Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Hanover College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/16/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 out of 12 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are willing to learn more and feel the need to develop their communications skills before entering the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early to be eligible for more scholarships, and be sure to get your deposit in ASAP so that you can get into an early registration session to get the classes you want before they're all taken. I went to a later session and now I have all morning classes and I didn't get either of the top 3 english classes that I wanted. And all of my classes were in the morning starting at 8 am. So be sure to get yourself into an early LEAP session!

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Hanover is a very safe campus. Security is always available any time of day if you need a ride home or want someone to walk them to class. Their office is located on campus and can often be seen driving around campus.

    Greek Life

    Hanover has four sororities and five fraternities. Almost 50% of the campus is involved in Greek life and scholarship is important in the recruitment process. They sponsor philanthrophy events throughout the year and are involved in many organizations.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 60 organizations and clubs on campus. No matter your interests, there is something for you!

    Great for these types of students

    Hanover is a wonderful campus for students looking for a small community. The professors here will know you on a personal level and help you succeed. Although the campus is small, it is beautiful and full of life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On Hanover's campus there is a special place called the Point. This is on the edge of campus overlooking the Ohio River. This is the only place in which you can see three bends in the Ohio River. The campus is surrounded by woods in which there are trails to hike and waterfalls to explore.

    Bang for the buck

    Hanover doesn't have any hidden fees. Your tuition, room, and board are all you have to pay. This includes cable, free laundry, wireless Internet, free tutoring, career services, and access to a fully equipped gym among other things.

    Food and Dining

    There are three options to choose from on campus. The first is the Campus Center dining room. This is a buffet style dining room which features a variety of foods from pizza, to hamburgers, to chicken and noodles. There is a salad bar and freezer full of ice cream. Another option is the Underground. This is a faster option for students in a rush. There are Pizza Huts personal pizzas, snacks, made to order wraps, and many more choices. The third option is the Shoebox. This is a student run restaurant located on campus. They feature burgers, fries, appetizers, milkshakes, alcohol, and much more. This is a dining experience unlike the others on campus. Along with a big screen tv, karaoke happens often and concerts are usually held there.

    Dorm Life

    Freshmen housing isn't terrific but it's worth waiting for the upper class housing. There are dorms, suites, and apartments for students.

    Academic Rigor

    Hanover challenges their students to push beyond what they think they can do. There are lots of assignments and homework, however the professors are always available for assistance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and stay overnight! It will give you a great feel for what Hanover has to offer and what it is really like. You can stay with freshmen or upper-class students. Come sit in on classes for a true college experience.

    In three sentences

    Hanover is more than a college, it's a community. I've never felt so accepted and welcomed in such a great environment. I feel like I wouldn't be the same person without my liberal arts education I've received here.

  • 03/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have a kissing rock. if you kiss someone there you are supposedly going to end up to marrying them.

    What to do for fun

    outdoor activities, sports, drink.

    Food and Dining

    for how small hanover is the food is not bad. the hours are inconvinient though. nowhere to eat after 11pm.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are not the nicest. no air conditioning in most buildings.

    Academic Rigor

    hanover is extremely hard. do not think you can skip all your classes, party, and not do your work. you will fail! however, if you actually do your work and go to class the teachers will do the best they can to pass you and help you out.

    Tips for prospective students

    think about the size of school you want. at a big school you will meet new people all the time, but will you ever see them again? at hanover, you will see the same people everyday and get to know them well. if you get tired of people easily, maybe hanover isn't the place for you.

    In three sentences

    hanover is a beautifully lush and green campus. there are various hiking trails and waterfalls within 5 minutes walk of your dorm room. there is a strong sense of community.

  • 12/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who have a good understanding on proper time-management.

    Tips for prospective students

    Trying working on your ability to write a thesis before you reach you freshmen year, it will make your freshmen year a lot easier.

    Bang for the buck

    Know when and when not to spend your money. It is really easy to run out of money if you are spending it on fast fun and going out often. There are a lot of things on campus that is covered under your student account and a lot of activities so that you don't really have to spend your own money.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    excellent, and easy.

    Dorm Life

    i spent the night in a sorority. it was ok, but kind of cramped.

    Academic Rigor

    from what i understood, students were challenged.

    Tips for prospective students

    seeing as to how i am only researching, i will say this: be careful on the windy scenic entrance.

    In three sentences

    the school is great and friendly. it is tucked away, but one can easily access surrounding cities. the campus is wonderful.

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always on duty. They are extremely friendly and do their job very well. I feel very safe on campus at all times.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is wonderful on campus. If you have a desire to become Greek, then you will be able to find a home easily. We have four sororities and five fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a very accepting and wide variety of school clubs and activities. If you want to join a club, there is almost guaranteed a club you would enjoy. If not, you can make one!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have many traditions, considering we are the oldest private school in Indiana! Wiffle Ball tournaments, the kissing rock, annual snow ball fight, the gala...its very nice.

    Bang for the buck

    Hanover is definitely pricey, almost too pricey. Luckily they provide wonderful financial aid to help the students who struggle with money. For the education I'm getting, I certainly think it's worth what I am paying.

    What to do for fun

    Since it is a small campus, joining clubs or Greek life is the way to have fun. Prior to joining Alpha Delta Pi, the only fun I had was off campus. Now that I'm in a sorority it is much easier to have on-campus fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus offers options but if your a picky eater it is very difficult to adjust to the food. Also if grease hurts your stomach, I don't recommend going to the UG very often. My favorite place to snack/eat is the coffee shop!

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is fairly nice. The buildings are quite old for first year students, and also lack air conditioning. (Except Blythe) The friends you make are really what make dorm life wonderful.

    Academic Rigor

    Like I've mentioned before this college is challenging. Every student I know has struggled at one point or another, but has survived. The professors are wonderful and help make these struggles much easier to get through.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice for prospective students is to embrace anything that comes your way. Even the hardest of assignments makes life easier in time. My final tip of advice is become involved with your campus, go Greek, join clubs, something; it makes the experience go by much smoother.

    In three sentences

    Hanover College is not only a college but a place of growth and change. In my first year of Hanover I enhanced my intellectual abilities and I grew as an individual. Hanover is challenging but without the challenge it would be impossible to grow as a person.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are not a lot of Fraternities or Sororities on campus. The Greek Life on campus are tight and can be fun, but if you are looking for a school that is centered around Greek Life then this is not the place to be.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many activities and clubs at Hanover! There are always events going on hosted by a club and activities being held by the college to give the students plenty to do when they are in need of a study break.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many waterfalls on campus that students like to visit. The waterfalls and trials owned by the college are beautiful and provide some much needed peace to any college student.

    Bang for the buck

    Hanover is a great place to get an education and meet new people, but for the price you pay at Hanover you can go to a public school for much cheaper with a education that is almost similar.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of things to do at Hanover for fun. Hiking one of the many trails here is a common way to have fun, spend time with friends, and get some exercise. There are also many basketball courts, sand volleyball, fraternity parties, school hosted events, and the Student Activities Center has many table games and televisions to enjoy with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The Underground is a good place to go if you want to eat in a hurry or take your food with you, but it is often greasy and unhealthy for you. The Campus Dining Hall is like a high school cafeteria, expect it is all you can eat. There are two downsides to the Campus Dinning Hall; there are limited hours, and the food served is not always very appetizing.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are okay if you can get into one of the nicer dorms. Most rooms are cramped, all first year housing is not air-conditioned, and loud noises are always to be expected even with Resident Advisers around.

    Academic Rigor

    Hanover being a liberal arts school is the place to go to challenge your brain. With many tests, papers, essays, and even activities you will be busy all of the time as well as stretching your mind to the limits to always find your own original ideas. The professors here want new material for all of your work, so be prepared to think outside of your box, and be prepared to view the world in a whole new perspective.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A large part of my decision to choose Hanover College was the feeling of comfort and security. Hanover has campus security available 24 hours a day, but I have never needed it. I have never felt afraid at Hanover...it feels like home!

    Greek Life

    Greek Life at Hanover is exceptional. My sorority sisters provide me with support and friendship that will last me throughout my lifetime. The bonds that I have made at Hanover through my sorority have changed my life!

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club or activity for just about every interest at Hanover.

    Great for these types of students

    Hanover is for motivated, ambitious people who truly want to succeed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hanover has an atypical school schedule. We have winter break when most colleges are starting their spring break. The advantage of the schedule is that by the time we have our late spring break, the weather is warm and we have more outdoor time.

    Bang for the buck

    Hanover isn't cheap, but you get what you pay for! The tuition is comparable to the learning experience. With a 98% employment rate after college, Hanover is doing it right.

    What to do for fun

    Hanover has the best hiking trails. If you a nature lover, Hanover is the place to be!

    Food and Dining

    The food is great! You have a variety of choices and options.

    Dorm Life

    There is never a dull moment in the dorms. The different personalities and cultures of the people make dorm life an interesting experience. Hanover does a great job accomodating students and pairing them with compatible roommates.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are tough, as Hanover has a reputation for being on of the best colleges for higher education. But the professors treat you with respect and go the extra mile to make sure you are getting the experience you need to succeed. It is challenging, but you walk away feeling like you can accomplish anything!

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to currently enrolled students about their experiences. Walk around the campus and feel the history...it's captivating!

    In three sentences

    Hanover has been the best choice I have ever made. It is a small college that is big on experience! Studying on this beautiful campus has been an honor for me.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hanover College is a great place to go hiking! Intermural sports are also a lot of fun and there are some very good restaraunts in the historic place of Madison which is just a couple minutes down the road.

    Food and Dining

    There are two places to eat on the Hanover College campus. One of the places is the Campus Center which offers full meals that consist of pasta, salad, etc. The other plac is the Underground which has small snacks and other foods and is also open late.

    Dorm Life

    Hanover College has great dorms. Unfortunately, only a few are air conditioning. All Ra's interact with the students and there are very few problems.

    Academic Rigor

    Hanover College challenges students in every way academically. Students need to be willing to work hard and set aside time to study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should make sure they are involved in any activity that they can get their hands on. Professors at Hanover will challenge students to become better academically. Prospective students should make friends and remember to have fun!

    In three sentences

    Hanover College is small community which is set on making sure every student succeeds. Teachers are always willing to help a student in need. The Hanover College campus is full of positive and hard-working people.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You always see security driving around, they are also nice people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You have the kissing rock, if you kiss someone there, you will marry them. The point is a wonderful view of the river and it is so pretty.

    What to do for fun

    Just hanging out with your friends on campus is a lot of fun. They have Omnibus, which takes you to different events for free or a very small price, you normally have to pay for your meal though. Sports games are fun to go to and we normally have something going on during the weekend to do. You can also go hiking and Indy and Louisville aren't to far away.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't bad, you can either go to the CC, Ug, or the Shoebox. The food gets dull sometimes, but its college.

    Academic Rigor

    They try to challenge students and get them the best education. It does get stressful at times, but they do challenge you and give you a good education.

    In three sentences

    Hanover has a very pretty campus, surrounded by trees, so if you like nature and a small pretty campus come here. The students get challenged and you get very close to professors and will help you succeed. I love it here, everyone is so friendly, students and faculty.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great Alert system, easy to get in contact with campus security. I always feel safe on campus and thier are great programs to help individuals out when in sticky situations.

    Greek Life

    There are 5 different fraternities and 4 sororities

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Kissing Rock- it said that if a couple has their first kiss here they will get married. Hike to the Point- all first-year students hike the trails that students took to get to school when it was just beginning, then eat lunch on the president's lawn Wiffle Ball Tournament- During spring term students and faculty participate in many games of wiffle ball President's Halloween Party- a newer tradition, every year the President holds a party and costume contest on her residence

    What to do for fun

    Many Clubs and Activities Greek Life Student Run Dining facility (The Shoebox) Intramural sports Lounging in dorm buildings Workout Center

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get involved Work hard Be open minded

    In three sentences

    It is a great place to be and easy to enjoy everyday. I am learning how to be myself and how to broaden my horizons. I am looking forward to being here for the next three and a half years.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security here is amazing. The security officers are so nice and they will do anything to help you.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is very big here, but you are not pressured to join. Like I said, everyone gets along with everyone!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs and activities throughout campus. I never have time to try them all.

    Great for these types of students

    Hanover is great for everyone, but especially the people who want to know everyone on campus and make lots of friends.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year, the first time it snows on campus, there is a campus wide snowball fight! It's great because I think almost every student participates and it's tons of fun. Also the trails from the campus through the woods down to the river are a great commodity in the warm months.

    Bang for the buck

    Hanover is very expensive in my opinion. With that being said, they give out so much money to their students that it ends up being about the same as a state school. The teaching that you get from the professors here is great and that is worth all the money I paid by itself.

    What to do for fun

    At Hanover we have fun all the time! Even though Hanover is a small town, there is always something to do. The college puts on all kinds of events, and I don't think I have ever been bored here.

    Food and Dining

    I will be honest, the food here is just okay. Nothing like fine dining but a lot better than my high school's food. I just wish there were some more options available to us.

    Dorm Life

    Living with your friends in the same dorm makes them basically like family. At Hanover it is not uncommon for people to leave their doors open all day so people can come and talk whenever. Also, the activities that each dorm have are a blast.

    Academic Rigor

    Make sure you take classes in high school that challenge you. If you don't, you may be in for a rude awakening when you come here. The classes are definitely challenging, but fun and manageable at the same time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid of college at all. It is the best experience of my life so far and I am so glad to spend this part of my life at Hanover. Seriously look into Hanover if you want a small school where everyone is like your family.

    In three sentences

    Hanover College is an amazing place for people who want to make lifelong friendships and get the most out of their undergraduate career. The professors here are amazing and the people are even better! I love it here, and I don't want to ever leave.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus, always peaceful and quiet.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for the academically motivated and those looking to not only get involved in a school but also in a community.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive school but they do try to accommodate you with financial aid. Jobs on campus are next to impossible to get though.

    Food and Dining

    The food is so-so at best. The Campus Center (or CC) has good options if you can make the times that it is open. The hours are awkward and don't fit well into a schedule, especially if you have sports practices or band/choir. The Underground is greasy and not that great.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms aren't fabulous because they aren't air conditioned but there is a great sense of community in them. A lot of the halls are very involved together and do lots of activities together.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here are really rigorous and will challenge you to do your best. Almost all of the classes are discussion based so be prepared to discuss your opinion in front of the class. However, it is so rewarding and it pays off to be in these classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip for prospective students is to apply early! If you apply early then you will have greater odds of getting an earlier LEAP (orientation) session and getting into the classes you want.

    In three sentences

    Hanover is a wonderful school and has a great sense of community to it.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is so safe. I do not feel like I am ever in danger. Every one knows every one so we know if somebody on campus is not supposed to be here. The campus security are also so very kind and helpful that I know I will never be in harm when I am on campus.

    Greek Life

    The greek life at Hanover is very different than at a large state school. Almost half of the student body is involved in Greek Life. We have delayed recruitment which means we do not rush a house until after we come back from winter break. This allows the students to really get to know each of the houses and to make friends and get used to the new schedule of being in college in their first semester. After the students are used to this then they are allowed to join greek life and studies have shown this a much more successful way of doing it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Hanover offers so many different clubs and activities that each person is bound to find at least one club that interests them. I am involved in over five different clubs but I have fun at all them and am able to manage my time to be able to participate in all of them.

    What to do for fun

    During the winter there is not much to do because it is so cold outside but when it is warm there is plenty to do. Histroic down town Madison is only 20 minutes away so we can go walk down there and visit the little shops. We are also located right around the corner from Clifty Falls state park where you can go hiking and enjoy the scenery of southern Indiana.

    Food and Dining

    The food is so-so but we make it work. There arent very many healthy options and we eat a lot of carbs but occasionally the dining hall will have events where we get to sample different types of new food and that is always fun and tasty.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is good for the most part. Our Resident Assitants are awesome and really caring and helpful. However, the dorms are fairly old and have some issues but maintence is good about fixing things when needed.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor is fairly difficult but worth it in the end. I feel like I am going to be much more prepared and well rounded when I graudate and leave than what I would if I attened a state school.

    Tips for prospective students

    My only tips would be apply early when Hanover offers the fee waivers because applying for schools can get expesive. Also, come visit and participate in an admited student over night stay. You can get a feel for the campus on a day visit but the over night stay shows a prospective student what hanover has to offer other than the typical class and campus tours that the student would recieve on a regular visit.

    In three sentences

    Hanover College is one of the most beautiful campuses I visted. The beauty and the close knit community is what made me decide to go here. The classes are also small which makes the interactions with the professor much easier and I feel like I take more out of my classes because of this.

  • 06/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is very popular at Hanover. It is very different from other schools but in a positive way. All students in Greek life have so many chances to gain leadership and meet new people. It is very important to the campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hanover College is very special for the view. You can see the Ohio river bend in three places. This is the only place you can see it. Commonly known as the point. Students love to hang out here and cherish the views. Also, new students when they first move into their dorms, they hike with their whole class from the river all the way up the hill, known as I climbed the point. They do this because students used to come to school by boat and carry their suitcases up the hill. Makes students see how lucky they are and feel the schools traditions.

    What to do for fun

    When students have down time, there are plenty of activities to do. Students can catch hiking's trails with views of the Ohio river right off campus. They can drive to old town Madison and enjoy some classic places to eat and fun shops. Students can always go to the movies and bowling as well.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is very good. The shoebox is an on campus restaurant that students get to work at, which helps give them chance to gain experience, work, but also not have to leave campus. All food on campus are short walks and they have good hours. The workers are very nice to students and the food is always fresh.

    Dorm Life

    Living in dorms at Hanover is something that almost every student will do. Since there is not much off campus offered, students live on campus. Living in the dorms was clean and a great way to meet friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Hanover is a high expected school to have good grades. Even the students understand that they are there to do well and always put school work first. Classes are hard but very rewarding when you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    When coming to Hanover the best tip from a student would be to push yourself to challenge your education. This school has so much to offer and every student should take advantage of the resources they give you. My other tip would be to get involved, meet a lot of people and become a member of the community.

    In three sentences

    Hanover College is a school that expects students to show their full potential and pushes students to their limits. They strive to help every student make their dreams come true with many chances to study is different areas and plenty of help with finding internships. Hanover really cares about the students and makes them feel as if their education is more important than anything in their life.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus's location and the small amount of students removes most dangers that are present at other schools.

    Greek Life

    I personally stay away from greek life, but if you're looking for it you won't be disappointed. About 60% of the school is in greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm in several clubs and enjoy them immensely. A lot of my friends have come from clubs. They're great stress-relievers and also look great on future applications.

    Great for these types of students

    academic elites with great credentials that are looking for a smaller school that focuses more on schooling than partying.

    Bang for the buck

    Though I'm building a mountain of debt before medical school, I feel that the academics are adequately preparing me for the next step.

    What to do for fun

    Party, Join a club, attend school social events, intramural sports, attend greek events, hike the trails on campus, camp at cliffty falls, and tailgate.

    Food and Dining

    There are two dining areas on campus and one cafe in a dorm. The main dining area serves the same food year round and lacks taste. The second is a fast-food area. It also lacks a variety of options. There isn't much dining around campus either, and only taco bell stays open after 12.

    Dorm Life

    For a small school it's not terrible, but there is really only one dorm that is exceptional. The others are a little worn down and if you're a guy, be weary of living on a floor with athletes.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a premed student and I must say, this school teaches you how to work. There is no easy path to graduation here. Everything is earned, the way it should be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go to school here unless you're receiving 16,000 or more in scholarships per year. Don't worry about the school being to small, you'll still find friends everywhere. Join a club, get involved, that's how you find new friends. They aren't kidding when they tell you the academic program is strenuous.

    In three sentences

    The school is too small and due to this lacks good dining services, living arrangements, and diverse class opportunities. The difficulty level is refreshing however, reassuring my abilities as a biology student. My major issue is with financial aid, mainly because it's almost impossible to secure more after your initial aid is given as a freshmen.

  • 11/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is very safe here on campus. I always walk back to my dorm at 3 o'clock in the morning when it is very dark but I never feel unsafe.

    Clubs and Activities

    In a small campus of 1100 undergraduate students, there are more than 70 clubs! There is a place for everyone to join a club! There are sports clubs, academic clubs, and clubs just for fun too!

    What to do for fun

    Bad new first :'( Since Hanover College is located in the middle of nowhere, there is not a lot to do outside of school, such as eating out or going shopping with your friends and all. However, there are a lot of clubs and activities going on during the week and the weekends. I love it when the school calls a DJ and the whole school would have a dance party!

    Food and Dining

    I would say that the food is fairly okay. They renovated the dining area and opened it just this school year, so the new cafeteria is neat. They divided the dining hall into different sections such as- vegetarian, burgers, pizza and pasta, salad, sandwiches, and more!

    Dorm Life

    There are a lot of dorm events going on at Hanover. It bonds the dorm students together. People prank each other, make some memories, and just like to have fun together. But if I had to say one thing, the showers are horrible here.

    Academic Rigor

    Hanover College's small size encourages students to get engaged in class. Professors really do care about you and your grades. Unlike big universities, Hanover College takes advantage of its small size and gives students a lot of papers, projects, and written exams.

    Tips for prospective students

    You think college is all about parties? WRONG! Hanover College's education is very challenging, so students should prepare to deal with studying that they never had to before! But certainly there are fun things here!

    In three sentences

    I would rate Hanover College with 4 stars out of five!

  • 12/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's an awful lot of money for a pretty good education.

    What to do for fun

    Anything! Play Frisbee, join the Archery Club, hang out in dorms or fraternities, whatever floats your boat.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty bad most of the time. I've gotten food poisoning 3 times this year (so far!). It's pretty much always the same, bland and gross. The dining is nice though...the college clearly doesn't know what priorities to spend it's money on though.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms don't have air conditioning (particularly freshmen dorms), so the summers are HOT. The showers break down quite a bit in some dorms, and the fire alarms go off all the time.

    Academic Rigor

    You will learn more than you probably ever have. The professors are amazing, and once you decide what you really want to learn, you will learn and experience more about that field of study than you ever could imagine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to pay a LOT of money! As well as read a lot. The food is not very good, but the education is unlike anything you will find anywhere else. Just be prepared to empty your pocket books...

    In three sentences

    Hanover is an amazing college. You learn from both professors and students. It's not just a college, it's an experience.

  • 12/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is always patrolling the area. It's a pretty small campus thus every knows each other or has seen one another multiple times. So faces are familiar. Its not the safest place in the world. But it is definitely FAR from the most dangerous. Its pretty safe id give it a 8.5-9/10

    Greek Life

    I am not very familiar with all the information about greek life because I am only a freshman. But it's just one of those things that if its for you then its for you. If its not then its not. Not really a big deal, you'll have friends with or without it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Over hundreds of clubs. So many that this box will not have enough space for me to talk about them all. Whatever type of club you want, it is most likely already here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hanover is becoming a pretty diverse campus. Thus there are multiple traditions one can learn about and things are hosted just about every week. And the best part about it is that they are FREE!!!!!!

    What to do for fun

    There are multiple things to do for fun on campus. You just have to go out and find them. You can leave campus and go to the city/towns nearby and go shopping. There was recently a student activity center built which is known as The Wac which is short for the Withrow Center. Located inside there it is a movie room, multiple board games, coffee shop, ping pong tables, pool tables and a room known as The Huq. Which is the multicultural room that is open for EVERYONE. And it is just a small chill spot with a television and a Playstation 3 if you're into playing video games. Parties are held by the frats and they happen just about every week/weekend. Though sometimes there is a requirement to be on a list.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty repetitive. But again that's almost every college. There are three dining spots on campus. The main dining hall which is known as the CC. Located under the dining hall there is a spot called The Underground also known as the The Ugg. And lastly, located by the freshman parking lot there is The Shoebox which is just a small chill spot where you can eat and have television and sometimes live music as well. But if all fails there is a small town near called Madison which has multiple fast food options to eat at.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms suck. But come one that's every college. And 9/10 you will not be in your dorm.. I mean unless you don't like to go out and have fun. But that's kind of weird. If you do not like your dorm you will always have the option to go to someone else's room or dorm and just hang there. Hanover is really relax, thus there is NO CURFEW time!

    Academic Rigor

    You will definitely be prepared for you designated major. The classes are strict but the professors work with you to make sure you are successful. You will not just be given a task for your major but you will become versatile in many areas and different fields.

    Tips for prospective students

    If Hanover College is a school of your choice, come prepared because it is about work. You will definitely feel challenged but it is all to better you as a person. Though this is a place of business, most of the time you will be goofing off with a bunch of friends, thus Hanover does know how to have fun. So do not worry :)

    In three sentences

    Hanover College is definitely a school that will prepare you for the outside world. The professors are here for you and want you to be successful. This isn't just a school, it is a family.

  • 03/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I'm involved in many clubs and I'm the president of one. I also like to surf the web, read, or go to the local book store.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo is a horrible food company. They don't service vegetarians very well and the quality is sub par.

    Dorm Life

    Housing is a little scrambled, but if you stay out of trouble they are always willing to help. If you need a new roommate they will find you one.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a difficult school, but the education is worth it. It's mostly papers. There are not a lot of pointless worksheets to boost your grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what you wish to study before you come here. So you want to study the Humanities? Maybe science? This school is fantastic. If you wish to study music on the other hand, you will want to shy away from here.

    In three sentences

    Hanover College is a polarizing place. People either love it, or they hate it. They have actively tried to stay away from the grade inflation which has taken place in our education system. People say they get their first C's, but at the end of the day it's worth it because most departments are reliable.