there to help you succeed. All the students, faculty, and staff are so kind and willing to help.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    New Edition Theatre Team is an amazing group to watch and work with, amazing Godly people.

    Great for these types of students

    Theatre Students

    Bang for the buck

    All around fits my needs as a student and as a Christian.

    Food and Dining

    The caf. is being revamped soon.

    Dorm Life

    Kleckner hall is where it is at!

    Academic Rigor

    The Honors program has an overseas semester available in Harlaxton, England.

  • 04/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who have wanted to attend a college or university but may not be able to financially. The college/university offers ADVANCE (extension) programs through local schools to help you obtain the degree you wish to acquire.

    Academic Rigor

    I give their academic rigor a ten. It is fast paced and sometimes challenging but the teaching staff makes the effort to foster your educational experience through various methods of assistance. Your facilitator will provide assistance through emails, information on research sites, and give you other suggestions to help you achieve your academic goals.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is fantastic. At the very beginning of the year, phone numbers are provided for emergencies to contact the public safety office.

    Great for these types of students

    The program for International students seems great. Even thought I am a traditional student, the population of International students is large and seems very inviting to them and their traditions.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When two students get engaged, there is a bell that gets flipped upside down. Every time you walk past the bell, you look to see if it is flipped to see if somebody got engaged.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though the tuition can deter many prospective students, what all is included is wonderful. Students have access to many things on and off of campus to help them make the grades in school.

    What to do for fun

    The school is located close to the Mississippi river which serves as a relaxing environment to escape from the stress that school can produce. There are many groups on campus to knit the student body together and gives you something fun to do outside of studying.

    Food and Dining

    There is a lot to chose from in the cafeteria. The seating is inviting and warm. The food that is offered ranges from a salad bar, sandwich bar, pizza bar, and ice cream.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fantastic. The students that live in the dorms become very close and great friendships are produced. Many special activities are done with specific dorms to strengthen the bond between the students living together.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors present the material in a way so every student can learn. Some classes are harder which is expected. The academic rigor is important to prepare students for their careers and life after college.

    Tips for prospective students

    If I could give tips to prospective students of this school I would advise them to schedule their classes with caution. Too many classes on one day can be tiring and grades can suffer. Take the time to plan out which classes you need and when they can be taken.

    In three sentences

    Hannibal-LaGrange is a place that is filled with professors and fellow students who care about everybody. This school offers many groups for students to get involved in. The classes are not too easy, but not too difficult.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security seems fine.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs to get involved in and activities to participate in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A long time ago the admin building burned down, all that is left is the arch which has now become a landmark on the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Pretty amazing, had a little difficulty when applying but that's it.

    What to do for fun

    HLGU is located in Hannibal, MO, so there is plenty of fun things to do both on campus and off. There's the river nearby, downtown Hannibal, two skateparks, plenty of places to shop, an amazing bike shop called Cool Byke which has an indoor skatepark and also is a concert venue.

    Food and Dining

    It's definitely cafeteria food, but there are plenty of restaurants around that are pretty great.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorm, but I've heard good things from friends about them.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend getting involved in some of the many clubs and activities.

    In three sentences

    HLGU is definitely a college to look into. They have a well-rounded athletics program, plenty of extra-curricular activities, and an amazing staff. Although it is a relatively small school, it is all the better to get to know other students and the staff.

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hannibal, Missouri is a great town, full of many exciting things to do! I would visit the museums and parks as well as all of the exciting things throughout the town, such as the Mark Twain Cave.

    Food and Dining

    The 1 meal I had on a visit day was pretty good.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't actually started classes yet, but I've heard they can be quite challenging, but the instructors are always willing to help!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do everything you can to secure scholarships and financial aid!

    In three sentences

    I haven't actually started classes yet, but I like the Christian environment and I know its a good school and I will benefit greatly from the classes. It is just very expensive.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    HLG campus is very safe

    Greek Life

    not involved

    Clubs and Activities

    not involved

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They offer an Advance program for students to get BA in evenings for 18 month program.

    Bang for the buck

    Prices are on their website at www.hlg.edu Seem great to me as I work full time, yet still have many options for class available.

    What to do for fun

    Athletics, Many activities, sports, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is great and not pricey.

    Academic Rigor

    Wonderful programs of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask staff for assistance if needed. They will be more than happy to accomodate your request.

    In three sentences

    Hannibal LaGrange University offers day, night, and weekend classes. Their Online classes, facilities and staff really accomodate their students needs. I have enjoyed being a student at HLG and would reccommend to anyone.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never felt safer

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of religious clubs along with intramural sports teams

    Great for these types of students

    Students that want close personal friends in a religious environment

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Whenever someone gets engaged they flip a bell in the middle of campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is great for someone that is really wanting a good education while wanting to get closer to God. There are a ton of christian clubs and churches to get involved with.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out, go to Starbucks.

    Food and Dining

    We just got a new amazing food service company.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are great.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are tough but teachers are really interested in helping you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school if you want to get to meet a lot of close friends.

    In three sentences

    Hannibal La Grange University is an amazing school. It is a really close and personal environment. Good christian background and values.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are serious about their education and are not just looking for a party school. Everyone here is all about their education and studying. It is a very encouraging atmosphere.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of activities for students on campus, and there are an abundance of choices of activities off campus both in town and within 20 miles.

    Food and Dining

    :) yumm!

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, I am a commuter. I am assuming that the dorm life would deserve at least a four star rating.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study before you chill! It may be wonderful with willing to help professors, but the courses are still college level!

    In three sentences

    The experience here has been good so far. The professors are all willing to help, and give you contact information for any where they may be.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    its really safe, and the security guys, are the best.

    Greek Life

    its good, nothing really too special

    Clubs and Activities

    if you dont play a sport, they probably have a club that will you fit great. acting, singing, computer. they also have a large amount of groups that meet together to taking about different things

    Great for these types of students

    students that love spending time with people, and want to be in a christian environment

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    they have an annual date auction. where the guys auction themselves off, with the money going to missions

    Bang for the buck

    its okay in that area. the school is expensive, but you usually can find money as long as you are looking

    What to do for fun

    student activities, sporting events, a gym, and student center where you can hangout and watch movies or play pool or ping pong

    Food and Dining

    its not good at all. not many choices, and the quality isnt great either

    Dorm Life

    great dorm life. always have people in the dorm you can hangout with, and everyone has something different to bring into the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    classes arent too are if you study, thats really all you need t worry about. making time for study

    Tips for prospective students

    keep your mind open when visiting this school. it may not look like much,. not fancy or big as some other schools, but the community at this school is really great.

    In three sentences

    good atmosphere, people on campus really friendly. teachers always willing to help. and its a good place to learn and have fun